Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Dar Aliane

Mostapha Al Maani, 30000 Fès, Morocco

#53 of 84 B&Bs and Inns in Fès

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 243 B&B reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 52

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ourika Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked dinner by email without asking for the price (our mistake), and had two small tajines that we payed 320dr, which we found expensive. We had nothing to drink. We were leaving the day after at 7:30 and thus were too late for the breakfast that is starting at 8:00

    We stayed there one night before a bus to Chefchaouen. It is very convenient as the bust station CTM was 10mn walking. The room was fine with working wifi.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Berbere Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The laundry service is expensive and we didn't use the service. It costs 3 euro per piece.

    Staff is nice and helpful. They arranged early breakfast for us as we need to leave in the morning. The room is clean and comfortable. Location is near the CTM bus station and we walked there front the station for about 10-15 minutes. We arrived the CTM bus at night and the taxi charged 30-50 dh. But the location is far from the medina and it costs 20-25dh for taxi at the daytime. But if you take taxi at night, the fee would be a double.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Atlas Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was much smaller than announced in Booking. Com and 10 instead of 35, (just fake), big double bed would be more than 150 cm (we travel with small child - therefore we choose big room with big bed) On top of this there was no excuse for this from owner but charge 20 Mad for refill of filter coffee (not found in any other place in maroc County - just greedy!! Would not choose again!!!!)

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Orient Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room barely had space to walk around the bed, and if you are reading this and staying there anyway do NOT end up in the room right behind the reception desk. At all hours of day and night, it seemed, there were check-ins and loud groups hanging out (and this was on a weekday). Awful soundproofing-- we could hear every word spoken.

    Staff was ridiculously friendly and quick to please.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Souss Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The drainae pipes were blocked and water was overflowing.

    The atmosphere is really good. There is a pool at the loby and we can eat breakfast there. Breakfast is so good we ate too much. We can go balcony and see the view of town. Location is awesome! It takes about 5 minutes to go to jemaal funa. Staffs are so friendly. I want to go back and stay here again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Souss Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No one showed the facilites of the Riad. The staff do not speak any English or Spanish. We are sure that someone entered in our room when we were outside. The Riad is outside of the Medina but the taxi is only 1 euro approximately.

    Typical Moroccan decorations. The staff looked friendly, one of them went outside with us to search for a taxi. He prepared us a great Moroccan tea because we had to wait the receptionist for 5 minutes. They clean the room every day.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Orient Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I rarely leave a negative comment on hotels but if you are 4 star hotel, you should be much and much more better. First of all, I waited approximately 30 minutes for check-in coz there is no staff at the reception and finally charwoman had to check me in but she didn't know English and she dropped my phone while trying to connect me to the wifi. Moreover, wifi did work just in the lobby, it didn't work in my room. Like check-in I had to wait for check-out coz staff told me I had to wait my boss, he only can do this and they wasted my time again and again and even their boss didn't know English. And for the record, their breakfast wasn't satisfying.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Berbere Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very convenient for going to the CTM station so as going to the Medina. However the room was a bit cold since there was no radiator but an air conditioner. All in all the stay was nice and people are so nice too. The breakfast was great!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Berbere Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I’m not sure if the staff was new but there was one woman at the front desk during our entire stay. She was sweet and always tried to be helpful but she took a long time to check us in. When we asked for recommendations for places to see or eat she said she didn’t know because she’s not from the area. Even if she’s not a local, I expect a riad that caters to primarily tourists to make a few simple recommendations. I picked this location because I read reviews that it was within walking distance to the bus station, but when I asked the staff for walking directions they said it would be difficult to walk and hailed a taxi for me instead. So I ended up paying for taxis to both the medina and the bus station. If I had to do it over again, I would pay more money to be closer to either

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Kasbah Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Not in the most exciting area but so easy/cheap to get around in taxis it wasn't a problem!

    Great location for us to get onward travel via CTM buses. Manager was so kind and friendly. Dropped us at the bus station himself! Breakfast was yummy and the rooftop terrace beautiful! :)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Souss Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was comfy, but a little plastic. This became a little warm when laying on it. We had a room where the boiler for the entire hotel seemed to hang. We could hear it whenever someone took a shower.

    Breakfast was good and the rooms were clean. Nice shower.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Souss Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very warm-hearted staff and great location. As we need to exchange some currency, manager even drove his own car to take us to the nearest bank. Besides, our request of early breakfast was also approved. Great experience!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Tichka Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Water, foods in the hotel are a bit overpriced. Apparently we didn't get the room showing in the booking, without any explanation, changed us to another smaller room .

    Garden is nice. Neighbourhood is quiet and convenient.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Orient Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing to say

    everyone was lovely from the moment i enter the riad,i had welcome mint tea while they were setting up my room, and the recepcionist even gave me a better room that i booked, loved the breakfast everything very fresh and the staff is very nice. just the recepcionist speaks english the cleaning / cook lady and the only man you will see in the riad they dont speak english but at the end we understand each other.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ourika Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were friendly and helpfull very peaceful feeling (forgetting you are in the middle of the city) the location was perfect -near the buss stop, decent distance to the medina (quite long walk, short taxi) The room was clean and comfterble

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Orient Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The riad is not close to the medina -although you can call a cab-. The area is quiet, although at night there's nothing interesting to do around, even for dinner.

    Staff was great, Marian the receptionist helped us in everything we needed. Good outdoor spaces, quiet area with a school of music nearby. They also had a place to keep our bikes overnight. Good breakfast in terms of amount and quality.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Ourika Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is the best hotel I've ever slept in. (And I'm traveling everywhere for a year). I was upgraded and the room is really comfortable, clean and pretty. Plus it's really quiet, I slept like a baby every night. The staff is incredibly kind, they always helped me when I had a question, they guided me outside to the taxi station when I didn't know where it was and also to the pharmacy when I needed it. And they offered me a delicious dinner and tea! It's also easy to come from the airport by taxi and it's near the medina (taxi is really cheap from there). I'm coming back in this hotel as soon as I can :)

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Ourika Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Protective under sheet - I took mine off.

    Nice comfortable bed, decor very interesting, clean, nice staff. Secure premises. A lot of character. It's located a 9 DH taxi ride to the old town, and a 6 DH rode to the train station which is easy, and no problem for me. CTM bus station is a walkable distance. - Feb 2017

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Kasbah Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More protein and fruit needed in breakfast. Very limited amount of coffee for breakfast. Overpriced dinner menu. Location in Ville Nouvelle needs clarifying. Very poor information about layout of town. Very cold building generally.

    Interesting building with traditional decor. Great bathroom facilities. Courteous staff.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Atlas Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't understand the high rating for this place. For the price (39€!!!) it is barely passable. I am going to assume that a lot of people who don't know what your money can get you in Morocco are staying here. Only reason I booked this place was it is walking distance to the CTM station and I needed to leave very early. Bed hard, bathroom grubby, big courtyard filled of nothing but dirt. Climate control in room was either very hot air or nothing. Breakfast was a pancake and a piece of bread with (very good) orange juice and (very bad) coffee. There isn't any real character here, it's a modern building dressed up to look like a riad. You can get places twice as nice in Fes (think old city) for half the price.

    Walking distance from CTM bus station.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Souss Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    location in ville nouvelle was perfect - a taxi was 8 dh to the old medina and we were close to the bars of fes. hotel was quiet - exactly what we needed for a good sleep! we stayed an extra night.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Ourika Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The staff of Dar Aliane is so friendly and helpful! The place is lovely and relaxing, with a big open courtyard full of plants. I highly recommend staying here!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Méditerannée Twin Room
    • Stayed 22 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the fact that you always needed someone to let you in and out the front gate. There were also signs that someone had been using my computer in my room...

    Friendly staff for the most, hotel manager speaks english quite well, good breakfast. The location is good. Easy access to everything in downtown Fez.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Atlas Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good breakfast. nice staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Atlas Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was quite dark, city tax was not included, breakfast was poor, staff was nice but unprofessional

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ourika Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing staff, perfect room, a real Moroccan building with a huge sunny terrace/garden! Definitely suggested!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Tichka Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The garden full of good vibes relaxing and the staff is great !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Berbere Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paiment was wrong calculated and then refused to pay back the difference. Absolutely unacceptable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Kasbah Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff were AMAZING! We felt so wonderfully looked after. Shower was great, beds comfy and it was very close to where we needed to be.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Berbere Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Great value for money. Good breakfast and shower.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ourika Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendy, clean, confortable, very recommendable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Souss Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Clean and traditional style, very helpful staff, tasty breakfast, thank you!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Berbere Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The perfume smell was too strong in the room, wi-fi was weak

    Nice staff, delicious breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Orient Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff. Nice small breakfast. We arrived at 5.30 am and the staff was very very friendly

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Ourika Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not really a 4-star hotel standard as expected. Quite basic.

    Location close to CTM station

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Souss Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff of Dar Aliane is so friendly and helpful!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Méditerannée Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast can be better.

    All the staff are friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Souss Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Three cockroaches in the bathroom.

    Very good breakfast and very nice people. Comfy room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Berbere Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very comfort and was clean ever

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Orient Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff is good but couldn't speak english, facility is poor.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Oasis Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Taxi drivers didn't know where it is.

    Room was good. Nice hotel in a residential area.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the breakfast, rooms en garden where very nice.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Ourika Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice and helpful hosts. There is a great back yard where you can relax. We had a great traditional moroccan breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Berbere Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful place , very hospitable staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very good location: close to petit taxis, only a short drive to Medina. Around some local shops and restaurants. Place quiet, easy to rest in, inside the Riad little garden, terraces; open space. Reliable wifi in the room, air-con, english tv. Staff extremely helpful and nice. Felt like at home and would love to be back there again X

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    bed wasn't to comfortable and pillows were square so no good sleep. when you search in booking.com site and filter results has spa it appears the Ryad but doesn't have any facilities there they said were in another Ryad from the same group. Breakfast is poor and charged for extra cup of coffee. still staff needs more training, different experience form a occidental standard hotel 4 stars but is Moroccan people way of doing things and you go for that experience, but that's not the staff responsibility.

    Staff was amazing, helpful and always with a beautiful smile along with them, makes you feel good that smile in the morning. still staff needs more training, different experience form a occidental standard hotel 4 stars but is Moroccan people way of doing things and you go for that experience. you can have breakfast in a interior garden that is very pleasant to be there speacially on a hot day. in the overall were pleasant days spent there, but in the Ryad we were the only with guests.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The staff is too relaxed for this type of facility and cleaning level is not very gooeagreei for airplane wasn't even ordered. Bathroom amenities are terrible so bring your own and quality and one per person towels is horrible.

    location is ok in New town,and is reasonably close to center( with petit taxi 10-20mad) 30min walk. Breakfast is very nice and bed is comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Room was dark, sockets were broken. We had just only one properly working socket. No vegetables or fuits during the breakfast, roome was noisy. Although, on the website it was written that staff speaks dutch, jewish, italian, spanish, german, english, french and arabic, but reality was that staff spoke just french and arabic. Some of the staff members even did not speak french. On the website it was written that the size of the number was 39 sq. metres, however our room was three times smaller. There is no kitchen, fridge, washing machine as well. These facilities were for staff use, but not for us. We found one cockroach in the garden.

    Cozy B&B, friendly staff, especially Mohamed. High WiFi quality.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The location did not feel safe, we were two women travelling on our own and felt threatened when walking in the local area. This was the first time,we had felt like this, having previously stayed in tangiers, marrakech and chefchaucon. The hotel has closed circuit tv and an electronic gate with buzzer to enter, so this added to our discomfort, knowing it was felt necessary. Our room was very near to the reception and the noise from the receptionist appearing to have very emotional arguments late was not pleasant either, however it was quiet from about 11.30 and we slept well thereafter.

    Good value accommodation which was clean and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2015

    • Couple

    We were travelling in December. This place was the coldest place I have ever had the misfortune to experience. Every location was cold. TV is a hybrid flat screen/CRT thing with poor quality picture and reception. The A/C did not work in the 1st room we had, we moved to another room and it was not much better. The beds are small. The rooms are painted in dark colours and it is gloomy in winter. Lighting in rooms dull. Only blankets on the beds, no eider/douvet, bed cold. The bathroom was a bit grubby. The wifi does not work in the rooms you sit in the cold court yard to use it. The staff were very young, disorganised, inexperienced, unhelpful and unprofessional this included allowing a high pressure sales person into the hotel to harass guests/us for town tours. Difficult to get taxi to drive from Medina to hotel.

    Leaving.

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi connection was poor.

    The room was clean. Nice garden in front of our room. Breakfast was excellent. The staffs were helpful.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was amazing

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 52

Browse Dar Aliane traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: