Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Rixwell Terrace Design Hotel 4 stars

Dzirnavu iela 2, Rīga, LV-1010, Latvia

#95 of 153 hotels in Rīga

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1748 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    8.3
    Breakfast was excellent, room was big enough and clean.
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Receptionist at the check-in process was unfriendly. Elevator is tiny to fit in with suitcase and kid. No free parking.

    Breakfast was excellent, room was big enough and clean. Some of the staff was very friendly and helpful. Location is good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    8.3
    Allright but not OK for 4 Stars
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was not really clean Mould at the shower Room in Yard Building and not in Art Neveau House

    Service at Breakfast was super and the lady was very diligent All in all just a 3 Star offer Room was spacious and Superior

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    7.9
    Good and clean hotel when you buy with discount.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Planket was to small for two persons. Street noice was too loud. I could not but my phone to charge next to my bed- I am used to that it is charging next to me so when the alarm goes on it is easy to turn of and no need to climb out from the bed.

    Breakfast was good, lot of choices. Staff was friendly. Everything was clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.1
    Limited parking but good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There are only 6 parking places which is not mentioned on the Booking.com site. We arrived at 2.30 pm and they were already taken. Parking in street is expensive so we parked about 200 metres away in a commercial car park. Check in took 12 minutes per room. Our standard room had the bed against the wall and only one chair. When we asked to upgrade, we were told to see the manager who was not in till the next morning. Fridge in Junior Suite was old and did not work well in hot weather.

    Great location for Art Nouveau buildings and restaurants. Modern bathroom. We upgraded to a Junior Suite and it was HUGE and very comfortable. Great breakfast including champagne.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.6
    Nothing to complain about.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As mentioned a little walk to the old town/tourist trap. Probably about 20 minutes by foot? Not a problem as it is nice things to see on the way in though.

    Nothing to complain about. Great room, great staff, excelent breakfast. Unless you need to live in the old town/tourist trap, this is where you want to be. But close to the Art Noveau-areas!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    8.8
    The room was nice, the bed comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's 15 -20 minutes walking from the old town and more than 30 minutes to the bus station.

    The room was nice, the bed comfortable. There was air conditioning which was great because it was really hot. Definetly good choice for the money!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    6.7
    Strange policy with card prepayments
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Strange card prepayments policy. If you choose option without refund, hotel charges the total amount from credit card, and you have to show the same credit card in the hotel together with your passport. If you leave it at home (like I did), you have to go though time-consuming process when they refund money to original card (it hasn't arrived yet by now!) and ask you to pay again with other means. Very inconvenient. - No free toiletries in bathroom at all (just a fixed shampoo dispenser). - I'd say overall level is 3*, not 4*.

    - Good location. - Nice and friendly staff, doing their best to resolve issues.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    6.7
    We booked it becauso of free parking place, but when we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked it becauso of free parking place, but when we arrived, personal told us that where is no parking places left, so we had to leave a car on a street and pay a lot for parking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    4.6
    Nothing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Design Single Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was scammed. I booked a design single room with terrace for two nights with 2 weeks advance. I was shocked to see that it was on the ground floor, that the toilet and bath where in the room, next to the bed and worst of all the sink was completely missing!! Where do they get the four stars from????!?? The “terrace” was a open spot on a car park with view in the neighbors room! I suppose they were shocked like me when they realized that they had no privacy at all. The staff was indifferent and said that they where overbooked, offered an upgrade to a suite for the night after but at extra charge. At that point I changed hotel. I had the impression that they where even laughing at me..terrible service. The breakfast was decent, though. You can find much better in Rīga for eighty euros per night! Avoid...

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.5
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no parking space so we had to pay for the parking (about 8 euros for the night). The breakfast wasn't that great, there was a patched hole in our room's wall and the shower head near the toilet was not working.

    Great location - really near the city center and the old town. Beautiful terrace where you can have breakfast, friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.6
    Large and clean room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked through booking.com, there was info that parking is available, but in the end it wasn't, cause it was full and i didn't read that it cost 10EUR per night.

    The room was so large for 2 of us, so it was a surprise for us! The breakfast was pretty amazing, even bubbles was availible!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    6.7
    OK hotel for fair money, but don't expect anything above clean bed and bathroom and fair breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms definitely needed fresh air, design itself is too dark and depressive. Staff on the breakfast is not very friendly. Reception stuff had problems with making an invoice for a company - simple task which every hotel in the world is able to do!

    Quiet place on the quiet street. Room was big enough.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    4.6
    Disappointing for 4 stars hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Obviously the worst room in hotel. Bathroom was terrible and the view from windows was to garbage. Beds were uncomfortable and needs to be replaced. TV was big but pointless because of the signal quality. The hairdryer was not working normally.

    Possibility to eat good breakfast on the balcony outside.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    5.4
    averege hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the rooms with the windows towards Dzirnavu street are extremely noise - with closed windows, ear plugs I was waken up a 5 a.m. by trash collecting car . Rooms does not have comfortable light switches near the bed.

    Nicely designed, new hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant stay. Delighted to recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I wish there were a tea kettle with some tea in the room to make a cup of tea for these cool Riga nights.

    Room is spacious and comfortable and all the fixtures seem to be in like new conditions. Breakfast is great with a variety of hot and cold dishes: sparkling wine is a nice touch. Location is about 15 minutes of walking from the Old Town, which is a little far but it gives you a good exercise and the walk there and back seems very safe even at midnight. Riga city center in general seems very safe at night. Just 1/3 of a mile from the hotel is many embassies and government buildings. Staff's English is excellent and they were quite pleasant and helpful. One day staff put out trays of appetizer and dessert in the lobby for guests to enjoy. The first time I've seen such things at a hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Must visit the Old Town. + Raddison Hotel Skyline Bar. +Galleria Riga rooftop restaurant/bar
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No adjustment of temp on air con, though it was set at a reasonable temperature. Other than that, could not fault it!

    Clean hotel, great breakfast, location was 10 min walk to the Old Town. Bars and restaurants close by. Would highly recommend to anyone. Had a great stay. Explored the old town, went for a boat trip. Top tip: go to the tallest Radisson Hotel and make your way to the Skyline Bar (use the elevator) for the best view of the whole city! Also, there is an amazing rooftop bar/restaurant on top of the shopping centre Galleria Riga. We had a great meal and the view is superb (just go to the 8th floor in the elevator).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.5
    Location was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Design Single Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit too design for my liking, had toilet and bath in bedroom but no sink, and tv was in location where you could not really watch it

    Location was great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    5.0
    Location ok.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small room. Noisy air conditioning and not cooling at all. No chance to sleep at night. Close the windows and room become too hot immediately. Open the window and hear city traffic outside. Shower room not comfortable and on floor were dust and paper trays.

    Location ok. Breakfast more or less ok. Good WiFi connection.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.8
    Good creative hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The door in the room looks like heavy, but we heard everywhere in the hall. Only this thing was inconvenient.

    Good hotel for staying! Kindly stuff at the reception and restaurant. The breakfast was perfect! So many dishes and soft drinks. Thank you so much!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.6
    Receptionists were extremely friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionists were extremely friendly and helpful. I stayed with partner and we were offered much bigger room than we expected, it had large windows, both bathtub and shower, a kettle and large tv. Breakfast was great, there was wide variety to choose from.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    6.7
    Quiet.
    • Solo traveller
    • Design Single Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No separate bathroom. The curtain between the bed and the toilet was a little bit weird. Also there is nothing between the bath and the rest of the room/bed and the only way to wash yourself and not make the room as a big pool is to sit in the bottom of the bath. But ofcourse it all starts from if you are lucky enough to get the warm (not hot, warm) water in the morning to take a shower at all :)

    Quiet. Good breakfast. Nice staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.6
    Good location, friendly staff, comfortable beds, nicely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite old tv, limited parking places, but possible to park also on the street (free from 20:00-08:00)

    Good location, friendly staff, comfortable beds, nicely renovated old building, good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    8.3
    It was great and simple. Without any unexpected incidents.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The elevator was very small, but still we managed to use it.

    Value for the money is great and the location is super. It is very close to the center and we could go most places by foot. Good breakfast, clean rooms, friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.6
    Superb value for money(even more)
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very minor thing - not a lot of TV channel selection

    Rooms were nice and spacious, very clean with very good facilities. Was also quiet and a comfortable bed. Great location with major streets couple of minutes walk, the hotel itself is in quiet centre. Breakfast was perfect for me, good selection of food, great interior and having breakfast in the top floor with view over rooftops is always great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.8
    Functional hotel, great breakfast, beautiful city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room felt a little outdated, could have probably done with a bit of TLC but we were there to see Riga not the inside of a room so we really didn’t mind!

    The breakfast bar was great, perfect distance from the old town (meant you got to enjoy a beautiful walk through the parks when going to and from old town) shop close by and very very helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    6.7
    So so
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Design Single Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad cleaning... It was dark in the room, maybe it is the reason that it was dirty... I’d recommend to use brighter light in the room (it ok in the bathroom). It was noisy outside, so I can’t open the window, the road was close.

    The location is good to reach the center. Breakfast was in the highest floor, there was nice atmosphere and a lot of sunshine)) Service was great, I had a problem with my room and it was changed immediately. Receptionist was very kind and gave me her private charging to use, because I lost mine.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    9.2
    Huge room, nice bathroom, comfy bed, great minibar...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No hot water one morning but realized that if you take a shower/bath very very early in the morning, you have to give it a lot of time to heat up. Otherwise, hot water on the spot.

    Huge room, nice bathroom, comfy bed, great minibar selections and price and wonderful breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    5.4
    Good breakfast, location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was to small and fitted with 3 beds. Announced that comming with a dog, so gave us the smalest room. Not so pet friendly.

    Good breakfast, location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    5.4
    Normal expectations, but low level facilities
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The first morning (8.30am) of our stay all the building was without warm water, so we decided to take a quick cold shower and we went to eat breakfast (by the way ... the hair-dryer is not even good enough to blow candles on a birthday cake ... weak and cold air ... just a toy). At breakfast, the table disposition was terrible, to the point that couples were sitting in tables for 4, 6 or even 8 people, and the dirty dishes around couldn't make it any more difficult to enjoy the breakfast time. We took a piece of cake and we took a seat on a sofa eating quickly and going out to find a cafe where to have a decent breakfast. The warm water came back around 10.00am, so we had a warm shower and the rest of the day was good. On the second morning we had normal shower and breakfast situation, but I have to admit that spending the very same budget the kitchen could produce WAY BETTER QUALITY of food (and have the possibility to avoid serving very old oven baked potatoes or pancakes fried in fresh new oil). By the way, 20% of the food is good, so is possible to keep them and upgrade the rest (or change the cook).

    The location is not bad, as the street has never traffic and is possible to find several services in a couple of hundred meters away. The staff is polite and the prices are fair enough, but I can't tell the same about the facilities.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    9.2
    Helpful before arrival when contacting them with regards to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ceiling was a little low in once place as we were on the top floor so had to duck by the bed.

    Helpful before arrival when contacting them with regards to arranging a airport transfer. Very smooth check in, was late at night when we checked in and when we asked about food the receptionist showed us a pizza place and even rang up and ordered for us when we told her what we would like. Room was cleaned well everyday. Bath was nice and good hot towel rail. Not a far walk to the old town centre and if you walk the right way very scenic walk through the parks. Hotel was great value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.1
    The design of the room is very cool, but the audibility in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Audibility

    The design of the room is very cool, but the audibility in the rooms is crazy, which really spoilt the impression of our entire stay. Some drunk couple was having sex and we could hear it as if it was in our room. The breakfast was excellent! And the staff of the hotel is really nice!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    9.2
    Cozy and generally lovely place to stay for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Design Single Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    While the room was clean enough, I did find some waste left from the previous occupant inside a bookshelf, as well as under the bed. The way my room was designed, the curtains didn't cover the very sides of the window, so even while closed, people from the outside could see the bed and the room in general, so I actually had to press the curtains against the wall using my luggage bag.

    Stayed at the ground floor suite with a terrace. Very nicely designed, comfortable bed and bathtub. Minibar priced quite fair. The floors in the room were heated and it was extremely warm in general (conditioning system can be easily configured to your liking). Check-in and check-out were absolutely hassle free, and the breakfast, while limited to all the basics, still had everything you would expect, from bacon and eggs to pastries to very good coffee. Can't really beat for the price.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    2.9
    The worst experience in my accommondation history!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1. No CORRECT action executed upon our compliance:     We requested for worker's check on the heating and hot water in the evening coz both of them didn't work in the evening. BUT workers and housekeepers alwasy came to check in the early afternoon, do you think this is the right way to check our compliance on the facilities? Problems happened in the evening but they came to check in the day!? Where were they when problems happened in the evening and when we need service/help!? 2. The day receiptionist on Feb 17 never offer an appropriate solution to us      Solution should be a sincere and appropriate way to fix a problem.  We booked a suite but she offered another much smaller room without any compensation and refused to contact her manager just because of weekend. 3. The extra blanket:      When we complain to Booking, it is so rediculous for them to mention the extra blanket because it is my wife who asked for extra blanket, not them!  They never offer any other useful solution on their own initiative except a much smaller room without any compensation. 4. The day receptionist on Feb 17&18:     Impertinent, indifference, lack of sincerity, always no smile and always INHOSPITABLE!     When we told her that we would wrote everything about this experience on facebook, her feedback was "it's up to you". It's quite incredible to hear this sentence from a hotel receptionist. I attach this receptionist's picture as attachment below.

    Nothing!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    10
    Just perfect
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Third or fourth time staying in this hotel. Everything was perfect this time. We took deluxe double room and it was comfortable and quiet. Exceptionally friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    3.3
    If the room temperature is so cold that you have to sleep...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was extremely cold. Radiators cold, windows did not hold cold. We had to sleep with full clothing and i put my parka on. Im shocked. I will never go back there. The room was ugly, tv was extra small so you can not see, there were no channels. Only few russian and latvian. I will never go back there. They must have known that the rooms were icecold.

    If the room temperature is so cold that you have to sleep with your jeans and sweater on than what good can you say?

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    7.1
    Affordable accommodation, everything was nearby. Room was OK. Could have felt a bit more secure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The toilet in our room was making a horrible wheezing sound every time it was flushed and the ghost-like sound of the elevator didn't let us sleep very well. On our second day in the afternoon a strange man just walked in to our room using a master keycard (I assume) although we had refused room cleaning in the morning already. Couldn't really figure out the "design" part of the name of the hotel.

    Affordable accommodation in a beautiful area of the city - just a short walk away from all the good cafes and bars, a little bit further to the old town. Hostel breakfast was fairly good. The room felt airy and light. Good bed and decent bedding.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    4.2
    Very overrated and overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very unhelpful staff along with very small facilities if you stay at the reception building, not corresponding to a 4 star hotel.

    Good location, 10 minute walk to the city centre and near nice restaurants and pubs.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    4.2
    Will not return there.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    By far does not look like a 4 star hotel. Rather 1 star if any. The carpet in the room looked dirty. The shower room was freezing cold (it felt like you were outside). A chubby person would probably no manage to sit on the toilet as it basically touches with the shower cabin wall. The bed wasn't comfortable and was making noise. The walls are probably made of paper as you can hear every small noise in the next room. Breakfast was alright but was food was barely warm.

    The location and price was ok, but nothing else.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.6
    I definetely recomend this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was rather cold in the bathroom (from the window). Also at around 9 am the hot water was not really hot (before this time and also in the evening there was no this problem, so may be it was due to the overuse of water by other guests). The hair dryer was very weak (but this is probably the problem in many hotels).

    The hotel was very cheap but great: clean, rather cozy, the room was warm from the warm floors, the bed was ok. The breakfast was amazing with a lot of choices (also the area was very pleasant with a beautiful view)! The location of the hotel is good: it is in walking distance from the city center but there are also bus stops very close. There is a hypermarket Rimi in 5 minutes walk from the hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful (and speaking also English and Russian). The facilities in the room were good: fridge, large TV, perfect wifi, big mirror.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.6
    Great experience of this friendly unknown gem of a city
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only down side water was cold for shower, so had to wait until it warmed up again, the tub are was so big by time it filled the water had gone cold again only minor detail

    Hotel was great, good location very close to everywhere, breakfast was fab too. Staff were very friendly and helpful with fab English. Every got picked up by the tour bus after a pho call from reception. Rooms were impecably clean & big

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    Cozy design hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a thing, pleasure stay.

    It's very welcoming environment. All rooms has different interior, but goes by the same autentic vibe. Breakfast was rich, and vegetarian friendly. Staff was really helpful,and kind. Close to downtown, by walking or taxi.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    7.1
    I was completely satisfied with my staying in the hotel.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I would recommend to owners to place kettles with some tea and coffee in the room, especially in the winter time. Few bottles of drinking water in the room would be nice as well. Furthermore, cleaning in the room could be done better, particularly in bath room.

    It was comfortable quite place with good location regarding the center of city. Nearby, only in several minutes of walk, are bus stations, small restaurants and cafes', supermarkets and newspapers' kiosks. Room was small, but had all needed appliances for living. Breakfast was good with variable choice of drinks(coffee, tea, apple and orange juices) and snacks. Place ideally suits for people who is looking for good place, not far from the center of Riga, but not expensive.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    7.9
    Hotel experience at excellent price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sadly, old Riga's plumbing failed us -- the tap water ran brown and we had to skip shower. Hopefully, this doesn't happen often.

    It's a nice and good looking hotel with helpful staff. And it has very good deals off-peak season (as in our case). The breakfast is set on top floor, a cosy and atmospheric room looking over vintage roofs of nearby buildings.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    8.8
    nice
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - stuff working at night was bit unpolite and should look more professional (some make up would do) - room was overheated;

    nice big bed; delicious breakfest; very clean room; great price vs. value;

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    10
    Croissants were quite crunchy and hard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Croissants were quite crunchy and hard. Also there was some maintenance going on at 2am! Hoovering and banging right behind our bedroom wall on the night we arrived. It was very hard to sleep.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    8.8
    Nice priceworthy hotel with great location and good breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit noisy in the early morning (we had the hotel kitchen above our room), but you got used to it! More/Better lighting in bed area (for reading) would be good.

    Nice breakfast. Perfect location, nice restaurants and cafés nearby. Very clean. Very spacious room (Junior Suite). Priceworthy (stayed for 5 nights.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    7.9
    Newly renovated rooms and bathrooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls are a bit thin which isn’t a problem until your neighbours host a party in their room! There is only a tiny lift in the first building which wasn’t an issue for us as we don’t mind stairs but for others it could be an issue

    Newly renovated rooms and bathrooms. Breakfast was varied. Location was good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.5
    Hotel was nice, basic hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old, empty buildings next to it make it look bad neighbourhood, however it seemed okay area to me.

    Hotel was nice, basic hotel. Breakfast was good and there were options. Busstop really close so easy to access from the city center and even walking distance from the old town. Seemed quite quiet and peacefull hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    8.3
    In an overall hotel was good, reception staff could be better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Two things I didn't like about the hotel. First, once while I was sleeping one of the reception staff entered to my room all in a sudden. Second, my room was phoned and I was awakened by reception staff as if I ordered a wake-up call which wasn't the case.

    The room was clean and spacious and the bed was quite comfortable. Facilities were satisfactory. Clean bathroom and toilet. The breakfast was delicious and variety of choices were nice. Location of the hotel is great, reachable to central attractions by walking distance, especially it is near to Alberta street.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    4.2
    Better to avoid, unless you get extremely good deal
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Where too start... firstly, it is marketed as 4* hotel, but is barely 3*. Surrounding location is dreadful (loads of ghost/mothballed buildings). Hotel is in dire need of remodelling: - there is not attached restaurant (breakfast served it adjacent building, which seems to have rooms as well) - there was unpleasant small of dampness with sewage undertones, especially in the bathroom. - segment of a bathroom door-frame was loose - one has to lean against cold tiles wall to take a shower - carpet has lost its color and had worn out patches - floor was an even with a significant dimple, which I tripped on - there is no shaving mirror The list could go on...

    Geographically location isn't too bad. Close enough to the centre of the city.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    8.3
    Everything was great beside the location for a paranoid girl like me.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel isn't that central and I had to walk around buildings to get the entrance (which wasn't on the mail street), I could hear the neighbors all the time and can't say I wasn't stressed walking outside at night (lonely tourist, after all)

    The room was clean and cosy. There was everything that was needed, hot water in the shower, soap, heating, big enough bed (not a small single bed), nice breakfast. The hotel isn't in the city center, but close to an active bus station with buses around the clock and about 5 minutes drive.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    7.1
    nice staff, goid breacfast, hotel is near to the center of...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    at first time our room (214) was dirty, toilet was so narrow,you have to lean onto shower's wall, bed's mattras was oldest, screaming while we were sleeping,the entering door was next to the bed head side and if the neighboors shut their door, we had feeling as something fall on our heads, the room was on the 1st (or 0, ground) floor and the view from the windows were trush containers. At the second day we changed the room. second was good.sometimes did not worked the electronic key and we had to return to the reception for unlock our door to go in the room. the street of the hotel is quiet, half of buildings there are leaved from the people, closed and dark in evenings. but the next street is buitiful Albert street.

    nice staff, goid breacfast, hotel is near to the center of the old city.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    9.2
    Absolutely exceeded my expectations. The negatives were small and the positive experience was a big!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a little uncomfy for me, that said it was still ok. Would have liked a reading light/lamp in the room instead of the main light.

    Breakfast - Amazing, Staff - Awesome Clean and well designed place. Feel good atmosphere in the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    3.8
    Negative
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the fact we were moved to a less appealling hotel because of something or other happening at the hotel we originally booked. The receptionist directed us the wrong way on a cold rainy night. The hotel was not where we wanted to be in Riga. Overall the issues with this hotel group spoilt my trip to Riga!!! I shall not return.

    The toast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    6.3
    The bath in room was amazing and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is a little bit too far from center, especially if you go there by foot. When we finally arrived in the hotel, we had to wait for 30 minutes before it was our turn. Also wanted to take a bath at 12 PM, but there was no warm water.

    The bath in room was amazing and relaxing

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    6.3
    A bit disappointed but was fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor noise isolation, and not that I care but TV screen very small. Someone walked into my room despite the -do not disturb- sign :/ felt a bit unsafe. Also room cleaning was a bit off, bed not made and no new towels.

    On a quiet location and quite close to the center. U could walk to anything, no taxi needed if you are not lazy af. I got a water cattle which was super and the bathtub was 👌

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.2
    The staff was very hospitable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was cold and not tasty and you have to go to another building for it - so you either have to fully dress or rush through the cold yard... The room light was a bit too dim to my taste.

    The staff was very hospitable. My early arrival was accepted well, my room was ready and I was checked in very fast. The lady at the reception answered my questions about the city and gave me good advice about transportation. The room was cosy, just enough for 1 night stay. The bathroom was very clean. I also liked the building itself and its nice staircase (the elevator was tiny, so I enjoyed the stairs anyway :). The location of the hotel is quite good - I enjoyed a walk to the city center through the parks and boulevards.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    10
    What a fantastic 13 nights in the Rixwell Terrace Design...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 13 nights

    What a fantastic 13 nights in the Rixwell Terrace Design Hotel!!! Lovely, friendly and very kind staff, excellent breakfast. Very good location. I was very satisfied with this hotel and I hope I will come back as soon as possible :)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    9.2
    I had promised our kid there will be animated movies on the...
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had promised our kid there will be animated movies on the TV... there usually are in hotels. In this case the TV was tiny and there were almost no channels to watch, nothing for kids at all. Oh, and the windows are really bad, as far from soundproof as it can get. On the positive side - I guess that means we're getting some fresh air, right? ;)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    9.6
    Very friendly staff,very nice room,amazing breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot water finished in bathroom,TV remote controller hasn't work properly.

    Very friendly staff,very nice room,amazing breakfast.More than happy with service.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    8.8
    It was said in the booking that parking is available at the...
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was said in the booking that parking is available at the site (no reservation needed), but during my stay it was full and I had to pay double the money to park nearby (had to use parking machine).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    3.3
    Good location, good staff but bad hotel (equipment, rooms , condition)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First of all, there is not given the same room which i offer, photo was quite different compared to real. equipment was poorly condition, room was smallest. Bathroom equipment was destroyed. It was not 4 star hotel, it looks like hostel! Also, they did not anticipate my arrival time, when i indicate in advance.

    Location was really grate! It was very comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    8.3
    I would recommand everyone to stay in the hotel, because its neat and placed very well.
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Because of my backproblems the bed was not appropriate to my needs.

    Breakfast was delicious and everything that was required, was provided. The positioning of the hotel in the city of Riga was excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    7.1
    Small Room but nice breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a bit small for my taste. Not very friendly access for big luggages. Signal of Internet was not very good.

    Cosy place for a night in between two days of travel. Staff was available and quite friendly. They've settled all my formalities in record time (since they've seen that I was very tired). Breakfast is something to remember. By tasting it you wake up in the heart of Riga.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    6.3
    Nothing special.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room had inclined ceiling, it height was rather low just above the bed. Several times I hit my head on it. Bathroom had no full set of bath accessories (only shower caps were presented). Elevator was very-very small and narrow. Coffee from receptionist's coffee machine (for 2 euro) was absolutely nasty.

    Nothing special. Old historical building redesigned for hotel. Not bad. It is clean, it is warm. Terrace for breakfasts under the roof is rather comfortable. Breakfasts are tasty enough.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    5.4
    Not great but price ok & good breakkie
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is a bit far from old town and the part of the street where there’s “life” There were huge spiders webs in the room The lamp fixed at the celling would move and make a lot of noise everytime someone on the upper level would walk(!!).

    The breakfast, the brand new bath tub, the comfort of the bed

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    5.0
    The place was clean
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although the staff was alright and the place was clean, the pictures online do not match the room I stayed, which is nothing like a 'design hotel' as they call themselves. The hotel sells the miniature shampoos since it is not available in the bathrooms. I was disappointed

    The place was clean

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    8.3
    Nice location and nice hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think the bathroom should be a little more comfortable, as we had some problems with the shower’s drain

    I liked the WiFi, the location and the bedroom size

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    5.0
    Staff was nice that only helped me a bit otherwise could...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Actually I can write a lot here, but I just mention a few things, I booked Junior suite room but get some cheeper and worst room with holes in curtains and there smelled like in toilet was to late and my daughter was tired and didn’t want to make scandal straight away, I get that worst room and still payed for booked room, ok next day I get my room what was a bit better but not for 4 stars hotel for that price... breakfast was terrible, really... something like in cheap 2 star hotel in Poland highway... me and my daughter wet there and just drink water and coffee... I don’t know how they get 4 stars but somebody need to check that again, maybe some 10 years ago that can be 4 stars hotel but not anymore. Everything is cheap and old started from towels and furnitureand ended with minibar and breakfast.... really disappointed

    Staff was nice that only helped me a bit otherwise could make a scandal.... and location is ok also

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The signage on the front street could have been more prominent. However we did find it. May have been difficult at night.

    Well located to public transport, quiet, clean, helpful staff, very good breakfast selection, good bed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    7.5
    For a one night stay - cheap, convenient and more than good enough with great locationa and area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was 10 EUR, however that may be understandable as parking in Riga is paid in all locations. The check-in for 4 people took quite a long time (20-30 min). The bathrooms weren't ideal as the drain kept clogging in the shower.

    The breakfast and location we're great! Easily within walking distance of the historic centre as well as really great restaurants in the area. The breakfast itself was quite filling with options available as well as a great view.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    5.8
    Most likely I will not return in this hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel has two buildings not protected between them from rain. Old stairs, stained, very cheap apeareances. The parking of the hotel not available without notice, althoug I've booked parking sport for the car...

    Only the breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    Excellent location, friendly staff, large rooms, good beds,...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is tight and holds only 5 cars, but you can park in front of the hotel too. The dog fee is a bit high (15€/dog/night).

    Excellent location, friendly staff, large rooms, good beds, big bathtub, excellent wifi, small but cosy bar, large breakfast selection with sparkling wine. The girl who checked us in also recommended a great restaurant where we indeed spent an excellent night!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    7.5
    Fine accomodation
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small parking for 6 cars, breakfast to next building, not so helpfull staff, very small elevator in first building

    Place, great breakfast, nice terrace

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    6.7
    Breakfast was great!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was noisy, the double bed was very narrow and not very comfortable, there was no hanger for the shower thus you had to hold it in your hand while showering

    Breakfast was great! You have a nice choice of meals which should satisfy almost every need

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Rixwell Terrace Design Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: