Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Jelgava 4 stars

Lielā iela 6, Jelgava, LV-3001, Latvia

#4 of 13 hotels in Jelgava

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 468 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Honeymoon Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    To my experience this hotel is very far away from the 4 star standard level. Additionally could be mentioned, that staff forgot to make wake-up call; in the bathroom there was terrible smell of sewerage (possibly because of long time not used system) and there was not enough ventilation; in the main room there was to low brightness of the lightening. Too short time of the hotel restaurant working time in week-days and not easy to find where to eat if you arrive after 21 o’clock.

    Good location. Enough free parking spaces.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately the food wasn't as good in the restaurant as we expected it to be.

    Liked having a kettle in the room as most of the hotels we stayed in in the Baltics didn't have one. Liked the atmosphere in the Plate bar/restaurant and the children's play area looked fantastic if you had young kids with you. Enjoyed the sauna but unfortunately the steam room wasn't working, and had a good massage with the hotel masseuse.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Way overpriced for room size and type of three star hotel. Bath was dirty, had to clean it myself before using. Dust all over the place, except for floor. Receptionist didnt ask about my knowledge of city, no recommendations, no offers for taxi service. Even considering that I left at very early morning.

    Friendly and smily stuff. Great location. Receptionists were polite. Hotel looks great, there are many facilities and a bar/restaurant also sauna etc. Check in and out process was fast and easy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    no negative comments for this hotel at all. best we have visited in Latvia

    very friendly staff, beautiful clean room, bathroom and public areas. nice restaurant with tasty and good amount of food. great time here.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little hotel facilities, a small room set aside for a gym would have made a world of difference. The hotel advertises a sauna but I don’t think it’s ever switched on and with no pool or hot tub I would want to use a sauna. Some of the receptionist staff did struggle a little with English but generally you could communicate with them. The bar food menu is a little disappointing. On the first night I order a chicken ceasar salad and I could eat it because it was saturated in mayonnaise. I don’t even like mayonnaise. I would suggest the bar menu be extending to include more European foods like pizza, pasta, hamburgers and maybe even fish and chips. Wasted potential in what is possibly the best venue for miles around. The bar staff should smile more. I know that Latvians hate fake behaviour. Thanks to the USA influence most of us prefer friendly behaviour however fake it is. However the staff were always open to conversation and come across professional and considerate. Well done in this respect.

    Good sized room, excellent parking, location and onsite bar.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Honeymoon Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid for the largest room they have (the honeymoon room), in the photos the room appeared to have a separate shower to the bath my room didn't and no shower curtain round the bath. also my room meant to have a Jacuzzi bath and didn't. On the site it said there was only one room left in the hotel, this hotel was not even close to being full!

    Large room, clean, quiet, comfy bed,

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Ok, I know some people apparently would never dream of using one themselves, but for me it's something I would expect to find in every bathroom: the humble toilet brush! Please put one in! The other window in the room was towards a busy road crossing and the sound of traffic was a constant. Keeping the windows closed did muffle it enough though. And the river view of the first window did make up for it!

    The room was spacious, well furnished, well lit with windows in two directions, and I enjoyed the view of the lovely river. The bed was hard which is something I appreciate but others don't. The breakfast buffet had the standard spread, nothing more, nothing less, and the staff did a good job keeping it fresh and stocked. After breakfast hours the in-house restaurant had very good à la carte food and just like the hotel some of the staff were really great, service-minded and kind. The location of the hotel is truly excellent, with the magnificent baroque palace just on the other side of the river on an island with beautiful views and nice walks along the river (be aware that some places close to the water can be rather slippery though which I learned the hard way!). There were also several other very good restaurants within easy walking distance of the hotel. For the local cuisine (and the awesome local beer!) I especially recommend Hercogs which became my personal favourite. For a wider menu with a modern take there's Chocolate & Pepper, and if you're in the mood for faux-French cuisine with a great view you go to La Tour de Marie where the restaurant is in a clock tower (you see the clock faces from the inside!). All these restaurants are within 6-7 min walk from the hotel!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    excellent hotel for a small town. Clean rooms with upgraded washrooms, comfortable bed, good breakfast, easy and secured parking area and playground/play corner for kids. Recommended. The suites are especially recommended for larger groups.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom very tiny. Housekeeping staff very loud and started jabbering in the early hours in the hallways. Because of them, I did not need an alarm clock to wake up.

    Central location. Clean. Renovated modern room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice, modern hotel close to sightseeing spots. Rooms tastefully decorated. Had A/C which we used. Staff very professional. Restaurant had good food.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was too expensive considering the choice of food is given.

    The bed was extremely comfy. The staff at the reception very professional and friendly. The hotel is located in the town center, but in spite of this you can still get a peaceful sleep, excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I can't tell any negative thing about the hotel! It was really fabulous. The only negative thing is, that in Jelgava there's nothing to see or experience apart from a castle (which was totally in scaffolding for restoration) and a very beautiful Orthodox Church. Apart from that, there's nothing to do or see.

    large and very luxurious room. excellent breakfast. the restaurant also offers a very nice evening dinner at cheap prices. staff is really welcoming and friendly. more than enough free car park spaces right next to the hotel in a dead end street.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to complain!!!

    Great hotel, the best hotel I have ever been in Latvia, Nice breakfast, great bathroom, super cool beds, very clean, simply great

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to remark!

    Was a late decision to stay in Jelgava but it was a good mind. Comfortable and big hotel in a small, but very nice town. Close to university, with a lot of green places ( gardens lake an parks. Realy beautiful !!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was marathon at same night so we couldnt get to the hotel. We had a meal in the restaurant and it was terrible. We got rear meat. The food isnt good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I asked a baby cot in Booking com web page, but did not get it. They said, they did not see the request :( at 8 PM there was no possibility to get that bed for kid. The bred was mould during breakfast.

    cosy room very nice and comfortable. Good shower :)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathtub was broken. Water was all over the place(on floor). Also we booked a honeymoon room which only had baldahin-bed, nothing special. I think it was too expensive for broken bath. Breakfast buffet had a really small variety of foods.

    I liked that baldahinbed

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although we did not use minibar drinks and we declared it when we were doing chekout, they charged the price from my credit card, afterward. This stay was my third, the first two (2 yaers ago) was wonderful, but this third time made me disappointed.. I hope they will correct this fault, soon.

    Yataklar rahat ve temiz.. Manzarası güzeldi../The beds and room were clean and comfortable.. The view was very nice..

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property seems to have some odd electoral issues, but it wasn't much of a problem for me.

    The property is a two minute walk from Jelgava Palace, which was the focus of my visit.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not many people visiting during our stay meant that the breakfast was not with the biggest selection.

    Beautiful, authentic corridor and restaurant interior

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    When I arrived, the heating was off and the room cold. Fortunately I found an extra blanket.

    The bed in my double room was very comfortable, many pillows in different sizes, I had a great sleep.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. Everything was highly satisfactory.

    The staff were exceptional. Very courteous and professional. My room was very clean and comfortable. The restaurant offered a good menu with much variety in choice.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The stuff was not present in the breakfast room, had to surch for them in the kitchen. Coffee-machine was empty of water on both mornings :(

    The room was spacy with comfortable beds.Nice view from the windows on the river. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was booked double bed room but didt get as they didt had this kind room available. In this kind situation is normal to get free upgrade, but did't

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have expected better breakfast.

    One of the best hotels we staid in in Latvia.very comfortable room and very well equiped. Very good location. Lovely view to river from window. Good air conditoning.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was spacious and very clean. Nice setting along the river with a tourist info center across the street. It was a central location for day trips to other places.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a bit small but OK, and everything worked. Overall a good hotel.

    I liked the hotel's 1940's atmosphere - solid and formal, yet updated and comfortable too.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Warm, friendly, welcoming staff!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Well situated hotel near river. Quiet place with comfortable beds and well equiped bathrooms. Room servis and breakfast was excelente.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was something wrong with water mixer in bathroom - in shower was only hot water.

    Very responsive staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be better, too few choices

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very good all round

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff could smile to arriving guests

    Location was great

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower did not work well

    Comfortable bed, everything to my liking

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Quiet and very clean room, very good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Í expected more from breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good location, nice place, tasty breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nicely appointed room, excellent breakfast and easy access. Staff mostly helpful and professional with one notable exception.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was very simple and coffee very bad taste

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Choice of breakfast foods could have been better

    beds were comfy, checking in was easy

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could be richer in variety.

    All was great, neat and cosy. Loved the huge beds.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was cold and coffee machine did not work properly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The riverside location is great. Parking the hire car was no problem.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Receptionist did not speak English and did not know where the Place ( University of Acrigulture) was. She was not very good customer server.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was so hard!

    Fantastic location. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was brilliant!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location and parking. Well-equipped rooms, good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    breakfast

    cleaning, location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    that they forget to give me breakfast

    The bed was hard I ordre 4 breakfast, but they only give 3

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    slow staff on breakfast service

    location great, nice interior

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    all

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We loved the comfortable rooms, the wonderful breakfast. Also we found the all the staff so helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location, near the Winter Palace, nicely designed bar, friendly staff, good breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel Jelgava was elegantly desingned and very cosy. The location is great. Wonderful staying there.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Im just in love with this hotel! The best in Latvia!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    All around great hotel in the center of town.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Little overpriced

    Location, comfortable bed

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    • Family with young children

    This particular room was situated above what seemed like a staff smoking area, so occasionally the smell did come up through the vents / window.

    Big spacious room with a nice comfy bed. Very nice bathroom with powerful shower. Staff are very friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The shower room had sulphurus drainage stench upon opening the door; the water in the shower didn't drain almost at all. We didn't have any shampoo/ shower gel in our room- had to go downstairs, and ask for this separately. There was a key left dangling from the little loft door, which was a little strange..

    Kind staff, good location, was a great price at the time of booking!

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Quiet and centrally located this hotel offers good accomodation for reasonable price. Helpful and nice receptionists. Breakfast and morning sauna (also steam bath at our request) were included in the room price. Hotel seems recently renovated and was not crowded during our Saturday-Sunday stay. Restaurant dinner is available at reasonable price on the ground floor.

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2015

    • Group

    A bit of a wait in the hotel restaurant, but we were a bigger group, to be fair.

    Great value gir money. It was the closest to the venue of the event we took part in.

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Convenient for the bus station, the town centre and even the football stadium. No fuss, no problem, comfortable. Restaurant served well for one of the nights.

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The receptionist. who was on duty Saturday not very helpful, didn't help on two occasions. one when we only required a table knife, and needs to have lessons in how to smile at guests, I thought she had smiled on one occasion only to find out she had wind. seriously it was uncomfortable walking though the reception area. all other staff were great. would have been 10 out of 10

    location great, great views of the river, hotel very clean and spacious, great facilities tv, fridge, modern bathroom fittings, two double beds, large rooms, free sauna from 9 to 12am. beer garden, children's play area. couldn't fault it, great time will be going back.

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    • Couple

    I always enjoy my stay at the Hotel Jelgava, the staff are very nice & always ready to help make our stay as enjoyable as possible. I love the view of the river.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    During breakfast was problem with coffee maschene, it was not functioning well, after some procedures it made coffee which can be hardly called so. Rooms are not really noise protected, I heard each word from TV in near room

    Very nice old-style hotel, with just renovated rooms. Locations is nice, parking, good restaurant. Breakfast was good with hot and cold dishes.... Very nice atmosphere in rooms. If You like classic design - this hotel is for You! I really recommend the hotel and I myself upon need will stay again here

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    1.Can`t conect with Free WiFi (after asking, staff didn`t help) 2. Staff must know how long we stay , but they didnt: gave wrong key (we 15 minutes tried to open door! It was staff mistake with wrong key) 3. Room was very small (or furniture are too big and many for such small place) For two people there were no place. 4. Wardrobe was broken (hard to opne and close) 5. In our booking order was written, that sauna in room, not in hotel- we were disappointed!

    Very clean and modern WC! Improved design and room was renovated! Possibility for making coffee and tea in room!

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    • Solo traveller

    that water from shower cabin running out

    staf

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2016

    • Family with young children

    Staff was lovely , very friendly and helpful 😊

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Very nice, quiet room. Great location. Breakfast was very tasty, good quality products.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    • Solo traveller

    No vacuuming 4 days, dirty. Very expensive ....

    Like comfort, central

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    breakfast was poor. had to ask 7 times to fill up food, coffee and forks and knifes. room was very small related to the big size bed

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The mattress may be a bit to firm for some

    The meals in the restaurant were 1st class. Good view over the river from the room.

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very nice room with four poster bed, whirlpool tub. Hotel located in city centre next to river and main street.

There are also 57 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: