Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Antik

Merķeļa iela 8, Rīga, LV-1001, Latvia

#113 of 153 hotels in Rīga

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 394 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 53

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's a small hotel, but located in a convenient place. It's close to Bus terminal, Train station and old city. The room and the bed are both small. On the other hand, it's much more affordable than other hotels around that area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is quite old and it feels as if you live at an old grandmother's flat. The room needs renovation. Bed linen and towels are also old and are not very pleasant to use. One door in the shower was broken, so the water spilled over on the floor.

    Location is great! We needed to stay a night between flights and the location was both near the bus stop from/to the airport and time walking distance to all the sightseeing places. The personnel is very hospitable. We were welcomed warmly and even felt as if we stayed at our relatives, not in a hotel. Breakfast was home-made and a bit small - a coffee, a piece of pie, a yogurt and some fruit.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I liked everything

    I liked that this hotel is in the city center, very quiet, attentive hostess of this hotel. Everything is done as it should for vacationers.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was dirty, the bathroom was filthy and the reception area stank of smoke and drink. All voices and noises could be heard through the thin walls and doors. The breakfast was poor and scarce.

    The only merit of the hotel was its downtown location. Wifi was also good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was quite cold and blanket was really thin. The cleanliness also could have been better.

    The owner was friendly and helpful. And price-quality was very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There’s nothing I liked. Everything was terrible. For the same price could have found better place to stay. Smell in the room and bathroom. Noice from reception just outside the door until after midnight. Breakfast of only coffee, yogurt and croissant.

    Should have read reviews. Can’t trust pictures or rating.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit chilly in the bathroom;a very small room, but this is what was to be expected.

    Very central location close to the transport hubs. Hospitable staff. Some good room decoration choices.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice, well designed room with private bathroom. Good bed, very clean generally. Quietness - the sleep were good enough. You will get breakfast (yogurt, coffee, warm riccotta buns, grapes, marmalade) to the bed - there are no dining room and the lady was super warm and friendly. Good location - only few steps from central train station. Restaurants and pubs in old town are close as well. Good airport connection (bus 22 or 222) will be found very close to hotel. Hotel is between another houses, you need to go though the gate (no big sign). Tiny and very cute. Best place to stay in Riga overnight with great privacy and quietness.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are tiny! Floor and bathroom were very dirty! Used water glasses from the previous guests! Facilities NOT like presented online!! We left after only one night!

    Good location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very, very small. It was difficult to open suitcase on the flor. Just behind the door was reception so both sites, guests and host, can hear their each movement.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If you like to feel alone, this might not be the right structure. The walls are very thin and you can hear almost everything. The owner speaks a very poor English, but it is possible to communicate efficiently with her son. They do not accept any card. It is ok if you have time to drop by an ATM, but if not it might be inconvenient. Moreover, I think they should renovate their bed sheets and lose the bathroom mats in favor of an extra towel.

    good location, very close to the main station. Breakfast time and content are very flexible.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Sound proof is really poor, so when the owners and other guest talk outside or in their rooms, you can hear everything...

    Convenient location, next to fast food, bus stops and not so far from train/central bus station.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is really small (it has 4 rooms I think) and so are the rooms. A bit hard to find since there is only sign for the hotel but it does not say Antik on it. Breakfast was very simple - water and stuffed bun, served to the room. The lady at the reception spoke almost no English.

    Located close to the railway station and withing walking distance of major sights of Riga. Free Wi-Fi.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    New name was not posted at the gate. I was not certain that I was at the right place. Parcel appeared quickly to make me comfortable.

    Individualized services

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was extremely small, bed was tiny, the whole hotel was crowded, a very tiny lobby, no place to eat breakfast (you serve it in your room), and the owner charged us 10 eur for the so called free parking. A disappointing experience for us, even for very convenient price.

    the hotel is closed to the city center.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Person on reception was permanently drunk, he had great party every nighting. Breakfast was a joke - we get 2 yogurts and 2 small something like sandwich, but on the next day we asked about breakfast at 9am because we had fly at the morning. At 9.15 I saw this guy sleeping on the sofa completly drunk and on hangover, so we get only tee and cofe -cold! We left this place disappointment.

    Clean room Great location Comfortable bed

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A few little things, I was charged more on arrival than booking.com specified room rate due to recent price increase. Room was cold and stayed cold, heating could be turned up a bit. I arrived at 1:30am and was unable to find it without a sign marked "Antik Hotel" and also unable to call the phone number on booking.com and doorbell was not working. Booking.com assisted and phoned a different number and got hold of the owner and I was straight in. These were little things and very easy to fix, my overall impression is good, I wish them all the best with the hotel.

    Room was clean and bathroom was good. Double bed and good space. Owner very nice and breakfast was bought to my room at the time specified. Room facilities were good and for an overnight stay, more than adequate. Very close to bus station which was good for me.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was extremely small, you could hear any noise that's outside. The towels and room smelled strange and the breakfast was very poor (coffee mug was not washed at all).

    I only enjoyed the stay because of the location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Thin walls but it's bearable Shower is quite small so the shower curtain kept sticking to my back Cups in the room had stains

    Amazing location near the park and central station Comfortable bed Great wifi Fine breakfast Great price to comfort ratio

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is in very good Location, only short walk to old town. Rooms are small but comfortable and clean. Staff is helpful and informative. Breakfast was delicious. Generally - cosy and cute family hotel.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms where not totally isolated from sounds.

    Perfect location and parking in the very heart of Riga. Super friendly staff, clean rooms,and good breakfast included. Cheap small hostel!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    When I arrived, nobody spoke English and I was sitting in the ,waiting room`(there is no reception`) without knowing what to do or where to go. It should definitely not be called a hotel! I wouldn`t mind it`s super small(there are only 3 tiny rooms next to each other. 1 was occupied by me and the rest by owners by hotel). You can hear absolutely everything, the owners were making noise in the middle of night so I slept nothing. The bathroom was dirty and ste sewage blocked,so the water was coming out of the shower corner. The bedding was not bought new for last 20 years minimum and i was founding cat hair everythin. The breakfast was very poor ( 1sauage roll and youghurt),which I had to eat on my lap sitting in bed. And the internet did not work. Very bad experience and definitely not worth 30EUR/night! I ran away after the first night.

    The location is good, quite close to the city centre.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    No wardrobes available in the room

    - very good location - good price for this small room - nice breakfast It's a small place for a "student-like" experience. I must say that the mother (owner) is very sweet, kind and helpful...even though she speaks little English, but we still managed to understand everything. But the son speaks perfect English if you need further assistance.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a wonderful weekend in a great place. Nice and equipped with all the essentials. Best location: city centre, railway and bus station, a big supermarket and a few restaurants are near. Pavel was very nice, accommodating and helped us with any kind of questions! Would recommend this place!!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location for this particular small hotel: very near to old town and Central Market. Small quiet room but with all needed considering that the goal is to visit Riga. Excellent Wifi (free).

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very difficult to find, name not on street (Hotel Circus on sign). Tiny rooms with no isolation or privacy - staff was sleeping on a sofa outside in the corridor. Overall a very strange place I definitely wouldn't recommend - I wish I had read reviews more carefully before booking!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel follows the hype of tiny houses: it 's a tiny hotel. Only 3 rooms, everything you need in a room of 2,50 x 3,50 metre, including the private bathroom and roomservice breakfast. Unique with car park in the very very centre of Riga! And very friendly and helpfull staff.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    name is actually circus hotel so it was a bit confusing finding it at first. but the address is 100% correct!

    Super great location, room was a good size for the price and the facilities included.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Terrible would be the best description for this place. I have been traveling the globe since around 8 years with my Girlfriend, and we are really not peaky in any way, but this place was way beyond bad. It was described as a nice cozy place near from the Riga downtown... As we arrived we discovered it is just a small office with three rooms. Our disappointment was huge cause for 120eur we were about to pay for 3 Night the place was way beyond the expected quality for that price. Walls were so thin that everything could be heard the whole night (snoring from the other rooms and even the keyboard of the reception's computer...so thin were the walls) The bed was way to small...105cm even it was said a French double bed (135-150cm) there was not enough space for 2 people. But the worst was HOW DIRTY IT ALL WAS!!!! The bed sheets were old, hard and with many dirty stains. The cushions were with dust and the towels really old, hard and really stinky...as I said we are not a peaky couple, we have been sleeping in really all different kind of accommodations but for such an expensive place...the expected quality standard was way to high for what we got... We could barely sleep the first night also because of the dust. There was literally NO privacy then any move you make was heard in the hole place. The owner/receptionist noticed our disappointment faces since we saw the room (I´m pretty sure he is good at recognizing disappointments since he probably see them really often in the face of his customers when seeing the place) He was quite nice at us and told us he could give us some discount and change for a bigger room the next day. But even if the other room was bigger... it was in the same little office so conditions like no privacy, small bed and dirty sheets were the same. The next day we decided to move to a better place. We just payed 38eur for the first night (It was actually 40eur but he gave us a ¨Big Discount¨of 2eur -.

    NOTHING WAS GOOD! Everything was really terrible.... Just the Guy at the Reception (I think the owner) was nice... but he should use his energy into improve the place conditions rather tan to keep making excuses.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I booked on behalf a friend, when he showed up they couldn't find his name but found my reservation however all rooms were already given away so they sent him to a different place, a back room of a travel agency... Part of the booking deal was free breakfast which never happened. The owner of the so called "Hotel Antik" then even had the guts to claim I was a no show charging cancellation fee. Shameless...

    nothing

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place! Perfect location.Room was very clean and comfortable.Helpful stuff.Amazing value for money.I will suggest this place to friends and will deffinatly come back again!!!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was great, thanks!

    Riga is a very nice city to visit, especially when you find a good place to stay! Thanks for the hospitality and late breakfast!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff. Good location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drunk owner and owners friend. There was some funeral that day.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Broken door in shower tube

    Great location and very helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfortable rooms. At exact time served breakfast. We appreciated very quiet night sleep.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi one day worked, second day - not. 24-hour front desk - is not true. Should be named hostel instead of hotel.

    Close to center.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room and bed were small for 2 adults and a child.

    The hostel is situated in the heart of Riga, 10 minutes walk from coach station.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel has limited common space and the room was not sound-proof so you can hear people outside walking and talking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Walls are a bit thin.

    Near the center of town, not far from bus\train station. Good breakfast and friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Antik was terrible, We can–t stay tere because nobody was in reception, administrator was drank and sleeping.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You cant find the hotel easily. There is no sigh outside

    Location is good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice hotel, convenient located near the train station and city centre. Very friendly host and good and fresh breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was better than I wait

    Great value for money

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    no ellectricity plug by any mirror

    good mattrace, nice shower

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    everything ok

    Perfect location, family atmosphere.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent option for short stay - in very city center for low cost.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff so friendly. Amazing service.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was so friendly ,welcoming, helpful and kind i wish we had a longer stay, for a our next we booking this place for the whole weekend.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pilow. ...

    Staff so nice. Nice flowers to windows. Good location. Have great time.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very nice and clean family hotel. Small but nice looking room:)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are situated right in het centre of Riga nearby the old town.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Blanket little dirty.

    Great location and super friendly stuff !!! Small family hotel -)

    Stayed in August 2016

There are also 18 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 53

Guests also reviewed these properties: