Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Riga Islande Hotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Ķīpsalas iela 2, Riga, LV-1048, Latvia

#46 of 153 hotels in Riga

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 4056 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2018

    6.7
    It was mentioned in the pamplet that childrens playground...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was mentioned in the pamplet that childrens playground was located on the hotel premises but the reception staff knew nothing about it. Also the other restaurants inside the hotel were closed and spa was shut down too which was a bit of a letdown.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2018

    7.5
    Decent Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with gym access
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They advertise breakfast on rooftop and they didn't use it in reality. We went to ask for it and they said that it is closed. Airconditioning not working and breakfast was poor.

    The location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 13, 2018

    7.9
    Staff is very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Corridors are a little bit smelly of smoke. Probably it is a older hotel, where guests used to smoke, but not anymore. So the smell is still a little bit there. But no smell in the room. Also corridors are not very clean - there are old marks on the carpets, but it does not really matter.

    Staff is very friendly. I think, it was exact value for the money we spent. Breakfast was really good and also changed day by day.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2018

    8.8
    Very nice stay in Riga
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our Air Conditioning in the room did not work. The carport was stained worn and needs t be replaced

    The Staff was Exceptional, very friendly, helpful and professional.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    4.2
    You can find a better hotels in Riga than stay in Islande.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Honestly - how this hotel is rated as 4* hotel? Our issues started that hotel parking area was full and after 30 minutes got finally tiny place for a car. So warning - if hotel is full, there isn´t enough parking places :( The room was huge disappointment. Small and smelly - cheap men parfume :( Carped with huge stains and felt like not cleaned enough :( In bathroom - don´t expect individual shower gel/shampoo options. Instead You get cheap liquid hand wash gel. A towel with stains ;( Feels that I stayed I'm in a cheap motel. Breakfast was really-really modest if compare to other 4* hotels. So You can get Your coffee, juice, a bit omlette and porridge but don´t expect variety :( So overal - I don´t recommend this hotel. You can find probably a lot of better options than this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    8.3
    Simple but cozy hotel with good location and reasonable price range
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with gym access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Livingroom's carpet was dirty

    Friendly and forthcoming personnel, good location (you could walk to old town and to the ferries easily, even with children), delicious breakfast which varied every day, convenient parking, food store and food joints nearby

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2018

    9.6
    I can recommend this good hotel to everyone!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    As always in Riga everything was perfect. Very friendly and helpful hotel staff, comfort and clean room, good breakfast and just wonderful Riga oldtown.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Good value for money :) nice staff, environment, clean and pretty big rooms. Very tasty breakfast, breakfast buffet had a big variety of dishes. I would recommend!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2018

    5.8
    A quiet and comfortable stay with great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some facilities were not available during our stay, for example the spa and the bowling place. Especially for the spa closure (due to a renovation) that the hotel announced a few weeks before our arrival, this was a deal killer because we would not have booked this hotel were the spa not available. Unfortunately, the staffs could not do anything to compensate us other than a voucher of welcome drink at the hotel bar. Another thing that surprised me was that on our arrival (1 hr prior to the check-in time), we were told that the room was ready and we could go to the room, WITH an extra charge of €5. It is not about the amount, but this was the first time that I experience a hotel charging its guests for an early check-in. Not sure if it is a common practice in Latvia.

    The breakfast was really great! There was a good varieties of cold and warm dishes, in addition to fruits and juices. On the last day where we had to catch a very early flight, the hotel provided us with a breakfast bag. It was really appreciated! The stay itself was ok. The room was clean and it was quiet due to its location not being at the center of the town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2018

    7.5
    Great choice for business
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    bowling which they promote is available only for groups, no chance to just call and book range

    large size hotel with all facilities needed for business travel, and relax after that

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2018

    9.2
    To short,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not that we didn't like so much, we knew there was no air conditioning, and we did not ask for a fan...but it was warm enough that a fan would have been nice.

    Right down town with parking. Nice old building.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 8, 2018

    7.9
    Great hotel. Shame about the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with gym access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    See above.

    Breakfast was excellent... only needed continental as the choice was fab! Great staff, apart from one person who was so atypical of what was otherwise great customer service. A couple of gripes... first, please provide milk in the bedrooms otherwise it's pointless offering a tea/coffee tray. Second, what a shame the bar closes so early... I came back on my first night around 11.30 expecting some busy bar ambience but everyone had gone to bed ( and there was no sign of bar staff... is this normal?) Finally, be warned... yes, it's only 20 minutes walk to the Old Town but it's a walk across a busy bridge with lots of traffic and not a pleasant experience.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2018

    7.9
    Nice place, short ditance to old city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Spa was closed, roof terrace was closed, restaurant in 9th floor was closed.

    Rooms was spacy,clean and with a nice view. Helpful staff. Close enough to old city. Breakfast was good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 17, 2018

    3.3
    The breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room with gym access
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very unclean. A next room was without working A/C. Stuff was not pleasant. I do not believe I will choose this hotel again.

    The breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    7.5
    hotel is not far from Riga old town, and it is in very green...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    on the hotel floor everywhere was pvc floor, and this floor not makes you feel that you stay in Hotel, hotel is too simple, but hotel exterior is nice

    hotel is not far from Riga old town, and it is in very green area

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    6.7
    The attitude by hotel reception was taking all the mood down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    I visited hotel 05.-06.05.2018. I didn`t like reception attitude. Nobody said "Hello". After leaving hotel there was no "goodbye", "have a nice day" or something like this which shows politness or that I´m expected and hotel wants me to come back. Very unpleasant experience.

    Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    7.9
    The top floor cafe and restaurant and second-top-floor...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with gym access
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The top floor cafe and restaurant and second-top-floor restaurant closed for the season for maintenance, without prior notice. The only available restaurant services were provided through the lobby bar with a much more limited set of menu items to choose from.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 21, 2018

    9.6
    The hotel,the location and the breakfast made that our first...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with gym access
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    The hotel,the location and the breakfast made that our first visit to Riga far exceeded our expectations. We will certainly recommended this hotel to any of our friends planing a visit to Riga. Stay in this hotel and walk everywhere. Brilliant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 19, 2018

    7.9
    Short and good stay. Would come again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Personnel could get better training on treating guests. While checking in, the employee was making faces (expressing “what a stupid question”) when other guest asked about possibility to come late to hotel. I also wanted to have a dinner in the hotel restaurant, so had basically to demand to be noticed and served, seemed like I am invisible. Heard other quests complaints about rude behaviour of bartender.

    The hotel was nice, clean, the breakfast was really good with big variety of food. The moods of the staff in the morning was totally different from the previous night :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2018

    6.3
    There used to be a good restaurant at the top floor,...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with gym access
    • Stayed 1 night

    There used to be a good restaurant at the top floor, although now it is closed, there is no place where to get dinner. Reception bar served some poor food. We were seated there, the entrance door was open, cold weather was going in, nobody was to fix it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 10, 2018

    10
    Islande comes as highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing , so far.

    Best hotel I've ever stayed in Riga. Tried several hotels in the centre but, exept shorter walk to amenities they do not even come close to Islande.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2018

    9.6
    Expectations exceeded - amazing place to stay at when in Riga!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We couldn't have chosen a better hotel to stay in during our vacation in Latvia! The room was well equipped with everything we needed, including comfy beds and a clean, spacious bathroom. One thing I need to specifically highlight is the a-ma-zing breakfast! The variety was impressive, especially regarding the desserts :) I could not have them, but my partner confirmed they were simply perfect! I also appreciate the gluten-free bread made available, it's a nice and welcoming gesture for us with food-related limitations. Overall a great stay!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 3, 2018

    9.6
    Breakfast, view from the window, spa center, location, staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Can only remember the dust that on the table, but this problem is minor and seems to be occasionally

    Breakfast, view from the window, spa center, location, staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 2, 2018

    7.1
    Good value for money if you want only to spend a night, but not for spa facility
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Spa area is very poor. Jacuzi was totally cold, sauna also cold and steam sauna was way too hot. You had to go to steam sauna to warm up, then you could go to jacuzi. Area itself is small, so in the evening it is way overcrouded.

    Good location, clean and spacy room with very good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2018

    10
    weekend hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All was really good, big spacious room, with perfect view on old Riga over river, free parking, very friendly stuff, small nice spa are, modern gym, rich breakfest indeedwe are returning customers, and will come again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 31, 2018

    7.1
    Breakfast is good .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with gym access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no shower cloth for in this hotel

    Breakfast is good . But dinner in the restaurant is not so good. more over there is no shower dress for this hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2018

    8.3
    Gorgeous place, perfectly stituated for what we were after.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room temperature was a little hot and even with the air con on the lowest and the window open it was still very hot in the night and it wasn’t warm outside. This could have been due to us being on the 8th floor and the heat rising through the building. The evening bar staff could have been a little more welcoming as the 2 times we went to the bar they didn’t seem very happy for us to be there and couldn’t wait to get rid of us.

    The breakfast had a great variety of things from porridge, fruits, cereals, cooked breakfast and cold continental meats. The staff were pleasant and very quick at removing empty plates from the table. The view from the room was amazing you could see right over the water to Riga old town. The rooms are a little dated however they have everything you need in them and the beds were comfortable enough. They have a great spa area with a gym, steam, sauna, jacuzzi and cold water plunge pool. Location was great, 10-15 min walk to the town centre and a 2 minute walk to a shopping centre which had a supermarket, coffee shop, restaurant and many other shops.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 13, 2018

    5.4
    Is not worth the money
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with gym access
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was terribly old, awful dirty carpet and not clean bathroom

    The location was really good,close to the fair place and with easy reach to the center.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 12, 2018

    7.1
    Location of the hotel was great (a short walk from bus stop)...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with gym access
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room was tired and urgently needs repairs (shower was moldy between tiles, carpet and walls with stains).

    Location of the hotel was great (a short walk from bus stop) and 15 min walk to old town. Our room was on 7th floor and had a great view of the city. Breakfast was tasty and had a great choice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 4, 2018

    6.7
    Good
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with gym access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were asking in reception can we go to breakfast if we are late, guy call the stuff from restaurant and told us we can go to drink coffee and maybe we will get something to eat. So we made a coffe and sat down for a while when young guy from restaurant came to us and made us go away telling this is not allowed to come and sit and drink when restaurant is already closed. But in the same time in restaurant were siting other tourist family and eating. (Only one family) and nobody’s let them go. So we went away couse we felt very uncomfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 3, 2018

    8.8
    If you're travelling by car - this is the best place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was really happy to stay at the hotel - everything was just right in the description. Free parking, nice cosy rooms, great view, good breakfast. Big shopping mall nearby, nothing to worry about.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 1, 2018

    5.8
    Very good breakfast with large selection.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room with gym access
    • Stayed 1 night

    I arrived in the evening, but not that late. The bar and restaurant were closed and there was nowhere to eat. I was planning to sit in the lobby bar with a colleague for a chat, but we could not get even a cup of tea. Besides, the lobby was freezing. It was also quite cold in the room. Bathroom could use renovation.

    Very good breakfast with large selection. Nice view to the river from the room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 27, 2018

    10
    Top service for this price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Minority:Floor Carpet in the room not sure the others room Coffee machine leave it on after breakfast time ending 11am.

    Excellent Breakfast... Spa and Fitness... Window view Russian channel pack Calm and charming place. Late departure XXXXXXXXX

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with gym access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Well... At first this hotel is definitely not 4 or 4.5 star hotel. They had or even have good potential for that but details matter. Room was too hot (outside temperature was -17C). Bathrooms trash can contained something bloody (feminine stuff). Bathroom light was blinking sometimes and ventilator was noisy. SPA was smelly and not clean. Jacuzzi was cold and water extremly dirty (like jelly or wallpapers glue). We brought package with entrance to SPA but it was just closed at the second morning because of technical reasons(?). But we have paid for that! This hotel needs much more better management!

    Breakfast, location and free parking.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2018

    8.8
    Overall excellent hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bath complex requires expansion, it has the very small size for such a large hotel, and in the men dressing room, most locks at the lockers are broken.

    A great place, everything corresponds to the description.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2018

    6.7
    Good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is already 3rd time we lived in the hotel. Rooms need renovation. And spa zone - as they inviting all guests to use it, they have to guarantee cleanness of this zone.

    Good breakfast. Has car parking for guests.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 15, 2018

    8.8
    Room was clean and sound isolation good enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room with gym access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not enough electricity sockets, and those present were in inconvinient places for usage. Breakfast could be richer for 4 stars. Also poor choice of jams. Restaurant has no meat to offer for dinner only 1 fish dish. Even no pasta dishes, which are most common even in 3 stars hotels.

    Room was clean and sound isolation good enough. Sauna and gym included into room price. Staff friendly. Coffee during breakfast out of coffee beans, not instant.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2018

    5.4
    Ok, for a short stay, but wouldn’t like to stay there again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was smelly and it was unbearably hot, even with a window open could not get proper sleep.

    Yeast pancakes they serve for breakfast are delicious.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2018

    6.3
    acerage
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It is dirty. The walls, and the carpets are disgusting. In turkish bath i hurt my leg with hot steem that started under the bench, it is in not safe.

    The spa is not up to standards, but issues clean towels, which is nice. The view from Finnish bath is interesting. The beds are clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: February 8, 2018

    9.0
    Great place for few nights
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A little bit smelly rooms( moist,moldy) water pressure was bad in shower, sewer didn’t suck

    Gym was good! It’s the first thing a look in a hotel when on business trip! Great sauna!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 5, 2018

    6.7
    Cheap & Budget Motel for 1-2 nights for Economy Tourists.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is really a disgrace for such a 4 star hotel. We travelled throughout Latvia and Lithuania and even Poland, stayed in 7 different hotels, and this was BY FAR the worst breakfast. The employees are not rude or unfriendly, but also not particularly friendly, which shows it is a true budget / cheap hotel. The sauna area was overcrowded but worst of all was the lack of service in terms of bringing fresh towels and cleaning up the changing rooms.

    If you are visiting Riga on business or budget tourism travels and need 1-2 nights stay, at an economy price for a decent room / bed, then this is the right place. If you are looking for real comfort, good breakfast and genuinely friendly personal - look elsewhere.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 31, 2018

    5.5
    Free parking.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Carpet was dirty in the room. Bathroom needs more cleaning and facelift. Waiter in 9th floor restaurant forgot to bring one food, which was ordered. This hotel is more like 3 star hotel.

    Free parking. Nice view towards the river Daugava and central Riga on the opposite bank of river.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 29, 2018

    10
    Terrific location, fantastic view, comfortable rooms and great value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything about this hotel exceeded my expectations. The view over the river in January was spectacular. The breakfast was better than any I'd had in similar hotels, with roast chicken, oatmeal with jam, and so many other hangover-soaking choices I hadn't seen in breakfast buffets previously. The roof terrace was a bit pricey, but the view was incredible. The staff spoke English and Russian very fluently, and the location was a 5 minute taxi drive (which normally cost 5 euro) away from all the sights in the centre. 10/10 would recommend for anyone!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 24, 2018

    9.6
    Liked absolutely everything about the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Liked absolutely everything about the hotel. Close to the old town - you just need to cross Vanšu bridge while admiring views of Daugava and old town. Free private parking. Spacious room. Very tasty and plentiful breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 20, 2018

    8.8
    Riga - hanzeatic fabulous city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 5 nights

    My hotel rooms requires some renewal, because of large stains visible on the floor carpet and dirty walls as well, and otherwise insufficiant number of clothes hangers in the wardrobe.

    Superb location in the river island near public transport stops, rich and tasty breakfasts, possibility of own electronic heating control, the radiator in the bathroom used as the towel hanger, electric kettle with tea and coffee bags and also the large car parking with no additional payment.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 11, 2018

    8.8
    Nice view. Friendly staff. Good choice for breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We want to use Spa in the evening but water in Jacuzzi was cold. After reporting the problem to the hotel reception they were not able to fix it on that night.

    Nice view. Good choice for breakfast. Friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2018

    9.2
    Spa and gym facilities were excellent for a hotel,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Spa and gym facilities were excellent for a hotel, especially considering they were included in the room price. There was also a wide range of breakfast foods served at the buffet which was really enjoyable

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2018

    6.7
    Doesn't match 4****
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with gym access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bath robes at 7 euros each!!! No clean towels after spa-zone!!! Dirty-grey curtains in the room, which haven't been washed for years!!!

    Good breakfast but very little fish on offer. Clean standard double room but very basic. Free parking is an advantage.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2017

    7.1
    Room was ok, liked small spa area and gym was very well...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with gym access
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were no toiletries in the room, did not expect to pack my own shampoo and conditioner to a 4 star hotel. As there was a little spa area, slippers would have been nice in the room. Overall impression was a little worn out.

    Room was ok, liked small spa area and gym was very well equipped. Breakfast was great with wide selection.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 8, 2017

    7.1
    location (10 min to city centre, 2 min to shopping centre)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    staff could be more friendly & helpful the bathroom was clean but the sink was stinky

    location (10 min to city centre, 2 min to shopping centre) room was warm enough (outside, it was freezing) for a hotel, surprisingly good sleep!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2017

    7.9
    Good choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    SPA area should be more cleaner, disgusting smell in women's showers was really nasty..

    Good location, clean room, near supermarket, free parking, very good breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 2, 2017

    9.6
    Nice hotel with excellent value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is not at the center of the city, but it takes just 10-15 minutes walking to enter the center.

    Nice, clean, spacious room. Very good, rich breakfast. Very polite and helpful staff. Good wifi. Near shopping mall (3 minutes walking distance). Perfect location, if you visit certain University buildings (e.g. Library). I had a very early flight and they provided me for free while leaving with a bag containing my breakfast!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 29, 2017

    7.9
    Good choice for economicial short stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cleanliness: very dirty carpet in the room (a lot of old stains), old soap liquid under soap dispenser for all time - the floor in the bathroom isn't cleaned? Breakfast: stale bread rolls! For two days, from plastic bag... Wardrobe: almost no shelves, not closed, near room door - very uncomfortable

    A lot of space in the room. Close to the center. Very nice view to the river side (bridge). Good ratio price/comfort. Shopping mall in the neighbourhood (food court, shopping).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2017

    6.3
    1. Location: just over a bridge to old town, rimi and chilly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with gym access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Double is not true double, just two separate beads aligned together. Everything in the hotel is acceptable, but don't expect anything ever close to 4* service.

    1. Location: just over a bridge to old town, rimi and chilly pizza next door. 2. Good and secure parking, free for hotel guests.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2017

    6.7
    Attending conference which was in the same hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room with gym access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is a bit outdated. My room had stains on the carpet everywhere. There are some parts which should be replaced in bathroom. Second is that there is no noise cancellation between floors. You can hear everything what people upstairs are doing. Also you hear all what is going on in hallways. I had bad experience with some people partying during the night and I had to call twice reception to send guard. Overall I thought hotel would be better. Pictures are a bit false.

    Staff was helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2017

    6.7
    The recepcionist were arrogant and unpolite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with gym access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The recepcionist were arrogant and unpolite. Upon arrival, at around 12.30hrs, they forced us to pay in advance only to tell us we could not get to our rooms until 14.00hrs, as per check-in policy: After a short discussion they suggested to cancel both our payments and the reservation, letting us stranded without accommodation. We were forced to wait over half an hour in the lobby with our luggage until we begged again for our rooms and the receptionist eventually allowed us to access the rooms. Inevitably this first negative impression influenced our experience in the hotel and in Riga as a whole.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2017

    8.8
    Nice 4-star hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I think breakfast is a little bit boring. I was staying 4 nights and food was the same, often overcooked warm food.

    Good standard 4-star hotel with great view to the Old Riga. The room is very comfortable, clean (not perfect) and spacious. Good value for money!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2017

    10
    Nice place, with nice staff.
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice place, with nice staff. I was pleasantly surprised to see them coming to every table at 11H when breakfast officially finishes (yeah, for some people it is never late enough to have an "early" bite) saying they were going to remove the food plates and therefore giving us the last call to take some more. Thoughtful and considerate (as a contrast to us, guests), all the rest also good and professional, thank you.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2017

    8.3
    Not a bad hotel for a short stay, free parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was definitely not 4,5 stars, as the hotel claims, I would give it a solid 3. It is not bad, just not 4,5. Also the fact they have light-colored carpets, means they will have a lot of visible stains. Walking to the center takes a good 15 minutes.

    The hotel had parking, the room was nice, the staff also nice. The breakfast was really good, not only the usual scrambled eggs / baked beans warm dishes, but also fried fish. Also a big number of salads. Did not try the sauna / fitness center, nor the restaurant. Tea and coffee in the room were a nice touch.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2017

    9.6
    The staff were extremely nice and friendly, and very...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A very strong suggestion: the fitted carpet flooring in my room was rather dirty and worn out; it really should be changed as soon as possible. The shower-cabin drain was blocked, and the tap in the hand basin was both rather too short for the basin and also very stiff; if these two issues were resolved, the room would be perfect.

    The staff were extremely nice and friendly, and very professional. It was a great pleasure to meet these young people.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2017

    8.3
    Good place to stay, I will come back!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I found hotel restaurant at the top floor pretty average. It was OK but quite pricy. In the evening I was the only guest there so doesn't seem to be popular. Also very weak water pressure in the shower. Quite annoying!

    Great location, close to the city centre, just on the other side of the river. Safe and quiet surroundings, Easy to find, easy to drive to. Free parking with lots of space. Gym available for guests. In general good value for money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2017

    7.1
    Rude staff, but hotel is ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with gym access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reception staff extreme rude, i was "kidnapped" and blocked leaving the parking place because they claimed i did not pay the mini bar completely ( 2 Euro difference)

    Sauna on the 9th floor with lovely views over the city

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2017

    8.8
    The view to the river was amasing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with gym access
    • Stayed 1 night

    The carpet which is covering the whole room floor was already old and bit dirty...but not a big issue.

    The view to the river was amasing...Room was big and really comfortable. Stuff is friendly and helpful. Breakfast was rich and tasty.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2017

    9.2
    Nice stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with gym access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Whater in the wirlpool could be a little bit warmer...

    A very friendly and very helpfull staff, especially miss Victoria at the reception. Thank You All very much!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2017

    9.2
    I will make a booking there again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Carpets need washing.

    Near the old city (approx. 15 minutes walking). Close to a big supermarket. In green and quiet area. Easy access to the airport by car and by direct public transport (approx. 10 minutes walking to the bus stop). Excellent breakfast (variety of fresh and delicious food). Perfect and professional restaurant staff. Perfect Wi-Fi. Comfortable bed and pillows.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2017

    8.8
    Very nice stay with poor WiFi
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room with gym access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Internet connection is not very good The beddings looks little too shabby for 5 star hotel Bath rope only available for an extra charge despite having a spa in the hotel

    Everything was really good. Such a beautiful view from my room of the city

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2017

    7.9
    Nice enough and I would stay again - good hotel overall.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pillow was poor and flat. The shower went from very cold to nearly burning my nuts without me doing anything- something I complained about as I left.

    Food was great.amwnities were good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2017

    9.6
    Nice hotel, just across the river from old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room with gym access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    My initial expectations were low, as reported by other reviewers there were numerous unsightly carpet stains In the corridor and room (I was told the hotel will renew the carpets next season - let’s hope it’s a darker colour which hides stains better). I wasn’t originally offered room upgrade when asking at 1230 before the enforced 2pm check-in time (or maybe Sir would like to check in earlier ? for just 10 EUR extra per night...). No thanks. I decided to buy a 3 EUR coffee at the bar and wait 90mins or so until the 1400 check-in time instead. Hotel was quiet during midweek low season, so early check-in shouldn’t have been a problem. Maybe at busy times the presence of large tour groups requires this, but the initial lack of flexibility seemed a little unwelcoming as a first impression. Overall for 55 EUR this is a decent hotel and all things considered, I would happily stay again if I return to Riga.

    Enjoyed my stay at this nice hotel situated a brisk 10-15 min walk from Old town - or a 6 EUR taxi if raining or late at night - also there’s a useful large shopping centre (with low priced cafes) next door. On arrrival into RIX the prearranged transfer taxi driver from the hotel website did not meet me (also happened to me at Moscow SVO), I was lucky to get the fare validated for another taxi driver who took me the short distance (10 mins) to the hotel. I was kindly offered upgrade to a river view room, I was grateful for this, the river and city view was great. First impression was the size of the room, as large as my entire flat back in the UK. Importantly, the room was clean and well presented with complimentary bathrobe and slippers, bottled sparkling and still water, kettle, tea and coffee. Really liked the 9th floor restaurant and spa, amazed that I could use a sauna on the 9th floor ... with windows ! Helpful receptionist kindly called a local museum for me to check I could leave my baggage in their office during a quick tour before my flight home. Buffet breakfast was good. I would stay again and happy to recommend (just don’t look at the carpets !)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2017

    6.3
    Ok but I expected more
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel a little way from the center of the if you want to walk. We upgraded to get a double bed (we accidentally booked twin rooms and they said there were one available) but they put us in a room with a connecting door which meant we could hear our neighbors talking at night when we were trying to sleep and we woke them up when we were packing up at 4am. I would expect more form an upgrade.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 4, 2017

    9.6
    An exvellent hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The air conditioner in the room wasn't very efficient.

    This hotel is situated next to the Daugava river and very close to the Old Town (opposite bank). It was possible to walk into the old town in 10 minutes by crossing the nearby bridge. The reception staff can order you a taxi if you don't want to walk. The hotel has very easy access to the airport too. Overall the service here is very good and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The shower in the room was excellent with good water pressure. The breakfasts are fantastic, definitely worth having. A good way to start your day.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2017

    10
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I haven’t noticed any negatives. I would happily recommend this hotel.

    The hotel had everything we needed: air conditioning, free parking, great breakfast and an well equipped bathroom. Good value for money.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2017

    5.0
    Absolutely not recommendable if you are travelling by car!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Someone broke into our car in the hotel parking lot. Despite cameras and a guard. The completely searched our car - so they must have been there for a while. Unnoticed by security!! When we reported this to the reception there was no word of sorrow. They just called the police and left us alone with everything. As we already checked out before we noticed the break-in, they left us sitting at the reception area. Not asking if they can help with anything. There was also no insurance from the hotel for a situation like this. So we have a very high financial damage as the took almost everything and the car is damaged as well. Absolutely not recommend to stay at this hotel if travelling by car!! Don't think your car is safe at this hotel! Don't think you will get any help - they gave us the feeling like it was our fault. When the police arrived they discovered that the car next to ours was also broken-up.

    Breakfast was good, the room was nice and clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2017

    6.7
    Some stuff needs seriously attention
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fridge was not working TV wa not working Hot water was red corrosion colour. So could not use the bath tub. Sauna was too hot and it could not be used. steam room again was too hot and it could not be regulated. I did not like the breakfast. Big variaty but cheap quality food

    Nice spa Nice gym Polite staff - gave us a city map of the riga Good security . i lost the phone and immediatly it was return. Too floor restaurant was awesome but a bit pricey! Restaurant gave a basket of ice due to the fact the fridge was not working

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 9, 2017

    6.3
    Plenty free car parking.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff during check in.. Because of them i will not stay again there... Breakfast also not a big deal

    Plenty free car parking.. Speedy internet.. Spacious rooms.. Cleanliness.. City view.. Price value

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 6, 2017

    9.6
    They gave me a superior room with the best view because it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Gym Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The water in jacuzi was a bit cold.

    They gave me a superior room with the best view because it was my birthday. I was so happy. Also, the breakfast was incredible!

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Riga Islande Hotel Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: