Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Justus 4 stars

Jauniela 24, Rīga, LV-1050, Latvia

#22 of 153 hotels in Rīga

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1464 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not crazy about raw fish... but it is their delicacy...

    Exceptional location. Excellent cost- benefit relation. Accessible to all important locations. Friendly and educated staff. Breakfast very good. An boutique hotel, pleasant and funny... For open-minded people. Good taste.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    It is unfortunate that the restaurant only works for breakfast.

    A good location is the very center of the city, all within walking distance. The hotel is clean, the breakfasts are fine, the staff are sympathetic, but could be smiling. Cute birds in the hall. But overall we were satisfied.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only one negative thing, the birds in the cages. They shouldn't keep these birds. They should be flying around not stuck in cages for the rest of their lives. I really pity them.

    - The location is excellent. The must-see landmarks of Riga are all a few minutes away by foot. Also the stop Bus 22 which can bring you to the aiport is only 5-minutes walk away. Bus ticket is only EUR 2! - The price is affordable which is great for solo and couples travellers. - The room I stayed in was clean, had good airconditioning and spacious. - The breakfast was a pleasant surprise with lots of varieties; both cold and warm food - The staff was friendly and helpful. - The overall aethetic of Hotel Justus is quirky. I love it!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast selection was a little limited. Though I did like that you could have sweet pastries, cakes and biscuits for breakfast.

    Great location very close to the attractions of the old town but in a quiet area so there isn’t a lot of noise at night. Rooms are large, clean and comfortable. Staff are friendly. It’s a nice hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was a little bit smelly at the begining. The paint on the desk/table was a little bit sticky.

    Location (a famous street for shooting movies), the design of the hotel and the room, the friendly staff and the fact that I could set up a transfer from the airport to the hotel (as my flight arrived at midnight).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff is really not helpful, starting from basic questions, ending with failing to call a taxi and sending us wherever, just away from them to help us solve this "problem". So we ended up catching a taxi on the street. Another issue was cleaning - we all understand that if you leave a towel on the floor it means the towel needs to be changed - but not in Justus hotel, unfortunately. The bed was stiff, the covers too small, and overall experience not so much.

    The location is great. And breakfast. Apart from that - nothing else, sorry.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For A place that can have upto 20 HRs of sunshine in summers, I would expect better sun control, I struggled to sleep well during the 2 nights I stayed. The curtains were translucent and failed cover the entire window. There was a constant humming and periodic thumping sounds of the outdoor air conditioner units.

    Location is gr8 Large room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast room was very crowded and even the staff was doing their best in that rush, we had to eat in between piles of used plates and cups on the table. Also many things were finished all the time. Didnt get any warm dishes or juice. Disapponting breakfast all in all.

    Very nice staff, room was clean, spacious and quiet. Location perfect! Hotel had nice personality, it was unique.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was unhappy that there were some little birds in cages in the foyer who were unable to fly anywhere. One was on its own in a cage. A miserable life. I did not see any point in them being there.

    The location was perfect and the ambience was very relaxed. I particularly liked the decor and old world feel of the hotel. staff were very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Situated in the very centre of old city the hotel will be a perfect choice! Just 3 min walk from the airport shuttle bus station. The rooms are spacious, neat and clean, in a princess style :) The stuff is very friendly :) Definitely recommended.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location, quiet but still in the middle of old town! Amazing, spacious room overlooking the big Dome. Friendly staff. Ok breakfast, fresh bread, quite a lot to choose from.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very well located, everything you need is right around the corner :) Room was nicely decorated and it was also quiet. Staff was very friendly. Very good value for the money. Breakfast was very tasty. Would reccomend this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The birds in small cages, maybe it’s just me but it doesn’t look good.

    We were in room 202 It really had the wow factor. It was very clean and also very quiet. The bathroom was lovely with a good walk in shower and bidet.The hotel breakfast was very good with a good variety of food.Last but not least the location is tops and the staff were always very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very limited offer of TV channels on TV: just few channels in German and Russian (none in English nor Latvian)

    one of best hotels I have used so far, fancy oldschool design, large offer of fishes on breakfest

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location. Very smart hotel with beautifully decorated/furnished bedrooms. Best hotel breakfast that I have had for many years. The hotel, the breakfast, the city, all exceeded my expectations, it is one of the best city breaks that I have ever had. The weather was great too whilst at the same time the UK was cold and wet, so that helps.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very Old Small TV With No HDMI Sockets.Dusty Behind TV.Not Very Confortible Bed.Only One Pillow Each

    Friendly Helful Staff.Lift avaiable.Excellent Location.Good Breakfast.Excellent Wi fi.Ethernet Connection.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast on Sunday was served from 8 am

    Hotel is located in the centre of Riga in the Old Town. Room was nice and clean. Staff was polite and helpful, happy to give some recomendations (eg. restaurants) if you need it. Breakfast very tasty.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel layout is not very nice, confusing at times and overall can be weird. Standard rooms are on the smaller size. The room furnishings are selected more to cater to the hotels boutique style rather than functionality, which can be a drag sometimes.

    First of all - the location of this hotel is hard to beat if you want to stay in Old Riga. That alone is a reason for me to choose it when I am back in the town. The breakfast has a decent variety and a good quality of food. The rooms decor can be a hit or miss depending on what room you get and whether you like "historic" style (some rooms have elements of original 13th century cathedral walls)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower leaked.

    Very cool hotel. Easy check in, great breakfast options and located in the centre of the Old Town /very close to the bus stop from the Airport.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A double sized duvet would have been nice on our double bed. We had two single duvets. But in hindsight, it meant that my other half didn't steal all the covers during the night ;-)

    Location & breakfast both fantastic. Helpful staff. The walls are clad in items of historical interest from the area and the building itself.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - The receptionist was helpful but in board way without even one tiny smile. - The breakfast was really boring if you are bread lover.

    Nice building in a very good location, the room was good and clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More pillows! But to be fair this is normal in mainland Europe and I didn’t get round to actually asking for them. Had I asked, I’m sure they’d have been provided.

    When we arrived we were surprised with a free upgrade to a superior room. We had a lovely view over the roofs of the house of the Blackheads and the spores of the Cathedral and Saint Peter’s Basilica. The staff we’re really lovely. We had to leave at 3am for our flight and they made us a packed breakfast to take with us. Very clean and cool decor too. Loved the quirkiness, it has a lot of character!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No kettle in the room. Lack of choice at breakfast.

    Quick and easy check-in. Liked the unique antique style of the hotel. Beds comfy and room clean. Right in the centre of the old town of Riga.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    tea/coffee making facilities in the room would be good.

    location excellent, rooms basic but clean and comfortable, breakfast plentiful, something there for everyone to eat, coffee good, breakfast times good 7.30 to 10.30, no need to rush or can access early if needed. not the most opulent hotel but ok for a short stay. our family suite said a tv in each room but not the case, only one but nothing to watch as only english speaking channel is cnn. generous amount of toiletries in the rooms.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not having a kettle in the room (but we new that before hand). Pillows flat but no prob about getting some more. Would have been good to leave a tip for the staff, & be confident it would be shared out, but there wasn't a mechanism to do it.

    Fabulous buffet breakfast. Generally friendly & helpful staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed could be more confortable.

    Very well located. Very quiet. Very good breakfast served until 11.00 am on weekends (10.30 am during the week). Good value for money.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Watch out for heating on full...it is roasting hot in the room. Easy to adjust of course

    Great old city location, friendly staff, fab breakfast buffet, comfy bed, clean, tidy, great value. definitely reccomend and would stay again (this was my second time in just a week)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing much really

    Lovely small hotel right in the centre. Quirky and interesting decors. Clean and comfortable, friendly staff, great breakfast buffet included. Bed was comfy and a pretty good sleep followed. Bathroom fine, well equipped, all the amenities Would definitely stay again

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smelled of cigarette smoke. Poor communication from hotel prior to stay re. Iate checkout.

    Excellent location. Good breakfasts. Interesting decor. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not applicable :)

    Stayed only for one night, but really enjoyed it! Location is simply amazing, 1min away to the main sqaure and Christmas market. Breakfast are delicious and on weekend its served till 11am, thus there is no rush. Received free upgrade from a single room to double, perfect pre-Christmas gift!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I took a glass of martini in the mini bar and got sick I'm pretty sure the bottle wasn't changed as it was glued to the upper shelf of the bar

    everything perfect maybe a little more romantic for the couples...

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    TV is ridiculously small and channels are very poor. Even the pillows are very uncomfortable also we requested 2 more pillows but they were very soft and uncomfortable too. The bathroom was leaking water after you taking a shower. A kettle would be nice to have in each room so you can make a hot cup of tea/coffee in the cold days especially in winter.

    Location and interior of the Hotel!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very poor. We had a drainage smell in our room a couple of times. Noise on Saturday night. Towels were hard and old. Smallish room.

    Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My room smelled a bit of smoke but my friends didn't so maybe check if they have smoking rooms

    Loved the decor and the location. Breakfast is excellent. Staff really friendly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Truly an amazing experience and a great place to spend your holiday at. Really in the heart of old Riga, with numerous options for sightseeing and having a great meal!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A well located hotel, close to the old town and the airport. Easy to reach by public transportation, friendly staff, lovely breakfast, good shower and bed. We definitely recommend!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast could have had a few extras like normal breakfast tea instead of all being fruit/herbal teas. Would have been nice to have choice of fried eggs or hot boiled eggs instead of cold ones served with the salads etc.

    Location was excellent, easy check in and out.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The coffee. Only because I'm very choosey about blends and roasts etc and prefer my own cafetiere on the table. Too be honest the coffee was better than expected from a multi choice machine.

    Great location on the edge of the old city & only 5 minutes walk from centre. Quiet area & 2 minutes from fantastic & cheap public transport. Staff very friendly. Allowed us to check in 2 hours early.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Only thing to mention was we stayed in a rooftop room which was very warm even in October we had to have the window open.

    We have stayed at this hotel before, excellent location close to everything. Clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast selection for cereal was ok but the cooked choices like sausage,eggs and bacon could have been better.

    Nice quirky hotel in the middle of the old town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    hotter food. toaster situation not acceptable.

    beds comfy, asked for additional pillow and it was delivered to the room immediately. breakfast good, extensive choice, cheese, eggs, hams etc. lots of fruits and yogurts. staff efficient and helpful, good location walk everywhere, close to the no. 22 bus stop for the airport bus (buy ticket at the kiosk 1.15 one way) takes around 30 mins. all in all a good place to stay. only disappointment was the hot food could have been hotter and the one toaster for all guests takes a long time. coffee good from the machine at breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    walls were really thin so we could hear everything that was going on in the room next door.

    The room was cosy and good size - the bed was really comfortable. The location is great in the old town, around the corner from the bus stop (get number 22 from the airport to 11 novembra) and walking distance to all tourist attractions. Breakfast was okay, lots of choice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was uncomfortably warm for our tastes, though we eventually mostly resolved this by turning the radiator all the way down. There is occasionally a very slight smell of sewage in the bathroom (particularly after a flush), but we noticed this elsewhere in the old city, for example in the Bourse art museum, so this seems to be a slightly more widespread issue. We found the two single duvets for a double bed slightly unusual, and the pillows were a little flat.

    The location is excellent, and the proximity to the cathedral makes the Justus easy to find (even at 11:00 pm, after taking the airport bus to the old city). Breakfast is generous, and the breakfast room/restaurant comfortable. Staff often went out of their way to help (bringing an extra pillow at 11:30 pm, for example), and the luggage room is handy for guests with later flights. We had absolutely no problem with sound from the street or adjacent rooms, though it's worth noting we weren't staying over the weekend. The hotel is excellent value for money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Everything was to my satisfaction.

    I like the atmosphere and decor. The rooms are quiet, no noise from the street intrudes. Staff are friendly , and the breakfast is good, with lots of selection. It offers easy access on foot to everything in the "Old City".

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a matter of personal taste but in my point of view the decoration is terrifying. Anyway, the hotel needs renovation. Cleanness should be improved. If you travel by car you have to park in Europark which is not very comfortable. The receptionist was very nice and let me park right in front of the hotel but it would not be possible for longer time and there could be no place...

    Perfect location (on the other there could be a noise at night because of drunk tourists), delicious breakfast, nice staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unfortunately as we were there for 3 nights - Friday, Saturday and Sunday - the first two were very noisy with all night loud music which we were unable to block out even with windows closed. Our room was on the street at the front of the hotel but we only had a view of the roofs,so it was a little dark.

    Great breakfast buffet. Delicious food! Extremely handy for both the town centre, coach station - just a 10 minute walk - central market, most sites of interest including the Art Nouveau area within 20 minutes' walk. Lots to do and some good restaurants around. There was a lift up to our fifth floor room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One member of staff was quite rude at reception when we were checking out

    It was in a good location to get to all the sights and the facilities were good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff are friendly, the breakfast is very good, and the location is great. At night the rooms are very quiet, and none of the din of Old Riga night life intrudes to disrupt an evnings rest. The decore is very interesting, "funky"

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bed wasn't comfortable, and room layout is weird. (See above.) Front desk could have been more helpful/friendly; more than one person seemed to treat my questions about the sauna, booking a taxi, and Riga as intrusions. (Other staff were nicer.) There is a bar available 24/7 with quite good tea, but seems like tea could be included in the room rate.

    The single room is significantly less expensive than the doubles, but it's a very weird room. Mattress wasn't too comfortable. Big room but I had nowhere to sit besides one chair or put my luggage besides the floor. Hotel is well located and breakfast is impressive. Bathroom is really nice, and handy to have a lock box.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A kettle with tea and coffee in the room please!

    It doesn't cost much to install a kettle in a hotel charging as much as it does. Most visitors walk so much in this city and to make a hot drink in your room is a bonus. Location is excellent and the breakfast is very good with huge choices.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room smelled like old furniture. Opening the window solved it, but the 14 degrees of the Latvian summer meant the room got cold, and heating was off. The blanket was too small for a reasonably tall adult.

    Good location, helpful staff. I had to leave before breakfast and they prepared a breakfast box for me.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Personally I did not really appreciate the kitschy modern "antique" decoration of this hotel. But that is a matter of taste, of course.

    Nice quiet room. The restaurant across the street was very nice!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Actually can't think of anything, it was perfect! Just gutted I couldn't stay longer!

    Loved everything about this place, location, staff, the people, the service - all top notch!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hot drinks at breakfast came from a vending type machine. I'd have preferred fresh filtered coffee.

    This was an old, quirky hotel right in the centre of the Old City and very convenient for sight seeing and restaurants. The staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really all was great.

    This is the hotel where 17 Moments of Spring was filmed! It will only be understood by people who grew up in the former Soviet Union, but this is important!! I was so happy to see Schtirlitz' photo on the wall!! For those who don't care about the above - this is a lovely hotel in the center of Riga, basically in the heart of old town. Walkable to a number of interesting destinations. One of the main city squares is practically around the corner. Yet it is very quiet and peaceful. Wonderful breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Location of the Hotel directly in Old Town could not be better. Next to the Hotel you have some bars and Restaurants (you wont hear any noise from them on your room) and you are right next to the Dome with the big main square. The interior of the rooms and the Lobby is designed to blend with the architecture around (brick walls, cast iron tables, wooden furniture) giving you a very cozy feeling.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needed more staff no tables set for breakfast had to queue up for coffee machine. The person working on the breakfasts was working very hard but they really needed more staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV is very small...you are in this hotel for resting only , which is quite good too

    The hotel is very well located in the heart of the city and very quiet at night...the breakfast is excellent also!!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    At breakfast the music (hip) was a little too loud

    the hotel had it's own style... a mix of traditional and modern. We liked that. The personal were very helpful. The location was very central but nonetheless quiet

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed for 3 days and the room was NOT cleaned at all,except the day that they took out the rubbish. The staff did not care at all about our needs. The hygiene of the room was appalling!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't think of anything I didn't like. We stay in so many hotels it is unusual for one to stand out but this one certainly did. Perhaps another pillow? But I am sure if I had asked for extra pillows they would have been provided cheerfully.

    The hotel is in an historic building in a perfect location in the old town of Riga. It has been sympathetically restored and is full of character We had an lovely room as did our friends. The most striking thing about this hotel was the excellence of the staff. All of them were unfailingly friendly and helpful without being obsequious and their English was excellent. As the hotel is in the old town there is no parking except to unload but the car park is only a few minutes walk away.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Another pillow would have been nice to make sitting on bed possible as only dining chairs to sit on.

    Authenic. Rooms comfy. Staff wonderful...polite and helpful. All spoke perfect English and were knowledgeable about local area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was on the last floor, which was good, as there was no noise from the street and bars nearby. But, as it was hot, we wanted to open the window (the aircon is too cold for the baby), and it was very noisy because of the external aircon units on the roofs. So we had to suffer in the stuffy room... And the cleaning of the room was not ideal, we accidentally found an almost empty bottle from some sex lube aroma thingy from the previous occupants under the bed, and it was disgusting. :(

    It's a lovely and beautiful hotel right in the middle of the Riga Old Town. The location is awesome, there are lots of restaurants, cafes, bars etc nearby. the hotel is nice, in a good old style, very cozy and comfy. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was nice, quite a good choice of cold snacks and hot food.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower in bathroom leaked, shower head didn't fit the clip to hold it so unable to point shower where you wanted it. Not enough hangers in the wardrobe.

    Great breakfast, good area for tourism.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast was not what it used to be: coffee machine broke down and the atmosphere was not as relaxed as it should be.

    Such a wonderful hotel with a splendid location!!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If there was some electronic pot and cups etc, it would be nice to have relax time to have a cup of coffee and tea. Even though it tells there is shuttle bus from airport, we were informed that there is no shuttle bus available so that we took taxi. It would be better to be informed on the website so that we can consider when making decision.

    The location was extremely good, hotel staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kettle and cups, not to mention tea and coffee, were not provided, which is a great surprise for a 4-star rated hotel. The breakfast is really bad, which is irony to what it said in the website - "very good breakfast".

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite old bathroom and generally for such kind of hotel and price bathroom amentities are of poor quality. the shower was just a space in the bathroom right on the floor with a curtain.... so not even a shoer cabin... when you've been taking a shower/using water - the aircon in the room was dripping....

    Great location, breakfast was ok. Even though it is in the Old City, it was pretty quet after 23.00. Size of the room is fine. Staff is helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk seemed possibly understaffed and/or had computer issues. Getting a glass of ice took quite a while but everyone was friendly.

    Great location! Room was very nice including bathroom. Elevator service was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most of the staff were ok but there was one very surly woman who we tried to avoid.

    The location was great. The rooms are quiet and spacious as well as having a bit of character. Breakfast plentiful. Someone came quickly in our response to a leaking air conditioner and non flushing half of the toilet. We didn't know if these were fixed as we were leaking.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.

    Breakfast was big. The photo of the room on Bookings.com was the exact room we stayed in, (sometimes rare). Excellent location near center of old town.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were not welcoming and need a course on hospitality especially welcoming of guests. No human contact at breakfast. Efficient staff but cold.

    Great location in the beautiful old town. Quirky hotel-not a chain. Good breakfast content.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Staff was somewhat unpleasant, had a junior suite which felt as ordinary room. Broken chairs, clogged sink which didn't get fixed in 5 day...TV was super small, had only analogue channels and all 5 of them. Room were super loud since hotel is old and half wooden and it was next to the big square so dont expect quiet sleep. Breakfast was super small and very poor choice of food which goes fast and then you have to wait long for it.

    The hotel is almost half museum so the ambient is very nice. Rooms have old parts of the building, old staircase, pictures...very cool.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is nothing I didn't like. I can easily recommend this hotel.

    Great location in the old town area - convenient to everything. The hotel is charming and fits the character of the area. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I had a lot of problems trying to print boarding passes for the next days flight and they managed to solve the problem for me after some extra effort. Additionally, the breakfast was one of the better ones I've had in my travels.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom shower was excellent. After dealing with a drought the last 5 years, and horrible water pressure, it's nice to have great water pressure in the shower. Room size was OK.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Justus traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: