Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Central Hostel

Ernesta Birznieka-Upīša iela 20, Rīga, LV-1050, Latvia

#32 of 153 hotels in Rīga

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2331 hostel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    9.2

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.2
    Pleasant 3-night-stay
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Friendly and helpful staff; clean environment; nice kitchen and generously offered tea, milk and other drinks; quiet at night; everything was just great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.5
    Good price for my long stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good price for my long stay. Though it takes some time to walk to the old town, it’s more convenient if I want to visit other places such as Vermanes garden.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.8
    quite good value, helpful and obliging staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kitchen is very small. Some maintenance would be in order on some appliances and fixtures.

    The reception staff are very helpful. The location is handy for quite a few venues. Rooms are quiet and clean. Car parking is secure.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    8.8
    Nice little hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No plugs close to beds, neither upper beds. Small rooms, not much space for all bags. Staff could be much more helpful and give more general information f the surroundings.

    It is not that close to old Vilnius, but in this case it end up being an advantage because there was the music festival with a little fair on a park (for free) (happening once every 5 years) 2 common areas very cozy. Very clean hostel. Lockers with key provided in room. Towel provided. Small but well equiped kitchen. Free tea and coffee.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.2
    Great hostel. Need to improve Wi-Fi availability
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There were regular problems with Wi-Fi availability, that was sort of frustrating. Otherwise, great hostel for its price

    Staff was most helpful. Free parking. Location is good, not far from Old City. Good and clean facilities.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.8
    Clean and quiet hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights

    It's a little bit of a walk to the locations where you'd want to go.

    It's cheap, clean, and the staff is really friendly. The hostel is located in a quiet area, but it's only about 15 minutes walk to the locations where the buzz is happening.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.6
    Cosy hostel near the heart of the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location about 15-20 minutes walk away from the city centre. The room was very cosy and clean, just like the rest of the hostel. Amazing bargain for such a low price.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.2
    The room was really nice and the prize-value ration was one...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check-In lady was very friendly, although the staff on the other days didn't hit her standards. Fridge was stuffed and kitchen generally small.

    The room was really nice and the prize-value ration was one of the best I ever had! Nice common rooms, bathrooms good and clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.3
    Nice, basic hostel, short walk from the Old Town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a lot in the hostel's immediate vicinity. Area seems a little dodgy at night. You have to walk up quite a lot of stairs (no lift). The bathroom lacked space to hang clothes/towels. Had a little trouble connecting to the wi-fi.

    15 min walk from bus station and from the Old Town. Our private double room was nice and cosy. Although there was no en suite, the bathroom was directly opposite and we never had to wait to use it. The bathroom was quite spacious. Quiet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    5.4
    Not up to one’s expectation fair private rooms in a hostel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not that comfortable as one would expect for private room. Kitchen is far too small and becomes very congested during dinning hours.

    Free car parking lot but empty lot may not be readily available as the car park which is inside the hoestel’s courtyard can be filled up easily. Parking outside the courtyard on the street can be quite expansive.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.8
    very happy with my stay, would definitely recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location wasn't my favourite part. It's really not that far from the old town and there are stores, cafes and restaurants very close, but it was actually farther from old town than it looks on a map. It's not a terrible location, but be prepared for 15-20 min walk even from the edge of old town Riga.

    Overall the place was very clean and comfortable. I was in a private room, which was spacious and comfy. Only downside to the room are the thin walls so you can hear talking, snoring in the rooms next door. However, you can get free earplugs at reception. Facilities are nice, clean and comfortable. Lots of common space to sit and relax and meet others. The free tea & coffee and even free milk was a nice perk. Also great to get my laundry done there too, thanks for that!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.6
    Over all it was a nice stay and we enjoyed it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was very hot in the room as the temperature was high outside and there is no fan. Also, the one thing that is missing is some shelves, or wardrobe as there were only 4 hangers on a coat hanger on the wall. All our clothes had to stay in the luggage on the floor.

    The hostel was super clean. Tea,coffee and milk were free. Clean kitchen with all you need. Very central. The girl at the reception was very nice too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    5.0
    Not very central and cramped
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They painted the stair steps so the path upstairs was just two shoes wide,, not two feet( not sixty centimeters) literally, if I had put one foot wrong I would have been stepping into paint. The pillow was so flat it had seen better days. The five bed female dorm I was in was tiny, very cramped and bad light in there.

    The receptionists were friendly. There is free coffee and tea in the kitchen.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.5
    The room is lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sound proof is poor and you can also hear people talking loudly in the lobby.

    The room is lovely. Five minutes walking to train station and supermarket.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    9.2
    Cheap, comfortable and good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is really good! I stay in the girls only room (5 persons), it's really comfortable and great with the price! Common area is big and kitchen almost has everything, you can cook by yourself and chat with other travelers. Front desk is 24 hours, hair dryers, earplugs are free and always available. Location is close from harbor and easy to walk to old town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.3
    Relatively quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist can follow what you are doing if you are assigned room 9 because there is a direct view of the room. Have to squeeze around reception to get to the small kitchen

    Relatively quiet. You have no problem if you want to be by yourself.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.8
    The staff were very obliging.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Apartment (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very obliging. Good location close to transport, market and old town in walking distance. Stayed in the duplex apartment with quirky decoration. Huge loft room above. Made up the sofa bed in the living area. Laundry available for a fee. On site parking and we were allowed to leave the car there after checkout tll ready to leave the city

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    8.8
    If the hostel gives you an option to make yourself free cup...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If the hostel gives you an option to make yourself free cup of morning coffee with milk (even choose between different fat content or vegan), there's no way it can be very bad!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    5.8
    it is good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the door is so thin and there are a lot of people passing by. 3 days in a row there were people talking and walking really loud at 4am, we can't sleep at all.

    it is good value for money

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.8
    Good and well worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dorm was very dark even with the lights on.

    Dorms very cute, and spotlessly clean. The bathrooms were also very clean. The mattress is a little on the thin side, even for a hostel, but after some getting used to I slept fine on it. The staff were lovely and really helpful when I asked for information about a day trip. About a 10/15 minute walk to old town and about a 10 minute walk from the airport bus stop

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.0
    Nice and affordable short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Light and noise

    We inly stayed for a night, and got the private room with shared bathroom. Room and bed were comfortable. Staffs were super friendly and helpful. I'd highly recommend it for short stays, and budget travelers.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    8.8
    Good low coster
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our bed was clean but uncomfortable. Pillows wasnt really good either.

    It's a great hostel in price/quality ratio. It's cheap, it's clean, it's staff is polite and cool

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    8.3
    Nice common spaces
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is just one toilet in each block of rooms: at least the doors that separate the different blocks of rooms on the same floor should be kept always open, in my opinion. Otherwise, as in my case (I was on the top floor) you have to share one single bathroom with the guests of 3 rooms and, when it's occupied, you have to go downstair to the main floor to use another bathroom.

    Nice common spaces Clean place

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    8.8
    Location was good, and all the facilities were clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a strong odour when we first entered the room. We had to air the room for a while and use the air freshener to get rid of the odour.

    Location was good, and all the facilities were clean. Our room was cosy and nicely decorated for 3. The receptionists were helpful as well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    10/10 would rebook just for the blanket.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The conflict of having to leave that blanket or miss the best weather I'd seen of the year.

    Without a doubt the blanket I was given had the softest cover I have ever felt. It took all my will not to steal it. The room was also very clean and had nice views from the sky light. Staff were knowledgeable and really helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    It is really nice place to stay. Price is perfect.
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Of course, it is hostel, sometimes here could be more loudly you hope (I was lucky and slept very well both all nights).

    It is perfect hostel to stay. Cheap and clear place. Cute interior design. 10-15 minutes walk distance from Old Riga. There are two shower rooms for three (or four) living rooms in the block - it is very convenient. Free hot drinks are on the kitchen (milk included!). Free parking (not big).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.0
    Nice staff, cosy common room and kitchen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The doorbell button at the entrance was seemingly broken - after a long wait on the street ended up looking up a phone number.

    Nice staff, cosy common room and kitchen. Tea was available, yay. Comfortable bed, although be very, very careful with your knees around it. A lot of information on places of interest that would be valuable to foreign visitors.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    I have stayed in Central hostel now a couple of times...
    • People with friends
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have stayed in Central hostel now a couple of times because it is clean and cheap. Best you cam find with this amount of money in Riga and their stuff is nice. It’s cozy and always has great vibes. Also free parking 😉

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    8.8
    Excellent except the times we wanted to sleep but couldn't
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We stayed just near the common areas and the walls were really thin. As very heavy sleepers, even we weren't able to sleep because of noise. An isolation would be very nice or ask for another room that is away from common areas maybe. Another thing is that the hostel is not that much 'central' but in a city so small like Riga, walking a bit more wouldn't kill you.

    I liked the hostel as soon as I entered it. Very cozy design, liked it a lot. Staff was pretty helpful. Although never had the chance to check, I appreciated the number of different guides they prepared for the city. The hostel was always clean and even smelling very nice. Free coffee and tee were also very nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    Another good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the dorm your experience depend on room mates. But the hostel did everything to make it really good for the price. I hope they will keep their standarts even further.

    I am always happy with this hostel, been here a few times and would never switch to another one in Rīga. Also the staff is very friendly!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.5
    Value for money. Not as expected, but better than most hostels in our experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Reception staff was a bit rude to us when we first arrived (it was a young lady who picked up the phone). The bell wasn't working, and fortunately we had a phone, but if you don't it may be challenging. It was very basic, bed was not too comfortable. Location is not quite central, I think the name is misleading. Our room didn't looked like the photographs they show on their profile.

    Very cheap. 24 hour reception. Basic facilities. Enough bathrooms for all guests. Noise was not too bad. They provide earplugs, and free coffee and tea. Overall service better than expected.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.1
    Nice people you can meet during breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Extra bed was really bad one - very inconvenient. Bathroom this time was not so clean as other times I slept here.

    Nice people you can meet during breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.1
    Cute hostel, good facilities, comfortable, helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would recommend that staff put in real blinds in the rooms that block out light--we had light red paper-thin blinds,so the room, even at night with street lights- was way too bright and it made it difficult to sleep.

    We stayed in a private double room. It was comfortable and cute.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    8.8
    Very good hostel.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress could be better but that's true that my friend's mattress was very comfortable in the next room.

    Very good hostel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Great location. Really good value quality money. The hostel was clean and tidy, they provide us with towels, champú and shower gel in the shower. It was quiet then you can rest during the night. Even if we did the check out at 4:30 am they were happy with that. Coffee and tea free in the kitchen. And room was big ( double room option)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    8.8
    Cute Receptionist. Good wi fi. There are many tools in the kitchen. Coffee, tea, milk and cocoa free
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good and popular hostel. Cute Receptionist. Good wi fi. There are many tools in the kitchen. Coffee, tea, milk and cocoa for free. A large leisure room. In the evening, it was necessary to wait for the shower to be filled with water, because all the boiler was consumed. Sleeping was comfortable, the room was silent.

    Good and popular hostel. Cute Receptionist. Good wi fi. There are many tools in the kitchen. Coffee, tea, milk and cocoa for free. A large leisure room. In the evening, it was necessary to wait for the shower to be filled with water, because all the boiler was consumed. Sleeping was comfortable, the room was silent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    We liked everything about our stay in this hostel!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything about our stay in this hostel! It’s really near the city centre, about 10 minutes walking from hostel. We were glad to see how clean the apartment was. And very nice that they offered free coffee, tea, etc.!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    8.3
    Nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hostel looks much better on the photos, but it was a pleasant stay anyway. The lockers are too small. I could barely fit my backpack there. In the female room there was not enough light. At night you can barely see what you are packing, during daytime you can't do makeup or read because there is only one window behind a bulk bad. If you need light, you should go downstairs to one of the common rooms.

    I spent 4 nights in this hostel. It is situated super close to railway and bus stations, famous market, second hand shops (I found 4 of them nearby + one with books in English). When I arrived by bus, it took me 30 mins to get to the hostel, but then I learned short ways and got to the station from the hostel in 10 minutes on my way back. The same with the way to the city center, I found some quich ways to get there, so I would recommend you to ask the receptionisits for directions. It will save your time) I liked the fact that they have water filter and free milk. The hostel looked old but very clean. It was quiet enough. There was a common computer.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    6.7
    It's good place to stay for one night, but I'll probably choose another hostel next time
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is only one bathroom on the floor, so I spent some time waiting for it. Kitchen is really small, if someone cooks there you're almost not able to do something.

    Location is good, staff is nice and you have satisfying quality for a small amount of money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    8.3
    neat and cozy- good value for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hostel is really close to the railway station, but the street it's located at is a bit gloomy

    Double rooms are very small, slightly shabby, yet cozy and nice. The common rooms' design is simple and unpretentious, but cozy as well. You don't hear your neighbours, but the doors could be thicker (more sound-proofing). Central heaters are adjustable, the room was warm. Wifi speed was sufficient for online movies. Staff's quite hospitable

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    8.8
    Affordable and good, for almost the center of capital
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pillows were a little bit flat, and a bit squeaky floors in the hallways.

    Friendly staff. Great location, within 10-15 walking walking from the exact center of Rīga. Nice and coozy rooms, with pretty good and clean shared kitchen, meeting room and bathrooms. Located at the street which have almost no traffic, also no big loud pubs or clubs in surrounding buildings, therefore, silent and safe area.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.8
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was not very comfortable. The pillows are small for me and the temperature of room was not very hot even keeping the heater on maximum.

    Location, cleaning and staff. The staff are very attentive. They helped us when we got in Riga and they allowed to leave our bags inside the hostel after our check-out.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    8.8
    Homely hostel for good price!
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is little bit away from the railway/bus station but it is okay. Sometimes hot shower water does not come well.

    Kind staffs, good price, homely atmosphere

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    6.7
    Good staff, lot of space.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mixed dorm should be mixed, I'm not in the army. And people should not use ecig in the dorm, especially during the night.

    Good staff, lot of space.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location, excellent ho(s)tel!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Because it is a colder climate, there is quite good heating. But then you cannot regulate it, the only way to drop the temperature is to open the inside window or even both the inside and outside windows. The matrasses are also kindof shifty - velcro could solve this problem.

    It is listed as a hostel but this is more as an upscale hotel. Certainly if you book a few beds you'll have a private room. Everything is very high detail finish and thusfar the visitors are adult and proper. Never seen the loud and partying students in this place.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    6.3
    If you want something cheap but noisy and uncomfortable, go for it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were here 2 yrs ago and were given a nice room. However this time it was quite terrible and we left after the first night, even though we had payed for two. - The room had two huge windows with transparent curtains, and was in front of bright street lamps, so it was impossible to sleep - The mattress was so thin, I felt every wood plank underneath it. Plus the bed squeaked so much that everytime one of us moved the other would wake up - the room was super cold and there was only a paper thin blanket - there was so much noise the whole night that even with earplugs it was absolutely impossible to sleep. Will never stay there again!

    Facilities outside of the room were fine (bathroom, common area, kitchen). Location is nice if you like to be outside of the center but still close to everything.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    9.2
    We stayed at the apartment and it was absolutely perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Apartment (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a bit cold inside even with the radiator turned on to the max.

    We stayed at the apartment and it was absolutely perfect! Will book again! It was super comfy and looked lovely. The apartment is in 2 floors with rather sneaky stairs. It comes with a huge bedroom and a living room with a sofa which you can also use as a sleeping place. The kitchen has everything you need. The selection of tea and coffee was also very much appreciated in the morning.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    9.6
    Very cosy, comfortable, cheap.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wouldn't mind walking extra couple of blocks in summer, but during winter it seemed a bit far. Also it's on the 2nd floor, no elevator.

    Very cosy, comfortable, cheap. The staff is friendly and helpfull. A lot of showers and wc, so the closest to your room is basically yours. They also provide tea and coffee. Several common rooms. Railway station, city mall nearby. Bus 22 goes directly from airport, than you've got to walk 10-15 min from the station.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    10
    Very clean, warm and good overall. Comfortable beds, great to have lockers and everything provided.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On one of my nights, someone arrived in at 3am and woke the whole dorm room up. I wish I had been told so I could have used earplugs on that one night.

    The bed was comfortable, the room was clean, a hairdryer was available when I needed it. The winter special at the Zoo was on the kitchen door - was a great tip, as the zoo was awesome. Overall, I would recommend this property to everyone.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    10
    Highly recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Duplex Apartment (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It did not matter to us, but it could be important to other guests: especial this apartment not suitable for small kids because of very steep and smooth stairs

    Very clean, comfortable beds, warm rooms, really hot water, good wi-fi. Cozy and beautiful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    9.2
    Even if there were only 2 bathrooms available on my floor, 1...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Even if there were only 2 bathrooms available on my floor, 1 of which housed the shower stall, there has been an high degree of cleanliness. Every bathroom has been polished thrice a day, which is awesome. Really quiet, too, compared to other more "social" hostels.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    7.1
    Free parking is great so close to old Town!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisy from the neighbors (thin walls I guess). Shared bath is OK for hostel but it seemed like to many rooms per bathroom - it was hard to get into at peak times.

    Free parking is great so close to old Town! Nice choice of free snacks + free ear plugs - nice! =) 24/7 front desk!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    8.3
    One of the best places to stay (aspecialy the 3rd floor)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lost my keys and paid(10euros) for new ones. in few days found old keys, returned to the hostel, hoped to recieve money back or have a discount for my future booking. Administrator refused. come on, gyes, its Christmas! even a small discount could bring you a loyal client who will use your service for years. its not about money, but attitude. be more creative and be more in hostel community

    One of the best places to stay (aspecialy the 3rd floor) Clean, good Wi-Fi, good showers, warm at winter. Location is great. Can wash and dry your clothes( extra price). good kitchen and a big fridge.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    7.5
    Group of friends in four bed room
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steep stairs not suitable for disabled people. Furniture in room needed attention. Poor mattresses on beds,Very cheap,not much padding,lying on springs

    Location, Good size of room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    7.1
    The receptionist carried my suitcase to one floor upstairs.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    On foot 30 minutes far from the central bus station. NO lift. One night NO internet.

    The receptionist carried my suitcase to one floor upstairs. Large room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    7.5
    Cosy place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There´s no much to say beacause Central Hostel complide my expectations. You can´t expect much more for the value you pay. Maybe they could have one or two more bathroom whit showers. I had a god stay.

    The Central Hostel is a cosy place, the staff friendly and the facilities good. Central Hostel is located near public transportations and also near the bus to airport. The city center is a 10 minutes walk from the hostel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    7.5
    Nice private room,well heated, the bed was confortable...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There could be more ustensils for people to cook. I had to wait for 30min for someone to finish using the only decently sized pan for one person.

    Nice private room,well heated, the bed was confortable though the duvet a little thin for winter. The facilities were clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    10
    Great hostel and awesome value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very nice staff. 24h reception. We arrived early and it was possible to leave our luggage in a locked room. Train and bus stations are pretty close. The kitchen has nearly everything you can think of – free coffee, tea and some sauces and milk in the fridge. Shared facilities were always clean during our stay. WiFi worked well.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.6
    Wonderful Room but not that close to the bus station
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Huge double room with beautiful decoration. The best hostel I have ever stayed. The location is not as closed as o thought from the bus station and it need to walk one stairs up to the second floor in order to reach the hostel. However, it’s value for money with the sizeable and wonderful Room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    7.1
    Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double room was small and could benefit from extra hooks and/or surface to hang your coats and put your stuff on besides the floor. The pictures showed big, airy rooms, so probably not all rooms are like ours.

    The staff is helpful, the rooms and bathrooms are quite clean, the location is not bad. After the second night, we upgraded from a double bedroom to the apartment, which is huge and well worth the (little) extra money.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    8.8
    Affordable and Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a clean and organised pantry that i could get a quick cup of coffee and tea. There was also a games room that was a good place to meet and talk to people.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    7.5
    Good but can be much better
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the fact that shower was super cold and I wasn't informed about it. Also, at 06:00 in the morning someone started yelling and woke the whole place up.

    I like the behaviour of staff. They are friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    9.6
    Really cool, comfy, easy, chilled.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Well, if you're a girl - probably it's better to stay in a girls room. I thought there's no difference, so I chose the mixed room - and had to deal with some socks smell. Frankly speaking, it could have been my aroma, too %))

    Everyone says it, and so shall I: the staff was extremely helpful, polite and nice. The whole feeling was really homey and cosey - at some point I was thinking just to stay at the place the whole day, not going out to explore Riga. People who stayed there were also cool. And the taxi proposed by the hotel to get to the airport for my early flight was cheaper than any other options I could find - 8 eur. With a sweet aged driver.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    3.8
    Comfortable bed, good clean nice linen on beds, towel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I stayed in other hostels, there is something to compare. Because usually it is cheap staying, I was ready to put up with poor soundproofing or other inconveniences, but with dirt no. Very dirty everywhere! The kitchen is not pleasant, poorly cleaned, in the refrigerator bad open mayonnaise was lying and making dirty products of other people. The fridge was small, all rooms and all residents does not have enough space in it. Probably there was one more fridge, but nobody tell us about it. Showers all in a black fungus, the toilet seat the waste “products” of the neighbors. The floors are dirty everywhere: and in the bathroom and in the room. In our room No. 30 was also a dirty wall (something dripped). The room is small, nowhere to put things, the clothes were in the suitcase, there are 2 hangers only. Paper walls! You can hear everything, as the neighbor goes to the toilet, as flush, as the door slams shut, as somebody whispering something to a neighbor. We were not lucky, in the next room lived funny girlfriends they were getting ready for walk at 12 p.m. and laughed, whooped and loudly slamming doors, and came back at 5 a.m. and even louder laughing and discussing. Because we lived on the 3rd floor, and the administration at the 2nd I had to come down to administrator to report him that the neighbors are noisy. Girlfriend is quiet for 5 minutes, then it all continued... On the day of departure, when it came time to pick up the suitcase and walk to the train, the receptionist didn't hear the doorbell, we rang 10 times, no reaction was likely to miss the train.

    Comfortable bed, good clean nice linen on beds, towel provided. Nice room design (skylights, beams, chairs, hammocks, lamps), lots of toilets and showers, there was no queue. Several rooms where to sit with friends to play some games. In November It was battery warmed well, even had to ventilate. The location is about 20-25 min walk to old town, 15 min walk to the station.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    Best in Baltic
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There can be always something... Maybe, small library?

    Wonderful place - as usual. Staff is very helpful! And - for those, who prefer to cook - well equipped kitchen. Here you can stay with friends or family there is enouth space for everybody, choosing this place for extremely small money you getting more than just hostel, it is really the place you can relax! It's very close to all main attractions, railway and bus terminal are just 7 min walking distance

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    10
    Perfect place with cool people, hope to stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff does not have clear instructions what to do if electricity fails and should make phone calls, also no switchers in main distribution box are marked (it's helpful, fix it). Gates to the parking was 50% damaged so everyone has an access to cars (and inside the hostel then).

    They are changing! Kitchen was replanned since our last stay in August and becomes more comfortable. Hammock in our room was surprising. Staff girls are nice and polite.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    10
    Wonderful place with an amazing cosy atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Apartment (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lights in bathroom a bit too dark. Hard to see.

    Got the apartment, it was a little paradise. Amazing warm and cosy atmosphere with an awesome decorations and everything what you need. Just fall in love with that place. Also very friendly and doing a great job stuff. Always at their place, always can help you. Amazing hostel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    10
    Great Hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in Female Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Nice staff in a clean Hostel. Really cozy atmosphere and about ten minutes away from the central station. For the money absolutely recommendable!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    10
    Great stay in Riga
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were really friendly and always willing to help, nice and clean accommodation with plenty of room in dorms. Only about a 10 minute walk to the centre, depending on how fast or slow you walk.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    8.8
    Amazing price to quality within walking distance of the Old Town
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The small kitchen gets quite crowded in the morning, and you have to drop the pretense of civility and compete for access to the dining table, utensils, microwave etc.

    Very friendly and helpful staff, nice interior, reasonably clean. Free tea and coffee in the kitchen. There is a big supermarket open until midnight nearby, which can be handy if you arrive late. You can borrow an iron and ironing board.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    9.6
    I really like the comfortable room and colorful beds. Its a very nice and friendly place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi wasn't working at our first day there, it was really inconvenient. The location is 10-20 minutes walk to the old town, it is a little bit far from the bus station as well.

    The common room, kitchen, bathroom and our own room are all very comfortable and clean. The hosts are very nice to us, she even prepared some cakes for all the guests.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    8.8
    Very nice place, 20 mins away from the old town and 10 from the centre; perfect quality/price
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the window in my room was broken, so noise of the street was louder and it was a bit colder than usual.

    I liked the staff and the environment. Toilets were super clean

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    9.2
    Perfect hostel to stay if you're a solo traveler visiting Riga for 2-3 nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - WiFi should be improved in the bedrooms; low speed... - Location is okay, not so central so it takes 10 minutes more for walking to the main places; still within a walking distance to the city centre.

    - Friendly and helpful staff; - Big bedrooms and nice common areas; - Quiet bedrooms (isolation from external noises) - Heating in the bedrooms; - Cleanliness of the bathrooms (showers/toilets);

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.9
    Nice budget place with amazing staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really thin blanket

    The stuff is indeed very friendly and helpful. Also, the amount of perks one gets for this little money is amazing. Towel, hair dryer, printer, free coffee .. Good value for the money!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    10
    Ideal place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Best choice for the weekend in Riga. Everything was quit and really with this kind of atmosphere when you feel yourself like home. Our room was really cool, clean and the bathroom was next door, so it was really comfortable in all aspects. Ideal for us. And the location is perfect! I really recommend this place for your trip!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    Excellent hostel- warm atmosphere, great facilities, central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negatives, all excellent.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Nice dorm. Great kitchen with free tea and coffee and exceptional cooking utensils and facilities. A nice social atmosphere in the hostel, one of the best value hostels I've stayed at through my seventeen country Europe trip.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Central Hostel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: