Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Art Hotel Laine 3 stars

Skolas iela 11, Rīga, LV-1010, Latvia

#63 of 153 hotels in Rīga

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1140 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.6
    Very atmospheric hotel with plenty of artworks
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing I didn't like there was the Internet. In the room it failed to connect so I went to the lobby to use the Internet there. Sometimes I had problems to connect to the Internet in my room. But that was not a big problem for me.

    The staff was very helpful and friendly. I like the style of the hotel. There are many beautiful paintings. And you can feel the atmosphere of Riga there. Also I love the breakfast, pancakes were delicious. I love the location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.9
    The room was clean and comfortable and mainly quiet.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Having a room on the 7th floor made it a bit difficult with my luggage (having to walk up from the 5th floor).

    The room was clean and comfortable and mainly quiet.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    6.3
    Acceptable attempt to approach overall design to some art like. But having some bad basic facilities
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad small old TV at large distance from the bed. Bath is of no use without hot water. More a less warm water can be obtained after half an hour of pouring it out from the fuacet. To get some soap to wash your hands your need to bend and reach the wall over the bath. What a fun every time! No fridge in the room. Elevator makes impression that you might not get out of it if you enter. Continues renovation and other noise.

    Attractive design. Large clean room. Hotel in close distance to the city center. Acceptable WiFi speed.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    8.3
    Lovely Art Nouveau Hotel near the Centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Simple hotel with time warp warranty. Very lovely art nouveau wall decor in our big room. Very friendly staff. The breakfast was fine too. Close to the centre. Easy transfer from the airport. We will book there again...

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.1
    All the pros and cons of an old school hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    First impression of a really old building - but if you decide to enjoy the charm of it, then it's fine

    The hotel is at a very old building with all its pros (charm) and cons (facilites). If you are looking for a modern type hotel, this is not your place. If you are more into classic, old school hospitality the place is good. Rooms are actually like apartments, big with seperate areas and attention to every detail. Hotel staff is gentle and always there for you.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    9.2
    Amazing stay in Riga
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got bad vibes from a woman who we think is the owner of the hotel, she was wearing a pink dress (around 40 year). Not very friendly to the staff or the costumers. Rest of the staff where excellent 👌🏻

    -The staff in the reception where super friendly! -The breakfast was tasty -Clean rooms -Nice view from the bedroom -A cosy terass where you can eat your breakfast. Would definitely go back to this beautiful hotel!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    7.9
    Worth spending a few nights in an art noveau atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The choice of pastry and cereals was poor

    Nice atmosphere; rooms not very large but clean an functional; good breakfast; location not far away from the city center and the art noveau district; helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.1
    Very interesting building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little tired and could do with improving.

    Very interesting building. The terrace bar is a nice place to sit after a day exploring. Good location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.5
    Staff was very friendly and professional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's an old building which adds to the charm but cleaning could step up a nodge. And be carefull with the very old cat in the courtyard. It looks friendly but it's not.

    Staff was very friendly and professional. Room and bathroom are spacious. Hotel is in a courtyard in a quiet street so you will have a good nights sleep. Only 10 minutes walk from city center. Breakfast was delicious. The fresh bread was a delight.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    5.0
    An awful place for your huge money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They clean up the room, at least they empty the recycle bins.

    They say that the hotel is for quite quiet rest of a family, but actually they wrong. Because you can not fall asleep until the city life will also sleep (very noisy upon to 1 am), and gulls on the roof of near builds will wake up you about 5 am. Furniture is very simple and old and dilapidated, you even don't want to touch them, awful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.2
    Great value hotel in good area not too far from the old town. Definitely recommend this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi does not necessarily work in all rooms and needs to be upgraded in this day and age so it does.

    Very large rooms and bathrooms, good breakfast, friendly staff, free water at reception and located in a good area not too far from the old town. Friendly ginger cat in the courtyard to say hello to on both the way in and way out.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.1
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 19 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds are quite narrow

    Great location, breakfast has a good range of options room was very spacious, large window short walk to the old town, great restaurants in walking distance. avoid the tourist hordes of vec Riga

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    10
    Great stay in Riga!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really only if possible offer recommendations for local coffee and bars around the hotel

    The staff were great and always available to help with questions. Exactly as expected building is older style but I knew that. Room spacious and location well suited to a conference I was attending. Thank you to all the staff. I had a headache when I had to check out and was feeling sick and they helped me a lot

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    6.3
    Key system is horrible.
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The key system is horrible. We were two girls attending a conference and coming at different hours and the fact we only had one key and that you always had to lock the door with the key is crazy. When I was leaving early in the morning I had to leave the door unlocked with my friend sleeping inside..this is not okay. And if we were coming a different times in the middle of the night then the people at the front desk kept telling me that my friend is already in the room with the key and it was 4 am??? I'm not going to wake up my friend to get into the room. I had to argue each time to get the spare key which they "weren't suppose to hand out". Ridiculous. You should seriously consider change this super out-of-date system.

    Breakfast was nice. Location was okay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.5
    Unless you like steep stairs, stay on 5th or lower floors.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was at the 7th floor and the elevator only goes to 5th floor. Also, I was woken up by loud music from the next door which turned out to be an utility room used by staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    We'll located for old town, parks and art nouveau district.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The curtains were a bit thin so, if you don't want to wake early, take an eyemask. It would have been nice to have a kettle and cups provided in order to make drinks when we got back late in the evening

    We were made to feel really welcome right from our arrival. The bed was large and comfortable. It was quiet enough outside to have the windows open too

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    5.8
    The location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My room on 7th floor. Lift only goes up to 5th floor. No help on carrying the bag. Staffs dont seem much like helping or answering questions. I asked one of the staffs which bus goes to Bus Station from the hotel? The answer was "Any buses go to bus station!" So I asked at Tourist Info Centre and I was told only few buses from hotel goes to bus station!!!! Thank you very much for even bother answer my question, staff!

    The location is good. Not in the Old Town but very close. I like the feeling walking back to the hotel after the day, pretty much like walking home. Breakfast is very nice, with paper cup for take away coffee or tea. A lot of restaurants and cafes around the hotel, even nicer and cheaper than the ones in the Old Town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.3
    basic hotel a bit away from the Old Town, but still in walking distance, would book again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Basic hotel in a quiet neighborhood, a bit outside the Old Town, but still in walking distance. Room at the 7th floor, nice view, clean, very good beds, very nice staff, good breakfast with enough choices. Would book again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    6.3
    Value for money but no charm at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Youth hostel feeling - almost like an office building inside - hard bed (you could feel the springs) - Staff could not recommend a restaurant nearby, there are dozens !

    The price and the location. size of room, breakfast was very good. Great neighbourhood.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.6
    The room was very spacious, we especially liked the floor...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast could use a little more variety. Also, the reception is on the third floor, so it is quite impractical to stop there every time while on a way to or from your room (because they insist you leave the key at the reception every time you leave the hotel).

    The room was very spacious, we especially liked the floor heating in the bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.5
    Good hotel, shame about the breakfast staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast staff were moody, easily irritated and times just plain rude. Spoiled the experience which is a shame as it's a good hotel in all other respects.

    Very good value for money. Reception staff were great, very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    7.5
    Not too far from the centre, room was big enough, had good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator goes only to the 5th floor and there are 7 overall. Also the water in the shower was on the cold side.

    Not too far from the centre, room was big enough, had good wifi, breakfast was included.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.2
    Breakfast is good and tasty, 5 minutes walk to the first...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not bad:but please notice that the elevator only runs till 5th floor, the rest is walking.

    Breakfast is good and tasty, 5 minutes walk to the first sights, 5min to supermarket. Nice staff and helpful with storing luggage.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    7.1
    Very friendly staff.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The biggest disappointment in mine opinion is common to quite a few places – the fact that parking and accompanying pet comes with additional price becomes known ONLY when you complete booking. Common, this is not a good marketing but rather kind of a cheap and childish cheating – it only rises suspicions regarding the place.

    Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    10
    A cheap but comofortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The stay was too short (

    Friendly staff and high ceilings in rooms. A nice bar nearby is definitely a place to visit (Kultural Center Bar or smthng..)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.6
    It was comfortable to stay. I hope to return here again.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would prefer to have a kettle in the room to make some tea.

    I liked the huge comfortable bed, the warm floor in the bathroom , soft armchairs in the restaurant. The cozy yard in front of the main entrance and silence in the night time were very pleasant too.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.1
    Nicely located hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nicely located hotel within walking distance to the old town of Riga. Shopping facilities and restaurants within close proximity. The hotel is cozy and the staff was friendly and helpful. The room was adequately equipped and the bed was comfortable, however more to the hard side.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    10
    Great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely hotel in quiet street wonderfully located for all we wanted to do. Staff v helpful and a plentiful breakfast. Would definitely recommend and stay again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    8.8
    Adequate one bed in great location at an excellent price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The decor was hardly modern and the hotel in general has a very old feel to it. If you want a modern look or feel then this isn't the place for you.

    The room was very big. More than enough room for one or two people. Ample space for clothes etc. Bathroom had a bath and shower. Not all hotel rooms have both. The location is good too. 10mins walk from the old town and there are many restaurants situated around the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    Lovely location and chilled out staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a lovely hotel in the better part of town away from the mayhem of Old Riga. The breakfast and wifi are great for such a budget priced hotel and the rooms are lovely with an old fashioned touch. The location has it's own nouveau gems, the bars and nightlife are much better and 'cooler' than the tourist hotspots and it's of course cheaper.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    9.2
    Great introduction to Riga...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast looked very lacklustre - glad we didn’t have any!

    Very helpful staff - before we even arrived they were useful with information and booking a late-night cab. The hotel is about 15mins walk from the Old Town across a (safe) park, and there are plenty of bars, restaurants and clubs in the immediate area, as well as the Art Nuveau district.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.9
    Very helpful employees, close to Old town but on a quiet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No elevator access to top floor

    Very helpful employees, close to Old town but on a quiet street, fenced parking lot available for extra fee (cheaper than on the street)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    8.8
    Great value, neat building, beautiful city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The shower wasn't so great- either too hot or too cold. Room was so big that a couch would have fit easily and would have been nice.

    Room was huge and had a nice view. The location was perfect.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    9.6
    Nice mint hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi is really disappointing.

    Very cosy hotel. Loved mint colour everywhere :) I got a room on the last floor, so had the best views to the city. It's really close to the old town if you're ok with walking. The district is the best, you have a lot of places to eat and sightsee.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    6.7
    Bed for budget
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Please note that the elevator goes until 5th floor - we got 7th floor and the stairs from 6th to 7th floor aren't very comfort to bring your luggage on, and there was no help offered. When we first arrived we noticed there are no hot water for shower ! We asked the reception and they told that indeed, there was a malfuntcion and they hope it will be fixed (we weren't notified at the desk when we arrived) Eventually when we returned at around midnight it was already fixed.

    - Reception is available and willing to answer questions. - Good price. - 12-20 minutes walking to the old city (depending how far you go into the city). - We ordered double bedroom and got an extra twin room (didn't need it but should be recognized)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.2
    Nice place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could be something more sweet to have with morning coffee than just one bun, but maybe it's just me being too sweet tooth. And maybe staff could inform and note about the heaters on the arrival, that we need to turn them on manually, otherwise it was too cold in the morning.

    Clean, tidy, friendly, interesting style.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    7.9
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was surprised that there were no tea/coffee facilities and no mini fridge in the room. Also there was very unpleasant smell in the bathroom.

    I like the hotel location, it was right in the city Centre . I like the staff friendliness.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    6.7
    Location is great and staff super friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bizzare parking entrance. Then very old elevator and last floor still needs to be climbed by stairs, we had very heavy suitcase. The lack of shelves or chairs in the bathroom. It's enourmous but nowhere to hand or stack your things! Sofa bed was not comfortable for an adult.

    Location is great and staff super friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    10
    The best hotel room in Riga (better than 4 star hotels like Radisson, etc.)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was perfect, except location (which is good) and breakfast (which is OK). Anyway, the hotel gets 10/10 because of its very good price. I have stayed 5 times in Riga where I have chosen very nice 4 star hotels, like both Radissons, Centra Hotel, etc. However, I can say that Art Hotel have offered the nicest room I have seen in Riga so far. Will definitely choose this hotel room again once I will be visiting Riga.

    The hotel room was amazing. It was very spacious and felt more like an apartment than a room in a hotel. The hotel room is on the top floor, has its own lobby, 2 bathrooms, very spacious bedroom and the terrace that offers a nice view to the city. In the room you can find a Jacuzzi style bathtub, air condition, TV, plants and lots of space to put your clothes and other things. Just see the pictures attached. P.S. We probably have got the best room in the Hotel :)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    6.7
    Mental notice: No art or boutique hotels...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was in the 7th floor, right under the roof, but the lift went only up to 5th floor. Still we didn't have a good view, since the window was on the roof about 3m above the bed. Fortunately there was a long rod to open the window. There was a fridge, but it was not working. Also most of the interior was rather simple, so the Art Hotel Idea did not quite work out. The outside and the stairs to the parking were outright shabby.

    Breakfast was good, staff nice and polite, room was relatively big. The hotel is quite close to the center.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    7.1
    It's ok, but could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell of the old building in the room - it was hard to stand the smell with closed windows. Luckily it was a nice weather outside, it was no problem to keep the windows opened. Sometimes it was only cool water in the shower, no hot water. Elevator goes only until the 5th floor. Wifi is available in the public areas. Wifi was hardly available in the room (poor connection, sometimes not available at all).

    Very good location, very friendly staff, clean, nice coffee and pancakes for breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    2.9
    Not the type of accomodation I am used to when travelling. Cleanliness should be seriously improved
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We found some other's people hair in the bed, we asked them to change the sheets, they told me to my atonishment I couldn't expect for them to make all my wishes come true and as I insisted on it, they changed only the bottom sheet, not the pillow case or the quilt, they didn't change anything at all in the four days we were there. The room was also dusty and having carpet if the cleaning service is not really good probably is not the better choice. Also in the description of the accomodation didn't specify that, being the room in the seventh floor, the elevator only arrives to the fifth, so you have to climb the two remaining floors by feet. One of the recepcionist was a bit arrogant, having in mind I complained really politely about not having cleaning my room since the previous guest left. The rest of the staff was helpful. The breakfast buffet was a bit poor in the sense that it didn't include any pastries other than pancakes. Tapwater was a bit yellow two or three times.

    It's close to a nice park with a lot of trees. They were kind enough to call us a taxi and to keep our luggage for some hours.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    10
    Large room in quiet area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was okay for us.

    Very large room in a quiet area but on walking distance from the old town. Much facilities, like restaurants, shops etc. in the neighbourhood. Friendly and helpfull staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    6.3
    Blast from the past
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Other aspects were not that positive though not terrible either. All the interior decor is rather old but others would maybe call it quaint. Breakfast had variety but some foods were not refilled (e.g croissants). The private parking places are scarce and some spots require that another guest move their car.

    First of all the most positive aspects: the location is excellent and the staff very friendly. Overall I have to say that price/quality wise it was a good stay though it's definitely not going to be my first option for a hotel in Riga.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    8.8
    a good place for short term stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - elevator till 5th floor, so if your room is on the 6th or 7th - up the steps on foot. - kettle in the room needed.

    clean and tidy, friendly staff, great location, good quality-to-price ratio.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    9.6
    Nice hotel with excellent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast buffet kept running out of the more popular items and the wait was pretty long, as the girl taking care of the buffet brought only a few more each time.

    Clean hotel, updated bathrooms, peaceful location close to everything, safe parking and a very nice reception staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    5.4
    Literally just a bed, ancient tv and frowny staff. Also the lift only goes to(and I quote) 5rd floor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff, breakfast options, room had a broken minibar which was empty on arrival, the only thing in the room that matches the advertised imagery was the blanket they cover the beds with and the CRT television.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    8.3
    The staff is very friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant closes quite early. When I arrived around 2200, no food was available. But from the other side I was warned by the hotel in advance that restaurant is closed at my arrival time. There is no mini-bar or even fridge or in the standard room.

    The staff is very friendly. Check-in and check-out were very smooth. Although they do not guarantee WiFi in the rooms, the speed was ok or I was just lucky enough. The breakfast is good and tasty. Ok for short stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    7.1
    short stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - facilities and equipment is outdated and need for refreshment. - wifi in rooms might be slow (reception already warned me about that)

    - very good location in a quiet place near the old Riga by walk. - very quiet in rooms (it might be because a few people stayed at the moment)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    9.6
    W
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very little!

    Great atmosphere. Excellent value. Got upgràded on arrival to a comfort suite, rather than standard room. Loads of space, big bàth, lounge room off main bedroom.got wifi . Lovely buffet for breakfast, nice happy helpful staff. Very pleased with our stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    9.6
    Perfect stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Lift only operates till 5th floor, some rooms are in 6th or 7th floor.

    big and clean room, window is facing the backyards, so it is pretty quiet. Breakfast is good, everything is fresh and the waiters are helpful. The parking is behind the house in a closed parking spot. The staff is friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    7.9
    Good overall stay with extremely awful WiFi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel's WiFi is a mess, had trouble connecting, it worked for a few moments, but eventually I gave up. This was a huge disappointment since having WiFi in a hotel should be as natural as having a toilet.

    Extremely friendly and helpful staff, answered all the questions. Overall stay was a good value for money.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    7.5
    Nice hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not much to complain about, only that the shower curtain smelled bad.

    All in all the hotel was nice. Staff friendly and helpful, breakfast quite rich (nothing fancy but I couldn't complain), bed very big, quiet neighborhood and hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    8.3
    Great location in Art Nouveau neighborhood.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bad wasn't too comfortable.

    Art Nouveau architecture in Riga makes up roughly one third of all buildings in the centre of Riga, making the Latvian capital the city with the highest concentration of Art Nouveau architecture anywhere in the world.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    7.9
    Simple and nice. Good for a short stay
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furniture in the room was quite old and simple but very clean at least. The wifi is not working in every room..I was lucky and most of the time I had internet access. But if you really need it you should ask before the booking...

    The staff is very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is quite a lot and diversive from fish to pancakes. The room was huge as well as the bathroom. Very clean. I heard from the taxi driver that the hotel was a student dormitory before.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    3.8
    Disappointed guests
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not what we expected not at all. For 7 days no changes in breakfast menu, no tea kettle in the room. Service and comfort not related to the price what you pay. More seems like a hostel . Sorry but never stay again.

    Nice location. Comfortable breakfast hall

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    8.3
    Riga 2017
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold water in my bathroom,a long time needed to wait for a warm enough to take a shower.

    Breakfast was very good. Large room and large bed. Very good location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    7.1
    Provides parking and is within walking distance of the city centre
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The building might be described as 'retro chic'; others might see it as 'in need of refurbishment'. I was told that the wifi only worked in the reception area but my room was close enough for it to work. The breakfast was excellent, with a great deal of choice, the first morning; on the second morning it was much more limited and seemed to be the items left over from the previous day. The hotel is separated from the streets on either side by courtyards. The pedestrian entrance is accessed from the street Skolas Iela that is stated as the hotel's address. The car park is accessed from a different street (Krisjana Valdemara Iela) through an archway and then through a gate, which the receptionist will open if you phone him or visit the reception. Since these roads are one-way this was difficult to figure out on arrival, but the gate arrangement menat that the car was secure.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Very large room, more like a suite (with hall, living room, bedroom and bathroom). Chosen because it offers parking (bookable, so a parking space is guaranteed) and is within walking distance of Riga city centre.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    10
    was my second time stay with this hotel , my favorite is...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    was my second time stay with this hotel , my favorite is their business lunch menu , and their room big , clean , new , everything great !! I would like stay there every time I go Riga

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    9.2
    Great value for money, nice building
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedding is so so: crumby pillows, soviet blankets instead of decent quilt.

    Interesting building, striking interior, old windows well kept, silent and good value for money.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    7.9
    Staff is perfect, very helpful and cheerful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit expensive, if you take into account, that hotel is dated. But considering the location, quite ok.

    Staff is perfect, very helpful and cheerful. Good job!!!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    8.8
    Good location. Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    You can hear quiet well from other rooms. F. ex. when someone takes a shower, talking etc. However, as of about 10 pm it was all quiet.

    The location is very good. Very close to the National Museum of art and modern art quarter. Also the freedom monument and the old town are just about 15 minutes walk away. The staff at the hotel is friendly and helpful. Breakfast is very good with cheese, meat, fruits, choice of bread, eggs, pancakes etc. The hotel is clean and the bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    8.8
    Pleasant place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was cold in the room. They have a minibar in the room but no kettle to make a tea! ???? I dont get it why....

    Brilliant and very helpful and polite reception girl when i checked out!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    9.6
    good stay for a very affordable price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    bed was uncomfortable as i have a bad back. didn't know the mini bar was not free.

    staff was very helpful and friendly. room was nice and clean. bathroom was very good. price was very good value.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    9.2
    An enjoyable stay in Riga
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Because it's an old hotel, windows rattle and doors too but those were really the only negative comments.

    The room was a good size and the bathroom was extra clean. This is not a new hotel but it's quite comfortable. The staff were more than willing to help in any way they could. We were more than satisfied with the accommodation and wouldn't hesitate to stay again if the occasion arose.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    9.6
    Good quiet place to spend a night close to the center
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I got to breakfast an hour until it ends, and some plates were already almost empty (just one peace of hering remaining), with no intention to fill them up.

    I got a really big room, with king size bed, balkony, bath. Better then expected.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    8.8
    Comfortable & Classic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no elevator from 5F to 7F. So I have to take my luggage by stairs. (not a big problem to me)

    Hotel replied my e-mail very fast. Desk clerks are polite and professional. All decoration is EXTREMELY classic and beautiful (I would say this is the most beautiful hotel I've ever stayed). There are some artistic pictures on the wall. The room is spacious with huge wardrobe and desk. Breakfast is excellent too!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    8.3
    Great location and very good prices
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    horrible wifi, when I arrived I informed them that I needed to take the final morning breakfast as packed lunch. I was told to tell them the evening before departure. On the evening before departure, I went to tell the receptionist and was told that I should have told them earlier because the kitchen had closed. I was not informed that I had to tell them before a certain time. As breakfast was paid extra, I could not get a refund for the breakfast for that morning.

    clean and spacious room, excellent price, very good breakfast, only 10 mins walk away from city centre.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    8.3
    A basic base for a city trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The worn entrance, staircase and lift hide the otherwise clean and nice facilities. Some sounds could be heard from the next room (not disturbing and not in nighttime but this was off-season and might be a problem for light sleepers if the hotel was full). The carpet was old and worn-out.

    Most friendly and well-organized service in english (including a cream-and-white-colored cat welcoming you in the yard). Location not far from old town in a silent courtyard building with no traffic noise. Clean and spacious room, clean and recently refurbished bathroom. Very good budget hotel with some minor flaws.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    9.2
    Comfortable place, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    At least some of the top floor rooms have only skylights, no windows. Didn't matter much to us, but it might to some.

    Comfortable hotel set in an old but nicely renovated central city building. I wouldn't expect much fine art, but the overall experience was great.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    5.8
    During my many travels and hotel stays I was never asked to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    During my many travels and hotel stays I was never asked to leave a deposit (20 EUR) for the possibility of minibar consumption (and also asked to pay the whole bill for our stay in advance). There is also an option to write down the credit card details on a paper, which we totally refused. The rooms are big but not cosy, the breakfast is nice and the staff quite helpful and polite (except of the guy on the first night, who should still be a trainee with a supervisor IMHO).

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    8.8
    Great one
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi-Fi was not working in my room (6th floor), although in public areas it's fine. Strange rule to leave your key when you're outside (I'm not complaining, but why? do you not have a spare one? are you afraid I will lose it?)

    Location close to city center, big room, nice breakfast. Free water near the reception. Artsy.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    9.2
    great stay in riga
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no wifi on upper floors, it was very cold in the room even with the heater on

    very comfortable bed, large room with a fantastic jacuzzi bathtub, great view from the terrace

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    5.8
    If you're looking for a bargain overnight stay, you might consider it
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My pillowsheet was broken and looked really worn. Hot water came from the tap after waiting for a few minutes (I was already about to take a really cold shower before realising I need to give it even more time). The room in general (ceiling, cupboards, counters) was worn and somewhat dirty.

    Price for the accommodation. Location was quite good as well.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    9.6
    One of my best stays..
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Only negative side was the weakness of the internet connection on the sixth floor. But the hotel doesn't make a committment of providing strong connection at all floors. So they're honest about it. Connection is very strong in public areas of the hotel.

    The hotel was really close to the old town. During my stay I never used any means of transport. I always walked from the hotel, and back in the nights. Parts of the city like the Central Market were also reachable on foot. Breakfast was free and very satisfiying. Rooms were very clean. It was one of the most peaceful and quite hotels I've ever stayed in. Slept really well. Staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Art Hotel Laine traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: