Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Dar Bladi

Village Talmasla, Dar Daif, 45000 Ouarzazate, Morocco

#8 of 44 hotels in Ouarzazate

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 149 B&B reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    6.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 48

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.2
    can't wait to be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    breakfast was ok but mostly bread with different spreads. could add some fruit , eggs or both.

    the terrace outside our room was outstanding and the view pretty amazing. staff was lovely and attentive. felt like home for a few days

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.8
    Highly recommend!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lighting of the room can be improved including the bathrooms, bathrooms felt very "cold" and slightly unwelcoming. Poor Wifi signal for the rooms on the rooftop

    One thing that stood out about Dar Bladi was the service of the staff! Every staff we met had positive energy and they were all very helpful! We also met the owner of the Dar and he was really helpful in giving us suggestions and maps for our onward journey! The Dar had a really homely feel to it and we loved how cosy it was!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    The staff is exceptionally kind, attentive and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is exceptionally kind, attentive and helpful. The room is spacious and beautifully decorated, the adjoining balcony has a breathtaking view of the area, and the meals were always so delicious, generous and well served. The hotel and its staff helped make my visit to Ouarzazate the highlight of my trip to Morocco.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    6.3
    A lot to improve
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This place is very difficult to find. The reception is in the other hotel, which is downstairs and you need to park there and go there firstly for check-in and check-out. Later you need to go around to find the right hotel. This is not convenient. It was quite cold when we were visiting Morocco, unfortunately in our room heating didn't work. We asked personel for help, and even electrician came, but the problem was not fix. We were not offered any additional blankets or other type of portable heating device. Personel was friendly, yes, but not very helpful. On top of that they were not speaking English... The next day full morning we didn't have electricity in our room... Once again, personel was nice, electrician came, but the problem was not fix and I needed to dry my hair and charge my phone in the lobby. Internet in the room generally doesn't work. we highlighted that, but we were told that we can go to use is in the lobby....

    Room was spacious, clean and comfortable. There is amazing view from the terrace. Food was very tasty (we had included breakfast and dinner, which was extra paid).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.2
    Nice stay and kind people
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is a bit far from main town but it was part of the adventure

    İf you like old towns and ancient buildings then don’t miss this location. If you don’t then stay away.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    9.2
    Amazing views from the roof terrace
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really; you can't buy any drinks at Dar Bladi, so make sure you bring your own stuff (you can put it in their fridge, including alcohol)

    Amazing view over Ouarzazate from the roof terrace of this riad! It is really locally located and feels very old, but the rooms are freshly/newly done with all comfort you need.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    10
    This hotel is located just few kilometers outside Ouarzazate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel is located just few kilometers outside Ouarzazate. It's in an old but very nice Kasbah. From terrace of the hotel you can enjoy a view to the Atlas mountains and the lake. Which you can reach after 20-30 minutes walk. The breakfast and dinner at the hotel was also great and we have really enjoyed it. As in February it gets cold during the night, it was good to have a heating in the room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    8.8
    Loved the view from the terrace at the top where we had...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The coffe in the morning with breakfast was not fabulous and was also a bit cold.

    Loved the view from the terrace at the top where we had breakfast. Lovely decor and authentic experience in an old Moroccan village. So unique. The swimming pool and surrounding gardens/courtyard were fantastic. Shame it was winter and too cold to make the most of it all.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    8.8
    One would not expect this nice hotel when approaching the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    One would not expect this nice hotel when approaching the building, but once inside, the rooms are tasteful, the staff exceptionally friendly and the view spectacular. Absolutely worth the stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    9.2
    Peaceful and comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel may be a bit hard to find as there are not many signs pointing the direction from the centre of Ouarzazate.

    Amazing view from the terrace of the hotel, we were the only hosts for the night and we enjoyed a quiet dinner on a warm night with sky full of stars. The meals were delicious. We were welcomed with tea and biscuits. The staff was keen to helping and providing you with information for the rest of your travels. We had a magical stay.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    9.2
    The attentive staff, ready to fulfill your wishes, excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Next to the hotel is a building site and noisy neighbors.

    The attentive staff, ready to fulfill your wishes, excellent food, perfectly equipped room, beautiful terrace.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    9.2
    Definitely recommended if you have a car!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult access, especially if you don't have a car.

    Nice decoration, clean room, bed and pillow very comfortable, very good hammam and quite cheap!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.6
    Cultural, cosy and welcoming Riad!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    -Location: is perfect for the view/contact with locals and nature, although not so easy to get to if you dont have a car. -Dar Bladi is actually inside the same complex as Dar Daif another riad which is the only one you will have street signs to, this can be a bit confusing when trying to find the place.

    We definitely felt like home here, we arrived a bit late and were immediately proposed a tisana to sleep well :) the staff was always very friendly and calm, breakfast was one of the best we had and the rooms were neat and clean, also their soap smelled amazing. The riad is beautiful, all made of clay like the old typical kasbahs in the region. Would definitely recommend. We were sorry to have only stayed one night!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    10
    On dinner we had the best couscous in Marocco.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On dinner we had the best couscous in Marocco. Very comfortable room ant beatiful terrace! The entire interior and the filling of the hotel are thought out to the smallest detail. We didn't want to leave it! The best place to relax. And to add it was a pleasure to meet the hotel owner and to have some bottles of water during our stay and on road! Thank you so much!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    8.8
    Very nice and space room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    You need to park your car on the main street and walk to the riad by a no light road. The access can be a little difficult for certain people.

    Very nice and space room. Very well decorated. The RIAD is superb.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    10
    Romantic and authentic stay to experience Morocco at 360°
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The stunning view from the terrace is a bit damaged by some constructions area's nearby.

    Wonderful stay in a very authentic and quiet environment. We loved the lovely terrace with a great view, the hospitality, the delicious breakfast and dinner, the decoration in side, the atmosphere and so much more. The perfect way to experience Morocco and everything it has to offer. Excellent if you are on the road, as this is a great stop to relax from your trip! Even though outside city centre of Ouarzazate very reachable by car.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    10
    Dar Bladi is a traditional adobe kasbah which has been...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Don't expect a view from your room: You are in a kasbah not far from the desert, where shade is very appreciated. And don't expect street lighting at night; you are not in Aspen. But we felt safe and also excited to live in a part of the world so different from mainstream America!

    Dar Bladi is a traditional adobe kasbah which has been restored recently. It has much charme, is clean and well kept. Ahmed was the best host one ever could imagine. The roof terrace offers a phantastic view on the Atlas mountains in a distance.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    9.2
    Τέλειο! Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing we didn't like a lot was the position of the hotel because it was a little bit scary but there is always someone from the hotel to acompany you from the hotel to your car and the opposite. Note that you have to knock to the "brother" hotel Dar Daif.

    Very friendly stuff, great atmosphere, room was great and also breakfast at the terrace with the great view.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    8.3
    for people who love original Dars and Riads - others might not like the dusty access
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    dusty access to the hotel, which can only be reached by a short foot walk, on the photos the Dar looks better and more spacious than it is

    original interiors, very nice staff, good breakfast and dinner, beautiful view from the roof terrace, tastefully decorated rooms

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    10
    Very authentic guesthouse with super friendly and attentive staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing we can complain about

    Very friendly staff, authentic Riad, very comfortable and warm bed!, beautiful view from the terrace! Delicious food!! Everything was perfect and we would recommend this place to everyone visiting Quarzatate or just passing there!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    9.2
    We enjoyed our stay at Dar Bladi very much!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We enjoyed our stay at Dar Bladi very much! We actually booked a small room, but because there weren't that many guests they gave us a bigger room for the same price. The staff members and the owner are extremely friendly and caring. We also had the best breakfast there and the Lady was so nice and prepared everything in a vegan version for us. By far the best service we had during our trip through Morocco! Thank you so much!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    9.2
    Great stay and excellent food and views!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were there in December and the rooms could be hetd but the place where we had diner was rather cold

    We arrived late, but they still prepared an excellent diner for us. The breakfast with view on the roof was stunning. The beds were the best ones we had on our holiday in Morocco. Very friendly staff including live music during diner.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    10
    Amazing choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    After 4 days in Marrakech, and in our way to the desert we decided to stay 3 nights in Dar Bladi - was the best choice!!! Don't stay just one night! The place is cool and you can relax at the pool of the sister Riad of Dar Bladi! The people working there is amazing, they are always smiling and ready to help you! They even wash our car! We had dinner there - really good food! They always offer tea with cookies. Last night we did hammam and massage - was our first experience and was a great choice instead doing in Marrakech! We totally recommend this secret spot! :)

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    9.2
    Nice place for a stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in Dar Bladi for obe night on our way to Boulmane. We felt very welcomed and comftable. Reception ist at Dar Daif as well as some space to park the car. The guards how looked after the cars even washed it, what we really appreciated! After some tea they brought us up to Dar Bladi where we ate a good morrocan dinner on the rooftop with a great view. Breakfast was good too.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    10
    Amazing Riad, probably the best we stayed in during our trip around Morocco
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view was amazing and the peace and tranquility of the location is hard to beat. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Very good breakfast and dinner.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.9
    The staff was very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Riad is located far away from city center in a not very nice area.

    The staff was very helpful. Terrace has an amazing view and a Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    6.7
    Should improve
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower has runing water and the floor was wet, wasnt comfortable.

    Beutifull view, good breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    9.6
    we had the most fantastic host, welcoming and friendly!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we had the most fantastic host, welcoming and friendly!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    4.6
    It was very home-like.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mouldy smell of the room and the lack of space in the hotel itself.

    It was very home-like.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    2.9
    Bad, poor quality!!!
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No water at toilet, no water at the bathroom. No stuff to help you with the luggage. No lights in the room. It was bad!!!! Poor quality!!!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    10
    Very good breakfast in the balcony
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good breakfast in the balcony Good suggestion from the host Later dinner and great dessert

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    9.2
    Ambiance
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location (route to get there) Maybe a bit too typical for us

    Ambiance Breakfast on the terrace !!!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2016

    9.2
    Nice surprise in the middle of nowhere
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Road to the property during the night...

    Staff

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    10
    Staff and View
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff and View

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    9.2
    Staff were exceptional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi did indeed come and go.

    Staff were exceptional. Room was clean and our stay there was very positive. The view from the terrace was also incredible. Most importantly there is the location: Very remote, but this is not necessarily a bad thing. In this case although I was disappointed at first, I very much enjoyed the experience at the end. Hard to find, gps sent us through some dirt tracks, but it turned out there was a much easier way to return. Public Bus comes right outside its sister property, a much posher Dar. I Agree with a previous comment, Dar Bladi will not be everyone's cup of tea, but for us it was quite perfect, for the price. Thank you.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    10
    The view from the terrace is absolutely breathtaking!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The view from the terrace is absolutely breathtaking! The staff was also wonderful, the meals were really tasty as well and the interiors were mesmerizing.

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2016

    9.2
    We spent 1 night but we wished we could stay longer!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We spent 1 night but we wished we could stay longer! The room was big and nicely decorated, in traditional Moroccan style as all the place. Great, well equipped bathroom, good quality toiletries. Loved the detail of complimentary fruit and water in the room. The service was always friendly and helpful. Wifi was unstable (but this seemed to be endemic in Morocco). The food was really great! Both dinner and breakfast were abundant and delicious. Beautiful views from the terrace over the city and the mountains, it must be lovely in warmer months. Dar Bladi is the smaller and more traditional accommodation linked to the "posher" Dar Daif in front of it, where the reception is located. Mind that both are located in a tiny village outside Ouarzazate, so you need to drive there and it's a bit difficult to reach at first (especially if you do not know that is the same property as Dar Daif, there were many signals advertising Dar Daif, but none for Dar Bladi, the name we were looking for). After checking in Dar Daif, you need to walk about 5 minutes trough the village to Dar Baldi. We found that walk very scenic and a nice addition to the experience, but I see that can be 'scary' for some, and not ideal if you have walking difficulties as the path is uneven and there is no possibility to reach the hotel door by car. We have read some complaints about dirty paths, smell of farm animals, being too isolated... Well, it is a village. Not for everyone I guess. We loved our stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2016

    9.2
    Beautifully restored riad in the middle of a sleepy kasbah...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Beautifully restored riad in the middle of a sleepy kasbah village just outside of Ouarzazate. Dar Bladi is the homely, authentic sister to the more ritzy Dar Daif (from the same owners). Very tastefully decorated. Delicious breakfast and dinner (with a surprise performance by a traditional Tashelhiyt Berber singer). Fabulous views from the two terraces. We got our welcome tea (with delicious fresh Moroccan pastry) on the terrace, and on a hot evening it would be great to dine there too. The two patios offer a lot of room for relaxing and reading. Very friendly and helpful staff. We had a great stay here. Parking, reception and luggage handling is all done at Dar Daif which is only ~50m away. Staff helpfully emails beforehand with travel tips and the question if you want to have dinner in the riad, which we highly recommend (esp. the tajine with lamb chops and quince). When we left, our car had been washed and we got a nice little gift to boot. Avoid staying in uninspired Ouarzazate and go for Dar Bladi instead.

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2015

    10
    Everything was perfect at Dar Bladi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was perfect at Dar Bladi. Is the right place to relax outside the big cities. And when you arrive at Ouarzazate, there is local bus n°2 that stops right in front of the Dar.

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    9.6
    Everything was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    -

    Everything was perfect. Riad is very nice and clean with the big terrace upstairs. From the terrace perfect view to the river and valley. Riad located in a traditional village, so you can see how local people live. Breakfast is very good. Before we left owner of the house presented to us home made jam and gave us a lot of advises about road to Marrakesh. He recommended to use beautiful side road and marked points of interest, also he gave us recommendations about Marrakesh. Highly recommend this place to all travelers.

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2015

    9.2
    It is a beautiful house renovated in the older section of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had to ask them to turn the hot water on and in the morning the hot water never got really hot. It was a minor inconvenience that I think they can fix easily.

    It is a beautiful house renovated in the older section of this suburb. It is an amazing place with perfect views of the river and valley. It was also nice and quiet and secluded! We loved it!

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    9.2
    Very pleasant and accomodating staff, clean, great view from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    A bit remote, and much lower standard than adjoining dar daif. We arrived after rain (rare event) and so mud all around, difficult moving about.

    Very pleasant and accomodating staff, clean, great view from terrasse

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    7.1
    The view from the terrace is remarkable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The "suite"... is not actually a suite. It is not on the terrace and lacks of plenty daylight. Upon our arrival, we were prompted to wear old /used one slippers...! Nice idea, though try new ones. Water on both the washstand and the shower had an issue at first as it started pouring "brown" water, (probably mud) and that was quite a disappointment. We were told that there are no rooms on the terrace, which was a lie and also the dinner area on the terrace, (which is supposed to be a... "shared terrace") was reserved, so we had to have our dinner somewhere else.

    The view from the terrace is remarkable. Make sure you reach there before sunrise to enjoy it. Otherwise, you're only left with the morning view of the Palm grove and the city. Hama, (apologies if I miss-spell his name) was very kind and with a big smile at all times. Dinner was nice, (apart from the couscous which lacked of salt) and breakfast also. At our departure we were offered as a gift a memorabilia photo - cart postal and a marmalade vase, which was a nice gesture

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2015

    8.8
    view from the terrace over the waterway is beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Its a strange suburb of ouarzazate - once you get there its quite charming staying in an abandoned kasbah, you just need to forget what you drove through

    view from the terrace over the waterway is beautiful. the staff were charming.

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2015

    9.2
    Dar bladi is a place where the ancient and authentique value...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not so easy to find but is not a problem!

    Dar bladi is a place where the ancient and authentique value of hospitality is a magic gift. Love is all around in every single action and in every little thing. Despite our late arrival timeto the hotel they however allowed us to have a wondeful dinner with a tradiciona soup and the best cous cous that i ever had! Also breackfast was great. People of dar bladi are marvellously kind and smiley. We are so thankful. We unfortunaty dmstay there for only one night, but we fell in love with everything. They also give us as a gift a delicous handmade musels marmelade.... Just thank you! Wish to return there one day!

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    9.2
    Great service from the staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Follow the signs for Dar Daif because the GPS coordinates will not get you there!

    Great service from the staff!

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    9.6
    wonderful atmosphere around us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    when you feel like at home in another place nothing can go bad

    wonderful atmosphere around us.the staff is great.

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2015

    9.6
    Everything was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    NO SUNSHIN IN THE ROOM :-(

    Everything was great. the food was amazing. The view is stunnting

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 48

Browse Dar Bladi traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: