Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Guesthouse Jakob Lenz

Lenču iela 2, Rīga, LV-1010, Latvia

#13 of 24 B&Bs and Inns in Rīga

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 940 B&B reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.9

  • Comfort

    6.7

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    6.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.9
    Helpful staff, nice breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not a problem for us during this low-occupancy stay, but number of toilets/showers per person was low. Rather dusty on top of cupboards.

    Helpful staff, nice breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    6.7
    Good but not great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The main problem was that the bed was Very uncomfortable and it creaked loudly with every movement you made (not exaggerating). We could also hear everything when other people were in their rooms. Last but not least, the wifi didn't work...

    The breakfast was really nice and the location was good, too. The room was clean and - apart from the bed - everything was fine.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    9.2
    Good value for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room could be bigger, tv did not work.

    Room was small, did not look so good as on pictures. But the breakfast was great. And they have a friendly stuff. Location is good. Parking is in front (payable).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    9.2
    Locaded embassy area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Locaded embassy area. Very near from Gaudava river. Rooms and toallet/showers are basic rooms like in pictures. Straff is very friendly and helpful. For customers there are parking inside building. Staff speaks well english

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    6.7
    It was OK.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Inaccurate information about parking. We couldn't get an iron throughout our stay. Funiture could have been better.

    We really liked the staff and cleanliness.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    6.3
    OK, but not worth the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a double room, but was provided a triple room. Bedsheets falling off the bed, room was not airy enough, could barely sleep. Very hot in the kitchen as well. Totally plain design, the room was depressing. Not worth even a half of what I paid.

    Lady in the reception was nice, shower is good, breakfast is fine.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    7.9
    I really needed wifi and feeling cool. I hadn't that
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was not good. Too complex passwords. Many networks users sometimes it doesn't work. It stops working... The were no towels at the room. The room was not prepared for a warm day. No air conditioner . No fan. Small toilet. Small amount of WC .

    Clean , big , quiet, good location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    6.7
    Great place, center is not far away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking costs 5 euros extra, there weren’t any towels at the room. In the midle of showering water was gone. But the problem was fixed quite fast. We have ordered a room with one large double bed but got one with three separate beds. It was explained that the guest house is fullfilled. Anyway, they shouldn’t give the option to book the room if they can’t or they should notice their guests before arriving.

    Great place, center is not far away. Receptionist was nice, his knowledge of languages- great!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.8
    great place to stay when visiting Riga at an affordable price; we'll be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    en- suite shower old and repaired,slightly mouldy but not an issue as the room was great; no change of towels despite a 3 night booking, only a problem for the bath mat which didn't ever dry out; tedious wifi code system

    great room ( Nr 27), very comfortable bed, good decor of room and public areas, amazingly well placed in art-nouveau area of Riga, affordably priced

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.3
    Nothing special, but good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sheets a bit smelly, bit noisy (not the location but inside the hotel: we heard next door room and weird clattering sound close to our room), hotel and room kinda spartian (not cosy or esthetic), bathroom was just fine but felt a bit oldish, breakfast nothing special

    Friendly staff, not of many words but kind and helpful! Good and quiet location, but also close to Nouveau art district and 10/15min walk to centre. I personally did really like the bed, a bit hard but I slept very well. Good value for money.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.5
    good for sightseeing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -old furnitures, definitely need to be changed -4th floor without lift - refrigerator in common kitchen needs cleaning, and generally room to restore (but if everything was as it should be then the price would be twice as high)

    +localization +priv parking place (5eur/day) +good breakfast +large room +24h reception

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.8
    Location close to almost everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Alot of stairs and no elevator. It is a good workout but if you have problems walking, it can be a problem.

    The location!! About 10 min walk to city center /parks and maybe 15-20 min walk to old town. Parking available. Breakfast is ok. Spacious rooms and a safe neighborhood. Shops/cafes and restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.2
    Great value for money , more like a 3 start hotel than a guesthouse
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Just a caveat this guesthouse is suitable for you only if you prefer Art Nouveau Riga to the old city and if you have no problem going up 4 flights of old building stairs . But this is clearly shown in the property description so if you can't put up with this just go elsewhere. Frankly for this price it was exceptionally good

    Friendly staff, generous buffet breakfast ( quite unexpected at this price ) , very spacious junior suite , well maintained clean premises , 24 h reception, luggage storage , WIFI working fine .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    4.6
    My holidays could have been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Because it was holidays when I was there, the hotel could not provide laundry service. They should have informed me in advance so that I could have done it earlier. No coin laundry elsewhere also. They do not clean rooms daily. They only clean ehen guests leave.

    The breakfast was nice. WiFi is very fast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    5.8
    It's fine for 1 night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stuff was awfull, not all but the man wearing glasses. I would recommend to be aware of him. He was very unfriendly and telling not appropriate jokes about the safety of the car and bicycles and about other guests who could probably take you things from the fridge etc. and how he was bored with the status of genuis traveller, because it provides with discounts for breakfast and accomodation. The car parking is not only for guests and not really safe so we needed to keep 2 bicycles in the storage room. The receptionists don't really see who is coming to the guesthouse. The breakfast was mediocre. Almost all good parking spots are reserved by people who live in this guesthouse constantly, so you can't park your car on their "reserved" car spots even if they are free in the afternoon, because later you will be asked to change the spot.

    It's fine for 1 night. Size of the room. 20 minutes walk to get to the Old City.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.2
    Perfect solution for reasonable price!
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect solution for reasonable price! Only 10-15 min walk to old city center, very calm and safe district. Friendly guy on a reception. Room was very clean and comfortable ( same as on photos) with really comfortable big bed. On shared kitchen we had fridge, kettle and tea. Towels provided. Overall we were very satisfied with our stay here.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.2
    The guesthouse is situated in the beautiful Art nouveau...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The guesthouse is situated in the beautiful Art nouveau neighborhood, 15 minutes walking from the old town. Breakfast is good and the staff is very helpful and informative. Very good choice for the price. Note that there is no elevator.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    8.8
    We spent a very nice vocations in Riga in the Jacob Lenz Gest House.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no place for shower things, soap, shower gel and clothes. There were vary lack of kitchen staff.

    The location is perfect. The reception service is good, very polite and friendly. Everything was close, city center, supermarket and parks.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.1
    Generally I spent a good time with my familly in the Guesthouse.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room I stayed needed to be renovated and the cleaning should be more careful.

    The Guesthouse is quite cheap, good located - nearby the old town, the breakfast is included and the private parking is available (but for additional fee). The stuff is nice and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    4.6
    Choose a different hostel in Riga, you get what you pay for here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When we booked it said 'twin or double' unfortunately double wasn't really an option when we arrived and requested it. The wifi was very weak in our room. The curtains didn't fully cover the window and so the sun came directly into our eyes at dawn. The bathroom was in a pretty bad shape, worse than an average hostel that has far more people using it. Oh and despite there being free parking advertised we could use it because the carpark was full, so we had to park on the street and pay.

    The room was very large and the staff were very helpful. It was also very cheap.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    8.3
    Silent place in the very heart of Riga
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ok, washroom had some minor problems and some lights were not working in the room. But that's not a big deal.

    The location is very good and still the place is silent. Maybe not so easy to find if you're not local. Everything clean and tidy, friendly staff. Good stable Wi-Fi.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.9
    Generally i would recommend this place.
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very noisy quests and other peoples toilet next to 2nd floor junior suite bedroom. Door was moving when someone opened floor door. Was quite dirty in the room-there were old socks and dust under the bed, general building was okay. Internet is slow and disconnects a lot. Not good for watching movies, but you can check your e-mail.

    Nice building. Exellent breakfast with lots of choices and great coffee and orange juice. Very helpful staff. Near to old town and centre, very nice walks. Clean satin bedding and pure white towels. Nice historical building. Good that is has parking avaliable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    8.3
    Good if you're planning to use the place for sleeping.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was on the 4th floor - no lift. The place was equipped with the bare minimum but we didn't really need more. However, it would have been nice to have clothes hangers in the wardrobe. The hot water in the shower only works if nobody is in the other shower on the same floor. Soundproofing also isn't that great.

    We had a spacious room with big windows and central heating. Breakfast was good - with porridge and smoked chicken among other things so it wasn't your usual continental breakfast. The location was perfect - about 10 minutes walk from Old Riga and right next to a park with a skating rink. The bathroom was clean - but shared between the other guests on the floor, but this is stated when booking. If you need a room for sleeping only, while spending the day outside sightseeing it's good value for money and has the basic amenities.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    Very good staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi access

    Very good staff. We received a bigger apartment with two separate bedrooms. Very good breakfas. The rooms and bathroom were very clean. Reasonable price, very close to Old Town and very quite place. Special thanks to staff - we felt like we're in home.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.5
    Good value for money close to the wonderful building s on the Art Nouveau district
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room was on the small side and wi-fi didn't work in the bedroom, althougj it did in the breakfast room.

    Good breakfast & decent value for money

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    7.1
    Accommodation was really good ratio- price vs.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet in our room wasnt that good and the matrce shpuld be definitrly better.

    Accommodation was really good ratio- price vs. quality. Reception worked till late evening and a good breakfast was there.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    9.6
    Personal stay for personally people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking was in the backyard. If you are interested in arts or architecture, this is perfect personal place to stay. The famous Alberta Iela is just around the corner. Nice quiet area, walking distance to the old town. Also breakfast was worth of money. The staff organized taxi to the morning, it came just in time, and was very honest one, cost was about 3e to Kipsala. Big quiet room, in 3th floor, it was ok to us, but not for everyone. Coming again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    5.0
    Lightbulb missing from lamp above bed meant room was quite...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lightbulb missing from lamp above bed meant room was quite dark and impossible to read in bed. We reported it on the first night (and stayed three nights) but it wasn't replaced. Toilet seat was broken. The attachment for the shower head was also broken so you had to hold the shower head in your hand making it difficult to wash your hair. Everything in the room was very old and tired, the carpet looked ancient and dirty.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    8.3
    NIce location and nice rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed can be more comfortable

    I have booked room with private bathroom and was very surprised with cleanless and additional bath accessories(shampoo...). Very good location. Nice room with everething what you need. Good price for this type of room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    5.4
    Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit dirty, you could hear ppl talking outside the room, so not very soundproof, construction work started early on saturday morning in front of the building

    Breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    Very good breakfast, done earlier upon reqeust (as we had a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good breakfast, done earlier upon reqeust (as we had a ferry in Tallin 4 hours drive away from Riga). Thanks for accommodating this ask! Very good service in reception! Quiet location, short distance to the old town for Riga.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.2
    Great place for me.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to complain. There was some construction work on the street under my window even during the weekend, but that was no problem to me. Normally very quiet area. Commonly used bathroom & fridge in the kitchen were not quite as clean as they could be. But that too, was no problem for me. For someone else, it could be.

    Great place for me. Liked to place about at the same area of the city that I've stayed before. But as I booked later than normally, the hotel I've used before was too expensive. Guesthouse Jacob Lenz was a cheap, but for me, very good choice in every way. Nice, roomy room with shared bathroom and WC 1,5 metres from my door, shared with someone I never saw. Good breakfast, good help from the personnel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    8.3
    We really enjoyed the room, it had a lot of space.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We really enjoyed the room, it had a lot of space. When we saw the localisation of the place in Google street view, it looked a bit dangerous, but it was not! :)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    3.8
    The location is far from the city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is far from the city center. Near by is construction works.There is a strange smell in the rooms. Despite the fact that I wrote in comments that we need 1 single bed, when we came at night the administrator said that only one room is available : room for 3 people with 3 separate beds. Moreover in the morning we've found out that we are bitten by bed bugs. I would never recommend this place to any one. Think twice before stay in this guesthouse.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    8.8
    Very good place for the money! :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was 98% great. But if you look for something, then the shower holder didn't work (you had to hold the shower head in your hand). And the breakfast was served until 11.00, but when we arrived there at 10.00 there were empty trays. There is only one person who is in the reception and also responsible for filling the trays in the breakfast area. So he started filling the trays and tried to answer the phone in the reception. It took some time for us to get our breakfast, but otherways it was good.

    The location was great. We went to the city by bus (we knew where we wanted to go and it was just the other side of the city center, so we decided to use the public transport) and walked back to the hotel. It took about 20-25 minutes to walk slowly to the guesthouse and the scenery was nice- parks and the district itself.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    7.5
    Good starting point to discover the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was not very abundantly, but sufficient to start to day. The furniture was a little musty and outdated.

    We had a large guest accommodation with 2 bedrooms, living room and badroom. There was a shared kitchen and badroom on the hall. This beautiful old building lays in a very quiet part of the city, but still on walking distant from the old center.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    4.2
    Dirty and smelling
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very dirty and smelling. Bathroom was terrible. Im.sorry to say but it was the worstest hotel where we have ever stay

    Big room. Good breakfast. Nice staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    5.8
    helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - rooms from the Sowjet Union time, they remembered me on hospitals a bit. - unpleasant smell in the room - maybe as a hostel it is a good place, but if you would like to stay in a private room I would recommend to pay 10 - 15 EUR per night more, but to stay in some hotel.

    helpful staff walking distance from the center - around 15 min

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    7.9
    Personal was very frendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I pay for parking place (which you need reserve before coming to hotel), but when I get back late (about 11.p.m.) my parking spae was taken and I need to park on the street. Also we asked twin bed but there was two beds for one person.

    Personal was very frendly. Breakfeast was very tasty.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    6.3
    Good location and breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was dirty. Bathroom and toilet together on coridor for too many rooms, always busy. Bathroom at least could be separate from toilet.

    Good location and breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    8.3
    Value for your money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The interior and furniture is very basic and a bit tired but all the necessary things are there, including possibility to make tea/coffee/snacks in the common kitchen.

    Breakfast was really good: fresh, with certain variety and definitely very cheap. You will not find such breakfast around this area in Riga. The area is a bit away from the Old Town but there are many other tourist attractions like art nouveau museums and architecture. Also check the painting on a wall in the inside yard of the guesthouse.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    6.7
    The guest house situated close to the center, 15 minutes...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the first time it was difficult to find it cause the table with its name is really small. The bathroom on the floor is not clean

    The guest house situated close to the center, 15 minutes walking After the breakfast I was so full that didn't want to eat till dinner

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    4.6
    Staff prepared stuff for child, like additional bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Squeaky floors and bed. Really loud. Food is always the same, so not the best place for long stay. Parking has additional cost, which is really expensive.

    Staff prepared stuff for child, like additional bed.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    5.4
    It is cheap, relatively close to the city centre, clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The area is not very nice, shared bathrooms are not a plus at all, rooms were not as shown in the booking, beds also not so comfortable.

    It is cheap, relatively close to the city centre, clean towels.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    5.4
    We went to a concert, it was important to place closer to the Riga Arena and price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    One of room have very bad smell, we want want change- don't have. We have 6 rooms, so we deside live in 5 rooms and want money return. But Guesthouse do not did it. :( Breakfast was, but small selection

    Good location near old town and Riga Arena

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    5.0
    Hm.. good location but not in the same room again.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very old used furniture, TV was not working properly, WiFi not available in rooms. The room, beds and bed sheets had a smell, they looked clean but had a dump smell. The room had carpet and it looked old and overused.

    Location was Good and staff helpful! The common areas were clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    7.1
    Good room, poor bathroom!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stayed 1 night and we never had hot water in the bathroom. Hotel staff said that they are aware of it (great help to know!). Also the wash basin clogged up all the time. Room was good but bathroom was not. They could have made some alternative arrangement.

    Easy walk to Riga center about 10 minutes. Room was comfortable and cosy. Decent breakfast spread.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    7.9
    Excellent value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lifts, so you must carry your luggage up four floors. Old building but clean.

    Good location, right in the center of the Art Nouveau district and within walking distance of the Old Town.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    7.5
    Sometimes Less is More
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I've been here for a few days. I was looking for a reasonable hotel in Riga, less than fifty or sixty Euros. ' I spent lot for accommodations in Riga and then I found this at 25e. The room is big, because I asked for a double. The walls are bare, painted light green . There isn't a chest of drawers and a very minimal amount of hangers near the mirror to hang your clothes. There are three clean bathrooms with showers on each floor with 8 rooms on a floor. My window looked out on a children's playground. Its spare. Its very reasonable, the staff is helpful, the good sized breakfast was 6e and they did the laundry for 5e , a bargain. Your'e a twenty or thirty (or me) 40 minute walk to downtown. There are restaurants in the area and shops. All in all, if your'e on a budget, don't want to stay in a hostel, and satisfied to do witout wall decorations, a fridge, a tv, go for it. I'm content here,

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    4.6
    Could have been a better place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although I have requested for a quiet room and he said that it was a quiet room, I could easily hear footsteps outside my room. The room was cold, so I had to move the bed nearer to the radiator to sleep. The room look so empty. There are no toiletries. There is no TV here.

    The owner of the accommodation place was courteous enough. The shower was hot enough to my liking.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    7.5
    The first of May in Riga - why not?
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Complicated super secured (over secured) Wifi access which was constantly disconnecting devices. The interior is very old fashioned and bed linen seemed not to be too fresh (torn), it was clean but not fresh. The TV set was not working properly

    We received a bigger apartment with two separate bedrooms instead of a smaller booked room. Very cozy floor heating in the bathroom. Comfortable safe private parking in the backyard. Location comparing to price was definitely advantageous. Tasty breakfast were basic but not very diverse - for two days it was okay but during a longer stay it may be disadvantageous.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    7.9
    Quaint little place
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is a really old building, there is no elevator and climbing to top floors could be a problem.

    Pancakes at breakfast :-) Also - the staff is very nice and welcoming, they speak English and Russian (and obviously Latvian, but I do not speak that) and they did everything they could to make our stay comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    7.1
    Next time something else
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    First we got a pretty dirty room with spider net above the bed and bad smell. Then we got relocated to a much better one, but still the smell wasn't fresh. I am not an expert in price ranges in Riga, but it seemed overpriced for such a place.

    Friendly staff, simple breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    5.4
    Not so good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had other peoples drash under the radiator, also the bathroom was not so clean. Room was cold, plankets thin. Breakfest was very very poor. Tv didnt work.

    Staff was good and the location was good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    8.8
    The people at the reception were quite friendly and provided...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For some reason I could feel the air sifting through the window, so it was cold during the night.

    The people at the reception were quite friendly and provided all the required information. Both the bathroom and kitche n on the second floor were clean.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    9.2
    Will probably visit again when needed guesthouse in riga
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit cold.

    Great that personal speaks english by now. Great choices by having a breakfast or not (new option). Parking in secure yard under the light is also great. Price-value is in good balance.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    6.3
    We were a little suprised. Price wasnt inadequate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was very cold in our room! Also we were suprised that we have to go outside the hotel to another building go to our room (it was close, but still, we had to wear jackets to go to the place where it was breakfast). I think the price was to big, inadequate to the conditions of our cold room in another building that hotel was.

    Good breakfast, nice staff, clean rooms.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2016

    8.8
    Exceptional price/quality ratio, good breakfast, very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The quality of rooms differs a lot. Ours was quite ok but friends who stayed in 3 other rooms were dissapointed.

    Exceptional price/quality ratio, good breakfast, very good location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    8.8
    Great place for reasonable price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi-fi was everywhere but quality of wifi was low - connection was broken easily and you again need to fulfill login and password to enter the Internet.

    Beds were very, very comfortable )) and warm floor in the bathroom is exactly what you need in the cold November morning. Breakfast is tasty. With shared kitchen on the second floor of the guest house is was easy to feed our toddler in the evening. Place was quite and easy to find.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    9.5
    The most important aspect - it is very clean and cosy;
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WiFi login system could be simplified. You'll get couple of tickets with different usernames and passwords that are valid for a different period of time. Each device has to be registered with different data. The procedure has to be repeated every time if disconnected. Nevertheless - WiFi works fine.

    The most important aspect - it is very clean and cosy; great breakfast; coffee or tea available all day long for a reasonable price; credit cards are not needed to book the room; WiFi available.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    2.5
    Take my money twice and don't take it back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel take money for my stay twice . I was writing to the reception but already i don't have any money back on my bank account . I don't recommend . This is a fraud!!!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    9.2
    Straight forward, practical and logistically perfect hostel to stay in!
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked 2 person double bed and get 3 single bed room, but it was not so bad.

    The simple things that matter, clean sheets, privacy, clean toilet & reasonable staff. What i would like to say about the touket/shower? Wow!!! In every floor there is one toilet&shower per floor, where is like 4-7 rooms and i was shocked how clean and tidy it was! 10 points for that for sure!!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    7.5
    Good for an overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower turning hot to cold rapidly Internet not working properly TV was not set up, did it myself Hotels name is weird.

    The fact that I could sleep 12pm Check out time

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    9.6
    Jakob Lenz Great Hotel ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was a Litle tied ( shower try a little damp mould ) but for the price execallant value for money .. And that was the only issue .

    Staff where very helpful and always polite .the location was execallant just a 10 min walk to the centre of town .. Through a well lit park . exallant choice of food for breakfast .. Breakfast area was well presented . Rooms where well decorated . (3 rooms 6 guest ) I had a room that overlooked a school & an old picturess church ..

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    9.6
    Love this place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Showers in bathrooms were dirty.

    Love this place! Staff was really nice and helpful. Everyone speaks english. Room was clean and comfortable, with towels, glasses. Kitchen for guest is also available on 3rd floor. Breakfast was delicious and hearty.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    5.4
    Price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Price. The only thing i liked. Realy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    5.8
    Good value for money.
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was cleaned only once in a whole week.

    Good value for money.Great. value for money.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    4.6
    It was near to the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room, Bathroom dirty.

    It was near to the city.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.2
    Very nice place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The second day of my stay WIFI did not work at all. Had a lot of plans with my work... but :(

    Very nice place to stay

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    7.5
    Tore
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rohkem riidepuid kapis))

    BIG room, quite environment - perfect to sleep, but still close to the city

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    7.1
    The shower was old
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The shower was old

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    3.8
    Very bad experience
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Horrible experience for the money, not clean, walls are sticky, mosquitos, never ever again

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.5
    Yes
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Yes

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.1
    Really cosy and clean close to the center, really nice and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At daytime the room was a Sauna

    Really cosy and clean close to the center, really nice and silent at night , good english breakfast!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    7.1
    Short noticed bookind at booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet / Wifi did not work.

    Short noticed bookind at booking.com and arriving late evening were possible without problems

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Guesthouse Jakob Lenz traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: