Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Riad Casa Lalla

16 Derb Jamaa Riad Zitoun Lakdim, Medina, 40000 Marrakech, Morocco

#149 of 855 hotels in Marrakech

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 288 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 48

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The owner, Phillipe. He was unprofessional and confrontational. He insisted we pay for the glasses of wine consumed at the end of 2 of out 3 evenings, which according to our booking confirmation was included when booking a Junior Suite (along with a bottle of water and cookies) and was again confirmed by the staff member who checked us in. I have attached a copy of our booking confirmation which includes the free amenities for your review. Bath robes were not provided. The Riad is located down several small alleys which made us feel uncomfortable at night. The sitting area in the Suite is not comfortable or functional. For the price, it was not of good value.

    It wasn't far from the main square. The staff was very professional and kind. The bath towels were of good quality. The coffee and breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is not easy to find this riad and my family has to carry the lugguages and walk through many dirty corridors to reach there.

    The interiors are beautiful. The resturant is excellent in decoration and food quality. The staff are helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Rêve d'Orient
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The system of a Riad means that you hear everything the whole time. So if you stay for longer then 1 day (most likely does not matter in which Riad), be aware of it. In our case the table for bfast and dinner was 2m next to our room, where we had music and the kitchen cleaning noise (this Riad is also a restaurant) the whole night. The bed mattress and the pillows were very hard.

    Very central location and beautiful inner yard of the Riad. The people working there are very helpful and friendly!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about

    Great staff, extremely kind and helpful. Excellent location, close to the square but not so close that you'll here the noises at night.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Rêve d'Orient
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is a bit tricky but once you have worked out the route it is fine. The taxi drops you off at the main square where you are picked up by a man with a barrow to carry your luggage and you walk through the square and down the side streets until you reach the riad - about 10minutes,

    It is a beautiful riad with great staff. Our flight was delayed and Mohamed kindly waited up for us and offered refreshments. The rooms are as pictured on the website and the bed is very comfortable. It was very rainy when we were there but i imagine the roof terrace would be lovely with the sunshine.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    location is not bad, not far from the main square, but its kinda hidden, so not the easiest way to find it and I didn't really feel comfortable walking through narrow, dark streets, specially the first night with all my luggage (arriving quite late, so streets were already empty). the Shower should have some curtain, because the whole bathroom gets flooded when taking a shower. I would really recommend to the hotel to change the quality of the towels - they really don't absorb water. Before my arrival I asked them to confirm my late check out. I got their confirmation on my email. On the day of departure I was surprised when they told me to leave the room till 11.30 (my late check out should be between 2pm and 3pm). I showed them their mail (which was in french, even If I emailed them in english) confirming my late check out and they just told me that the confirmation does not mean i can stay in the room till 2pm, but that i can only stay in the hotel till 2pm (but i didn't even ask them this so it does not make any sense at all).

    GREAT breakfast, very comfortable bed, better WIFI than in most of other places in Medina, nice toiletries, even if outside was quite cold (january), the AC made my stay comfortable - the day of arrival they even had set it on heating before i arrived, so the room was nicely warm when i arrive.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Senior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff and the accommodation is amazing. Everything is very clean and the room is very luxurious. Breakfast is great and the staff is very willing to help with any questions. The location is perfect for exploring the city by foot.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wished there was a kettle for tea/coffee in the room. I guess this is not part of Riad tradition but hotel...we didn't ask. The swimming pool isn't really a swimming pool. Just a tiny pond and I guess these in Morocco are just for decoration so if youre looking for a pool, look for one with an outdoor pool especially if in summer. It is not easy to find a Riad with a big swimming pool just take any and swim elsewhere e.g. Mamonia Hotel or on your excursions e.g.Essaoura, other hotels etc...

    Our stay was great and service was amazing. Our room was cleaned daily. People complained about wifi at Riads but Casa Lalla was ok, always on and infact we used it to stream Netflix movies and was OK. Looking at other reviews people complained about the shuttle charge and exchange rate too high while paying bills. However our charges were ACCURATE and fair. Food was excellent and better than other places. We had stomache when we tried to eat elsewhere. If you need variety try lunch somewhere else but be careful. I suggest you eat all your dinners at Casa Lalla. Breakfast was abundant and good. We liked the Naan sort of bread. A lot of people complain about starchy breakfast but I suggest you ask for eggs if you want. We didn't realise until the last day. We asked for eggs and they gave us. Location was great and very central so it made taxis affordable. Make sure you do a horse ride around town but don't pay anything more than 150 Dir ham.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Senior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very small room, bad service, no swimming pool (as promised in description and pictures), rude attitude from some personal and owner, poor breakfast, disturbing and loud music in restaurant hall late in the evening you can hear in your room, even dead mouse on the coach in rooftop bar! I was really disapointed about swimming pool, that in pictures looks good, but in reality it is just a decoration - very small with dirty water, where is impossible to swim. When I talked with other hotel guests from Germany and Switzerland, also they were discontent with this hotel, so it`s not only my opinion.

    Nice historical building in good location near Jemaa El Fna market place

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite Rêve d'Orient
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.

    Good location, right in the middle of medina. The staffs are very friendly and helpful! Nice bedrooms and comfortable bed with pretty much everything you need! The light in the room was a bit poor but they did the best they could to help light up the room. It was a genuinely good travel experience.Look forward to coming back here.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The Riad was a little oasis in the heart of Marrakech. Mohammed and Hansad were excellent hosts. They ensured that we were well catered for and that all our needs were met. The room was always clean and the breakfast was more than we could eat. We had dinner at the restaurant a number of times and this was to a very high standard. The Hamman and the massage was excellent. Famata gave us a body scrub and massage to die for! A BIG thank you to the whole team for there hospitality, warmth and making us feel like we were at home. This is definitely a Riad to visit if you want the whole Moroccan experience

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Maybe the roof shouldve had a pool?

    The staff was very good, and they can help you with almost anything. Extremely good service. The Breakfast was also delicious. This riad is recommended and should be choosen if going to Marrakech

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I went with a colleague to the Riad Casa Lalla in order to spend 4 days and discover more the city. The riad is ideally placed not far from the place Jemaa El Fna and with no noise from the place, that is really appreciable. The room was comfortable, with a bathroom, a big shower and a sofa on the ground floor and the bedroom on the mezzanine. The breakfast on the rooftop is really pleasant. The staff is always smiling and available to help you plan your visits. I recommend this riad.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The spa is just for 1 person. Do NOT book for 2 - the property will book 2 people in and one person will just have to wait while the other person gets the treatment. Communication issues - There were a lot of communication issues right from the start. We were actually upgraded but not told this. We kept asking if we were in the same room that we had booked (just to check if we were given a worse room by any chance as it was definitely a different room) and being told that it was exactly what we had booked. We were not informed that the spa was for 1 when we booked initially. We had issues when we tried to book for a second day as well - which really spoilt our last day in marrakech. We have discussed these at length with the property. Hospitality is poor - Small things like no help in carrying bags, no tea being offered etc. Breakfast is v average. This was the 4th property we'd stayed in Morocco and the most expensive. Sadly, this did not hold a candle to the other places in terms of warmth and hospitality.

    Location is excellent. Very well restored riad. Good restaurant.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing not to like!

    The staff were extra friendly and helpful and offered great advice and suggestions for our visit. The room was furnished beautifully and traditionally and the food in the restaurant was excellent! The riad could not have been better located .. within a few minutes walk from all the hustle and bustle but nestled in a quiet street away from all noise.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff did a great job of providing information about the city. They were very attentive and ensured that the guests enjoyed their stay. The restaurant within the Riad was very tasty and offered a great selection of traditional, as well as international cuisine. The Spa treatments are also reasonably priced and very enjoyable.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No space for suitcases to be open easily in our room but I'd expect larger rooms to be ok. It would have been nice if there was a member of staff around ever so that we could have used the bar on the roof terrace or at least have felt we could order a drink from anyone to take up ourselves as I think this is a missed opportunity as it's a lovely space.

    The Riad was very nice, staff welcomed us kindly with tea and biscuits, and the morning of our departure we had an early start to depart for our Sahara tour and staff kindly offered to put on breakfast early for us which was much appreciated. The location really won us over though. It's really in the heart of the Medina, moments from Jemaa el-Fna, yet the Riad was so quiet and peaceful - truly wonderful!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast choices can be improved. The room very narrow even my room was a suite. Providing water fauct in the toilet will be good.

    Staff are very helpful. The master key for the building main door is very helpful. The location is close to all attractions.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very beautiful traditional riad. Perfect location, very close to Place Jamaa El Fnaa with a beautiful, open rooftop terrace and still sheltered from the noise of the Place Jamaa El Fnaa. Excellent staff - extremely helpful and very nice, warm hearted people. One feels very welcome and at home at Riad Casa Lalla. Couldn't have imagined a better place to stay in Marrakesh. Big applause!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Rêve d'Orient
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was on the ground floor and we heard all the noises from the restaurant, even early in the morning. We had to pay a surcharge for paying with credit card!!!

    Great location, wonderful decor and beautiful architecture. Fresh fruit for breakfast. The terrace has a great view on the medina.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    There are narrow winding stairs to get to the beds on the upper level. We did not like these steps. Those with mobility concerns should probably not stay in a room where the beds are on the upper level.

    Breakfast was very good. We had two adjoining rooms for our family of 5. Beds were very comfy. The location was fantastic in the medina! It was a short walk to the Jemaa el-Fna square. The kids enjoyed the small pool.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Senior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The WIFI was iffy especially in the room. The heater in the room did not work so well, so we were not as comfortable as we could have been. (note: we did not ask to have it looked at, we just accepted it as it was). While adequate the day staff could have had better English skills, however there were no major communication problems. The furniture (chairs and tables both in the room and on the 1st floor) were not comfortable.

    The staff was very friendly and accommodating especially Mohammad who was very professional, caring and pleasant, a very good man. Very close to the main square (Jemma el Fna) & souks. The bed was comfortable. It is a little tricky to find, as are most places in the Medina. I recommend very strongly you use their airport shuttle service to get there the 1st time, the driver will walk you to the door. Then if you note the few turns from the riad as you leave it is easy to find from the main square.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff. Very helpful and accommodating. They even provided scrambled eggs for us for breakfast after learning of my preferences. Everything we asked for was fulfilled. The location was also excellent -2 mins to jamaa el fanaa.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Senior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Nothing.

    We were staying in the Twin Suite - Couleur Cannelle for one night. - The location.The raid is located in heart of medina.Very convenient to find(just follow the sign board).Few minute walking distance to Jamaa El Fna Square,also to the parking place(which is very handy if you need to grab a Taxi). - The Raid is a hidden gem in central old Medina with stunningly,charming local decoration.The room was spotless ,impeccable,have all the essential appliance that we need.Beautiful view from the terrace.Breakfast tasty too. - The staff was very friendly and helpful,provided all the information that needs to know.Highly recommended.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I would not wish to suggest that anything should be changed. I stayed in room 7...and the air conditioning was good, the facilities were excellent. I slept with the window open, so could hear sounds from the restaurant and kitchen, but one would expect such background sounds in such an intimate space.

    A quiet location close to the centre. Beautiful property with relaxing atmosphere and excellent service.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Nice decoration, the hotel owner is a really nice person. He helped us a lot on our trips! We want to thank him for his help. The food is really nice. We highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Todo perfecto

    Good Location and quiet place. I have stayed several times on Marrakech in this riad is on the top. Thanks Regards Francisco

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gests allowed to smoke inside, .. no confort... too much echo and very noisy. First and last time I am booking in this place.

    Service

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beds were very comfortable. The perfect retreat from the frenzy of the city.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great value, beautiful place - have stayed in several in Marrakech

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendliness and professionalism of staff, no swimming pool

    Two level rooms with staircases, great location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite Rêve d'Orient
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No swimming pool.

    People working there are very very friendly. Good english. Excelent location. Safe street. Veryyyyy clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Delightful and helpful staff, wonderful location and would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Generally the whole premises is a bit dark. Can light up the place a bit more.

    Helpful staff, good shower, comfy bed

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    little gem in the middle of the medina - great Riad with an amazing location!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. Location was great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Senior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, near the square, quite place. I tried the hammam and massage, very good!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A quiet haven in the midst of the exciting bedlam that is the Medina in Marrakesh. Casa Lalla was the nicest hotel I stayed in, in a multi city tour

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like all nothing to dislike

    Hello everything

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Senior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot tub advertised not really usable

    Mohammed was great!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice dinner and breakfast, the staffs was very friendly to us.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is not too spacious and the restaurant is not too great

    Location was good. The decor are nice and the attention to details.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds and pillows were no comfortable at all.

    Staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is poor. Pillows, Rooms are dark.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful and attentive staff. Clean. Smelled nice. Excellent food. Great location.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The riad is beautiful, really clean, quiet and comfortable. The staff welcomes us and takes care of us. An amazing place to stay. The beach is nearby, there is a charming environment. On top of that, the chef's cuisine is delicious and refined. The breakfast is sumptuous and diversified. The bedroom was classy.

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had a warm welcome from Emmanuelle and everyone at Casa Lalla. They organised transport from the airport and we had a lovely meal on arrival at the riad. Nothing was too much trouble. Highly recommended and soon they will be licensed to serve a drop of something with your meal!

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Great location on the middle of the Medina. Room very comfortable and seems to be brand new. Very friendly staff

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 48

Browse Riad Casa Lalla traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: