Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Designapartments

Palasta 10, Rīga, LV-1050, Latvia

#272 of 359 Holiday rentals in Rīga

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1057 apartment reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    7.3

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed seemed broken as it wasn't stable and the batteries in remote controls were old so we couldn't watch the DVDs they offered. Sound isolation wasn't perfect, but good enough to sleep without being disturbed too much by the people partying in oldtown.

    Apartment was clean and everything needed was provided. In case if someone needs, we found extra blankets in tee wardrobe. Rooms were cosy and furniture was comfortable. Design of the place is on point! Great place to stay at, as it gives a feeling of home even if you just opened the door 5min ago. In case of having nothing to do during evening, they have bunch of DVDs.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The issue is that you don’t know which apartment you’ll get. I was exhausted by the time I arrived to the office. I had a long journey on top of which I had to wait another 20min or so to get photos and directions to make my own way to the apartment. Through the cobalt streets I dragged my heavy suitcase to the assigned place. The entrance into the apartment was through a small service courtyard since I was travelling alone I did not like this aspect. The people at the rental office assured me due to several doors one has to unlock on the way to the apartment. Unfortunately most of the time all of those doors were kept unlocked. The furniture is pretty old and you get one towel for a five day stay. Old dishes, no microwave, and a poorly working fridge.

    The location was right in the old town close to everything. It made up for the other aspects.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was unexpected for me that the apartment itself was away from the office and the initial address the property states. Fortunately I had small luggage, so getting to the location of the apartment itself wasn't that difficult, but it could be if one had lots of large luggage.

    The location of the specific apartment I got was great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2-Room Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Even outside was pretty hot, flat was cold inside. During the night better cover up nicely not to get sick in the morning. Double bed is not so big. In the shower there is no protection to keep water inside the bathtub so you need to clean around after shower. TV is pretty small and not working. Also sofa is far away from tv so you can't watch anything. Since it is near a bar, during the night if you are a light sleeper you can get disturb from the noises. Keys being collected from their office which is on Palasta Iela and the flat which we stayed was on Vecpilsētas iela so you need to walk around 600 m to arrive flat after collecting keys but it is little hard if you have heavy bags to carry them in the old town since pulling your bag over big stones not so easy. Room needs an update since furniture and flat walls started to get old.

    Location of the flat is great. You can reach everywhere so easily. Reception person was kind and helpful. Lets us leave our bags until the flat is ready so we can enjoy the city while waiting. Check out was easy as well. Kitchen has enough things if you like to cook by yourself. Hair dryer, water boiler, good internet, mirror in the bedroom, second toilet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower water cold, the person who showed me appartment did not tell me how to warm water, so first day had cold showers, and my messages asking were not answered...

    Location and apartment

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite a lot could be better. Collecting the key was a pain. We went to the office but could not find it (we were later told many guests could not find the office due to poor sign posting - I wonder why this is not rectified?) My understanding from the webpage we could get the key through to late in the evening, however I got a call asking what time I was collecting the key due to the member of staff being keen to return. I was asked if i had a preference of a lower lever apartment - ours turner out to be on the second floor (no lift and my mother is 78 so was not great). The apartment was not that which was pictured on the page - it was dated and old fashioned. We did not mind but don't feel this practice is acceptable. Hidden cleaning charges. MY PET HATE!! Apartment not in the centre of old town as was described

    The property was large, the bathroom was also large. The apartment was adequate for the visit but I will not return.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The apartment was so spacious, the kitchen really well equipped (although we only used the kettle) and there was a bath. The location was fantastic. We got a great night's sleep both nights.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had to take cold shower because hot water never came, as far as it was hot spring day ir was ok, and as I understand it could be spring water supply checking in the town, but I would not like that if it was in winter. It was little bit hot in the room even with high cieling, because the windows were to east and the curtains did not help much from sunshine and heat

    It was spacious, nice equiped with kitchen, with best location and view. It was high with and for some people with suitcaes it would be difficult to climb, but was not our case, it is possible to ask to live on lower levels as I understand. Bed was comfortable and clean. It was tottaly central in the Old town and very safe, because of closed yard and closed staircase porch. We were little bit late to move from the apartment but the cleaning lady allowed to take our time

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed broke down in the middle of our visit, it was held together with duct tape. The next night it was fixed to be more secure. The mattress was not very comfortable. The internet connection in the apartment did not work and because of this the tv did not work either. This was reported, but they couldn't fix the problem. Also the wifi password in the room was spelled incorrectly.

    Large apartment that has recently been renovated. Excellent value for money when compared to a hotel room. The staff was helpful and easy to get in contact with.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Appartement hasen’t a table big enough to eat together. The bathroom an the separate toilet could be cleaner. The kitchen had not so good with glasses etc, and some of it was dirty.

    The Appartement is in the ‘middle’ if of the old city. Short way to everything. The host was really lovely!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have no major complaints. We had to walk a few minutes from the office to check in, and there was a bit of noise from the street below in the mornings, but what do you expect from a character-filled building in the middle of the bustling Old Town area?

    We really lucked out with this apartment! My husband and I booked an apartment for a city break in Riga and got what I believe is one of their best apartments. The location was excellent for walking around the Old Town and Central District. The apartment was big, clean and full of charm with only one flight of stairs to walk up. The owner even gave me a book about Riga's architecture to take home when we were checking out! Overall a very good experience.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Reception office is apart from rooms/apartments. Central heating system was not working on 27nd April. Building was cold. We've requested mini heating fan from reception and they've provided quickly. Our apartment was in third floor and it has very narrow and steep stairs and no elevator. Certainly not suitable for kids and old people.

    Perfect location, two buildings away from President House and near by the river.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The beds was not very comfortable. The bedsrooms lacked any sort of curtains to keep the morning light out. For the number of persons we stayed in the apartment, one bathroom and one toilet was a bit under dimensioned.

    Location was superb. The kitchen was properly equipped. The apartment was tidy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Half a toilet paper roll is not enough for 4 people! Since the apartment is on the 5th floor, the walk up the stairs might be rough for older people and the smell in the stairways was pretty bad.

    Perfect location just in the center of town and with a nice view overlooking the central park.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty front entrance, dirty, ghetto- like hallway. Other people okd hair on floor, uncomfortable sleeping arrangements. Wall paper old and dirty.

    Location in old town

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2-Room Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet bowl needs to be repair. No good knife in the kitchen. But it's little thing.

    Fine,silent place in old town, in a few steps from Riga cathedral, Dauguva river.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2-Room Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The major issue - you don't know which apartment you will get. They are all central, but we got one in 4th floor with spiral stairs and that was a big no for us - for some people it wouldn't be a problem, but for us it was so these kind of things should be stated before booking or at least before staying!!! Other thing - in summer it won't matter but right now it was super cold in the bathroom, like it is freezing cold there. Also - so little stuff, like more stuff like dishes or equipment, like it is "without love" apartment, but this is nothing bad. It would be nice if there would be liquid soap, shampoo, conditioner in the bathroom instead those "for one time" tester-hotel things - like you could spear few euros to make it more comfortable…

    Central, newly renovated and a lot of space, clean and comfortable beds. They also let us check out later, check in was easy. Towels, comfy beds, perfect wifi connection. Location is fantastic and super quiet.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Kitchen could have been in better condition, only 1 burner was functional on the 4 burner gas cook top. The apartment had two beds, however one was just a mattress with no linens and was in the main room (TV was located in this room). It was okay for the two of us--used this bed to put our suitcases on, but was a little weird. Carpet in this main room had a funky odor to it as well.

    Location was good--our particular unit was very large and had beautiful view of the river. Just a few minutes walk to the pedestrian areas, shops and things to do and see.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t work out how to get heating in flat... we didn’t bother to ask as we’re out most of the time.

    Great price for an amazing location. Comfortable and well equipped apartment that well served our needs.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • 2-Room Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Very unfriendly personal at check-in. Took 20 € extra from us for a "late-check-in", although we´d been 10 minutes before the official closure time at the office. He wasn´t there, but came after I had call him by phone. Acted agressive and very unpolite! Appartment was too loud (close to a Bar and a Club) and too bright at night.

    Really close to the city centre in the middle of Rigas old town.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The apartment is very much vorn out. Beds are not comfortable. Few towels and very thin.

    Very well located apartment. Great price. The apartment is very big and homie. Beautiful view from windows

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the host who give us the key and showed us the appartment was extremely ignorant. He acted like a robot,as he tried to seem nice. But he was so unkind. We were struggling to carry our luggages behind him while he almost running in front of us on the way to the apartment. he never asked if he should go slower or if he could help out to a woman carry her luggage... He showed the apartement and he said there was wifi and passwords are written on the unit but it never worked for us. We couldn't pay by card and he have never received our invoice we asked for... The apartment was in the city center and was so noisy during the nights. (3 nights of the 5) poorly equipped. no pots to cook or bake at all. no salt.

    The apartment was really big and spacious. good location but can be quite noisy at night because of the night life.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Family with young children
    • 2-Room Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was for sure the worst stay of all times and now i completely understand why is the rating of this accommodation relatively low. Just stay away from this incompetent accommodation with awful staff who just lie to booking.com team. Run! First of all i sent them a letter asking if we could stay in the same apartment we did last time (last time everything was pleasant, apartment was nice, staff ok) didn't get any reply to it. Even an sorry but no its not possible would be better than complete ignoring if the request. Secondly i requested late check out but this too wasn't possible. Ok with that. On the day we started to drive i messaged them telling our approximate time of arrival and asked for their phone number. In their reply they only informed us of late check in fee and that's it, no number! This all is actually nothing, things happen and when accommodation and its people are nice(like most of them are anyway), its all in the past. Anyway, we got to their office, ranged doorbell for several times and no one answered for couple of minutes. Since ringing the doorbell was no help, i surfed for their number. No answer. I text messaged the property and on that administrator finalllyyyy answered the doorbell. We were finally in and thankfully just in time too despite the administrator taking his time(to booking they told that admin was out with clients haha, he was in minding his own business, we'd seen him if he was out with clients!). Got to the apartment too that was rather lousy, extremely outdated with poor, Windows (you could hear the nightlife). The ceiling was hanging loose, no opportunity to connect the tv... Wifi didnt had a signal until an hour... House itself had a mold stink to it. Extremely squeaky floors, cold ass rooms.....

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Shabby walls, damaged furniture and facilities, some things/garbage hidden in cupboards, some devices (TV) didn' work. Didn't like the host's attitude. Funny, he arbitrary charged himself one euro tip (didn't give change from 200 eur)

    Good location in the old town center. Apartment's conditions seems to be fair for the low price.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2-Room Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    First of all the apartments are located all over the city centre. This is annoying as I wanted to be in a specific location but it turned out that it was their office. Once we arrived to the office we had to wait for sameone who will take us to the apartment. The young boy then showed us the way. The apartment was on 3rd floor and I had lots of luggage. The boy didn't even offer to help us with luggage. what a shame. The apartments was very run down and dirty. Bathroom tiles very scary. Majority of appliances were damaged. Apartment was dirty. Kitchen table not even wiped with pices of bread from breakfast of previous tourists. Bed was terrible, making loud sound every time I moved. Furniture was old, damaged and incomplete. It is a shame couse with this location the potential is enomous.

    The location was perfect. We were lucky :) The view from the window was amazing. That compensated for all the inconveniances.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A smiling staff would have been nice.

    They have apartments in various locations in the old city or around the old city. So you don't know where you stay until you get in the apartment. We liked the first apartment we stayed. it was attic. veeeery spacious and has everything you need. location was very good. but it was a little bit freaky at night. Because none lives in the apartment but an out-of-her-mind old lady. Since there are only roof windows and top floor we felt a bit outside and scared. So asked for a change of the apartment and they changed it to another apartment immediately. it was right by the dom church and very in the center. Second apartment was also very big and nice. There were many people live there. So it felt very safe to stay there.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed was quite old (but comfortable) and the sofa looked pretty dirty. During the check-in we had to wait for some time and the guy seemed almost annoyed by us.

    Incredibly central position, large flat, clean kitchen and decent bathroom. Good value for money.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2-Room Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    This place is an amazing gem in the heart of Old Riga! Collecting the keys was easy and the host Pavel is really amazing! Everything you may wish is just steps away, nice and peaceful during night time and the apartment is equipped with all the necessities. Totally recommend!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Top floor of old building, no lights on the stairs after the first floor

    Lovely, spacious studio apartment. Lots of sky lights so very bright. Comfortable bed. Wifi in the apartment. On the edge of the old town.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2-Room Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The apartment was very different from the one advertised on there site with a very nice view to nowhere. General state of the facilities was bad, blinds were missing in most of the windows, TV didn't work. You are requested to pay for your reservation before you can see the actual property you are renting, sign a term of responsibility for the property content (again without what or in what is the content of the property) and at the end they tell you that for check out you just have to leave the keys in the house and the doors unlocked.... I won't stay again unless some improvement is made on customer care.

    The location of the apartment that was assigned to us.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was up many flights of stairs with no lift and travelling with young children, suitcases and buggy was exhausting getting up and down so may flights of stairs. I wish that had been stated on the website that it was 8 flights of stairs and no lift.

    The location was great and the apartments were nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Scary courtyard and entrance; 4th floor walk up, no real living room, broken furniture, old and dirty furniture, broken hair dryer, clogged shower. Pictures on the website are much nicer than the actual apartment we got.

    WiFi, location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were supposed to stay at appartment on Miesnieku streed 14-33. The appartment photos were not available at the booking, which we found out only after payment - appartment was located on ground floor, very wet and with the mildew in the room (just behind the bed). Some equipment broken. dark and not very clean. They did not offer parking as designated on the web page, but they suggested us to use public parking. so we decided to return the appartment back after one hour staying there and founding all the issues - the receptionist has only informed us that some appartments do not have photos as they are renting 36 facilities (therefore feedbacks from some appartments might be positive but you might have bad luck and they put you to the basement as us). they also informed us that they are fully booked on that day and can return us money - which never happened and they are not responsive to my requests. Would never suggested this facility.

    Location was only positive thing about the accomodation.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is in the middle of oldtown, the appartement is oldtown-style - good place to stay for a couple of nights and to experience the nightlife of Riga

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    It doesn't look as good on the pictures. More shabby and nothing design about it. At 7 am there was someone knocking super loudly on the building entrance door for good 20 minutes, trying to get in. Since the apartment is on the ground floor, right next to the building door, sleep was impossible until someone came to open the that door.

    It's big and it's right in the middle of the old town. Location could not be better.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2-Room Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The company(Apartmenti-Jana) charged oss twice payment! Once happened in the month(April) that I booked the room through the booking.com, and second time was the month(July) I visited. This is big scandal!!! Please check your bank account very carefully that company withdraw money from you twice!!! Tv didn't work. Couch bed wasn't comfortable. Toilet was stinky. Refrigerator was also stinky. Very dark inside the room, had to have lights on all the time.

    Apartment is close to old town and city. Good access to the train, bus, and tram.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The exact location of the apartment wasn't available until you went to the office and checked in. Actual apartment was a few block away. But all in all it was still at good location.

    The location was excellent at very affordable price. In the apartment there was nice living room which was great for larger group.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Nothing :)

    - Self-contained flat (a flat in a townhouse) with open space - Best location possible - in the heart of the Old Town - Very well equipped bathroom: toiletries, hairdryer, large and comfortable bathtub - Fully equipped kitchenette: induction hob, microwave, toaster, plates, cups ... nothing was missing :) - In the living room a super-comfy sofa, big TV - Large bed, huge wardrobe (with a big mirror) - Nice decor, interesting coloring, furnishing in one, consistent style, with paintings, figurines, mascots - homely, at home :) - Clean - Great value for money - Very nice service: the girl personally took us to the place, showed the apartment, was on the phone (and keys didn't have to be returned after the check-out; the charwoman picked it up) - Wi-fi worked flawlessly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The apartment had only nets and no curtains so not easy to sleep (especially in the summer). Most of the time the WIFI didn’t work. Also because this first-floor apartment was next to a bar, music could constantly be heard, but was not very loud. One of the bathroom blinds was stuck so the building across could potential see inside.

    Designapartments were very friendly and helpful at check-in. The apartment was clean and very spacious. One of the bedrooms had a very large wardrobe and large comfortable bed. The lounge is big with large sofa and 2 additional chairs. The kitchen is modern and the bathroom is a good size. The apartment was located within the old town so easy access to all the old town has to offer.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom door did not lock. No power point in kitchen. Had to wait at reception.The odor at the entrance was bad.

    Location was great. Room was renovated. The receptionist was informative and kind. Beds were very comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could be challenging to contact the staff at their office unless you have a phone Some windows don't have coverings to block the sun Could use better explanation of how to use facilities

    Fabulous location, in the middle of old town. Unique and attractive apartments Large apartments Very nice to have kitchen and washer/dryer

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to find reception as it was not at the entrance door we was told. The apartment was not on the address that we booked, but in the other end of the centre of town.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no hot water till the night. We did not take a shower till night. The apart was cold and the beds were broken. We had a backache. The enterance of the block was frightening. It was like in a horror film. I do not recommend it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When you book with Design Apartments you have no idea where in the Old City your apartment will be. We stayed with them before and had a more central apartment. The real problem is that they seem to get an apartment and rent it out as it is. Our first apartment was a bit strange. This one was downright odd. Weird bathroom. Spa sized bath took up most of the room. Toilet tucked in a corner with no place for a toilet roll. That sat on the new washing machine, which was a bit too far from the actual toilet to be reachable. No cupboards or shelves at all in the bathroom, so everything had to go on the washing machine. Hooks for the towels were about a foot from the floor, so the towels touched the floor. The cupboards in one bedroom were full of heaters, lamps etc. The other bedroom had two wrdrobes but no shelves or drawers. Nothing we couldn't live with and the price was good, but if you want an apartment with all the normal furniture and amenities then you may be very disappointed.

    The location was good. It was very affordable and there was a lot of space. The people who work for Design Apartments are friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad smell in stair hall ,no hot water and no wifi internet ,they use co-wifi with lower restaurant and not working

    Location is good around with restaurant and best view ,easy to walk around town and find attraction place ,room very big and has two private bedroom

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2-Room Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We arrived by car at reception office in the afternoon from Tallinn. We temporarily park the car in front of the building, and a young guy help us check-in (charge us) first and then, lead us to the room. To my surprise, the apartment room is far away from their office! I asked him to bring us together with our car, (one of our friend was waiting in the car), but he told us the room is not far and refuse to bring our car together. It was raining and I asked to borrow an umbrella, the answer was "NO"! Unfortunately, the room was more than 15 minutes walk from their office. This guy took off in an hurry and left us to walk back to our car by ourself again, 20 minutes, under the pouring rain! By the time we drove the car back to the apartment, we got lost in the complicated small streets! We tried to ask many people on the street the way, even a taxi driver couldn't answer where is the correct address located! I walked in the rain, for about half hour, under the pouring rain, to chase the local people (not many stopped for me, because it was raining!) to ask the way! After we finally find out the place, we have to keep looking the car parking place! That day, was pouring raining, we got soaking wet by the time we finally get into the room in the evening after 9 pm! Why this employee could not show us the way properly? We are stranger in Riga, We need clear direction! The service was the poorest ever!!! We waste of our first 3 hours just for checking in! This was the worst experience ever during this trip!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Towels were clean, but a bit old, looks like they was washed 1000 times and need to replace them with brand new. Bed is big and comfortable, but blankets was very short. I'm only 177cm height, but it was not enough to cover my feet and second blanket was the same size :) Shower not always turns to shower mode, sometimes using shower it switch to tap mode.

    Location and view from the small balcony was amazing - direct to the church tower peak. Apartment is in the old town, but it is enough quiet place, because the place is not in the front of the main street. Apartment is studio type, cozy, spacious and with the red brick wall - I love it! It even has two toilets, bath and kitchen with all necessary equipment :) It's was not a problem for me, but if you don't like to use stairs, the place is in the 4th floor. That's why it has a cozy view.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2-Room Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Check-in was mood spoiler. Waiting in ground floor with family and luggage, putting calling bell and no body responded. Staff does not know how to inform and welcome guest. Rude and unprofessional staff. property management is worst. It was a ghost apartment. Old, broken, dark and scary. You see something and get worst. Nobody is there to listen your problem. They throw you some faraway from the address given. No water in the flush. No hot water for bath. They take authorization for your credit card so that they can claim some damage and use your credit card. So, I used my bed sheet and towel apprehending to loose some money thru my credit card. Key collection at one place and apartment is far away. Not suitable for anybody because you travel with your luggage and family to one place and then again you walk long distance with luggage and family in a horrible road and break your trolley. I broke my new trolley of 200 euros. They said your luggage is not suitable for Riga. In night 11.00 pm, when I was returning from market, one drunkard person tried to snatch my bag demanding euros. No security nearby. This is a ghost apartment with broken bricks in the room itself. I booked a studio with 2 rooms but got a hall with virtual partition with broken house. Ugly and dark staircase. No words to describe and worst apartment seen in my whole travel in life.

    I like their art of cheating.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    We didn't know real location and design of appartments at booking as office is in different place. But host was helpful and gave us very good location.

    ecomony class appartment as we needed. Location superb. All we needed in the kitchen - we found.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor mattress(it split in half and left a big hole between) and pillows in bedroom

    Beautiful spacious apartment in the heart of Riga. Kitchen facilities were OK, WiFi strong, bathroom spacious + had a bathtub in it. Checking out was easy.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2-Room Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Door was off the wardrobe in the second bedroom.

    Location in the centre of the Old Town. Lots of room.View from window of lively square. Staff changed our room to one with fewer steps.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only minus we found ,property is situated on 4rd floor and there was no lift. Booking com page states (breakfast included)it was not.

    Property was really tidy.Good placed(centre of old Riga)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet didnt flush, staircase was dangerous, smelly and dark. Rude stuff, dirty place, no hot water at all, lock was difficult. Usually I dont complain, but now I have to.Please take this place out of booking.com

    Location was good, but thats just about it.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The facility contact allowed us to come pick up keys at 14:00 at leave our baggage on 10:00 at the office. But nobody were at the office till 11:00, nobody answered phone provided by facility contact and nobody was there to open a building door. At 14:00 keys were not ready and when we arrived at 15:00 at the rpoperty - there was a cleaner that asked us to wait another hour outside!! It really ruined all our day

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Map to "design apt." hard to follow and goes to wrong address!!! Update the map and address! Very frustrating.

    Great location, great apt.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The carpet was disgustingly dirty. When we arrived to the office to return the keys, nobody was there After 10 minutes when I phoned the person I was called by when we arrived and she just refused my call thus kept us in a desperate situation, so we kept on waiting. Luckily a nice guy arrived soon and apologised that they forgot about having leaving guests.

    Its location is absolutely perfect, the apartment is fully equipped.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The Designapartments is not located at the address given on booking.com. They own several appartments which are distributed in the old town of Riga. So after collection of your keys at the reception, you have to walk (up to 15 min) to your final flat.

    The location of the flat we stayed in was perfect.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2-Room Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above. The TV channels were either pay or faulty free to air. National Geographic is fine but when it is the only channel that works!!

    We arrived at the Design Apartment 'office'. We tried, in vain, ringing the doorbell for 15 minutes. Then the agent arrived and we went upstairs. Others were already waiting to be shown to their apartment so we waited for quite a while until our turn came. Then we walked back across town dragging suitcases and bags across cobbled streets for 12mins. We are an elderly couple but it never dawned on our young guide that he might give a helping hand. Poor initial impression. The meeting system needs to be reviewed. What's wrong with meeting clients at their apartments? This is what happens at both Vilnius and Tallinn.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was daylight at 5:00am in the bed room. Those flimsy blinds didn't do much. The mattress was not comfy.

    Location was great. 5min walk to anything worth doing in the center.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were given a different apartment from the one we booked, it was up on the 4th floor with no lift in a shabby building. There was no bath plug, shower curtain, shower mat or bath mat and the shower head had to be propped against the wall. Everything else was serviceable though worn and tired. There was a water leak which flooded a floor- it was dealt with satisfactorily but not graciously. Designapartments eventually offered to put us in a different apartment but not with the sleeping arrangement we needed so we declined. A refund would have been acceptable!

    The WiFi worked well.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They could not accept payment by credit card. Beds were not really comfortable.

    The apartment was really in the center. The apartment was nice and very spacious, The furnitures were a bit old anyway.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As soon as you come to the place where Designapartment office is, it is not clear what to do. There is A4 page with sush text "Designapartment 130". It should be written "Designapartment - press 130 to call" or something. Also it is a lottery with location of your apartment and what you get, because they have many apartments in old town and give you any of it. We got very old, poor apartment on the 4th floor where landing is very smelly (in a bad way). Facilities were poor - it could be at least sugar and salt... You get kitchen, but you have to get your own cooking oil, sugar, salt, pepper. Also the hot water boiler is too small for a group of 4. Sound isolation is very poor and you can hear what your neighbors are talking about.

    The location is really good (just between two main Riga Old Town objects), the apartment we got was big and the bedding was clean.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We struggled to make TV work, needed instructions. Decor wasn't to my taste but it wouldn't stop me from returning if we visited Riga again.

    It was ideal location for us as we were there for Riga Marathon and start point was around the corner, literally. Bed was comfy and flat is on a small street so there was no traffic or really any other noise through the night. Also when we left our iPad at the flat after we checked out host was easy to reach and very helpful and understanding about the situation.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2-Room Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we can't understand how to get the wifi work.

    Nice apartment, has everything you need on your vacation. It was cozy and ofcourse the best thing is location, right to the centre of the oldtown! Amazing.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The dishes were dirty and not enough for three people, no internet when we arrived, dirty bathroom, the television was missing a cable so we could not watch any TV, the host was super unfriendly. Carpets were dirty and the apartment was very cold!!!!!!

    It was located in old Riga and the apartment was fairly big

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights

    very unfriendly woman at the reception.no any sign to find the office in the building.needed help from person in the same big house,they never heard about design apartment office.10min. walk in hurry and with cases to "my apartment" a few streets away.no any word from the stuff !.payment in cash,has not worked with credit card....name should be "without any design apartment". old fashion style

    good located

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The apartment was not any of the picture. It was in the center of the historical center, but above a night club. The airport pick up service was good but when we arrived the apartment was very different. The woman who gave us the key was not attentive, She told me that if the apartment was not the same i had to call the telephone number they had given me, she didnt give us any solution. Even so, the apartment was big and well connected with the important places on Riga. Riga is a beautiful city.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    To much space, a little bit cold, especially in the bathroom. The exactly adress is not the same as cliamed, it is 400m away (but this not big problem)

    Nice location, good views from the windows. Hospitality of the staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 20 nights

    Apart from the washing machine and TV the furnishings, crockery etc were obviously cast-offs and inadequate. Has potential but currently does not earn the title 'design apartment'.

    Location.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Apartment (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was great. Very spacious apartment in the very centre of Riga. Everything was clean, the owner let us to have a late check out which was very nice after partying the night before. WiFi is perfect, TV with cable, kitchen, spacious 2 bathrooms. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did not know the exact address of the apartment until the day before. Extra 20€ charge for late arrival (we landed after 22h). 4th floor without elevator.

    No problem in checking out a little bit later (13h instead of 12h). Good heating. Good hot water. Bed ok. Kitchen ok.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 8 nights

    VERY noisy nightclub in the lower corner of the building starting up at Midnight and continuing until sunrise :( Not good for sleeping! One of the 2 beds was uncomfortable and VERY noisy when either person moved. combined with the nightclub made for not much sleep at all! Ran out of Toilet paper. 4 people staying for a week need more than 2 small rolls! Requested an apartment suitable for four adults, not two couples. This apartment only had two double beds and a really small cot under the stairs. NOT really suitable beds for a couple Plus two adult siblings, male and female. Paid extra for TV channels, but took several days to get it turned on and when it was on there was really only 1 station in English.

    Nice space, great for a family or 4 adults. Great to have a small kitchen, saved a lot on food costs and made mornings much more relaxed with coffee and breakfast at home before venturing out. Excellent location near to everything in the old city.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There is no parking place free of charge at the apartment and parking price in Riga center is much too high.

    Vecpilsetas 8a apartment is very nice and big, and modern, just a little dark.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2-Room Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Apartment seems to be in Reform. The windows did not have curtains/shaders and the heating system did not work well.

    The Hotel has an excellent location. Also the Apartment is very spacious.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It didnt look anything like the photos. Leather seaters, old and even a bit ripped, were covered with throws and blankets. There was a big rug stored behind one of them in the living room, which was very odd. No heating or heaters provided, only central heating which depends on when the whole building will have it. It can get coolish in the evening and at nights.There are some extra blankets and pillows in the cupboard tho. Kitchen seemed very disorganized. No extra bin bags or toilet paper provided other than the one it had when we arrived.

    LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION. Space of it. Excellent value for money considering the location. Better would suit friends travelling that dont have specific needs and are spending most of the time out and about exploring the beautiful city.

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Designapartments traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: