Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Jaunpils Castle

Pils, Jaunpils, Tukuma nov., Jaunpils, LV-3145, Latvia

#1 of 1 hotels in Jaunpils

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 84 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 20

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.3
    For history lovers!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom flooded quite badly but I'm certain it was fixed after we informed the staff at the Krodziņš.

    The castle is truly amazing. It is not polished and perfectly renovated and this is why it has retained a unique aura. It is a living castle. The White Room was comfortable and we had the whole wing to ourselves which meant that the lack of an en-suite bathroom wasn't a problem.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    The charm of the building cannot be portrayed in a photograph.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The historical atmosphere is complimented by 2018 customer service. The staff are prepared to go the extra mile. Food and drink is reasonably priced, well cooked and beautifully presented.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    9.2
    The location was exceptional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A small detail but the excellent would have been even more so if it had been possible to enjoy a cappuccino as there is such a machine but staff have not been trained(yet? (-: ).

    The location was exceptional. The lake and the surrounding scenery plus the sense of the living past of the castle made our visit wonderfully memorable. The setting of the restaurant was unique and the staff were helpful, friendly and had a fantastic sense of humour. The food was tastefully prepared and pleasantly presented. We were delighted to see bikes available free to use for resident guests. We were impressed too by the range of guided tours and the background stories of the personalities and the circumstances of the castle over its 700 years.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.1
    - Medieval styled restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Had to look for check-in (hint - it is done through the restaurant) - Not really run like a hotel, more of a historical site with ability to stay overnight - Room too dark - Expected more for the price

    - Medieval styled restaurant

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    7.5
    Genuine and rustic with lovely food.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The floor was very dirty under the bed. We had made a special reservation for our dogs, but the staff were very surprised when we brought the dogs, not that is seemed to be a problem, but they seemed uneasy about it. When we went to eat on the last night the tavern was fully booked by external guests. The hotel fixed us a table, but we had to wait for it, even though we were staying as guests at the hotel.

    Genuine and lovely atmosphere and very nice staff in the tavern and museum. We brought our dogs, which worked out fine. Nice tavern with lovely food.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    10
    A tremendous deal, to stay in a literal castle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was so wonderful that we have few complaints ourselves, but some things others should be aware of: - The bathrooms are shared ones in the hallway, but the door locks, and we never had to wait, so they felt private enough. Your mileage may vary. - Because it's a literal castle (stone walls, and so on), the WIFI coverage in the rooms was a little weak. Given everything else, it seemed like a very "first world problem" to complain about that, especially when we could sit on a nice chair in the hallway and the WIFI there was reliable and fast. I suppose if someone wanted to watch Netflix in bed, this would bother them.

    The value for money was exceptional (50€ for a huge room, in a literal castle?). It was the least expensive stay on our whole trip, and easily one of the most luxurious. Anywhere else, that price *might* get you a private room in a disappointing hostel. The room itself was really nice, with wood fireplace, giant canopy bed, bathrobes, slippers, stereo, beautiful view out the window. The castle grounds themselves were also beautiful and immaculately maintained. And the breakfast was pretty good as well.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    3.3
    I was escorted to my room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was escorted to my room. No staff member explained anything about the castle. It was just expected me to sleep overnight and leave. I was not told that I would be charge for shuttle but I paid anyway. Email communication proir to visit was gave me very little information. I felt like I was staying in a ghost town. No brochures or any discussion to help me understand more about my stay. I will not suggest this place.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    5.0
    If you must.....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We booked 2 nights in a comfort room (ensuite with 4-poster bed and fireplace) weeks in advance. The management had our contact details and could have contacted us at any point to let us know that there was a "problem" with the booking. They chose not to. When we arrived, we were told that there was a problem (Booking.com's fault - allegedly......) and that we could only have our room on the second night. We suspect that the "problem" was that the manager decided to favour 2 couples who were obviously wanting the full medieval experience with silly costumes etc. which necessitated using both comfort rooms. The food is very good and well presented but do bear in mind that the restaurant closes at 8PM on the dot and if you haven't ordered dessert or coffee by 7:59, it's too late. During our stay we were offered 10% rebate on our first night's dinner as compensation for the foul-up (woo-hoo - 3/4 euros - how very generous seeing as you completely soured our experience and we never received it anyway) and nobody from management made the slightest attempt to seek us out to apologise personally. This could be a great venue if some professional management takes it over.

    It's a castle.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    9.6
    The castle atmosphere was wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was difficult to find the reception area & it was a long walk with suitcase from car park over cobblestones.

    The castle atmosphere was wonderful. We had booked a room with shared bathroom but ended up having it to ourselves. I would definitely recommend taking the time to visit Jaunpils & stay at castle if possible.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    8.3
    - medieval atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - reception/hotel closes at 20h00 - kitchen closes at 20h00 - hotel policies on booking.com voucher does not mention this early closing at 20h00

    - medieval atmosphere

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Excelent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff. Best room is realy best. Breakfest was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    10
    Fantastic staff, always very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic staff, always very helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    10
    Fantastic staff, always very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Fantastic staff, always very helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    10
    Very special
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very special

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    10
    Amazing castle, great staff, had a great time
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - awesome place

    Great staff, very friendly. Dinner in the restaurant was awesome and well priced. Will visit again soon (I hope)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    10
    We booked the suite and it was amazing, big lovely bed,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    We booked the suite and it was amazing, big lovely bed, firewood in the fireplace nicely prepared so we just had to light it, hearty breakfast and a really medieval feeling

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    10
    We really liked the ambiance of this restored castle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room lighting could be brighter.

    We really liked the ambiance of this restored castle. Our room was huge, with a baronial bed and a working fireplace. The restaurant was an unexpected bonus: we tried it the first night and liked it so much that we ate there every night of our stay. Traditional, hearty Latvian-Baltic cuisine, fresh vegetables & salads, all made to order and reasonably priced. The location was perfect for us, and would be really nice for a weekend getaway.

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2015

    9.6
    Just the experience of staying in a real castle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    That the castle was closed the following day, so we weren't able to see through the rest of the castle.

    Just the experience of staying in a real castle. We were the only ones in it. We were told that we could light the fire. It was all set and ready to go. We did and it created a lovely atmosphere in the huge room. Magnificent 4 poster bed. As it was a holiday next day the restaurant wasn't open, but Kristin gave us a massive amount of food for the evening and for breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    10
    A good mix of an authentic experience without compromising...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A good mix of an authentic experience without compromising comfort. Don't miss the museum and investigate the stairs to the room above and below.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    9.2
    The experience to sleep a night in a castle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The experience to sleep a night in a castle...

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 20

Browse Jaunpils Castle traveller photo gallery