Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Rixwell Gertrude Hotel 4 stars

Ģertrūdes iela 70, Rīga, LV-1009, Latvia

#52 of 153 hotels in Rīga

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3679 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.6
    Nice stay at a chain hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was ok, but not as good as it use to be on 4* hotels. The parking (7€) was 7 min from the hotel.

    The family room was spacious. Took about 15 min to walk to old city. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.9
    Nothing special
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no restaurant or lobby bar. Pretty small hotel. More like three star hotel.

    Nice service at reception. The receptionist gave us a bigger room because we were with a small child and booking information on the web was wrong.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    5.4
    Bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not safe room smal bayh you cant move dont change tawel dint clean room and not safe point of you tea put and disk and the reagltions of cooling sistyem are broken dangers to touch 302 it was room 392 nouise room 305 from canalzitions you cant sleep all night you hair all what falling in canlastions

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    6.7
    No chance to rate this as 4* hotel, It is OK but not 4*.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No chance to rate this as 4* hotel, It is OK but not 4*. Bathroom as big as the room. Some of the things in bathroom were broken or not working like sunk of the vane.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    10
    Good value for money, a little far from old town, proper hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was ~20 min by foot to downtown old Riga, breakfast spread was decent (basic continental with cereal, hashbrowns, warm breakfast).

    Really nice spacious accommodation, staff was very friendly, beds were comfortable and there were many toiletries. Felt like 4 star hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.1
    Good for a one night stay.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Super hot in the room. Conditioning didn't work.

    Good for a one night stay. Super good bathroom - better than the room itself:) Similar size:) Polite staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.2
    Cool! ;-)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was cold. Also, finding your room initially is like solving a maze :-) You need to guy upstairs, then downstairs, then upstairs again.

    Location, services, rooms were superb!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    6.5
    Before Riga Marathon
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was my second stay in the hotel before Riga Marathon. I was disappointed, that bed-clothes wasn't clean i.e. it was used before. At least it smelled that way. I don't like this feeling int he hotel. The rest - ok. i.e. location, room size.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.2
    Great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location. 30min walk to old town. A bit too far out of town.

    Great value for money. We were lucky to be upgraded and the room was lovely. Nice bath to relax in. Best breakfast buffet including champagne.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    5.0
    cannot be recommended as 4-stars
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    far from 4-star standards: bedding, linens, towels, toiletries of the cheapest quality; many more poor details, not to mention furniture stored in the 2-nd floor hallway (what can happen if you need to leave the building urgently?) The only thing that kept me there was my non-refundable rate

    breakfast, espresso in the lobby bar, reception staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    10
    Very very tasty breakfast, friendly and nice staff, very...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one minus - bad wifi connection

    Very very tasty breakfast, friendly and nice staff, very clean and beautiful rooms, good location, comfortable bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.6
    Was clean and tidy, the bed was comfortable, the staff were...
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to wait more than 30minutes to check in as receptionist was dealing with a difficult guest, wasn’t the receptionists fault but was frustrating having to stand for more than 30minutes waiting.

    Was clean and tidy, the bed was comfortable, the staff were friendly. Great value for money (although it was to the same standard as a UK 4* hotel but it was much nicer than the 3* hotels we stayed in around Latvia).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    4.2
    This is not 4*, very poor condition
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Smelly room with old furniture (lamp near bed was looking terrible), no lighting on the sealing above the bed, very dark in the evening. No shower gel, shampoo and hair conditioning in bathroom! No free water in room. Slow and not stable Wi-Fi. This is NOT what you would expect from 4* hotel! Never will stay there again

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    8.8
    All important tourist sites,old town,museums,art nouveau...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All important tourist sites,old town,museums,art nouveau area, all in reasonable walking distance. Excellent varied breakfast and very reasonably priced.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.2
    It was very pleasant.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was a combination of overcooked and undercooked. There was great variety, but nothing was very well cooked.

    The room was pretty and clean, and with everything I needed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    8.8
    Value to money was excellent, enjoyable breakfast and great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some load banging from other rooms, a lot of noise from the corridor was heard inside the room.

    Good breakfast, nice rooms, friendly and helpfull staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    7.9
    Our room was flooded with water before our trip and we were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was flooded with water before our trip and we were not informed about that. On the other hand staff opologised for that, gave us some tea, offered us a free taxi to the better hotel which was paid with our initial payment. Good experience, really helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.3
    Very nice hotel
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The twin bed wasnt what we wanted because the beds were separated during the night. And the other was falling to the floor, also as a sentiment feeling not good.

    I liked the breakfast very much. Specially the fruits were fresh and tasty.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    5.8
    You get what pay for
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was a little far away from everything. Bathtub didnt have a plug but we got one by asking.

    Breakfast was ok. Grocery store and kebab places nearby. Nice bathroom

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    7.1
    ok but can be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Small room space (12m2) and small beds. Towels are thin and little devastated. The door to the toilet either in the room or in the restaurant have problem with closing and opening so one can have fear of being trapped in. Neighborhood not nice, location quite far from the old town.

    Very good breakfast. Cleanliness- great. Very helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    7.9
    Very attentive staff) Especially at night, the girl...
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very attentive staff) Especially at night, the girl (reception) offered accommodation options and arranged parking in the territory, which is very rare for Riga! You can get to the city center and have a nice time, as well as a snack in Lido and have a delicious coffee at the Orange Cafe)))

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.6
    Got absolutely satisfied with hotel quality for such a low...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location could be a little more central, but taxi ride to the old town was 5-7 eur which is fine

    Got absolutely satisfied with hotel quality for such a low price. Cozy room, spacious bathroom, very comfortable beds! Room was clean and warm, the receptionist was very helpful and caring (despite the fact she was an intern, she was very professional). Breakfast quite various and tasty, was still refilled even 10min before closing. Thanks for a wonderful stay ☺

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    5.8
    I felt cheated, the hotel is a 3 star hotel in actuality while it is advertised as a 4 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    - the Internet (something very important for all tourists) utilized an ordinary low speed subscription of about 10 mbps that all the rooms share. Consequently Internet was unreachable about 1/3 of the time and in the rest so slow that unusable. This has been a complaint for a long time by guests and never addressed - there is no supper provided and the hotel has no amenities except for beauty services for women, paid of course - like all budget hotels, this one also had just one receptionist and minimal staff - the receptionist was working 12 hour shifts, always seemingly there - first room was too cold, under 18 degrees and room could not be heated, had to ask for a new one - the room had a decapitated floor lamp that i had to disconnect for safety reasons and worn furniture. Everything cheap looking. - reception asked for credit card for use of minibar in fridge (no level of trust) - breakfast is abundant but always the same and it only features cheap food (hot dogs instead of sausages, beans). The scrambled eggs were disgustingly watery YOU CAN FIND A LOT BETTER IN RIGA FOR THE PRICE

    the staff was hard working and courteous

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    7.9
    Value > Price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a little too far from "everything", also the view from the window was terrible... :( But that's about it. Everything else was just perfect. ALSO THERE WAS A BATHTUB!!! LOVE IT! HAHA.

    A great room for a great price! I loved it to be honest, it was pretty small, yet really nice and cozy, also super-tidy! Reception was really friendly and breakfast was nice too. Overall - Great place

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.8
    good place!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast for the ones who happen not to like meat is poor (very soviet). Bring your own veggie sandwich

    nice little place. I have used it several times - never fails.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    9.6
    Friendly staff, very clean hotel, location good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't really fault the hotel . If there was a down side it would have been the pillows, not very comfortable.

    Staff were very nice and friendly.room was very clean, and breakfast was very good. Well worth the money.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    6.7
    Ok for the money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow WiFi Very small room with a view to firewall Almost cold in the room and I couldn't make it warmer.

    Quality of breakfast, Staff Big bathroom Price Clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    10
    Great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two small blankets for double bed, instead of one big one is really strange

    We arrived really early in the morning, and the stuff let us check in for extra cost. The shower had some problem, but the stuff let us change the room without an issue. I guess the difference between good and bad hotels is not the absence of problems, but the ability of the management to resolve them quickly. The breakfast was good, I liked the crepes, apricot jam and porridge (although on Monday the 15th it wasn't as good as on the weekend). Minibar was packed with alcohol, and snacks. We really liked our stay, the stuff made us feel welcomed. The hotel is within walking distance to Old town, but in cold weather it wasn't as pleasant as it would be in the summer.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    4.2
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The locked door in the middle of the night ((. Could not get in to the hotel, was in panic of thinking to spend a night outside. No one told us about locked door. So we was very stressed because of this, waited 10-15 min until some of the stuff woke up eventually and opened the door for us. Not very good experience. Also room is small, no way is for 2 people to be comfortable there. They called it small double. I would say small single with small double bed. No space at all. Location is not good, so far away from all destinations. There is only 1 tram stop next to the hotel and not very often. 1 per hr maybe. Really uncomfortable to walk that far and couldn’t find any valuable place to eat. Yes Lido next but it’s like a canteen.

    Breakfast is average like I’m all others hotel in Riga. Bathroom fine but cold floor.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    7.5
    In general, good place to stay in Riga
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room/bathroom ventilation was not set properly (the bathroom was so cold if one did not left its door open!) Shower curtain was not changed for a long time and dispersed not convenient smell.

    The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was spacious and clean, minibar had too many options and breakfast was fairly good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    9.2
    Value for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quiet area, but in the same street several excellent restaurants and by walk to the Old Town, just 15 minutes. Staff is very helpfull and preorder taxi is possible (from/to airport, 15e).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    6.7
    Room was nice, extra bed comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Terrible smel and a mold on the walls in the bathroom, breakfast room so small that we had to wait untill somebady finished their breakfast.

    Room was nice, extra bed comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    7.5
    The hotel is offering two types of parking spots - one on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is offering two types of parking spots - one on the site (very limited number of spaces) and another is at the partner-parking are which is located about 7 walking minutes away and so not very comfortable for walking with luggage. The overall condition of that area is extremely poor, very disappointing.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    4.6
    Stay in riga
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was far from the center, the room was very small, the breakfast wasn't not as good

    The one in who was in the reception was very helpful and friendly,

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    8.3
    Good standard hotel, nice staff, proper breakfast, we chose...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Area around is bleak (though we found superb beer shop/bar on the same street 5 min away), no parking on site (7min by foot), bathroom was rather cold, worn down towels

    Good standard hotel, nice staff, proper breakfast, we chose it because place was convenient for our work

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    9.2
    Small room (maybe because we booked the economic one), with...
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing special

    Small room (maybe because we booked the economic one), with excellent restroom. Nice breakfast: you can find both salty and sweet foods. The hotel is in an old building and moving from a room to another may be not straightforward but that's ok. Finally the hotel is 15-20 mins from the old town, by walk. You can find trams and buses passing very near to the hotel. Mind that Riga city centre and old town are not the same place (as the free walk tour guy reminded us ;-) )

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    10
    Really pleasant stay and excellent for business travellers.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Again, there was an issue with the water at the hotel, but I guess this is a one-off issue

    There was an issue with the water at the hotel which honestly made my life quite uncomfortable. The staff however was really helpful and they made sure they accommodated my complaints. Apart from that, the hotel was very very clean and good value for money. The rooms were also very spacious.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    7.9
    Better than expected for the price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It took a while to check in on arrival which was frustrating due to the time, but I'm not sure how much the hotel could realistically have done to mitigate this.

    I arrived late in the evening from a delayed flight but was assigned a massive room, which was great. There is a bath-tub which is pretty rare to find somewhere inexpensive nowadays, and the selection at breakfast was exceptional. The room(s) were delightful and I wished I was staying longer!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    9.2
    Rixwell Gertrude - quite good option for the price and place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It could be a warming floor or at least heating coil in a bathroom, was quite cold to stand up on the freeze tiles. It was strange noisy from the radiators on the night time, like all the time "flowing water".

    We have got a family apartaments, it was really nice, 2 separated rooms, lot of place! Super comfortable beds! Bath in the bathroom, not shower as I requested, thanks! :) Ironing system in a room, hurra! Lovely carpet, interior everywhere. Delicious breakfast. Professional and friendly staff. Fridge in a room. Really good price and place option in Riga. Will definitely come back next time!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    7.5
    It was nice to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is beautiful, and has a luxurious style. Although the rooms are looking old and rubbished already. Would be nice to add new towels for example. And for me and my baby it was a bit too cold even with a heater on max. But overall everything was very well.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable walking distance from city centre, good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only downside was the long wait till warm water came from the tap. The hotel would benefit from a parking option near the premises.

    The staff upgraded our standard room to Family room with a bath. The rooms where spacious and clean enough. The beds where comfortable and the street noise inaudible, wery good sleeping experiance.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    I love the place how go back there and how recommend friend family:)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was prefect for me

    The room was prefect exactly the one I saw on the picture.is Not like some hotel the present beautiful room on the website them onece you arrive the to Hotel the give you different room and not good like the one you saw on the website .but this one was really good

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    10
    A good budget place to stay. U will not be terribly disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Honestly i could not find a single fault. Superb value for money

    Wondeful hotel, i got a room upgrade on arrival. Staff found the right answer for every question. Could not find a single fault.everybody should stay here when they go to riga.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    7.1
    Riga is a nice town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked transfer through e-Mail directly with the hotel but there was no taxi when we arrived . We had to arrangeras the transportation ourself. They had a company having a conference in the room across the hall with an open door. People running in and out and talking outside Our door intill after 22:00. Nothing was Done even after We talked to the reception.

    The room was big and clean. The hotel in general was clean. The breakfast had most of what everyone wants. Even champagne. The staff was good in english and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    10
    Truly pleasant and comfortable stay for business or leisure.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Air conditioner made some noise during the night.

    Breakfast was really versatile and selection differed a bit on both mornings of my stay. Staff was quick, quiet and pleasant, barely noticeable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    5.4
    Be ware
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff unfriendly. Room nothing as indicated very small. Tried to charge my card for extras that I didn't have. Be careful think it was a scam of reception.

    It is clean good bathroom. Good breakfast selection

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    7.5
    Hotel was execellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel was execellent value for money. Elements of service were very poor. I asked to pay all outstanding costs a few hours before I left, and paid the bill I was provided with in good faith. I arrived home to find that I had been charged a further €13.00 for mini bar items consumed 3 days earlier that had been "missed". I was also charged for a bottle of wine with a damaged neck that broke while I was opening. This should have actually been served to me. This was refunded after a complaint.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    9.6
    Hotel was nice, good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was next to the staircase and when people moved back and forth they were slamming the door throughout the night. It was a bit annoying.

    Hotel was nice, good value for money. It's not far from the city center, we didn't use the public transport to get there, it's within the walking distance. Breakfast was good and staff helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    5.0
    Quality going down the hill
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Have been staying in this hotel for at least 25 times,though last stay was terrible... First of all the smell in the room - personel tried to keep window open before arrival, so it was cold and when window was closed you could understand why it was open... The next dissapointment was shower - as original shower glass was broken it was "fixed" with some kind of dirty plastic curtain. When tried to use shower - all floor was with water... Bottom line is that since owners has changed, quality goes down drasticly. Now it is close to cheap motel. Dont stay there.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    8.8
    Excellent choice for the money
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shortage of hot water - coudn't take a bath. Too old and dirty lamp shades. But these are minors in comparison to advantages.

    Rooms are spacious, very good lighting, bed is very comfy, slippers, kettle, fridge, bath. Good soundproof, silience, peaceful place to stay in comparison to huge hotels. Excellent choice for the price.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    4.2
    Great :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Instead of Superior 30sq.m. room I got max 16m, very noisy. Staff ignored the issue. Found belonging of other guests. Flat TV is like monitor.

    Breakfest acceptable. Rooms newly decorated. Bathroom is OK.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    9.6
    Really enjoyed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view from the windows and opposite side of the road in the front of the main entrance in to the hotel could be better picture.

    Everything was very good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    6.3
    family circumstances
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could not use the shower because of a broken shower faucet. and in the bathroom I found strange hair. Was scheduled to meet which could not be delayed, it was disappointing. Because of the time the hotel service was not available.

    In a quiet area and fresh breakfast is delightful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.9
    Nice hotel for weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was not enough space for breakfast. Sometimes you had to wait until someone finishes breakfast. Parking was quite expensive.

    Hotel with very kind personnel. Room was very clean with daily cleanings. 15-min walk to downtown.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.6
    Very nice and comfortable hotel, near to city centre (ca 20...
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very nice and comfortable hotel, near to city centre (ca 20 min walk), friendly staff, excellent breakfest. Parking was a little far, but a small walk makes good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    7.5
    Would go again if needed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not worth 4 stars. Old fashioned, very difficult to find our room and breakfast area. No chandelier in room like on photos.

    Pretty good breakfast, nice room although old fashioned. Had a large bath and clean bathroom. Extra pillows were nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    8.3
    Nice value/price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The clothes iron was broken meaning the metal part was broke from the plastic upper part. On the morning when we were due to check out, there was no hot/warm to take a shower so that left a bitter taste for me.

    Clean, nice and varied breakfast, helpful staff, nice location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    5.0
    Nice breakfast and pleasant staff.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Toalet bowl was not completely clean when we arrived to the room. Agreed taxi transportation was not as promised but 2x more expensive.

    Nice breakfast and pleasant staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    7.1
    The stay was nice.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    the building itself is a bit old and not so welcoming and is difficult to find at nights as the signs of the hotel are just a board on the side of the building which are not flashy.

    The rooms are nice and the staff friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    8.8
    Good for exploring real Riga
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only issue is in my first reservation I had a slightly larger bed but the sheet on the bed was too small so I inevitably ended up sleeping on the mattress with the sheet wrapped around my body

    The hotel was nice, good value for money. Staff were friendly. The location was out of old town but not far from the more fashionable area in the north.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    9.2
    Very good location and good value.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bath tube was a bit too little for me (100 kg), it is probably good for small and medium build persons. There were some stained patches (mold) on the walls in the bath room. The security box in the room was not functioning (was locked by the previous guest or the staff).

    The bed was comfy and clean. The breakfast was Swedish table, with good variety and all fresh. Quiet location within walking distance to the railway station and city center.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    8.8
    Apparently you're using multiple routers/repeaters.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Apparently you're using multiple routers/repeaters. One of them was not working. And when laptop randomly picked up that one, you'd actually have no internet access.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    9.2
    Perfect hotel 4 stars. Good rate price service.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking .

    Cozy hotel. A bit far away from center but price of room is excellent. 4 stars hotel The room was really quiet and without any noise. Perfect to rest after a hard day

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    9.6
    Bed was really comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Coffee wasn't that great. Hotel is not exactly in the city center, there is still quite a lot walking if you don't want to use public transport.

    Bed was really comfy. We booked small twin room but we got upgrade for a bigger room (I believe it was family room). Bus station and old town are ~ˇ25 minute walk away, but you can go there with public transport as well. Hotel's receptionist was really nice and pleasant. Breakfast was with nice variety of food. There was coffee and tea making facilities in the hotel room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    2.5
    The "4 star" is a fake (please see my review with photos)
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    1. The room is super simple and crude - the bed don't even have a bedside table (see attached picture 1&2). 2. The room is dirty and bad - the bed cover is dirty and the pillowslip can't cover the whole pillow (see attached picture 3&4) 3. The internet is completely unusable - continuously disconnect and super slow speed - 50% packet lose and over 200ms response time by pinging Google! (see attached picture 5) 4. The breakfast is not fresh - no one touch the fruit and the fruit stays there forever without changing (see attached picture 6) 5. The reception staff is not happy every day.

    Literally nothing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    8.8
    Got free room upgrade, which was good news.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Got free room upgrade, which was good news. Parking is a bit far away, but a little walk didn't hurt. Breakfast was good value, considering the price that I paid for the room. Bed & pillows are quite comfortable. All in all - good value!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.5
    Very comfortable hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very comfortable hotel. In the room you can find everything you need for comfortable stay. Liked breakfast with large choice of small additional snacks, and good coffee with small croisants and very delicious honey. Very calm location and comfortable bed. Spacious bathroom. Worth more than you pay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    5.0
    The hotel doesn’t meet expectations and high reviews. Unfortunately, not worth the money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The hotel staff tries to settle guests in a cheaper room. While we checked in at the hotel, the hotel staff twice “mistook” a room, slipping us cheaper and smaller rooms. It’s not just a single instance apparently. Take a look at the other reviews. While we checked out the staff wanted to cheat on us allegedly disappeared alcohol. The breakfast was not so special; not much to choose from. Meal was not tasty and didn’t look delicious. Omelets were always cold. We saw a cockroach in the breakfast room. A waiter brought "clean" plates with a soap scum once. A Superior Double room wasn't very sound proofed and needs to refurbish. Cleaning room weren’t satisfying. The towels were old. Too narrow blankets on a big bed.

    Easy walking distance to a supermarket, bus station, railway station, Old Town Quiet district Big and light bathroom Tea/coffee making facilities in the room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    7.9
    It was a terrible experiance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a terrible experiance. The woman who shaped the documents in the hotel was clearly unkind and arrogant, I visited various hotels around 30 to 40 times a year in many countries, but this is the first time I met with a so unpleasant attitude. She couldn't explain normaly where I can parking car. She didn't say hello or goodbye. But all remaining stuff was nice, breakfast was good.

    It was a terrible experiance. The woman who shaped the documents in the hotel was clearly unkind and arrogant, I visited various hotels around 30 to 40 times a year in many countries, but this is the first time I met with a so unpleasant attitude. She couldn't explain normaly where I can parking car. She didn't say hello or goodbye But all remaining stuff was nice, breakfast was good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    8.3
    We had rooms that were a reasonable size and facilities for 3 sharing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The in-room iron was too difficult for us to get to heat up - needed some instructions. Also, we had some problems getting the TV going.

    Pretty well run with helpful staff. A good compromise between walkability to the sights and ease of parking. Even when we didn't get a spot in their car park, it was easy to park on the street nearby.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    9.6
    - price and quality ration was good
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - iron in room 503 was battered - didn't understand the working logic of AC device but happily didn't have to use it

    - price and quality ration was good - near to city centre (20min walking) - breakfast included

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    8.8
    Perfect hotel, room has everything what you need, even iron!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect hotel, room has everything what you need, even iron!!(so you don't need ask on reception, if you need iron your clothes) Good Breakfast!!! Nice & helpful stuff!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    10
    Best value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Breakfast was nice, but All time same menu, nothing was changed during our visit

    Best value for money. Five min from the old city and train,bus station. Very good and very clean rooms. Good service for my family We are stay in double room 5 persons, big rooms!Very nice will recommend this hotel to my friends.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    9.2
    If you are one a low budget trip, this is the place worth to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no parking near the hotel. We had to leave our car in the parking lot, which was 900 meters away from the hotel and cost extra 7 euros. Also, if you going to stay at the upper floor, keep in mind that there WiFi signal is very poor. We were living on the third floor and it was impossible to use the Internet...

    Cozy interior, friendly staff, clean rooms. You can sleep well at night as surroundings are quiet. In the bathroom there is a huge mirror, so girls should be also satisfied :)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    6.3
    They firstly tried to give me a horrible room which was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They firstly tried to give me a horrible room which was very small and hard to arrive. After I complained they told me that there are no other free rooms but after I didn't accepted it there was suddenly another room avialable. I booked a standard room but they told me that I would only get the small room. fraud everywhere

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Rixwell Gertrude Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: