Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Old City Boutique Hotel 4 stars

Teātra iela 10, Rīga, LV-1050, Latvia

#67 of 153 hotels in Rīga

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1299 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bad wifi, bad smell in the room, nothing good at the breakfast, cleaning staff didn`t even make the bed after the first night. When I asked the price of the taxi to the airport from the hotel the administrator said that it`s fixed and it`s 20 euro. I got yandex taxi instead for 3,70 euro.

    Only location was ok

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would prefer meatier bacon for breakfast.

    The desk staff helped me beyond requirements with a blocked credit card and phone calls to the company, using extreme patience and great skills. Also translated a call that lacked an interpreter. Front desk staff was exceptional.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff. Incredibly rude. When my ‘airport shuttle’ was late to arrive, I got a lecture and reprimand for complaining and asking where it was - never an apology from the woman at the desk.

    Comfortable , good location ( but rooms to street can be noisy)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Comfortable hotel in heart of old town . many facilities around .. restaurants, night life, shops. Rooms are clean , with interesting interior . quite if you close the windows .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 502 faces the street which is noisy day and night. The curtains do not block out the sun or heat and the room is very hot and stuffy all day and throughout the night making it very uncomfortable for sleeping. Air conditioning does not work. I had requested a quiet room. My brother and I stayed 4 nights the previous week at Days Hotel on Brīvības Iela which was far more comfortable.

    Location was good for my brief return trip to Riga before flying out to London.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The carpet ways in the halls were all stained, including those in my room, and the bed was very small and uncomfortable, also the shower unit designed for a midget.. The bar service was meagre, its so-called star rating is to high, I would think it a two star.

    The location was excellent. There has always to be something positive. The breakfast's were okay, and the staff reasonable]y friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One person serving breakfast. She was working very hard. Praises for her. There should be two people for the job.

    Helpful staff at FO. Nice and clean modern room. Location in the very centre but quiet at the same time. Breakfast selection very various and tasty. For the money we paid it was a super value.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfest and not clean during breakfest

    Nice place with pleasent view from the room. Clean room with comfortable bed. Very close to Klaipeda center. We recommand this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Big negative was that there was no power outlet in the bathroom which means you can't fix your hair, trim your beard, etc. Another point was that the room didn't have any shelves or drawers to put your cloths or things in.

    The location was fantastic and the room was clean, nice and quiet. Bed was comfortable. Breakfast was acceptable. It is a good hotel and we recommend it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    25% extra for private taxi. At check out I asked reception to call me a taxi to airport. I'm familiar with the service: standard price for official taxi 15 euro. Instead they provided a private car (also not felt safe...) that charged me 20 euro. Not sure why they did, I asked with hours in advance and I asked for a taxi.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room looked absolutely nothing like the photos online, the decor was very outdated and shabby, and the room smelled like sewage and mildew.

    The staff was very lovely and accommodating, the location was perfect, and the breakfast was quite nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To small a toilet in bedroom .very little room from toilet bowl to shower.in need of cleaned carpets.and toilet sink drain hole in need of a much needed clean.would benefit having a kettle in room.breakfast fried eggs and bacon are cold.ok if you like them that way.

    Vivita on reception most courteous and extremely helpful.perfect location for visiting plac s of interest within the old town

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast very poor...not much choice..we came down to breakfast between 9.15am and 9.30am..nothing much left and what hot food there was I.e scrambled egg, streaky bacon her unappetizing. Coffee machine broken and no presence of staff in dining room any morning. Aside from breakfast the hotel was fine...we changed room as shower was over bath but due to the attic ceiling we could not stand to shower?? However hotel agreed it was a problem and moved us with no problem. Make sure you avoid room on 6th floor!

    Location excellent...staff very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I feel I have to be finickity to pick a bad thing. The only thing was that the card machine didn’t work so we had to pay by cash. No drama really but good to know prior to arrival.

    Really nice room, exposed brick, under floor heating in bathroom. Lots of history to the building. Staff were lovely, enjoyed breakfast too!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I disapointed of breakfast variety, because I was staying for four nights and had for breakfast the same meal everyday. It could be ok for some guests but none of all mornings I couldn't find pancakes :)

    It's ssecond time I choose this hotel. I came back after year, because of wonderfull location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some of the staff could have been a little more welcoming, and I'd like to see orange juice on the breakfast menu. The bar had a very limited drinks selection - didn't even have a draught beer available.

    All-in-all, the offering and location deliver fantastic value for money. Some of the staff were better than others but if I was back in Riga at any time I'd be very happy to stay there again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast room was always cold, and some of the staff (not all) there and at the reception didin’t bother to say hello

    Great location, warm and cosy rooms, new bathroom

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast a little warm. Personal is not even greeting at breakfast 🤔 The bed mattress too soft...

    The hotel is in great location! All the attractions close. The staff was friendly at reception....Room were clean and comfortable

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of parking. Poor choice of sweets for breakfast (only one sort of cake). If you get a room on the 7th floor, be prepared to climb narrow spiral stairs as elevator is going only up to the 6th - can be a real problem for people with reduced mobility.

    Perfect central location. Spacious room with roof-top terrace, well insulated and quiet.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    -paying by card not possible, cash only -breakfast quite basic, hot food not hot at all

    -location: in the heart of old town, tram and bus stops nearby (including the bus to the airport) -friendly staff at reception

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival waiting to check in I asked for water. I was told there was some in the rooms minibar. So I had to wait! Very odd. Then mini bar is not a fridge so water was warm.

    Location. Quiet rooms. Car service from airport.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Quality of the breakfast could be improved. Some food was obviously not fresh. There were also some noises coming from ventilation. Mini-fridge was off, so drinks were warm.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    First hotel we have stayed in with no drinking water in room, nor tea/coffee facilities. NOTHING AT ALL TO DRINK, in the room. Disappointing to discover at 3am in the morning, after a great night out in the town.

    Very good breakfast. Room was good value for money

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They didn't accept credit cards! Can you imagine! In the breakfast they had this awful industrial thing which they call "scrambled eggs"

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was kind and helpful. We couldn't eat the last breakfast so they gave us big takeaway breakfasts. The hotel is next to a very good mall with a big supermarket. It's close to the main attractions. Excellent location. The breakfast is simple and tasty.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The conference room we used for meetings was no good - it was a darkish room on 1st floor facing a "quiet street" like we were told. This was almost true, but behind the door to the street seemed be regular smoking place for some people (hotel staff?) so our business meetings were regularly interferred with loud chat and tobacco smoke penetrating through the soor.

    Great location and very good pruce, friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cannot believe that they made us pay cash for the accommodation. Very unprofessional. As a business expense, it is difficult for me to claim when not using he company card. Ridiculous in this day and age we are expected to have cash for accommodation. We were only advised of this at the time of check out and I was told to go to an ATM to withdraw the cash. Would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is served in a small basement area with large tables. Some great breakfast places close by.

    Location is great. Very central so an easy walk to anywhere.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was too warm. The breakfast could be a bit chaotic, only one two slice toaster, the cutlery in front of the toaster, slow to replace items that had run out, and condiments were at a different end tables to the hot food

    Quiet hotel, centrally located with easy access to the old town. The 22 airport bus runs about every 15 minute cost 2 euros and stops a short walk from the hotel (approximately half a mile)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is an issue with cleaning. I arrived at the hour when check-in starts (2pm) and the room was not ready. The day after the room was still un-cleaned at 3pm. Unacceptable.

    The location is perfect and the room was big.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not clear how to arrange-adapt room temperature.

    The Hotel is in the very city center. It was good to visit Riga. From the outside it did not seem an Hotel (because you do not see immediately the reception desk). But the Hotel was probably recently renovated with a very attractive modern style. It was done a great work. It has a very modern furnitire and restyling. Also excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    everything looked like it had seen better days, a lot of wear and tear around. there was a lot of dust around the room and some dirty places in the bathroom. air conditioner sounded like a freight train and breakfast was really poor

    location is great. all the restaurants, bars and clubs are in few minutes walk. receptionist was really nice and helpful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Place is extremely nice and modern. Great location for exploring the city by walking.A bit difficult to find by car,but parking is available two minute walk.$25 per day which is expensive.Staff well trained and very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Furniture is a bit worn, room keeping should pay a bit more attention to the cob webs/dust/dirty bits in the bathroom. Breakfast was so-so, nothing amiss, nothing amazing.

    Location in the old town close to pubs-restaurants area, but at the same time quiet and comfortable. Very friendly service at the reception, good size room/bed, spacey bathroom with floor heating and some basic toiletries provided.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room had a window towards a wall, even if I had asked for a room with a view. We had to make the exstra bed ourselves. THe breakfast was horrible, we went out for coffee right afterwards. The wifi was completelu absent. We will not be coming back.

    The bathroom was just fine

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Almost everything

    There was no croissants on offer for breakfast and the other hot foods were all cold the bed was not comfortable the hotel wanted nearly 4euro for a small bottle of water all in all very disappointed and will not be going back to this hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking that is near is really expencive (though its old town so its understanable), but we found a spot futher away that is free sunday, and from 5 on saturday.

    Room was nice and clean. TV had a lof of foreign chanels. Wifi was fine. Location is great - its in old town, so near all atractions. Staff was friendly and helpful, receptuon works all the time, so no problem if arriving during night.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At four stars you don't get valet, you get a huge paper map with the directions to the nearest ATM, because the nearest parking only takes cash, and when you're back with money you'll have to call parking security guy on his cell phone and wake him up, so that he could let you in. And the worst part is that receptionist not only wasn't willing to help, but seemed to enjoy watching this ordeal unravel, and her questmaster role in it.

    The minibar.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was small so getting in/out of bed very difficult without knocking arms and legs. Safe didn't work despite alerting staff.

    Location Breakfast Staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed over the weekend and unfortunately our room was on the street side. Although there were double windows, it was hard to get good night's sleep because of the noise outside. I appreciate it is busy part of the town and we wanted to be close to centre. I suppose you can't have everything. Breakfast was cold! Not a great start for the cold, rainy day

    Really nice hotel, lovely decorated

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Reception staff were at times arrogant and unhelpful

    Had to wait a long time untill 3.30p.m. to be allocated room on arrival even tough I had informed them I will arrive early. On one day room was not cleaned at all and a/c did not work

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast very ordinary with no black tea at all on first day and scrambled eggs solid and not hot. Carpets need refreshing and cleaning.

    Front desk staff friendly and our room was in a good position at the front.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    The location was ideal. The staff were friendly and the helpful. The room was cosy with rustic features. Only thing that let it down was breakfast, because every day the hot breakfast was cold especially the fried eggs.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    comparing the other hotels in the old town Riga, the internet was really weak and I had problems to connect to the websites.

    the staff was fine for me.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This hotel is comfortable, clean and at a great location. The staff is friendly and helpful. What I liked the most was to be able to get into the hotel from many places around the old town within minutes. It's so in the middle of everything. So you if it rains or it gets too warm, no problem you'll be able to stop by the hotel and change. I liked the rooms as much as the entry hall with comfortable big armchairs. It's great to have a drink while you wait for your friends to get down.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The spots of the dirt at the room carpet. Might be the dirt or abrasion. Spots of the grease on the furniture. Noise during the night up to 3 o'clock.

    Friendly and professional staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is one of the prime examples of a hotel run badly. Staff was absent minded, the rugs dirty, the breaksfast room too small to accomodate all guest. On top of that, they were not accepting credit cards, claiming that their POS was broken. Nobody seemed to care for the guests!!!

    Location is ok

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was couple minor things I would never expext from 4star facility, lack of disposable bath slippers, during 3 day stay once towels wasn't changed, bath toilitaries and soap wasn't changed at all.

    Room we took (twin comf.) was really nice, had bathroom (pleasant small thing) had also little terrace and as it was floor 7, small separate lobby fir two rooms being there. Staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Impolite staff at the reception, not welcoming and not helpful. Cleaning staff enter in your room without taping the door. There is apparently a management issue in this hotel. Breakfast room too small regarding the size of the hotel and food cold and not fresh.

    it was clean

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    There was no kettle or complimentary coffee and tea in our room, which you would expect from a 4 star hotel. Breakfast time was frequently chaotic as there were often not enough clean plates, cups and cutlery available. Despite my comments to the staff that the 'hot' food - bacon, eggs, sausage etc - were barely warm, not much improvement was made.

    Our room was cleaned properly and was in a very quiet location. The Reception staff were polite and helpful - except one who was not.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The street is noisy, but it is understandable as it is old town.

    It is nice hotel in a good place - in a heart of old town. Breakfast was good, wi-fi excellent and the staff very pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms would deserve some freshening up. Our bathroom was small, cold and always damp with the towels always staying wet. No healthy bite available for breakfast, but plenty of attitude from the breakfast staff.

    Great location at the very edge of the old town.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the curtains on the windows are not assuring the dark inside, and the dawn is very early on first days of july in northern Europe country. The computer at hotel all wasn't connected with a printer I would appreciate a boiler in the room, with some coffee

    very good breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no elevator in the building. We therefore had to carry our heavy bags up three flights of steps. We had not realized that this was a B&B and not a hotel. As a result we checked out after one night although we paid for four nights.

    nothing

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had some light in the night/morning because the back-out does not cover all window. My room was an interior room, so my view was an interior courtyard. The breakfast was a little poor for the money per night, and the breakfast room is not cozy neither pleasant.

    Location is perfect. Staff is very helpful. The room was clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    To have a shower I had to go on my knees, as it was placed under a roof which was style. Beds were also not that nice. It was fa below my expectations. The breakfast was also poor

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast could be better; no prepared fresh fruit or natural yogurt available. I found a poor breakfast for a 4 star hotel. The hallway to the rooms was not very clean and the carpet was very used.

    I liked the bed, very confortable and the whole facilities were very nice. The staff was very helpful and professional.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dark entrance to Hotel A bit of a worry, nearly missed steps completely needs highlighting. Everything else was great

    Lovely room, tasty breakfast, heart of old town, everything close

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The mattresses were rather uncomfortable and we do not understand why the cleaning staff does not make the guests' beds but simply leave the duvet folded on top of the mattress. We stayed 2 nights, the cleaning staff did not really do much other than wipe the sink and shower. Breakfast was the worst we have ever had in a 4-star hotel: all of the hot food was stone cold, found egg shells in the scrambled eggs, no hot chocolate, no potatoes etc. We had breakfast somewhere else on day 2 as we were that disappointed with day 1. The various dark haired female receptionists are useless, they could not locate Riga'sTourist Office on the hotel's own map of town and spoke very basic English. Male staff at the reception was much better, and so were the bar maids.

    Excellent location (all of Riga's main monument were in a walking distance, the hotel is also meters away from a shopping centre), adequate room and facilities.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast wasn't that great, we actually ended up eating breakfast at a cafe our two last days.

    Excellent location in the old parts of Riga with parks just around the corner.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No free bottle of water. A very small bottle of water for 2€ in the minibar. The internet connection is horrible. We had to leave one day earlier and rush to Manchester because of terrorist attack. The greedy management forced us to pay for two rooms that we are not staying.

    A nice view from the room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea making facilities in the room. The coffee machine had still not been repaired or replaced from our visit months before. Therefore the coffee was premade , stale and cold. Breakfast just adequate.

    Location. Friendly staff. Comfortable warm room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast Room in utilitarian basement divided by 4 structural pillars, very DIY ( which can be usual), with what looked like standard average own brand supermarket ingredients and often cold/lukewarm hot dishes e..g. scrambled eggs etc .No muesli, but 2 sets of choc pops and cornflakes (didnt taste of much). Much conversation from staff off site in the kitchen. Cleaning a bit hit and miss on a daily basis (BUT towels always got changed!) and room clean. Constant quite loud radio music/musak in the lobby/bar and TV on so didnt feel able to sit and talk with guests but not a big issue as you can always go out with them and lots of places to have a drink/coffee literally a step away...

    Suite was good size and well fitted out (working desk, bed room, bathroom)and good fast wifi Lovely helpful reception staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast could have better. The sauna is extra and the summer terasse was in the dark back yard.

    Good central location. Friendly staff and nice rooms with good beds and bathtub.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the morning, I asked the manager if I could purchase a fanta which was in plain view at the bar. He stated the bar was closed with no offer of an alternative. I would have taken care of the guest if this were my hotel. For that one slight, I will not stay here again. There are many hotels in this city that will want my business.

    The bed was soft and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I got number 22 bus and was given stop to get off,which is near hotel but little difficult to find maybe some directions from when getting off the bus ,but very close when know location

    Hotel perfect for short or long stay perfect location,room quite spacious bed comfy bathroom excellent a great experience,staff could not do enough,and were very helpful with anything asked of them

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast. Staff was clueless. Ran out of coffee, teaspoons, butter, pancakes, juice, and noticed that many other guests were having to ask the staff for the same items. Breakfast service was really poor... But we were only staying for one night if we were staying longer wouldn't want to go through this every morning.

    Location. Room was warm and comfortable. Staff at the reception were friendly and helpful :)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be arranged more efficiently. On our first morning almost everything was finito when we came to breakfast room (one hour before the breakfast time was ending). Had to hunt for cups and plates and toasts etc... Second day coffee wasn't ready when we came to breakfast. Otherwise the breakfast was ok.

    Nice and quiet little hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the coffee machine went out of order and they couldn't fix it for a few days so not getting proper coffee in the morning was a no no. we had a room on the 6th floor and the bathroom was with sloping roof. Nice to look at but you couldn't take a proper shower because you couldn't stand up in it without bumping your head on the ceiling. and I'm only 1.63 cm. the staff at the reception wasn't too polite when we arrived. I even felt guilty for coming to the hotel and taking their time to check me in.

    the location is awesome! the breakfast was rather good. the cleaning personnel fantastic!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wi-Fi not working stable. Еhe staff is friendly, but I asked for Wi-Fi fixing three times. The breakfast was just a normal, nothing spacial, the choice wasn't good, once the porridge were burn!( There is big problem to park car inside the Old City but there is private parking that takes EUR 20 / 24hours.

    Location, walls, staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room decor felt a tad dated. But I think that's just hotels in Latvia in general. If you come armed with that knowledge, you'll enjoy it for what it is.

    The location is fantastic and love the rustic feature walls left intact that remind you that you are in the the old city.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor lightning in room, rooms need a bit updating, poor selection in cold breakfast buffet.. If information says that air-conditioning, then it should work too - room was hot and nothing else to do than keep window open..

    Location, warm breakfast buffet

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room a little cool on the first night (maybe because our room had lots of windows) - but they did provide extra blankets plus a oil-fin heater, which fixed things completely.

    Nice breakfast. Nice staff. Excellent location. Very quiet inside. Cool bar!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked absolutely everything in this hotel: my room was cozy with beautiful authentic brick wall, nourishing breakfast and smiley staff. I will definitely stay here in future.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The "superior" room did not feel superior by it's size or looks. Walls, furniture and carpets needed a good clear or renovation. The credit card reader had no connection, so I was asked to go to the nearest ATM and pay by cash.

    Excellent location. Comfortable bed. Many foreign (Italian, French, Spanish) TV channels.

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Old City Boutique Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: