Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel NB 3 stars

Slokas iela 49, Rīga, LV-1007, Latvia

#114 of 153 hotels in Rīga

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 885 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beds are comfortable, food is excellent (omelette for breakfast is so wonderful, that could be a single reason to stay here). Overall food in restaraunt is very delicious, abundant breakfast. Parking lot is spacious. We like the hotel very much, suitable for families as well as for couples.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The was sunny day. There was only small window in the room, so room temperature was about +26 inside. Air condition could solve thus problem, but unfortunttely the hitel doesnt have it.

    Good location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was too much noise coming from outside, cigarette smoke too. It was going on all the way through morning 3 days in a row and the staff didn’t do anything about it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms were dirty and smelly and the beds and pillows were beyond uncomfortable. We changed rooms two times and finally we got the best room of the hotel, which was nice and met our expectations. The breakfast was okay. The staff was helpful and polite.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was little bit greedy. I sent a message two hours before check-in, asking if it would be possible to arrive earlier. I received an answer in 30 seconds - yes, for €10 extra (while the room price was € 25 per night!). I didn't take that. When I arrived 2 PM, the room was ready and the hotel was not full either. Not quite reasonable (by my opinion) to try to charge extra € 10 when you actually have free rooms for earlier check-out. - Also, not a problem for me, but rooms are on first and second floors (not on ground floor) and there is no elevator, so the hotel is not suitable for older travellers or those who are not able to use stairs for their health reasons.

    Location little bit off-centre but you can take tram or bus to Old Town (walk to bus/tram stop 5 minutes + ride about 15 minutes). Large rooms in renovated building; snooker hall on the ground floor; excellent breakfast included in price. Free parking in front of the hotel. Rooms are large, with TV and big bathroom; excellent (super-fast) WiFi. Friendly staff. Breakfast was great and filling. Fridge in the room. - Good place for travellers with car or motobike, but also for those who prefer good room for lower price little bit off-centre (practically I paid twice less than I would have paid on same days for a similar room in Central Riga). Just take into account that the hotel is on the opposite side of Daugava river compared to Old Town, so if there are traffic jams on bridges (morning, evening, special events), it can take quite long to reach the centre, or from centre back to hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small is very bad inside the hotel including the room. Facilities are very poor. Breakfast is very basic.

    Only reason I stayed because it’s walking distance to Rīga Strading University.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Steps to room in the house outside main building.

    Amazing relation price/quality. I really surprised that for such price can be such conditions proposed. And it's with breakfast!! The staff is great and helpful !! I left some item in room. Just called the desk and it's just awaited me!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    During breakfast I missed butter instead of margarin. But I know that lack of butter is a political issue now in Baltics :(

    The receptionists were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower floor was't clear enough. Everything outside the room was't so modern as usual costumer want.

    Air conditionier at room was really helpfull at sunny day. Clean rooms. Kind stuff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No lift we were on the third floor, and the bed was uncomfortable.

    This hotel was near the public tram. Not much to do right around the hotel. Good place for one night stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was poor.

    Good location, easy to reach the center using public transport. The hotel is old but the rooms are nice and clean. Parking by the hotel available. Wifi working good, A/C in the room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didnt get any dinner, because there was a cupple of big groups dining. The staff didnt serve us! They even didnt warn us, that we could not get the dinner!

    We were interested on the botanical garden. It was very close, just next our hotel!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Far away in isolated place, hotel is in bad shape, towels are smelling and old, not changed from long time. Not good place to visit if you respect your money and time as it will go waste at end ...

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I reservated two rooms, with same size and conditions, but one was like suite and the other was a much smaller m2 and had a bed which doesn't confirm to cuddle in double size bed, because one of us was often falling between the bed/beds. For breakfast I got heavy pancake, felt like bone inside there. (They have an commercial sentence that the kitchen is Rigas best kept secret) :D But it all was excelent for that price, so we had much fun.

    They have pool tables there with bar 24h. So you can play pool, snooker and some other pool there. So much fun. There wasn't many kids yelling there and the hotel was warm and nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Meals are overpriced.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wifi was not working on the morning. No sockets near the bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    ..

    ..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff, never heard Good morning or hello.

    Very good breakfast. Light and comfy room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    -

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not sound proof. I could easily hear the noises from the outside and neighbouring rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Suitable for drivers, builders etc. But not for business trips. Bad & very uncomfortable, old mattress.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was really cold because

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personnel was great, also the breakfast and for the pricethe room was better than I expected.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the walls are from paper, I could hear everything the neighbours were doing.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too compact and least facilities.

    Only the location was convenient for us

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy, thin curtained, unclean rooms. Bed are very uncomfortable

    Breakfast only.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stuff, waiting for recepitions for 20 minutes to get room key. Food was very bad. I don't like this place and whole hotel.

    Cheap room and cleaness

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very run down

    Proximity to Stradins University

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was old and uncomfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location in the quiet place, fountain

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    polite personnel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Cleanliness in staircase and bath.

    You can play pool game & drink cheap beer 2.5Eur. Breakfast is good, but 10:00 everything is closed

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs renovation. Breakfast was not good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast included in price

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfy bed, pool tables

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast, nothing for those who come later.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very good for cheap price. Super breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fake juice, dirty tables. No common style in the room, random cheapest furniture.

    Parking, friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    a real duoble bed not just two single beds put together

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room, bathroom, it was very outdated and poor quality

    Free wifi,the breakfast was included in the price

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Viss ok. Viss.patika.

    Reception un virtuve

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good breakfast, comfortable bed, clean.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good location, clean, close to old town. Breakfast is very varied, everyone will find something for themselves.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast very good , staff excelent........

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fridge

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    super

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean and tidy room, near the center, wonderful breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Black mold in the shower. Clogged rain gutters. Water was running on the windowsills. Awful noise all night

    Breakfast was OK.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room stank like old socks. Room was also next to a big road so could hear traffic all night.

    Location, reception was nice

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ran out of food at breakfast.

    Room exceeded expectations. It was big, light and comfortable. Not too fancy.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The waiter in the bar was away long time, nobody take care

    the location and property was good for our business trip by car

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff are nice, need to smile more though, but I think that is cultural.

    Great location, close to Downtown Riga

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only fridge doesnt work, but it wasnt needable for us.

    Good place, cheap room for family.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathrooms were a bit on the dumpy side

    The beds were great and rooms, well, roomy.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice and peacefull. Helpfull staff. Lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel in it's territory has few buildings - so your comfort kinda depends on where you gonna live - from one building windows are straight to the street, so it's kinda noisy.

    Nothing really special - you get what you pay for. Not far from the hotel there is botanic garden and park.

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    beds not comfy , tv not made operational despite of requests , no electric kettles , no water bottles , breakfast buffet repeated every day ,

    location was near to rsu

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The restaurant was not opened for the dinner. The environment and the style generally more close to the style of 1990-ties making the hotel not very cousy .

    Good value for money. Quiet, clean, good connection with the center, large free parking area.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    One woman administrator, she didn't try to help us when we ask some questions and ignore us for a while, because she sad i am busy.

    Breakfast meniu,room for such price,and other things

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room was very small, plain and not really clean. The photos look much better than the reality! It also smelled strange, the only window led to courtyard balcony. No air-condition can be problem during hot summer. "One large double bed" is only two normal beds put together (so still spliting). Poor WiFi signal in our building. We arrived late in the evening and everything was scary - the location, strange people playing snooker/pool in the hall.

    Good price, breakfast ok, tram station in front of the hotel

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I came back to my room to find the window had been opened by housekeeping and mosquitoes in the room - There was an air conditioning unit, so this was unnecessary. There was no lift.

    Although not impressed with my stay, it wasn't disastrous.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Couple

    The bed was too soft i believe

    The staff was really nice. The location was surrounded by Green areas. Not fat from city center. It was comfortable and clean.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff is not polite and helpful. I can not order my dinner for 30 minutes so I need to go to bar and order again. They didn't answer my questions about the city.

    Location is far from city center so you need to use the tram. Room is ok and clean. Breakfast is good. Private parking is good and secure for motorcyclists.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We booked a room with a/C. We got a room without a/C. We were offered a tiny fan.... After waiting a view minutes we got the 3-bed room, with a/c, which is a nice room. Sadly the device is placed in the hall, so it takes a while before cool air reaches the beds. Bathroom is very small. Not that clean; when chasing a bug, dust and spider webs fell down. Beds are old, matrassess thin and not very comfortable for people over 85 kilo'S. Breakfast was disaster: almost everything was gone and when I tried to ask for silver ware, the lady in charge snapped and reacted as if she is having a burn out. Luckily, 2 other employees jumped in and things got refilled, so all guests (about 12 including us) could finally get enough to eat.

    We needed a place last minute, this one was available and for a very reasonable price.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We did not get the room I had booked (family room), apparently my reservation (made 2 days upon arrival) had got lost... As we arrived quite late in the evening and children were tired, we didn't have much choice but to accept 2 separate rooms in separate houses, instead of one family room for 4 people. So 2 of my 3 children had to stay by themselves (!) in another, older building (the room had no a/c nor wifi). Furthermore, hotel wanted to charge me for the family room (which we had booked but didn't get) and only upon my refusal and some negotiation I paid standard price for 2 separate rooms we actually had. In the end, I did receive an apology, but it was very disappointing experience nevertheless.

    Parking and cleanliness - but that's it on the positive side.

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    In the room 401 located on ground floor were a lot of mosquitos. Take your fumigator for good sleep!

    Superb hotel for this low money. Good breakfast. Not in the city center, but 20 minutes by tram 5 to Central station.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very poor breakfast choice, restaurant supposed to be open till 10 , but arrived back at 9.30 one eve to be told no restaurant closed, horrible breakfast, staff not friendly and barely spoke english, will never ever go back there

    No positives to mention

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not in a nice area at all. Not well connected to the airport, albeit not really far. The structure of the building reminded of a temporary (kind of post earthquake...!) one.Furniture very much 1980s style!

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    - Able to hear clearly sounds that were near of your room. - Staff was not smiling much. - Ordered food took bit long.

    + A varied breakfast. + Able to play billiard. + Private parking place was good.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff very friendly. RU EN LV. Breakfast is good. 15 minutes by tram #5 to the center (13 January stop). 15 minutes by bus #22 + 10 minutes walking from the airport.

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I send an email asking for the directions to that hotel from central bus station about two weeks before my visit. That email was never answered. It was the only unpleasant moment - everything else was awesome)

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    This is my second trip to Riga and I wanted to find a reasonably priced hotel within a short distance from the city centre. Hotel NB was a great choice. The staff are helpful and speak English well, which helped as I am a solo traveller. The rooms are nice, comfortable and cleaned regularly. The breakfast is limited but is enough. The food is lovely and well priced. The billiards room is a good addition also. The hotel lobby has lots of information regarding site seeing etc.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Have been great and it was nice to see the friendly and smiling staff, very clean, rich breakfast, free parking, very liked fridge in the room :) a lot off snooker tables, conditioning room, thank you

There are also 79 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel NB traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: