Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Royal Square Hotel & Suites 5 stars

Kaļķu iela 3A , Rīga, LV-1050, Latvia

#133 of 158 hotels in Rīga

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 708 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.4

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    7.3

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    7.5
    Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The soundproof has a big room for improvement. Can hear the noise from the bars downstairs and door opened sound from the next room

    Best location, suited exactly in the middle of old town

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    Excellent location, walking distance to restaurants, pubs...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, walking distance to restaurants, pubs and main sight seeing. Good wi-fi reception throughout, friendly staff and good breakfast. Highly recommend

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    7.9
    Great location in the heart of Old City
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit of street noise at night, but only to be expected in such a central location. Bed a bit soft.

    Very convenient location, right in the heart of the Old City. Comfortable room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    3.8
    I will never come here again!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived quite late. We got a room that was absolutely dirty. It looks like someone used the room for 1-2-hours-meeting. We received another one that is called here an executive room. And it was not better at all. Old bed linen and towels with holes on them! Wet floor. Room has sauna that was not cleaned at all. There were some half-empty bottles. But as it was already 1 am we decided to overnight. In the morning we went for breakfast at 9 am. The breakfast had very limited selection in general. And nothing was tasty. In addition, the only waitress (who had her breakfast) at the bar in the same hour like guests told us that there is no more yougurt for today, and also orange juice just finished. Could you believe in it?! This hotel doesn’t correspond 6-star services. It may get 3 at max!

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    5.4
    Tourist trap - If it costs 35€ per night go for it, if 1€ more then forget it.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is very unfriendly, but not rude. They just treat you like “okay, you are here, here’s your key and go”. We asked for some extra pillows to put in the room and by arrival there weren’t any. Rooms are absolutely different than on the hotel photos. They are quite old. There was no safe in the room. We had to ask three times for one and finally it was provided...and the first time we asked the answer was that we don’t know why there is no safe, so we can’t say whether you get one. The TV was old and at least half of the channels were not working. To top it all off, the breakfast... that was absolute joke. There was basically nothing on the table and what was the most unbelievable, there were not enough tables, so some people had to wait until they get a table. We have been all over the world and one thing is for sure. We paid 270€ for two nights and that is surely the worst price/quality ratio hotel we have ever stayed in.

    The Hotel is situated in the heart of old town which makes it very convenient. Unfortunately no other positive comments.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    5.8
    Booked a double bed .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a double bed . Was a double bed base with 2 singles on top. Not comfy at all. The sheets had holes in. The staff very grumpy. Smiling is free. When we arrived was told can only pay cash . Card machine not working. How is that my problem?

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    6.7
    Hotel in excellent location, but poor service.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Service is poor. Ordered airport shuttle did not show up. Check in for 4 persons needed 40 Min. (just only check-in without waiting for check-in!!), promised sandwhiches for early check-out where not prepared, no tissues in the bath room.

    Location is excellent, directly in the city center.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.5
    Not so good in comparition with another visit
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - price in my visit was a biger than earlie in two times - in bath room was a tobakko Leight smell - very strange situation with payment - Credit card is allow in one situation and not allow in another. During 3 days - I pay by Card and thought the 2 days was delay - very expensive price for prolonged room for short time

    - place and personal - size of the room - clearness of the rooms - good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    3.8
    Location only
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room, furniture, bed, towels etc... old and smelly. Room is cold, A/C didn't work. Pics online are much better than real ones.

    Location only

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    6.3
    The room was good, clean and comfortable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The payment had to be made in cash (necessitating a dash to an ATM). The breakfast room was dark and oppressive. No complimentary water bottle

    The room was good, clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    5.4
    Location in the centre is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is not 5 star hotel. Maybe 3 star. Our room was too small. Breakfast - 1 hour before the end they don´t have half of possibilities you can find next day when are there earlier. Again location - if you want sleep during night (I had to) don´t stay here during weekend. It was extremely noisy all the night. We asked for quiet room already when booked and it was really bad. When asked for diferent one after first night they were not willing to do it for us. It was really bad and expensive experience. I will never come back. They are many better posibilities in Riga, be sure.

    Location in the centre is great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    4.2
    Avoid
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awful hotel, - Disinterested staff(offered to keep my bag for me upon arrival in riga earlier thab check in - they placed back in back room. At 5pm when i eeturned to check in my bag was sitting on the couch in the lobbybwith the middle pocket opened. Luckily left no valubles. They gave no explanation for this and no apology. , -Dirty(previous occupants dirty clothes left in clset, bins unemptied, dirt in surfaces of counters) Id avoid this one

    location was ideal

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.5
    Location great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms overlooking front of hotel will be very noisey at night due to bars and restaurants nearby . I did not have a good night sleep for my entire stay. I asked to me moved but no rooms were available.

    Location great!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    5.4
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s definitely not a 5 star hotel. If it rated itself fairly, as 3+, I would have had no issues. Furthermore, for whatever reasons the staff pushes clients to pay cash by lying that credit card machine is indefinitely brocken. However, once you make it clear that cash payment is out of question, the credit card machine is miraculously in order.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    6.7
    Good location, everything else was average.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very poor. We stayed 4 nights and didn't even bother go down for it. Hotel is fine, very basic.

    Good location, right in the centre of the old town

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    8.8
    The room, bathroom, breakfast, staff- was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    But the mini bar was half empty from the list(I guess it should be reffiled after each client), and recommend not to leave car in that local parking for 25EUR a day, because when driver gave us our car there were blue Winston cigarretes behind the drivers seat. Who knows what else will we find and what more has he done in the car? 🤔

    The room, bathroom, breakfast, staff- was very good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    5.4
    Suited for one night but there are too many other options to consider staying there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was poor. Sloped roof meant the room had a claustrophobic feel to it and no view from the skylight windows. Room was cold with no heating. Front desk staff were not helpful, very complicated process on arrival with each person in the party having to fill out a long form for information. Hotel is advertised as having parking, it doesn't....

    Great location, situated right inside the old town. Restaurant is very nice, underground but full of character and the food is nice, well presented and good value for money considering the location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    4.6
    Poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor choice of breakfast, staff was not very communicative and approachable (e.g. not even saying hello when we arrived); also no room service available when we called at 23h and no coffees / teas in the Executive Room

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    4.6
    The location only
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1- TV remote control doesn't work 2- bathroom doesn't clean, especially bath 3- glass in bathroom is broken 4-shampoo and the others are used 5- the most important is hotel staff doesn't fix it after my request

    The location only

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Am am very pleased to stuff that they provided me directly with the requested room. As we have stayed in this hotel for several years for New year celebration, we were very happy to stay at the same room as previous years and they gave it to us. Also there was possible early check-in that was very conviniet for us

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    7.5
    Good for 1 night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No reception (you should ring a bell), the credit card was not working, we had to use ATM with a commission. The power sockets are located inconveniently.

    Location in the very centre of Old Town. Spacious room and especially bathroom.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    5.8
    The open big wall size glass window looking at the main road.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress, it was soft and you can feel every movement of my partner during the sleeping time. The hot air fan where using to warm the room, it was very noisy and disturbing the peace during the sleep and also it wasn't enough warm.

    The open big wall size glass window looking at the main road.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    5.8
    Location in old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were asked to pay full amount in cash on our arrival, although in hotel information the credit card payment was listed as acceptable. The sofa was dirty and the chewed chewing gum was in bedroom floor. Compared to other hotels in Riga the breakfast selection was modest.

    Location in old town. The service in breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    10
    Excellent location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 17 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Excellent location, the hotel located in the Old City and good for tourism or business, walking distance to most of the sights, restaurants and bars. Staff very friendly and helpful. The room were comfortable and clean, free WiFi. The breakfast was very good with a lots of choice from the buffet. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    6.3
    Location and the breakfast provided were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff could have been more friendly and helpful. Also the Spa part of the hotel was not as advertised on booking.com. When I asked if I could access the spa area, I was told that it would be 50 Euros to use the sauna.

    Location and the breakfast provided were excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    6.7
    We wrote an email before coming that we would like to come...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We wrote an email before coming that we would like to come one hour earlier than the check in is, they answered that it is ok, but the room wasn't prepared.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    5.8
    excellent staff, interior of the room for 3* , great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the linen on the bed was dirty in the room, but staff from reception replaced it. Room was very old & the floor was very old and did not look clean

    staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    7.9
    Nice hotel, a good place to stay to see Riga.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was not very sound proof. Late night guests were easily heard.

    Very convenient for seeing the old city. Room modern and a good size. Very clean. Bed comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    3.3
    Terrible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The worst hotel I've ever been to. No one mans the reception desk, parking is eur25/ night and many blocks away, we had to see two rooms bef one was acceptable, stained carpets, lumpy bed, street noise at night, a real dump. Tried to leave the hotel after checking in and hating the room, but they refused to credit my credit card, thus we had to stay the night!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    9.6
    First time in Riga, such lovely place.
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    First time in Riga, such lovely place. Hotel in cente, great restorants around, nice people. The hotel is amazing, very tasty breakfast, told all mine friends about Riga!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    5.0
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a horrid little room which you charged me more for than my friends paid for their very nice double room in the same hotel. They used Experian!

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    Location is fantastic.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Location is fantastic. Our room overlooked the Royal Square which is at the very heart of the old town entertainment and historical area. Fabulous old buildings in all directions, masses of great restaurants and music pervading the air. Lovely breakfast & dining restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    9.6
    Breakfast was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Quite noisy at night. The beat-boxing busker was particularly nightmarish... a recurring nightmare as he was there for a couple of nights while I stayed there. Made sleep or even relaxing impossible!

    Breakfast was great. Staff are super friendly and helpful. Room was spacious and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    8.3
    The rooms were nice but a little outdated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was rubbish very disappointing for a 5* hotel. Shower was broker but did get fixed as soon as we mentioned it. Staff weren't helpful in the breakfast area. During breakfast a man come down in a robe and bare feet I didn't feel this was appropriate in the dining hall but nothing was said.

    The rooms were nice but a little outdated. The location was fantastic. The girl on reception was wonderful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    5.4
    Don't expect to much but location is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very poor, cold and not much selection. No kettle in room after we asked and they said yes but then said didn't have one. Room didn't get cleaned we had to ask for clean towels & shower gel at 1am in morning.

    The room was comfortable and clean but a bit noisy from outside.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    6.3
    Decent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a slightly strange smell in the room. The pillows were too high and therefore very uncomfortable for sleeping. We had to eventually use the decoration pillows to get any kind of sleep. The staff in the breakfast restaurant couldn't speak very good English and were not very polite overall.

    The hotel was nice and fancy. The check-in was smooth.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    Excellant location and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No television channels for down time. The breakfast was not very enticing. Next time i would buy breakfast at the outdoor restaurant around the corner.

    Location was right in the center of the old town. Easy to drop in wirh packages or to rest. View from executive double room was exceptional.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    3.8
    The only thing I liked on this hotel was the location,...
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Since the moment we arrived, the rudeness of the staff was something unbelievable. The bellboy showed absolutely no education or respect. While checking in, the bellboy was standing next side to us, like if he had nothing else to do, making comments and picking in our documents and such. Like if he was very familiar with us. My wife addressed to the receptionist in latvian (since she is latvian and royal square hotel is located in the centre of the city of Riga, Latvia's capital) to check us in and the man at the reception, wearing a tag saying "Timur", said "russian or english". My wife surprised asked why she couldn't talk in latvian, the bellboy interrupted and shouting said "don't insist!". We dropped our luggage at the room and I come down and asked Mr. Timur to talk with the hotel's director immediately or to the manager - something that was refused by him. He gave us the most silly and unbelievable reasons we couldn't do it. None sound true of course. We asked a complaints book and that was also refused - more silly reasons, he started saying they don't have one. He put me on phone with someone he was speaking with in russian and the person on phone told me he was out of the city, very far away and that they do have a complaints book. They were speaking russian, a language I don't speak and so it made me feel uncomfortable with the situation. At this moment we wanted to do a formal complaint because of the behaviour of those two hotel employes. We decided to get some help at the local tourist office and later following their advice we called Riga's Tourist Police. They told us to wait for them at the hotel's front door, an officer would come to meet us. Unfortunately they never come and while we were waiting we saw some other men gathering inside the lobby and talking with Mr. Timur and the bellboy, staring at us.

    The only thing I liked on this hotel was the location, really. It is supposed to be a 5 star hotel but it has nothing, absolutely nothing to do with a 5 star hotel. The facilities would be fitting in a 2 stars hotel category, maybe a 3 stars being a bit condescendingly...

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    7.1
    Far from 5 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is not a 5 star hotel. - They don't have bellmen. the woman at the front desk offered to help, but i took the bags up myself. - The shower was broken -I told hotel about it the first night, it did not get fixed. - there was a glass missing in bathroom - The internet internet didn't work much of the stay - they didn't provide enough towels - They don't provide turn down service - They ran out of toilet paper and kleenex - they hadn't been replenished, and there was no spare roll of toilet paper - The keys didn't work - I had to get them re-keyed several times - They missed the wake up call the day we left (thankfully i set my own alarm on my phone as a backup)

    Great Location, nice size room

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    7.9
    Good value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was good but limited in choices, e.g. no hot chocolate available.

    Great location if you are not driving. In the old town area, close to restaurants, bars, monuments, museums... Hotel staff offered to park our car for us on the hotel parking (located a few hundred meters from the hotel). Staff was very nice and useful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    4.6
    The bathroom floor was cold,there weren't enough towels.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom floor was cold,there weren't enough towels.Builders were putting together summerterrace so they made still noise at one o'clock pm.The breakfast was not worth 5 stars.Perhaps 2 stars.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    9.2
    Nice quick trip to Riga.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fixed price of taxi offered by hotel to drive from the hotel to the airport was little bit expensive. Maybe they could offer for clients best price for transfer.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    9.2
    Weekend trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Problems were with parking.

    Very good location, all sights are around the hotel Very quiet, seemed, like few visitors. The room was clean and nice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    7.5
    3* hotel with excellent location and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is not really 5 or even 4*. Rather 3*. However staff was really helpful and friendly. Room was small, but fine. No tea/coffee facilities. It is all about location really which is right in the center of downtown and close to everything.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    4.2
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    breakfast, staff

    Great location for sightseeing, but really poor for sleeping. Earplugs are a must. Huge room but a bit tired and needed a bit of attention - lights not working/balcony glass broken/dangerous, Bit of a disappointing breakfast, tinned fruit, sliced bread and processed cheese, together with cooked stuff and a few cereals/pastries. However, excellent coffee! The staff were fairly surly and not terribly knowledgeable or helpful. Overall, ok but not 4 star.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    7.5
    super friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    it is a solid a 3star hotel with a 4 star breakfast, so, the 'special value' on booking.com is very questionable i would not rate it 5 star because of * a very basic and aged smelly bathroom (no exhaust), * torn curtains and stone like pillows * never working lights in the corridor and plastic keys * no included any spa facilities [euro 25 per hour], * no free transfer from the airport [euro 15-20 and you have to make sure that the hotel kindly confirm]. * location has its downside with noise from the cafes and bars of the old town

    super friendly staff location spacious room

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    5.4
    Doesn't deliver what it promises.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - Rooms not worth their price, don't believe the discounted prices they advertise. These rooms are not worth the 'original' prices. Our room was advertised as having costed 1200 euro for 3 nights but we got it for 300. This room was barely worth 300 for three nights. - The safety box was missing, - the bathroom was incredibly hot, - the bathtub was leaking, - the complementary hygiene kit was randomly refilled, - you got only 1 roll of toilet paper (plus half if you were lucky) and if they ran out you had to be lucky to get new ones, - the bed was the most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept in, you could hear noises from the street and the neighboring rooms. - The breakfast was pretty good, but the selection was small and the staff was really slow at refilling the often empty plates. Ordering a cappucino took about 20 minutes, and the regular coffee they had was sub par.

    - Pretty big room with a seating area (we stayed in the executive double room) - The free wifi was pretty fast (fast enough for Netflix) - The location is excellent with the best restaurant in Riga literally around the corner - The service was decent apart from the cleaning service and breakfast staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    7.1
    The location was great !
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not a 5 Stars rate at all !! Could hardly reach the 4th. I have booked 2 rooms both were old and not comfortable as expected as per a 5 stars.

    The location was great !! The staff was smiley and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    7.5
    Location+ staff+ comfort -(minus) -NOT A 5 STAR HOTEL.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is not a 5 star hotel. 4 at most. A 5 star hotel has free TV or at least a few channels to watch. Here we had to pay around 10 Euros per day in order to watch TV. Room specs show a tea kettle, which we didn't get, After requesting​ one we received one that's dirty and useless to use. Over all if not for the location and staff I would leave the hotel the day I got there. Pillows are disgraceful, can't sleep well on them and a so called 5 star hotel on an executive room joined two single beds into one? FAR FROM A 5 STAR HOTEL.

    Staff was very helpful. location is key, amazing location at this property. Value for money.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    3.3
    NOT RECOMMENDED
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This hotel is definitely NOT 5 star hotel. They don't have their own parking, and every time I needed my car, I had to wait 30-40 min while they bring it. Breakfast is very bad (the worst I've ever had in my life). When I asked to make an omelette for me, they refused in a very rude way. NOT RECOMMENDED

    The location is ok

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    8.3
    Does not live up to a 5 star rating
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Going down at 10p.m from the 4th floor to receive a telephone call because the phone system didn't work. TV would not switch off because remote was broken. unacceptable for a 5 star hotel. Spoilt the trip

    location and friendly helpful staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    9.6
    Great location and a good base for exploring Riga
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One negative was the breakfast (but not a major negative and more a suggestion for improvement). This was below par for such a high star hotel and in particular service was not that good - there was a real lack of attention being paid by staff and I would recommend more training in observation and attention to detail!

    Very helpful reception staff, excellent location, good sized rooms and good showers!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    5.0
    Bad experience. This cannot be 5-stars hotel!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was not 5-stars hotel should have-just 3-stars should have. The staff at breakfast room was unpolite and did not care of guests-so many negative impress. The water in samovar was still cold even after it has been opened 1 hour-the food was not tasteful. The choise was just limited. Even the pancakes were not hot and not baked at all. They did not follow their working hours in breakfast room. Pillows, blankets-they were terrible-old, ugly and uncomfortable. The freezer did not work at wall, no safebox in room; in bathroom no paper in paper-handkerchief's box

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    9.6
    This was a fine hotel. But if you really are looking for 5 star hotel, this is not that. 4 stars.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    If having 5 satars hotel, I was wondering few things. I would give 4 stars. This is peanuts, but I saw something that are not supposed to be on 5 star hotel. Something was hanging from the bottom of the doors, which is not 5 star style.

    The Place was great. Close to anything. Personnel was really nice. I knew that it was Christmas time when we were there, so a bonus for personnel.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2016

    7.1
    Nice hotel but some Staff training is needed in certain areas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I first checked into my room I found that the ventilation system in the bathroom did not work, the climate control did not work and that the curtains were too short to cover all the windows allowing light to seep through. The receptionist informed me that all rooms that were classic double were taken however she did upgrade me to a superior double. The breakfast was very disappointed. The level of service and the state of the breakfast being presented was very poor. No way was the breakfast of a 5 star standard. The scrambled eggs were made in a microwave, the oats were not nicely presented, there was a lack of hot food variety, one broken hot boiled egg and the Orange juice was watered down and not freshly squeezed. The only thing that seemed edible were the pancakes. There was only one pancake left and I asked a female member of Staff for more pancakes only to told that the kitchen staff had left early!! Bare in mind there was 15 minutes remaining for breakfast service. At this point i asked to speak to a manager and I was told that the manager had the day off. I was absolutely flabbergasted where at this point I asked to speak to the hotel managing director as I have never heard of a "5 Star" not able to produce any senior management especially on a Saturday where it is assumed that was one of the busiest days of the week and being told the kitchen staff have gone home early. The female member of staff went away and within two minutes she came back and reported that some pancakes were being prepared and made for me... was it the chef? I don't know! The hotel seem to have a policy of wanting to check the minibar when customers are occupying the room which I found extremely intrusive. The lady knocked on my door and stated she was room service. I was very confused as I did not order anything. I opened the door and she said that she had come to check the minibar and proceeded to enter the room uninvited.

    The male and female upon check inn at reception were excellent, very friendly and very welcoming. Even when there was a issue with in my room the reception staff very quickly rectified the problem.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    7.5
    We had a lovely time and would thoroughly recommend Riga and this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to pay in cash

    Location

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    3.3
    Good Location in old city.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good Location in old city.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    7.9
    Wi-Fi ddn't work in the room.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi-Fi ddn't work in the room. Only in lobby it was working more less good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    6.3
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rather old for a 5 star rated hotel, needs new furniture, TVs, etc.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    6.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff and clearness

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    5.8
    You have to pay extra for parking, I ordered one queen bed,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to pay extra for parking, I ordered one queen bed, I got two single beds, the sealing and furniture in my room was broken.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    9.2
    Best location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    2.5
    Poor breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast Dirty rooms and toilet Doesn't deserve 5 stars

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    7.5
    It is good for you staying 1-2 days for business trip.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wrote 5-star hotel, but, they have no pool, fitness center and etc. Services for 3-4 star.

    Good staff. Excellent location - Center of Old City.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    4.6
    Great location, but only use this place to sleep!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mold on the bathroom roof. Disgusting service! Late with my car! Terrible rooms Nothing extra! Says 5 Star, I’d say 3

    Location perfect!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    4.6
    Nice building, great location, but poorly maintained.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is worn out. Saving everywhere from toilet paper to breakfast food. Staff is absolutely helpless.

    Location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    5.0
    Awful customer service, not professional
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awful customer service, not professional Didnt make up my room for 2 nights

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    6.7
    Location was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was a little bit cold and didnt go warm enough Breakfast was poor

    Location was good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    6.7
    Good food,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room too hot even with air con as Windows don't open. Quite noisy from music outside

    Good food,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    4.2
    A really chabby place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A really chabby place.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    8.8
    Great view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No slippers in the room, only 1 towel, even no bag for laundry...:)

    Great view!!!)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    4.2
    Very noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy. Old.

    Very noisy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    7.1
    No water in room !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not have any water in refrigerator

    Was very quite

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    7.1
    Brilliant location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Modern hotel that just felt a bit neglected

    Brilliant location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    7.1
    - price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - the smell of smoke in WC - breakfast -

    - price - location - a glass floor in the breakfast restaurant downstairs

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Royal Square Hotel & Suites traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: