Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Pils 3 stars

Pils iela 4b, Sigulda, LV-2150, Latvia

#8 of 14 hotels in Sigulda

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 389 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was sparse. Staff was not friendly or helpful. Second morning the lights were off in the breakfast room even though there were guests eating - just odd.

    Close to everything, in a quiet park setting. Room was comfortable and spacious. Thoughtful additions like a fridge. There were signs that made finding the hotel very easy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful Hotel, it is a perfect location, railway and bus station are just a few steps away and all the shops, restaurants etc. you can find around the Hotel. Kind, friendly and helping staff at the reception. Welcoming atmosphere, warm and cordial stay. The room was cozy and very clean. Nice interior. The breakfast was rich and variate, great food, there were provided special attention to each quest, very friendly personnel. Also the Restaurant in this hotel was great, high standard of service, all staff very professional and quality of food the best ever, very delicious. Would definitely recommend this Hotel to both, businesses and leisure travelers.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no complaints

    Very good, cozy and small hotel centrally located in Sigulda. Friendly staff, clean and quiet place, free parking and good breakfast. Nice little restaurant in downstairs where even a high-qualified band on Saturday evening (Duo Index). Thanks for all, we will be back again :)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staffs behavior on Facebook

    The hotel was nice. But when the staff writes on Facebook and knifes you in the back and tell lies and accuses you. Just because I write a personal entry with an internal joke that actually means that I enjoy the traditions of the entertainment. But they apparently used google translate or whatever and got it totally wrong. So they publish a comment that is really mean and accuses the guests that were using their cellphone for emailing as “pornhubning”. Then I have to recommend that this hotel is removed from bookings. Because I really don’t want any other guests to face that horrible thing.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No complaints at all!

    The staff were friendly and helpful. We arrived well before check-in time and were still able to get into our room right away. The bed was comfortable and we loved the decor. Free breakfast in the hotel restaurant, and a discount for other meals. Good wifi. No lift, but the stairs aren't bad and staff offered to assist with luggage.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice clean hotel with helpful staff and comfortable room. I stayed here the night before my wedding. Being a typical man, my wedding shirt was creased. I asked reception for an iron, but the kind lady ironed it for me...she did a great job. It was a very kind gesture...thankyou so much.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poor breakfast (I took a slice of bread and it had mould on it). The bed was very, very, very creaky. The room was clean, although we found a cap of beer bottle and hair band on the carpet.

    Friendly staff, great location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service at their cafe is a bit slow but the food is homemade and delicious!

    Very friendly staff. The rooms are great for a small town like Sigulda. The bathroom was brand-new and the room was cozy. Breakfast is simple but impressive at a small hotel like this one.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel restaurant's food was not good at all, portions were small, inadequately dressed, the service was clumsy. Breakfast was poor. The noise of the street came to the room, sleeping was not possible. Our feedback of the tree sawing noise was not of interest to the receptionist. Promised/booked "lux suite" was, in fact, a large cold room with a tiled floor, with a mist in the ceiling and no windows in the bedroom. For four people, only one bathrobe was given. Promised satellite channels were in total 12, of which 3 were empty, 2 were double, and the quality did not match the expected. Worst experience ever!

    Generally friendly staff (not all), interior design in the hotel lobby and corridors, location, customer-friendly prices at the bar.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location in "city centre" of quite small village. Everything was in walking distance. Breakfast was simple, but in line with room price per night.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Narrow bed. Limited TV channels. Rather expensive for what it is.

    Centrally located, everything within walking distance. Quite at night. Friendly staff. The restaurant served a reasonable breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The mattress was too short for a person who is 180+ cm tall and you could feel the springs. The shower did not have a light in it (or it did not work). Some of the towels were very worn out (holes). The carpet was not very clean (dog hair etc).

    French balcony, friendly staff, good location, there was a kettle in the room.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be extra careful with what booking.com specifies regarding included breakfast. In my case although it was stated that breakfast was included, once booked I noticed that breakfast was available for additional fee.

    Pleasantly surprised with breakfast spread.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    From two days breakfast, only one of them was OK... Don't know how it's overall, but Saturday, 6th August 2016, breakfast was horrible! Even my boyfriend (as a guy he is just happy to get any type of food) said that it was terrible to put any bite in your mouth... So 0 points for that day's chef... I am repeating myself but it was honestly the worst tasting food I have ever tried in my life, how can you even possibly make scrambled eggs taste this bad??

    The place is very clean, great location for tourists, comfortable car parking, free strong enough Internet. Reception works 24/7. Room cozy and quiet, so we had a good night sleep after long day of activities. Great location!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The suite is rather bizarre, with entry directly from the street through a reflective glass door, not really cosy. It is also quite tasteless, with a tacky picture of the Turaida castle pretending to be a window in the otherwise windowless bedroom. And you could get lost in the bathroom with its corridors. The shower does not drain well. The other rooms could be better though.

    The location is great, close to the railway station and the fantastic Mr Biskvits restaurant (check it out!). The breakfast is OK but short of great. The suite is large but that is all that is good about it.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel overpriced. The staff isn't welcoming, the rooms are clean but it was smelling (restaurant) and the decoration is really old fashion. Well, nothing to justify 80 Euro in Sigulda. Avoid.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel deserves a better and remarkable front. The harnasses in the hotel are overdone.

    Nice and cosy bedroom with balcony and watercooker. Breakfast was very good. Friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Double bed in economy room was not double (120cm and impossible for 2 person to sleep there) Windows have light shades which does not block any sunlight (even not in superior room) Breakfast was almost non-existing (1 sausage, 1 cheese, 1 yogurt, 1 sour coffee, boiled frankfurter)

    Good location Quiet hotel

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was really small but considering that we were staying in the economy class room it was understandable. However, the bed was rather uncomfortable and due to noise and smells from the street it was not a good idea to keep the window open, yet there was no other way to keep the room ventilated.

    A nice hotel in the centre of Sigulda, perfect for budget travellers. Simple but clean and adequately equipped with breakfast served in the bar downstairs.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small room - double bed inadequate for two persons. Patio furniture in room, no comfortable chair. So lie on the bed or stand.

    Friendliness of staff at front desk & in restaurant. Walking distance to the national park & train station. Lovely bathroom, very clean facility.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location. Good food. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice small hotel. Family and pet friendly. Very friendly staff. Wifi. Free parking. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower cabin drainage was inefficient.

    The hotel is a really nice cosy place! BBQ outside and the friendly hosts made my stay even more pleasant!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    rooms were small

    staff was ready for our arrival and welcoming everything was clean and just as expected

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a very good room with comfy beds, shower was also good and the breakfast was extremely good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor breakfast. Bed wasn't comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. Maybe more information from reception on activities in the area.

    The breakfast was excellent!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Peaceful setting.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Second floor without lift

    Good bed and linen

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was classed a deluxe, in no ones view would it be delux.

    Not much

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small rooms, no soap in shower and room didnt get made on sexind day. Smelly carpets.

    Good location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to find parking lot. Could use a few more smiles and good mornings.

    Large room and wonderful shower. Breakfast was terrific.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Ideally positioned, very welcoming, very clean and comfortable

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was too hard but that is subjective not meant as criticism.

    Excellent staff and great breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great accommodation and restaurant

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hot breakfast dishes were not really hot enough.

    The room was spacious and clean. The included breakfast offered some variety.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had pleasant surprise on arrival - room got upgraded. Very nice stuff, food was lovely.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    GOOD Breakfast and very friendly staff!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV

    Everything was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cozy and comfortable

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast was poor

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is not much diverse.

    Clean and tidy rooms, air conditioner, interesting decoration of stairway and hall.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to mention.

    People, quiet place, they washed our clothes.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV reception (during Olympics)

    Deluxe room was good size.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly staff, very good restaurant nice location (next to city center (walking distance) and shops).

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    -

    we had suite with living room and bedroom, very nice and quite, close to the center

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Staff were very helpful

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is poor

    Location is great. Nice room

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A very basic, yet convenient place in everything. Sometimes, one could find a better value for money.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small, not even having space for 2 suitcases

    Free parking spot available, located quite in the denter of Sigulda

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room with bathtub was good but it did not drain water even after one night. Internet connection suspended at night and I could not enjoy my plan (Could not use internet also next morning). TV channel is very limited and has only one English channel (Euro news). Disappointing.

    Walking distance to railway/bus station.

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed in a economy double was a bit to soft for my preference. However not a huge drawback. Still enjoyed the stay.

    Hotel "Pils" has a great location. 3 minutes away from train and bus station. 10 minutes away from skiing slopes (what was important for us). Great breakfast, great value for money.

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    everything was great

    Great experience, nice rooms, food for new year was great!!! For 34 EUR we got tasty food like for 10 people although it was 2 of us.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had heavy bags, we were upstairs, there's no elevator

    The staff were relly friendly, the food was good, the facilities were good. We'd stay there again, no problem.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The leaf blower in the morning outside our window!! Wifi didn't always work.

    All the girls were very friendly & welcoming. Our room was clean & although unusually decorated, it was fresh & nice. We had everything we needed & no hassles getting in & out. The bar stayed open late so we were able to get drinks & snacks when needed. Breakfast was pretty good! Good selection each morning & loads of coffee!!

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were in Delux double, so maybe this is why we didnt notice any significant minuses. Here are few: Balcony was with very high side walls, so no view at all, if you want to have some meal on it in summer; No elevator (at least we didnt see any) to the 3rd floor, what might be a problem for some (not us).

    Location is very good. Very warm room in winter period. Nice and very comfortable double bed; roof window; huge balcony; 50inch (!!) plasma TV; free and fast wi-fi. Good cooperative stuff.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We got a nice room for a cheap price nice location coz the stores are just walking distance. It was clean aswell and the room is nice

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly and flexible staff, very nice room and good breakfast. Very good value for money!

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Could breakfast room

    Nice staff

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Loved this place, definitely I will come back....

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Väga meeldiv personal, kiire internet, puhas !

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff very helpful, clean rooms, nice breakfast, nice big room. Nothing to complain about here.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I feel really good. The Wheater was good

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Unfortunately there is no lift!

    Very professional and helpful staff, nice breakfast and comfortable room

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Terrible odour of sewage system in "comfort room" , broken baby cot, number of dead flies covering window sill

    Location excellent!

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room could have been bigger

    The stuff was friendly. Breakfast was good

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Sigulda is a place worth to visit. Hotel is run in a good way.

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Everything was great! Location, service, breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Good position, close to bus and train. Staff very pleasant, breakfast good

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    None

    Friendly helpful receptionist on night duty as I arrived late she checked train times for me and even produced some food for me.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Rooms are a bit tired in terms of design

    Location is great

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast could be better...

    Located close to supermarket and restaurants. Really nice park near by. Our dog love it.

There are also 25 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: