Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Riad Chalymar

19, Derb Sharij Medina, Medina, 40000 Marrakech, Morocco

#342 of 855 hotels in Marrakech

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 544 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    7.5
    The location was good, parking was close but also the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At arrival we called twice for some instructions to a parking, but we didn’t receive an answer. Twice we came back to the riad from dinner or a stroll (at 2100h and 1700h) and stood in front of a locked door, and other guests came to open the door for us. That is unacceptable and should never happen!!

    The location was good, parking was close but also the attractions. The cleaning was done exceptionally by a very kind lady that also served breakfast. Rooms were spacious, the bed was comfortable. The central courtyard was an oasis of peacefulness.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.8
    Quiet Riad 10 minutes from Jemaa el-Fna
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tricky to locate initially even though quite close to main square, although made aware of this when booking...

    Friendly staff in this lovely Riad. Very nice breakfast served by the small pool. The good AC was a nice relief on warm night.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.5
    Riad with swimming pool (tinly) and nice roof terrace
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The suite where we stayed was nice, but I wouldn't call that a "suite room", but a nice standard room, although the standard rooms I saw were really tiny.

    The best (as compared to other Riads) is the tiny pool to cool down after a full day walking around crazy Marrakech. Nice breakfast and nice terrace with deck chairs.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.6
    Everything was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is no doors in bathroom.

    Everything was great. Hosts are great, they organised our trip to Sahara, and help us for everything. We enjoyed in our time there.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    9.2
    The staff was very helpful and they treated us very well,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The way to the hotel is quite hard to follow and if there isn’t anyone to take you there it will be very difficult to find your way.

    The staff was very helpful and they treated us very well, they were polite and nice to us. The breakfast was very good as well and it kept you during almost all day. For sure we will keep this place in mind for our next vacation.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    9.2
    Inviting and cozy!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Finding the Riad is a little daunting in the beginning . I would recommend the airport transfer through Riad Chalymar so the driver would take you straight to the door.

    Karim and Malika were exceptionally welcoming and helpful. When you arrive you feel like you are getting the full Marrakech experience .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    10
    First at all I would like to say thanks for Abidu and Malika.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    First at all I would like to say thanks for Abidu and Malika. They are great staffs helping us with everything that we needed. The best Morocco tea I've tried in my life it was made for Abidu and I will never forget this experience and how kind he is! The breakfast was also very delicious, thank you Malika! The hotel is close to the main attractions and you see Morocco exactly how it is. I high recommend and I could stay again! Thank you so much for everything! Karla and Cesar

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.6
    A tranquil place in busy Marrakech.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It is good to keep in mind that there might not be doors to the bathroom in the room - our room had just a curtain. But this is quite common in riads. The internet was patchy in some places, but reliable in most. The AC wasn't the most powerful.

    The riad was charming and tranquil - and the staff extremely friendly and welcoming. Breakfasts were lovely and varied, and the coffee exceptional. The room we stayed in offered plenty of space, as did the bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    7.9
    Satisfied
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room is too small and because it was located on the ground floor we could hear the noise of the stuff and of the other clients during the breakfast time

    The stuff were friendly and helpful Location is great and quiet

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    10
    I have never met such a friendly personal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have never met such a friendly personal. Malika and Soufiane treated me so gently and were always there when I had something to ask. The room had everything I needed, it had been cleaned every morning, the bed was comfortable. The riad is located in a peaceful place but always in the center of medina. I will surely come back

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    9.2
    Chalymar hospitality!
    • Group
    • Comfort Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought that the pool was bigger so we can swim.

    Riad Chalymar is literally 5 minutes away from jemaa el fna. Everything was great, a quite place to relax after busy Medina. Breakfast was good but i would rather more variety. About people who work there..i have no words..Soufiane was the best man i have ever met..so helpful so kind and polite and always smiling to us ready to fulfill every desire we had. He makes us feel like a family like we belong to the riad..such a great feeling. Greetings from Greece.. Margarita, Alexandra and Maria

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.2
    Had a great time with very nice hosts!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    People who worked there (greetings to Malika and Safia!) were very nice and tried to help us in every situation - finding a place for massages, must-sees in Marrakech, teaching us how to do marrocan mint tea :) Breakfast was very delicious- different marrocan specialities every day. Pool was great to cool down after a day in the (sometimes dusty) Medina.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing and demoralizing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff poorly trained, not welcoming. We had been traveling for 8 hours. When we arrived the staff person started asking about payment issues while we were standing with our luggage. The he had problems with the computer. I finally asked him to show us our rooms so we could get settled and that we would deal with the payment issues after

    Breakfast was adequate

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    3.8
    Very disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms smelled like stale air. No windows. Pictures on the web site overestimate the size. Person who greeted us seemed confused about one of the reservations. He was not very welcoming and we spent a good deal of time waiting for him to iron out some problems with a very slow internet. I told him that we need to get in our roooms and then work out the problems. Would not stay at this Riad again.

    Not very much. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.3
    Great place and great traditional food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative, only suggestions. We would suggest that the terrace could be looked into. Also, it would be great to have a safe inside the room.

    The Location was great, very close to souks and touristic attractions. Souffiane was a great host and he made our stay such a home away from home. He always communicated with us and sorted things out for us, he negotiated an excursion price and planned our visit. In addition, he was very flexible with our dinner and food choices. The lady who prepared breakfast in the morning was extremely friendly and she really spoiled us during our stay! Many thanks again!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.8
    Really recommended to stay in a riad while in Medina! Would be better if the breakfast is upgraded
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    old shower head. You get the feeling that the bathroom was dirty but actually not. The way to go into the riad little bit uncomfortable if you walk in the night.

    the riad itself was pretty, I like the ambience, calm, feel homey while you're so far away from home. The staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    8.8
    Definitely value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Definitely value for money! The staff is very friendly and helpful. You can book your taxi to and from the airport with the Riad. The breakfast is good, just enough and with fresh orange juice every day. The location is perfect when you get used to the little medina-maze. We got a free meal since we booked for 4 nights, this was tasty!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    We warmly recommend this accommodation to other visitors who are looking for good price and quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet speed could have been better, but then again, you don't really go on vacation to browse the web :)

    My girlfriend and I were especially pleased with how friendly and hospitable the hosts Soufiane and Karim are. They are ready and willing to arrange whatever you may need at a fair price, and they are always available to offer helpful suggestions. Thank you so much for the great service! Everything was as expected, and we would definitely return again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    10
    Beautiful and quiet Riad in the Medina
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a suite and stayed our first night in a superior room (smaller then a suite). The day after they made it up to us by transferring us to the suite with the bath

    The staff (Karim & Souffain) were very helpfull and friendly. The riad is nice and quiet and has beautiful suites. The breakfast divers every day and is plenty. We also got a free meal (tajine, bread, salads, thee and a pastry) as we stayed 4 nights.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    7.9
    I had booked the single room which was located at the ground...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had booked the single room which was located at the ground floor near the common area and it was often so noisy that it felt as if the people had been in my room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    5.8
    Not easily accessible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is difficult to find and not pleasant to walk, especially if you arrive at night, as it through a dark alley. It’s close to the main entrance of the medina, but nothing else. Breakfast, as per the Moroccan norm, was very basic (pancake, bread, tea and juice)

    The staff were helpful and pleasant.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    7.5
    Not terrible, not great – just an average stay in an average riad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    As with many of the riads in Marrakesh, there is not much attention to detail. There was a stray desk just sitting outside of our room plus and extra bed in the room – which would have been much nicer without it. Many of the staff were great, but there were a couple of guys who were totally indifferent. For example, we had the free dinner (which they offer if you stay three nights). Despite having told them 3 times that we are vegetarian, we were served one veggie tagine and one dish of meat kofta for dinner. When we told them again that we didn't eat meat, the answer was "Oh, I guess you'll have to share the tagine then." Not a huge deal but not really great either. This place is just fine, not terrible, not great. A real 7.5 kind of place.

    Riad Chalymar met our expectations fine. We wanted a comfortable Riad with in-room heating (since it was winter) and that's what we got. There is also a warm breakfast room and a nice covered outdoor seating area on the second floor. Our room was not quite as nice as some in the pictures but it was clean and comfortable. The woman who makes the breakfast was very sweet and kind and always started our day off with a smile!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    9.6
    Really beautiful Riad with nice and hospitable guest family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing I didn't like so much was the open window from bathroom to inner yard and only curtain to bedroom - which was ok for me because I was alone. Place was hard to find first time (had to ask), but afterwards easy.

    Really beautiful Riad with nice and hospitable guest family. You could always have a chat with them. Cosy sofas in heated community room (it gets cold in the night during winter!) where one can sit and read/talk/play together. Wonderful roof terrace, which I could sadly hardly use because it was raining. Breakfast was good, some things changed everyday. Due to some circumstances I had to travel alone. This place was a really comfortable safe haven for me, where I could escape the crowded and noisy city. Everything was reachable by foot and you never had a long way back. Pleasantly calm.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    10
    A lovely riad close to Jmaa El Fnaa which is very clean, has warm rooms and very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The internet connection is occasionally poor and very slow, Hopefully there will be a more up-to-date router soon.

    The location of the riad and the helpfulness and kindness of the staff. The free dinner with a 3-night stay and the free taxi pick-up with a 5-night stay. I would also recommend the airport pick-up organised by the riad, as although a taxi officially costs Dhs 70, I had no option but to pay Dhs 150 - after a lot of haggling - and Dhs 10 for someone to show me where the riad was located. Not what I needed after a long flight!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    5.8
    We stayed in two different rooms (for 2 nights, and later in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We stayed in two different rooms (for 2 nights, and later in the week for 3 nights). In both rooms, the toilet and bedroom were not separated by a door, merely by a curtain. For the money we paid (EUR 80,- per night) this is substandard. Had we not booked and paid in advance, we would have left. – Regardless of this, the staff is very friendly and most helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    8.8
    Good location, clean property, kind staffs, and perfect...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you've never been here, it's quite tricky to find the riad for the first time. But do not answer the person who tries to find your riad. They definitely demands money.

    Good location, clean property, kind staffs, and perfect breakfast. Soufian is very friendly to give information about the city, desert tour, etc. Overall, I enjoyed to stay there

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    8.3
    It was a relaxing stay in the Chalymar.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a relaxing stay in the Chalymar. My friends and I enjoyed the sun during daytime. Best place for doing that is the rooftop terrace. Just bring a book and a tea and whenever you get hungry or feel like shopping it just takes a short walk to reach the markets. If you want good advices or anything else just ask someone of the staff. Especially if Soufiane is around just ask him for anything. He is the best to tell you everything about the area and helps you to get noisy people quiet to turn your stay into a trip to a small oasis

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    7.1
    Regard for the view I wrote 4 days ago, they explained that...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to find.

    Regard for the view I wrote 4 days ago, they explained that they made a mistake to cancel my booking. In this case, I agreed to change my view. After 10days in Morocco, I have started in a lot of Riad. This one do not have enough light at night, that is the reason why I thought it is not clean. When we get off the taxi, the people living there told us they never know this Riad, maybe this is a new one.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    3.3
    Nothing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Submitted via mobile

    They charge more price than they worth. They lie about everything. They are dishonest!!! Before I arrive, they are really nice to ask if I need a pick up from the airport. I said yes and ask for price. They charge 20 Euro. However, for local taxi, they only need 20 local currency( less than 2 Euro) to go to the hotel. Then I think this is expensive and ask them could the price be lower. They refuse. In this case, I take taxi rather than the one hotel offer. When I arrive, they said I need to pay for the taxi price because they also send one to pick me up. I should say clear that I don't want their taxi after I ask for the price. Ok, since this is my mistake of I accept. They also mentioned they offer better exchange rate than the airport, so I exchange my euro with them. Their rate is 10.4. In the airport, the exchange rate is 10.7 and the rate in bank is 11. Then, that is the worst part. I paid the taxi 20 euro plus the cost for my room on that day in cash. After I left, they said I was not arrive and ask booking to charge me again through my card. Booking made the charge without my permission.

    Nothing. They lie.

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    10
    I was looking for a traditional place to stay in marrakech...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was looking for a traditional place to stay in marrakech wow we found it everything about this place was traditional and nothing was too much the staff are fab couldnt do enough for us would highly recommend if your looking for traditional

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We wanted to stay one more night but it was fully booked ;)

    Great location. In the medina but on the quiet part. Main square is 300m. Beautiful riad with rooftop terrace. Not easy to find in the maze :) Nice staff, good breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    7.9
    Riad Chalymar
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe a little bit of general maintenance needed , such as replacing light bulbs and bathroom equipment. But other than that nothing.

    The location , lovely staff especially, Malika who was very kind and helpful as I was ill on and off most of the holiday. Sofiah was helpful , funny and quite a character. Even the quiet little housekeeper.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    10
    Riad Chalymar is a magical place with awesome stuff. Always helpful and telling us a lot about the c
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Riad Chalymar is a magical place with awesome stuff. Always helpful and telling us a lot about the country and traditions. Thanks to Sofian and Malika! The Riad is clean, breakfast and dinner is very good. It's definitly a place to go back to, close to everything you wanna see in Marrakesh, delicious food, friendly stuff, nice to hang out, too!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    9.2
    Perfect riad for Marraquexe stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They should upgrade the breakfast to the level of the riad, using only fresh things. Still, it's good none the less

    The staff are amazing! Very nice hosts, help you with everything you need, from directions, to side trips. If you stay more then 3 night, there will be dinner when you first arrive! They tidy rooms daily and it's a very clean riad. The pool is perfect, clean and fresh, the solarium very comfortable! Breakfast is OK, could be a little better, then this place would be perfect! It's easy to access once you get there, but first time can be tricky. Just make sure you pass riad balkisse from same owner, best is them picking you up. Close to everything, and yet not noisy! Beds and pillows are confy, every room is unique. The decor is very tasteful, and there is always flower petals in the pool from the solarium flowers, so cute!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    The rooms are lovely & very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise carries in the Riad, the nature of how they are built. Bring earplugs!

    The rooms are lovely & very clean. Great breakfast. Nice and close to the markets.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    9.6
    Great breakfast, lovely staff, nice sleep!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff (Soufian & Malika) were super friendly, always smiling, even knowing some german. The atmosphere is super clean and nice, the pool definitely adds something to it. Breakfast was super tasty coming with the best mint tea I had. The bed was super comfortable and the cleanliness was on point! Dont regret our stay there. Superclose to the djemaa El fna as well! :)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    6.7
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs a TV, Hair Dryer, Comfortable Chair & Table, also needs a Small fridge & Good aroma... Little Overpriced! But Great Location! Close to everything.. Staff were helpful!

    We liked the location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    10
    My stay at Ray Chalymar
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike, I had an amazing time there and I felt like I was at home as I was so comfortable, It was clean and pleasant.

    I loved the moroccan style of the property it was beautiful, especially at night with all the lights turned on. The staff treated us like family and were very friendly and helpful, they made our stay very memorable. I would definitely recommend this hotel and I would love to go back and stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    9.2
    Central and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Central but quiet. Friendly staff and nice breakfast. It was a bit daunting when we first arrived but we soon found that the neighbourhood is very friendly with clean alleyways and nice families living there. Thanks to Malika, Sophiane and Samir.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    3.8
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's hidden inside that we had a hard time to find it. (The parking guy took us to the hotel and ask a big tips). We knocked for a while finally the staff came and open the door for us. They refused to take card by saying "card machine is broken" and ask for cash. During our check in, he is FaceTime with others. No key for the room, you have to left it open, no security at all. The bathroom is terrible, shower leaking all the time. We told them we will leave early, they seems not going to offer our breakfast at all. We are very disappointed. I booked 2 night but I only stayed one night because the first night experience is horrible. We will not come back here and do not recommend this hostel at all.

    Great location, low price

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    10
    Beautiful Riad with great staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful property with freshly made breakfast and a rooftop too. Great staff, I accidently left my passport in the room after checking out. After walking for 10 minutes from the Riad to the train station, a Riad staff member came racing out on his bike and managed to track me down amongst the crowds to return my passport, which I was EXTREMELY thankful for. If you are arriving at night, I would highly recommend using the airport pick-up service as it is extremely difficult to navigate through the winding paths of the old Medina.The driver easily found us at the airport drove us to the Medina to meet the Riad staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    10
    The staff is the reason to stay here. So friendly and helpful! Great value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff here is hands down one of the friendliest we've ever encountered. It was our first few days in Morocco, and they went out of their way to help get us ready for our adventure. From helping with directions to getting us set up with a rental car, to recommending places to see and eat. We could not have asked for more. The Riad itself was clean and cool, in a great location, with a beautiful rooftop terrace and a view of the entire medina. Cozy rooms and a delicious complimentary breakfast. I would recommend Chalymar to anyone going to Marrakesh.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    4.6
    OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    So I booked an excursion and was told a tour guide was included. I went to the location and the guide was extra. Little things like that can ruin it for me. It may have been due to communication barriers however I like to be certain.

    Traditional.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    10
    Perfect stay in Marrakech
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    A beautiful riad about 3 minutes walk from Jema el Fna. Our room was beautiful, the staff was amazing and so helpful and the breakfast in the morning was delicious. The owner made us feel so at home and welcome. We really felt like we were staying in a home.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    10
    Very nice place to stay in Marrakech
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very cosy and clean. Good location, about 5-10 mins walking time from the Jemma el-Fna square. Mazika, Soafianne and Halima were very welcoming and friendly. They provided plenty of hospitality and the breakfast was delicious! Soafianne and my son even became friends in a very short time.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    7.5
    The most friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad smell from the toilet and bath, not very practical bath, and look like the place knew better days.

    Small read, few minutes walk from the town square. Lovely friendly and very welcoming staff, great breakfast. The place it's self need some updating and refreshing.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    6.3
    Comfy but chaotic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff just seemed a bit chaotic. The first night we stayed, they couldn't find a key for a padlock for our door so we had to leave our room unlocked. Nothing was stolen. But we didn't feel totally at ease. We had also requested a meal on arrival as we got there quite late, but they had completely forgotten and sent us round the corner to a restaurant that was twice as expensive and not great.

    The beds were comfy and the breakfast was quite good. There was a very cute kitten that hung around outside!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    10
    Best riad in Marrakech
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely friendly staff, very helpful with anything you need. Excellent location (don't be afraid to walk through the narrow streets to find it) , gorgeous riad, feels like you enter a hidden oasis. Very clean room, very good wifi, excellent tea from the house! There is a great terrace on top of the riad as well if you want to relax in the sun.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    9.2
    Lovely and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pastries should be warmed in the oven and not microwaved. Otherwise, everything was very good.

    This is a comfortable riad in an excellent location.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    6.7
    Not worthy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room downstairs is very noise. You can not sleep there. And there is no Windows. Shower is a disaster. After using bathroom was full of water.

    The staff wants to help you allí the time. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    7.5
    Nice cute little riad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was on the ground floor and it was extremely noisy. As if people were having breakfast in my room. The shower head could not be attached to the wall, I had to hold it.

    Nice cute little riad. Friendly staff and good Wifi quality.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    8.8
    Gemütliches Riad in zentraler Lage
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Honestly, there could be a wider range at the breakfast.

    Nice rooms, nice and helpful staff. Just in the middle between Jamaa el Fna, the Souks and Mellah. Good beds!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    10
    Wonderful Riad in Medina
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful riad in the medina, short walk to the souks. Staff is fantastic and speak good English. They took care of everything. We will be staying here again next time we visit Marrakech. So good

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    10
    A great place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Riad is lovely, comfortable, and clean. Malika and the staff were great, and you felt like you were home, they also served us a delicious breakfast. I highly recommend this place.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2016

    7.5
    Nothing too special
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was very poor (compared to the riads where we stayed for less than half of the money) . It had coffee with milk, artificial juice (all the others had fresh fruit juice) bread, jam and butter. Maybe it was because we asked if the breakfast could be served 30 min before the usual hour (usually started at 8) because we had to leave to the airport. They accepted, but clearly annoyed by our petition. The streets to get to the riad were very badly iluminated. Not good value for money, it was not very different from other riads were we stayed before and costed more than double.

    It has heating (for the cold winter nights). Clean. Close to the Djemaa El Fna and the Koutoubia Mosque.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    6.3
    Beware of room tax SCAM.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Charged twice for the 20 Euro room tax. Contrary to their assurances, I was billed for the room plus all taxes on my credit card and paid an additional 20 Euros(in Dirham) at the time of departure. My receipts confirm this. Frequently bickering staff didn't always make for a relaxing atmosphere.

    Good location. Comfortable room

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    9.6
    Amazing Breakfast!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - The riad signage from the main road can be clearly install (we're lost when we were looking the accommodation)

    - Breakfast is amazing! and they give us for free (even though it was not included in our booking) and I miss it already - The staffs are very friendly - Nice view of rooftop - Rooms are tidy and comfy - Within minutes walk from Djema el-Efna

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    9.6
    An oasis in the hustle and bustle of Marrakech
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The alleyway to the Road is a bit daunting at first but you soon feel at ease.

    The riad is literally a stones throw from the main square. Quiet and great value for money. The staff were so friendly and amazingly helpful without being pushy and full on like so many in Marrakech. We felt like we were in their home, part of the family. The simple but ample breakfast set us up for the day. The rooms were clean and comfortable. If you needed something all you had to do was ask. The airport transfer was well worth the money, without Soufiane meeting us we could easily have got lost and that was during the day time.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    9.6
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is separated from the room with a curtain only. Not a big issue for us but some people may not like this.

    Superb location, very close to the square and the palaces but at the same quiet. Nice breakfast. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    3.8
    Scary location, very dark hostel, poor breaking
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Scary location, as a female traveller I would be scared to walk alone in the dimly lit maze leading to the hotel. The rooms are very noisy, you hear everything from the inner yard. The rooms have no outside windows, the place is really dark. Breakfast was the worst I had on my whole trip. The manager made fun of other guests behind their back and smoked in the communal room, which you could smell in my room upstairs. They organised a Dayton reform me and I ended up saying more than all the other guests.

    Close to center

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    10
    I had a lovely time with my wife, all the staff were very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a lovely time with my wife, all the staff were very friendly. Our receptionist Soufiane was really helpful and told us all the best places to go. He made our time very special. Thank you!! Xxx

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    10
    Brilliant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A big thank you to Malika and Soufiane to make our stay in Marrakech unforgettable. They were very kind and friendly helping in anything we need. I actually got food poisoning and I couldn't leave the room on time so they let me stay for an extra hour until I got better.That was a very nice touch, so thank you very much again. Location is great, very quiet and peaceful area and a very short distance to the main square. I highly recommend to stay at the Riad Chalymar and without a doubt I would come back again

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    5.8
    Overall all disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was close but in the middle of a maze, which was daunting at night. A few days before I stayed in another Riad not far from this one was much cheaper and bigger, also was not down a load of alley ways. Me and my partner was also woke up every morning by staff and other customers being very noisy.

    Place was very clean, and staff were lovely helped with what we needed.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    9.2
    Charming Road close to the main square
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite difficult to find in a dark alley No early breakfast possible

    Very nice pool and rooms Good Breakfast included Very close to the main square

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    Good people and a nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very Nice place and people!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    Nice place, nice people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It was great all round.

    The staff were amazing. Big thanks to Sofiane, Rita and Malika for really looking after us.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    Nice clean riad. Super friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean. Nicely decorated. Everybody was so helpful especially souffiane. Its located very central near the main square and quite at night

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    Everything was excellent and the staff were super-helpful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was excellent and the staff were super-helpful!! Thanks once more everything!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    7.9
    Silent & Calm rooms close to main square
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Comfort Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to find, not all staff speaks english

    Very close to city centre

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    7.9
    It's a good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pool was closed

    The breakfast was very nice

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    7.9
    Nice stay would recommend if you would like to be right in the heart of the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At first night a bit dounting with dark narrow streets , but you get usted to this no problem .

    Nice clean room

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    10
    Great spot close to jemaa el fna
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was great.

    They don't know word "NO", we had all what we asked. Great location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    The location is great the stuff is welcome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Service

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    9.2
    Charming riad in the medina.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s tricky to find, but you can have a guide from the street.

    Charming riad in the medina. Very friendly staff. Beautiful rooms and a nice rooftop.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    10
    perfekt Sophian is great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    perfekt Sophian is great!! Very helpful!

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Riad Chalymar traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: