Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Dar Adrar

Imlil, 42152 Imlil, Morocco

#7 of 32 hotels in Imlil

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 71 B&B reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    9.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 52

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    Friendly staff, perfect food
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no parking place near the accomodation. But the they provide free mull to take your lugage from public parking place (20 Mad per day)

    The staff is very friendly, food is perfect. I highly recomend this accomodation.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    10
    The staff were extremely friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Imlil Family Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At the sart of the trip the WiFi didn’t work but they fixed it by the second day so it wasn’t a big deal!

    The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We went on a trek which was amazing. Such good value for money...you can’t beat the view from the terrace and the food there was the best in imlil! Amazing

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    Caring hosts and beautiful scenery
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at this homely place were the most helpful people we have met in Morocco. Unfortunately I became seriously ill on the trip and they went above and beyond to get me to a hospital in Marrakesh. Brilliant terrace with an unforgettable view. Organised us with a hiking guide too at a much better price than companies in the centre were offering. Breakfasts and tagines delicious. All in all we would thoroughly recommend staying here.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    Magical !!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved everything about Dar Adrar nothing to dislike!!!!!

    I cannot express in words the wonderful experience that Dar Adrar is, from the mule ride from the village to the guest house, the beautiful terrace with mountain views, the goats,chickens, the sherpas who helped us greatly, the excellent food, and the peaceful atmosphere, we made special memories here, I would urge everyone to book a stay here, it truly is a hidden gem in Morocco.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    Beautiful and friendly place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing bad about this place. Enjoy.

    Beautiful and friendly place. clean and basic. Best dinner you could have compared to the village. Views are amazing from the roof top where you can eat and chill.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.2
    Excellent locally owned dar
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot water is limited

    Hamid and the staff were very helpful, especially information about hiking day trips from the far. The food is excellent. The location overlooking Imlil is great. Very good access to the hiking trails.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.6
    Stunning views and tranquil setting, loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only minor thing I would say I did not like was that in the dark it was a bit of a track up hill and we needed a torch. Fortunately the owner's son came to pick me up from the car park and the walk up to the hotel took only about 10-15 minutes from the main street.

    I loved this place as it was in a quiet, secluded area in the hillside, right in the middle of the Atlas Mountains, about 4 hours walking away from the tallest mountain in North Africa. This is the main reason people visit Imlil: to climb the hill so if that's why you are coming here then I would recommend a stay at this B&B as they are already quite high up on the mountain so you just join the trail from the main door! The dinner was amazing, freshly made in the kitchen by the mother of the household and she also prepared breakfast in the morning. Dinner came in at 80 dirham for soup, bread and main course which was chips with tajine. There really wasn't anything to complain about.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    10
    GREAT and beautiful spot with a perfect view of mountains...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of hot water and poor wifi

    GREAT and beautiful spot with a perfect view of mountains and valley! Ressourcefull Hamide attented us perfectly with food, advice, hiking boots and humour! Heating in room and very nice food by the fireplace!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    9.2
    Excellent facility and hosts in a great hiking location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We went to Imlil for the hiking...and the hiking was very good. The location is fantastic, a few minutes walk down to the main road for taxis or shopping and central to start all our hikes. The staff, Hamid and Omar, were excellent hosts. They patiently suggested our hiking routes based on our abilities and length of hike. The breakfast was included in the price and we ate home cooked dinners each evening. The meals were very good with a nice variety of kebabs, tangines, couscous and breakfasts. Coffee or tea were available anytime of day at no charge. Oranges and bananas were available at all meals. We took oranges, bread and cheese from breakfast and ate it for lunch during the hikes. The terrace view is spectacular.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    10
    Beautiful location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful location! My sister and I loved staying here both before and after our trek in the Atlas Mountains. It was so easy to book and coordinate. Highly recommend this hotel and trekking company.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    10
    Three times lucky
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was my fourth trip to Morocco in the last 5 years. I have stayed at Dar Adrar during the last 3 trips. I love the location, views from the terrace and great Moroccan food. Hamid is a fantastic manager who makes a good impression on guests with his friendly and helpful and efficient manner. He also cooks great food, assisted by his apprentice Omar. If you go to Dar Adrar take an apple or 2 for the donkey. Almost forgot to mention the lovely log fires in Winter. I'll be back.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    10
    Great stay! recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I usually not bothered to leave opinions on booking.com, but this place deserve it. Food was great, rooms comfy enough, price very competitive, views from terrace amazing, WiFi was working . Hosts are even better story! They are super friendly and helpful, always ready to help or answer our questions, not fake or intrusive like some others (free coffee in middle of a day? No problem. Can you show where this hiking trail start? No problem (I mean, he actually walk with us for half an hour to be sure we are heading the right way...)). When we were paying in Dirhams but booked prices in Euro, they don't overcharge. On top of that, they organise place in garage to park our motorbikes in a village below, for free! (beacouse, like most places in Imlil, they are not accessible directly by road, mules have to carry your luggage for 10-15 minutes). Long story short: If you want visit Imlil this is a place to stay.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    10
    Amazing experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great,nice clean beds, warm rooms,amazing view on mountains and of course delicious food. Staff was great and Abdelhamid was a really nice person. If you're looking for a calm place with amazing landscapes and good service this is your spot!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    9.2
    The staff is very nice, they were very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were a little bit cold, even with the fireplaces on, it stayed a little bit cold.

    The staff is very nice, they were very helpful. Breakfast and dinner were good.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    9.6
    Brilliant staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Slightly unreliable hot water for the shower!

    Brilliant staff. Fantastic location (but be prepared for the walk up the hill!). Great food. Lovely atmosphere.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2016

    7.5
    A good base for touring Berber villages and hiking to Toubkal
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi is a bit of a challenge, but it does work in certain locations.

    We were a group of 3 men travelling together - one who wanted to tour a Berber Village, and the other 2 wanted to climb Mount Toubkal. Both tours were well organized, the accomodation was fine, and we were pleased with the support from all the staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    10
    A wonderful place to climb Toubkal and relax afterwards!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic staff! A warm welcome with Moroccan tea was provided on arrival, and a vegan dinner was cooked on request. The location is a very short walk up from the town, and the views from the terrace (warm in the morning even in October) are fantastic. I was allowed to leave a bag here while I climbed Toubkal and even a hot shower and more tea when I returned! A wonderful experience, fully recommend!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    9.2
    Good place in the village with a nice view on the whole...
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good place in the village with a nice view on the whole Imlil. Very good service and kind personnel. A good place to stay here and make a one day treks around Imlil.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable and comfortable excellent and very helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location. Facilities Service

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    Thank you very much for your hospitality!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Thank you very much for your hospitality! Attitude to the guest is sincere and hospitable. I recommend to everyone Dar Adrar

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    8.3
    Unique location staff and food very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don’t try to arrive here after dark!!

    Unique location staff and food very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    Fantastic place to start/end Toubkal hike.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent food and great atmosphere.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    10
    Hamid the owner was a great help when planning our trip...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hamid the owner was a great help when planning our trip through the Atlas Mountains.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    10
    Super friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super friendly

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    10
    Lovely view from the terrace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely view from the terrace. Loved sitting by the fire after a big hike

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2017

    8.8
    Great fireplace, food, staff & balcony
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great fireplace, food, staff & balcony

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    10
    Made to feel very welcome; nothing too much for the staff; food fab and accommodation cosy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hospitality by Hamad was fantastic. He couldnt do enough for us.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    9.2
    Nice rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice rooms. Nice view. Everything just fine.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2016

    9.2
    Helpful staff, great location on the mountain, great views...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Some young goats next door whose crying disturbed guests at times but it is an authentic location, so if you don't like it, go to New York instead.

    Helpful staff, great location on the mountain, great views from the terrace, cosy indoor lounge with fire, spacious room.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    10
    This place is a gem.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    This place is a gem. The hospitality was outstanding, location excellent and was treated like I was royalty. Service was second to none. Hamad (hope I got the name right) made us feel most welcome and very comfortable couldn't rate this place high enough. You won't be disappointed.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    7.5
    The staff were very friendly and accommodating to our needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Not a problem for us, but you should be aware the Dar is situated 10-15 minute walk uphill outside of Imlil - (a good place to start from if you want to trek further up). A mule is provided to transport luggage up and down from the town.

    The staff were very friendly and accommodating to our needs. Food was good and the views from the top terrace were wonderful. Facilities were basic but we were warm, had hot water and there was even a hairdryer in the rooms.

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2016

    10
    The owner Ahmed was welcoming and laid back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The owner Ahmed was welcoming and laid back. Really great food! Made us feel right at home. The views from the terrace are spectacular. The wood burners in the rooms make it cosy!

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2015

    10
    Wonderful staff, very helpful and accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Only negative was that I couldn't pay by credit card. This would be less of a problem if I'd known in advance.

    Wonderful staff, very helpful and accommodating. English speaking guide at reasonable rate, good dinners in the evening. They also arranged transfers from and to Marrakech for me. Lovely terrace in the sun over-looking the mountains - perfect for breakfast before a day's hike. As a solo female traveller, I would highly recommend this as a place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    10
    We stayed there before our trek from Imlil to Seti Fadma.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed there before our trek from Imlil to Seti Fadma. Great location, need to walk from the Trek Shop but they bring your luggage on a donkey. Breakfast is great, dinner great took, we ate on the roof terrace, view superb. Staff all great, clean, quiet, good WiFi in lower lounge, perfect place.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    9.6
    Amazing location, beautiful views, great staff, great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were a little confused at arrival as we couldn't get hold of the accommodation and the shop where the email directed us was closed, but that's mostly down to bad cell reception in the area as I could not get hold of them. After we managed to figure out who could take us to the accommodation, it was all good. The room is comfortable, it's basic but clean.

    Amazing location, beautiful views, great staff, great evening meal (I bet you're not going to want to treck back to the village for food in the evening). The reason to choose this accommodation (on top of it being good value) though is that they have great local guides that can arrange for hikes, whether you want to do a full-scale hike of the nearby peak or just do a more relaxed one-day trek. Find the accommodation's site for info on the possible tours, there are not marked paths in the area so you kinda need a guide to get anywhere.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    10
    This guesthouse is the best we have stayed in morocco.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    This guesthouse is the best we have stayed in morocco. The staff are super active and do everything humanely possible to make your experience magical. The room windows open to beautiful scenery.they arrange all tours on mountains upon requests. Just make a request and see how they handle it!

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2015

    9.2
    From the minute we arrived, out of breath from the walk up...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    From the minute we arrived, out of breath from the walk up from Imlil, we were treated like royalty by Hamid. The views from the sun terrace are amazing, quite jaw-dropping.

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2015

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    There is a small annoying tree in the way of the view by the terrace

    Everything. The honey for breakfast was the best I have ever tasted. Best location in Imlil.

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2015

    10
    The staff (particularly Hamed and Omar) the breakfasts and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    none

    The staff (particularly Hamed and Omar) the breakfasts and the views. We also loved the location, 1/2 Km from a beautiful rushing mountain stream.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    8.3
    Great place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    WiFi Could be better.

    Great place. Very friendly and helpfull staff. Had a beautiful walk up the mountains with Lachsin, great guy and our guide. Take this walk up and enjoy the fresh orange juice at the top. Love to come back here.

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2015

    8.8
    The views from Dar Adrar are fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The views from Dar Adrar are fantastic. The staff are helpful and polite---allowing us to choose our room as it was quiet season. We had a room with a wood burner which was lit every night for us. Loved it. Overall--Good value for money. We will return.

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2015

    7.5
    We liked the atmosphere - a bit like a mountain hut or a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bedroom was chilly but when we asked they gave us an electric heater.

    We liked the atmosphere - a bit like a mountain hut or a Nepalese lodge. We enjoyed the meals next to the wood stove and chatting with the other guests. The food was good. The place is fantastic value and the staff are helpful with advice on walks, etc.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    10
    The food was amazing, this guys were very kind and helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The food was amazing, this guys were very kind and helpful at all the time. Highly recommended

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    10
    Comfortable room, lovely terrace, great host and fabulous...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Comfortable room, lovely terrace, great host and fabulous meals.

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    9.6
    Fantastic guesthouse in Imlil.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fantastic guesthouse in Imlil. Very clean. Great food, too. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Would definitely go again.

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    10
    It's was amazing guesthouse the people there are so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It's was amazing guesthouse the people there are so friendly

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    9.2
    Location and staff are great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Bed was a little hard and wifi was spotty.

    Location and staff are great. Loved the rooftop patio

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2015

    8.8
    Good food, very helpfull personal, correct prices
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Good food, very helpfull personal, correct prices

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2015

    10
    Ahmed is fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Ahmed is fantastic! super friendly place, super view over Imlil

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    9.6
    Friendly atmosphere, value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Friendly atmosphere, value for money.

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2015

    10
    Staff and guides are such lovely people, cannot do enough...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff and guides are such lovely people, cannot do enough for you.

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2015

    9.6
    Friendly staff, good views, wood burners amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Friendly staff, good views, wood burners amazing! Very peaceful, accommodating and helpful re trekking

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 52

Guests also reviewed these properties: