Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Dar Es Salam

Palmeraie de Skoura, 45502 Skoura, Morocco

#10 of 19 hotels in Skoura

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 172 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 60

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.2
    Very nice people that try to accompany your special needs...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hot water sort of ran out halfway through the second shower but it wasn't that cold after that.

    Very nice people that try to accompany your special needs and very calm and beautiful surroundings. There is a lot of space to go on a walk in the palm trees. The garden of the hotel is really nice and there is a good looking pool which we sadly couldn't try because of a sandstorm.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    9.2
    beautiful riad, like one of the old kasbars, felt like i was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    beautiful riad, like one of the old kasbars, felt like i was inside a sandcastle :) very clean and new and nice this hotel put up a little heater in the room, which was very nice and cosy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    9.2
    An unforgettable experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    You will actually be staying in a renovated 200 year old kasbah with beautiful grounds and a pool. Tariq and larcen were great hosts and the bikes they lent us were perfect for getting around the paths and tracks of the Palmeraie.other people have written that the evening meal was a little more expensive which is true but the overall price is excellent value and it is a very special place with wonderful hosts

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only inconvenience was that the holder of the showerhead was broken, so we needed to hold the showerhead the whole time when taking a shower.

    Very friendly owner and staff, tries to make your stay as comfortable as it can be, without being pushy. Very nice building with a great garden and pool to relax in. Quiet location. The dinner served is also very good, eventhough a bit on the expensive side (compared to maroccan restaurants in the area).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    10
    The peace, authenticity, the owner, the staff, the food is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The peace, authenticity, the owner, the staff, the food is amazing!. The surroundings. You can use their bicycles for free to discover the palmeral. The swiming pool when its hot!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    8.8
    Welcome to this great castle in the middle of the oasis
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although we really enjoyed our stay at the Kashbah, some points could be better: The room was ok but very simple, without toiletries and hooks to hang up your stuff, and with a small bathroom. For us it was good enough though! The price of the dinner is a bit high when you compare it to other places in Morrocco. But anyway - don't let this hestitate you to choose for this place!

    The hosts of the Kashbah are super friendly and hospitable! They offer you a welcome tea, and we could even join the host and the workers for lunch, a very special experience. The host contacted us after the booking to send us a map for getting there, and to ask if we would like to have dinner at the place. The Kashbah is situated perfect! It is a bit like a castle in the oasis, with a great garden, nice swimmingpool, and they offered us to use bycicles for free, wich was perfect for us to explore the palmeria. Amazing place!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    10
    Very good hotel for a good price, good spot for tourists travelling around Morocco
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A key for the door could be an improvement, but otherwise no problems

    Very friendly staff, very good traditional morrocan breakfast and tea. Secluded area.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    10
    One of the best places we stayed in marocco and a really...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the best places we stayed in marocco and a really special experience staying in the Kasbah in the middle of the Palmerie! We were the only guests at that time but the staff was very warm hearted and did everything to feel us like home. The dinner in the evening was superbe!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    8.8
    Great place, lovely garden, amazing food and friendly people!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is dark and the shower is basic.

    Great place, lovely garden, friendly people and amazing food! Rooms are comfertable but simple. Lots of places to hang and relax in the garden though!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic Kasbah Hotel with great hosts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Right now there is a construction site on the road leading to the hotel but even without it it would be very hard to find without help. However the owner actually picked us up and guided us to the hotel.

    Great Kasbah Hotel. It is very quiet as it lies very far from the city centre. The room was very clean with a small bathroom which had a continental toilet. There was warm water as well as free WiFi. The hotel has a very large property on which the owner also grows his own plants and vegetables. The breakfast was large and very tasty. The dinner was one of the best we've had in Morocco but costs extra and is not super cheap but well worth the price.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    8.8
    Very beautiful and peaceful accommodation, really recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some insects in the room , even if in a green context It s normal.

    Beautiful and romantic kasbah surrounded by nature. Nice host. A refreshing pool also appreciated

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.6
    We loved the whole Kasbah, the garden and the pool are so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were too hard. I mentionned this to the staff and they immediately said they will try to fix this.

    We loved the whole Kasbah, the garden and the pool are so lovely! Its perfect for a relaxing day-break from a more stressful roadtrip. Initially we planned to stay for one night but then stayed for two. We wish we could have stayed even longer. It has a good location to do daytrips to Ouzazarete, Ait Benhaddou and Dades Gorge.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    10
    Wonderful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    I definitely would recommend this place to everyone who loves quiet, nature and relaxing places. The Kasbah is very beautiful, the swimming pool as well. Breakfast was a surprise. We also had dinner two nights: the dishes (typical moroccan) were all delicious! Thanks to the staff who has been always kind and always ready to help us. Nothing to say!! You Can also take the bicycle for free and visit the palmerie. Or you Can also ask for a quick tour to the berber Village in Skoura in the afternoon (riding a donkey) :) Great experience. Thank you!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    10
    Wonderful setting and great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful setting and great value for money. The staff vas very welcoming, they've offered us a mint ta by the pool on our arrival. We spent another and a morning and it was an overall relaxing and pleasant experience. We strongly recommend the place

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    9.6
    Gorgeous Kasbah
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi only worked in the main building. We arrived after dark and found it a little tricky to find, especially as the sat nav directed us down a road which was closed for repair. They sent a map via WhatsApp on the day of our stay which was a great idea though unfortunately it wasn't very detailed and was small enough to be pixellated on the screen.

    Very friendly staff, stunning buildings, gorgeous outdoor pool. Food was excellent and the manager was kind enough to show us the way to the market in the morning, even translating for us so we ended up with a huge bag of fruit for not very much! As we left we were offered a home made pack of biscuits which were very tasty. The room was very big, as was the bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    10
    I liked everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything...the hospitality was great, the rooms very nice and very clean, the food was delicious...and the pool was a nice touch for a hot day. Also the garden is beautiful, you could just sit there and observe. The place is really beautiful and I would recommend it to everyone.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    9.6
    Great stay in this Kasbah!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This was excellent experience and hotel stuff and management were great. We get also from them a trip to local berber village which was a really great experience! My daughter was really impressed in this experience and is still talking about it. I would come definately again to this Kasbah. Very good value! We stay 2 nights and could stay one night longer.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    6.7
    Beautiful garden with pool, great for relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water so shower was useless. Dinner could be cheaper.

    Beautiful garden with pool, great for relaxing. We got bicycles to ride through the palms.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    4.6
    Nice place in summer I guess, nice guys running the place...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have more details: windows didn't close properly, no toilet paper or soap, dodgy bathroom and cold room

    Nice place in summer I guess, nice guys running the place and good food served.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    9.2
    Tranquil stay in a stunning Ksar hotel with pool- excellent value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ensuite was located in a separate room in the bedroom, but as with many Moroccan hotels it had a curtain rather than a door. Maintenence is clearly on going, but a few little things could do with some attention, but everything was clean.

    We were warmly welcomed, the hotel, pool and garden are stunning. Dinner was excellent and served in the gorgeous garden. The hotel is beautiful but simple, set in a historic Ksar with in a palm grove. The location was very peaceful and tranquil. We only stayed one night but I would thoroughly recommend this hotel for couples.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.3
    A spacious, comfortable room, good service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A spacious, comfortable room, good service

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.2
    The beautiful building/grounds made you feel like you were in the heart of old Morocco
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Found breakfast a little wanting

    The simplicity, the staff--very responsive to our every need--the mix of old Morocco and modernization, the quiet!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    7.9
    The garden, the place
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower

    The garden, the place

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything! Good view on the Atlas from the roof and balcony, nice decoration, very clean and comfortable rooms. One of our best stay in Morocco!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    10
    Fantastic place, just couldn't believe my luck,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic place, just couldn't believe my luck, wonderful staff, and great price

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    6.7
    Interesting experience but probably better suited in the Summer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were a bit disappointed by Skoura as the place did not have much to offer. We felt like trapped in the palmeraie.

    Warm welcome. Nice herbal tea.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    10
    If you want to try heaven on earth, that is the place. Exceptional experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place is like heaven on earth. Fabulous setting, perfect architecture, amazing garden with pool, fantastic breakfast, kind service.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2017

    7.5
    Beautifull house that needs an upgrade
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sanitair was'nt much and looked out of date

    Beautiful setting and building

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    8.3
    We were given a choice of rooms which are greatly decorated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi was not very strong and it seems pretty cold inside

    We were given a choice of rooms which are greatly decorated. The gardens are fantastic.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    9.6
    Traditional and welcoming place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unpaved road

    Traditional and welcoming place

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    9.6
    beautiful place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    excellent place, beautiful kasba. Diner and breakfast were very tasteful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    9.6
    Pool, garden, location, owners
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool, garden, location, owners

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    9.2
    Lovely place , good value , nice & friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bikes they offered were not ready to be used when requested

    Great decoration and nice garden

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    7.1
    Shaky start, but mint tea, dates and great late evening meal...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Flies

    Shaky start, but mint tea, dates and great late evening meal made it all better!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    8.8
    It's a very good value and very charming--but it's...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    It's all about not expecting an unrealistic level of facilities when you're in the middle of Morocco paying 45 euro a night

    It's a very good value and very charming--but it's not fancy and not modern. Don't expect a luxury resort but a comfortable oasis in an oasis! Breakfast was yummy. And there was only one other couple when we were there so it felt special!

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    9.6
    Would first Like to thank Larsson for his great hosting...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Would first Like to thank Larsson for his great hosting throughout our 4 night stay at Dar es Salam. The Kasbah is set back about a 1.5km walk from skoura which gets you away from the hustle and bustle, this along with the outiside pool and grounds made our relaxing stay very enjoyble. Its the perfect place to unwind after a long travel around marocco.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2016

    9.6
    Kasbah is a little paradise inside Oasis.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bathroom needs some more maintenance, with a leaking shower cable. Water was cut at one time at night (but not for very long, maybe 2-3 hrs)

    Kasbah is a little paradise inside Oasis. Kasbah Dar Al Salam is a very comfortable one. The exterior garden is filled with flowers and birds tweeting around. Our room was covered with beautiful Berber carpets. The managers are very friendly and attentive, they picked us up, drove us to Skoura in the end and did their best to fulfill our wishes.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2016

    8.3
    Very quiet location, in the palmeraie of Skoura.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    You have to have faith in humanity, as the doors are locked from the outside. Skoura itself has not much going on.

    Very quiet location, in the palmeraie of Skoura. Beautiful renovated kasbah with nice garden and pool. Friendly staff. Good dinner!

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2016

    7.9
    This keshbah is run by two gentlemen who will do their best...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Kashbah is still finishing construction works, so you can find on the garden (or rooftop) some mass. But I am pretty sure, they will finish it soon.

    This keshbah is run by two gentlemen who will do their best to make your stay comfortable. Palmeria is amazing, we suggest to go there by horse - it was amazing experience. Than you will be more oriented to later walks. It cost (380Dh/person + 50Dh transport). On the garden of the kesbah you can find a lot of seasonal herbs and vegetables, ahich you will later find in your diner - which is really nice.

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    5.0
    Very helpful staff when we arrived, dinner was nice but as a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We didn't like the bathroom, which was very small and had no shelf or ledge to put the soap or anything. Also no hot water, and the next morning no water at all, or electricity. The staff did not seem to put out by it, as we also live in Maroc we are aware that these things happen, but it was only upstairs not anywhere else. We only stayed the one night not two as planned. Breakfast was nice, but outside,and the temperature was about 8degrees. The worst hotel of our trip, but the people were nice, as they usually are here in Maroc.

    Very helpful staff when we arrived, dinner was nice but as a previous guest commented no price or choice. Was surprised how long it had been going as it still seemed very amateurish.

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2016

    7.5
    Beautifully restored kasbah in a tranquil setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi patchy. Lighting in the room not good enough to read by. Rooms are very basic.

    Beautifully restored kasbah in a tranquil setting. Great pool area in the garden. Good Moroccon breakfast. Private car park.

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2016

    4.6
    Very warm welcome in nice kasbah some distance from the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Dinner was per moroccan standards very expensive at dh 110 and so was the charged tax at dh 30. Couldn"t feel otherwise then cheated.

    Very warm welcome in nice kasbah some distance from the center. Room was ok but darkish bathroom in one would assume traditional style and materials.

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    9.6
    Super friendly staff with great service incl pick up from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Super friendly staff with great service incl pick up from bus-stop. Beautifully decorated kasbah; very nice rooms, lovely garden with several sitting areas, views over the mountains from balcony and roof tops, nice eating areas, good meals. Great value!

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2016

    9.2
    Very friendly staff and a great location to relax and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly staff and a great location to relax and disconnect from the business of day to day life. We stopped here on the way to the Sahara from marrakesh. It was the perfect rest stop between the two.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    9.2
    A relaxed and quiet place to fully recharge your batteries.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The plumbing had issues so we didn't get hot water in the room and had to use the shower in the neighbouring vacant room. The room aesthetics were better last time round (5 years ago).

    A relaxed and quiet place to fully recharge your batteries. Organically grown vegetables and the best tasting food in Morocco. The best part however are the owner Tariq and his wife and the manager Lahcen who were very friendly and nice. Felt like staying in a home and not a hotel. Tariq and Lahcen even took us around Skoura and a neighbouring Berber village.

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2015

    9.2
    we loved the external areas: the pool, the balcony, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bathroom was very essential, and it didn't have a door, just a tent...no privacy at all!

    we loved the external areas: the pool, the balcony, the tables under the arbour where we had breakfast...everything was great!

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2015

    8.3
    To sleep in old kasbah (even if it's renovated) was a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom in not so convienient, but it's understandable.

    To sleep in old kasbah (even if it's renovated) was a great opportunity, highly recommended.

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    9.2
    Basic rooms but with their own special style, really nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing, it was a special experience as soon as the hotel is concerned but I have to mention that the village is not interesting at all

    Basic rooms but with their own special style, really nice corner bedroom with view at the garden, very friendly staff, tasty breakfast and dinner, the garden is a real paradise!

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    9.6
    The kasbah is very well renovated, tasteful furnished and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The kasbah is very well renovated, tasteful furnished and there are so many places to love - the veranda, the garden, the pool. The food is great and the staff is very friendly and caring.

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2015

    9.2
    the beautiful kasbah, the wonderful garden with pool,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    heating didn't work perfectly and the room smelled of smoke

    the beautiful kasbah, the wonderful garden with pool, peaceful surroundings, delicious breakfast, small but very nice and clean room, great view of the oasis and the Atlas.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    10
    very nice renovated old Ksar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    very nice renovated old Ksar. You can feel authenticy in this place. Nice swimming pool and relaxing place.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2016

    9.2
    Old Kasbah that was restored.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Old Kasbah that was restored. Bedroom in one of the towers. Interesting architecture. Great breakfast in the garden.

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2016

    9.6
    Very beautiful kasbah with very nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing!

    Very beautiful kasbah with very nice staff. Dinner and breakfast were great and the rooms were comfortable!

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    6.3
    Lovely kasba beautiful garden
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Facilities to basic, bedlinnen not comfortabel

    Lovely kasba beautiful garden

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    10
    beuatiful place, authentic;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    beuatiful place, authentic; friendly staff; good food

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    9.6
    Friendly and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly and helpful staff

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    8.8
    Lovely grounds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A bit hard to find. Place is a bit of a maze.

    Lovely grounds. Interesting old building.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    9.6
    The composition of the restaured Kasbah, the garden areas...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing

    The composition of the restaured Kasbah, the garden areas with the pool and a lot of quiet sitting areas

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2015

    9.2
    The hotel and gardens were beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel and gardens were beautiful. The staff were very friendly and we were well looked after

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2015

    5.4
    the price,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    don't expect too much, the rooms are very, very rustic

    the price,

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 60

Browse Dar Es Salam traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: