Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Garden Palace 4 stars

Grēcinieku iela 28, Rīga, LV-1079, Latvia

#107 of 153 hotels in Rīga

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2477 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    3.8
    Breakfast buffet poor convenience;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast buffet poor convenience; Service shortcomings, different requests Not fixed, TV die Not Work, only few channels with terrestric Reception which sounds like stoneage in a well digitized country...!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    6.3
    Bra valuta for pengene
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows was terrible, truede to ask for New ones twice nothing happend.

    The Staff was friendly, location Great. Breakfast was good and it was clean with big roms, and we had a balcony.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    6.7
    A Hotel in Great Location Requires New Furniture, Brighter Wall Colours and Better Lighting!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1. Very old furniture (they should change all), 2. Very poor lighting inside the room, 3. Carpet inside the room was badly stained and dirty (please remove it asap)! 4. Poor and dull wall colours and interiors!

    1. Great location: close to all the attractions, restaurants, etc. 2. It has an elevator.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel in excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were some problems with our reservation, but at the end we got an upgrade.

    Breakfast was very good, a lot of choises. The location of the hotel is perfect for the old town exploration. Overall, the hotel is nice and clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.9
    I
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was an airconditioner in the room but it would only run for 5 minutes at a time. Fortunately it was not too hot when we were there. The room was quiet but for two nights we had noisy neighbours...a poorly behaved child of about 6 years who was giggling and chattering for quite sometime at 2am. Not the hotel’s fault but spoiling.

    Location was very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.9
    Nice little hotel in a great location, right in the middle...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The guy the open/closes the entrance gate could be happier :-)

    Nice little hotel in a great location, right in the middle of the old town. Rooms simple and basic but clean. Very secure with gated entrance, opened by the staff every time you go in or out. Breakfast OK, fairly typical but limited choice the later you arrive.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.3
    Canarries at the breakfast location created great morning...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Canarries at the breakfast location created great morning atmosphere. As the name “Garden palace” promises - lovely surronding area. Opulent, yet tasteful decorations. Gated garden area, so no random by-passers had access. Straigt-forward pricing for the items in minibar. Rimi-express grocery store nearby. ;)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.9
    Very good for a short stay, would come again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old furniture in the rooms, small and hard pillows, funny old tv.

    Very convenient location, stone throw away from the Old Town; bus to the airport is at the door steps. Delicious, filling breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    5.8
    A disappointing stay at a hotel that has seen better days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is looking quite shabby and not in a chic way. The rooms are not well maintained and I had to ask to move from my first room as the window did not close properly and the bathroom lights were not working as they should so it was very dark. The wifi in the hotel was very unreliable and dropped out frequently. I had booked a room with a balcony but there was none available as the hotel was booked out, but no refund for the difference was offered. I had booked this hotel more than 6 months earlier so do not understand how my room with balcony was not available The breakfast was ok but the food regularly ran out and was not quickly replenished. They didn't seem to cope with the large numbers who were having breakfast at the same time, which of course was not their fault. The breakfast room was so overcrowded on one morning that there was nowhere to sit and I had to go back to my room and come back later. The really annoying part was that I had the hotel book a taxi to the airport as I had an early morning flight. They told me it would take an hour and cost 25 euros. As it turned out, it was not a taxi at all but a car with a driver which made it rather more expensive and the trip only took 20 mins. At 5am in the morning I could have done with the extra time in bed.

    The staff were pleasant and generally helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful cosy hotel in the center of Old Riga.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was nice.

    Wonderful hotel in the center of Old Riga. The room for 2 people was small but cosy. Breakfast included - not excessive choice, but all was good. It's just a few minutes walk to the main attractions of Old Riga.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location, functional services and comfortable stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast & coffee weren't impressive, and no kettle/tea/coffee in the room. We suggest carrying your own toiletries since the housekeeping wasn't responsive.

    The hotel is in a perfect location - close to all landmarks/cafes/squares in old town, next to a public transport. We got upgraded to a different room, which was spacious, well lit & clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.1
    Rooms really need updating
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Special gate system from street..they needed open and close gate for you by key...not so smily service)) expect young tall boy. Don't go late to breakfast... Room mutch smaller then I paid...Was not double but small double or single. This hotel is not 4 star but more 2+ Room smells mould. Really old and DIRTY carpet!!! Distcussing! Cleaning was great..but must be difficult because rooms been seen better days long time ago. Everything at room was 80s not updating after that expect windows. Terrace was great. Tv old and bad picture..Don't expect to see tv. Shower gel and shampoo great. Bed was good to sleep. Towels and pillows old.

    Nice buildning. Good location. Very helpful reception staff..specially young girl with ponnytail. Good bed. Good toiletries. Daily cleaning good.Air condition.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    3.8
    The lady on my arrival was not at all helpful and arrogant .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lady on my arrival was not at all helpful and arrogant ....no curtain or blindfold on the door (as seen in the photograph) and they said they can’t do anything ...air conditioner was not working and they pretended it’s normal

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    7.1
    Super location in cosy Old Town
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was ok, could be improved. Bacon was one of the worst I ever had. Rooms need to be redecorated, feels old and not so fresh.

    Spacious room. Old style decoration. Safe.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    7.9
    Beautiful villa building, cozy yard, great breakfast, super location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Receptionist chats on the phone while you wait and would not stop. Rooms are simple but OK.

    Beautiful building inside. A joy to climb the stairs or walk around. Breakfast is great. The inside yard is very cozy and great for a beer or coffee.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.6
    The excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rich variety of simple and fresh food for breakfast but for the longer stay it can be monotonous. More types of vegetables and fruits could be added. The cold omelets and fried eggs were hardly eatable.

    The excellent location. Close to the main tourist attractions and convenient for those who arrive from the airport by bus (no. 322 and 22). The bus stop is located some 100 metered from the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    5.0
    Have stayed there several times and this time I was not happy with conditions especially for the pay
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had reserved three rooms and one room was for three men. The room was so small they might have well been sleeping in the same bed. The other two rooms were fine. But I had 3 not so happy men with the room they had to stay in.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    4.6
    4 star hotel rates like a 1 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant, bar and tea bar permanently closed. Original room: double bed against wall and refrigerator on other side. Extremely noisy refrigerator. Daily cleaning poor. Why 2 security guards to open and close the gate? Was nowhere else the case. Breakfast poor and low quality

    The location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    4.6
    Very disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awful room, advertised as a triple but just a small double with an extra bed squeezed in. Room felt more like a prison cell than a nice city centre hotel room. Offered another room but it was little better. Breakfast was ok but nothing special. Parking offered was 20euro per night even for motorcycles which I consider ridiculous. Not recommended at all.

    Good location for the city centre but not much else.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.5
    Good location, value for money, good wifi...needs to be more safety minded!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It's a fire hazard. I always check fire exits and there would be no escape down the fire exit stairwell at the back of the hotel as the cleaner's trolley is standing behind the fire door (at least on floor 3), and there are things like mattresses stored on the stairwell - very dangerous. The tea/coffee machine in the breakfast room needs changing it is too slow for the number of guests having to use it. There was a queue usually, and often I had to wait 5 minutes just to get hot water for a cup of tea. Hot water should be arranged separate to the pathetic coffee machine.

    Hotel is right in the the historic centre. Easy access to riverside and all historic area. 10 minute walk from the station. Clean, comfortable, good wifi. Breakfast ok. Staff pleasant and helpful. Good security at front of house.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.0
    Forget the Garden Palace in Riga. The hotel is a disaster
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is the most laziest I ever met. The room does not get cleaned, towels not changed

    The hotel owner must be bankrupt: bar closed, restaurant closed and the staff too lazy to answer one simple question. Never again. The breakfast is below standard for Latvia.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.1
    Stay in Riga
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The appliances and furniture needs some upgrading. The AC in my room was quite old and made noise. Wifi connectivity quite bad and I ended up using my phone data. The charging of our phones or laptop took quite a bit of time not sure why but I am guessing it had something to with the electric sockets. Coffee machine in breakfast room was not functioning properly.

    The location and the hotel staff was quite helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.9
    An interesting old hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was much smaller than in the pictures. Definitely not the 20m² mentioned in the room description. Some of the furniture and the shower was quite old. The credit card terminal is working "sometimes" according to the receptionist, so you will probably have to pay by cash.

    The hotel has a nice old-school style, which is classical, but not overwhelmingly fancy. The location is very good. The receptionist have been helpful with the few things that we needed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    8.8
    Nice and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sun woke me up. It would be nice if there is more heavy curtains that sun keeps away in the morning.

    Very nice and friendly people working. Good location. I’ll come back there. Good basic breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.2
    A really good experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was experiencing some technical problems so only cash payments. The bar and coffee place on hotel were unavailable for technical reasons. However it didn’t spoil our stay.

    Helpful and friendly receptionist. Good breakfast, clean and comfortable rooms. Excellent location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    6.3
    Not a 4 stars hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They tried to give us a single room (instead of a double room which we paid). Only after 18.00 and remarks to the receptionist we were able to enter the room that we booked. Old-fashioned rooms and poor breakfast. Definitely not a 4 star hotel.

    The Hotel was very well located and the double rooms were very big.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.3
    We appreciated the old-fashioned design of the hotel, It has...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfasts could be more varied, with bigger choice of fresh fruits. Lack of space in a Bathroom - the sink just next to the door is very inconvenient

    We appreciated the old-fashioned design of the hotel, It has it's own style. Lots of decorative details. Room was spacious and comfortable. Perfect location to explore the downtown

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.2
    Nice hotel in Riga Old Town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had seen better times, but was ok and quiet

    Bathroom was very clean. The room was Ok, wallpapers little bit worn, but ok. Staff was friendly. Breakfast was great and restaurant very cozy. Common rooms and spaces were beautifully decorated. Price and location was very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.3
    It was all right, but it could have been better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was woken up on two nights at about 3am by shouting outside my room. Also, I didn't like having to get the porter to unlock the gate whenever I wanted to go in or out.

    The breakfast was fine. The receptionists were very pleasant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    5.4
    Wallpapers
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Three single beds fo family of four. "Sorry ,we dont have rooms for four ,but you can have additional bed for extra 20 euros" . Please is it a joke or a way of making money?

    Wallpapers

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    6.7
    The room where we stayed was a triple room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room where we stayed was a triple room. The carpet was tired and so were the rest of the furniture. But that didn't bother us really. Bed was comfortable but pillows were awfully big and stiff and shower cabin was tiny :) Room itself was facing the inneryard, so it was quiet. But surronding is perfect for those who like to enjoy old town and entertainment. Beakfast was ok, although it seemed that kitchen was not capable to feed so many quests at the same time ;)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    6.7
    For a quick trip and stay is great, because you are literally one step away from attractions.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t like the room, it was too small, they hadn’t even received my booking request by the time I got there, so they gave me a tiny room with a shared balcony. I needed water and some food at night when I arrived and they didn’t have anything. Breakfast was not that great.

    Location was great, the flexibility in terms of when and how to pay was highly appreciated and the hotel itself was really nice: the fachade and interior of it were really nicely decorated.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    5.0
    I would not recommend to stay in that hotel unless your only criteria is location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Other than location, the hotel itself needs a very big renovation. Beds are very uncomfortable, the bathroom is very old, small and towels are very old as well. Hotel itself smells a little bit.

    Only the location is very good, breakfast is ok.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    5.8
    overall ok, breakfast was the redeeming factor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    was stated on booking that the hotel would accept visa/mastercard/american express etc. but when we arrived they demanded cash only which put a dint in my cash flow as I intended paying on my card. the room allocated to us was the size of a cupboard, it was clean though, the two single beds were up against walls which made it very difficult to sleep and turn over especially when someone is over 6 foot, the bathroom was even smaller.

    the breakfast was excellent, the hotel itself was clean and quite nice, in a good location easy access to everywhere, old town location, fabulous coffee shop next door in the fashion museum, best coffee in riga.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    5.0
    The room was way smaller than expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was way smaller than expected. Breakfast selection was poor after 10 a.m. in the weekend. Receptionist was drunk on Friday evening at 7:30 p.m. when I arrived to the hotel and check in took 20 minutes. She was sleeping in the lobby after 10 p.m.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.5
    Cheap, but you'll be spooked.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The decoration of the hotel was out of a horror movie. Cleaning staff didn't bother to made the bed. The shower didn't have enough pressure, and at some point the water got ice cold.

    Cheap and with a great location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    5.0
    They asked to leave my credit card number and expiry date on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They asked to leave my credit card number and expiry date on a piece of paper as a guarantee; the reception employee didn't know how much their car costs to the airport (it was more than the regular taxi); the staff opening the gate weren't welcoming, they never greeted me nor responded to my greetings. I do not recomend this hotel for your stay in Riga.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    5.0
    It was OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor breakfast. Coffee tasted terrible and breakfast choice was very small. Also, the room was cold, wallpaper was dirty and had few holes in it. Very small tv and 3 channels. Not cozy at all.

    Good location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    6.7
    Mixed feeling. Location is great. But you better watch out...
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My wife had her money left in the room gone. I know we should not have left anything of value. But still... The impression is spoiled. Also the room is not renovated in a long long time and looks very worn.

    Location is great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    8.3
    Overall it was a nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel furniture was very old although it was rated as a 4 star hotel. Also it did not feel good that some security people had to open the main entrance to the hotel all the time we wanted to get in or out the hotel.

    Very nice and polite staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    5.8
    I would not stay at this place again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms and hotel are so dated.

    Anna is the most unfriendly receptionist I've ever encountered in all my trips worldwide. Replying to her personal messages on her phone and being extremely unpolite during check in.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.2
    A solid base to explore from
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't have any major criticism.

    Great location in the centre of the old town easy to get to no 22 bus from the airport which stops a few metres walk away. Rooms are adequate, clean, and comfortable. Bars, restaurants and sites within walking distance. A good solid base to explore from.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    6.7
    Big rooma, good to sleep.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were 10 people group and brekfast coffee taste terrible. I told reception but nothong happened, maybe next time.

    Big rooma, good to sleep. Situation very very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    6.7
    Riga is beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked this hotel because it had a bar and restaurant, both of which were closed for the whole duration of our stay with no explanation or apology.

    The location and breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.1
    Correct hotel, great ñocation but staff to improve in communication
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The man in the reception was npt.very kind (he provided me a room in 4th floor and didnt mention that the lift was not working). In addition, he didnt provide any turism information or even they didnt have a city map

    Great location, clise to old town and bus station and the rivet

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.5
    Good for a short stay in Riga - Close to Old Town and museums
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lift went out on my second day there and I was on the fourth floor - access to the service lift required walking outside the building and into the back of the property, that lift also was a half-floor off of the actual level and required the person to be able to pull luggage up/down a flight of stairs. The furnishings in the rooms were somewhat worn, but not uncomfortable.

    The hotel is literally the closest Old Town hotel to the 222 bus to/from the airport. It makes a good base for exploring Riga. The rooms are good-sized, have a nice bathroom, and there's a minifridge/mini-bar in the room if you want to store food. There is also a free breakfast buffet which is good but hit/miss on upkeep. Security is also excellent, with an attentive guard at the gate required to access the property - I never had to wait to be let in/out.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    7.5
    Worth the money for the location, but not for the rooms/services
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The common spaces were nicely decorated, but the rooms looked a bit tired - wallpaper of the wall in some places, mold in the bathroom, cracked paint...Definitely not a 4 start hotel. Currently there is also construction work going on (a new hotel being built) in front of the building, so be aware, if you are annoyed by sounds easily. The bed was comfortable and the room has most things we needed. Some of the amenities that could expected from a hotel like this like slippers, toothbrush and a kettle were not provided.

    Breakfast was ok and the check-in reasonably fast. Also the location is good, there is a small supermarket 2 min from the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    6.3
    Cold, rude staff, no food to order
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was cold, even though in the booklet it said you could order some food to your room, when I called reception to order, they had no idea that there was such thing possible and said that you can not order anything:/ The room key didn't work and there was no bottle opener too.

    The bed was comfy, breakfast good, wifi alright too. The best about this hotel was the view from the window.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    10
    Everything was so perfect, with the concept of old times.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was so perfect, with the concept of old times. We were so impressed by the atmosphere, and the breakfast was also very good. Staff were so helpful and kind. The location is the best, you can just go out, walk for maybe even less than 1 minute and you are in the center of Old Town. You can reach a wide variety of restaurants and you can find some walking tours just 2 minutes far from the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    8.3
    Fantastic location!
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms and bathrooms need renovation. There was a strange smell at the reception.

    Fantastic location!!! The best You can imagine in Old Town in Riga. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    3.8
    Cold and dirty
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They didn’t change the linens for 4 nights! Not once! It was cold and dirty in the room. Breakfast was till 11am, but when we came down at 10-45am it was all closed with lights off.

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    5.4
    Not bad for the money but stayed in better for same price.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drain smell on entering hotel. Room&Bathroom dated & need of decoration. Asked for a quiet room & got put on Main Street with a block offices being built across road.Hotel was half full so could have had room at back. Was called at 1 minute to 12, check out time to hurry us up.

    Comfortable bed,location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    5.0
    Place is not bad, but some rooms are very cold
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is spacious and furnished in old fashioned style, but I have not seen anything in the so terrible condition. The doors of the cabinet are not advised to touch. Stay in touch ...

    The ONLY place in room, where you, maybe, could stay, is sauna. When we arrived there was 17degrees .. After waiting for an hour, we finally got a normal room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    8.3
    Perfect location.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast decent, but You have to wait sometimes if somethig is finished.

    Perfect location. Nice cosy garden. Furniture very beautiful for history-lovers.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    8.3
    Very enjoyable experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The toiletries in our bathroom weren't brilliant, more would have been nice

    We loved the room we had, plenty of space and seating areas. The room wasn't very warm when we arrived but the hotel immediately brought extra heaters for us and that worked well. The room was very comfortable and a great place to relax. Was a nice touch having a private sauna too

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    8.8
    A really big apartment (two-storey), kitchen facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Royal Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Furniture and other facilities are bit old and need some repair. Terrible breakfast, at 9 A.M. (hour before breakfast ends) there were not any normal meal, almost everything finished.

    A really big apartment (two-storey), kitchen facilities. Terrace, nice view from the window.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    4.6
    I was very dissatisfied with the size of the room for four...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was very dissatisfied with the size of the room for four people . Was very narrow and crammed with no room for suitcases. One of the rollout beds was broken and so we couldn’t even use the fourth bedroom we needed. To top it all off, the credit card machine was not working upon check out and we had to scrounge up some cash to pay for the bill.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    5.4
    Lack Luster at best
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff and the room were lack luster. Zero hospitality from the staff, no previous notice that only cash was accepted for payment, I was told parking was underground but it wasn’t so my car was left in a random parking lot, and the room was much smaller than anticipated. The bed was also very uncomfortable.

    The location is good to Old Town.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    7.1
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had to find bank machine somewhere in the old town and pay cash, because of no connection with the bank, poor breakfast, very uncomfortable pillows. Sometimes bad smell in the lobby and corridors.

    Super location, big appartment

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    5.0
    The Sauna in the room.
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad breakfast. Very cold bathroom.Aircondition doesn't work .No good cleaning.Sorry but this stay was not good.

    The Sauna in the room.Small electric heater quickly installed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    6.7
    Would not return to this hotel,but loved riga
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was very cold,and could not be sorted until next day.the temperature in riga the nigh we stayed was minus 3 degrees the shower pressure was very poor.only a tricked of warm waterwhich wasn't great for us as there was no heating in the bathroom,breakfast was poor

    The hotel was very central within easy reach of everything

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    7.9
    Nice hotel, great location, staff very pleasant, breakfast poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast One member of staff working should be at least two not enough tables, menu very basic and only one coffee machine

    The hotel is an old hotel built in 1780's renovated in 2007 in the old part of the City great location close to everything and staff very pleasant

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    4.2
    Poor hotel which is in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Chipped bath, poor shower, room very cold and heaters did not work. Paid double for junior suite which was not worth it. Attitude of staff unhelpful

    good location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    4.2
    Nice visit to Riga spoilt by an allegedly 4 star hotel which was very poor in terms of quality of ro
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quality of rooms was poor .Attitude of staff also poor . Would not accept credit cards which caused problems for some of our party of 12 guests.

    Location of hotel was very good for old town

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    Great hotel in a great city. Loved it!! 5*
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location was excellent, 2 minutes from the airport bus stop (no 22) and right next to the river and old town. The hotel and staff were lovely. We asked for a kettle & they provided one. Great stay

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    9.6
    lovely Lovely clean city Hop on Hop off bus really informative So so worth a visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    really cant think of any disliked

    Location 110 % Security at entrance 24/7 although felt very sage in Riga warning - November onwards it is very very cold

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    7.1
    Location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not sure. Hotel left an impression that it is the kind of establishment where John Wick would stay if you know what I mean. Not necessarily a bad thing, just strange.

    Location. That dining area and internal courtyard must be fab during summer months. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    7.1
    Good hotel with some plusses and minuses
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You had to pay extra 20€ for parking and the man from the security drove it somewhere underground parking, outside to find other parking is quite difficult. Also there is pub townstairs and the noise didnt let me sleep (im a light sleeper) until it was closed and we were on the 4th floor.

    In suite there was a sauna and jaguzzibath which was nice. Also the room was big.Breakfast was okey and the receptionist was also very friendly and spoke good english.the extra bed for our 5 year old was free of charge and this was also definetly a plus.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    8.3
    Value for money, breakfast and wifi good quality. Needs refurbishment!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old building and rooms. Security at the front door gives the feeling of something unsafe is around.

    Very convenient place to get in and out of central Riga! Value for money, excellent for short trips!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    5.8
    :/
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - very uncomfortable bed (too hard, aching body and problems with moving because of it), - noisy floor looks like after flood, - only one power socket in room (second in bathroom), far from the bed (impossible to charge phone and sit with it on the bed... If I wanted to use my phone, I had to sit on the floor!) Room ok for 1-2* hotel, not for 4*

    - good location - wifi - staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    6.7
    Riga is beautiful. Highly recommended. If you want a basic but friendly hotel this will do
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Smell of sewage. Family room was just 3 single beds and a camp bed. Had to use blankets under mattress to give some comfort. Receptionist didnt know where the Town Hall square was - turned out to be 30 seconds in front of the hotel!

    Location for exploring the Old Town was brilliant

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    7.1
    Weekend trip to Riga
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Each time we had a shower we had to wait 5-10 minutes to get warm water. One morning we woke up to having no heating in the room - when the outside temperature is below zero it's not a great experience. Apparently there is no cleaning of the rooms on Sundays.

    The location is perfect. The breakfast was pretty good. The wifi was working well.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    8.3
    Better than expected, good location and great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Three big "bouncers" dressed in black guarding the locked gate, which was the entrance to the property. The rooms were a bit worn, but clean.

    The location, interior, the bathroom and the breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    9.6
    Good choice for Riga: perfect location, affordable price and classic hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room could have been a bit warmer. Then again, I did not try to adjust the temperature because I was not there that much.

    I had a business trip and mainly chose the hotel for its location to my business arrangements. Booking.com reviews were quite different from each other which made me puzzle about the choice. My experience was, however, totally positive. Everything was smooth and I do have my personal request like the iron and iron board in the room. All my wishes were fulfilled.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    8.8
    Perfect location of the hotel, and great service from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not that it really bothered us, but the walls are thin and noises easily heard. Room appeared to be a bit worn, but mostly added charm to its "rustic" look. Tried to heat up the room a bit with the AC as it was a bit cold eveningtime, but unfortunately this one did not work.

    Perfect location of the hotel, and great service from the staff both in the reception and in the bar. We had a Suite which was very spacious and kind of cool furnished. Great sauna, big comfortable bed and a nice jacuzzi.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Garden Palace traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: