Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Jaunmoku Palace Hotel 3 stars

Jaunmoku pils, Tumes pag., Tukuma nov., Tume, LV-3139, Latvia

#1 of 1 hotels in Tume

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 149 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 21

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has rooms in the main building (they call it palace) and in the former stables (which they call "manor"). We had booked a suite in the main building. The receptionist kindly walked us to our room, which, as she explained, is usually for the newly wed couples who celebrate their wedding at the manor. Wooo, we had high expectations. Disappointment began when we were walked to the basement (!), starting to notice the smells of strong cleaning detergents mixed with basement mold, a smell which also extended to the room. The room, maybe 20 square metres, was certainly not anything like a suite. It was just a room with a double bed and two chairs. No fridge, no mini bar. If you're taller than 190cm, you will have a problem in the bed due to its size. We spent a little bit of time chasing the spiders, then decided to go for dinner/drinks to the manor restaurant (also in the basement). At 18:50h we were told that we couldn't stay because they were about to close (on a Sunday at 19:00h). Instead, we checked tripadvisor and ended up in a lovely, stylish restaurant called "Terase" about 10km up the road in a village called "Pure". Food was great. I strongly recommend that restaurant. In the evening, we were hoping to use the sauna in the manor, but we were told it's out of order. Next morning, breakfast in the manor was also a disappointment. Very, very basic. Nothing sweet, no jam, no honey, just cold cuts, two types of cheese and fried eggs. Summary: The manor hotel is not well managed The suite is not a suite Service was "ok" Stay clear of the spiders At EUR 125 clearly overpriced If you specifically want to stay in an old manor house, choose Kuksu Muiza or Rumene instead, which both are truly classy and not far from Jaunmokas.

    Beautiful turn of the century manor house, surrounded by a nice garden. First impression: quite atmospheric. Reception is at the same time the cashier desk and souvenir shop of the manor museum; reception service was friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved the peaceful, rural setting, the beautiful grounds and gardens. We were invited to walk through the palace rooms (open to public, not privately occupied) and climb to the tower. The restaurant dinner was excellent. Accommodation is in the Manor House which was originally stables. The rooms are basic but comfortable

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In serious need of updating the room was tired and lacked a kettle but had a tape player and old fashions box TV. Breakfast was basic and restaurant closes at 7.

    The best aspect was being close to the hunting palace. Very clean and had wifi.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and nice personal. Beautiful place.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom

    Surrounding park

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Park, castle, lake, flowers

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very beautiful place to stay, lovely garden to sit and watch the sun go down

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    lovely breakfast made just for me ;) The room with lowest "price of the day" had very basic equipment, but still clean

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Peaceful and beautiful location, comfortable bed, perfect breakfast in boutique restaurant and the best hospitality from staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower, bed could be wider

    Place, castle, breakfast coffee

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was excellent! Staff is very friendly.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Travellers Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Price/service ratio

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv and hairdryer didn't work

    Surroundings were nice. Place was interesting

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No kettle in the room, no availability to ask for it in reception, they simply don't have it! Breakfast fried eggs and 4 frankfurters!!! No one asked do I eat meat (I don't) as well as fried eggs :(

    Nice bed,mattress, duvet. good sized room. Cheese plate and vegetables at breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The availability of coffee and tea facilities would have been nice.

    Location, room and the historic link to our county, Yorkshire with George Armistead.

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    A very beautiful and quiet place. Great historical surroundings. Very nice and friendly staff. Interesting museum for grown ups and children. Felt very much at home on the whole. Will definitely come back!

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Little bit 'jouthhostel-like' Restaurant open till 18:00 only, but kept open for us as we arrived on bicycles... (we arrived at 18:15) Breakfast

    Nice park, castle and museum.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    That our accommodation was not in the castle. That the room didn't have big normal windows. That we had 4 people but 2 bed sets. That everything in the room looked like the hotel does not have a dedicated manager.

    As we were probably the only guests, staff at our breakfast time was very dedicated - thank you! And coffee was the best we had in Latvia! Children liked the museum in the castle.

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The shower room was uncomfortable. The breakfast was sufficient, but there was not any choice.

    Beautiful castle and amazing park

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    beautiful place

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    breakfast was only served from nine onwards.

    Its location by the lake was stunning; our room was beautifully appointed; staff were helpful.

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 21

Guests also reviewed these properties: