Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Riad Al Madina

9, Rue Attarine, 44000 Essaouira, Morocco

#77 of 89 hotels in Essaouira

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 142 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    6.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 21

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    9.2
    A very welcome break from Marrakech!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The massage we had in the attached spa was a little 'meh'. We received better massages and better value for money with our Hammam experience in Marrakech. But the Riad itself was faultless (in my opinion)

    The Riad is excellently located right within the Medina, and easy to find (once you have initially found it!). It feels perfectly safe, any time of the day, so it's a great option for solo travellers, families and friends. The Riad itself is beautiful, with an amazing central courtyard where breakfast is found (which is an amazing breakfast, with plenty of options for all dietary requirements). The room we had was spacious and clean, with tasteful decor. We were fortunate to have outwards windows, which gave the room a light and breezy feel. We also made use of the roof top, which is a great spot to chill out. I loved Essaouira, it was a welcome break from Marrakech! I felt much more at ease there, no need for bartering, no hassle or unwanted attention, cooler weather and a lovely beach and town to explore - it's a place I will revisit.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    8.3
    Decent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Got charged for the medina tours that we never took, staff member didn't speak English and we ended up paying for it.. Watch out for this scam

    Great location, pretty good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    10
    Our room was huge and incredibly nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was huge and incredibly nice. All of the staff were really kind and went above and beyond to help us have the best stay. My friend needed to work for a few hours and the wi-fi connection was fantastic. We visited the hammam too, which was an amazing experience.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.5
    Nice roof terrace, nice breakfast and restaurant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom had such a low ceiling that I could not stand in full hight.. and I am just 1m90cm tall... Also shower did not work propperly.

    Nice roof terrace, nice breakfast and restaurant! Perfect location! Loved open fire place in restaurant. Cozy atmosphere!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    6.3
    Inaccurate descriptions to get you to book
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The description says bath in the room, which is not the case. The first room we were given had a shower, then they showed us a second room above the restaurant which was very smelly as a result. Then the third room had literally half a bath, it was so small. The wifi was terrible in the room, even though they specifically say free wifi in the room. Staff was not particularly friendly - it's meant to have room service, but when I asked one of the staff if we could have some tea he told me to go to the restaurant! We stayed in a riad in Marrakech which was cheaper and had better facilities, so I don't think this place is good value.

    The breakfast was great. The location was good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    4.6
    Over-priced and disappointing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It just seemed like they didn't care! I e-mailed twice re. best place to park outside medina (always an issue) but never received a reply. The daily room make-up was very basic, with bed pulled up roughly, bathroom attended to and not even floors cleaned (we could see footprints from shoes). Like I said, it seemed like they made something of an effort for your arrival but that was it, and we stayed 3 nights. Cheap hotel soap bar and we had to ask for shampoo...twice! Wifi was only available in lobby, and then was intermittent (this wasn't clear from Booking.com entry for hotel).

    Loved the location - easy to find despite being very central in the medina.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    8.3
    Lovely stay on a beautiful city but could have been perfect without all the minor issues.
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Off hand reception staff poor knowledge on taxis / buses etc. Actually wrong on bus times. Our booking said tv in room but there wasn’t No toiletries. No shower attachment to wall. Overpriced water.

    Lovely courtyard. Evening meals good. Location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    3.8
    Avoid this place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were miserable when we entered, seemed like entering a prison cell, the room given was full of issues, itching all night, block shower drain, toilet not fixed on ground properly, the manager is very miserable and they only after money

    The location of the property was perfect.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    9.6
    just perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    could not find anything to mention

    very clean .very friendly staff .excellent restaurant .fresh food cooked superbly.everything is so near in the heart of essaouura.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    7.1
    Beautiful place and location, not value for money!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms really need humidity issue sorted. Staff doesn't need to be so formal...it's not a luxury environment and makes the house cold. This is up to management to sort, make your staff happy and your house is happy!!!

    Loved the place. Details are what makes it not value for money...and the staff, all but one, no smiles or pleasant interaction...it felt like they were doing us a favor...as a professional from the same area I can honestly say that a smile goes a long way and makes people feel at home, here the feeling was cold....and in the rooms the only problem for me is the humidity!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    8.3
    Delightful Riad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    the shutters of the 2nd floor rooms with a street-facing window lacked the means of easily remaining open during gusting winds - we had to personally tether them open.

    its exotic Moroccan nature and absence of mosquitoes

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    10
    Amazing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to not like.

    The staff were amazing as usual so helpful always smiling. This is my second time here and definitely not the last. I would recommend this Riad to all ppl, whether families, couples mature or young. It's good value for money and is in the middle of everything. What made it was the staff especially at reception :) thank you guys xx

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.2
    Character riad, great location and hospitality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Riad Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No pool

    Central location within easy walking distance of the restaurants, markets and beach

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.6
    Lovely and beautiful place in the centre of the old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only the hot water as it ran out at night.

    Lovely and beautiful place in the centre of the old town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    2.5
    reservation service never answer your calls, very bad service in the reception
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Riad Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the service

    nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.6
    Very clean Riad with friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean Riad with friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    8.3
    Damp room and smell
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff needed cheering up, cleaners happy and pleasant. Thank you for returning mobile phone😀

    Damp room and smell

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    9.6
    Lovely staff lovely accomodation no issues at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing much at all would be nice to have had tea and coffee making facility in room but nothing serious

    Ideal location friendly helpfull staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2016

    6.7
    Good manageress who spoke English.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Refused first room as too small, poor bathroom, could not open wardrobe door as crammed. Second room offered dark and just awful. Then she gave me no.32 and it was a bit like the photos. Roads are dark and cool during day and FREEZING at night. Slept in dressing gown and socks plus pyjamas. Small heater in room made little difference. Never again! Breakfast poor except for good croissant

    Good manageress who spoke English. Location. All staff helpful.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    5.8
    Loved that this riad was in the heart of essouira there was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was not as clean as I'd imagine it to be especially for the price paid. Bathroom door I couldn't even bare to touch.

    Loved that this riad was in the heart of essouira there was access to everything restaurants beach Medina shops.

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2015

    9.6
    Very relaxing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi only worked in communal areas.

    Very relaxing stay. Comfortable and clean. Central location.

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 21

Guests also reviewed these properties: