Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Old Riga Hotel Vecriga 4 stars

Gleznotāju iela 12/14, Rīga, LV-1050, Latvia

#58 of 153 hotels in Rīga

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1265 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    6.3
    Lovely city and great location for walking old Riga town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was very expensive and not value for money. My room was supposed to be superior but was more like a standard double. Staff at breakfast were very unwelcoming- no assistance or offers of tea/coffee. When utensils or food ran out no replacements. One large towel and two hand towels in bathroom. Thought mistake and would be rectified in morning but no had to go and raise complaint to get proper sized towels.

    The location was perfect for a walking sightseeing tour of old Riga town. Excellent for parks, local food restaurants and museums. Hotel was very nice looking with pleasant courtyard area to relax in.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful place to stay in Riga.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They didn’t have decaf coffee.

    The staff were amazing. So friendly and helpful. They constantly went out of their way to help us. The position of the hotel was fantastic. Couldn’t have been more central to the old town. Breakfast was very generous. Truly great experience. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.2
    Small hotel in central location with very helpful friendly staff on reception
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No milk with the tea and coffee making facilities, no air con.

    The location was perfect on a nice quiet street yet minutes from the hustle and bustle of the old city centre, we had a ground floor bedroom that opened into a lovely little courtyard.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    The best place in Riga
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is perfect, middle of old Riga but it is very serene and quiet. Staff is amazing. Very friendly, helpful, going above and beyond. They speak at least 3 language, English is one of them. The place is beautiful, breakfast is tasty and plentiful, they will make you whatever coffee you desire. Rooms are very clean and comfortable . You feel like you are at home. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    5.8
    We liked the location and the size of our bedroom, also that...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To be fair, we had just traveled from a lovely hotel in Berlin so in contrast we found the foyer and furnishings dark and dated, and the toiletries scant and utilitarian. There is a sweet courtyard space and, given the history of the building, I think an update would be befitted, especially as our stay was far from cheap. The laundry costs were exorbitant in our view. Unless adjusted the shower sprayed water all over the bathroom. In the main, the staff looked like they’d rather be elsewhere. I enjoyed some interesting breakfast offerings but my husband grumbled the boiled eggs and sliced bread ran out. We felt no inclination to dine in but enjoyed meals upstairs at the interesting gallery Istaba and Three Pavaru. We weren’t that fussed as we were busy on a family pilgrimage but we wouldn’t stay here again should we return to Riga and would probably stay downtown and walk over the lovely park to the old town.

    We liked the location and the size of our bedroom, also that there were tea/coffee making facilities. The bed was comfy and the cleaning was good. We also liked that there was no extra charge for coffee orders at breakfast. A woman at reception happily booked a restaurant for us.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.3
    Helpful staff, brilliant location, comfortable bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell in the bathroom. Breakfast was a bit ... random : salads which didn’t look very inviting, herring (?). They had good pancakes as well a toast though. Coffee was really poor too.

    Top location, super kind and helpful staff, comfortable bed, spotless clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.6
    Great, relaxed and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When you ask a staff member for something to be dropped off at your room and it never arrives (ironing board and iron)

    Excellent location, quiet and great ambiance. One female staff member, (the smiley one!) was great, the others were average. Room was large and super comfortable, inner courtyard was a relaxed space. Breakfast was huge! Adjoining Italian restaurant was superb.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.9
    Good hotel, in an excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room got quite hot, however staff did provide a fan. Breakfast was a bit sparse Bed is a typical European 'two beds zipped together' which made it less comfortable (the beds themselves were excellent)

    Reasonable sized room, exceptionally clean with large bathroom Very helpful staff who provided fan/iron etc. The location is just fantastic, walkable from the airport bus and close to everything in the old town

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    6.3
    The sound from the neighbour room was clearly coming through...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The sound from the neighbour room was clearly coming through the walls and the door. It was possible not to hear what people were doing in their toilets :) No airconditioner on the top floor room. There was no air to breathe if the roof window was closed. But then the voices from the street came in.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    8.8
    Nothing beats wooden and stone floors , (I hate carpets in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing beats wooden and stone floors , (I hate carpets in hotel bed/bathrooms). Location (central, yet quiet) Slippers , great touch ! Stunning paintings throughout. It is exactly as in the pictures

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    8.8
    Location is good - close to everything in the old town and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed for 2 nights a few days apart (different rooms). First room was small but no street noise..and the second one was a lot bigger and comfortable..but noisy. So it really depends on the room. Decor of the rooms does not match a beautiful exterior of the hotel and old town. Also not so much a dislike but it's an old hotel with many many stairs and no lift so carrying a heavy bag could be a bit of an issue. No view from the rooms - just a very small window facing a roof of a nearby restaurant.

    Location is good - close to everything in the old town and also market and the bus and train station. Breakfast was descent but best to come a little earlier.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    8.3
    It is generally a very good hotel with accomodating staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the beer and juice available in the fridge expired. The staff put the blame on the supplier.

    It is generally a very good hotel with accomodating staff. You get everything you need during a 2-3 day trip. Location is superb. It is quiet at night.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    6.7
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Effectively in an attic, no fan , no air conditioning and with skylight window open for air you could hear all the noise from kitchen/restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    4.2
    Ripped off in Riga !!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything could have been better - this was our most disappointing booking of the entire 21 day trip !!!!

    I think the 4 stars were for an out of 10 rating - old, dirty and dated, broken furniture, curtains broken, faulty TV, etc - nothing about this place was nice and none of the rooms looked anything like the website photos - overpriced for what it was - I was happy to leave and not stay but they wanted all the money for two days irrespective of whether we stayed or not !!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.5
    Proximity to old town
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevators; had to carry our heavy bags for 2 floors. It’s not very easy to locate the hotel. Breakfast is very basic and not much variety for vegetarians.

    Proximity to old town Rooms & bathrooms were clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    This hotel captures the essence of the old city and is a safe, convenient haven from the hustle and
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil

    It was a treat having half board at a very good Italian restaurant conjoined to the hotel. The menu for half board is limited but we managed to find some excellent fare.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    9.6
    Scandinavia and Baltic cycling trip 2018
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to mention

    I really enjoyed my overnight stay at this hotel and really appreciated the care and attention provided by the wonderful and very beautiful hotel staff. Every effort was made to ensure that my bicycle was secure and I had assistance with the doors on arrival and departure. A fantastic experience in a wonderful city.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Magnificent old style hotel in Riga
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing - everything was excellent

    Absolutely loved this gorgeous old style hotel - beautifully decorated - with lovely spacious room & bathroom. The atmosphere was a delight. The bed was comfortable, we had tea/coffee making facilities in the room and the breakfast was lovely. Dinner was also available in the breakfast restaurant & it was great value, delicious food & fabulous service. The reception staff were very helpful with everything. Location was brilliant - in the middle of the old town - easy walk to all sites and an easy walk to main bus station. A little further to train station but still quite do-able.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    Almost perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nobody offered to carry our luggage upstairs, but that was just up one floor, so no biggie. That's nitpicking, but I would have loved some more sweet options for breakfast. The buffet was quite rich in savory foods such as eggs, vegetables and fish, but since I can't really stomach those things in the morning I could only have bread and standard hotel-fare fruit jam. The addition of fresh croissants or a jar of local honey would go a long way!

    Having booked here at a special discount price, my expectations weren't actually high enough. This small bijoux of a hotel definitely lives up to its 4-star rating! Beautiful building with pretty, romantic but not boring interiors. Spacious room with reasonably-sized en suite bathroom and all those little touches it takes to make you comfortable. Perfect location in Vecriga close to almost everything you might possibly want to see. Definitely the best hotel we've been staying at in a while.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location on the very quite street in the Old Town,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was good, however the barman did not seem to like serving the customers in the morning.

    Excellent location on the very quite street in the Old Town, friendly and warm service at reception.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Absolutely would stay here again - 10/10
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Staff were great, the location is perfect, the room was super nice, bathrooms were good, the TV had YouTube on it which for someone who doesn't speak Latvian meant I had things to watch, overall it was a perfect hotel. There's also a very nice Italian restaurant right inside as well which has great food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.3
    Great stay in Old Town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no phone in my room to call reception.

    Perfect location for discovering the Old Town. Helpful and nice people at reception. I arrived earlier than planned before the check in time and my room was ready.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    10
    Absolutelly amazing!
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Absolutelly amazing hotel! Friendly, family atmosphere that is unique and not similar to “chain” hotels. Would highly recomment for everyone if you would like to feel the real spirit of Riga. Thank you for a fantastic stay!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    8.8
    Great location for affordable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Super-weird smell in the hallways and in the reception area (not in the room or restaurant)

    Great location, really nice breakfast table, friendly staff, affordable price.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    9.2
    Great little hotel in the heart of Riga
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast buffet wasn't necessarily bad, but nothing extraordinary, except porridge. Fresh bread, better coffee and lactose free milk as an option (for lactose intolerants for instance) can make a big difference.

    As the hotel is right in the heart of the city, the location is perfect and the hotel is easy to find. Located on a quite street with a short walk to everything you want to see in Riga oldtown. Good price/quality ratio. Room was clean and comfortable, staff friendly. Recommended!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    10
    Perfect location
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift :(

    Perfect location You can go to Airport by taxi 15 Euro. You can use direct bus as well for 2 euro. Walking to bus station from hotel is about 10 minutes. Since the road is old and stone, it is not easy to go hotel with big lagguge from bus station to hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    9.2
    A cosy old place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit expensive for Latvia. There was tea in the room but not coffee.

    Walking distance from all the places we wanted to go. Helpful staff. The fairy lights made it look pretty and atmospheric.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    9.6
    Receptionist is available 24 h, great location and good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Walls are super thin, I could hear the people in the next room as well as every time somebody walked in a room above me. Breakfast was a real disappointment, okay-ish selection, but all the "hot" food was cold and eggs very underdone.

    Receptionist is available 24 h, great location and good value for money. Room was nice size and clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    10
    Awesome hotel, great location, one of the best places in Riga.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    I liked everything at Vecriga. It was luxury at a low cost. Great room with en-suite and plenty of room. Perfect location. The staff were always smiling and friendly. It's a very upmarket establishment at very low prices.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    8.3
    Price-value ratio was really good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Air-conditioning didn't really work at all and air was very thick. We ended up sleeping widow open in February. Breakfast was a bit dull but there was plenty to eat.

    Price-value ratio was really good. Location was excellent in the heart of old city and staff was helpful explaining where to go and visit.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    8.3
    A very pleasant experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The restaurant was open only for breakfast; we blame it on the winter season. Obviously, there were other restaurants nearby.

    We spent a quiet, enjoyable January weekend in this hotel in Riga's Old Town. Our room was well heated, the breakfast was tasty. We asked for a room with bathtub and the hotel upgraded us free of charge. Also, we were able to store our luggage in the hotel for a couple of hours after checkout.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    9.6
    Amazing trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have nothing to say here more than I dident meet any ghost ;-)

    So nice place. Friendly staff and everything was so near to the hotell. Peace and quiet :-)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    7.5
    Close to City , helpful staff ( the girls) the man with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paper walls could hear everything from upstairs , no coffee in room just tea , no el contacts ( plug sockets) for kettle or other things . No hooks for jackets . Breakfast was a disappointment = warm food was not warm all of the 3 days !

    Close to City , helpful staff ( the girls) the man with ponytail was not ! Asked for red taxi he ordered a Baltic taxi who tried to cheat me on fare to airport !

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.6
    Friendly staff, nice room, great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great except fin walls.. I could hear footsteps and suitcase wheels and noses blown all the time :)

    Friendly staff, nice room, great location!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    8.8
    Holiday Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast, location, staff were all great. Handy that the hotel would keep your key while out exploring for the day. Staff also very helpful making reservations for dinner and opera. Thank you!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    10
    A lovely, well located hotel with helpful and extremely friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It would be nice if the restaurant served fresh juice at breakfast instead of squash, apart from that a great selection of food.

    The room was located off the courtyard, great for us more mature visitors, as there is no elevator. Free use of the safe, toiletries and towelling slippers supplied, plenty of hot water in the shower. Reasonably priced mini bar. Comfy bed, extra pillows available, very warm room but adjustable stat on the radiator, plenty of storage. Breakfast was served in the restaurant attached to the hotel, where we also ate one evening.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    5.8
    I liked location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very cold and after mentioning it to the staff nothing happened - no heating.

    I liked location. Breakfast was okay. Also I liked that in the room were two blankets - didn't chill to the bone.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    10
    The ideal pace for the right cost for a wonderful, brief vacation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff are exceedingly nice and helpful, especially ELINA. The location is truly ideal/perfect. Breakfasts are varied and plentiful. Value for money is exceptional.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    9.2
    Great location for a great price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be nice if they provided toiletries and a hot water pot as most 4 star hotels do.

    Very good location. Close to Bus station and was in the middle of the old town! Nice feel to the place.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    10
    The room was clean and the staff very helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The control of the radiator was missing so I was not able to decrease the temperature. But the open window helped.

    The room was clean and the staff very helpful. The parking I booked in advance. You only have to call the reception to open the gate.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    10
    Perfect in every way
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic staff lovely reception girls so friendly and helpful a real pleasure to deal with especially karina and the other beautiful girl that loaned us her umbrella

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    6.7
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very cold room. I dont think the heating system is functioning properly . We tried the air conditioner, but it did not help.

    Breakfast was really good. As well as the location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    6.3
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast. The buffet was almost empty when we came to have breakfast. The last day of our stay we had to give up having breakfast although it was included in the price. There was no bread, orange juice, water, coffee or cheese. So we had to eat breakfast at the airport at our own cost.

    The location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    7.9
    Great location, cute hotel, but no lift.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Being an old building, the only problem is the lack of a lift and, unfortunately, nobody helping with luggage. We preferred to leave the big suitcase in the hotel luggage deposit rather than pulling it up to third floor.

    Great location, being right in the middle of the old center, a few steps from every spot that deserves a visit in Riga. The hotel is in an old building with cute and tidy rooms. Good breakfast in a romantic hall. Ideal for whp wants to enjoy the heart of Riga.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    9.6
    I had read some reviews on Booking.
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had read some reviews on Booking.com and Tripadvisor that were not so positive about this hotel. I can only say most of them were not true. I stayed in the Suite of the hotel, which was a very spacious room with a comfortable bed. The Suite is very quiet and there was no noise from outside or other rooms whatsoever. It has a minibar (which I did not use) but it is important to know there is no room service in this hotel (despite the 4 stars). Nevertheless, the (very kind) waitress of the Italian restaurant that is located in the hotel helped me to take food with me to my room, so that can be arranged too. In some reviews there is critique on the breakfast in this hotel. I found it totally adequate with good and tasty food, but I did recognize the comments in some reviews that the breakfast time is short (8-10) and that the waiter in the breakfast room showed rude behavior when I arrive shortly before 10 by starting to clean up shortly before 10 and being difficult about bringing tea. This is the only thing that the hotel should address, because otherwise the location is perfect, the reception staff very helpful and the Suite I had very comfortable and certainly for a good price.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    10
    i would come back anytime again. One of the best hotels I've stayed with.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything: the hotel had a nice nostalgic feeling to it, walking distance to all major locations and bars/ restaurants. The hotel's interior was modern and well maintained. The staff was extremely friendly and the breakfast was delicious (quality over quantity). 10 out of 10

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    Brilliant hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location in the middle of the old town, but still quiet. Lovely big room, warm and comfy bed. Tasty breakfast with plenty of choice. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    5.8
    Rude & unkind staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I figured parking would be included since the hotel said it had parking on the site. When I arrived it said 20 euros per night. That was fine, until I asked if I could leave it there until 1600 the next day so I could walk around a bit (1200 was check out) since I didn't get in until 2300 the night before. They said I'd have to pay another 20 euros. When I came back at 1210 I asked if I could get my 20 euros back and she said she didn't know how to do that, and I was 10 min late, and rules are rules. I understand rules, but a little kindness would have been nice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    5.8
    Good location as it’s based close to main amenities but comfort wise could be much better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had roof window and I wasn’t able to sleep in the night because of the rain.. also, bed wasn’t comfortable for my liking.. small blanket and heater wasn’t working so temperature in the room was not high enough.. Staff at the breakfast were not attentive enough..

    Reception staff very welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.6
    We will be back, maybe just another hotel.
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No ventilation in room, that was the problem if you open a window you are hearing all the singing from people in the streets, if you are closing it there is no air.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    6.3
    Good location, so-so breakfast with few facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room with a small window that got very hot at night. No protection from mosquitos, hence many mosquito bites. No common area. Small restaurant not managed by hotel.

    Location was very good. Comfortable bed and shower good. Staff very pleasant but seemed to lack training.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    8.8
    We loved the position of this hotel in the old town and a five minute walk from bus, train station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The television did not work.

    Staff were excellent. No street noise. Very central location. Italian Restaurant next door was excellent value with great authentic food.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    8.8
    Quaint, quiet & a great location for walking everywhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is not modern but that is part of the experience.

    Breakfast at the hotel was included. It was possible to walk all around the Old Town from the hotel's location. We had a really lovely meal at Domini Canes restaurant near St Peter's. Beautiful food & wine & service. We ate at the in-house Italian restaurant one evening which was fine & very accessible after looking around all day. The reception staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    8.8
    The room and bathroom were big and the bed comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness of the bathroom could be improved. Breakfast was very simple and is only served between two hours.

    The room and bathroom were big and the bed comfortable. The hotel is very well located. Staff was friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    9.2
    Very nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Although travellers to Riga should be aware that theres a bit of a mosquito issue even mid September especially through old town & come prepared for it.

    Close to old town. Nice old building with character

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    9.2
    We had a fantastic stay and found the location so useful saving on using taxis and buses.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we had lacked natural light

    The staff were extremely friendly and couldn't do enough for us whether it was giving information about the city or making sure we had the correct amenities for our child.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    10
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent staff, very helpful. Having an Italian restaurant on the property was a nice plus since we had some rainy days mako g it difficult to go too far to get dinner.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    8.8
    Riga is lovely and offers much to see and enjoy. We loved lit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    There was no lift, which didn't bother us though we noticed a woman who walked with the aid of sticks who obviously would have found a lift helpful. The absence of a lift lis not made very clear in the details of the hotel.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Location in a narrow street in the old town made it ideal for visiting Riga and it was very quiet at night. Our room was very plain and sparsely furnished and a downside of the location was the lack of any view - except a concrete wall about 8-10 metres away - but it was nevertheless fine for our short stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    10
    Perfect for an overnight stay on business, whilst giving the opportunity to see a little of the City
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I arranged a morning call, but I guess this was forgotten.

    Perfect small quiet hotel in the middle of the city's old quarter. Comfortable room. Nice breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    5.8
    Great position but the first taxi won't take me there as the street where one way
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Again no lift and I was on the top roof. Why is that single travellers always get the back rooms? Also the first taxi I tried to get from the Bus station won't take me there and the 2nd one dropped me off on the main road so walked along a small road. One way roads.

    A very small selection of breakfast products

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    Thank you to the staff at the hotel, the lady on reception...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Thank you to the staff at the hotel, the lady on reception had recently learned English and did a great job at checking me in. The hotel also managed to fit me in for a parking space last minute which was great. The hotel's location is perfect really, the breakfast had a good spread. Latvian/continental style.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.2
    The location was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was excellent..although difficult to find - unknown to taxi dri9vers due to narrow street. Very6 quiet unlike much of Riga. The oorm as a good size and very6y well lit.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable room, pleasant decor with charming courtyard,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A couple of small things. Limited vegetarian breakfast options. Tea and coffee making facilities in room would be good.

    Comfortable room, pleasant decor with charming courtyard, friendly, helpful staff and brilliant location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    6.3
    Shower didn't work at all in my room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower didn't work at all in my room. Though I waited more than 10 minutes with expecting the water might be hot, but it couldn't be. Besides, the drain was blocked and water did not flow. Then I called a staff, she said just I need to wait. As I thought it couldn't solve anything, I asked her to let me use another shower room. This was very disagreeable as a 4 stars hotel.

    Great location, great breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.3
    A good place to choose.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a room in 3 floor, under the roof with not so big window. Could be warm during the night even with open window.

    A good place to choose. Very nice staf , cosy and central place. .

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    5.8
    Definitely overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were given a very dark room, overlooking a wall in the back of the hotel. The floor was quite dirty and there were no amenities in the room. Breakfast was poor, we arrived 10 mins before closing and most of the plates were empty. You are only given American coffee, you have to pay 3 euros extra for a single espresso! This hotel is definitely overpriced.

    The hotel is perfectly located in the old town. Staff is very helpful and friendly but don't know much about touristic things to do in the city.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    8.3
    Cute old hotel at excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning. Parking was very pricey at 20 EUR day

    Location location! Parking arranged just a few meters away. Friendly staff and very good coffee and eggs at breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    5.8
    I will not comeback.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we received( real price they said 240€) was horrible. No windows, very small, smelly bathroom, exit to the public garden. I asked for a possible chance to change, as I was considering to leave at all that place. Upper floor was better. But Moskitos, too many of them were attaking during the night hours. Breakfast very poor.

    The location by itself is perfect. You finding yourself in the middle of the old town of Riga.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    8.3
    Some suggestions.!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food. When we booked half board we was expecting traditional Latvian food. Not Italian which neither of us like. So we eat out the last night. We asked if we could pick from the main menu. And was told we could have 10% discount. Which didn't seem fair surly we could have had at least the cost off the meal?

    Location was excellent

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    9.6
    Unusual hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The place and the hotel itself is wonderful. Not as we used to see at the hotels. Nice to be there, it was right decision to choose it.

    Everything was just great!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    9.2
    Very kindly stuff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was not so good. Yoghurt with flavour and a lot of suger. To small breakfasttable, so you have to reach your body over the food that other will eat.

    Very kindly stuff. Nice garden. Perfect situated. Rather quite, but in the very center of old town. There were bathtube in the bathroom!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    6.7
    Nice, but needs some modernising
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had a superior double room, which was a good size but not overly-large. However, the bathroom had a rather bizarre layout, with the toilet in the corner and facing onto the side of the bath with less than 11 inches between the 2: it could have been better laid out and still retained the bath tub. There's no lift, so if you have heavy cases be aware that they have to be carried up and down stairs. There are a lot of things that would make this hotel go from good to great as it has the staff and location already in place. I read a lot of reviews that describe the hotel as quaint, cute and quirky, but my personal view is that it really just needs modernising. For instance - supply tea/coffee making facilities in the room; at least one English news channel on TV (we asked about this and were told there should be one, but we only managed to get a sports news channel in the 4 says we stayed); plug sockets more conveniently placed in the room, put in a lift, and more variety at breakfast (toast, fresh fruits, self-service tea & coffee).

    Very good location. The room was clean and the staff friendly and helpful staff. Wifi in our room was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    9.2
    Thanks for a nice stay:)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, the hotel itself is very cosy. The staff is just amazing, friendly and very helpful. I'll definetely come back. Also nice breakfast and decent coffee:)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    10
    Hotel that offers breakfast with a character
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    It would be nice if the hotel has put in the room a mosquito repellent. It is a lovely hotel where you can open the window, hear the sound of the city and people walking by, breath fresh air, but mosquitos are a nasty pest that can keep you awake.

    Breakfast was superb. I have not stayed in a hotel with such a wide breakfast choices for a long long time. -- Also, location of the hotel is magnificent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    9.2
    business stay in Riga
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location, right in center of Riga. Building, old charming building in a narrow side road. Old Riga sightseeing a real stonethrow from hotel. Very friendly and committed receptionists very helpful for any advice on restaurants, taxi booking. A nice place to stay, if you like old charming mansion. (no lift available, but starway not so steep!)

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Old Riga Hotel Vecriga traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: