Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Dikli Palace hotel 4 stars

Dikli Parish, Kocenu municipality, Dikļi, LV 4223, Latvia

#2 of 2 hotels in Dikļi

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 226 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 68

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    5.0
    Overrated
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms during the summer are given not in the palace,but near by house which is different..asked for ecpensive upgrades if want to stay in palace. Also room given was tiny, electricity dissappeared and we were changed to even smaller room eith smaller bef.Blinds are broken, tiny roof ceiling does not allow to move in bed while sleeping.Hot & cold signs are mixed up on bathroom taps, shower amenities mislpaced in bathroom, no wardrobes to hand clothes- just tiny clothes racks.Cramped,uncomfortable.Massage is not good- specialist timid and not speaking English.Restaurant is the only good place to go to.Breakfast was not enough for everyone.Last person gets only coffee.

    Restaurant for Dinner

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    9.6
    The peaceful place, the premises, the art
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They should include more amenities for the price, like sauna. Also, is a little difficult find how to get there. They should include precise directions if you're not with a car.

    The peaceful place, the premises, the art

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    9.2
    Great choice for your stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked the atmoshare in palace. Because of the view, arrival felt impressive, like in movies. Garden and surroundings was breath taking! Receptionist gave us better room and we liked it a lot. Breakfast was good. Restaurant in next building is worth visiting!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyable stay at Dikli Palace
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of the lights didn't work in our room. The drain in the shower cubicle was jammed.

    Lovely old palace house with its beautiful surroundings. Breakfast was just excellent, everything was fresh and tasty. Breakfast was served in a charming glass-window terrace. Food was delicious at the restaurant and service very good. Room was a tiny loft room but very cute and romantic with a skylight window. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    7.9
    Very nice room and garden, also very good service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was very hot in the room, they didn't have conditioner BUT the staff were very nice and gave us fan, that really saved our night :) for me the bed was very hard. In the restaurant we ordered fish what were catched from the nearby lake but it didn't taste so good, the problem maybe can be in the fact that we didn't eat the skin.

    We really liked the old furniture in the room. As we stayed for our first wedding - anniversary we asked for the candles and they organised that for us, it was very sweet. We went to eat dinner in the hotel restaurant and the waiter was super professional and friendly, really good service.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    5.8
    The historical location is grate to rest your energy very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Have expected the Castel feeling but with more updates furitsher. The bottom floor with billiardroom SPA and Restaursnt was out of service for renovation .They should have taken a little but more from the room space and should have added it to the bathroom since the shower was on the small side. The bed's in every room the have booked were very low they could have kept the castle style but updated the bed's . No room service becauce the restaurant was on the other side of the small drive in . The restaurant staff was not proactive to tell in the beginning if some thing was not availabe from the menu. Housekeeping only changed tools and made beds have to noticed that they would have hovered the room in my 4 days stay . If you took a drink out side the glasses / cups stayed there for one day or more before some cleand the tables. no areconditio yet in the rooms this made the rooms very hot and the provided ventelator was not avel to cool down the big rooms.

    The historical location is grate to rest your energy very quite to relax. The art collaction in the hotel and that you could sit in any of the public rooms and feel like teleported into the a different century.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful scenery and great food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We came because we had heard about the hotel's restaurant and we just loved it. The hotel itself is in an old manor house, which renovated nicely, has a lovely park and pond. We unfortunately did not have anough time to try the spa procedures, but that is just one more reason to return.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.2
    Perfect place to stay! :-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff, helpful. We was 3 hours late, as check in time was changed, we thought that we can check in until midnight, but actually it was until 8pm, but staff still was waiting for us. I definitely can recommend Dikli Hotel, beautiful place!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Historical place with good kitchen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice, culturical and historical place. Excellent place to travel and stay with motorcycles groups. Personnel were friendly. We enjoyed high quality dinner (flat fish soup, lamb meat, honey cake etc. ) Many thanks!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    7.5
    Historical place/building with nice surrounding.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Queen Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no free water in the room, as well as electric tea kettle/tea/coffee was missing in the room. Lightning was too dark. No air ventilation. Bar and restaurant was working only till 22.00. In the restaurant we had reservation, but a lot of dishes was not available from the menu. In general the place is good, but taking all minuses into account - we had overpriced feeling.

    Historical place/building with nice surrounding. Good breakfast in sunny and cozy terrace. Nice customer service personnel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    2.9
    We spent over 350 EUR for one night stay and didn't get...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    We spent over 350 EUR for one night stay and didn't get anything close to this value for money. The most disappointing was breakfast (worse than Soviet Union, see pics attached). Nothing on the table, extremely slow service, one plate to share (marinated champignons - are you kidding?) and possibility to choose ONE dish from menu (both of our choices were uneatable), terrible and cold coffee - we left hungry and sad. Very arrogant waitress in the main restaurant at dinner - she was holding herself much above us and kept speaking Latvian in spite she got it my husband speaks Russian and English but no Latvian. My veal fillet had to be changed (was not fillet at all). Restaurant is rated high between Latvian restaurants, but we didn't find it worth the rating. Neighbour manors hold much stronger restaurants at lower prices with better services (not to name them, but we had chance to compare). Would never be back again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    5.8
    Manor hotel with lots of potential but only after a revamp of building and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sept 2017 - spa closed due to renovation Room (in the old manor) had very common simple furniture, no character, basic comfort but no thrills Basic breakfast, the usual egg and sausage Kind staff but not trained/familiar with how to operate in a real manor hotel with spa If you are looking for a romantic place with SOME luxury, look elsewhere

    Surroundings are nice, but you need your own wheels to get there

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.3
    Nice room, nice breakfast, nice village (don't miss the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A sauna is really missing. Restaurant food is quite complicated and expensive

    Nice room, nice breakfast, nice village (don't miss the cemetery and the outdoor theatre), nice park

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    9.6
    We stayed not in the main building, but in other one.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed not in the main building, but in other one. Actually that is beneficial if there is a party in the main house. Comfort in the secondary building is up to the same standards as in the main. Bathroom was well equipped and everything was clean and tidy.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.8
    Very pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom could really use some sort of extra surface for guests to store their toiletries on, like a shelf or something. Our economy room had a tiny little window high up that you cannot really see out of, and it was quite hot in the room. There was a fan placed in the room already upon our arrival, which was thoughtful of the staff, though it was pretty noisy to sleep with it turned on.

    Very pleasant and peaceful establishment with well maintained premises and the surrounding territory. Nicely decorated room in a rustic style, clean and modern bathroom. Good breakfast, very kind and courteous staff, and overall great value for money. We will gladly return!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful manor house, good food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We got call from reception in the morning at 9.30 and asked are we coming to have a breakfast (it was available until 11)! It felt like they hurried as.

    Beautiful area, good food, friendly lady in reception.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    10
    Perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have visited Dikli palace for 4 times. It is such a gem! Great staff, perfect food, location, small SPA with different massages and treatments, authentic small manor house - everything you need for a romantic and calm get-away!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    7.5
    Very nice building and gardens.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - We had no Internet inside our room, even though we were told there was. 2 m outside the room we had a perfect connection. - The mattress of our bed was terrible...I had strong backpain during the night. They really need to change it. - They asked us during check-in when we were going for breakfast and we decided to go at 9:30. At 9:30 there was no bread (it took 30 min to get some, with a different quality...), some other basic things were also already missing without reposition (jam, fish, cheese....). I can accept that at 10:50, but not at 9:30!

    Very nice building and gardens..The restaurant was amazing, with had a very pleasant dinner.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    9.6
    True aristocrat feeling and treatment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning did not work in the economy class room and the room was very warm. The shower provided only with quite hot water. Wifi worked only in the main building.

    This hotel is located in the middle of nowhere but has magnificent surroundings! The palace and its garden are just beautiful. You get a real upperclass feeling while staying here. Still, the staff is very friendly and seem to care for everyone's happiness - even us in the economy room :-) Excellent dinner and service in the restaurant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    9.6
    Very nice garden, general atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Seems there was quite a lot of miscommunication among staff members. Women in reception was actually very friendly.

    Very nice garden, general atmosphere.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    great place to get away from the hustle and bustle of city...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    great place to get away from the hustle and bustle of city life. The staff are extremely forthcoming to accommodate any requests. Fantastic restaurant with good selection of wines. The spa at the hotel is a must.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    9.2
    Great place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed matrassen could be more comfortable.

    Personnel was very friendly, flexible and helpful. And the fireplaces in the palace are great! Nice park around. Also restaurant personnel was very helpful and food was tasty.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    10
    Beautifully renovated manor with amazing garden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed mattress was too hard for us

    Beautifully renovated manor with amazing garden. Really good breakfast and hotel has nice restaurant in separate building. Ask for manor tour from reception :)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.6
    Absolutely sensational!! Loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was slightly too firm for us but we topped it with an extra quilt and slept well.

    We have travelled the world for months and this place was well earned rejuvenation. The atmosphere and tranquility of the place was beautiful. Staff were so very friendly, we don't speak the language and everyone was so patient and kind, always doing their best to accommodate us. The breakfast was really nice. Restaurant could be fantastic had there been more guests to use it at the time we were there, but the food, wine and service we experienced was great, Oscars was a charming waiter. The rooms, the artwork, the decor, the grounds, the serenity, walking around nearby sculpture park and amphitheatre, everything was beautiful. We even took the rowboat for a spin. Highly, highly recommend getting away from it all, or hosting an event at Dikli Palace!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    6.7
    Not so pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed had a short bottom sheet, was hard but sagged in the middle. We spent the night rolling together tangled in the sheet. With a tiny rooftop porthole window for ventilation, this was the worst sleep I've had anywhere!

    Beautiful ,historical palace and grounds.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    9.2
    Great restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was missing info on booking.com or their web page that SPA is on renovation. As it was the main reason to visit this place, it was disappointing.

    Great restaurant. Also breakfast was amazing. Nice park around the castle to walk around.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    6.7
    Comfortable bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No water was flowing into the toilet tank Apathetic, provincial staff Crowded breakfast room Costly restaurant

    Comfortable bed Various art objects exhibited throughout the lobby, staircases, and hallways of the hotel

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    9.6
    The manor was very beautiful and.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The manor was very beautiful and. Well renovated but had still its 19th century spirit. The room was cozy and clean, the breakfast good (warm meals will be prepared after ordering, so they are freshly made for you). Staff friendly. I recommend!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful place, clean rooms, nice and friendly staff very...
    • With a pet
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was soo cold when we went there and there is something wrong in my rooms air source heat pump, my friends room was so warm..mine not.. but with wool socks it was ok. Warm blanket so you slept there well. Hotelliin mentäessä huoneeni oli kuin jääkaappi, varmaan lämmöt oli vasta pistetty päälle. Ystävän huone lämpisi oikein hyvin mutta minun huoneessa ilmalämpöpumppu oli sitä mieltä ettei huoneessa tarvi olla lämmin, lämmin. Hyvin pärjäsi kun vetäisi villasukat jalkaan ja peiton päälle. Vähitellen ilma lämpisi niin että ei toppavaatteissa tarvinnut olla 😉. Ikkuna oli sängyn yläpuolella ja siitä veti kun yöllä oli kunnon myräkkä.. pikku vikoja. Paljon, paljon hyvää joten nuo pikku jutut ei muuttaisi mielipidettäni että toistekkin tuonne mennään varmasti.

    Beautiful place, clean rooms, nice and friendly staff very good bed (me with my canser back slept very very well and that is unusual in hotels). Breakfast is ok, mayby I wait becon etc, something more cause style is so luxory. Restaurant was just great and those foods, delicious..for example..starter soups, beaver soup..never taste anything that good <3 Nice place to stay with dogs/or without dogs , you have to try 😉 Ihana paikka, kaunis vanha rakennus jossa kivat huoneet. Ystävällinen henkilökunta ja rauhallinen sijainti. Iso puistoalue missä voi kuljeskella joko koiran kanssa tai ilman. Halpa koiramaksu. Huoneet siistit ja todella hyvät sängyt. Jopa tällainen alati selkävaivainen nukkui tosi hyvät unet ilman että aamulla olisi kolottanut mitään kohtaa selästä. Ravintolan ruuat varmaan yhdet parhaimmista hotelliravintoloista. Ruokalista varmaan vaihtuu vuodenaikojen mukaan mutta jos vain mahdollista niin kannattaa maistaa alkukeittona majavakeittoa, vei kielen mennessään, vesi herahtaa kielelle kun sitä edes ajattelee. Kannattaa kokeilla. Jotenkin niin rauhoittava ympäristö jossa hotelli sijaitsee että varsinkin kesällä olisi mukava mennä ihan vain lomailemaan pidemmäksikin aikaa.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    7.9
    Beautiful location, lovely hotel and surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found our bed very uncomfortable ( we were in "economy double").

    Excellent dinner menu. Beautiful location. Staff very helpful. Breakfast was good on both the mornings we were there.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    7.1
    Too small room and very hot for summer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too small room and very hot for summer

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.9
    Nice place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV in room only russian channels

    Nice place. Friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.2
    Very nice and quiet hotel, old mansion house with beautiful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice and quiet hotel, old mansion house with beautiful gardens in the back and around. Excellent breakfast. Would like to come back here!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.2
    A nice old building renovated to a hotel.
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A nice old building renovated to a hotel. Excellent restaurant !

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    Staff was great, very nice restaurant for Dinner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was great, very nice restaurant for Dinner.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    9.2
    Calmness of surroundings, tranquility, space and feeling of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Coffee, coffee should get better: cappuccino was instant one, ohh...

    Calmness of surroundings, tranquility, space and feeling of location, history

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.9
    Perfect weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice place, friendly people, beautiful park and interesting buildings. Nice area. Tasty food.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    9.6
    Highly recommended place for a romantic weekend !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice feeling, antique furniture, walking in the garden, relaxed and historic atmosphere. Very good restaurant of high quality.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    10
    A HIDDEN GEM
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Its was an exceptional stay in a museum. Being Australian we dont have that sort of thing. I loved it.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    7.5
    A beautiful hotel with good food in a remote rural site
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A beautiful hotel with good food in a remote rural site

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    8.3
    Restaurant menu is too complicated and salads are not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant menu is too complicated and salads are not available at all. Too pricy for a very small portions provided

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    7.9
    Great welcome for guests with pets
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant menu was not for our tase

    Great welcome for guests with pets

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    9.6
    SPA is in reconstruction, low wi fi signal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    SPA is in reconstruction, low wi fi signal

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    10
    Wonderful country resort!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great restaurant. Delicious breakfast buffet. Also wonderful catering for parties.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    10
    Great place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff; great breakfast; wonderful restaurant.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    6.7
    Restaurant food was great, nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I felt that here a family with small children are not welcome

    Restaurant food was great, nice place

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    8.8
    -perfect breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - weak wifi

    -perfect breakfast - tasty food at dinner - clean, beautiful interior - elevator

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    10
    Excellent !
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Super super ! Very friendly staff, reasonable pet fee, cosy and clean room, very pet friendly, excellent breakfast. We will come back !

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    9.2
    Friendly stuff, excellent tour around the palace
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (6 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly stuff, excellent tour around the palace

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2016

    8.3
    Staff was very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    TV in the room could be better in size and variation of channels. Spring and summer will be better with surroundings.

    Staff was very helpful. Restaurant was great with quality of foods and atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    4.6
    Hard to find something, perhaps the building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Our rooms. Dinner was miserable and one of our party found a metal object in the ice cream. Desert was comped but the whole experience not to be ever repeated.

    Hard to find something, perhaps the building. But we were not sleeping in the main building. I wish I knew that on booking.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    10
    Beautiful old mansion with spacious rooms and 1800 style...
    • Group

    Beautiful old mansion with spacious rooms and 1800 style furniture. Extremely comfortable beds, excellent service and very nice surroundings. The personnel was very dog friendly and the statue park close to the manion was a good place to walk the dogs. Wifi worked very well also for working with laptop in the room. Breakfast was really good and the time for having it was flexible. Everything was just perfect!

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2015

    10
    Excellent stay in overall- kind personel, very clean room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent stay in overall- kind personel, very clean room and all facilities, wonderful art galleries of Latvian artists can be enjoyed all over the hotel, superb breakfast and tasty dinner in the restaurant of the hotel. Possibilities to walk around the garden and park besides the hotel. Worth to visit the small village Dikļi for a nice walk until the church and the beautiful bandstand of Dikļi. The friendly and kind personel and the wonderful breakfast make us to came back again. Paldies par izcilo uzņemšanu! Viss bija lieliski.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    7.5
    Nice environment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The environment is too dark. The light can't turn on automatically. I guess the sensor may be out of order. The restaurant has too many flies.

    Nice environment. Food is delicious in restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    9.2
    A tranquil, stylish yet cozy place for a retreat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Would have liked 1-2 free electric sockets in my room (13b), but it was a minor issue. All very fine.

    A tranquil, stylish yet cozy place for a retreat. Superb property and very friendly staff! Actually it feels like staying in an art gallery because of a collection of Latvian paintings all over the property. For the kids there is a little playground they liked very much. Restaurant food and service excellent too.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    4.2
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All descriptions about swimming pool ,restorant except horse and booth fool of weather is quit lies. For such money castle is not aloud give wrong information

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    6.7
    On day two, there was a big Latvian wedding going on in a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    On day two, there was a big Latvian wedding going on in a huge tent erected in front of barn house. Loudspeakers, a few yards from our room, were spitting out a medley of local and European dance hits. Loud. Persistent. Until four in the morning. At half past three in the night, a night shift receptionist quickly answered my call to briefly apologise for the noise and possible inconvenience caused but was, naturally, unable to offer us any room more quiet. Morning after - another receptionist (or a shift manager, she did not wear a name tag) was not really a Miss Sunshine. Instead of proactively (with a smile!) offering us complimentary cold towels / gift cards for our next possible stay / free late check out to help us to somehow recuperate from that sleepless night, she just told us calmly - there was no way to get a late check out to recover from the Festive Night newlyweds had had. According to her, the place was fully booked for the coming day. On booking sites however, there were more than 10 rooms available in various categories so probably she misunderstood her room situation. For a small additional amount of money (€ 16? 20?), they were more than happy to give us a late check out until 4 pm though. Which brings me to a (somewhat naive yet unpleasant) conclusion - they care so much more about money than their client's wellbeing. Probably, they can offer better service for big parties, individual guests do not seem to be very welcome here.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    10
    Rural setting, and the property for the 'hotel' is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    They are not completely clear about which building your staying in. You want the main bldg. Half our group was in the 'klets'

    Rural setting, and the property for the 'hotel' is very nice with a LARGE pond and a row boat. Very picturesque. Nice breakfast comes with the room.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    7.1
    Nice place, good restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    a) They did not inform us in advance that room will not be in the castle but in the building next to it. For 60EUR in this region.... b) Wine selection in restaurant: we got Saint-Emillion for 93EUR, wine was already damaged because of cork but waitress refused to change it and continued to tell that it is amazing.....

    Nice place, good restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2016

    7.1
    Beautiful manor and friendly staff, liked the breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Beautiful manor and friendly staff, liked the breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2015

    9.2
    Too hard matrasses
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Too hard matrasses

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    10
    The location is wonderful and the food and service excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location is wonderful and the food and service excellent.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    7.1
    Nice place, old palace
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Loudly in rooms if have party

    Nice place, old palace

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    10
    best hotel on our whole trip, perfect building in wonderful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    best hotel on our whole trip, perfect building in wonderful state, park full of places to discover, friendly staff, good food, fully recommended

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2015

    4.6
    Full of mosquitoes, condition did not work, in the rooms...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Full of mosquitoes, condition did not work, in the rooms under the roof was too hot

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    10
    Surroundings, kids playground, the interior of the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Surroundings, kids playground, the interior of the hotel

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    10
    Staff, Breakfast, Castle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff, Breakfast, Castle

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2015

    9.2
    Lovely Place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Lovely Place

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 68

Guests also reviewed these properties: