Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sunset Hotel 3 stars

Pilsoņu iela 9, Jūrmala, LV-2015, Latvia

#21 of 37 hotels in Jūrmala

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 611 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No ironing facilities because apparently it's against regulations in wooden buildings. Was told by the hotel manager not to change TV channels in the room, couldn't really understand why as his English was very basic. Good value for money but don't plan on spending more than a few nights here.

    Location, clean rooms, decent bed & cheap.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV didn’t work properly from the first time as well as WiFi. But staff fixed it. Not a big deal :)

    Location; distance till the beach and concert hall. Great price.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room could be cleaner. Looks like hotel is more well kept during summer season and we were right before it.

    Location was great and staff was very welcoming. Would come back by possibility.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The stuff was helpful , location very good, room big, bed as well. It was cold(i think about 17 degrees in the room), but when told this to the stuff, they helped with the heater and it was ok.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was perfect!

    Best location in Jurmala, spacious free parking, traditional Baltic seaside villa building, great wifi, clean bathroom, comfy beds. Great value for the money!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 1 night

    Take a room with a window!

    The hotel was perfect! The owner is a charming man who can perform all your wishes! Moreover, he has a nice helper who gives useful tips what to visit and why. If you visit them, try their kitchen and don't hesitate to ask any dish which you haven't found in the menu, I'm sure they will make it to you:)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The sizes of the room and bathroom / both small like a cell.

    The hotel is located away from the major roads though right next to the Jurmala Spa. Quiet and secluded and not far away from the sea. Great sleep.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When I was leaving there was nobody at the reception so I just left the key. Should put some notes about how to self check out

    Very nice place, secure parking, host very friendly, had an excellent sleep.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed covers were not clean. Not nice to have stains on. Mattress was comfy but it was dirty. shower leaks at the side in the corner. Maids need to do better cleaning.

    Staff were very helpful when we needed anything! When we had a bottom sheet that was too small the man happily resolved it! very nice man which I think is the owner :)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was ok, only one thing was strage - I am always looking for hotel + breakfast, but here administartor told that only us want breakfast and reject it. We found othe guests eating in the morning . It was not nice

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was very tiny (but then it had a window).

    Excellent bed. Bike rental on site was a definite plus, except that the rates were quite steep (15 euros for the day is a great deal by Latvian standards). The owner kindly printed my boarding passes for me.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The owner was very accommodating and friendly. The property location is very close everything. It was also very convenient to be able to rent bikes right from the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit expensive considering other facilities that offer breakfast and spa options.

    Location is great. Right next to the Main street and close to the beach.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe only thing i can point out that there was party next door and hard to sleep that way. But on the other hand it's natural part of the whole Jurmala - we all come here to have nice time and luckily party didn't last long 👍 Also that's not Sunset hotel fault that neighbors across the street held noisy party 😄

    Really cozy and nice place to stay. We had private entering and it felt like we have our own little summer home. Everything is close - beach and Jurmala main street. Also price is good. Best thing with this place is family who runs the place - really warm welcome and they were all so nice and kind! Thank you and keep up the good work! Everything perfect! We will go there again 🙂

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The neighbourhood - there is a restaurant opposite where was a loud party until 1am. Very annoying.

    The location is perfect - close to the beach and to the main walking street. Parking onsite. Very friendly staff - ready to help you with everything. Highly recommend this hotel! Thanks for the stay!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Sunset hotel was marked as a pets friendly place to stay on booking.com and we (5 adults + 1 dog) booked family room there. We informed hotel in advance that we were coming with a dog and received their confirmation. We arrived around 9:30 pm. The guy who met us was nicely dressed but with awful manners. He started literally screaming at me when I said that we brought a dog with us. I didn't want to hear that and asked just to confirm with short yes or no if we were allowed to stay so we could still book some other hotel for a night. He continued complaining more for some time and then started to search over the hotel territory for another owner or business partner to advise. Then a tall grey-haired man about 50 years old appeared. He was calm and polite. He confirmed that he sent us approval for a room to all of us including a dog. But the first guy started complaining again like it was not reasonable to settle us to those big room with a dog and at the end we were not settled to the nice family room with a balcony on the 2'nd floor we booked but separated to 2 and 3 persons rooms downstairs. There were ants in one of them (for 2 persons, #14) and the other one (for 3 persons) had disgusting smell and looked absolutely cursedly (clean linen though). Later in the evening when I came to reception desk for the wifi pass the guy who first met us was already drunk at his working place. I would never recommend the Sunset hotel to anybody.

    Jurmala is a pretty small town so if any hotel is located within Jurmala border it can be considered as nicely located. Nothing else good I can tell about the Sunset hotel place. In general it was horrible.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Very little bathroom, sometimes is no warm water. Room nice, but only sparingly furnished.

    Good location, very close to the sea beach, and to the Jurmala center. Quiet neighbourhood. Old building with "soul". Friendly householder.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very private, close to main pedestrian street. If the car parking is booked (it IS free!), one can be sure that it is safe and guarded and close to You. We had one of smallest rooms, and still it was spacious enough. To visit some pools and saunas one should ask the staff, they have some offers one might take advantage of.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were no bath supplies (toothpaste and etc..) and no hair dryer...; You can pay extra 10 euros and get better hotel with more facilities; It's written that this is 3 star hotel, but i would say it's just an apartments style hotel;

    Good location, next to the main street; Nice staff; Free parking;

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was quite terrible. There's only one person running the hotel so the waiting time to get checked in is quite long. It's not very clean, we had a filthy glass in our room with someone else's spit in it.

    The location is amazing! You can rent bikes there. The junior suite is really cozy and cute and the terrace is lovely.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was really small, with windows opposite the wall of the building and some other windows of rooms. So You can hear every single sound from the room opposite if the window is open. Sound insulation is unfamiliar for this "hotel" at all. Wifi wasn't working. The floor in the room wasn't clean and full of creeping ANTS!!! Totally awful. Looked like a cheap hostel in countryside.

    The only plus of this hotel is its central and close to the see location, nothing else.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No room cleaning; no phone in the room, as well as no bin, no hairdryer, no mirrors, etc. You got the kettle, but no sachets of tea/ coffee..

    Great location and the room is spacious

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be included in the price.

    Good location, close to the beach and the main sights. Bikes are available for rental, which is great for exploring the area.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds whas a little bit hard for us.

    Good friendly staff and a good location between beach and restaurants. Nice and fresh room. Good breakfast. Booking and payment by booking.com was simple and works perfectly-)

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is always room for improvemevt. I am sure the owners are aware. I prefer to keep it to myself. Good luck!

    Location, breakfast, staff very pleasant and accommadating. It was a very enjoyable vacation. Will come again.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotell promised there are outside terrance in room. It was under construcion.

    Nice clean👍

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    my dietary requirement were not asked for so didn't eat much of the breakfast

    lovely decor and location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Showers randomly poured hot and cold water, it was difficult nearly impossible to shower!

    Huge comfy beds, rooms looks relaxing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bigger size room especially if guests are stating for 6 nights.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old and exited owner with attitude issues. Seemed somewhat xenophobic. The usual tourist trap bat.

    Proximity to the beach.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every thing is perfect and really good service

    Every thing but more I like is bed.purely soft and big

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean and comfortable brilliant for the price. We will be staying with them again

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean and cosy room and bathroom. Wooden house, a few steps from the main street and the sea. Friendly owner.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent attitude and communication. Clean room with modern furniture. TV with local channels. Everything was good, thank you!!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In two rooms leftover food in the fridge Small rooms with shower in room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quite expensive

    Great and perfect breakfast, comfy beds, nice shower, short way to the beach, helpful and nice staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room floor was dirty, family room without window

    Great location, helpful staff, car parking

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is basic accommodation that feels like a cottage.

    It was good value for money compared to other hotels.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 1 night

    friendly helpful staff, great location, clean rooms, parking, wifi, kettle in room and fridge.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice hotel, rooms are cozy and clean

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One bed was broken, room was not cleaned properly

    Location is perfect

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can hear neighbours

    The room was big.clean. with refrigerator, big wc. Very good for the price!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    • Group
    • Basic Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing is okkk

    all is superlative thank you very much and have a nice evening

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 1 night

    Vse.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi didn't work

    Great location & super helpfull staff.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room without Window
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    all good.

    i really enjoy komfortable beds. good place

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv didn't work, towels could be better quality

    Location is great

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfortable and large room, good location, great parking and friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Very close to the beach and main street

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    If you have dog, better ignore this hotel. Breacfast (for 3* hotel it was very very bad). WiFi (could be better).

    Place (silent and near sea)

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location! Very close to the sea, Joma pedestrian street and other main objects.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Friendly staff and very comfortable!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to bring heavy luggages yourself up to 2nd floor.

    Price was good compare to another hotels around. Location is good.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rainy

    Near beach

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    all you need - very close to boulevard, city center and concert hall Dzintary, secure parking, pleasant owner

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom needs more rails or hooks for towels.

    Small genuine Latvian establishment,old house, friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Family Room (5 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No buffet breakfast

    Nice small hotel in the middle of everything

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was quite expensive compares to room price. Toast with butter-2€!!!

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfasts/restaurant not available-they're just rebuilding it. No big problém for us since we knew about that.

    Price, location. Charming old building, close to the Beach and promenade.

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was no one who would let us in the room, had to wait 15mins in -17C temperature outside to check in, no one talking English, no working bar, shower broken, no phone in the room, no coffee, tea or even cattle

    It was really warm room

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Absence of toilet paper and toliet soap Not all the bathroom equipment working properly and better should changed to new instead of glued / repaired

    Location Friendly staff Good value for the money

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I live in Los Angeles !!!, I was delighted with the comfort and welcoming of employees of the hotel, we can say we feel at home! Highly recommended !!!! I wish you all have a wonderful holiday or vacation, We have a greatest experience in Urmala--- hotel Sunset

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Not tidy. Floors full of crumpets, mold in the shower, dusts. Just need general cleaning.

    Very comfortable location, next to the city center. Sea can be reached by hand.

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shower cabin leaked a bit. Room too cold for the season. No breakfast option

    Location was good - close to the beach. Reception worked efficiently - got the room quickly. Big LCD TV

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    several small unconvenient details like shower in room with bed, thin walls etc. If you spend most of your time outside hotel and come back just to sleep, then these small things dont disturb that much.

    location is 10+

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Flexibility of the staff. Also fiery helpful and friendly! Our parents and our auntie stayed (August) in the room on the ground floor. Very spacious room #22, it has extra room and extra beds etc... Just 5 minutes from the beach and 1 minute from Jomas Street and 10 seconds from Jurmala Spa.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We didnt get toilettpaper or soap When we told it was empty. They Said the only had one Key to the room but the could have left it outside or told us.. The bathroom smelled and the didnt try to fix it. Bathtub didnt work. We god a New room but smaller and not as nice.Bright curtins.

    Location was perfekt but more a guest house Then a hotell!

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We stayed at the family room and paid 178€/night including breakfast in July 2015. The hotel is of decent quality but the price is way too high for the level of services available and the standard of this hotel.

    This hotel is situated at an excellent location. The pedestrian street, the main street and the monitored beach are all around the corner.

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The wifi did not work at night from time to time. The bathroom was very small and there was no curtain on the window and next door could see in. Reception was not clearly marked and the breakfast selection wad limited but was nice.

    The location to the beach was good

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was some mahorca odor in the room but you get soon used to it. Breakfast is expensive in the hotel but it is available reasonably in the cafees close by.

    The location is good, close walk to the beach with beach services and the street with shops and restaurants on the other side of the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was air conditioning in room, but you have to pay extra 5 euros per day to get remote control. Car parking in hotel territory is also charged 5 euros per day. No one took out the garbage or changed the towels.

    Great location, just few minutes walking from beach or city center.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    home doors like from paper, freezer then works sound's was crazy brrr brrr i can't sleep that time then he works..

    Wifi, car parking,hotel location

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not specious room and bathroom.

    Location is great

There are also 44 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: