Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Riad Dar Balthazar

32 Derb Elhalfaoui Bab Doukkala, Medina, 40000 Marrakech, Morocco

#431 of 855 hotels in Marrakech

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 133 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 30

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Riad is beautiful, we went for the bigger room with the bath and so glad we did. Breakfast was fresh and served in lovely settings ( either the roof terrace or courtyard) Staff were friendly and helpful but also just let you do your own thing. Very peaceful. The streets leading to the Riad felt safe, it’s only a 10 minute walk to the souks and lots of closer places to eat.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had the supreme room which was absolutely beautiful; really clean and in tradition Moroccan style overlooking the internal courtyard which was equally lovely, with lots of plants and a perfect spot for breakfast. With breakfast included it was really great value for money as well as being in a perfect location for exploring - within the city walls and easy to walk through the souk and to the centre, whilst not being too far from the new part outside the walls. The lady at the Riad spoke English fluently and was very helpful, giving us a map on our first day and providing us with key places we could visit. Would definitely recommend and would go back!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was ok, but there is scope for improvement. We had to park somewhat far from the Riad, although this is probably the price you pay if you want to stay in the medina. The hosts and staff were all super kind, although not as welcoming as in other places where we have been (this is not a flaw if you do not care that much about social interaction)

    The room was small but comfortable and nice. Breakfast on the terrace was a plus. The position (in the medina) is fantastic. Really close to main roads and the harbour.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing, it was perfect!

    The staff was unbelievably helpful, always adjusting to our needs and helped us find a place to use a phone when we need to make an international call, and stayed with us during that time. She showed me how to get to places and was very very friendly. The room is to die for, the location is superb, the breakfast is great and the terrace is beautiful. 10/10!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our host was so helpfull and answered all our questions honestly - see was the only person i Marrakech that we really trusted and it gave us a good stay in the town

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps a slightly more varied breakfast and some signs leading to the riad would be nice as it is quite a labyrinth out there.

    Location was great, room very clean, staff extremely helpful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a Dar disguised as a Riad. The first night was cold so the housekeeper gave me an extra blanket the next night. The last night, the set of blankets in the room were extremely dirty full with blonde hair all over! You have to ring the bell everytime you want to enter the property which makes you feel terrible to wake up/seek attention of the attendant if you want to go out late night. A complimentary bottle of water the first night would be great.

    Jamila, the housekeeper was extremely kind and helpful. The location is not far from many attractions but there are better Riads closer to attractions. The rooms were reasonably good as were the bathrooms. Decent breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I really don't want to criticise anything, as it was such a lovely place to stay, but if I had to make one suggestion, it would be that they could perhaps vary the breakfast a little each day. Every morning we recieved a tray containing two small pancakes, two chocolate croissants, a small basket of bread and a small pot of apricot jam. A glass of orange juice and pot of tea were also supplied, although we preferred to use our own herbal teabags.

    The superior double bedroom we stayed in was lovely, with a really comfortable bed and luxurious bathroom, exactly as shown in the photographs. You could choose to have breakfast either up on the sunny roof terrace, down in the courtyard, or brought to your room. Transport was waiting for us at the airport, and it was only a short distance to the riad, which was located in the best position possible, only a short walk away from the museums, heritage sites, souks and the central square. Best of all was the incredible kindness and support from Jamila who manages the riad, and who couldn't do enough to make our stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. She helped us with everything, walking us to the local pharmacy, internet cafe and showed us the best local eateries - even helping us to learn a few phrases of Arabic. We loved our stay at Dar Batlthazar, and hope to return again soon.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Riad was beautiful, the rooms are very comfortable and clean. Very close to the Medina, only 10 min walking. The staff was kind and the breakfast in the terrace it's lovely.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The coffee with breakfast

    The Riad was very cheap and very good value. Considering the price the breakfast was simple but good. Fresh croissant and fresh bread with jam. Jamilla the lady that ran the Riad was very helpful.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was such a good thing in Marrakech. Everything was perfect in Balthazar, even though we were afraid of the local people and the environment at first day. Good breakfast, good rooms, good people just like your own house. Especially thanks to Jamila for her help about everything. And also thanks the man who was there at night. If I come Marakech again i will definitely stay here.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great!!

    Friendly and helpfull staff location, peaceful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The space in the room.

    Breakfast was good. Staff was nice.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. Facilities were clean. Felt comfortable in the riad & home cooked food was delicious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Abdelrahim the guardian. He is a helpful and nice person. I like him very much.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Peaceful byt also central, perfect situated. Bert clean. Really nice and helpful staff. A wonderful terrassen. Quiet.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location...staff...room...quietness.... breakfast...everything was great

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is just a room to spend the night, nothing special about the place

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    exciting city; everybody so friendly and helpful; architecture awesome; Islamic art phenomenal; vegetarian food highly recommended.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice and clean very nice people

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy and small bed

    Location & service

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Abd el-Ajim, very, very warm and kind. Extreme cleanless of the place. Excellet breakfast in the terrace

    Stayed in April 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It is a bit hard to find but usually there is someone around that can show you the way. Just ask.

    This was my second stay here and it did not let me down. The raid is beautiful and comfortable, the breakfast nice and the staff very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    My room was right off the courtyard so it was a bit noisey at times and lacked privacy. I would feel a bit uncomfortable opening my windows and letting the whole road look into my bedroom or bathroom.

    The staff was friendly and some could speak english and arrange for 2 outings to ride camels and go to Chez Ali for dinner. Overall it was a great Riad with perfect location to walk most anywhere.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Although was acceptable it could have had better drainage and a better spray.

    location,atmosphere,friendliness and fully adequate. With all the help you needed.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Staff originally charged me city tax for 2 people, although this may have been a mistake. They had to be reminded to replace towels and change soap/trash. The hardest bit was that the main staff member in charge in the evenings and morning did not speak a word of English, making it very hard to organize breakfast times, book transport, and ask any questions.

    Beautiful decorations, and a lovely quiet courtyard. Nice rooftop to sunbathe and linger over breakfast. In a good part of town just past the end of the souks but walkable from everywhere. Attentive staff and great facilities, with simple but tasty breakfasts.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Great value for the accommodations provided. The riad was very well-run, efficient, and clean. Breakfast on the terrace was lovely and the staff were willing to meet our every need. Highly recommended.

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Only downside was it was a bit cold the first couple days and there was one small heater. But once weather warmed up this wasn't a problem.

    Great place to stay. 15 mins walk from Jma el Fna and v friendly locals. Breakfast is fine, it keeps you going. Staff are lovely especially Mouna who had loads of tips and local info.

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    my bed was very uncomfortable and very old, toilet didn't flush properly

    I have liked the location and stuff

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast menu can be improve, they served everyday the same and poor wi-fi is good Inside the bedroom

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 30

Guests also reviewed these properties: