Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Boutique Hotel Virkas muiža

Virkas iela 27, Kuldīga, LV-3300, Latvia

#4 of 5 hotels in Kuldīga

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 386 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 61

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.6
    Its uplifting place and is a perfect mood setter for visiting the amazing old Kuldiga.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Boutique Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I liked the old but well kept mansion atmosphere. Also I liked the location but for strange reasons. Its not a beautiful location and its a distance from the centre, but its an historical option to see what was the Soviet understanding of using space. Luckily they didn't destroy this building. So its a place where different eras really stand side-by-side.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    7.1
    If it wasn't for hot weather I probably would have enjoyed my stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Boutique Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a very hot summer day and the room that we were staying in was pretty small. It was difficult to ventilate the room because of small window thus sleep was almost impossible. We had only one holliday to spend without kids and uninterrupted sleep was one of the things that I was looking forward to. Also boutiqe isn't the word that comes to mind when I think about hotel. There is mix of different styles that doesn't really go together well.

    Service and staff were very good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    6.7
    Great breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was many people in action in the lobby preparing for some exhibition/fare and we felt a bit missplaced and that we were in the way.

    Great breakfast!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable beds, nice place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit far from the center, and the price for breakfast was too high as the meals were very simple and usuall.

    Comfortable beds, nice place. Boutique style is interesting and cozy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    10
    We had a very warm welcome at the reception in this awesome...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Triple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a very warm welcome at the reception in this awesome old and beautifully renovated manor house. The lounge areas were extraordinary, like in the museum. The rooms were clean and the facilities comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    8.3
    Definitely boutique
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Boutique Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Little bit far from center. Room was unbearably hot (was there during a heatwave). If these temperatues happen more often they should think of something.

    Quite a cozy hotel. Nice rooms attractive building and friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    8.5
    Modern room in newly built building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The smoking area (ashtray) should be moved away from the entrance, for example in the parking place. Smoke came into the room even on the 2nd floor. Guests should be notified that some rooms are in the different building, not in the manor.

    Modern room in newly built building. Room was very clean and comfortable. The view through the window was pretty - green, quiet, old stadium.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    Amazing place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Amazing place, building is great, very close to the centre. The staff was excellent, very helpful and friendly. They had two bikes which we were able to rent and it was great way to explore the city and surroundings. Would recommend this place and will defiantly come back.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    6.3
    Friendly person at the reception
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was a disappointment. Breakfast buffet was quite poor and crowded. We thought to be accomodated in the old building but stayed instead in a brand new hotel aside which has nothing to do with "boutique hotel"

    Friendly person at the reception

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    5.0
    Place, waiting room and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not ready for us. We was 5 person in family room. Waiting when bring towels pillows and blankets. Was ready just for 3 person. When i book a hotel I leave a message for extra pillows and blankets. Not recive.

    Place, waiting room and breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    The hotel not in the town center (about 10 min.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Boutique Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On the morning that we were there for breakfast, in the breakfast room, the television was on and it was loud.

    The hotel not in the town center (about 10 min. walk). It is an original old house turned into a hotel, nicely done and the room is lovely. There is also a nice cozy terrace to have breakfast or drinks.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Cozy, well run, very authentic, absolute boutique, good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Boutique Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little out of the very center, so people with walking problems should consider a short drive

    Cozy, well run, very authentic, absolute boutique, good breakfast, comfy beds, very calm place

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    6.3
    The property is very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Boutique Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location: a bit too far from the city centre. You need a car or a taxi to get there. Room specification: We booked a suite, but it was far from that. There was only one room (about 16-20 sqm), no fridge, no view, no safe and not even a cupboard to keep your belongings. I think it's a waste of money to book a suite, because you'll just pay €20/night extra for pretty much nothing. The room should have been 30 sqm and should have had a patio. If the hotel named the rooms correctly, it would satisfy the guests I guess.

    The property is very nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.6
    unique hotel with great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Boutique Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The young lady that greeted us was very efficient, excellent English, and explained directions and attractions for us. Breakfast was good.room was nicely decorated. The hotel was very unique and felt homely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    Amazing interior design in the double rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Boutique Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was more than fine with bread, cheese, jam, scrambled eggs and cornflakes, but could have had a little more details for example and fruit. But knowing that it was included in the good price that's really no problem.

    Amazing interior design in the double rooms. Extremely friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.3
    Luxurious accomodation, walking distance from Kuldīga's city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Boutique King Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Superiour Suite was facing the courtyard, not the river side as expected. Also it is unfortunate that such a beautiful manor house is trapped between some warehouses and blocks of flats built during the soviet era.

    Newly renovated, beautiful manor house walking distance from Kuldīga's city centre. The Superior Suite met all expectations - beautiful design, spacious room with a huge balcony.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    10
    Very clean and nice place for affordable price, friendly staff
    • Group
    • Boutique Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall I liked everything, however, breakfast could have a greater variety of food to choose from.

    The staff was very friendly and helpful, shared the information about popular places to visit nearby, was really nice and friendly. The room was clean and tidy, quite spacious and comfortable. I was really surprised as it is really good place for that price. I really loved the interior of the room and hotel. Breakfast was nice - eggs, sausages, bread and salad as well as cereal and coffee.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    5.4
    The interior is very nice and beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Boutique Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tottaly we had 3 rooms with our friends. However each room had its own problems. The biggest rooms smelled with fresh painting and it eas quit hard to be there without opened windows. The smallest room was really cold, the heating in the room was not working at all, the towel heater was off as well. I asked to change the room. However I was informed that there are no rooms and they can do nothing about heating. Without checking they told me it was on, not even wikling to vome upstairs and check it. The conclusion is I was freezing during the night. I staid in many manors, but this one was not worth it. I was dissapointed.

    The interior is very nice and beautiful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    8.8
    If you want to spend a night in a classic Manor house of the Baltics, here you have good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Boutique Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    From the outside, the house looks a little bit shabby, but the interior is great. The Wifi was very poor though.

    The Manor is beautifully furnished and the staff is very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    7.9
    Old style place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Boutique Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - For people who have trouble with soundproof, bring earplugs as you can hear when someone walks by or opens doors ect. I had no problems with it, but some might. - Maybe that is just one room. But I had glass wall separating living room and bathroom/restroom. Which would be strange if you travel with someone :D - For me it was too dark, I had roof room, and lighting in room was bad, accept one next to mirror in bathroom.

    For discounted price it is very nice place to stay, very decorative and with oldish manor style with paintings and beautiful sofas, so if you like that you might enjoy stay here. Not far away from center. Everything was clean and nice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    6.3
    The breakfast was quite poor, with no choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Boutique Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was quite poor, with no choice. What is more, when we came there was almost nothing left to eat, just some slices of cheese and no vegetables... Definitely for this price I was expecting a bit better breakfast but it was on the same level of a cheap hostel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    8.3
    Peaceful accomodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Boutique Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were only few channels found on TV (none of them was English, Russian was one or two). Toiletries were just soap bars, no shampoo. I believe these small things are to be fixed for the summer season.

    Smiley and welcoming receptionist lady, cozy room interior, spacious clean bathroom, peaceful atmosphere.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    7.1
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Boutique Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fire alarm went off at 5am for about 10 minutes...no one bothered to tell us it was just because they burnt the toast, and we had to get up and dressed super quick to see what was wrong. Also the handle fell off our room door and was fixed with a paperclip.

    Good location. Decent price.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.5
    Ambience, breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unavailable dinner facilities for

    Ambience, breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    3.3
    Room design, Hotel location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room design, Hotel location. No Hair dryer un appartament.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    9.6
    Great room and everything else
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Boutique Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not exactly in the centre of town, but not too far either

    Great room and everything else

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    7.1
    Good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room needed refreshing.

    Friendly staff, good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful area with wonderful restaurants and park, much to see.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Boutique Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very comfortable

    We enjoyed the stay though the staff were unprofessional ando the manager a bit stern but ok to deal with

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.3
    price is good, the hotel is lovely, the city is nice, the neighborhood is poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Boutique Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The neighborhood is ugly, soviet time houses are next to this lovely boutique hotel.

    tastefully furnished, very clean, historic hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    all OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Boutique Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nice place, nice City

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    They will give you a secure garage for your motorbike
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice brand new building. Friendly and extremely helpful staff. They offered us a garage for our motorcycles. Very spacious parking lot.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    5.8
    Manor is surounded by ex-soviet time buildings which doesn`t allow to enjoy the stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Boutique Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very poor sound isolation in the room, you can hear your neighbours in their room.

    Polite and nice staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.9
    breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Boutique Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    location a bit far (but as it is a small town, nothing is really far)

    breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.6
    perfect stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Boutique Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    distance from centre is about 30 min walk, but other than that its just perfect

    staff were extremely helpful and polite, they made us feel welcome.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.9
    The room was clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Boutique Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was clean and comfortable. Sometimes we are traveling with dog so allowance to stay here with dog is a huge value.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    6.7
    It was pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Boutique Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast choice was very poor. For the price you pay you would expect something more in breakfast!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.9
    Paintings, wood, high ceilings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Boutique Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast, big pillows.

    Paintings, wood, high ceilings

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    9.2
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Boutique Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    6.3
    Stuff did their job well
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Boutique Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast

    Stuff did their job well

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    The mansion is very good, just around (outside the windows) there are no nice views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Boutique Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    View from the window.

    Clean, pretty, nice stuff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    8.3
    Nice place for stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Boutique Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is near by black of flats an car repair shops.

    Luxury stay for small money

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    Everythink was slick and perfect 👍
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Boutique Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everythink was slick and perfect 👍

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    6.3
    Transparent bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Boutique Family Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Transparent bathroom

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.6
    Amazing hotel with very nice rooms and personal!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Boutique Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location from Kuldiga downtown is a bit far, but if you have a car, it is not a problem.

    Amazing hotel with very nice rooms and personal!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Boutique Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lifts. Main restaurant closes early.

    The hotel is in a very nice area close to the centre, with a nice garden, and easy parking. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    9.6
    Nice transparent relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Boutique Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The quality was good, wasn't expecting it so good and the breakfast where great

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    7.5
    I defenetely woyld like to come and stay there again. Ideal place for having rest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Boutique Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I didn't like was the poor coffee.

    Interior :)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    8.8
    Nice and cozy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Boutique Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Transparent WC door is a little bit odd.

    Everything was clean, new and nice

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    9.2
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Boutique Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Comfortable and beautiful room in nice house

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    8.3
    Value for money, nice stay in historical city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Boutique Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Soviet style surrounding

    Friendly staff, lot of real art, full breakfast

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    6.3
    Some renovated rooms are very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Boutique Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Terrible breakfast, not worth the money.

    Some renovated rooms are very nice

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    8.8
    Bathroom on the small side
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Boutique Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom on the small side

    Stayed in May 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    9.2
    Old building in a peaceful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I wasn´t used to such voice of a heating system, but could sleep anyway. That voice disturbed only little. I could feel some springs in the bed mattress.

    Old building in a peaceful location. Lovely room for breakfast, decorated with rustic style. Bicycles for rent.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    10
    I am 190 and the bed was too short for me- if You are close...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I am 190 and the bed was too short for me- if You are close or above 2 meters than definitely bed will be short. I was alone and had a double room and double bed- so i was ok.

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    7.9
    Don't be put off by first impressions of the (to be...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Don't be put off by first impressions of the (to be blunt: sketchy) reception area and hallways; the rooms themselves have been redone very nicely (some of the nicest budget rooms we saw during a month in the Baltics), as has the dining area. A little bit of a walk from the historic centre, but quite good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    7.9
    Unusual house, sort of old Manor, quirky, reasonably well...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Smelly shower.

    Unusual house, sort of old Manor, quirky, reasonably well taken care of. A budget option, but a lot of value for money if you don't mind quirks.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2016

    8.8
    Nice and silent place, good free parking for the car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nice and silent place, good free parking for the car. Good price for the reasonable service.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    8.3
    The place is perfect for families, even with a dog.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The place is perfect for families, even with a dog. Everything was nice, clean and comfortable. Not our first time there, warmly recommend.

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    9.2
    attractive old wooden building
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    a little further from town center than i had hoped for

    attractive old wooden building

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    8.8
    Big family room for 5 person.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Big family room for 5 person.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    8.3
    Ļoti laipna un atsaucīga darbiniece reģistratūrā!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Ļoti laipna un atsaucīga darbiniece reģistratūrā! Arī no rīta citas darbinieces bija jaukas un smaidīgas. Mierīga un klusa vieta, laba nakšņošanai.

There are also 44 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 61

Browse Boutique Hotel Virkas muiža traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: