Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Rixwell Hotel Konventa Seta 3 stars

Kalēju iela 9/11, Rīga, LV-1050, Latvia

Review score

Based on 3992 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    6.7
    For sleeping it is fine, but not for many other things
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The beds weren't that comfortable and the room was a bit small, however the biggest downside, was that the shower had a lot of moldspots along the rims and the television did not work.

    The staff was helpfull and the breakfast was fine. The hotel is suited in the centre making it a good startpoint to see the city center.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.2
    Good value for money in excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing which would have improved the room is having tea and coffee facilities in the room but this doesn't appear to be common in this part of the world so not a criticism of the hotel itself.

    Great location in the Old Town (even had part of old town wall in the building) although not too close to noise of pubs and bars. Staff were friendly and helpful. Good value for money.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable hotel in a central location in Riga old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Buffet breakfast was a little chaotic. Only two coffee machines and most mornings one or both did not work. Buffet was located in a corridor which was very congested due to the number of people trying to get breakfast.

    Excellent location. Spacious room with a good shower. Computer terminal where we could download and print airline boarding passes. Good choice for breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.5
    CENTRAL HOTEL BASIC BUT VERY LOW PRICE FOR IT'S LOCATION
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    ONLY ONE PILLOW EACH IN THE BEDROOM LIGHTING IN THE ROOM A LITTLE POOR MORE LEAFLETS SHOULD HAVE BEEN AVAILABLE FOR SIGHTSEEING NOTHING AVAILABLE AFTER 11PM. OUR FLIGHT WAS LATE AND WE HADN'T EATEN. NO RESTAURANT OR VENDING MACHINES AVAILABLE FOR LATE NIGHT SNACKS. WE HAD TO GO OUT WITHOUT A MAP INTO A CITY WE HAD ONLY JUST ARRIVED IN. HAVING SAID THAT, THERE ARE PLENTY OF THINGS WITHIN WALKING DISTANCE, SO ALL WAS WELL.

    THIS HOTEL IS CLEAN AND BASIC. EXCELLENT LOCATION AND EXCELLENT VALUE FOR MONEY!!! THE COMMUNICATION WITH STAFF BOTH BY E-MAIL PRIOR TO OUR STAY AND DURING IS FIRST CLASS. STAFF VERY HELPFUL AND FRIENDLY. HOTEL IS SPREAD OVER FIVE DIFFERENT BUILDINGS, BUT ALL IS EXPLAINED VERY CLEARLY IN A GROUND MAP. BREAKFAST ROOM IS LOVELY, NICE ATMOSPHERE, GOOD DECOR AND GREAT SELECTION ON OFFER. ROOMS ARE VERY BASIC, BUT CLEAN, WITH A KITCHENETTE AND GOOD SIZED BATHROOM ALSO TOILETRIES.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    8.3
    Great location + cool layout
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are dated and spartan, but definitely in a “neat throwback” kind of way given how clean they are.

    Great staff, excellent location in old town, hotel is multiple buildings with neat inner courtyard type situation.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    7.1
    Staff very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator in most of the buildings I had to walk 4 floors but they helped with my luggage. Breakfast was very busy and lacked alot. Good for bacon people.

    Staff very nice

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    8.3
    Friendly large hotel in Old Town Riga
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our wash basin did have a repaired crack. The towels, although they are changed daily were showing signs of wear. There was also very little rail space to hang used towels. We did complain that the shower head holder was broken and that was repaired immediatley :-)

    This hotel is in the heart of the Old Town. It is situated off one of the main squares. We found the staff friendly and very helpful. The rooms are a large size and clean. The beds are very comfortable. The hotel is a group of buldings, so there are little slopes and small staircases once you take the lift to your floor - we didn't mind this. There are some old exposed walls in the lower part of the building showing it's very old history :-) The breakfast is good and is situated in the next building. It is buffet style and they do keep everything topped up but sometimes there is a short wait as there are alot of guests.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant hotel in a very good position
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was dark all the time with no overhead light, there was no A/C and the window had to be kept shut at night because of the very loud bar next door. The shower curtain was too long and slimy at the bottom. There were no shelves in the fridge and no kettle in the room.

    The room was spacious and comfortable. The housekeeping was good although it didn't reach the room until after 5pm each day.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    8.3
    Was a nice and agreeable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (1 double or 2 single beds)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    At breakfast the space for getting food and drinks is small. During peek hours the available space is limited. In my room (4013) the shower curtain should be replaced.

    The central location is very convenient and the remote room concept let's feeling like 'at home'. Excellent for exploring the the old town city!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    10
    Nice hotel with a little timing issue
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room wasn't ready by the time we wanted to check in (around 5 pm). Some more plant based breakfast options (like soy or oat milk and yogurt) would have been nice.

    Very good location, friendly staff, nice building and lots of breakfast options. Our room wasn't ready by the time we arrived, but the staff gave us some drinks for free at the hotel bar, to make the wait a little nicer. We also got a free upgrade to a more spacious room than the one we had booked.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    7.9
    Conveniently located but noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Curtains did not cover the whole window. Not all lights were working when we arrived. Noisy (in as well as from the outside(.

    Location Breakfast Comfy beds

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    6.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dining hall is small and crowded . If you come after 09:00 , sum off the food is missing. The room is very basic and with poor maintenances.

    Location Good and rich breakfast Friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    5.8
    Certainly not the quality I expected for the price.
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator not working. Only one reception person so big queues. Breakfast poor. Wait staff had very poor English. No food allergy information available. Room had window facing another building but with no curtains.

    Well located for heart of old town

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    6.7
    Hotel is located right in the old town of Riga.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room floor not very clean. No enough dishes in the kitchenette.

    Hotel is located right in the old town of Riga. Wide choice of breakfast. They have a luggage room at the reception which helped us a lot.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    9.6
    Historic Convent Hotel in the centre of Riga old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Wifi was very hit and miss, so we ended up using hot-spot off a mobile phone. The restaurant for breakfast was a tight fit for the guests, but not intolerable.

    Our room was very spacious and well appointed. There was a reasonably fitted out kitchenette, but the quality and price of local restaurants meant we never used it. The location of the hotel is in the centre of the old town and getting to the major sights, train and bus stations only took 15 mins walk at maximum. Breakfast was plentiful and they even provided a take away breakfast when we had a day trip.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    7.5
    Good.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (1 double or 2 single beds)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the appliances didn't worked. Mold in shower corners. Sink waste in bath was stuck, almost overfilled. No toothbrush! It was in offer, but was out of stock. Photos of room wete different from real.

    Good staff, very friendly! Thank you guys! Brekfast was great. Room service is good. Great location in the hearth of Riga old town. Great bar near. Quick check-in/check-out.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    8.3
    The bed linen does not match the size of the mattresses (too...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (1 double or 2 single beds)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed linen does not match the size of the mattresses (too short), it should be simple to purchase appropriate sizes. It would be great to have at least water in the perfectly empty and useless minibar fridge. Empty minibars are a rude display of mistrust in respectable guests.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.5
    Great location - in the heart of Old Town!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I'd like to have cleaner room... dishes were dirty((( I had to wash it before using. Also there were a few place in restaurant - we had to wait for a free table

    Great location - in the heart of Old Town! Our room was in quiet place (house 5), so a crowd of tourists didn't disturb us

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    8.3
    Location, good breakfast, quiet at night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Public lift not working, the need to get to breakfast early otherwise no available tables, old fashioned tv in room

    Location, good breakfast, quiet at night

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    7.9
    Location was great and the breakfasts were lovely - staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wasn’t the cleanest hotel we’ve stayed in, the rooms were a little hot and the beds quite soft.

    Location was great and the breakfasts were lovely - staff very friendly too.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    5.8
    Great location little else
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room has no ventilation or air conditioning which means in winter it would be great nut summer it was stuffy and hot. Furnishings are in desperate need of replacement as all are old and tired (heavily watermarked lamp shadss) . This hotel has great sized rooms but is badly let down by it's interior fit out and requires refurbishment of its soft fixtures

    It is amazingly well located in the Old Town

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.5
    Beds were superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check-in took a lot of time. Breakfast was very crowded.

    Beds were superb. The hotel was right in the middle of the old town. Good variety of food in breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.6
    Very central, great breakfast, a bit of a street noise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a bit noisy during the nights, as windows are facing a night club across the street. Music were good though, so I had a hard times convincing myself to go to sleep, instead of joining the clubbing folks :) Consider asking a room with all windows facing the backyard, to make the nigh totally quite.

    The very central location. Great breakfast for 3-star hotel: rich and tasty. 2-room apartment: bedroom + living room with regular size desk for my laptop, sofa and mini kitchen - electric oven, fridge. Hotel consists of several separate building sharing the backyard.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    7.1
    Recommended for people who do not mind some noise and want to be in the heart of the old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was big and well-situated, but very loud - the outside door made a loud bang, heard inside the room, and there was a lot of noise on the street even on a Sunday. Also, no batteries in TV remote, bathtub plug missing, and bathroom sink plug blocked. All in all, ok for one night.

    Nice breakfast, friendly service.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    9.2
    Central comfortable and plenty of character
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy machine outside our window in the night

    There is a very comprehensive breakfast served up to 11am. The receptionists were always smiling and helpful. The buildings have a long history.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    5.4
    One time stay in this hotel - there is better choice for the money in Riga
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room had no sound insulation what so ever. The room was on the front side of the hotel and in the street. We could hear the guests of the bar sing all night. I barely slept in this hotel. Windows closed or open didn't mather. Breakfast has a lot of choice but not everything is fresh. Room needs a serious refresh. I included some pictures to show this. Room could be cleaner. My girlfriend found a lot of dust on the bedside table. Also hair in the shower before we even used it.

    The location is right in the center. Walking distance from the Trainstation. A lot of choice for the breakfast, which was included in the price. Possible to buy beverages and snacks in the hotel lobby. The room is quite big.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    2.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At 4pm, check in was not possible. Asjd why but no explanation. Water drainage in the bathroom sink was very poor. The staff was not friendly but even rude.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    8.8
    Great location in the Old Town of Riga!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location in the Old Town of Riga! Breakfast with many options to choose from. Our room was large and comfortable. I would stay there again and would recommend this to others!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    7.5
    Great location, fantastic breakfast, large (if spartan) rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was fairly noisy (right next to a restaurant with loud extractor fans); there was no AC and a shortage of fans for the rooms, so if like us you visit during a heatwave, make sure you ask for one as soon as possible.

    Great morning breakfast, spacious rooms, fantastic central location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    3.8
    Quite shi...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old soviet time & fashion hotel, which was renovated and equiped most probably 25 years ago. Just reception part is very new and that confuses people about the real status of the hotel. B&B status would much more correct.

    Young and positive

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    9.6
    Brilliant location excellent choice of breakfast and very helpful and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The breakfasts were lovely but there did not seem to be enough observation when the restaurant was full and busy and food needed replenishing the wait was too long. It would appear that a responsible waiter may be required to ensure empty food trays are replenished quickly. The coffee and machines were excellent but again at busy times the coffee beans required replenishing often but there were often delays to do this. If I am allowed to suggest that the coffee machines need to be bigger in capacity to cater for the popularity of the coffee. Lastly, but not such a big deal the toaster took too long to toast four slices. At busy times people (including me) gave up waiting and chose an alternative from the good selection of breads on display.

    The breakfasts are very good with ample choice of hot and cold food and fruits, juices,tea and milk Really good coffee comes from the machine and some of the staff went beyond expectations to ensure a good service. The reception staff were excellent and very helpful and the location of the hotel could not be placed at a better location in the old town which is beautiful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.2
    Very good location for exploring Riga
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Somewhere in the neighborhood there was a noisy air condition, what we could hear in the night, if the window was opened.

    The bed was good, the breakfast was excellent, really rich. The hotel is in the middle of Riga, very good location. The room was big enough, simple, but good condition furniture. And a small kitchen also.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    7.1
    Good location but noisy and hot.
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The heat in the rooms. We had one floor mounted portable fan for the whole suite, not enough! The room was overlooking the street and very noisy at the weekend. With heat and the noise it was hard to sleep.

    Location was great, close to all central sights and cafes. Room was spacious with a fridge for cool water, it was 30 deg C during our stay. It was good to have a junior suite as we had a lounge to relax in with comfortable a sofa.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.0
    Great Value Choice in Riga Old City
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really - a great value overnight option.

    Great value hotel in a wonderful location right in the middle of the Riga Old City. For a pittance, my son and I were treated to a comfortable room - including a copious breakfast. The hotel exudes charm.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    5.4
    Great location, rooms could be better...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were bit "motel like" and not so cozy. The bathroom was dirty especially shower. There was mold in the bathroom. Exterior of the buildings left us expecting more of the inside also.

    Breakfast was good and the location was great! Atmosphere was calm and relaxed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    8.3
    Will definitely return sometime
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was very strange that they don't have the local Latvian TV channels on their cable TV and we desperately wanted to see the conclusion of the song festival in our room, but had to try to watch it on our telephone which also didn't work well since the wi-fi was probably overloaded...

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    8.8
    Very good location in the heart of the old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As the room was above bars and restaurants it was too noisy. Very difficult to sleep. Not air conditioning either.

    Very good location in the heart of the old town. Spacious room and bathroom. Good buffet breakfast. 15mins walk to catch bus 22 to go to the airport.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    2.5
    Very noisy outside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (1 double or 2 single beds)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy outside. Until 2 at night drunk people shout at a restaraunt which is right under the window. At 4 am the waitress started moving the tables from outside back inside. From 5am to 6am SEAGULLS screaming loudly right at your window!! And finaly at 7 the church bells!! NO AC!! Breakfast very modest, crowds of hungry people, line for coffee machine! Do not book!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    9.2
    Perfect location, good breakfast, staff
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air-conditioning. Pillow wasn't too comfortable.

    Staff was great. Room was bigger than expected. And the way hotel is working how buildings is separated was really interesting to discover Old Riga. Breakfast had good choice to offer and was tasty.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    10
    The location is great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is great! The breakfast surprised us. Everything clean and tidy. The rooms are small but have everything, bath amenities, tea and coffee, electric kettle, hair drier, etc.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    7.1
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were warm and airy. No fan or air conditioner. In the rooms there was no central light only lamp next to the bed: dimly lit room. Breakfast with few choices of coffee, breads and cheese. It had no omelet, a staple for breakfast. Restaurant very full.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    7.5
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Very noisy if you stay in a room towards the street and need to sleep with open windows to reduce the sauna effect - the hotel is not prepared for a hot summer like in July 2018. - Bad pillows

    Great location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    9.6
    Great location/attentive staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately with the weather being hot and humid, and without airconditioning as is the case for much of the accommodation in Eastern and Northern Europe, both rooms were hot, thankfully upon advising staff, a fan was provided which did bring much relief. No kettle, but that also was provided upo n asking.

    Great location, adequate room size, friendly and 'responsive to needs' staff, and breakfast 'til 11am 😁

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    9.6
    The location cannot be better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The furniture was a bit old. Bathroom seemed really small. The room had a kitchinette, but no kitchen supplies at all.

    The location cannot be better. In the heart of the Old City. Short walk from the Railways Station and easy to get to from the airport. Property is clean. Staff was helpful. Breakfast had many good options for adults and for kids.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    7.1
    Must Love Birds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We had two rooms and I will say that both bathrooms while extra large for Europe needed a deep cleaning as both had black growth on the shower grout and the shower heads had deep calcification (just a little vinegar would clear that up). Our first room was large and had drapes (not black out) but the tv was broken. When we went to report it we were asked if we found tv that important (it was the World Cup) and to come back in the morning. We had to move rooms because it seems that the tv not working had been a problem for a while. Our new room was on the top floor (heat rises) and while it was large it had two skylights and one corner window. There were no drapes, sheers, or screening which meant our room had a fair amount of flies that gathered each day. The room was super hot and super bright during a Riga summer where the sun is not down all that long. It also was oddly loud with what could only seem to be a bird rave at 3 a.m. for five nights.

    The location was fantastic and easy to get to but not have too much street noise (but there was an unusual amount of bird noise). The room we had was large and ample with a king size bed, two chairs, end tables, a desk and closet. The morning buffet had great hours and a large selection with nice outdoor seating. The view from our window was lovely with old roofs and the top of the Dome Cathedral.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    6.3
    You don't get the rooms from the photos!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You don ' t get the rooms you see in the photos. They reserve the money on your account and then you have to pay separatly the room in the first day!...you can't use the money they reserved. The beds are making a creak. The bathroom is outdated and has traces of mold. The TV isn't working properly. The street is very noisy.

    Very nice location, near the center. Very nice breakfast. The sheets are clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.2
    Good value for money, except for the parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nearby recommended parking 30€/day only cash (info in Booking.com is not updated, 15€/day)

    Bright, clean and spacious room. King size bed. Amenities. Superb location. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.8
    1a Lage - Super Frühstücksbuffett - Saubere, einfache Zimmer...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (1 double or 2 single beds)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1a Lage - Super Frühstücksbuffett - Saubere, einfache Zimmer // in the heart of the old town (vecriga) - top breakfast - rooms simple and tidy

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.2
    The hotel had an issue due to the rain so I stayed at other...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't stayed at the original hotel, however staff was very kind to found an excellent alternative.

    The hotel had an issue due to the rain so I stayed at other hotel in the center (Rixwell Old Riga Palace Hotel), it was very nice to stay as the room was new and fully renovated

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.8
    Perfect location and ritch brakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old fashion furniture in the room, there is kitchen, but no dishes.

    Perfect location, rich breakfast, friendly stuff. Private parking on side in for extra money.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.3
    I loved every day in Riga and this hotel is my favourite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything about this Hotel and have stayed here numerous times however the Breakfast service seemed to be very slow when things ran out or the coffee machines required topping up no one person appeared to be monitoring the situation. The breakfast choices were brilliant and ample when fully stocked

    The Hotel situated in the heart of the old Town of Riga and is in walking distance to all major transport routes. The hotel staff are young and happy to advise where to go. They are professional and friendly. The young waiter from Uzbekistan was exceptionally helpful and spoke English very well.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    5.8
    Good for a short period only and it depends which room you get
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (1 double or 2 single beds)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Noisy from the street and next room as we stayed in the old building, house Nr 7. We booked a room with Kitchennett but it's useless as there were no equipment (pan, Pott, knifes etc). If they offered Kitchennett it must be usable. Why they offer this facility??

    Top Location, Top Breakfast, spacious room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.6
    Can't beat the location...great easy stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good value.

    Location amazing! Right in the centre of Old Town. Easy check in and room spotless. Big lounge, oldfashioned and basic but easily covered all needs...typical Latvian, nice bathroom, comfy bed and ample breakfast. Thank you. It was great.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.9
    Excellent accomodation, good breakfast, big hotel rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quite old rooms, especially bathroom - very wet because of leak in shower room. Small restaurant - not enough places on breakfast when hotel is full.

    Excellent accomodation, good breakfast, big hotel rooms. Very pleasant and informed staff. Big room for lagguage at the reception.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    5.4
    good location, old fashioned
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    rooms were olddated and not very clean esp the shower, we had a kitchenette, but no tools whatsover. No plates, glasses, kettle,

    excellent breakfast, centrally located, large rooms

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.2
    Central location and spacious
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (1 double or 2 single beds)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Advertised as an apartment but there is no cooking equipment supplied until requested, and then only a basic saucepan, cutlery and crockery.

    Central location, good wifi, good breakfast and a spacious apartment.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    5.0
    Hard pillows, no lift, lots of dust under bed, misleading - shower instead bath. Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no lift in building were was our room and it did not pre warn about it when I was booking it only after I paid and could not have money back it said in very small writing there might be no lift. When I asked if there is other room I could have instead because I had toddler with me and travel luggage bags receptionist even did not bother to try to check appeared. So I had to lug child and luggage up and then down double stairs to 4th floor. One receptionist have to say helped me with some bags up. Nobody helped when I was leaving. Pillows were lumpy like filled with stones I had migraine after first night. When I rang reception they ignorantly said all pillows the same even did not apologise. So I had to fold dressing gown to use as pillow. When I booked room it said it comes with bath, I have copy of booking. I even asked receptionist if it has bath. She said yes. And it was disappointing just cubicle of shower. That was totally misleading. Under bed it was so much dust looks like never been dusted - I only noticed that because my little one dropped his toy underneath. That was disgusting. Bathroom have to say looked kept in clean condition.

    Bathroom was clean. Rooms were good size. Excellent location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    5.8
    The hotel is in the old town, the location is really nice...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (1 double or 2 single beds)
    • Stayed 1 night

    One of the person travelling with me found her reservation cancelled, and the hotel staff was not able to provide a suitable replacement. Apparently, the reception did NOT charge the card at the moment of the on-line booking (when a secure temporary card code was used), and did NOT wait the arrival of the guest to charge it (when a valid credit card was of course available), but tried to charge the card in the early afternoon, before our arrival. Since the temporary code was of course no longer valid, the booking was cancelled. This politics is rather strict, but could be acceptable if the hotel *effectively* tries to reach the guest to inform her/him of the problem (which would have allowed my colleague to give them a working credit card number) before the cancellation. Unfortunately, this was not the case: they told us that they tried to reach her by phone without success, but no phone call from the hotel was in the register of my colleague's phone. They did NOT text her (which would have been natural if they couldn't reach the phone), and they did NOT send an e-mail (which would have been also natural, the more so since after the booking my colleague had written them the time of her arrival, receiving a confirmation). So, when we arrived the room was not there, nor there was any other room available. The internet connection was slow and unstable.

    The hotel is in the old town, the location is really nice and the rooms are large and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    8.3
    Excellent value hotel in a very good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you struggle with stairs ask for a ground floor room because there was not a lift in our building.

    The hotel rooms are in 5 former convent buildings. We booked a superior room and it was huge with two low single beds. The room was rather stark with white walls. The bathroom had a walk in shower with a raised base so you don't flood the bathroom! The breakfast was placed in a long corridor of an adjacent building on the ground floor. It was a good selection of hot and cold. The hotel is in the old town and an excellent location for site seeing. It's about a 15 minute walk from the coach station which we did. Mind the wheels of your luggage as they bounce over the cobble stones.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    everything that a good hotel of this price range was ideal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    the different times of day that the cleaning of the rooms took place. somedays it was in the mornings and other at 17.oo in the afternoon. it was hard therefore to plan an afternoon sleeping pause.

    everything that a good hotel of this price range was ideal. especially helpful were the desk clerks who answered all of my questions and helped me with my boarding passes.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    8.3
    Everything was pretty much spot on.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have done with having a mini fridge in room and more tv channels but not priorities.

    Everything was pretty much spot on. Staff was fab, breakfast was good, free toiletries. Not a lot to complain about on the most common issues.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.6
    The location is amazing - if being in the middle of the Old...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lighting in the room was a bit dim, and the view was another building three meters away. But if the view is the most important thing for your travels, you aren't spending enough time in the city itself

    The location is amazing - if being in the middle of the Old Town district is priority, then you probably can't make much of a better choice. Very clean room, and a friendly professional staff. For being right in the middle of the Old Town district also very quiet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    6.7
    I do not recommend this hotel for business travellers with cars, but for those who come by plain it
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Awful situation with parking. 15 euro per day, parking near the hotel is not possible.

    The hotel is in the heart of the downtown. Nice restaurant ( breakfast room).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    6.7
    Good clean room, but noisy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the front desk staff were friendly, but a few were very rude. The breakfast was ok, but not great. The room was quite noisy, but that is not strictly the fault of the hotel. But something to be aware of before booking.

    The size of my room was quite large, and they upgraded me to a suite which was very nice. The room was quite clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    7.9
    The location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no tea/coffee making facilities. No air - stuffy. No air con. No fridge although brochure detailed minibar in fridge in room. Water not recommended to drink and small bottle 2€ at reception!

    The location. The quietness. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.2
    Stay in the heart of Riga at a comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The coffee machines kept having glitches so there was a long line each morning to get coffee.

    Excellent location, right in the center of Old Town Riga. The staff is friendly and helpful, and our room was very large and clean. Lots of choices for the complimentary breakfast both hot and cold.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    5.0
    Location is awesome, right in heart of old city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Place is not available for taxis. Room was very poor. TV from previous century and so tiny, wifi problems, bed was so hard as wooden plank and pillow made of stone. For price I paid was promised bath, but was very small shower in room. Good for people who staying 1-2 days and coming only to sleep over.

    Location is awesome, right in heart of old city.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    5.4
    Good place to sleep for a reasonable price. Won't recommend it to others.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Terrible breakfast solution. We skipped after eating there once. The personell wer're poorly trained and understaffed. Poor English as well.

    Great location, good rooms. Old interior though.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.9
    Character hotel with nice rooms, good location but let down by insufficient seating at breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a bit of a scrum with insufficient seating not helped by the fact that all tables were for four or more, while most guests were couples. Hence many unused seats. No fridge in room

    Nice bright room, excellent location and a hotel with character

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    6.3
    location good but thats it
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    except for location everything - noise, room, breakfast

    Good central location but very basic and cold rooms uncomfortable beds and very noisy building didn't feel safe breakfast below par and coffee not on - seems a continual problem and staff had no idea - go elsewhere

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.5
    Thoroughly enjoyed Riga. Enjoyed hotel once moved room and breakfast ordeal done each day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (1 double or 2 single beds)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked an “apartment “ mainly so we could have a fridge and tea. Neither room had equipment or crockery or a working fridge. When asked for some we were told usually this is not used. So glad we hadn’t relied on description to self cater. We got a kettle and asked at the bar for cups,teaspoons and glasses and were given the all important teapot ( we hadn’t asked) which saved the day. First room on first floor had a very very unloved bathroom which smelt as poor ventilation. We moved room because of smokers under our window. Second room was nice and the staff moved our hardwon equipment Breakfast was stressful for me. It was busy but only one working drinks machine most of the time. So a ten minute queue for first drink not good. Many people disgruntled by this and not an opportunity to refill if in a hurry. Really could do with two different positioned stations with two machines each. Breakfast was a buffet style and had queues but staff continuously working to top things up. I think lack of space hampered the experience.

    Excellent location. Really really excellent location. Second room such an improvement on first and staff helped with transition.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    5.4
    Not the best experience
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were constantly out and were not good in english. I reserved for twin bed semi sweet. When we got there. Only double bed was available so thet downgraded us. Parking for car is 500 m away from hotel. Pillows in the rooms are cheap and very uncomfy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    6.7
    Fine base to explore the city.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (1 double or 2 single beds)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel has several buildings that are close to each other but one can't choose. The rooms need some tlc. Lot of noise from the street/ bars (depends in what building you are staying)

    Excellent location in walking distance of sites. Supermarket nearby.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel, best location in city centre and really nice staff!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (1 double or 2 single beds)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The WiFi in the guest house is quite poor and the breakfast is good but could have been more exclusive

    I really liked the location and the nice City Center, which is right around the Corner.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    5.8
    Rooms too hot - No drinking water-Poor facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were too hot. No fans available. The room guide in hotel stated that EVERY ROOM should have a bar fridge with drinking water included since the tap water isn’t drinkable. Neither a bar fridge or drinking water was included in the room. There was a place for a bar fridge but it was removed. When I confronted the desk about this, they stated bar fridges were only available in the suites They then have the nerve to charge 2 euro for s smallBottle of water. I rarely write reviews, but I consider the way that this hotel addressed these issues unacceptable.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Rixwell Hotel Konventa Seta traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: