Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Fontaine Hotel

Jūras iela 24, Liepāja, LV-3401, Latvia

#21 of 25 hotels in Liepāja

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 240 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 36

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic bohemian vibe - absolutley loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was far most the bohemian places I have ever been. Felt like home. And the garden - really a Pippi Longstockings one. Really recomend for peaple, who enjoy little boho vibe. Houseplants and crocheted pillows, stitched pictures of birds and so on.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    7.5
    Totally unique.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The house is very old. Though everything was clean and tidy, it was that musty smell there.

    Totally unique. Definitely something different. I liked it though. Very friendly and helpful staff. Nice garden. Really awesome. Good location. Parking near the house.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    5.8
    Not too comfortable, but great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't check in before 4pm, the room was for smokers and had a heavy smell. Didn't have air conditioning, but an old fan from 20 years ago. Shower was so tiny, no room servicing. Not comfy bed, wouldn't stay again

    Great location just next to nice pubs and restaurants, we used spa located next to in Fontaine royal for very good price.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.2
    Hip funky and comfortable in Liepaja.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Fontaine is the perfect place of Liepaja, which is a funky, artsy, semi-industrial, semi-beachy place. We came to see the town from which my grandmother's shipped sailed to America in 1914. The Fontaine is hip, funky, cool- shabby-chic. Not for those who want a typical American 4 star, but really perfect for Liepaja. I loved it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.5
    Unique place with lots of cuteness and a little bit of creepiness
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This unique old house experience is nice idea, but still cleanness needs to be maintained. Even if floor is wooden, it still should be vacuumed because there was plenty of dust on the floor.. And most importantly - please consider changing your bed sheets and pillows to synthetic ones. Because there is definitely something living in those.. My sister nearly got an asthma attack at night while sleeping... And I fell asleep face down to pillow for 30 mins and woke up with full nose nearly able to breathe :(

    Reminded me of old country house from childhood with unique attic smell :) Staff was very helpful and nice. Overall feeling is that you are staying as guest at some ones old granny house, not at the hotel :D Location is good. There is few large free parking lots very close to hotel. There was common kitchen that you could use, with all dishes and equipment. Also there is cafe at reception where you can get breakfast, snacks or drinks. They have few tables outside in the garden which is very cozy. If you like old stuff, country houses, ambient style - you must try this hotel! If you like super clean Scandinavian style hotels - don't even try.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.9
    Very good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No sound isolation. Whole bathroom fool of water after shower even with low water flow. The toilett bottom and garbage bin goes wet each time after taking a shower.

    Very good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    4.2
    Was there 10 years ago then was ok, nowadays don’t even step in that hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed sheets were dirty, all hotel was smelling of Kanalisation. The green thing from the nose were on the Walls, shower terrible, floor dirty. We stayed for 2 nights, after first night we ask to change the room, but the next one was as well very terrible. The bed matrace was with the big hole in the middle. Katastrophe.

    Staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    9.6
    This was my 4th stay at this hotel and still it's one of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was my 4th stay at this hotel and still it's one of the nicest places with character I have stayed at. Ground floor is now converted into nice coffee shop which is open till late and offers beer and wined as well. Really recommend staying here if you want to grasp a bit of the character of Liepaja.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    8.8
    A real Genuine latvian tripper retreat by the Baltic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing special !

    The whole frame and decoration is properly fascinating expressing a geniune letvian atmosphere !! The cheerful welcoming of the diffrents clercks from our check-in to out check-out. Then very well situated from the raikway and Bus stations, the city center and above all the access to the Baltic sea :) We felt like in a kind of Latvian home !!!... Should come back definitely ASAP !!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    8.8
    Stylish hotel, we enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fontaine is a stylish vintage style hotel, maybe not suitable for everybody, I will not recommend to people who prefer to stay in modern hotels. But we liked it, the comfort was ok for us, good breakfast, very helpful girls from the reception, may be some renovation necessary - the only recommendation from us.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic chance booking
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe heavier curtains. It was daylight for around 19 hours a day.

    The general ambience. I stayed over in Lieplaja by chance. I wish I'd made it more the focus of my time in Western Latvia.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    6.3
    Nice place, but working hours unacceptable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I think it is unacceptable, that there was no person to whom return room keys before 11 in the morning. It should not be normal practice to ask leave the room before 12, but take keys only after 11. We had plans that needed to be changed because we spent 2 hours trying to call someone. we did not succeed and ended up leaving keys by the room door.

    Place is nice. We were happy to see separate bed for our small child (under age 2).

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    7.1
    Hipster ok, if a good bathroom isnt an essential
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In room there was very bad bathroom, with a bit of smell all the time, because of the problems with pipes, the water in shower didnt go away, no hairdryer etc

    The style of the room and the place where the hotel was

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    6.3
    Location, idea of hotel, authenticity, very nice staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we had was great for family, but the bathroom stunk...

    Location, idea of hotel, authenticity, very nice staff!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.1
    Great location, great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Thin walls and blanket was super small. Not usable by two people.

    Great location, great staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    5.8
    Breakfast, not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast, not worth the money

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.6
    Authentic feeling of Liepaja.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Authentic feeling of Liepaja.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    2.9
    VERY BAD experience! Loud metal music played until 2AM! Unhelpful hipster staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unhelpful staff, very loud metal music near the window, unclean room, many rolls of dust, no table.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    5.4
    Kookie, terrible Wi-Fi, nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi was woeful

    The staff were lovely

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    7.5
    Good for singles and couples with smoking adictions
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is not for families with children. Staff eas not able to provide aditional bed for kid

    Good for singles and couples with smoking adictions

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.3
    Cosy and crazy house;
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cosy and crazy house; but everything is o.k. !

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    6.3
    Very cosy and inviting
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Photo was from the back. We stood right outside without realising we had arrived. Needs a SIGN.

    Award winning quirkiness

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.1
    Bed was very comfortable;
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The blanket was too small - made for 1 person. All house smells of cigarettes as it has been allowed to smoke some time ago.

    Bed was very comfortable;

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Super weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Superfriedly staff. Excelent interior and location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    7.5
    Location is very good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location is very good!Near is some bars and dinning place!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    7.9
    Perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mansard ceiling too low above the bed. Hurt our heads couple of times.

    Perfect location. Stylish.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.5
    Great and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sound insulation between the rooms is bad.

    Great and friendly staff. Cafe on the ground floor. Very central location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    4.2
    don't go to this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    price too high for dirty, bad smelling, uncomfortable room.and other facilities

    location in the centre

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    6.7
    Staff is wonderful :D, room interior amazing
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the smell of cigarettes is felt in the rooms

    Staff is wonderful :D, room interior amazing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    9.6
    Colours)
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Colours)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    7.9
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location. Interior.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    8.8
    Quirky good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fire escapes from the basement room wasnt clear...

    In an old building with a nice feel. Quirky furnishings. Good location. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    8.8
    perfect place for rest
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nr 12

    staff very friendly and very, very responsible, best location and sensational atmosphere. This is uniqe hotel but not for all

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    8.3
    Interior was interesting and original
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sounds at night

    Interior was interesting and original

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    9.2
    Nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This time there was some issue with the drain in the bathroom.

    Cosy. Good location. You can enjoy free SPA visit on the next morning.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    7.9
    interior and design
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    keys

    interior and design

    Stayed in February 2017

There are also 40 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 36

Guests also reviewed these properties: