Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Dar Al Andalous

14, Derb Bennani, Douh-Batha, Medina, 30000 Fès, Morocco

#129 of 172 hotels in Fès

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 42 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 19

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Spa Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was awful! With that price we paid (breakfast is included), we expected a much better breakfast. Very poor!!! There is no shower inside the bathroom! Our room was more expensive because it had a Jacuzzi but when we decided to use it (have in mind that it was like 10 at night), there was no hot water! So we had to get dressed and get out of our room to asked one of the staff! After maybe 10 minutes the water was hot, but tap was leaking and making noise during the night! We told them in the morning and left to see the city, when we got back it was still leaking!!

    The place is very beautiful, bed was comfortable, room was clean. Staff were polite but the person who was responsible for most of the things couldn't speak English! We tried to understand each other with international body language! :))) The owner was nice and friendly, could speak English, helped us how to get to the places we wanted to visit.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location of the Riad was excellent, along with the breakfast and dinner. We stayed 3 nights and wished we had of dined at the Road on the last night also.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The accommodation is a typical Riad, really well conserved and so pretty! The staff is extremely extremely polite, the owners are always around and are very helpful. The room was really big and the bed comfortable. The location is perfect, just 8 minutes walking from the Blue Gate so you can explore the old town. It also has a terrace. Had dinner one night at the Riad, you can either choose a menu or choose the dishes, we had couscous and tajine, it was delicious! Breakfast was also good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location. Loved everything and everyone in the riyadh. The owner and his wife were very friendly and keep asking us everyday if we needed anything. We feel like home.The whole staff was amazing, friendly and polite especially Rasheed and Zahra were very helpful. The size of the room and bathroom is perfect for us, the bed was comfortable and cozy. The moroccan breakfast was delicious with variety of breads. The location is in an excellent places 5 min walk to Bab bujloud and very close to the old fes. Definitely we’ll come back again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very helpfull staff, kind and patient, the maid, cook and Rushid specially. Location in a quiet alley, 200 mts from the medina, 300 mts from the Blue Gate (Bab Boujloud) Traditional decoration and furniture. The room we got was spacious, with a sitting area, big bath and 2 sinks. Breakfast satisfying and fresh. Specify your needs because they have different kinds of rooms.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good food but a bit pricey. They offer late night dinning tho.

    Location - Only 3 mins walk to the medina Decoration - Beautiful room Staff - Very professional and welcoming

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is a short walk away from the blue gate and the area tends to be bustling until late night so you feel safe. The room was luxurious and blocks out the sounds from outside so you get a good night's rest. The food at the riad is delicious. The breakfast options are the same each day, but always satisfying. For dinner, we were served a delicious variety of vegetables with bread and an amazing chicken and olive tagine dish. The riad is seriously so beautiful you have to see it. It is an attraction in and of its own.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The host family and the staff were very kind and very helpful. We were cared for as though we were guests in a private home. All requests were gladly met...

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Because of the labyrinthine nature of the medina, I arranged with the Riad to provide a guide. He navigated me to all the places I wanted to go but, unsurprisingly, inserted visits to a carpet shop, a shop selling leather goods and an antiques shop which resembled Aladdin's Cave. Personally, I will go a long way to avoid sitting or standing in shops unless I actively choose to do so; I didn't.

    I ate at the Riad on my first evening; home-made salad, tagine and dessert. Highly recommended. The Riad has its own 'mini-hammam' where I arranged to have a traditional massage; again, highly recommended. Manager (Mohammed) and staff were extremely helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steps up to the room are difficult....but this is Morocco and it is a beutiful old riad.

    Stunning open area (lobby) on first floor. Beautiful tile. Excellent traditional Moroccan dinner. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Det vore nog inte helt fel att förse badrummet till Batah med ett värmeelement. Det var lite kallt.

    Dar Al Andalous är ett otroligt vackert dekorerad/sensibelt restaurerad Riad i genuin marrokansk stil. En stor eloge förtjänar Mr. and Mrs Kadiri, liksom deras personal för deras gränslösa hjälpsamhet och gästvänlighet, och för att inte glöma de underbara hemlagade middagar som vi fick inmundiga under vistelsen i Dar Al Adalous. Stället kan tveklöst rekommenderas för Fes-besökare som vill bli personliga bortskämda och andas marrokansk gästvänlighet.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is not 5* accommodation but who wants that anyway? It is an authentic and wonderful experience of genuine Fes hospitality. It was easily the best place we stayed on our Moroccan road trip.

    The management and staff are the best in Fes. We stayed in two other Riads before this one and there was no comparison. The location is perfect, really close to parking. The boss can't do enough for his guests. Everything we requested was provided without complaint. Genuine compassion, excellent food and a very beautiful Riad.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing , it was perfect

    Great location, excellent amenities and very helpful owner and staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Price is high for what it is!

    Friendly and helpful staff and decoration of the accomodation.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Anything that isn't right - they sort out immediately.

    This was my second visit to Dar AlAndalous. I fell in love with Fes many years ago and have stayed in all the top riads - but this is my favourite. A beautifully restored Fassi riad in a safe location run by the very hospitable Kadiri family. Everything here is perfect. Food, service, views. And very good value for money. I will be back again.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was a family house not a hotel. We felt as if somebody was doing us a favor when staying there rather than actual paying customers at a hotel. The price for the room was very expensive for what it actually offers. Mohammed, the owner, never thought about what we wanted, but instead the only thing he was interested in was trying to sell us different things such as eating there, which was a fixed menu of what they had eaten that day and was ridiculously expensive for what he offered. He pressured us all the time to eat there even after we said we would like to eat out. He discouraged our plans all the time with excuses just in order for us to do things he recommended. I had to discuss with him for 20 minutes that I wanted to pay with a credit card having to stand for excuses about why I did not want to pay cash. He said it was better for him if I paid cash, instead of actually accept what the customer wanted. Same thing with the taxi. The service was not very good, as they never replaced the toilet paper, we had to ask for shampoo every day and the towels were never changed. And the worst thing is hat we were the only customers staying there the first two days! Two guests arrived when we were leaving

    The house is nice and well located. Hassan, the house porter was very helpful and always there when needed.

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Most outstanding was Mohammad the owner who couldn't help us enough, even arranged an escort to my spa treatment and back to the Dar. Beautiful home cooked food.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Location Staff and management Fresh air in rooms Clean Great food

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location and character.

There is 1 review without text. This impacts the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 19

Browse Dar Al Andalous traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: