Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hanza Hotel 3 stars

Elijas iela 7, Rīga, LV-1050, Latvia

#64 of 153 hotels in Rīga

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1853 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.6
    Staff very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was a bit ordinary but adequate.

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Has been updated very well and when road repairs finished will be an excellent setting. Bed was super good! Close to magnificent markets bus and train station. Walking distance to everything.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    4.2
    Not worth the money we paid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Air-conditoning and Sauna Access
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Except the reception staff it needs a lot of improvement

    The dining room is very small and crowded One day we asked for takeaway breakfast Unspeakable....

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    5.0
    Doesn't deserve high score on booking.com
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location was a bit far from the center and to go there you should pass crowded central market in the midday or totally empty streets at night. Near the hotel was a road repair, it created a lot of dust and dirt in rainy weather. The bathroom was inconvenient - the door stuck all the time, the shower did not have a pallet, there were no shelves. Wi-Fi was awful - most of the time it didn't let me connect at all.

    Good breakfast, nice staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.6
    Nice and comfortable hotel in interesting and quiet vicinity
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quiet location in very interesting vicinity, 15 min walk from Riga city centre. Kind and helpful staff. Rich and tasty breakfast. Kettle with portions of coffee/tea in the room. Nice interior design in the lobby.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    6.3
    For one night if the price is important
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no restaurant even they inform it is, but not working! No air conditioning in the room Due to big works outside the rumors are crazy loud, almost all streets around are closed and the main entrance is blocked. You have to look for alternative entrance since no signs, just on side doors is a notice on the paper “reception”. Also because of those works there was no hot water first day I understand it is not the hotel fault but no one informed me about this! Standard is very basic one, needs renovation. No air conditioner and no possibility to open window since works outside are crazy loud! Breakfast with various options but... really for me nothing to chose since not tasty... but it is my opinion. In the closest area there is no shop or restaurant. For me it is OK to walk 15 min to the old town but think if it is acceptable for you. Area not very interesting. Also during the night you can hear people in the closest room, corridor and outside! Not good experience even for me who sleeps deeply w/o problems.

    Very basic standard so do not expect too much, if you are looking for something not expensive could be, but I doubt I will stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    7.9
    Good hotel at a reasonable price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    NO AIR CONDITIONING. Very hot in the room but we did manage to get a fan from reception. Breakfast room extremely crowded, seems to be popular with coach holiday groups. Reception can get congested when they are checking out.

    Staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    5.0
    Good enough for the price given.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no air conditioning in the room. No curtains, just some wooden window shades that wouldn't close up well enough. The pictures provided to us on the hotel's page do not correspond with the actual hotel room.

    Nice and polite employees, eager to help you with anything you need. Basic but yet delicious breakfast. Basic cleaning of the rooms. Overall, a very basic hotel experience.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.9
    Nice and pleasant hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Little bottle of water in room would be nicely seen.

    Nice and pleasant hotel. Within walking distance to the center. Bus stop for bus 22 going straight to the airport (1.15€) is not far away. Nice breakfast in buffet form. Hotel is clean and staff friendly. Kettle and set for making tea/coffee in room. I would stay in this hotel again and can recommend it to the other.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    Great service! Relaxed stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent and efficient service. Much better than what we experienced elsewhere in Riga. Breakfast also very good. Quiet area and within walking distance to Old Town and railway station. Would come again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    Good starting point to explore the city!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nowadays there is a repair work on the street and it`s a little bit dusty.

    The hotel is located near the train and the bus station. The main market is also near by. The old city is on walking distance. The breakfast was all needed!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.2
    Good value, clean, charming hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Business Double or Twin Room with Free Sauna Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We prefer a separate or fixed shower altho the in-bath shower had a nice strength. Breakfast was in two areas. Due to numbers we ate on 1st floor and there were no dinning or side plates only soup plates. We asked the server who replied:That's hat there is. On day 2 I went down stairs to the second breakfast room to get plates and then witnessed the waitress give the same reply she gave me, to a second enquirer! Hotel needs to arrange better luggage storage place for people leaving late in the day - poor receptionist was trying to work surrounded by suitcases! Sadly loads of road works going on outside our bedroom window - not the hotel's fault!

    We chose a business room and it was a great size with tea & coffee facilities, comfortable beds, good seating and large bathroom (with bath large enough for 2-3 people!). Good location to town - a gentle walk through the fascinating market to the centre. Superb Riga Ghetto museum minutes away. River also close.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.2
    It wasn’t too far from the old town about 10min walk
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, the only thing that anyone would only have trouble with was there was a lot of road works happening around the hotel and started very early, but the hotels fault.

    It wasn’t too far from the old town about 10min walk

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.2
    Nice time.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I miss the place to eat outside That was so nice The sheets on my bed were not changed for 4 nights that I was there There needs to be ore variety in the menu for dinner

    The location is perfect Rooms are very nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    6.3
    Nice staff but not hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It was written that it is 7 minutes to the old town by walk. It was 20 minutes. Viev from the window was very bad. During the breakfast russian TV was on. In western Europe it would be 2 star hotel.

    Hotel staff was really nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    8.8
    Good accommodation, poor surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Business Double or Twin Room with Free Sauna Access
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very bad condition beside building, cause change of the under ground pipe lines next to. Very noisy during working days. Streets that are already after the renovation of underground installations are covered with stones again. Driving a car a few hundred meters from the street on such a road is a torment.

    Staff was very helpfull and accomodation in the building ok. Breakfast in normal, good standard.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    7.5
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise. Mini bar made so much noise, just like the “neighbor” who stayed in another room snored so badly we heard everything so we couldn’t get good sleep at all.

    Location. Loved it, not in the middle of center but very close! Breakfast was great too.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    6.7
    I would say average hotelf
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I have no idea why this hotel doesn't offer toothbrush, no soap, and even a pair of sleepers cost 5 euros? Did I expect too much? Next time I will definitely pay a little bit extra to go to some better hotels.

    Good location, close to the central market, and 15min to the old town.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    7.5
    I would recommend the Hanza Hotel for anybody staying in Riga.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were woken up early each by workmen were digging up the road outside the hotel (the hotel can't be blamed for this!!).

    The hotel was in a good location. It is not in the old town but within easy walking distance to the main attractions of Riga and very close to the central market. The staff were friendly and helpful and the room was clean and tidy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    5.4
    not very best hotel from Riga. a little bit more far away for the same price you can a a better room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was bad very bad. On bathroom there is no space to drop off our things. The breakfast have many things salty but poor with sugar food. The sound isolation is bad. There is currently building work to the hotel. so if you would like to sleep during morning you can't. And this is not mentioned during the booking. For the same price of a single room with 2 bed, my friend has a bigger room better...

    The shower is good. Nothing else

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.9
    Quality for affordable price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast buffet opens at 8 am at the weekends, could start at 7 am

    Very clean rooms, nice view of the city. A quiet part of the center and lovely ambient

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    5.4
    Don’t stay there!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was expecting much more. The hotel is located on a place where some urban works are being made, so it’s extremely noisy (and we didn’t have water during a whole day). Besides, you can hear every single step and conversation from the other rooms. And there is actually no free parking as it’s mentioned in the website, and so we have to pay 2 euros per hour. I definitely wouldn’t stay there again.

    Just the staff, which is really helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    7.5
    Simple, but cosy room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some surrounding houses and the area Current road construction makes noise in the morning (hopefully it will end soon)

    Simple, but cosy room Quite area, still close to the center Good wifi network

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    Nice weekend in Ryga
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is also paid on Saturdays untill 17.00

    The breakfast is great, we have eaten a full mouth. The hotel is in a quiet place, 20 minutes walking to old town, passing through Riga's central market. The room is neat, with a quiet view of the square.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.1
    Good hotel in a quiet area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The WiFi is working extremely bad, which is frustrating, especially after you announce reception and they say it will be fixed. Also, the TV had just about half of the TV programs working, mainly the local ones; the international ones were interrupting constantly.

    The room was big, spacious and warm and the bed very comfortable. We had a nice view, facing the church just across the hotel. The breakfast place is nice as well, with wide range of choices among the products, especially the pancakes, which are really good. It is also a pub during the evenings, a perfect spot to have a drink.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    5.0
    Disapointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For my second stay within 6 months I got a standard room and had to pay for the sauna. But that old of have been because I booked threw trip advisor and not threw the hotel direct

    Nothing in particular

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    7.9
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Price would have been cheaper if I had gone through their site and not through Booking.com. Booking.com also only had an option of "twin or double room", I would have preferred a double but did not get to select that as an option when booking through this site. My issue is with booking.com and not with the Hanza hotel.

    Great locations, pleasant staff and really enjoyed the bonus of having a spa

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    2.9
    So Terrible and I would NEVER go to this hotel again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The smell of our room is very disgusting and the location of this hotel is not so good actually. It takes time for us to find it although it is kind of close to the coach station.

    It is close to the coach station and the breakfast is.... emmm.. standard

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    7.9
    Calm, quiet part of Riga that is safe as long as you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lighting in room could have been brighter

    Calm, quiet part of Riga that is safe as long as you demonstrate common sense; great breakfast, short walk to Old Town VecRiga, staff helpful. Clean which to me is very important. This is my place to stay when I am in Riga.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    Great hotel for a relaxing stay in Riga
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great, cosy hotel in a quiet neighbourhood, within easy walking distance from Riga's major attractions. We loved the view from the window on a picturesque square with a wooden lutheran church in the middle. Breakfast was very good. Great value for money! If we come back to Riga, we will definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    8.8
    Nice and cosy HH
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    perfect breakfast (huge selection of food: continental and local) , very good location, quiet neighborhood, kind and really helpful staff, good value for money, view from window, big and clean bathroom, comfortable beds.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    7.1
    Nice place if you do not need too mutch sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise, the walls are so thin that you can hear tv perfectly, when someone is watching in the room next doors. Breakfast, while breakfast was fine, there was only one person on duty and was not managing, so there was no hot food one of the days while we were eating. Breakfast room is very small and overcrowded on the first hour.

    Clean rooms, friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.6
    I am completely satisfied with my stay in Hanza Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I am completely satisfied with my stay in Hanza Hotel. The staff was polite and helpful. The room was clean, comfortable and warm (important for the winter time). I used the spa center (payable) - in my opinion it is very good. The hotel is situated a bit outside of Old City (VecRiga), however it takes only 15 minutes to reach it. But more important for me was its closeness to the Central Bus Station as I've arrived to Riga by bus.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    4.2
    Old wooden floor.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Old wooden floor. You can hear every step of person who is walking besides walls. When arrived, the room was completely frozen. Heating was turned off. it took all evening to warm it up. Nobody informed about reconstruction taking place on the hotel before booking! you had climb with the luggage up to second floor in order to take an elevator.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.2
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loud Russian people in the room next to us

    Friendly staff, clean, delicious breakfast, close to the city center (5-10 min walk), nice district, car parking in front of the hotel c.a. €1,50 per hour.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    8.3
    excelent value for paid money, quarded car parking is 2...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    excelent value for paid money, quarded car parking is 2 minutes walking from hotel, for reasonable price ( 6 eur/ 24h), breakfst was really good, stuff was kind

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    10
    Clean and quiet...
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I've stayed there twice and there's nothing I didn't like. And hopefully that will stay that way...

    For me it's all about place being clean and quiet... I like how it's decorated.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant stay at a romantic spot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Air-conditoning and Sauna Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    noisy fridge, Lactofree food not really available.

    Very helpfull receptionist who carried the load while the elevators were shorttime (one week) not available. Very pleasant room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    8.3
    Friendly staff, good breakfast, parking in zone C and there...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Renovation of the hotel is not new, it was felt sometimes.

    Friendly staff, good breakfast, parking in zone C and there are parking spaces in the area. Close to city center.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    6.7
    Decent, good value for money, not exceptional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - hotel doesn't have parking - hotel does not have double blankets for some reason. I booked "double or twin bed room", made a special request to get double and we ended up getting twin room, which is fine, but then hotel said they simply don't have double blankets which would've been nice to have.

    - location is good, we arrived by bus and the hotel is near the south central bus station. 10 min walk from the city center. - clean, service was fine

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    8.3
    A good stay at the HANZA
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good location as only 5 mins walk to the train station and a further 5 mins to the Old town Room was nice comfortable Nice breakfast with good choise Free WIFI worked well Friendly Staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    9.2
    Easy enough to find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy enough to find. Very nice and helpful staff. Room was clean, comfortable bed. We had our room on fourth floor, no noice from street. A quiet hotel overall. Breakfast was very good, lots to choose from. About 10-15 minutes walk to old town.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    7.1
    Near the center
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Neiborhoud were the hotel is at - not good If someone is outside the door - you can hear very clearly, no noise isolation

    Near the center Breakfast was reasonable You can order massage which was good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    8.8
    Friendly and nice hotel!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately during the period of our stay there was a big group of Finnish tourists, and the kitchen could not renew the choice of food; the coffee machine also ceased to function in the second day. Also the shower in our room 502 did not function properly.

    Very helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    8.8
    No surprises nice hotel that was reflected well by Booking. com
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked some black tea, coffee and milk in the room there was only green tea other than that everything was as expected

    The room was clean but basic, location is good about a 5 min walk to the main train station and 10 mins to the Old town. The breakfast was nice great scrambled eggs and yummy bacon. Very good price.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic cheap & very clean hotel if you don't mind the walk into town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sauna Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was about a 10 - 15 minute walk to the old town which could be a problem for someone with walking problems.

    Great little hotel in a very quiet area of Riga. Really good continental breakfast with a few hot items too.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    8.8
    Great value for money and within walking distance from the main streets
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good value for money, well-sized rooms and comfortable bathroom. Service of the hotel is good and they help you with anything you like, such as taxi transfers to and from the airport.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel with excellent breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking on the streets (only a few spots in front of the hotel).

    Great location and facilities. Everything was clean and nice. Various and delicious breakfast!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.9
    Quiet location not far centre.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quiet location not far centre. Easy to find parking places near the hotel. Good breakfast. The room is warm which is especially important in late october-november!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    9.6
    Baby-friendly stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Our fridge produced some aquarium-like noise, but it wasn't too disturbing.

    They have a great breakfast! A big variety of food to choose from and they keep filling it up before something goes missing. We travelled with a baby and they kindly provided a crib - free of charge. The place was super clean and very comfy.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    7.9
    The location was pretty good as it was near the bus and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The fridge was a bit noisy. If the breakfast contained vegan and gluten free options, it would be perfect!

    The location was pretty good as it was near the bus and train station although it doesn't seem to be the safest area of the city so it was a bit uncomfortable to walk there in the dark. The room was clean, it was nice to have a kettle in the room. The bathroom was clean, there were all toiletries we needed (soap, shower gel, shampoo, hair conditioner). It was nice to have an oat meal as an option for breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    6.7
    Monday in Riga with super breakfast in tuesday morning at Hanza Hotel Riga..)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is not confortable, unsure way to pay for parking, although possibility to park somewhere in secured parkingplace in radius of 1km is available.

    Price/quality ratio is good, also breakfast is very ok. Very clean, confy bed, minibar, tv, very kind personal.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    6.7
    just for stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was boring by salad section. No evening restuarant or buffee. Coffee was not tasty in breakfast. You have to pay extra for parking. Parking free only in sundays. Walls are thin

    Place just for to stay overnight. Nothing special. Close to city center.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    We cant wait to come back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing we didn't like was our own fault! We should have booked a transfer in advance with the hotel to the hotel.. we booked one with the hotel back to the airport and it was half the price of the taxi we gotfrom the airport to the hotel!

    Great comfy bed. Lovely staff.. a lovely varied breakfast. Bathroom was huge and spacious. Location is perfect.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    Cozy and warm hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its my first night at hotel, I like realy liked it. Maybe the bed could be a little softier (maybe because of pregnancy) But I still like it.

    Clean, beautiful hotel with nice personel. I really like it and would come back. It was my first night at hotel, so it was good. Big bathroom, quite big room. We were two, but there could sleep one more person. The breakfast was delicious (you can put what you want and how much you want). And the view from window was very nice - the church. You can heat the room whatever you want. Hotel is pet friendly for additional fee. Really nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    9.2
    It is a very nice accomodation for a great price!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one kind of shower gel for body and hair. No separate shampoo and conditioner.

    Tasty breakfast, near the centre (bus station, railway station) Accessible from the airport with bus no. 22 then only 5 mins walk. The economy room is big enough and the beds are very comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    2.9
    Rubbish
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast room is so small we didn't have a chance to eat for the first time so we had to return an hour later. Room was cold all night. Staff were ok.

    The free mini champagne

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.6
    Great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s 10-15min walk from the Riga bus terminal. Very clean hotel. Staff was nice. Kettle and tea bags in the room. Breakfast is included and especially the bread and yogurt was delicious! Checkout is until 12 so you can relax on the day of departure too. Great value for a great facility!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    7.1
    Not for me!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Air-conditoning and Sauna Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel's breakfast room was small, dark, and very undersized for the hotel. Constantly crowded and noisy. Breakfast was at best very mediocre. The neighbourhood was devoid of any life or culture - I had hoped that being out of old town I'd find some real non touristy places, but no such luck. The hotel is very popular with large groups and tours - not great for individual travellers.

    The hotel room was nice. Spacious and bright, and well appointed. The staff were very helpful. I enjoyed the walk through the Central market to get to and from town. Very convenient to the bus station and train station.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    4.6
    Unwelcoming. The atmosphere is of a chain hotel without the usual comfort of a chain hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms were very noisy; you could hear the TV from the neighbors right, left and above. Windows are such that people from the room next door look straight in. Expect a long breakfast queue.

    Location was not bad

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    8.3
    all in all we enjoyed our 4 days stay in this hotel very much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Air-conditoning and Sauna Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the breakfast room was quite small and therefore pretty crowded

    The room they gave us didnt suit us and they changed it within minutes. The new room was right perfect for us. The lady at the reception was very professional.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    7.1
    Comfortable hotel close to bus station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Needed light on as room a bit dark. Room cold - needed to open window to warm room. No heating on at that time. Hotel in a not salubrious location but handy to bus station.

    Large room; spacious bathroom. Bed comfortable. Breakfast fine. 5-10 min walk to Old City.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    8.8
    Hotel offers good breakfast, a clean and spacious room and bathroom nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As for most hotels, this hotel is quite warm as well, even though temperatures weren't that high outside. If the hotel would be more crowded then that it was now, breakfast would probably become a problem due to the small amount of seats and the narrow spaces around the buffet. Even with a small amount of people during breakfast getting coffee or tea is not that handy, because of the small available space. And as I mentioned, depending on what you're looking for, location might be a problem. The neighborhood isn't the best in Riga so people might not want to go to there. However anyone used to big cities elsewhere in Europe (like myself) would not consider this a dangerous or bad neighborhood at all.

    The lobby of the hotel is very welcoming and so is the staff. Both in the lobby and at the breakfast. At breakfast there's plenty to choose and most of it is high quality produce. The rooms are clean with a nice bathroom and decent quality beds. My room had a view at the church which was quite special. Location is both good and bad depending on what you are looking for. It's close to the train and bus station, so very easy for travelling from and to the hotel. Also the Riga Market is quite close and also it's a bonus that you can easily visit the panorama platform of the Academy of Science.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    9.2
    WOW ! wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sauna Access
    • Stayed 5 nights

    small restaurant & crowded in the morning

    Good breakfast Location : 10 min. walk to city center, 5 min. walk to Intercity bus terminal & central market( fantastic) & tram stop Free Sauna ( 1 hour private use, need prebook )

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    8.8
    Two nights in Riga
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location. Neariest surrounding quite good, but the way to the city center was horrible - especially that which was recomended by the staff. The best way was around the main road (by foot).

    Equipment, friendly and helpful staff and especially breakfast !

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    6.3
    Location is nice, not far away from the city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    our room was on the first floor, was too noisy. WIFI was working awful on the first floor.

    Location is nice, not far away from the city center. We had spent 10 minutes on foot to the park. The bed is comfortable, TV is showing channels in different languages. Our flight was too early, and at the reception, we were offered by lunch boxes.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.6
    The room was spacious and had such a comfortable bed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Air-conditoning and Sauna Access
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's near the central market and the train and bus stations and that's fine during the day, but at night it doesn't seem so safe. Just an impression, though.

    The room was spacious and had such a comfortable bed! ❤

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    8.3
    Very friendly staff at the hotel.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is no air-condition , that’s a problem in the summer time . It is not that close to the old town as it looks in the map. Area around the open market and the train station you have to cross at night to get to the hotel is a bit scary. The poor quality breakfast is served at the pub underneath the hotel. The pub is a bit dirty. The cost of my room was 112e for 4 days, but I had to pay an extra 60e for having my cat with me. I think it is too much extra money for having a pet with you.

    Very friendly staff at the hotel. The rooms are very big comfortable and clean. The hotel price is a great value for money. I would love to book again in this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    6.7
    Comfortable but not the best area
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Neighborhood

    The hotel was nice, but sterile and unimpressive. It was much farther from the old town than expected. It is an easy walking distance of about 12-15 minutes, but the neighborhood was a bit dodgy. Though the staff assured me the area was safe, I wasn't comfortable walking to the hotel after dark alone (I'm a a single woman traveler). The breakfast was ample and the facilities were clean and comfortable. Staff were friendly and helpful. I would not stay here again if I was traveling alone.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    8.3
    The staff is very kind, our room was clean and there were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff is very kind, our room was clean and there were blinds on windows which is not that common in baltic countries. The breakfast was very good with a large choice (bread cereals, pancakes, sausages, bacon...)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    6.7
    The hotel was not overcrowded.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Air-conditoning and Sauna Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast selection could have been more varied. As vegetarians, me and my partner didn't have too many options. It was OK and manageable, but nothing special.

    The hotel was not overcrowded. The rooms were cosy and spacious.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    5.4
    Disapointment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking has extra cost and is hard to find. There were no food and no seats during breakfast, the hotel obviously wasnt ready for bigger amount of travelers. There are no conditioner in the room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    7.1
    For one night ok!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cold reception, not really friendly. Breakfast was really nothing special, coffee from automat, and food choise very little.

    For one night ok! Old furniture. Not far from center. Secured parking place 200 Meters away. Places in front of door too, but not secured!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    9.6
    Nice and quiet hotel very close to the old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything about hanza hotel - it's location (quiet; 5 minutes walk to the old town; though you have to pass by market angars and train station, the area is very safe even at night), the room (super clean, comfortable bed), breakfasts (variety of choice, lots of options for vegetarians, served from 7 till 10 am), the personnel was very helpful. Would definitely stay here once again when in Riga.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    8.8
    nice stay in pleasant quiet area
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sauna Access
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nice mid range hotel, we were given on request nice room upper floor overlooking church - hotel is on nice old square and is a pleasant modernised building - adequate building - it is in poorer side of riga but safe nd very quiet and of interest in own way, and close by main street and also by pleasant slightly longer walk on riverbank - things to see on way to old town including markets and jewish museum

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    7.1
    Good quality/price rate
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel gas no internal Park. There was a minibar in the room that made a lot of noise during the night.

    Very close to vecriga and to the main city attractions. Bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hanza Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: