Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Rixwell Domus Hotel 3 stars

Tirgoņu iela 9, Rīga, LV-1050, Latvia

#80 of 153 hotels in Rīga

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2219 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Brilliant *****
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Storey Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike, our stay was amazing!

    The hotel was excellent and the room was beautiful! Our concierge Igor was 'Brilliant' and most accommodating. He made us feel welcome from the very start of our arrival. He was most helpful and was able to provide us with plenty of information about our surrounding area. Giving us detailed descriptions for places to visit and things to do during our stay. In all, this was one of the most enjoyable experiences I've had traveling, made all the memorable, by this gentleman's great attitude. I absolutely would recommend to anybody visiting to book with the Rixwell Domus and will definitely be staying here again on my future visit to Riga.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.5
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I got a room with a private bathroom outside my room. Yes, outside my room. I was alone, so it was bad but not a big deal. But it would be a terrible situation if I were not alone. Be sure you check this issue (bathroom) at your reservation.

    Location. It could not be better located. Awesome location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.5
    Noisy street
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Perfect location in old town is also the main downside of this hotel - the streets around are very noisy in the evening especially during weekend. Add long nordic summer days to this and you'll end up with "sleep deprivation". Luckily the windows are quite sound proof, but in warm days and without aircon you'll still have to make one sacrifice.

    In terms of location the hotel is perfectly situated in the old town, with a lots of nice restaurants, bars and shops within 10 minutes walk. The room was big and clean, although nothing special in terms of comfort and facilities. Breakfast wasn't memorable and we missed some things (e.g honey, maybe more than only one kind of jam and only one kind of bread...)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    5.0
    Unpleasant staff at the reception
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At the reception, it was a huge problem to extend the stay for one night. Even if the bank day is not banked on Sunday, even if we paid the night at the reception desk, the payment could not be credited to the hotel's account ... we could not afford to access the room (!!), we were forced to pay even in cash. Extremely unwilling worker at the reception.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    8.3
    Downtown hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was not that clean as I was expecting and it had a strange smell.

    The location is perfect - is located in the middle of downtown of Riga. The breakfast is quite good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    Excellent location!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location!!! Great hotel, very clean and cozy! The lady at the reception was very friendly, spoke perfect English and gave us great tips, even better than a tour guide!!! I strongly recommend staying here!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit noisy but have to accept this if you want a good location

    Great location. in the centre of every thing. 10 minutes easy walk to bus station. Very efficient and friendly reception. Breakfast very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.1
    Location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit strange process of payment - hotel prebooked full fee for our stay, and then we had to pay for the stay. Basically paying two times, although they promised to release the booking. Travelled around globe a little bit, haven’t experienced such system since 1990s.

    Location was great. And very well lit room, small yet cozy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    6.3
    Wished I'd stayed elsewhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very tired looking hotel with corridors like a basic hostel and metal doors on the rooms which was not very welcoming. No air con or fan so needed to open windows which was difficult as I had to stand on a chair and window ledge to get at the lever. Unfortunately due to the excessive noise from bars that went on until at least 3am we had to close them again so the room became hot and uncomfortable. Ear plugs supplied did not improve matters. Then to make matters worse the fire alarm went off and the staff had trouble turning it off - it was a false alarm - altho in the morning the receptionist said it was caused by someone was smoking in their rooms. The "wonderful" breakfast wasn't so wonderful, with a lovely bakery across the road you would think there would be a good choice of bread but there was only white sliced for toast and black bread.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.2
    Great Location & People
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Best location in Old Town Riga. They arranged airport pick up & drop off for us. Front desk staff was very courteous. They also arranged for a river/canal trip at a bargain price. I would stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    8.8
    Good value in an excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Street could be noisy at night being in the city centre. Tea/coffee facilities in the room would have been appreciated.

    Located in the city centre near the bars, restaurants and tourist attractions. Excellent helpful and friendly staff. Room, bed and shower were perfectly acceptable. Free WiFi was very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.1
    Perfectly located hotel, with mediocre facilities and offering.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Instead of the initially booked double room, received a very small bedroom, which was part of bigger family-type room. Wasn't exactly what I was waiting for. The room and hotel in general felt a bit worn-out and in need of refreshing. Had to wait more than 30 minutes to check in. Due to very good location, also a bit noisy.

    Perfect location in the Old Town, nice views from the windows!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.9
    A relatively understated but modern hotel in an excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A light just above the shower would have been better. Also some thicker curtains because it is light until quite late and from quite early.

    The breakfast spread was very varied, from meatballs to croissants. The room was comfortable, well-equipped, and had a good view. The bathroom was good with a large shower that didn’t soak the floor and also some shelving around the sink. Reception were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    6.7
    really good location in the middle of the Old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower wasn't very clean, there was two beds put together with a gap instead of one double size bed, wasn't very comfortable to sleep.

    really good location in the middle of the Old town

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.6
    All well if ends well
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I just mentioned about it.

    Location is fabulous, breakfast is rich and delicious, reception staff very efficient and polite. I was given a single room , where the cleaning team left a baby pillow instead of a normal sized one, the bed had no pilota , the telephone was not working, the hairdryer was kaput. They upgraded to a twin room, so finally, the stay in Riga was very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.9
    Great location, helpful staff - organized parking place ,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    poor wifi - really necessary to improve it

    Great location, helpful staff - organized parking place , parking place really only few steps from the hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    5.0
    One night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Both, the room and the bathroom were not properly cleaned. The bad was moving from one side to another one. The personal was helpfull

    It is in the old town, exaclty near restaurants and bar and main tourist attractions.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.2
    This economy-class hotel is a nice place to stay for 2-3 days
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi didn't work properly.

    We were very impressed by Igor person, who run the reception desk. He was very efficient, friendly and helpful. The hotel is situated at the very center of the old town just about 50 meters from the Dome church. At the same time there was no much noise at night. The room was comfortable enough, the breakfast was quite adequate.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    8.3
    A friendly, excellently located place for a short stay, top-class staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A slightly mouldy smell in the bathroom.

    Absolutely splendid location. Fantastic, friendly and helpful staff. Great bread and herring for breakfast (among plenty of other good things).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    6.7
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The description says it has an elevator but the hole time it was broken. We began to suspect it is always broken and they just use it as a fake facility. The room was quite smelly

    Great location!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.2
    Very good
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Technically, nothing to complain about. Still, the bedroom might need some extra furniture since it's got a bed and two bedside tables only. Probably it is supposed that I take my cloths off downstairs and then go upstairs to sleep. Well, it was not a big problem and could be solved easily.

    Booked on the go in transit for one night stay. We chose a standard room but instead were given an upgrade to the penthouse studio in the attic. The room was comfy enough with a nce view. The hotel location is perfect for any purpose, both business and leisure. Breakfast provided a variety of dishes.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.3
    Perfect location, decent hotel, value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    At times there was bad smell from sewage system in the bathroom, but I think it has to do with the fact that it is the old city center so not sure if hotel can do much about it. Did not bother us too much. The room we had had windows on side where there was some bar or something, so you could hear music in the night. They do, however, provide you with earplugs in the room :) It did not bother me, but if you are light sleeper then ask for quiet room.

    The staff was really nice, breakfast is decent, location is perfect, city center. Opposite the hotel is Lido restaurant which has great food for reasonable prices and one really good bakery. Room was spacious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.8
    The hotel was clean and in good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was without WC and shower, we needed to go out of the room to reach our bathroom. This was not mentioned in general hotel information

    The hotel was clean and in good location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    7.5
    The staff is very friendly with good recommendation of what...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast spread.

    The staff is very friendly with good recommendation of what to do and try in Riga. Good location as it is in the center of Old Town.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    7.5
    Walking distance from center clean friendly value for money...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not having facility to make hot drink no fridge

    Walking distance from center clean friendly value for money good breakfast plenty to choose from .would like to have kettle in rooms to make hot drinks. Would stay again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    10
    Location is brilliant. Even a great restaurant accross the road.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We expected a basic hotel, which is what it was but it was clean, quiet and separated inter-leading room for the children. The reception staff were very friendly. The breakfast was better than expected. I don't usually stay in the same hotel twice, but this one I would book again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    10
    Good hotel for the price, nice and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good hotel for the price, nice and clean. Good location in the middle of town. Friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast ok. The coffee could be better. Lovely town with good museums and amazing market halls. Would like to come back another time. Peter and Alice from Denmark

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    5.8
    Wouldn’t go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building is standard. Not well decorated nor very well maintained. There was a sticky stain outside my room door and it was there from the day I arrived until the day I left (3 days). Regarding the room : The door needs to be strongly slammed in order for it to close... The TV is from the 90’ and not more than 17“. I would personally take it off rather that leaving it there... the sofa is also quite old... The walls and windows seem to be very thin. You can hear whatever is happening outside, next door and above! Even though the hotel provides ear plugs, this was truly annoying. There was a weird smell coming out of the water in the bathroom. Like sewer smell. Imagine the first time I tried to brush my teeth... By the way, they suggest you not to drink the tap water but they charge you for the mineral water bottles... They should at least provide 1 complimentary water bottle per stay. I wanted to open the window once to refresh the room but it was impossible to reach... 
Regarding cleaning, let’s say I did not feel comfortable... there was a small carpet next to my bed which I had to remove because of its old and dirty looks. The floor (mostly the bathroom ‘s) was kind of suspicious too...

    Perfect location! In old town, walking distance to everywhere. 15 minutes away from the bus and train stations. The sign on the entrance is quite small so pay attention while walking... The staff was kind. The room is big and spacious. Bed and pillow are just fine. The hotel offers Breakfast every morning. Complete but not very well presented... If it were better presented maybe it would help the hotel to seem superior.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    8.3
    I'd go there again.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loud music from bad quality speakers in the breakfast room. Surfaces are quite worn out.

    Location is excellent, breakfast is plenty, the room has all you need and the staff is friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    9.6
    Super Location in the city, nice room, big bathroom,...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The private bathroom is outside of our room, WiFi in the room is slow and disconnected sometimes

    Super Location in the city, nice room, big bathroom, breakfast included

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    7.9
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unbelievable contempt of the hotel - even if you specially choose room for non-smokers and do not smoke, the hotel staff on reception insists that you should pay 50 Euro for guarantee that you will not smoke in their rooms (or give them your number of credit card, to take charge from you in case of you will smoke). Despite that we asked for non-smokers room! Lady on reception acted like a gangster. Very unpleasant experience! Never has this experience in all hotels of the world I have been stayed before (I am traveling already 20 years(!)) Uncomfortable shower. Wasn't clean floor in the corners of the room. Linens - terrible syntetics.

    Good location. Quite comfortable bed. View to the roofs of Old Riga was beautiful. If you are travelers and want to spend some days in Old Riga - normal place to stay. Rooms for non smoking people.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant stay in a beautiful city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None!

    The location is excellent - it’s right smack in the middle of interesting sights, restaurants and pubs. Everything is within walking distance including the bus station and the central market.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    10
    First visit to Latvia and the 4 days staying here made the whole experience very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The breakfast was just wonderful as were the staff. Inga on reception was so helpful with in depth knowledge of the city and the culture. My mobile wouldn't charge but she came to my rescue. I felt very at home here. Lido, a cake/coffee shop and local bar opposite but this was a quiet, and centrally located hotel. Couldn't have been better.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    2.5
    Wold not recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Got an extra charge couple days after staying-money just disappeared from account with no explanations. Do not recommend. And breakfast was not good at all.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    8.3
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom had a slightly damp smell

    Great location in center of old town and really close to the airport bus stop. Simple breakfast but value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    8.8
    It was nice to stay at Rixwell!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive parking.

    Great location, romantic view from the 5th floor, usefull stuff in the room (earbuds, etc.) Our family of 5 people lived in 2 rooms, 2 tvs, very convenient.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    7.1
    Simple hotel; good value for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Storey Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a Two Storey Apartment just under the roof. That may sound good, but it does not have an advantage, since there was only a small window which did not really provide a view over the city. So the staircase to and from the bed is just a little impractical. When getting out of the lift at the sixth floor there is a hazardous step. It has been marked, but maybe not enough; I can imagine people occasionally misstep there.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    8.3
    We really enjoyed our stay :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was better than we expected - coffee, smashed eggs etc. Only the croissants were better across the street. But there were so many cafes around. There could have been glasses or cups in the room.

    The staff was very friendly and they gave some very good hints where to go. Although my bed was not the best, I slept well. And it was quiet in the room, although it was in the old town. The places we wanted to visit, where some 200-600 m from the hotel, e.g Cuba bar and the opera theatre :).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    7.1
    Balanced value for money you pay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms definitely need renovation. Beds are uncomfortable. TV is very small and poor quality. When I came back to my room in the evening there was dirty and wet towel left on my luggage, I even worried whether somebody took a shower in my room during my absence. There was an alarm signal early in the morning, according to the smell I suppose due to some small fire in the kitchen, anyway - this morning I got a wake-up call too early.

    Staff extremely kind and helpful. Breakfast and location excellent. Balanced value for money you pay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    9.2
    Awesome location!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle or tea making facility in the room. Beds were incredibly hard but after the first night I soon adapted. The toilet was next door which we had a key to open.

    Location was absolutely perfect, staff were super friendly and welcoming. Very quite as night:) breakfast was very basic but provided a great start to the day.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    8.8
    Very Central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be better. Products were good. Potato pancakes were excellent, but bacon was a disaster. Staff should learn that bacon slices must be separated and fried, not steamed in one big bulk. Also the mini croissants could have been prepared better.

    Very Central location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    8.8
    good location, in the heart of old city, very beautiful view...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    parking place (if you travel with the car) was about 300 m away

    good location, in the heart of old city, very beautiful view (if you stay on the top flour)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    8.3
    Location of the hotel is brilian.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location of the hotel is brilian. Great view from the windows. As well as very polite staff. We booked standard room, but they gave us upgrade to superior. Thank you for this.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    6.7
    Great location and staff with some pitfalls
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness was ok, corners and tight places weren't cleaned properly. Bed was not that comfortable. No fridge and no tea/ coffee facilities in the room. Check in took longer than I expected.

    Location is perfect, many shops and restaurants around. Staff were friendly and always willing to help. Breakfast was decent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    9.6
    The staff was very friendly and helpful providing great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    While we had a room with an ensuite bathroom, the room next to ours did not, yet we shared a common door to the hall. The room next door accessed their bathroom by a door next to our door, so it was a bit unusual to think that we could be meeting our "neighbors" on their way to or from the bathroom. This was probably more uncomfortable for them than for us. On the other hand, this room arrangement would be great for a large family.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful providing great information about the city. It was super easy to arrange transportation from and to the airport. The location is fantastic- right in the heart of Riga. Our room was spacious and clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    8.3
    great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast was poor. and breakfast room smelled with old clothes looks like the kitchen cleaning methods are from Soviet Union times

    great location. got an up-great of the room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    7.5
    Well pretty good except for the smell.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Asked for a large double bed, got 2 single beds put closely together (with a 10cm gap between). The bathroom smells like piss. TIP: it takes to wash the walls near the toilet to get rid of it.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    5.4
    Location is very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check-in took us a long time. It’s like the old times hotel check-in. Old building.

    Location is very nice. You can visit all main attractions in Riga in a walking distance.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    7.1
    Mediocre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    1. Staff was very robust, could not adapt to changes in the conversation. 2. Parking was quite a distance away, and the staff at the parking was very spiteful. 3. The TV in the room must have been from about the 90s. 4. Beds were ok, not very comfy but not dreadful either.

    Location was perfect, very centrally located

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    6.7
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got a room on last floor which means that half of the roof was really low and could not even stand straightly- the room was so small so it was really annoying. Uncomfortable bed and the walls were so slim so heard everything that people in corridor were doing.

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    9.6
    Excellent quality for a very small price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't like the TV from 1990's, very small with terrible refresh rates -- obviously no USB/HDMI ports to connect your own media, and doesn't seem easy on the eyes.

    Excellent price to quality ratio, great breakfast included, location right at the city centre, convenient electronic keys to the room. Despite having no own parking spot, there are some streets nearby with decent rates (and free parking at the evenings/sunday).

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    8.8
    Best location and good value in the heart of Riga
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast is buffet-style, so you can fill yourself up, but the quality is somewhat lower than I had expected (still good, though) The rooms on the street front can be a bit noisy in the evening due to bars having loud music

    The location is right in the center of the Old Town of Riga. The people in the reception are nice and helpful. The room was small but had all that I needed, and it was very clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    7.1
    Good price and good location. Moderate breakfast and facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had problem with shower for the first night and we had to wait til the day after. We couldn't use the shower. That was annoying.

    Location was good. Breakfast was acceptable. Price was good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    5.8
    Inga at the reception was great, we really enjoyed her...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty room, was not cleaned properly when we arrived, e.g. open food in the fridge, lots of dust everywhere.

    Inga at the reception was great, we really enjoyed her recommendations!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    5.8
    The payment policy is the most stupid I've ever seen in the hotels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    That would be an OK stay if not the hotel's payment policy. It's the most disrespectful and distrusting policy I've ever met (and I'm checking 10-20 new hotels and apartments each year). TLDR: they've blocked the full stay price and *were not willing to unblock it before I pay in full*. Full story: in this trip I had my money in cache save the hotels payments for which I had a special card that had enough money to pay for all the hotels plus extra 100-200 EUR. That card was indicated in all of the bookings and it has some bonuses (cacheback) I was willing to collect. By the time we've reached our final hotel (Rixwell Domus) I had the exact amount to pay for the stay + some 50 EUR. The day before the check-in I've seen my card charged by the hotel which I was totally fine with. But upon check-in I've been told the money were actually blocked, not charged. OK cool I said, can you please unblock them now so I can pay with this card? The answer was "No, we don't unblock them *before you pay in full*. If you don't have enough money on card pay by cache". So basically to stay in this hotel you *must* have 2x of the stay price on your card or you cannot pay with it. C'mon, it's me standing here in front of you, what do you expect? That I will run away with my family and belongings if you unblock the money? Many (almost every) hotels let you pay upon checkout. This hotel doesn't let you pay upon check-in without holding your money as hostage. Isn't it stupid and disrespectful to the client?

    The location is very good, in the very heart of Old Riga.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    7.9
    Good rest between flights with a chance to visit the beautiful city of Riga.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the money paid, the hotel was more than ok.

    Very close to the city center, airport by taxi 10 euro and 15 minutes, staff very kind, cheap accomodation for a good rest.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    7.9
    The rooms are basic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms are small and breakfast is bland.

    The rooms are basic. No frills. The breakfast is nothing to lose sleep over. It is a place to sleep and shower in the middle of the city. The location and price are good and I enjoyed running along the river and through the city.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    6.3
    Be careful, they declare that they have private parking...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Be careful, they declare that they have private parking place, but it means you will have to pay at least 15 EUR per night for parking place additionally.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    7.5
    A very central and nice hotel in the middle of the lovely old city of Riga, but.........
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was rather amazing that the culture of the rest of the personnel (except at the front desk) was extremely introvert, almost unfriendly, like in old Soviet times - both in the breakfast room and the persons we met in the corridors. Rather unpleasant, actually!! (derived from a management problem???). The breakfast was OK, but nothing more.

    The service from the receptionist, Inga, was very good in all respects! The location was excellent in the middle of the lovely old city with walking distance to "everything". The room "on the top of the hotel" (6th floor) was very cosy and the elevator functioned very well.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    8.8
    central and comfy its not luxury but the reception desk went the extra mile
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Inga on the Front desk was incredibly helpful and welcoming and polite 5stars for her assistance .. Customer service in Latvia is still very hard to find so this was a welcome surprise

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    6.7
    Enjoyed Riga but won't stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic out dated to last stay not even coffee maker in rooms so can't relax in room with hot drink room we had next to lift shaft kept or woke me up won't stay or recommend this place

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    9.6
    Excellent in all respoects.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Payment method.

    We liked everything. The question remains about the type of payment as we paid in advance by credit card as a "special facility".The hotel group now requires payment by bank transfer which is awkward.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    8.3
    What you expect for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little loud but that was because it was in the middle of old town.

    What you expect for the price. Nothing fancy but it had everything you would need.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    5.8
    The receptionist was very rude.
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist was very rude. I told her I had a problem with my room and I did so the evening of the day after the checkin (I had a problem in the morning but I couldn’t tell anyone because I was in a rush to go to a conference). She asked me why I didn’t tell anyone earlier and the problem was not even solved the following days). The location is very good, because it’s in the center of Riga but the service and the hotel overall are not that good. I will use other facilities next time.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    10
    Free Wi-fi very good, location is very central, reception...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two Storey Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needed coffee and tea making facilities in the room and a fridge that stays on when you leave the room.

    Free Wi-fi very good, location is very central, reception staff were excellent, penthouse rooms warm.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    9.2
    Very good and enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Last night men working outside till 12 drilling and sawing stuff!! No fault of the hotel! Next morning fire alarms where going off in the hotel

    Comfort the friendly staff breakfast location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    10
    Great ;)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was really great, the guy at reception even talked in lithuanian ( my native language) so that made my experience even more amazing. All in all bedroom was clean and well prepared and the breakfast was good and satiated. I probably will come back here :)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    8.8
    great central location,
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    minor point, hotel reception area not very lounge like

    great central location, excellent buffet breakfast, plenty of choice, didn't leave hungry !

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    10
    The staff at the reception was very professional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff at the reception was very professional. As a guide, they could advise you on what you can see in Riga, how you can find it and what events take place in the city during your stay. Especially I want to thank the receptionist Inga for medical assistance, advises and attention shown when we returned to hotel after my wife injured in the street during an accident near the hotel. In addition, thank you to another staff member - unfortunately I did not ask for her name - she found in the kitchen the ice to cool the bruised place.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    Short trip to Riga
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can’t think of anything bad to say. I wish we were able to stay longer.

    The hotel was amazing, very clean. The staff were really friendly and knowledgeable. Internet was really good. The breakfast was really good. Overall an excellent experience.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    7.9
    excellent location at old town,helpful personnel ,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast was a bit poor and not that well-prepared the bath was at old shower style

    excellent location at old town,helpful personnel , comfortable room

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    8.3
    good location in old Riga, family rooms have 2 separate...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    slow staff on checkin, took 6 minutes to print room keys

    good location in old Riga, family rooms have 2 separate rooms with shared lobby and toilet which is good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    7.5
    The receptionist is charming and a model host!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is my second visit to the hotel in the past two weeks and there is still a blockage in the flow of water in the shower. Urgent repair required!

    The receptionist is charming and a model host!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    8.8
    the position in the city centre, just 2 minutes walking from...
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    almost no sweets and desserts in the breakfast buffet the shower had only a tent and not a cabin.

    the position in the city centre, just 2 minutes walking from Dome Cathedral, 5 minutes from the bus stop to the airport. the room was clean and quite large.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    8.8
    Cute Riga
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Private External Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were rather hard and flat pillows made it uncomfortable.

    Great location, friendly and helpful staff. Nice, clean rooms of a good size. Breakfast is nice!!!

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Rixwell Domus Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: