Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Riga Islande Hotel 4 stars

Ķīpsalas iela 2, Rīga, LV-1048, Latvia

#51 of 158 hotels in Rīga

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3883 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    9.6
    As I have stayed in this hotel quite many times I can say...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I did not like that they have been closed their sauna. Sauna has been always argument for me to choose Islande hotel. Hope that Sauna will be reopened soon.

    As I have stayed in this hotel quite many times I can say that quality has been always acceptable. Breakfast is good and rooms are comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    9.2
    It was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My child had an allergic reaction in the room every time were in it... I dont know from what-maybe it was from dust in the carpet, maybe it was from chimicals that were used to clean the room..

    Breakfast pankakes with strawberry jam was soooooo good!!!!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    7.5
    Spacious room with a good view to the river.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    No soundproofing. You can hear neighbors snoring the next room. Very thin pillows are quite uncomfortable to sleep on. few channels on TV.

    Spacious room with a good view to the river. Comfortable bed and clean bathroom. All the essentials (shower gel, shampoo, soap) was in the bathroom. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    7.9
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Сarpet cover must be changed, shower tray waste should be cleaned as well, water doesn’t drain while taking a shower.

    Awesome breakfast, private parking, close to the city centre ( ~15 mins on foot), nice view if you have room on the top.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    5.4
    It was just ok...
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the hotel isn't clean enough. At the breakfast room, I saw something that look like a spawn behind a chair (probably because it felt on dinner time or something) for three days. Also one of the coffee machines was loosing a bit of water and the floor was always dirty at this area. The male personal at the reception was really unfriendly and inefficient; we ask for a taxi two days in advance to get to the airport, we cancelled the night before just to notice that the receptionist wrote the hour incorrectly. For a 4,5 star hotel, they should have a better organization system. A notebook and a white paper at the breakfast receptionist desk seems just very unprofessional. I wish they would informe better about the city and the hotel facilities. They have a spa and wellness center... but after seen how they take care of the cleaning, we were just not up to.

    The breakfast was good.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    5.8
    Not a 4 star hotel. Rooms are just very average
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with gym access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Once again, even in a 4 star hotel you cannot have a « real » double bed but only 2 twin beds put together. Room was a bit gloomy. The WiFi connection was absolutely terrible. In short this place is just NOT a 4 star hotel. 3 at most

    The value for money was ok. Nothing much to add about this place.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    7.9
    helemaal naar de zin
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bar closed at 23 hrs, but de small diner we took was good and good value.

    Breakfast was perfect, and the small diner we had was good, and also the drinks to our diner

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    6.7
    The size of the room was big and nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with gym access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom was clean but they have shower curtains and water is leaking to the floor. There is no safe in the room, you need to pay extra to get it. There is no water in minibar and when you ask via phone, they are charging extra money to bring it to the room, other than the price of the water. the staff in the information desk was not willing to give you any recommendations when you ask a question, did not find them very friendly

    The size of the room was big and nice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    9.2
    Good stay as always in Islande
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very good hotel at decent price. Reasonably big room, you have all you need. Friendly staff. good breakfast. Location is also ok, good parking options. Not far from the centre.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    5.0
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were 2 couples and rented 2 rooms for 1 night. Stuff attitude was awful (1 guy at the bar/reception at night and 1 guy at the restaurant breakfast time). The receptionist at the moment of check in/check out was great though (the lady). We had to wait for 20 min just to get a drink from the bar, was no sign of bartender. When the guy finally appeared instead of serving us he said we had to wait another 5 minutes, as he was busy with dirty dishes from the room service. I thought it's not that difficult to get us a drink first, knowing himself how long he was away for and continue with his work. Well, priorities at that hotel seems to be set wrong. Customer satisfaction is not that important I suppose. Than the same guy was covering reception desk for the night. My friend had a belly ache (normal women's monthly ache). We asked if they had any painkillers or paracetamol and explained the reason, the answer was that they do not hold any NARCOTICS or drugs at reception. He could just have said: " Sorry, we don't hold any tablets" or something similar. The way he said it was like we are drug users, the voice of tone etc. Ridiculous! When we were having breakfast the next day it was exactly 11am (breakfast is finished at 11am) I was still finishing off my toast and coffee, waiter came to me and said: Breakfast is over and you need to leave now". I'm very well travelled person, been to 46th countries and never had such a rude treatment or attitude anywhere on Earth. May be because we are from the same country and speak the same language they thought they could treat us this way (I'm not living in Latvia any longer, but still visiting), but it is something for management to deal with. Also I've never seen such a dirty carpet in my life in 4,5* hotel. It was shocking. Although from the outside hotel looks posh and amazing. Definitely will never stay there again. This stay has ruined our mood.

    The location was good. View from the window was beautiful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable and close to city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing in particular. Everything was alright. Be aware not to believe this place is a 5 star luxurious hotel - it is not.

    You feel like in an "almost-4-star" hotel: comfy rooms, nice bed, good-ish breakfast, large lobby at the entrance, view is also nice. Nothing to complain about. However, this is faaaar from being a luxurious 5 star place. Stay here if you want a good location and you want comfort, but you are not ready to pay extra for fanciness or lux.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    10
    A pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with gym access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi was super slow at the time of our stay

    The room was nice and clean, bathroom was huge, beeakfast had a lot of options. Overall, a great experience - would definitely visit again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    8.3
    Breakfast was fantastic, very flexible times.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's a pity that you need to walk about 20 mins to old town to get to the central area of Riga.

    Breakfast was fantastic, very flexible times. Quiet location helps with getting a good night's rest.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    9.6
    Nice option as a starting point to Old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is not old town but 10 minutes walk through the bridge takes you there

    Super fast WiFi. A lot to choose from for breakfast - I don't agree with negative comments regarding food. Maybe except for scrambled eggs. Rooms very clean. Also the staff DO smile, you just need to smile yourself :) I would visit this place again. There is also free parking and big supermarket 3 minutes walk from the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our cheapest room was huge, with big closet. Climate control is a big plus. Hotel offers nice breakfast with wide variation of warm food and bakeries and lot of fruits. Staff was very polite and smiling. Hotel has good modern atmosphere. Excellent quality for such price.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    3.8
    Location is quite good - not far from city center and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture have served it's term few years ago. Room was dirty. Breakfast is way over rated. Coffee was awfull. Have no idea how hotel is awarded with 4 stars

    Location is quite good - not far from city center and parking is available. Nice bathroom and quite spacios room

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.6
    Lovely stay, good 4 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only small negative - the room was a bit worn down, for example the carpet had stains on it. But the room was still very comfortable.

    Great stay. We had a lovely room with a great view of Riga's old town. Good breakfast! Friendly staff. Free parking was a huge plus. Not far from the Center and in a more quiet area.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    8.8
    Good stay with a good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with gym access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet in the room was soiled, probably needs a replacement. Usually I couldn't notice that, but this time we were travelling with a baby, who scramble on the floor so he spent most of the time there.

    This hotel is really near to the city center, just walk over the bridge and you're there. Breakfast was generous and really tasty. Staff were friendly and polite. Free parking, what was one of the reasons why we chose that hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    5.8
    Doesn’t meet expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building seems old. The inner space of the room is archaic. Spots on the carpet. Old-style bath. Not really ‘fabulous breakfast’ opposite to booking.com.

    Free parking, staff. View from the window.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    8.3
    Good location and value for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe everything is a little aged by now, but that did not bother us at all.

    Location is very good, only across the bridge to old town. Room was big enough, breakfast had a lot of variety. I liked the gym, quite big and well equipped. Sandy swimming place with playground just outside.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    5.4
    not bad, not good just average.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    .My room was on the 4 th floor and its view not good. I said them a good view room while booking process. But hotel did not give me this style room. I dont like the crew. There were too cold.There was no spa in the hotel besides there was not any brochures about the hotel in the rooms.

    Hotel's room were clean, peacefull and confortable. The Barmen who name is Artur was a very friendly and sincere person.The alcoholic spirits have had very cheep prices.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    7.9
    А good option close to city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    - an air conditioning didn't work properly, so we had to keep both a window and a room door open, when in, to let fresh air come in - dust on bed headboards, table lamps and air conditioner grid

    - very comfortable beds - good buffet breakfast - 25 min calm walk from the city centre - a nice city beach in 3 min walk - quiet area

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    8.3
    Good choice, nice location. Quiet area
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air condition too weak to decrease temperature in room when outside is more than 30 degree.

    Very nice location outside of old city, by taxi frim airport 20 minutes, walkig to city center 30 minutes.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    4.2
    Lacking cosiness, old-fashioned, even if you stay one night, it is not worth it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    4-star hotel?!seriously?maybe, 10 years ago it was the case, but not anymore. Old-fashioned hotel- no idea how other rooms are, but ours not in its best condition, bathroom needs a total face-lift, towels are worn out, floors covered in linoleum reminded of a student-like accomodation 20 years ago, doors are not isolated, you wake up already as of 7:00 because neighbours start going for a breakfast, then if you are lucky to go back to sleep, at 7:45 from the noise of the cleaning ladies and their mobile phones. Sole decoration was a wrinkled framed poster hanging on the wall. It was very sad and uncosy.will not come back. Did not like breakfast - horrible coffee - tasted like juice of socks.

    Nothing to say

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    7.1
    Aircon unit is loud as hell during night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with gym access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aircon unit is loud as hell during night. Spa is not working.there us no pool no saunas. And for breakfast they giver scrambled eggs made of dust in 4 star hotel??? I can't accept that. Very big minus.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel, big room and comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with gym access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tried to order pizza with my phone, couldn’t get a hold. Asked from reception if they could order it for me they suggested calling from the room but still no one answered since it was so late we went to sleep and next day they asked to pay 0.50€ for the phone bill. For what? For Dialing the number??? At the end we didn’t have to pay but still. Weird.

    Nice hotel, big room and comfortable bed. Bathroom was so nice and big. Breakfast very good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    7.5
    Nice and comfortable hotel across the river.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at breakfast not so service oriented. Don’t think they like their job according to their looks. Overall we were expecting a little more for a 4-star hotel. Felt more like

    Nice and comfortable hotel across the river. Decent breakfast. 1,5 km walk to downtown.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    8.8
    The overall stay was very good and the area was great as we stayed there for 12 nights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with gym access
    • Stayed 12 nights

    We asked for the room with a river view, at first we were offered the 5th floor with no view, later moved to the 8th floor where we could see the Daugava river and the ferry terminal, but the room didn't meet our expectations of a four star hotel. The carpets were badly stained and smelling. The bathroom was too small, the shower was over the bath and the shower head was poor. That was the biggest disappointment.

    The location was great, quiet area and easy access to the old town where you could have a nice walk over the bridge. Take a stroll around Kipsala, it is worth exploring because of stunning views of Old Riga and for beautifully renovated wooden houses.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    8.3
    Good summer location, close to a nice and popular beach,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very stained carpets and shower overflowing water after simple douche.

    Good summer location, close to a nice and popular beach, shopping centre right next door

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    8.3
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking lot was right under the rooms windows and in the morning the tourist buses put their engines to work to cool the buses and it lasted hours. It’s against the EU law to do this and very very annoying and environmentally bad. In one room the carpet looked old and worn out. Usually people don’t look this but the air conditioner filter needed cleaning form dust.

    Good location. Helpful staff. Good breakfast with lots of varieties. Rooms were big.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    7.5
    Perfect for Riga-visitors who come by car
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet was really full of stains... I understand it‘s not always possible to renovate and put in a new carpet, but this was very on the edge, especially for a hotel with 4 & 1/2 stars

    The free parking was excellent! Good breakfast, friendly staff, nice view to Riga over the river.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    6.7
    It was mentioned in the pamplet that childrens playground...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was mentioned in the pamplet that childrens playground was located on the hotel premises but the reception staff knew nothing about it. Also the other restaurants inside the hotel were closed and spa was shut down too which was a bit of a letdown.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.5
    Decent Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with gym access
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They advertise breakfast on rooftop and they didn't use it in reality. We went to ask for it and they said that it is closed. Airconditioning not working and breakfast was poor.

    The location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    7.9
    Staff is very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Corridors are a little bit smelly of smoke. Probably it is a older hotel, where guests used to smoke, but not anymore. So the smell is still a little bit there. But no smell in the room. Also corridors are not very clean - there are old marks on the carpets, but it does not really matter.

    Staff is very friendly. I think, it was exact value for the money we spent. Breakfast was really good and also changed day by day.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.8
    Very nice stay in Riga
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our Air Conditioning in the room did not work. The carport was stained worn and needs t be replaced

    The Staff was Exceptional, very friendly, helpful and professional.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    4.2
    You can find a better hotels in Riga than stay in Islande.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Honestly - how this hotel is rated as 4* hotel? Our issues started that hotel parking area was full and after 30 minutes got finally tiny place for a car. So warning - if hotel is full, there isn´t enough parking places :( The room was huge disappointment. Small and smelly - cheap men parfume :( Carped with huge stains and felt like not cleaned enough :( In bathroom - don´t expect individual shower gel/shampoo options. Instead You get cheap liquid hand wash gel. A towel with stains ;( Feels that I stayed I'm in a cheap motel. Breakfast was really-really modest if compare to other 4* hotels. So You can get Your coffee, juice, a bit omlette and porridge but don´t expect variety :( So overal - I don´t recommend this hotel. You can find probably a lot of better options than this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.3
    Simple but cozy hotel with good location and reasonable price range
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with gym access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Livingroom's carpet was dirty

    Friendly and forthcoming personnel, good location (you could walk to old town and to the ferries easily, even with children), delicious breakfast which varied every day, convenient parking, food store and food joints nearby

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.6
    I can recommend this good hotel to everyone!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    As always in Riga everything was perfect. Very friendly and helpful hotel staff, comfort and clean room, good breakfast and just wonderful Riga oldtown.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good value for money :) nice staff, environment, clean and pretty big rooms. Very tasty breakfast, breakfast buffet had a big variety of dishes. I would recommend!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    5.8
    A quiet and comfortable stay with great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some facilities were not available during our stay, for example the spa and the bowling place. Especially for the spa closure (due to a renovation) that the hotel announced a few weeks before our arrival, this was a deal killer because we would not have booked this hotel were the spa not available. Unfortunately, the staffs could not do anything to compensate us other than a voucher of welcome drink at the hotel bar. Another thing that surprised me was that on our arrival (1 hr prior to the check-in time), we were told that the room was ready and we could go to the room, WITH an extra charge of €5. It is not about the amount, but this was the first time that I experience a hotel charging its guests for an early check-in. Not sure if it is a common practice in Latvia.

    The breakfast was really great! There was a good varieties of cold and warm dishes, in addition to fruits and juices. On the last day where we had to catch a very early flight, the hotel provided us with a breakfast bag. It was really appreciated! The stay itself was ok. The room was clean and it was quiet due to its location not being at the center of the town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.5
    Great choice for business
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    bowling which they promote is available only for groups, no chance to just call and book range

    large size hotel with all facilities needed for business travel, and relax after that

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.2
    To short,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not that we didn't like so much, we knew there was no air conditioning, and we did not ask for a fan...but it was warm enough that a fan would have been nice.

    Right down town with parking. Nice old building.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    7.9
    Great hotel. Shame about the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with gym access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    See above.

    Breakfast was excellent... only needed continental as the choice was fab! Great staff, apart from one person who was so atypical of what was otherwise great customer service. A couple of gripes... first, please provide milk in the bedrooms otherwise it's pointless offering a tea/coffee tray. Second, what a shame the bar closes so early... I came back on my first night around 11.30 expecting some busy bar ambience but everyone had gone to bed ( and there was no sign of bar staff... is this normal?) Finally, be warned... yes, it's only 20 minutes walk to the Old Town but it's a walk across a busy bridge with lots of traffic and not a pleasant experience.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.9
    Nice place, short ditance to old city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Spa was closed, roof terrace was closed, restaurant in 9th floor was closed.

    Rooms was spacy,clean and with a nice view. Helpful staff. Close enough to old city. Breakfast was good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    3.3
    The breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with gym access
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very unclean. A next room was without working A/C. Stuff was not pleasant. I do not believe I will choose this hotel again.

    The breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.5
    hotel is not far from Riga old town, and it is in very green...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    on the hotel floor everywhere was pvc floor, and this floor not makes you feel that you stay in Hotel, hotel is too simple, but hotel exterior is nice

    hotel is not far from Riga old town, and it is in very green area

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    6.7
    The attitude by hotel reception was taking all the mood down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    I visited hotel 05.-06.05.2018. I didn`t like reception attitude. Nobody said "Hello". After leaving hotel there was no "goodbye", "have a nice day" or something like this which shows politness or that I´m expected and hotel wants me to come back. Very unpleasant experience.

    Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.9
    The top floor cafe and restaurant and second-top-floor...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with gym access
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The top floor cafe and restaurant and second-top-floor restaurant closed for the season for maintenance, without prior notice. The only available restaurant services were provided through the lobby bar with a much more limited set of menu items to choose from.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    9.6
    The hotel,the location and the breakfast made that our first...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with gym access
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    The hotel,the location and the breakfast made that our first visit to Riga far exceeded our expectations. We will certainly recommended this hotel to any of our friends planing a visit to Riga. Stay in this hotel and walk everywhere. Brilliant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    7.9
    Short and good stay. Would come again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personnel could get better training on treating guests. While checking in, the employee was making faces (expressing “what a stupid question”) when other guest asked about possibility to come late to hotel. I also wanted to have a dinner in the hotel restaurant, so had basically to demand to be noticed and served, seemed like I am invisible. Heard other quests complaints about rude behaviour of bartender.

    The hotel was nice, clean, the breakfast was really good with big variety of food. The moods of the staff in the morning was totally different from the previous night :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    6.3
    There used to be a good restaurant at the top floor,...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with gym access
    • Stayed 1 night

    There used to be a good restaurant at the top floor, although now it is closed, there is no place where to get dinner. Reception bar served some poor food. We were seated there, the entrance door was open, cold weather was going in, nobody was to fix it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    10
    Islande comes as highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing , so far.

    Best hotel I've ever stayed in Riga. Tried several hotels in the centre but, exept shorter walk to amenities they do not even come close to Islande.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.6
    Expectations exceeded - amazing place to stay at when in Riga!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We couldn't have chosen a better hotel to stay in during our vacation in Latvia! The room was well equipped with everything we needed, including comfy beds and a clean, spacious bathroom. One thing I need to specifically highlight is the a-ma-zing breakfast! The variety was impressive, especially regarding the desserts :) I could not have them, but my partner confirmed they were simply perfect! I also appreciate the gluten-free bread made available, it's a nice and welcoming gesture for us with food-related limitations. Overall a great stay!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.6
    Breakfast, view from the window, spa center, location, staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Can only remember the dust that on the table, but this problem is minor and seems to be occasionally

    Breakfast, view from the window, spa center, location, staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.1
    Good value for money if you want only to spend a night, but not for spa facility
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa area is very poor. Jacuzi was totally cold, sauna also cold and steam sauna was way too hot. You had to go to steam sauna to warm up, then you could go to jacuzi. Area itself is small, so in the evening it is way overcrouded.

    Good location, clean and spacy room with very good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    weekend hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All was really good, big spacious room, with perfect view on old Riga over river, free parking, very friendly stuff, small nice spa are, modern gym, rich breakfest indeedwe are returning customers, and will come again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    7.1
    Breakfast is good .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with gym access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no shower cloth for in this hotel

    Breakfast is good . But dinner in the restaurant is not so good. more over there is no shower dress for this hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    8.3
    Gorgeous place, perfectly stituated for what we were after.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room temperature was a little hot and even with the air con on the lowest and the window open it was still very hot in the night and it wasn’t warm outside. This could have been due to us being on the 8th floor and the heat rising through the building. The evening bar staff could have been a little more welcoming as the 2 times we went to the bar they didn’t seem very happy for us to be there and couldn’t wait to get rid of us.

    The breakfast had a great variety of things from porridge, fruits, cereals, cooked breakfast and cold continental meats. The staff were pleasant and very quick at removing empty plates from the table. The view from the room was amazing you could see right over the water to Riga old town. The rooms are a little dated however they have everything you need in them and the beds were comfortable enough. They have a great spa area with a gym, steam, sauna, jacuzzi and cold water plunge pool. Location was great, 10-15 min walk to the town centre and a 2 minute walk to a shopping centre which had a supermarket, coffee shop, restaurant and many other shops.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    5.4
    Is not worth the money
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with gym access
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was terribly old, awful dirty carpet and not clean bathroom

    The location was really good,close to the fair place and with easy reach to the center.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.1
    Location of the hotel was great (a short walk from bus stop)...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with gym access
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room was tired and urgently needs repairs (shower was moldy between tiles, carpet and walls with stains).

    Location of the hotel was great (a short walk from bus stop) and 15 min walk to old town. Our room was on 7th floor and had a great view of the city. Breakfast was tasty and had a great choice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    6.7
    Good
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with gym access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were asking in reception can we go to breakfast if we are late, guy call the stuff from restaurant and told us we can go to drink coffee and maybe we will get something to eat. So we made a coffe and sat down for a while when young guy from restaurant came to us and made us go away telling this is not allowed to come and sit and drink when restaurant is already closed. But in the same time in restaurant were siting other tourist family and eating. (Only one family) and nobody’s let them go. So we went away couse we felt very uncomfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    8.8
    If you're travelling by car - this is the best place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was really happy to stay at the hotel - everything was just right in the description. Free parking, nice cosy rooms, great view, good breakfast. Big shopping mall nearby, nothing to worry about.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    5.8
    Very good breakfast with large selection.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with gym access
    • Stayed 1 night

    I arrived in the evening, but not that late. The bar and restaurant were closed and there was nowhere to eat. I was planning to sit in the lobby bar with a colleague for a chat, but we could not get even a cup of tea. Besides, the lobby was freezing. It was also quite cold in the room. Bathroom could use renovation.

    Very good breakfast with large selection. Nice view to the river from the room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    10
    Top service for this price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Minority:Floor Carpet in the room not sure the others room Coffee machine leave it on after breakfast time ending 11am.

    Excellent Breakfast... Spa and Fitness... Window view Russian channel pack Calm and charming place. Late departure XXXXXXXXX

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with gym access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well... At first this hotel is definitely not 4 or 4.5 star hotel. They had or even have good potential for that but details matter. Room was too hot (outside temperature was -17C). Bathrooms trash can contained something bloody (feminine stuff). Bathroom light was blinking sometimes and ventilator was noisy. SPA was smelly and not clean. Jacuzzi was cold and water extremly dirty (like jelly or wallpapers glue). We brought package with entrance to SPA but it was just closed at the second morning because of technical reasons(?). But we have paid for that! This hotel needs much more better management!

    Breakfast, location and free parking.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.8
    Overall excellent hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bath complex requires expansion, it has the very small size for such a large hotel, and in the men dressing room, most locks at the lockers are broken.

    A great place, everything corresponds to the description.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    6.7
    Good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is already 3rd time we lived in the hotel. Rooms need renovation. And spa zone - as they inviting all guests to use it, they have to guarantee cleanness of this zone.

    Good breakfast. Has car parking for guests.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    8.8
    Room was clean and sound isolation good enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with gym access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not enough electricity sockets, and those present were in inconvinient places for usage. Breakfast could be richer for 4 stars. Also poor choice of jams. Restaurant has no meat to offer for dinner only 1 fish dish. Even no pasta dishes, which are most common even in 3 stars hotels.

    Room was clean and sound isolation good enough. Sauna and gym included into room price. Staff friendly. Coffee during breakfast out of coffee beans, not instant.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    5.4
    Ok, for a short stay, but wouldn’t like to stay there again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was smelly and it was unbearably hot, even with a window open could not get proper sleep.

    Yeast pancakes they serve for breakfast are delicious.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    6.3
    acerage
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is dirty. The walls, and the carpets are disgusting. In turkish bath i hurt my leg with hot steem that started under the bench, it is in not safe.

    The spa is not up to standards, but issues clean towels, which is nice. The view from Finnish bath is interesting. The beds are clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    9.0
    Great place for few nights
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit smelly rooms( moist,moldy) water pressure was bad in shower, sewer didn’t suck

    Gym was good! It’s the first thing a look in a hotel when on business trip! Great sauna!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    6.7
    Cheap & Budget Motel for 1-2 nights for Economy Tourists.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is really a disgrace for such a 4 star hotel. We travelled throughout Latvia and Lithuania and even Poland, stayed in 7 different hotels, and this was BY FAR the worst breakfast. The employees are not rude or unfriendly, but also not particularly friendly, which shows it is a true budget / cheap hotel. The sauna area was overcrowded but worst of all was the lack of service in terms of bringing fresh towels and cleaning up the changing rooms.

    If you are visiting Riga on business or budget tourism travels and need 1-2 nights stay, at an economy price for a decent room / bed, then this is the right place. If you are looking for real comfort, good breakfast and genuinely friendly personal - look elsewhere.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    5.5
    Free parking.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Carpet was dirty in the room. Bathroom needs more cleaning and facelift. Waiter in 9th floor restaurant forgot to bring one food, which was ordered. This hotel is more like 3 star hotel.

    Free parking. Nice view towards the river Daugava and central Riga on the opposite bank of river.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    Terrific location, fantastic view, comfortable rooms and great value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything about this hotel exceeded my expectations. The view over the river in January was spectacular. The breakfast was better than any I'd had in similar hotels, with roast chicken, oatmeal with jam, and so many other hangover-soaking choices I hadn't seen in breakfast buffets previously. The roof terrace was a bit pricey, but the view was incredible. The staff spoke English and Russian very fluently, and the location was a 5 minute taxi drive (which normally cost 5 euro) away from all the sights in the centre. 10/10 would recommend for anyone!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    9.6
    Liked absolutely everything about the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Liked absolutely everything about the hotel. Close to the old town - you just need to cross Vanšu bridge while admiring views of Daugava and old town. Free private parking. Spacious room. Very tasty and plentiful breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Riga Islande Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: