Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Monika Centrum Hotels 4 stars

Elizabetes iela 21, Rīga, LV-1010, Latvia

#25 of 153 hotels in Rīga

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1583 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    10
    We've always enjoyed our stay at the Monika and plan to stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 10 nights

    There were a few days when a large group of young men were hanging around the lobby, apparently using the hotel's internet to watch the World Cup. They were quite loud and smoking right in the doorway.

    The hotel is an easy walk to Old Town. The service here is outstanding, including front desk, restaurant, and housekeeping. The breakfast is lavish, including fresh fruit, salads, a choice of breads, hot & cold dishes, including cereals, crepes, eggs, and meats.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    7.5
    Great location.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a room in a hotel for 1 night with breakfest my flight was early I left hotel at 3.30 a.m. the staff isin't offered me a breakfest take with. the window was open and an unpleasant smell flowed through it.

    Great location. Like size of room. Staff friendly. .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.3
    If A/C is working normally, I will definitely stay again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Don't think A/C is functioning. Although it's on, but still feel very hot, force me to open windows but little noise from the street.

    Best breakfast I have ever had in 4 star hotel, very large room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful Art Nouveau stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit of distance to Old Town area, maybe good 20 minutes walk.

    Located in Riga Art Nouveau area and the hotel itself has a beautiful ambiance. Both restaurant and souna were excellent. Cosy and comfortable. We wish we could stay longer!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.3
    Great location, a nice area of town next to the Art Nouveau area and across from a park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel is next to a not too busy cross roads. I was on the top floor so was not bothered by the traffic. Lower floors might be a problem.

    The location is in the Art Nouveau area of town. The old town is about a 15 minute walk, 20 if you want to stick to the parks along the canal. Breakfast was a definite highlight. Really good choice of warm and cold food. Coffee was from a machine though.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    5.8
    Quite nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel doesn’t have its own parking place, what really made our life difficult, there was no proper air conditioner in the room, so we had to leave all windows opened and deal with flies and mosquitoes in the morning. Don’t think I’d stay here again.

    Quite nice location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    8.8
    Good hotel in Art nouveau area of Riga
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing special. If something that was tv channels without football in english:)

    Location in a nice diplomatic neighbourhood. Nice breakfast. Beautiful building. Easy access to the centre by walking, tram or bus. Sauna available 24/7 by request. Staff. Spacious room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    7.9
    Large, comfortable bedroom, a reasonable breakfast was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning was not effective and the noise from the road was excessive when the windows were open.

    Large, comfortable bedroom, a reasonable breakfast was included and hotel was nicely located opposite a park.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyable weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was good.

    Good location, near the street, but not noisy. The personnel is professional and helpfyl. The rooms are clean. The bathroom has everything you need. Breakfast has high quality, hot croissants ! Next time will choose the same hotel in Riga.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    8.3
    Perfect for a girlie weekend away .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel decor is sad. Carpets need replacing , the odd crack in wall filling but then the cost would shoot up , but a great room rate , against dated decor . Room rate wins for me .

    Spacious rooms and bathrooms . Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    8.3
    Had a fantastic time
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed was really comfy but the room could do with just a little updating.

    Location was amazing, far away enough from the touristy setting of the old town but close enough to everything. Near the river, near the park, near the centre, amazing restaurants and coffee shops on the doorstep. Beautiful location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    The room was very quiet;
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very quiet; bathroom spacious; and the breakfast had a wide selection of delicious food. The staff were also very friendly and accommodating.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    8.3
    Very pleasant stay with beautiful park in front of the hotel and walking distance to Old-city.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location of the hotel along with its service makes stay at this particular hotel very comfort and enjoyable. Staff of the hotel is very friendly and eager to provide any possible assistance. I would like to note Alekseys from Reception who was very helpful to manage my late check out!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.1
    We were three persons and the third bed was really really...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were three persons and the third bed was really really bad. We asked for a extra mattress but they didnt do that. Instead they gave us some blankets that didnt helped the extra bed. The extra bed. Smells that popped up sometimes here and there. Not so much in the room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    9.2
    Nice breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no parking. The parking space cost extra 10 € and was available from 18:00 on Sunday (check-in at 14:00), but the hotel administration do not inform that parking on the street is free of charge from 17:00.

    Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    An amazing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is hardly anything to criticize.

    We were very satisfied with our stay and the level of service in Monika Centrum Hotels. The staff was very polite, friendly and professional, we felt really welcomed and well-treated :) The breakfast was very good, with plenty of local delicacies, for example salmon. And private sauna use enhanced the entire experience.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    8.3
    Good value for money, had a nice stay, can recommend.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking for cars (but I didn´t asked specifically, parked my car in another location).

    Good value for money, very convenient location (for my purpose of stay), good choice of meal for breakfast, room comfortable enough, spacious, equipped with almost everything you need, clean, looking very good (may be after reconstruction?), free wifi, can recommend for stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel in a lovely area
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very welcoming, friendly, approachable and nice. The breakfast was amazing. Would definitely recommend as the hotel isn't too far off from the city centre and bus and train station but far away enough from the buzzing nightlife to get a good night's sleep. The room was stunning and very clean like the rest of the hotel. 10/10.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.6
    Very nice place to stay with an AMAZING berakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was a little bit smaller than I expected, and I guess the carpet could have been a bit cleaner, but it's not significant. Benefits definitely outweighed these tiny disadvantages.

    Everything was great, especially breakfast. We had an opportunity to visit sauna and use the fitness room. The staff was friendly and welcoming and we couldn't ask for more. The location is a bit off center so it's calm and quiet.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    I was happy to stay.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I didn't like they want to charge me 20 euro for some fizzy drink. They need suppose to ckeck the room and don't make embarrased the client. Overall its nice.

    It was great. Room service was great and staff. I was very happy to stay there.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant enough, only wish I could have turned the heating up..
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mix up on arrival as they had the wrong day to collect me at the airport, however, I did get a free bottle of wine as an apology..

    Great selection for breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    9.2
    Lovely classic hotel, great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was quite dark and a little bit cold, even with the heating on.

    Nice classic building in a beautiful area, close to the centre. It's well kept and in a great state. Quite clean and a lovely place to stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    10
    Great location, comfortable beds and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WiFi was very slow and dropped quite a lot. There was a delay checking us in for no apparent reason, only one person in front of us but still took over 20 mins to check in. The staff were friendly however.

    The staff were very friendly although not very fast at checking us in. Bed was super comfy and the bathroom was very clean with a large bath. Nice view of the park from our window which had a lovely framed wooden arch as the window frame. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    8.8
    Central part of the city, spacious rooms, good breakfast,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some rooms are "smoking allowed". Check in advance not to get into one (if you don't smoke)

    Central part of the city, spacious rooms, good breakfast, friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    8.8
    Nice stay with a touch of history
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Awfull smell of cigarettes on staircase, limited parking by hotel (on the street) which you can find occupied even if you booked it...

    Great location in the centre (a lot of Art Noveau around), historical building, superb breakfast with local touches

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel about 15-20mins from the centre of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great hotel about 15-20mins from the centre of town. Breakfast was included, and the rooms were very spacious. Really enjoyed our stay and would recommend.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    10
    Lovely Latvian getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Quite honestly there was nothing not to like.

    Everything about this hotel was perfect. The staff were super friendly & spoke extremely good English, which was great for two UK travelers with zero grasp of Latvian. The breakfast was beautiful with a wide selection of options available. The hotel was in a perfect location to explore all the city had to offer by foot or tram etc.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    10
    Great stay in wonderful location
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In the middle of the Art Nouveau district. And within walking distance of the old town. Dinner at the hotel is recommendable. Try the LV menu.There are also enough shops and other restaurants in the neighbourhood. Public transport at your doorstep. And you are accross a very nice park. Breakfast was quite good. Enough to choose from. Hot and or cold dishes in buffet style.The tables and chairs are nicely dressed and give the placean almost serene atmosphere.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    8.8
    Pleasant hotel by the park in the Art Nouveau district
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For those not used to cities there is inevitably some traffic noise. There is no public lounge apart from the small bar.

    The hotel is in the attractive Art Nouveau District with a pleasant walk across the park to the old town. The Art Nouveau museum is in the next street with some nice cafes (eg Rasols). Our junior suite was roomy with a comfortable sofa and bed but without local style. Receptionists were very helpful. There was a good choice for breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    7.5
    Nice hotel in a beautiful neighborhood
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast could have been better and should have been available until 11 (they stopped bringing new products well before).

    The hotel is located in a nice neighborhood and the room was as described on the pictures. Everything was fine.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    6.3
    Tolerable place, but don't understand where the high rating comes from
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    At first we were given an extremely strange room - dark, tiny bedroom, additional room had only one armchair, no couch... it wouldn't even have been possible to sit there with two people. Totally purposeless, felt like a waiting hall. I complained, and was given another room - the same one, on an upper floor. Again, I complained (which is unusual, haven't done that for ages) and finally got something that matched the description on the website - a large room with a double bed and a sofa. However, it was cold (but would heat up later on) and smelly (which wouldn't go away). Anyway, as we didn't want to change a third time, we stayed there. Breakfast was rather a catastrophe: Choice ok, but at 10:30 on a Sunday no bread available (breakfast until 11:00). Not enough tables, so people were standing around and queuing. Quality of food rather poor (scrambled eggs inedible, bacon and pancakes ok). Personnel was responsive to requests, but not what I would call "friendly". Overall, o.k. place to stay at, but has definitive minuses and is not really convincing value for money.

    Room (Junior Suite) was large, bed was ok, room was clean. Location alright, not far from the old town (easy walk), nice neighbourhood.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful Location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had a room for smokers - nobody gave me the question about those possibilities. And I did not want to solve the problem immediately, because I had arrived after midnight.

    Perfect breakfast, very helpful staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    6.7
    Could be better with little extra effort or cost
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was average. Poor selection and table was dirty. Fresh juices are normally available in hotels around the world, the sugar filled syrup offered here are dangerous, especially to diabetics

    Clean room. Friendly reception

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    8.3
    In general I like to stay in that hotel, next time I will look for a hotel closer to the Old city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were asking for a quiet room, and we got a room facing to the street, there was no heating in the room at September, the hotel is a little far from the Old city

    Breakfast was very good, Sauna were very good, the Park near by

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    Atmosphere in the hotel is very nice.
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Atmosphere in the hotel is very nice. Beautiful old building. Great location - just infront big park, nearby old town (just by walk), and 15 to the airport. Very good breakfasts!!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    10
    great :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    most of the rooms do not have 'nice view' however in Riga it is normal. if you want to live in center there is no other option. But I do not go to other cities to look outside window but to tastefood, travel, sightseeing. So ignore it and go outside

    super clean staff really nice quiet!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    7.5
    A decent place to stay for Riga travelers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Weird electric circuitry in the room which you need time to get accustomed to. The cleaning staff was rather intrusive, sometimes knocking on our door during early breakfast time.

    Nicely located in the "Art Nouveau" neighbourhood, the building itself is a nice piece of architecture. Comfortable overall. The staff was rather helpful. The brekakfast is quite good and there is a lovely bar on the first floor that works until late.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    8.8
    Monica centrum hotel is located in the so called quite...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Monica centrum hotel is located in the so called quite centrum (green area with a number of embasies and nice art nouveau architecture), so we enjoyed our walk to the hotel from the old town or more central attractions. Decoration of the hotel feels somewhat dated, but it was very clean and we had a peaceful rest with a good night sleep. Selection offered at the breakfast buffet was generous also for late arivals (we went there only some 20 minutes before the closing time). Their reception staff was polite, but not overly welcoming (rather discreet); on contrary cleaning staff was rather accomodating and were always there for giving directions around the building. All in all good value for money

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    6.7
    Located in the Art Nouveau district, it repents a good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff was professional, but not really helpful. Some chairs and tables during breakfast were not clean.

    Located in the Art Nouveau district, it repents a good compromise between the city center (reachable in few minutes walking) and parking possibilities.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    7.9
    Nice place for a couple of nights in the Art-Nouveau district of Riga center
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air conditioning was weak and noisy, bed mattress too soft.

    I liked the cleanliness of the room and a nice included breakfast, as well as helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    9.6
    Perfect destination for the weekend sightseeing and partying trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No car park. A public underground parking 5 min. walk away. Quite noisy outside, because of the busy traffic.

    Situated in the very city centre. Close to the Old Town, next to the park, some fabulous art nouveau architecture nearby. A double-room was very comfy and cosy, pleasantly furnished, large comfortable bed. Electric kettle, TV, mini-bar. The bathroom was spacious and convenient. Polite and helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    8.3
    The hotel location is nice.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't find slippers in my room.

    The hotel location is nice. This is a most beautiful city area with interesting architecture. The room was small but nice. The staff is very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    8.3
    The young man at the reception desk was excellent and even...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The 'upgrade' to a junior suite was a room in the attic.

    The young man at the reception desk was excellent and even went out in the rain to make sure our car was parked in the correct space.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    10
    Great location and very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location in the heart of the Art Nouveau region within easy walking distance from the old town and ferry boat dock from Stockholm. It is also close to bus and tram stops. The hotel is most comfortable with very friendly personnel who gave us a free beer while waiting to check in rather than requesting us to come back in three hours when the normal check in starts.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.6
    An Amazing Hotel in Rīga
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Location in a historical building near the art nouveau district. A few minutes away from the city center. It felt like a 5 star hotel. The service was impeccable and the free WiFi very fast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.9
    Lovely base for exploring the old town and beyond
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The decor was perhaps a bit dated; the high ceilings, while also a nice feature, meant that it was nearly impossible to fix an unattached curtain hook as it was so high up! I imagine if I had complained, they would have fixed it but it was a minor issue so I didn't actually remember to bring it up at reception. The drain in the bathtub was a bit slow when taking a shower.

    Bed was comfortable and room was spacious (very high ceilings!). Well-stocked mini-bar and a safe in the room are always great to have. Good water pressure and hot water for the shower; it was nice to have a bathtub although the drain was a bit slow. Tea and coffee-making facilities meant you could have a cuppa whenever you wanted. Breakfast had an excellent assortment of foods, including a DIY waffle-maker and selection of hot and cold foods, fresh fruits and yogurt parfaits, smoothies, etc. I didn't get to try everything although it all looked good. Staff was courteous and those at the front desk and reception were especially nice; they stored my luggage for me after I checked out but still wanted to explore the city, and helped me locate an item I had forgotten in my room. To get to the Old Town you could take a bus/tram or walk through the park. There are gorgeous Art Nouveau buildings in the nearby streets so be on the lookout!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.9
    Good hotel, the breakfast was nice and had some vegan food,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good hotel, the breakfast was nice and had some vegan food, I requested oats in hot water and they were happy to do it. The gym is small with treadmill, bike and multi gym but it was nice. Beds are comfy. Not too far from the old town only 15/20 minute walk but right next to art nouveau sights.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    10
    Great variety for breakfast, spacious room and bathroom, and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A minor annoyance is the doors you encounter at the top of the back stairway, hard to negotiate with luggage.

    Great variety for breakfast, spacious room and bathroom, and attentive staff. I've stayed here a number of times and always enjoyed it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    10
    wonderful as always!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was great, thanks

    I arrived late but my room was waiting for me. Always loved this hotel and the breakfast has improved a lot! The shower was newly refurbished and bed very comfortable. Will return!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    8.3
    Very good price-performance-ratio, but slightly stale design.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was mediocre, although in a decent temper. The interior trim gives a somewhat aged impression.

    The beds, room service, and the bathroom all were overall great. Availability of AC is a big plus, allowed for a great sleep (windows open would be too loud) in conjunction with the good beds. Bathroom has a high-quality equipment. The apartment had a balcony. Finally, the staff was competent. Price-performance of our offer was excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    9.6
    Very pleasant stay in Riga
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Monika centrum hotel is located in one of the most beautiful street Elizabetes in Riga, it's 10 minutes away from the Old town, so perfect location, good service, very good breakfast. We really enjoyed our stay in this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    7.1
    Good location if traveling by car
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They had junios suite without windows (only small ceiling window) and it was very dark. Next night we had a new room but forgot the extra bed

    Good location if traveling by car

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    7.5
    10 years visiting decadent hotel, with lovely spacious room in. Breakfast staff rude only negative.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast staff terrible.. Really disappointing after 10 years of stay in hotel. Just best not to ask for anything otherwise they say rude things in Russian thinking i dont understand as they clean tables.

    10+ years my hotel of choice in Riga. Staff generally very friendly. Rooms very spacious and decadent feel with ideal location for my work.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    Beautiful hotel in a magnificent Art Deco building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staircase carpets need to be replaced, but this is a minor item. There are lifts.

    Friendly and efficient staff, large room, good breakfast, great location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    7.9
    Beautiful hotel well located
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the staff at the reception were a bit terse, but of course they were young and maybe a bit nervous and not so fluent in English. The room was rather cold and turning the thermostat did not do anything. The night lamps were not good for reading. The lowered down ceiling above the armchair was dangerous, I bumped my head badly when getting up from the chair.

    Breakfast was good, except coffee from the machine.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    5.4
    3 star-hotel with not matching photos and description of the rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Quite a problem to park a car nearby, specially if you're with little children or during bad weather. - We ordered 3 same type no smoking double rooms, which are stated to be spacious 20 m2 size and include a Seating Area, nevertheless, 2 of ordered rooms were much smaller and did not include the sitting area at all, moreover, one of the rooms was awfully stinking (cigarettes), so that it was impossible to live there with a child. When we asked to change the room, the receptionist was really unhappy and said she can do nothing, as the hotel is full. When we asked about the room size (actually that was the reason we chose this hotel in the first place), she also said, that the manager will be at work only on Monday (we arrived on Saturday), so nothing can be done. In the end, as we paid for the stay during booking, no money were given back for providing us smaller rooms. The management explained, that the hotel is really old, and room size differs! So please, charge differently or, at least, do not state the mismatching information and nice photos of the rooms, so that the person ordering the exact room type, would get exactly what he expects and pays for! - Restaurant is hard to find, if you're taking stairs; the amount of tables is not enough for all the guests, same with the food - when something is finished - it can be renewed only after 40 minutes! After 8 am (weekdays) you'll hardly find any bread rolls or pastry left. The breakfast is far from fabulous! All in all, as a frequent traveler, I can say, this hotel deserves no more, than 3 stars :(

    The location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    5.8
    4 star price tag for 3 star comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    First of all, make sure you get double bed room instead of twin room (if that's your priority) as this is aparently a lottery untill the very moment you open your room door. Staff promised to change it to double room next morning first, but never happened. Breakfast menu is almost out of vegetarian options, quite vague.

    Spacious bathroom, nice bar inside.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    8.8
    Confortable and nice hotel for a long week end in Riga
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast room quite crowdy after 9:00.

    Spacious and nice suite room that costed for 3 persons the equivalent of 40€/night/person, so very good quality/price value. Excellent and abondant breakfast. 15mn walk from the old city.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    10
    My great stay at Monika Centrum Hotel, Riga
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I cant find anything I didnt like.

    Perfect location, marvellous and helpful Staff, super clean, lovely breakfast, enchanting place. I have travelled the world over and never had stayed in such perfect environment than at Monika Centrum Riga. I will recommend it to anyone that goes there and if I ever went back I would certainly stay at the same place.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    10
    The staff were great, the hotel itself wonderful, the rooms...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My partner is black and at times we felt uncomfortable with looks that we got as we walked around Riga. This had nothing to do with the hotel and it was not everybody that did it, but coming from the UK it hadn't crossed my mind that this would be an issue! Riga is truly beautiful though, with great food and drink.

    The staff were great, the hotel itself wonderful, the rooms and breakfast very good. I liked the location not being in the old town because Riga is small and from the hotel you can get to all places easily on foot.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    9.2
    Spacious and comfortable room, very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spacious and comfortable room, very clean. Breakfast was quite good and complete. Located in a quiet area, a bit far from the old town but nice surroundings. Great value for money!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    7.9
    Not all information is easily available
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When asked at reception for a table to be booked for dinner in a restaurant , we were assured it wouldn't be needed to book, it was full so we then had to go elsewhere, after getting a taxi there

    Excellent breakfast options

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    8.8
    The breakfast was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The mattress was a bit worn out.

    The breakfast was very good. The staff person who waited on us for a late lunch was very helpful and accommodating He was the friendliest of the staff we interacted with.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    10
    Conveniently located in the centre of Riga - sumptuous room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small point (as this was a last minute reservation) - parking would have been difficult as the hotel car park was full on arrival. I had to park on the street but, as it was a Sunday, there was no need to feed the pay & display meter. I'm sure that if I'd booked earlier then parking might have been available.

    Conveniently located in the centre of Riga - sumptuous room (bathroom has under-floor heating!) and one of the best night's sleep I've had in a long time! The television even had the BBC News Channel! The Monika Centrum combines value and comfort - there really is nothing bad to stay and I would highly recommend staying here if you're visiting.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    9.2
    Great city, museums and value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is on a cross roads with the inevitable traffic noise but the double glazing is pretty effective.

    The hotel is in the new town and therefore much quieter and more relaxed than the old town and is situated opposite the one of the pleasant parks. Being upgraded to a suite. Great reception staff. The breakfast selection especially the fresh fruit and the rye bread.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable hotel for short stay in quiet area
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Public Wifi almost didn't work Only very fat pillows

    in a very quiet district, surrounded by embassies, easy walking (about 1 km) to centre. Very good 3-star or average 4-start would be fair European ranking. Decent breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    10
    Splendid hotel
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a splendid time during our stay, in our Junior Suite with balcony. Wish we could have stayed more days to continue to enjoy the numerous great and excellent qualities of the Monika Centrum Hotel which made our very first visit to the magnificent city of Riga so much more memorable and super-pleasant!! Room was spacious and squeaky-clean, breakfast was plentiful and delicious, internet was lightning-fast and free, staff was friendly and courteous. This hotel deserves to be rated not just 4-star, but 5-star... Millions of thanks for everything!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    10
    Very nice hotel to stay with the whole family!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That would be better without the carpet on the flour in the room.It was not dusty, but my husband is allergic and his nose scratched all the time.

    The bad in the room was huge!It was a real king size!Very big room, with balcony.Big and clean bathroom.We used sauna at hotel a couple of times, it was perfect.Staff at hotel speaks both russian and english,which was very comfortable.The breakfast was as good as home-made.We liked our stay very much!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    10
    Good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I chose this hotel because of proximity to the office I had to visit, but it is not also too far from old Riga quarters. Monika is located in a very charming neighbourhood, very nice jugendstil and art nouveau houses, lots of cafes and restaurants. Staff was very helpful and friendly, breakfast variety was good enough, room spacious and clean. I would recommend this hotel without any reservation

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    9.2
    Peaceful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No complaints

    Peaceful location. Easy to find and park. Our room was spacious and bright with two arched windows and a balcony. Good breakfast, too.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    8.3
    Monica
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    when we booked the room, in reservation was indicated much bigger room as we get. We lived in very small room and this room not fulfilled our expectations. Actually, we picked up your hotel only because of the room, and now we are not sure that we will come back

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    7.9
    Quiet and comfortable rest with excellent breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pillow could be less

    Very delicious breakfast, a good choice. Comfortable bed, quiet, nice view from the window (on the 5th floor) of the park. Cozy room.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    8.3
    Good quality, reasonable price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Smell in the bathroom was not good. I guess that the reason was this room was not occupied for a longer time and waist-water runoff system on the floor of the bathroom was dry (all water in siphon evaporated) and all smell from waist-water system was coming out. But maybe there were some other technical problems. If someone will have a plan to go to old town, it will take 10-15 by foot. For me it was good opportunity to exercise. Pillows were too big for me.

    Room was spacious and clean, staff helpful and friendly. Good selection of breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    5.4
    It's not like it seems
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are very small. Furniture and interior are very shabby and smell like grandma wardrobe. The view on busy street so you cannot sleep with open window .

    Nice place near the park.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    8.8
    Amazing location. Good size rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Corridors and one of our rooms smelt strongly of smoke which wasn't overly pleasant. This and the less friendly staff on check in day our only complaints of an otherwise great stay.

    Amazing location. Directly opposite a beautiful park which you can stroll through all the way to the old town. Kids playground right across the road. We had a junior suite which was huge!! We had room service and the dinner was delicious. Staff super friendly on day 2 and helpful, (not so helpful or friendly on our first day). Breakfast had a good selection. Pretty hotel from the outside. Quiet rooms

    Stayed in December 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Monika Centrum Hotels traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: