Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Rixwell Bauska Hotel 3 stars

Slimnīcas iela 7, Bauska, LV-3901, Latvia

#4 of 5 hotels in Bauska

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1486 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    6.7
    Good location, very bad breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The worst breakfast I have ever had in a hotel. Seriously, it was really-really bad, almost inedible. I was sorry that we even went there to eat. Shower water-pressure was really low.

    Good communication with the staff. We did check-in at midnight and it was extra fast and friendly. Rooms were basic but still comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.8
    Had to stop in Bauska unexpectedly while driving from...
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Worth mentioning that waiting time for warm water in shower (morning) was longer than one would expect.

    Had to stop in Bauska unexpectedly while driving from Tallinn to Vilnius, got tired from road construction and bad weather: thunder and lightning. Found good deal for Rixwell Bauska Hotel online and stayed over. Had perfect sleep in little clean room. Breakfast was nothing special but worth money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.8
    Adequate services and nice surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great situation in the town center and near Via Baltica. Little peaceful town to walk along the streets and parks. Several supermarkets quite near. Nice food at a good price in the restataurant. Breakfast ok. WiFi walked well.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.9
    We can suggest it - Price and quality ratio is ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast. It it served from 7 - 10. We came at 8:30 , the half plates of food was empty and staff serving the breakfast didn't carried about it, bringing new spoons and glasses but not filling the empty space on the table. Additionally she was quite unfriendly -no one word, no greetings...

    Price and quality ratio.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    7.1
    Needs some approvments, but overall good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel room needs refreshing - looks a bit old and weary. Specially bathroom. TV was very old and small - some of the picture was missing because screen so small. No hand shower, only overhead shower. Water pressure from shower weak.

    Central location. Family room consisted of 2 separate bedrooms. Plenty of space. Good breakfast. Friendly staff. Free parking, free WiFi.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.2
    close to the road, but still quiet, good breakfast
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I booked, confirmation said that my card is debited immediately, when I arrived to the hotel, I was told I still need to pay, I would say it is confusing

    close to the road, but still quiet, good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    7.5
    We had a comfortable stopover night in this quite hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing in particular that did not meet our expectations.

    Everything was fine about the hotel, the personnel was friendly, the beds were comfortable and everything was clean. Nothing special but good nonetheless.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.1
    Good relation between the price and the quality.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The walls are very tiny and I heard everything from the near room - it was the feeling I am living not alone in a room. Also I found a big spider on the shower curtains... It was disgusting :(

    Good relation between the price and the quality.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    8.8
    Staff is very nice and friendly!
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got two beds even though we were looking for a big bed, but we slept beds easily, it was ok. It is very long waiting for hot water, the water is either very cold or very hot, and itself changes the temperature from one to the other. My wife's showering after that, it was ok. :D Poor water pressure under the shower.

    Staff is very nice and friendly!!! :) Good breakfast!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    6.7
    Layover in Bauska
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was poorly heated (outside temperature was -16°) and feeling inside was not comfy. Do not look like 3*, would say it is strong 2*

    Restaurant and staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    8.3
    Good location, friendly staff, comfortable place for a short visit
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no napkins/paper towels in the breakfast hall. The water in the shower was difficult to set as it was either too cold or too hot.

    I like the location as it is easy to find, there is also a food market nearby. There is free parking (enough space) and wifi at the hotel. The bed was comfortable, the size of the room quite good as well. The towels were soft and smelled nicely. The staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    8.3
    Not the most exclusive stay, but overall a great value for money deal.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The building seems a little old, but other than that, everything was fine.

    Room was pretty good, nothing more and nothing less than expected. Breakfast was ok, though nothing spectacular, yet the coffee was better than most. Hotel's restaurant offers some good variety of interesting dishes and craft beers.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    9.2
    Very good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good breakfast included, possibility to setup temperature in the rooom, silence, nice but interesting touristic information center located at central square in few minutes walk from the hotel, shops located clse to hotel, filling station as well (Neste), close to main road,

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    7.9
    A pleasant stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite with Sauna
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was average. Could have some bacon and fried eggs.

    We stayed room with sauna which was very good and pleasant stay during trip. Restuarant is nice and small, cozy place to have a dinner.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    9.6
    Good place to stay for one night.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are problem with wi-fi, the conection was only on the first floor.

    Good personel, we need a dinner and they book the dinner in the restaurant. There are very helpful. When you travel by car, it's easy to find the hotel. It's close to old street market. The breakfast is ok.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    7.5
    There was no hot water but they called me days before to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no hot water but they called me days before to warn me and upgraded me to a bigger room for free, so it was ok. It was only one night so the cold water was no huge deal. It's very close to the center and right next to the bus station and the rooms are confortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.3
    The hotel restaurant was acknowleged by an Booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel restaurant was acknowleged by an Booking.com reviever. Although the personel gave instructions to downtown, we desided to stay in the hotel - the meals and service were excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.2
    Very good overnight stay on way to somewhere else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pillows!!!!! Tiny-tiny-tiny, but the staff is very helpful and one should just ask for additional pillow and he gets it. Breakfast is quite OK, if you will not have some teenager group at the same time you are going to have yours. We had one large group at the same time and it was a mess, not enough places (while the youngsters just sat in their smartphones) and the staff had visible problems with adding different kind of food (eg pancakes). I think, the hotel should demand from such groups that their teachers should keep their groups under control.

    Very good overnight stay on way to somewhere else. Good and professional staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    Great quality for a cheap price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We got there late at night and left early in the morning. Quality for this price was excellent. Size of the room was also great, we could easily fit our large travel cot and still have enough space left to walk around. Breakfast was quite diverse for a smaller/cheaper hotel. We will definitely keep this hotel in mind when we travel around that area again! :)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    6.7
    I hope theyre gonna make some improvements, meanwhile in Latvia we have lots of great places to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Blanket covers were spotty, I guess they are unwashable; bathroom wall was covered with some girls hair ends after using a hairdryer; towel hanger is on the other side by the toilet seat; pillows are too thin. Can't even remember all the things after 2 weeks. :(

    Staff members at the desk are nice, and restaurant Mūza is a place to visit.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    8.3
    Good location,friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Be prepared that doors and walls are very thin,so You can hear everybody and everybody will hear You. Coffee served at breakfast was crap.

    Good location,friendly staff.Restaurant was nice too. Sufficient breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    9.6
    I didn't like that we found out that in the rooms in tv...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like that we found out that in the rooms in tv was inside put video camera in . So bacekly it's mean they recorded what ever we done so I hope they enjoy what ever they seen

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    5.0
    Not that I would return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very old style hotel, the staff is not friendly, the breakfast was really horrible that we couldn't find even one thing to eat, looked dangerously old. I would avoid this property if possible

    The location of it if you need to stay in Bauska, on the other hand you don't get too many options, but the price for the location is good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    7.5
    OK
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noises from the neighbouring room round 2,00 o´clock in the night - just normal discussion - it means, the walls in the room are thin - discussion comes through

    Clean room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    8.3
    Very polite and smiling personnel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms and doors are not sound-proof. No free toiletries in the room, although advertised

    Very polite and smiling personnel. Good price and quality ratio. Very good restaurant downstairs.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    6.7
    Basic room with beds ans small table.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room could have been more tidy. Breakfastroom was uncomfortable and breakfast wasn`t worth of eating

    Basic room with beds ans small table. Teen age child own room with the same entrance. Hotel restaurant was very good. Tasty food and exelent service.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    5.4
    Cheap stay in an only fair hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Despite reserving a double bed we were given twins which took a day to fix. There is no cafe near the hotel and few restaurants. The room was spartan and the bed very uncomfortable. There was no mattress pad and the sheets didn't fully fit the bed. The tv had no English language programming. Stay here only for the very low price or if you must be next to the bus station.

    The price was low and the location near the bus station was good. Most staff were helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    7.5
    Quiet place, the room is comfortable, however, the floor was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The floor in the room was not vacuumed at all, there were sunflower seed shells all over the carpet, not to mention the dust. The quality of breakfast was very poor, not to mention the taste. It was the first time when we didn't like standard hotel breakfast at all.

    Quiet place, the room is comfortable, however, the floor was not vacuumed at all, there were sunflower seed shells all over the carpet, not to mention the dust

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    5.8
    Economy hotel in a bad way, dirty. Next time would try to find another place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpets in the hotel were dirty to say the least. Shower had mold and was dirty. Breakfast room dirty and falling apart. Breakfast served sort of had everything, but fruits looked sad, croissants old. Clean Dishes were not there, coffee milk from the machine ran out and personelle said no more refills for that day ( though hour til the end of breakfast).

    We had a family room. The beds were comfy, linen clean. The furniture nice. Wifi worked really well.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.8
    The staff was very friendly and nice and, as we requested,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view from our room wasn't nice - some old buildings, includig storehouses, shops. The breakfast could have more choice for people with lactose intolerance, for almost everything had milk in it...

    The staff was very friendly and nice and, as we requested, we got bath in our room - suprisingly it was quite big. The breakfast was OK.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    5.8
    The restaurant was good as was the half-board.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was untidy and the rubbish bin directly at the entrance was overflowing. The building itself was filthy as was the shower curtain (see photos). Some attempt had been made to modernise the room but still a long way to go.

    The restaurant was good as was the half-board.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.8
    Great for those passing Bauske by car or by bus
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you are looking for more family owned and cosy space, it is not this hotel. The hotel is a standard hotel with all basic amenities. Fridge was missing in the rooms though.

    Very convenient for those passing Bauske to see The Rundale and Bauska castles. The hotel is next to the bus station, in front of a grocery shop and ATMs, with enough space for cars and quite good restaurant (best rated restaurant in Bauska according to Tripadvisor!) with local bier served. Breakfast was generous with various meal options. We rented a family space - two connected rooms with a great value; air conditioning worked well and was needed on thy hot day and night

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    10
    Good location to visit Bauska and around
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is very basic.

    Good location in the center of the city of Bauska. And still peaceful and silent environment. Easy access to the supermarket and shopping. Good base to visit Rundāle Palace. Friendly and flexible staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    9.2
    A nice hotel conveniently located just near the E67 highway,...
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant's kitchen only works until 9pm, so you'd better arrive in advance if you want dinner.

    A nice hotel conveniently located just near the E67 highway, making for a good stop for travellers from Tallinn or Helsinki. Rooms are pretty standard, clean and with a nice bedding. Good choice for staying the night and continuing the drive.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    7.1
    Location in the middle of town is ideal and parking is free...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are rather bland.

    Location in the middle of town is ideal and parking is free in front of the hotel. Also the staff are very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    7.9
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was exactly like photo, nothing special but everything you need. Reception staff very helpful sorting out a problem we had with a card. Breakfast adequate but not to our taste.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    8.8
    Good location near main road to Riga and walking distance...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom would need soon renovation

    Good location near main road to Riga and walking distance from the center. Helpful receptionist and good value for money

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    7.5
    Good place to overnight during long trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room had only half of curtain - this is quite annoying in summer when sun rises at 4 AM. Inconvenient shower. Hotel facilities require a bit of renovation.

    Comfortable 3-star hotel located just next to A7 motorway. Large and clean family room. Breakfast is OK. Stable WiFi connection. Good value for money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    6.7
    It is located next to the main bus station in Bauska, which...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    During our stay the hotel hosted some fotball club and sometimes reception and resaturant were crowded. First night we arrived we were not allowed in the restaurant, because it was booked by that club, although there was no other option for us to have dinner in the city. Breakfast was mediocre. There was a coffee machine that did not work. There was an empty water container, never refilled. When something finished it wasn't replenished and I never saw a member of the staff taking care of the buffet or the tables.

    It is located next to the main bus station in Bauska, which is very convenient. A super market is just opposite, which is also very convenient. Everything was at walking distance, but Bauska is not that big after all. Rooms are spacious with minimal design. The restaurant-bar has a nice atmosphere, still it is almost absurd that in mid summer it doesn't serve after 22:00.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    7.1
    Family rooms were wide and beds comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I am usually not a person who likes to complain, but this time it's a must.. Hotel should be upgraded for better. Breakfast didn't have any taste at all, any... They should change their Cook as soon as possible!!!! We asked to have an iron in room - waited for it 2 days till last minute of our leaving and didn't get it anyway, because apparently they have just one on all hotel rooms...! The WiFi was covering just area in bathroom and by the door. No chance to use it in our room. On our request the answer were - it shouldn't be like that.. There was an air conditioner blowing in a hall just across our room, so crazy cold coming in all the time. We complained about it, but they couldn't do anything saying that it is controlled automatically, so sorry. And yes - also water dropping out of ceiling of bathroom and entrance + mysterious water leaking by one side of sink, the floor was wet most of the time. If comparing with other hotels around and their costs, it is a cheaper option to stay, but must say that don't keep your expectations to high

    Family rooms were wide and beds comfortable The restaurant next to the lobby was nice

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    9.6
    Nice affordable place in a good location, perfect for a short stay
    • Group
    • Suite with Sauna
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast hall could be lighter and nicer, but it's quite spacious, so it is ok. The only thing I did not like was cold food (scrambled eggs, sausages etc). Although there is quite a wide selection of food for breakfast - cereal, fruits, pastries, scrambled eggs, salads, sausages etc. The coffee machine doesn't work well and takes time.

    The room was really spacious, cozy and tidy. There was a sitting space and a coffee table in the room as well as the kettle, some coffee and tea, so this was quite nice and comfortable. There was also bathrobes and slippers and the towels were soft and pleasant to use. The staff was very friendly and helpful, their communication skills were really good. Speaks English well. Free parking space near the hotel is very convenient. There was a sauna in the room, so there is a possibility to use it and have a relaxing evening. It is easy to use/set it and everyone can do it. It was quite quiet in the hotel, no noise or anything disturbing. Overall, I would recommend it for a short stay as it is quite affordable and comfortable and Bauske town is nice to visit while travelling, passing by. There is a really beautiful castle worth visiting, especially if you are interested in history as there is a small museum in the castle.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    10
    Very convenient stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing we were missing was hot tea/coffee in the evening but I suppose in some rooms they have kettles to boil the water.

    Bathroom and a shower was very convenient. Beds were comfortable. No noise from the street or other rooms, you will appreciate this if you are a light sleeper. Parking is for free, you can park your car just in front of your window.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    7.9
    Standard hotel with all necessary facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was no hot water for 2nd person to take shower in the morning.Also shower space could be divided by door or curtains.

    Standard hotel with all necessary facilities.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    6.3
    Decent stay with bad breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely bad breakfast!

    Room was fine. Clean and had everything we needed. We were only passing through Bauska, and the location was decent with just around 15 minutes drive to the wonderful Palace. From the lobby there is access to a really great little restaurant, go there and eat breakfast instead of using the included terrible breakfast! Check in was a bit slow, but that seems to be pretty standard in the Baltics.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    9.6
    Perfect place for a night stay on a road trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    A generic hotel, nothing too fancy, clean and comfortable, with breakfast options you would expect, but for extremely low price (or at least the deal I got as a genius member), it felt like a steal. Only shortcoming might be that it is close to the bus station and main street and had some undesirable noises in the morning, but there is nothing that can be done about it except closing the window. Room had heating and air conditioning but I did not get use them because temperature was fine as it was at the moment of my stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    7.9
    A well located place to stay overnight.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although the bathroom was big, clean and light, I had to wait for hot water in a shower a little more than I would consider to be ok.

    The staff was very kind and friendly. Breakfast was ok. The room was really clean and neat. Big parking place at the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    9.2
    Good for a drive-through
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was a bit too poor and outside the hotels there quite nothing to do as it is just next to the highway.

    It's just beside the highway, so if traveling through, it's a great place where to stay. Also big supermarkets are close by, so you can buy things you need.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    9.6
    The staff went above and beyond making us feel extremely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff went above and beyond making us feel extremely comfortable. Thank you so much to the young lady at the reception who worked so hard. We had a small issue with an electrical fuse. The hotel is a clean chain hotel. The family rooms have two separate rooms so parents can have some privacy. The breakfast buffet was impressive. The groups who were at the hotel seemed to not have eaten for days as they stormed the buffet. The hotel staff made sure we got our share and put us in a quieter room. You can't beat this deal! If you are lucky to be on the 2nd floor, you can get free WiFi from the bank next door since the hotel WiFi is only in the reception area.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    9.6
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sauna
    • Stayed 1 night

    In the Baltics, the summers are glorious: low humidity, breezes, temps in 70s. Yet, because the windows don't open in this hotel, the rooms heat up to unbearable temps on the sun side. Opening windows would have prevented this. To conserve electricity, we did not leave the inadequate air conditioner on while we dined. Next time we will, and perhaps the room will be cooler sooner. We will return in any case because of the location, restaurant, and reasonable price.

    Location. Restaurant had excellent and innovative menu. Worth the stop whether you are staying there or not.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    8.3
    Good accomodation in an historical environment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The town itself is a bit booring.

    The breakfast buffet was very good - also the hotel's restaurant is good. We would go there again, if applicable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    8.3
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sauna
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sauna in room was excellent! Very comfortable bed. Tasty and rich brekfast. Kettle ir room, complimentary coffe, tee, sugar. In bathroom complimentary toiletries.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location, right next to bus station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, right next to bus station. Staff were fab, Zane on front of house was extremely helpful and the lovely people in the restaurant translated the menu and found me a beautiful vegetarian ravioli for dinner. Breakfast was plentiful and tasty. 10 mins walk from Bauska castle.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    9.6
    Nice hotel for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is a bit noisy, or it was at the time of our visit.

    The girls at the registration desk were very helpfull and nice. The room was spacious, as well as the bathroom, everything was clean.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    9.6
    overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For short over night stay on a longer trip - it is OK. Basic needs are covered, sleep is quite good, breakfast is satisfactory for this price. Close to E67 road, close to CircleK (or Statoil) gas station.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    6.7
    Quite ok for affordable price with free parking space
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast hall isn't so nice, looks a bit old and there not enough light. The breakfast was cold (omlette, potatoes and sausages) and the place looked untidy.

    The room was quite ok, tidy and cozy. The restaurant serves quite good food, had dinner there and enjoyed it. Staff was quite friendly and helpful. There is a free parking space. In general the hotel is ok for a short stay when you are looking for something affordable but don't expect anything special..

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    7.1
    Good location on way from Vilnius to Tallinn.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was quite meager, but is was nice to have fresh pancakes, Anyway room price was so low thats okey. Restaurant was looking nice, and menu was also good and nice price. Staff was little stolid, and kitchen was closed half hour before closing time we didnt get dessert. So maybe some flexibility would good, we were only customers.

    Good location on way from Vilnius to Tallinn. Comfort beds, reasonable pet fee, very friendly staff. Low price for good and peaceful night sleep. Market just front of hotel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    7.1
    Decent place for a short stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite with Sauna
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had a bit of problem with room being a little bit on the cold side as the heater was working only when I was in the room (when you leave the electricity turns off). Also - breakfast! I asked for a special breakfast (gluten and dairy free) and I am very happy that I was provided with one, but the quality of food was terrible and in all honesty I was afraid to eat it as it did not look nor tasted fresh. I ended up going out for breakfast. The dishes were also not fully clean.

    Decent place for a short stay. Suite was comfy and large. Location is fine, The restaurant next to hotel was superb.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    5.8
    If you have a habit of sleeping during the night - don't stay here
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In the ad it says "Pet friendly, bring your furry friend with you". Just in case I wrote an email that we will actually bring our furry friend. And thus began the funny stuff. Bringing in the pet costs extra. Well ok, we will pay extra. When we came, we were handed a huge list of things that our dog can't do. If a dog causes any kind of disturbance, we would pay extra. Seemed fair. I signed those papers. After that all night long we listened to our neighbours snoring and children screaming (I checked, there is no fee for taking children to a room - haha). So that did not seem fair. We slept like 2 hours during the whole night, which should have been a little vacation for us. So regardless of attitude to bringing dogs: the hotel was completely empty (and it IS quite big hotel): why couldn't have we been put within bigger distance from our neighbours?

    The hotel is in quite ok place.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    8.3
    Central location but not noisy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No comfortable chair(s) in bedroom, just one hard chair at desk. No public lounge offering an alternative, comfortable place to sit.

    Central location but not noisy. Rooms and corridors renovated in recent years (stayed 3 nights Fri-Mon, on 5th floor). New carpets, new bathroom fittings, new bed and furniture. Furnishings are basic (to IKEA standard) but satisfactory. Room cold on arrival but heating coped well with outside temperature of minus 6-7 Celsius. Good breakfast room with wide selection of warm and cold foods. Very good restaurant/bar, operated as a separate business so could not be charged to the room: comfortable, nice ambience with good food and service.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    7.1
    It was OK!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sauna
    • Stayed 1 night

    We payed for a suite, so I at least expected a flat screen TV. It didn't have to be a big one, but at least flat screen. We were greeted by tiny CRT TV that I could barely see from the bed. Shower kept changing heat level. Cold for few seconds, Hot for few seconds, made it very uncomfortable. Breakfast was pointless – don't pay for it. Ours came complimentary with the suite. We only went down the first morning as it didn't taste fresh and had little to no choice of food.

    Loved the sauna! The sauna in the room was definitely a first for me. Enjoyed it and used it a couple of times over the night. Other than that the "Suite" was a bog standard double.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    8.8
    Big and clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Big and clean room. Good breakfast. Excellent value for money. Very good place to stay before visiting Rundale, but Bauska castle is also may be easealy recommended for visit.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    6.3
    The staff was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room wasn't really clean, especially the bathroom. The mattress wasn't covered well. Wifi didn't work properly in the room (they warned us for that).

    The staff was nice. Breakfast was good. It was pretty cheap.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    6.3
    Breakfast was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Upon arrival we had issue with type of rooms. Those that we have booked via Booking.com were already occupied and we were given the alternative. Plus the fee difference was returned to us after small discussion with administrator, but anyway experience was not really good.

    Breakfast was good. Staff helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    7.9
    Basic but great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was only average but maybe I just wasn't accustomed to the local 'delicasies'.

    Basic hotel room but this was reflected in the very reasonable price. Great base for a trip to Rundale Palace.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    7.9
    The hotel was okay for a one night stay after visiting...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet wasn't working and we needed it to plan the next day's itinerary!

    The hotel was okay for a one night stay after visiting Rundale palace.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    5.4
    Disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no wifi, no air conditioning, the shower head had no pressure and could not be taken down to wash the children. The bathroom smelled of damp and mould. We were supposed to stay 9 nights, we left after 1.

    Breakfast was tasty though a fairly small variety, beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2016

    6.3
    So-so
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist was unhelpful when I called about non existing wifi connection. I must say, he was annoyed that I wanted to use wifi. Shower water was very weak all the time we tried.

    The bed was comfortable and curtains were blinding

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    10
    Value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    A toaster during breakfast would make the stay 10 out of 10! :)

    Staff very welcome and the restaurant manager accepted us at 10pm although the kitchen closes that time. Food was brilliant.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    8.3
    Good for short stay in a small town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi did not worked and it looks it was not working for a long time. But it was no information during a booking of hotel day before stay.

    Very helpful stuff. We were recomended a very good restaurant which would never found by ourselves.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    8.8
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is a pretty nice hotel, just what you can expect from a sheer hotel if you need to stay for a night or two. Family room was spacious, comfortable and clean, the staff is friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    7.9
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is far from the center of the city, but anyway, travelers will stay for the mentioned spots.

    Basic hotel for visit Bauska Castle and Rundale Palace. Clean rooms, with basic facilities. Nice restaurant for dinner on site.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    8.8
    Really good place for those who want to spend some days in Bauska and to have good breakfast :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hair dryer (fan) in our room didn't work but I was allowed to use it in other room. WiFi was not in all the time.

    The hotel is good, clean, in good location. The breakfast was really PERFECT- full of everything and very tasty!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2016

    10
    Very good value for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good value for the money. Clean, cozy, comfortable. Hotel restaurant was very good - delicious foods and good cocktails. Will certainly visit again.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    5.0
    Breakfast was ok, but nothing special.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rate of the room include only one towel to use. You have to pay addition 3 EUR if you want at least a small one for your hand. The floor was dirty, the room was smelly.

    Breakfast was ok, but nothing special.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    3.8
    Not 3 stars hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very , very poor breakfast , actually nothing to eat . Woman who serving breskfast all time is not on good mood, never not seen her smile, Noise from the street , shower not so good. Aircon not working. Personal can be more polite.

    Comfortable bed, location

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Rixwell Bauska Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: