Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Rixwell Terrace Design Hotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Dzirnavu iela 2, Riga, LV-1010, Latvia

#95 of 153 hotels in Riga

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 1778 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2018

    4.6
    Nothing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Design Single Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I was scammed. I booked a design single room with terrace for two nights with 2 weeks advance. I was shocked to see that it was on the ground floor, that the toilet and bath where in the room, next to the bed and worst of all the sink was completely missing!! Where do they get the four stars from????!?? The “terrace” was a open spot on a car park with view in the neighbors room! I suppose they were shocked like me when they realized that they had no privacy at all. The staff was indifferent and said that they where overbooked, offered an upgrade to a suite for the night after but at extra charge. At that point I changed hotel. I had the impression that they where even laughing at me..terrible service. The breakfast was decent, though. You can find much better in Rīga for eighty euros per night! Avoid...

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2018

    7.5
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no parking space so we had to pay for the parking (about 8 euros for the night). The breakfast wasn't that great, there was a patched hole in our room's wall and the shower head near the toilet was not working.

    Great location - really near the city center and the old town. Beautiful terrace where you can have breakfast, friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2018

    9.6
    Large and clean room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked through booking.com, there was info that parking is available, but in the end it wasn't, cause it was full and i didn't read that it cost 10EUR per night.

    The room was so large for 2 of us, so it was a surprise for us! The breakfast was pretty amazing, even bubbles was availible!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 27, 2018

    6.7
    OK hotel for fair money, but don't expect anything above clean bed and bathroom and fair breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms definitely needed fresh air, design itself is too dark and depressive. Staff on the breakfast is not very friendly. Reception stuff had problems with making an invoice for a company - simple task which every hotel in the world is able to do!

    Quiet place on the quiet street. Room was big enough.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2018

    4.6
    Disappointing for 4 stars hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Obviously the worst room in hotel. Bathroom was terrible and the view from windows was to garbage. Beds were uncomfortable and needs to be replaced. TV was big but pointless because of the signal quality. The hairdryer was not working normally.

    Possibility to eat good breakfast on the balcony outside.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 21, 2018

    5.4
    averege hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the rooms with the windows towards Dzirnavu street are extremely noise - with closed windows, ear plugs I was waken up a 5 a.m. by trash collecting car . Rooms does not have comfortable light switches near the bed.

    Nicely designed, new hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 15, 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant stay. Delighted to recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I wish there were a tea kettle with some tea in the room to make a cup of tea for these cool Riga nights.

    Room is spacious and comfortable and all the fixtures seem to be in like new conditions. Breakfast is great with a variety of hot and cold dishes: sparkling wine is a nice touch. Location is about 15 minutes of walking from the Old Town, which is a little far but it gives you a good exercise and the walk there and back seems very safe even at midnight. Riga city center in general seems very safe at night. Just 1/3 of a mile from the hotel is many embassies and government buildings. Staff's English is excellent and they were quite pleasant and helpful. One day staff put out trays of appetizer and dessert in the lobby for guests to enjoy. The first time I've seen such things at a hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2018

    10
    Must visit the Old Town. + Raddison Hotel Skyline Bar. +Galleria Riga rooftop restaurant/bar
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No adjustment of temp on air con, though it was set at a reasonable temperature. Other than that, could not fault it!

    Clean hotel, great breakfast, location was 10 min walk to the Old Town. Bars and restaurants close by. Would highly recommend to anyone. Had a great stay. Explored the old town, went for a boat trip. Top tip: go to the tallest Radisson Hotel and make your way to the Skyline Bar (use the elevator) for the best view of the whole city! Also, there is an amazing rooftop bar/restaurant on top of the shopping centre Galleria Riga. We had a great meal and the view is superb (just go to the 8th floor in the elevator).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    7.5
    Location was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Design Single Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was a bit too design for my liking, had toilet and bath in bedroom but no sink, and tv was in location where you could not really watch it

    Location was great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2018

    5.0
    Location ok.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small room. Noisy air conditioning and not cooling at all. No chance to sleep at night. Close the windows and room become too hot immediately. Open the window and hear city traffic outside. Shower room not comfortable and on floor were dust and paper trays.

    Location ok. Breakfast more or less ok. Good WiFi connection.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 29, 2018

    8.8
    Good creative hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The door in the room looks like heavy, but we heard everywhere in the hall. Only this thing was inconvenient.

    Good hotel for staying! Kindly stuff at the reception and restaurant. The breakfast was perfect! So many dishes and soft drinks. Thank you so much!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    9.6
    Receptionists were extremely friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Receptionists were extremely friendly and helpful. I stayed with partner and we were offered much bigger room than we expected, it had large windows, both bathtub and shower, a kettle and large tv. Breakfast was great, there was wide variety to choose from.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 23, 2018

    6.7
    Quiet.
    • Solo traveler
    • Design Single Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No separate bathroom. The curtain between the bed and the toilet was a little bit weird. Also there is nothing between the bath and the rest of the room/bed and the only way to wash yourself and not make the room as a big pool is to sit in the bottom of the bath. But ofcourse it all starts from if you are lucky enough to get the warm (not hot, warm) water in the morning to take a shower at all :)

    Quiet. Good breakfast. Nice staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 22, 2018

    9.6
    Good location, friendly staff, comfortable beds, nicely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Quite old tv, limited parking places, but possible to park also on the street (free from 20:00-08:00)

    Good location, friendly staff, comfortable beds, nicely renovated old building, good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2018

    8.3
    It was great and simple. Without any unexpected incidents.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The elevator was very small, but still we managed to use it.

    Value for the money is great and the location is super. It is very close to the center and we could go most places by foot. Good breakfast, clean rooms, friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2018

    9.6
    Superb value for money(even more)
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very minor thing - not a lot of TV channel selection

    Rooms were nice and spacious, very clean with very good facilities. Was also quiet and a comfortable bed. Great location with major streets couple of minutes walk, the hotel itself is in quiet centre. Breakfast was perfect for me, good selection of food, great interior and having breakfast in the top floor with view over rooftops is always great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2018

    8.8
    Functional hotel, great breakfast, beautiful city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room felt a little outdated, could have probably done with a bit of TLC but we were there to see Riga not the inside of a room so we really didn’t mind!

    The breakfast bar was great, perfect distance from the old town (meant you got to enjoy a beautiful walk through the parks when going to and from old town) shop close by and very very helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 15, 2018

    6.7
    So so
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Design Single Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bad cleaning... It was dark in the room, maybe it is the reason that it was dirty... I’d recommend to use brighter light in the room (it ok in the bathroom). It was noisy outside, so I can’t open the window, the road was close.

    The location is good to reach the center. Breakfast was in the highest floor, there was nice atmosphere and a lot of sunshine)) Service was great, I had a problem with my room and it was changed immediately. Receptionist was very kind and gave me her private charging to use, because I lost mine.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2018

    9.2
    Huge room, nice bathroom, comfy bed, great minibar...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No hot water one morning but realized that if you take a shower/bath very very early in the morning, you have to give it a lot of time to heat up. Otherwise, hot water on the spot.

    Huge room, nice bathroom, comfy bed, great minibar selections and price and wonderful breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2018

    5.4
    Good breakfast, location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was to small and fitted with 3 beds. Announced that comming with a dog, so gave us the smalest room. Not so pet friendly.

    Good breakfast, location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 29, 2018

    5.4
    Normal expectations, but low level facilities
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The first morning (8.30am) of our stay all the building was without warm water, so we decided to take a quick cold shower and we went to eat breakfast (by the way ... the hair-dryer is not even good enough to blow candles on a birthday cake ... weak and cold air ... just a toy). At breakfast, the table disposition was terrible, to the point that couples were sitting in tables for 4, 6 or even 8 people, and the dirty dishes around couldn't make it any more difficult to enjoy the breakfast time. We took a piece of cake and we took a seat on a sofa eating quickly and going out to find a cafe where to have a decent breakfast. The warm water came back around 10.00am, so we had a warm shower and the rest of the day was good. On the second morning we had normal shower and breakfast situation, but I have to admit that spending the very same budget the kitchen could produce WAY BETTER QUALITY of food (and have the possibility to avoid serving very old oven baked potatoes or pancakes fried in fresh new oil). By the way, 20% of the food is good, so is possible to keep them and upgrade the rest (or change the cook).

    The location is not bad, as the street has never traffic and is possible to find several services in a couple of hundred meters away. The staff is polite and the prices are fair enough, but I can't tell the same about the facilities.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 25, 2018

    9.2
    Helpful before arrival when contacting them with regards to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Ceiling was a little low in once place as we were on the top floor so had to duck by the bed.

    Helpful before arrival when contacting them with regards to arranging a airport transfer. Very smooth check in, was late at night when we checked in and when we asked about food the receptionist showed us a pizza place and even rang up and ordered for us when we told her what we would like. Room was cleaned well everyday. Bath was nice and good hot towel rail. Not a far walk to the old town centre and if you walk the right way very scenic walk through the parks. Hotel was great value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 19, 2018

    7.1
    The design of the room is very cool, but the audibility in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Audibility

    The design of the room is very cool, but the audibility in the rooms is crazy, which really spoilt the impression of our entire stay. Some drunk couple was having sex and we could hear it as if it was in our room. The breakfast was excellent! And the staff of the hotel is really nice!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 7, 2018

    9.2
    Cozy and generally lovely place to stay for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Design Single Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    While the room was clean enough, I did find some waste left from the previous occupant inside a bookshelf, as well as under the bed. The way my room was designed, the curtains didn't cover the very sides of the window, so even while closed, people from the outside could see the bed and the room in general, so I actually had to press the curtains against the wall using my luggage bag.

    Stayed at the ground floor suite with a terrace. Very nicely designed, comfortable bed and bathtub. Minibar priced quite fair. The floors in the room were heated and it was extremely warm in general (conditioning system can be easily configured to your liking). Check-in and check-out were absolutely hassle free, and the breakfast, while limited to all the basics, still had everything you would expect, from bacon and eggs to pastries to very good coffee. Can't really beat for the price.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 7, 2018

    2.9
    The worst experience in my accommondation history!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1. No CORRECT action executed upon our compliance:     We requested for worker's check on the heating and hot water in the evening coz both of them didn't work in the evening. BUT workers and housekeepers alwasy came to check in the early afternoon, do you think this is the right way to check our compliance on the facilities? Problems happened in the evening but they came to check in the day!? Where were they when problems happened in the evening and when we need service/help!? 2. The day receiptionist on Feb 17 never offer an appropriate solution to us      Solution should be a sincere and appropriate way to fix a problem.  We booked a suite but she offered another much smaller room without any compensation and refused to contact her manager just because of weekend. 3. The extra blanket:      When we complain to Booking, it is so rediculous for them to mention the extra blanket because it is my wife who asked for extra blanket, not them!  They never offer any other useful solution on their own initiative except a much smaller room without any compensation. 4. The day receptionist on Feb 17&18:     Impertinent, indifference, lack of sincerity, always no smile and always INHOSPITABLE!     When we told her that we would wrote everything about this experience on facebook, her feedback was "it's up to you". It's quite incredible to hear this sentence from a hotel receptionist. I attach this receptionist's picture as attachment below.

    Nothing!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2018

    10
    Just perfect
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Third or fourth time staying in this hotel. Everything was perfect this time. We took deluxe double room and it was comfortable and quiet. Exceptionally friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 25, 2018

    3.3
    If the room temperature is so cold that you have to sleep...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was extremely cold. Radiators cold, windows did not hold cold. We had to sleep with full clothing and i put my parka on. Im shocked. I will never go back there. The room was ugly, tv was extra small so you can not see, there were no channels. Only few russian and latvian. I will never go back there. They must have known that the rooms were icecold.

    If the room temperature is so cold that you have to sleep with your jeans and sweater on than what good can you say?

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 25, 2018

    7.1
    Affordable accommodation, everything was nearby. Room was OK. Could have felt a bit more secure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The toilet in our room was making a horrible wheezing sound every time it was flushed and the ghost-like sound of the elevator didn't let us sleep very well. On our second day in the afternoon a strange man just walked in to our room using a master keycard (I assume) although we had refused room cleaning in the morning already. Couldn't really figure out the "design" part of the name of the hotel.

    Affordable accommodation in a beautiful area of the city - just a short walk away from all the good cafes and bars, a little bit further to the old town. Hostel breakfast was fairly good. The room felt airy and light. Good bed and decent bedding.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 23, 2018

    4.2
    Very overrated and overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very unhelpful staff along with very small facilities if you stay at the reception building, not corresponding to a 4 star hotel.

    Good location, 10 minute walk to the city centre and near nice restaurants and pubs.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 21, 2018

    4.2
    Will not return there.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    By far does not look like a 4 star hotel. Rather 1 star if any. The carpet in the room looked dirty. The shower room was freezing cold (it felt like you were outside). A chubby person would probably no manage to sit on the toilet as it basically touches with the shower cabin wall. The bed wasn't comfortable and was making noise. The walls are probably made of paper as you can hear every small noise in the next room. Breakfast was alright but was food was barely warm.

    The location and price was ok, but nothing else.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2018

    9.6
    I definetely recomend this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was rather cold in the bathroom (from the window). Also at around 9 am the hot water was not really hot (before this time and also in the evening there was no this problem, so may be it was due to the overuse of water by other guests). The hair dryer was very weak (but this is probably the problem in many hotels).

    The hotel was very cheap but great: clean, rather cozy, the room was warm from the warm floors, the bed was ok. The breakfast was amazing with a lot of choices (also the area was very pleasant with a beautiful view)! The location of the hotel is good: it is in walking distance from the city center but there are also bus stops very close. There is a hypermarket Rimi in 5 minutes walk from the hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful (and speaking also English and Russian). The facilities in the room were good: fridge, large TV, perfect wifi, big mirror.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 20, 2018

    9.6
    Great experience of this friendly unknown gem of a city
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only down side water was cold for shower, so had to wait until it warmed up again, the tub are was so big by time it filled the water had gone cold again only minor detail

    Hotel was great, good location very close to everywhere, breakfast was fab too. Staff were very friendly and helpful with fab English. Every got picked up by the tour bus after a pho call from reception. Rooms were impecably clean & big

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2018

    10
    Cozy design hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not a thing, pleasure stay.

    It's very welcoming environment. All rooms has different interior, but goes by the same autentic vibe. Breakfast was rich, and vegetarian friendly. Staff was really helpful,and kind. Close to downtown, by walking or taxi.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 13, 2018

    7.1
    I was completely satisfied with my staying in the hotel.
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I would recommend to owners to place kettles with some tea and coffee in the room, especially in the winter time. Few bottles of drinking water in the room would be nice as well. Furthermore, cleaning in the room could be done better, particularly in bath room.

    It was comfortable quite place with good location regarding the center of city. Nearby, only in several minutes of walk, are bus stations, small restaurants and cafes', supermarkets and newspapers' kiosks. Room was small, but had all needed appliances for living. Breakfast was good with variable choice of drinks(coffee, tea, apple and orange juices) and snacks. Place ideally suits for people who is looking for good place, not far from the center of Riga, but not expensive.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 26, 2018

    7.9
    Hotel experience at excellent price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sadly, old Riga's plumbing failed us -- the tap water ran brown and we had to skip shower. Hopefully, this doesn't happen often.

    It's a nice and good looking hotel with helpful staff. And it has very good deals off-peak season (as in our case). The breakfast is set on top floor, a cosy and atmospheric room looking over vintage roofs of nearby buildings.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 22, 2018

    8.8
    nice
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - stuff working at night was bit unpolite and should look more professional (some make up would do) - room was overheated;

    nice big bed; delicious breakfest; very clean room; great price vs. value;

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 15, 2018

    10
    Croissants were quite crunchy and hard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Croissants were quite crunchy and hard. Also there was some maintenance going on at 2am! Hoovering and banging right behind our bedroom wall on the night we arrived. It was very hard to sleep.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 13, 2018

    8.8
    Nice priceworthy hotel with great location and good breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A bit noisy in the early morning (we had the hotel kitchen above our room), but you got used to it! More/Better lighting in bed area (for reading) would be good.

    Nice breakfast. Perfect location, nice restaurants and cafés nearby. Very clean. Very spacious room (Junior Suite). Priceworthy (stayed for 5 nights.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 12, 2018

    7.9
    Newly renovated rooms and bathrooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Walls are a bit thin which isn’t a problem until your neighbours host a party in their room! There is only a tiny lift in the first building which wasn’t an issue for us as we don’t mind stairs but for others it could be an issue

    Newly renovated rooms and bathrooms. Breakfast was varied. Location was good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 3, 2018

    7.5
    Hotel was nice, basic hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Old, empty buildings next to it make it look bad neighbourhood, however it seemed okay area to me.

    Hotel was nice, basic hotel. Breakfast was good and there were options. Busstop really close so easy to access from the city center and even walking distance from the old town. Seemed quite quiet and peacefull hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2018

    8.3
    In an overall hotel was good, reception staff could be better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Two things I didn't like about the hotel. First, once while I was sleeping one of the reception staff entered to my room all in a sudden. Second, my room was phoned and I was awakened by reception staff as if I ordered a wake-up call which wasn't the case.

    The room was clean and spacious and the bed was quite comfortable. Facilities were satisfactory. Clean bathroom and toilet. The breakfast was delicious and variety of choices were nice. Location of the hotel is great, reachable to central attractions by walking distance, especially it is near to Alberta street.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 21, 2017

    4.2
    Better to avoid, unless you get extremely good deal
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Where too start... firstly, it is marketed as 4* hotel, but is barely 3*. Surrounding location is dreadful (loads of ghost/mothballed buildings). Hotel is in dire need of remodelling: - there is not attached restaurant (breakfast served it adjacent building, which seems to have rooms as well) - there was unpleasant small of dampness with sewage undertones, especially in the bathroom. - segment of a bathroom door-frame was loose - one has to lean against cold tiles wall to take a shower - carpet has lost its color and had worn out patches - floor was an even with a significant dimple, which I tripped on - there is no shaving mirror The list could go on...

    Geographically location isn't too bad. Close enough to the centre of the city.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 20, 2017

    8.3
    Everything was great beside the location for a paranoid girl like me.
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel isn't that central and I had to walk around buildings to get the entrance (which wasn't on the mail street), I could hear the neighbors all the time and can't say I wasn't stressed walking outside at night (lonely tourist, after all)

    The room was clean and cosy. There was everything that was needed, hot water in the shower, soap, heating, big enough bed (not a small single bed), nice breakfast. The hotel isn't in the city center, but close to an active bus station with buses around the clock and about 5 minutes drive.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 16, 2017

    7.1
    nice staff, goid breacfast, hotel is near to the center of...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    at first time our room (214) was dirty, toilet was so narrow,you have to lean onto shower's wall, bed's mattras was oldest, screaming while we were sleeping,the entering door was next to the bed head side and if the neighboors shut their door, we had feeling as something fall on our heads, the room was on the 1st (or 0, ground) floor and the view from the windows were trush containers. At the second day we changed the room. second was good.sometimes did not worked the electronic key and we had to return to the reception for unlock our door to go in the room. the street of the hotel is quiet, half of buildings there are leaved from the people, closed and dark in evenings. but the next street is buitiful Albert street.

    nice staff, goid breacfast, hotel is near to the center of the old city.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 15, 2017

    9.2
    Absolutely exceeded my expectations. The negatives were small and the positive experience was a big!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was a little uncomfy for me, that said it was still ok. Would have liked a reading light/lamp in the room instead of the main light.

    Breakfast - Amazing, Staff - Awesome Clean and well designed place. Feel good atmosphere in the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2017

    3.8
    Negative
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I didn't like the fact we were moved to a less appealling hotel because of something or other happening at the hotel we originally booked. The receptionist directed us the wrong way on a cold rainy night. The hotel was not where we wanted to be in Riga. Overall the issues with this hotel group spoilt my trip to Riga!!! I shall not return.

    The toast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 24, 2017

    6.3
    The bath in room was amazing and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is a little bit too far from center, especially if you go there by foot. When we finally arrived in the hotel, we had to wait for 30 minutes before it was our turn. Also wanted to take a bath at 12 PM, but there was no warm water.

    The bath in room was amazing and relaxing

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 23, 2017

    6.3
    A bit disappointed but was fine
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Poor noise isolation, and not that I care but TV screen very small. Someone walked into my room despite the -do not disturb- sign :/ felt a bit unsafe. Also room cleaning was a bit off, bed not made and no new towels.

    On a quiet location and quite close to the center. U could walk to anything, no taxi needed if you are not lazy af. I got a water cattle which was super and the bathtub was 👌

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2017

    9.2
    The staff was very hospitable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was cold and not tasty and you have to go to another building for it - so you either have to fully dress or rush through the cold yard... The room light was a bit too dim to my taste.

    The staff was very hospitable. My early arrival was accepted well, my room was ready and I was checked in very fast. The lady at the reception answered my questions about the city and gave me good advice about transportation. The room was cosy, just enough for 1 night stay. The bathroom was very clean. I also liked the building itself and its nice staircase (the elevator was tiny, so I enjoyed the stairs anyway :). The location of the hotel is quite good - I enjoyed a walk to the city center through the parks and boulevards.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2017

    10
    What a fantastic 13 nights in the Rixwell Terrace Design...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 13 nights

    What a fantastic 13 nights in the Rixwell Terrace Design Hotel!!! Lovely, friendly and very kind staff, excellent breakfast. Very good location. I was very satisfied with this hotel and I hope I will come back as soon as possible :)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2017

    9.2
    I had promised our kid there will be animated movies on the...
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had promised our kid there will be animated movies on the TV... there usually are in hotels. In this case the TV was tiny and there were almost no channels to watch, nothing for kids at all. Oh, and the windows are really bad, as far from soundproof as it can get. On the positive side - I guess that means we're getting some fresh air, right? ;)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2017

    9.6
    Very friendly staff,very nice room,amazing breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hot water finished in bathroom,TV remote controller hasn't work properly.

    Very friendly staff,very nice room,amazing breakfast.More than happy with service.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2017

    8.8
    It was said in the booking that parking is available at the...
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was said in the booking that parking is available at the site (no reservation needed), but during my stay it was full and I had to pay double the money to park nearby (had to use parking machine).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2017

    3.3
    Good location, good staff but bad hotel (equipment, rooms , condition)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    First of all, there is not given the same room which i offer, photo was quite different compared to real. equipment was poorly condition, room was smallest. Bathroom equipment was destroyed. It was not 4 star hotel, it looks like hostel! Also, they did not anticipate my arrival time, when i indicate in advance.

    Location was really grate! It was very comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2017

    8.3
    I would recommand everyone to stay in the hotel, because its neat and placed very well.
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Because of my backproblems the bed was not appropriate to my needs.

    Breakfast was delicious and everything that was required, was provided. The positioning of the hotel in the city of Riga was excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2017

    7.1
    Small Room but nice breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was a bit small for my taste. Not very friendly access for big luggages. Signal of Internet was not very good.

    Cosy place for a night in between two days of travel. Staff was available and quite friendly. They've settled all my formalities in record time (since they've seen that I was very tired). Breakfast is something to remember. By tasting it you wake up in the heart of Riga.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2017

    6.3
    Nothing special.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room had inclined ceiling, it height was rather low just above the bed. Several times I hit my head on it. Bathroom had no full set of bath accessories (only shower caps were presented). Elevator was very-very small and narrow. Coffee from receptionist's coffee machine (for 2 euro) was absolutely nasty.

    Nothing special. Old historical building redesigned for hotel. Not bad. It is clean, it is warm. Terrace for breakfasts under the roof is rather comfortable. Breakfasts are tasty enough.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: October 31, 2017

    5.4
    Not great but price ok & good breakkie
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is a bit far from old town and the part of the street where there’s “life” There were huge spiders webs in the room The lamp fixed at the celling would move and make a lot of noise everytime someone on the upper level would walk(!!).

    The breakfast, the brand new bath tub, the comfort of the bed

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2017

    5.0
    The place was clean
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although the staff was alright and the place was clean, the pictures online do not match the room I stayed, which is nothing like a 'design hotel' as they call themselves. The hotel sells the miniature shampoos since it is not available in the bathrooms. I was disappointed

    The place was clean

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 29, 2017

    8.3
    Nice location and nice hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I think the bathroom should be a little more comfortable, as we had some problems with the shower’s drain

    I liked the WiFi, the location and the bedroom size

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2017

    5.0
    Staff was nice that only helped me a bit otherwise could...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Actually I can write a lot here, but I just mention a few things, I booked Junior suite room but get some cheeper and worst room with holes in curtains and there smelled like in toilet was to late and my daughter was tired and didn’t want to make scandal straight away, I get that worst room and still payed for booked room, ok next day I get my room what was a bit better but not for 4 stars hotel for that price... breakfast was terrible, really... something like in cheap 2 star hotel in Poland highway... me and my daughter wet there and just drink water and coffee... I don’t know how they get 4 stars but somebody need to check that again, maybe some 10 years ago that can be 4 stars hotel but not anymore. Everything is cheap and old started from towels and furnitureand ended with minibar and breakfast.... really disappointed

    Staff was nice that only helped me a bit otherwise could make a scandal.... and location is ok also

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The signage on the front street could have been more prominent. However we did find it. May have been difficult at night.

    Well located to public transport, quiet, clean, helpful staff, very good breakfast selection, good bed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2017

    7.5
    For a one night stay - cheap, convenient and more than good enough with great locationa and area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was 10 EUR, however that may be understandable as parking in Riga is paid in all locations. The check-in for 4 people took quite a long time (20-30 min). The bathrooms weren't ideal as the drain kept clogging in the shower.

    The breakfast and location we're great! Easily within walking distance of the historic centre as well as really great restaurants in the area. The breakfast itself was quite filling with options available as well as a great view.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2017

    5.8
    Most likely I will not return in this hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel has two buildings not protected between them from rain. Old stairs, stained, very cheap apeareances. The parking of the hotel not available without notice, althoug I've booked parking sport for the car...

    Only the breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 2, 2017

    10
    Excellent location, friendly staff, large rooms, good beds,...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking is tight and holds only 5 cars, but you can park in front of the hotel too. The dog fee is a bit high (15€/dog/night).

    Excellent location, friendly staff, large rooms, good beds, big bathtub, excellent wifi, small but cosy bar, large breakfast selection with sparkling wine. The girl who checked us in also recommended a great restaurant where we indeed spent an excellent night!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2017

    7.5
    Fine accomodation
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Small parking for 6 cars, breakfast to next building, not so helpfull staff, very small elevator in first building

    Place, great breakfast, nice terrace

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2017

    6.7
    Breakfast was great!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was noisy, the double bed was very narrow and not very comfortable, there was no hanger for the shower thus you had to hold it in your hand while showering

    Breakfast was great! You have a nice choice of meals which should satisfy almost every need

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2017

    7.5
    clean but old hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    - hair in the bed - low ceiling in bathroom, cant stand in the shower - it's much less modern and furniture not so fresh (ripped leather on armchair) as you might think from the photos

    + breakfast was really nice and bathroom quite big. + there is a nice park right next to hotel + pretty clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 8, 2017

    6.7
    nice terrace - breakfast area
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room at the first floor (2nd building) - smoking people in front of window during the night, noisy - room 214 is really not a good choice. Other rooms should be OK

    nice terrace - breakfast area

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 8, 2017

    5.4
    Bad experience!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Old and unconfortabile bed, small pillows, dark and small room, not profesional receptionists, really maximum 3 stars hotel, I dont understand who gave them 4 stars, unbelievable! Never to come back, really bad experience!

    Breakfast room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 30, 2017

    9.6
    Nice and charming hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location is good of you want to see the art nouveau part of the city but for everything else you have to walk at least 20 min. Tram is 2 minutes away but lines and stations are not helpful to reach the city center

    The breakfast is very good. The rooms are clean and nice and large enough to feel comfy. Staff is very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2017

    6.3
    The hotel on the whole was satisfying our needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The aircondition in our room was not working properly, the air in the room was stale and warm compared to the corridor. I think this is a construction fault as the hotel is rather new.

    A very nice and roomy breakfast area on the top 4th floor with a roofterrace.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2017

    6.7
    Wasn't impressed with the room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Design Single Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room I was in had the bath and toilet in the same room as the bed, no separate bathroom at all, not what I expected. The bath was pretty big, handheld shower, would much prefer a shower recess as the water would just go everywhere. Was a fair walk to get to the old town.

    Close to the art nouveau buildings, close to access to public transport. Staff were pretty friendly and helpful. Breakfast had a reasonably good range to choose from...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 19, 2017

    6.3
    Pretty satisfying, could've been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room door didn't close properly, we had a somewhat big gap between the door and the top threshold. Not a lot of bathroom comfort, it was very small and had just basic stuff. Pillows are too small and thin.

    the staff is polite and helpful, good breakfast and wifi connection, the area is really quiet and close to a bus station, some supermarkets and a nice park. in the breakfast area there is a nice sunny terrace.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 17, 2017

    7.5
    Great breakfast, friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room and bathroom needed a bit refreshment and deeper cleaning (stains on the carpets and shower tray). The word "design" in the name of the hotel may be truly misleading (e.g. taking into account the room furnishings :-)

    Great breakfast, friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Rixwell Terrace Design Hotel Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: