Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Gutenbergs 4 stars

Doma Laukums 1, Rīga, LV-1050, Latvia

#18 of 153 hotels in Rīga

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1773 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Excellent location and good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Friday and Saturday nights there was a moderate amount of noise from the bar across the road, but the double glazing kept most of it out.

    Everything. The hotel is very central, just off the Cathedral Square, but tucked away in a quiet corner, and it's a fine historic building. The room, although not the biggest, had a very high ceiling and was well laid-out, it was clean, the bed was comfortable, the bathroom was very well-designed with a large shower and plenty of space to put things. Everything was there and everything worked. Breakfast was excellent, including some proper Latvian food items, great bezpiens with herbs! Staff were friendly and helpful and there was even somewhere to park for free.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    9.6
    Near to Dome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very little window we can see only window of the near building. but comfortable room because of the rooms ambiance. Next time better to live in the higher floor of the hotel.

    Near to Dome. Ambiance of the room or hotel is perfect i feel like I am in the Palace. The breakfast is perfect. Very helpful and accomodating staffs.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.5
    I recommend staying there!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was dirty, had to clean up all the dust and specks myself so I could lay my stuff down.

    I loved the old style hotel has, liked our room had 4 windows. Welcome drink was good surprise. Hotel reception workers were very friendly and always helped us.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    Superb experience and a gem in the heart of Riga. Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing. We could not fault anything during the course of our 3 night stay.

    What a gem of a hotel and reasonably priced. Easily deserves its 4* status. Beautifully decorated throughout and the old wooden beams in our room added to the ambiance. Staff could not do enough for you and the breakfast was plentiful and excellent. Superb location from which to explore Riga old town. We would certainly stay again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.6
    A good find in Riga.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would certainly stay here again. Staff were very helpful, the room I was upgraded to was lovely and quite ample. Location was easy to find. Breakfast was good. Slept well.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous old hotel with lots of character on edge of old...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous old hotel with lots of character on edge of old town. Plenty of choice of food in breakfast buffet. I can definitely recommend staying there.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    10
    absolutely perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Air conditioning cuts out if someone on the same floor decides to put their heating on! Not good. Each unit should work in its own right to correct personal specirfication

    all staff couldnt have done more for us, nothing too much trouble. Lovely quality hotel, just perfect. We will definitely return,.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.5
    Great location for the Old Town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was period, and so our room only had a small window making it quite dark, but also relaxing too. The reception staff were young and not always that attentive!

    The hotel is situated right in the Old Town and had a great location very close to the start of the Riga Half Marathon. Breakfast was a lovely spread, not over the top, but plenty of fresh smoked fish.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.2
    excellent location in old town with high value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    one guy of the staff was not friendly

    highest value is location and value for money, staff was very friendly and helpfull, very good restaurant on top of the hotel but very busy place, good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    Exceptional
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I enjoyed the city and hotel very much. Very charming place, had a room in the old part of the hotel. Room was very clean, staff friendly, even managed to meet hotel owners. Front desk can organize sightseeing tours, guides and transfers to the airport. Restaurant on the roof top was just amazing, breakfasts very diverse (meat, cheese, fish). Most definitely, next time will stay here.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent choice, one minor issue
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It had a lift but impossible to avoid having to use some stairs, which is difficult if you have mobility issues or if you have heavy luggage. Also, if you are in room 401, very strange noise at night from the roof top kitchen.

    Excellent location, wonderful rooftop restaurant and bar. Very friendly, helpful and personable staff. Quaint atmosphere.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Excellent querky hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a lovely quirky hotel right in the heart of Riga. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The breakfast was excellent. The beds very comfortable. Our room was in the roof so had to mind our heads and we had a very large wheel in the ceiling room 405. This used to be for loading from the outside. The restaurant on the terrace was very good with views over the city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I missed not seeing enlarging make up mirrors in all the bathrooms.

    We were a group of 25 people. From the start there was a good communication with the planning and great service from the hotel to assist us with any extras that we needed. They pointed out bus companies we could use and any other request we had before our arrival. The location of the hotel is as good as it can get in Riga, only steps from everything. We also had a group dinner at the restaurant and the planning, execution and service was exceptional. Thank you Gutenbergs for making our stay in Riga as great as it could possibly be.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Splendid in all aspects, especially the weather.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would say 'nothing' only that would be a double negative!

    Nothing left to desire. e.g When we had booked for an opera we didn't know, the staff produced a synopsis so that we could follow the plot.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    5.0
    center old town and historical hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Matrass and bad was not comfortable, room service forget gabige in the room after cleaning. Coffe is not testy for breakfast. Not refuel and check minibar. Not say before arriving that parking for additional payment 18 euro per day. very noisy room from early morning because of old hotel hotel

    center old town and historical hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.2
    A very good Hotel in a superb location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, there was everything I needed in the room

    Good range and quality of food for breakfast- bed was comfortable and the bathroom had a powerful shower. The hotel was in a very good location on the main square behind the Cathedral so everything was within walking distance. I did not eat in the restaurant but had a free welcome drink from there ,a very good red wine

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    6.7
    Not recommended as 4 star hotel and only fair value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fridge did not work. Key access to room faulty. No heating or mechanical ventilation operating. No tea coffee making facility for a 4 star hotel!?

    Location good. Comfortable bed and room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    6.7
    Breakfast OK.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bar not open when I arrived at ten at night. As a female travelling alone I prefer to be able to have food and a drink in the hotel. Not to have to find somewhere else.

    Breakfast OK. Location fabulous. Room decoration seemed rather tired.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.2
    Great location to easily walk to everything in the Old City...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gentleman at front desk was very good during mainly business hours; however, other times the room keys (heavy brass books) were left unattended sometimes. Twice no one was anywhere and I had to eventually walk around desk and get my own key from the unsecured board. From a security viewpoint, this is worrying especially for a lone traveler. One evening there was a private event on the rooftop that was very loud, other then that one night it was a quiet hotel!

    Great location to easily walk to everything in the Old City and transport link for beyond. Older hotel, but well maintained and the breakfast buffet is excellent with a large selection. Breakfast was fresh each day with minor variations. Higher floor windows open for fresh air! Room and bathroom were spotless. Bathroom was well lit and plenty of closet space! I was here for a week and each day the room was well cleaned.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    9.2
    A really good time in Riga !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One has to exercise caution in the timber beamed suites as getting out of bed too quickly without looking could result in a sore head. I found the mattress too soft for my liking but I do suffer from a bad back and appreciate a very firm one, perhaps should have mentioned that prior to arrival but that did not detract overmuch from our very enjoyable stay at Gutenburgs

    Excellent accommodation in the Old Town, wonderful food on the rooftop restaurant and breakfast cannot be faulted. Superb clarity on LG televisions to keep one up to date with world news and sport via BBC. Great selection of coffee and teas in our luxury suite. Terrific service from all the staff there. Gutenburgs is situated conveniently for airport travel by either taxi or public transport and there are too numerous to mention the pubs, clubs and eateries nearby. Riga is fairly walkable as long as you have footwear suitable for covering the many cobbled areas and there are many monuments, museums and churches to see also looking for souvenirs is good at the giant Stockmann shopping centre plus the amazing Central Market. Latvi's capital is a great choice for a long weekend being both friendly and cosmopolitan. We would not hesitate to recommend Gutenburgs for anyone thinking of spending time in Riga! We had the extra excitement out watching filming of a forthcoming movie being made just around the corner.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.6
    Lovely historic hotel in excellent location - comfy bed, super breakfast - excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    N/A

    Excellent location right in the centre. Comfortable bed and tea/coffee-making facilities in room was a bonus. Excellent buffet breakfast. Friendly, helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    8.8
    Very enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location was excellent for our needs being very central Choice of breakfast was good and well presented Staff at Hotel were extremely accommodating, nothing was a problem to them

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    9.6
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I don't think there was something that i can complain about

    The breakfast buffet is very good. The room decor is rally nice. The location is perfect.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Only had breakfast once not much for Irish taste but it was OK

    Very good stay nice hotel great location easy walking distance from attractions only 15 minutes from the Airport and plenty of bars and diners near by

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    9.2
    Quirky accommodation at the heart of a fascinating city
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Steps up to Reception and no lift to our room (107). Water was not always hot. Lovely setting for breakfast and excellent cold selection but as with so many buffets, the hot food was barely tepid, including the porridge. The hotel restaurant had excellent food, good views over the city roofs, but no atmosphere at all.

    The hotel was quirky especially in the architectural features of our room. It was conveniently central, the room heating worked well, it was quiet and the staff were good, particularly one of the male receptionists who was excellent. Lovely breakfast but see below.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    10
    We enjoyed the hotel, and I'd certainly consider...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We enjoyed the hotel, and I'd certainly consider returning. The rooms are big and very clean, the bed is comfortable also carpet seemed recently installed. The restaurant on the roof is fantastic! Staff were friendly and helpful, speaking in perfect English. Especially the young man who was on duty all day. The breakfast was (contrary to another recent review) excellent: as well as hot food, there was a wide-ranging buffet of local cold meats, cheeses and sweets. Good coffee machine with different choices. Perfect place and perfect location. You feel like in an old castle but with all necessary comfort. We stayed at 401 junior suite and room was full of old charm with wooden roof beams and leaning floors. Great thanks, Gutenberg! Great choice if you are looking for old Riga charm!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    8.3
    Good value for money hotel in excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - room size (a bit small, not helped by too much furniture) - bed was only moderately comfortable - bathroom needs a little renovation

    + good location (right next to the Dom) + good quality of breakfast + very efficient staff (check in, check out) + ability to check in late (we arrived at 22:00) + pleasant surroundings in the corridors and common areas

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.9
    The location is awesome - everything is in the walking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room did not have enough light - had to keep it switched on all the time.

    The location is awesome - everything is in the walking distance. Really nice breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    8.3
    Fantastic. Great breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There’s a club nearby which was a little noisy on the Saturday night. During the week the location is perfect

    Staff are all super helpful and knowledgeable on tourist spots in Riga

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.2
    Despite one or two niggles, overall we enjoyed the hotel, and I'd certainly consider returning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    As noted in other reviews, soundproofing is poor - particularly the room doors admit sound from outside - this goes with the original construction, I guess. The bed was softer than I prefer. There was no plug in the basin, and the hot water was a bit unreliable in the mornings.

    The decor is (deliberately) old-fashioned, maybe 1920s - some will like, others not. The room was comfortable. The breakfast was (contrary to another recent review) excellent: as well as hot food, there was a wide-ranging buffet of local cold meats, cheeses and pickles, and sweets. The coffee machine was filled with a medium roast rather than a dark roast, which made for much nicer café-au-lait than one usually gets from machines, though I understand that expresso fans would probably prefer a dark roast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.6
    Charming hotel in excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very attractive hotel in excellent location . Very friendly staff very welcoming. We intended eating on the restaurant and have our complimentary glass of wine. Restaurant was full but they brought it to our room which was very thoughtful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    9.6
    Perfect place and perfect location
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    not enough pressure in water system, so some times water is not hot, but it happens not all the time

    Perfect place and perfect location You feel like in an old castle but with all necessary comfort

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    7.9
    Excellent location,nice details of a 19th century building visible. Small minus:Cleaning and comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The carpet of the room was dirty. It should be cleaned in the same way this kind of carpets are cleaned in the USA. The ventilation of the bathroom was not good. They should raise the airflow 5 times.

    The breakfast was better than in 80% of hotels in this price range.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    10
    Fantastic hotel in the heart of Riga
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi connection is not strong

    The hotel is situated in the very center of Riga. The rooms are big and very clean, the bed is comfortable. The restaurant on the roof is fantastic!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    10
    Riga stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about

    Traditional furnishings. Comfortable and excellent location. Staff were friendly and helpful. Especially the young man who was on duty all day and evening Saturday 10th March 2018. Unfortunately I can't remember his name. Lovely hotel. I would return to this hotel without a doubt

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    9.6
    Better than we imagined, so that’s excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was adequate for our needs. Ideal location for downstairs bar in the breakfast room, as sometimes wanted a pre drink before we got ready to go out for evening but felt a bit too scruffy for upstairs, even though we was still welcomed upstairs

    Staff very friendly and helpful. I forgot my travel adapter and couldn’t buy one & they lent me one for my holiday. Receptionist & restaurant staff all very good, Rooms better than expected for the price we paid

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    6.3
    Good for the price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very loud because of the night club next to the hotel on Friday and Saturday night. Teas and water never replenished. Small bathroom in 405. Strange smell because of the water mill wheel in the room, which looked great but watch your head!🙈

    Nice big bed, good breakfast, nice decor, quiet during the week, warm room, fridge.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    6.7
    Was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms weren’t cleaned properly (we found a beer bottle in our room on day 3/4, neither of us drink beer) the restaurant closed early on Sunday night and there was excessive noise after midnight the last two nights that weren’t dealt with.

    Central location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location, room, breakfast and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location is excellent right in the middle of the old town and close to everything. Staff were friendly, room was very large and full of old furniture (old in a good way!) - the breakfast was really good. All of this and taking into account the really good price, means we would have no hesitation to stay again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    8.8
    Old Riga charm in the heart of the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location in the heart of Riga old town. We stayed at junior suite and room was full of old charm with wooden roof beams and leaning floors. Great choice if you are looking for old Riga charm. Breakfast was ok.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    8.8
    Cozy stay in the old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is in old building, funky irregular shaped room. Very good location in the heart of Riga old town. Very nice and clean shower. Valet parking -- hotel staff took care of parking the car at the offsite parking lot.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    10
    Great accommodation and food in the heart of Riga.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Second stay and we will return. Character rooms, helpful staff, lovely food in both breakfast and dining room. Welcome drink a nice touch and a lovely view from the rooftop terrace. We had a very small issue on checkin that was speedily sorted out very much to our satisfaction by Sandis and his team. We were made to feel like guests rather than customers. Highly recommend the Hotel Gutenbergs.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful hotel near the Daugava river and located in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we were put in the room right across the reception. Every movement in the hotel was heard to the room. At night when people returned from party, we woke up because of the noise.

    Beautiful hotel near the Daugava river and located in the old town. Good personel

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel in Riga Old Town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms could use some updates, nothing wrong, just bit outdated. Parking can be an issue.

    Great location in Riga Old Town, everything is in walking distance. Very nice and helpful staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    9.6
    This is an amazing hotel, totally recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is an amazing hotel, totally recommended. The location is great, in the middle of the old town; the room was very spacious, had a kettle and various tea choices and all necessary toiletries in the bathroom; the bed was huge and comfortable; staff were polite, professional and helpful; the breakfast had a wide range of choices of both continental and english breakfast; very good internet connection. Absolutely great value for money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    8.8
    Lovely stay at Guttenbergs
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One evening there was some problem with the hot water, but it was efficiently solved by the staff. Another evening heating batteries were not hot.

    Excellent location, gorgeous breakfast, very kind and helpful staff, comfortable rooms

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    9.6
    Hotel Gutenberg is like a dream hotel - close to everywhere!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit narrow parking

    Hotel Gutenberg is a very special hotel. Location is excellent. They might have some more parking spaces. Service and hospitality are very good. Gutenberg is among the few hotels with a very clear profile, and they are giving a lot of samples of this good profile. Historic. Still modern. Enjoy your stay!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel fo resonable price.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Could be warmer in the room. Noice from the corridor, probably door was too thin.

    Nice hotel fo resonable price. Very good location. Outstanding restaurant on the top floor. Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    10
    Wonderful, wonderful city, so elegant and charming!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    AWESOME place. I didn't expect such luxury for such a reasonable price! Beautiful, spotless clean and very central, a walk away from everything you need to see in Riga, it offers an amazing breakfast (we are vegetarians and found so much for us! Yay!) and a spectacular architecture. BONUS POINTS for the very nice (and very attractive!) guy at the reception! We'll surely be coming back.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    10
    Wonderful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1) great staff, who helped to solve our questions. 2) room - delicious! There are all that stated. 3) our departure was very early, but we have prepared breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    9.6
    Overall my stay was good and if i visit Riga in the future will possibly stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I thought the room wasn't quite up to what i'd expect for a suite, the bathroom was functional but personally i think the shower should be a modern glass enclosure rather than cheap plastic and the shower control should be a modern thermostatic control rather than one you'd find on a bath. The sink was damaged with small chips and a crack, nothing major but let the room down.

    Great location, several very nice restaurants 1 minutes walk away. Very nice staff and an excellent roof top restaurant with very nice food. Very nice buffet breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    9.6
    Great find. We'll be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The weather.

    It's in the old town near the cathedral. A walk in any direction takes you to a vibrant town. The hotel itself is understated luxury. Atmosphere -- very welcoming without being stuffy. Rooms -- not too big, but immacutely clean and comfortable. The staff very helpful. Breakfast -- excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    7.0
    Love the hotel and Riga old town, when i return i will stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fresh coffee would have been nice, however the hotel has a fancy coffee machine that you select an option and it does it for you. I just like regular fresh coffee in the mornings.

    Very nice continental breakfast buffet. Good wifi speed. Location good for access to central old town area.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.6
    Great central stay in historical building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Coffee machine inside the room could be a good idea:)

    The greatest location you could possibly imagine. Very interesting history of the building - don't forget to find out why they have a book as a keychain ;) Very friendly staff and good breakfast, tall windows

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful Old Town location
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location, right in the heart of the Old Town. Access was fantastic. Easy to get to by taxi and relatively close to public transport requirements should you need them. Beautiful old style building and interior. Fantastic buffet breakfast Good Wifi Nice restaurant onsite.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    9.6
    A great hotel in a fantastic location, in a very friendly city
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    Great choice at breakfast. We upgraded to a Junior Suite (room 212), just excellent as it's in the old part of the building so be prepared to walk uphill to the TV or along a slope to the bathroom! A wonderful hotel with friendly staff and superb location. You can reach all of old town within 15 minutes. And no matter where you are, you just need to look up at the church spires and look for the Dom Cathedral spire to guide you back again. Make sure you have a drink up on the terrace bar in the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    10
    A winter visit to Riga.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is in excellent location with a n access to all City Center sights. Very nice and comfortable appartments. Great hospitality and very serve, highly professional personal.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    10
    Nice, clean rooms, big and comfortable beds, good and fast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nice, clean rooms, big and comfortable beds, good and fast room service, perfect bar/restaurant on the last floor with great city panorama, location in the center of old city. Very friendly staff, always ready to help and good breakfast. What else do you need for vocation? Just perfect!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    4.2
    Bad experience overall, would never go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked twice within a week, first time was slightly better than my second stay. You can literally hear everything going on in the adjacent room, some staff are careless, i was given the wrong key at first and i walked into someone else's room finding their things unpacked in it but luckily there was no body inside. Then i was put in a room on the ground floor (i booked a suite) and i could hear the concierge talking with his friends and attending to guests while in my bed (plus every single other thing happening in the hallway and the entrance). When i raised the concern with him, he said they have no other rooms available unless he needs to move me to a smaller room, i checked online and there was pricier rooms available on a higher floor, i requested if it is possible to move there and pay the difference, i was told they are full first then a phone call was made after i mentioned it being available online then my request was granted and i was made to pay the extra money. I had to move all my things alone after i unpacked (through few sets of stairs and an elevator) and i was a bit late for a dinner i was to attend to. In the morning, i woke up 10 minutes before check out and i asked if i can check out like 15 minutes late because i just woke up and i was told "no" (first time that ever happens to me and i am a frequent traveler, some places give you up to an hour or more if this happens).

    Heritage historical building with beautiful design near RIgas Doms in old town, too bad it is managed poorly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    4.2
    Bad experience overall, would never go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I booked twice within a week, first time was slightly better than my second stay. You can literally hear everything going on in the adjacent room, some staff are careless, i was given the wrong key at first and i walked into someone else's room finding their things unpacked in it but luckily there was no body inside. Then i was put in a room on the ground floor (i booked a suite) and i could hear the concierge talking with his friends and attending to guests while in my bed (plus every single other thing happening in the hallway and the entrance). When i raised the concern with him, he said they have no other rooms available unless he needs to move me to a smaller room, i checked online and there was pricier rooms available on a higher floor, i requested if it is possible to move there and pay the difference, i was told they are full first then a phone call was made after i mentioned it being available online then my request was granted and i was made to pay the extra money. I had to move all my things alone after i unpacked (through few sets of stairs and an elevator) and i was a bit late for a dinner i was to attend to. In the morning, i woke up 10 minutes before check out and i asked if i can check out like 15 minutes late because i just woke up and i was told "no" (first time that ever happens to me and i am a frequent traveler, some places give you up to an hour or more if this happens).

    Heritage historical building with beautiful design near RIgas Doms in old town, too bad it is managed poorly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    10
    We loved every second.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing spoilt our stay - although a little more snow would have been the icing on the cake!

    Extremely helpful and friendly staff. Extremely comfy bed. Brilliant choice of food for breakfast - hot and cold - everything you could want. The charming character of the whole place. The old town is wonderful - we walked everywhere easily from the hotel. We loved our whole stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    9.6
    The Gutenbergs Hotel is splendid!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The Gutenbergs Hotel is splendid! Our suite was HUGE--well maintained with good windows and plenty of comfortable seating. The 2 baths were airy and convenient--one with tub and bidet, well stocked with good quality toiletries. The location was perfect--in the very midst of Old Town Riga, meters from shopping, good restaurants and the cathedral. We walked to museums, concert halls and Albert Street. The staff is helpful (esp. Christoph) and the breakfasts plentiful. Most amazing, though, is the architecture: wonderful exposed beams from the original mid-1800s printing house building. We'd return in a minute.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    10
    The best location you can ask for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was on the small side, but that's wasnt a big deal

    The best location you can ask for. Excellent staff at reception, and very nice rooms in the old part of the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    9.6
    Excellent place , comfort and service at the top .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The only trouble : The last taxi was 15 mn late and we were a bit afraid by the schedule but we got our plane JIT eventually quality of the cafe for breakfest as the machine went out of order the 24th ! Globally bravo !

    The traditional caracter of the room , wood and level !

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    9.6
    excellent value and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The street is not easily accessible by taxi and is cobbled so suitcases are an issue, similarly in the hotel cases have to be carried up and down stairs

    Location is superb in the centre of old Riga and the complimentary breakfast was very good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    7.9
    Overall we enjoyed our short break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The noise on Friday and Saturday nights. Extremely loud (room vibrating) thumping noise from a nightclub nearby got louder and louder until 2 in the morning. Apparently this happens every weekend. People should be warned not to expect any sleep on Friday or Saturday.

    Very wide choice at breakfast, with great coffee. Excellent location for exploring the Old Town.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    5.4
    Good location, but you're lucky if there are no private parties at the hotel, if restaurant is open.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking: manager was confused regarding parking my car, asked to park the car at the entrance to wait for someone to pick up the car. Car ended up with standing at same place as we left, with people passing by and not looking happy, because the car is quite wide and taking up much space from others. Quietness and facilities: restaurant was closed due to some private party. As we got room on first floor, just across the wall with reception, we heard every song and loud discussion from party on 0 floor, which finally ended up after 11.30PM or so. Then there was a huge noise from club-bar in front of the hotel. As the rooms ventilation is around ZERO, you have to open a window slightly. Unfortunately, not this time, because otherwise the huge noise from the street would have been too annoying. Rooms haven't seen proper renewal for a while, as well.

    Good location in old town of Riga. Not bad breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    10
    Excellent staff, friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Happy with all aspects of the hotel

    Excellent staff, friendly and helpful. Excellent location to see main places of interest. Older rooms had character, with a well designed bathroom. What I would expect from a four star hotel. Good breakfast selection.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    10
    fantastic thank you for a lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel was fab , there was nothing I disliked and would book again if I went to Riga.

    What can I say about this hotel. It was fab, , The location was superb, staff pleasant, and helpful. English was spoken well. Beds were really comfy, and the breakfast was everything you could want. Everything to suit everyones palate. English tv programs Tea and coffee and Mini fridge in room as well. Thank you

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.6
    Grand old hotel in central position
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic position in Riga old town. A few metres from the Christmas market. The roof top restaurant gives you great views. Excellent breakfast buffet. The staff looked after our cases when we arrived early and on the day we checked out.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    8.8
    A Hotel with character in an ideal location for short city break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was a little underwhelming with fairly limited choice. The croissants were not fresh that day and the hot breakfast options were only luke warm. No English breakfast tea appeared to be available.

    The hotel is located right in the centre of the Old Town and adjacent to Dome Square. The hotel is full of character and our room was spacious and included exposed timber beams. The bed was large and comfortable and the room was warm and inviting. We had an evening meal at the top floor restaurant which had panoramic views over Riga. The meal was excellent (if a tad expensive) and the service knowledgeable and attentive.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    9.2
    The staff was extraordinary nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed at the floor where the reception was. It was VERY loud, walls are also thin. Could not sleep for the whole 2nd night.

    The staff was extraordinary nice!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    10
    Great choice for a short stay in Riga.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Eggs weren't cooked to order at breakfast, but self serve - so not piping hot. But overall breakfast was very good.

    Location. Description of property was accurate. Value for money.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    8.3
    Nice warm and welcoming place with historical touch and friendly staff. Excellent cost/value ratio!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    interior and facilities need a bit more investment to make it look more polished and crispy

    unique and historical building, clean rooms decorated well. ABSOLUTELY GREAT terrace cafe on the top floor. Breakfast was quite good

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    8.3
    There were perfect holidays
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was too cold in a bethroom. Maybe we couldn't fine some magic button... And too separate blankets ( for me and my husband one is more prefer)

    Breakfast was very tasty)

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Gutenbergs traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: