Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Dar Imlil

Poste Asni , Daourd Imlil, BP 94, 42150 Imlil, Morocco

#16 of 32 hotels in Imlil

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 70 B&B reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 52

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.6
    One of the best hotels in Imlil. Lovely little town with incredible walks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only problem we had was with the taxi back to Marrakech. He just dropped on the edge of the Medina without liaising with the Riad we were staying in and we ended up in the wrong end with lots of young men trying to guide us but that wasn't the hotels fault.

    The setting is beautiful. It was a quiet time of year so we had it nearly to ourselves. The family room was lovely and comfortable. The evening meal was good as was breakfast. Outdoor pool a bonus but it was too cold when we were there to use it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    9.6
    Amaze-balls!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Despite the heat of the day, the nights were very chilly and our AC was meant to be a heater. We had extra blankets though. And the shower head didn't sit in the holder without spraying the entire bathroom at full force! But these really didn't detract away from our stay and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend or stay here again!

    Very friendly staff on arrival and throughout our stay. Our room was meant to be a bog standard double but it was incredible - about the floor space of our flat at home, two balconys looking over the mountains, and beautifully decorated. We needed a GPS to find our way out of the MASSIVE bed!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    10
    Staff was very helpful and kind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was very helpful and kind. Once they realized I am intolerant to gluten they went out of their way to provide me with gluten free breakfast and dinner options. They also helped me arrange a trip to Toubkal

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.2
    Great stay in the High Atlas
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff is very welcoming and the location is excellent for exploring the High Atlas Mountains. A hike with guide and lunch in a Berber Village was arranged for us by the hotel. It was excellent. We liked this hotel better than the Kasbah Toubkal where we dined one night (and it was far less expensive).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.2
    Convenient location within Imlil, comfortable and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Convenient location within Imlil, comfortable and atmospheric accommodation with stunning views of the mountains and near to walking and horse riding trails. We had a warm welcome with a pot of mint tea and some snacks. Dinner at Dar Imlil was excellent, I wouldn't recommend eating anywhere else!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It was lovely.

    Peaceful, atmospheric, fabulous room, with underfloor heating, sofas, double balcony, fantastic views, marbled bathroom. Nice dinner, very reasonably priced.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    10
    The best place to stay in Imlil.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hospitality is superb. These people are very sweet. The food is very good! Big breakfast and traditional very good 3-course local meals are splendid. Acknowledge the fact that you are on a Maroccan mountain, and then look at the place they have created.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.9
    Imlil is rather worh visiting
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - Warm floor was promised on the site, but was available only in the suit - Breakfast could have been better - No curtain in the bathroom and no bath accessories (shower gel, shampoo) what was rather strange for the price of the room (shampoo appeared only on command)

    - Good location with a mountain view; - The stuff is rather receptive; - Large rooms

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    8.8
    Lovely stay in a very friendly valley full of amazing sights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The temperature in common areas can be a bit low in the morning and in the evening.

    Great comfy, warm and spacious room that we were able to choose ourselves, nice view, lovely traditional Morrocan food, large breakfasts, very helpful staff with taxi, guides etc. Would definitely recommend booking a couple of days of walks/treks around the Atlas with Rachid, a great local mountain guide (Rachid Aïd Talaoul)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    10
    Charming best place to stay in Imlil
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Surrounding tranquility, home away from home atmosphere at hotel, great hospitality, good breakfast and very helpful manager & staff for all aspects of trekking & excursion. The best place to stay in Imlil.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    10
    Outstanding place right in the heart of the Imlil Valley.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    A beautiful Dar situated right in the heart of the Imlil valley. We hiked every day, twice a day and we took a different trail every time. The staff was super friendly, the rooms were spaciously awesome and super charming. And, the food was outstanding. They served lunch and dinner and were very flexible to your schedule. The food was all authentic Moroccan fair. I would highly recommend this Dar.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    10
    Wonderful Berber welcome to a beautiful mountain hotel. Great base for walking or relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had the best room. The hamman was included in the price and they prepared it for us. Staff were genuinely friendly. They introduced us to a good English speaking guide.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    5.8
    Clean and generally comfortable but not very welcoming. Not great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff are basically completely uninterested in your satisfaction or comfort. They generally act like you are a bit of an inconvenience to them.

    Generally large and spacious. Quiet, if that is what you like

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    5.8
    NOT RECOMMENDED
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access to the property is by very steep & uneven stairs as are the stairs to 2nd floor with larger rooms. Food best described as very basic & not of standard promoted. We had better food in riads elsewhere in Morocco where we paid less than half the price. Bathroom Towels worn, thin & one had holes in it. Wifi also substandard. If you pay by card there is a systemic problem where you are charged twice. One amount debited from your account & the second charge is pending which takes over 2 weeks to be withdrawn. Don't know how this property rates so highly. Not recommended.

    This guesthouse is not of the standard it promotes & charges. We paid for deluxe room.Surprised at effusive reviews. Staff friendly. Room spacious, light with excellent mountain views. Also lovely terraces.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    7.1
    Good place, but too expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast isn't that good, overall everything is a bit pricey, and staff is very gentle but barely speak french or english.

    The view is great in a beautiful house.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    9.2
    Comfortable stay for family with young children
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Need to confirm shuttle from Marrakesh. Helpful to speak French.

    Excellent view. Spacious rooms. Our young children enjoyed playing in the river beside it with the local children. We followed the river up to a wonderful waterfall. So nice to have the pool during the hot summer. Dinner was delicious and plentiful but pricier than other restaurants in the area. Regardless, a very comfortable stay for our family and we would recommend it!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    7.9
    A good stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Make sure to confirm the price upon arrival - I didn't and at the end of my stay, I was asked to pay double amount (possibly just a misunderstanding of the personnel, but it was still pretty unpleasant). The food was nice and plenty, but the quality is comparable to much cheaper places - you pay for the extra amount.

    The rooms are beautifully furnished and decorated, very spacious and all have a balcony with a mountain view. The personnel is very friendly and they are always at hand, can arrange anything you ask for - you'll feel very spoilt after staying here. They grow their own mint for the tea and serve it really nicely. The location is great if you're doing the Toubkal ascent.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    10
    Perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This place is amazing. At first I wasn't sure which one of the many options to go for in Imlil. Having stayed here one night (before going trekking) I can wholeheartedly recommend this place. The staff were extremely friendly, the food was amazing (and a looot of it) and the room was huge and absolutely beautiful. The perfect stay. Thank you!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    Friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly and helpful staff. Beautiful rooms.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.8
    Authentic welcoming a real delight
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Heating rooms please

    Unseasonally cold in May but the warn stove in the main room was a delight

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    10
    Even better than you imagine!
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything! Location, views, room, staff, food..

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    8.3
    The staff members made us feel very welcome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The meals could be a little more varied.

    Very friendly and helpful staff, beautiful views, floor heating

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    10
    Excellent accommodations at a great price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would recommend this riad to another lone female traveler.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    Dar Imlil, the sister hotel to Kasbah Toubkal, is a warm and welcoming, family-friendly place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Huge, well equipped rooms. Delicious breakfasts to set you up for a day of walking. Plunge pool for after a hot walk!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    10
    Very pleasant place, great location, great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very pleasant place, great location, great breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    8.8
    Relaxing and interesting place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A book of nearby walks could be kept in the lounge.

    Relaxing place, great room- good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    10
    Great stay with amazing staff! The food was delicious and everyone was very helpful!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The supper was the best we had in morroco

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    9.6
    Wonderful Christmas Retreat!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was great, and the location is amazing!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    10
    Excellent place to base yourself I feel you're thinking about walking in the Atlas Mountains
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was excellent

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    9.2
    Fantastic place in fantastic surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, charming, very friendly and professional service. Can also recommend eating your dinner at Dar Imlil

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    10
    Fantastic place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic place!!!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    9.2
    The bed was really cosy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The food was not great Coco pops for breakfast!!! But to be fair when asked for Berber breakfast it was made available but I wouldn't recommend it. Rooms maybe just too warm for Spring

    The bed was really cosy The bath big and lots of hot hot water The location in the hills and beside a gushing stream was amazing Staff were lovely Birdsong outside my windows all day

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2016

    6.7
    Staff very friendly and helpful but spoke limited Engish.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Too pricey for what it was. Staff didnt give any clear directions/map for local walks/hikes. They offered guides for whom u had to pay. We ended up asking around and eventually did 2 walks on our own. There were ants in the room. The garden/patio was in poor condition.

    Staff very friendly and helpful but spoke limited Engish. Dinner was delicious. Location was good.

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    10
    The hospitality of the staff was second to none, nothing was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hospitality of the staff was second to none, nothing was too much trouble for them. My room was very spacious, clean and extremely comfortable....with a view to die for!! Breakfast was plentiful and something different every day. Evening meals by candlelight were lovely and cosy by the large wood burner. The meatball dish was a particular favourite ! Stargazing from the roof terrace became a nightly ritual. This really is a little gem...I can't wait to return.

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2015

    9.6
    The room (suite) was fantastic - spacious, with a seating...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We visited the place in December, and in the evenings Imlil was quite "dead" with few restaurants open and almost no people outdoor. Daytime was great, though, with excellent hiking possibilities in comfortable temperature and very inviting locals.

    The room (suite) was fantastic - spacious, with a seating area in addition to the beds, nicely decorated, floor heating, well-equipped, and with view to Toubkal. Very helpful and friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    9.6
    Views from our room, we could see the peak of toubkal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Communal area reminded me slightly of a walkers hostel, a little dark and tatty.

    Views from our room, we could see the peak of toubkal. Heated floor in the room. Dinner was plentiful and tasty

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    10
    We loved Dar Imlil.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We loved Dar Imlil. Was so nice to escape Marrakech for a bit. The staff was great and set up a great trek for us the day after we arrived and were super accommodating about everything. It was so hot so it was really nice for our kids to have a pool. I think it was the only place in Imlil with a pool.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    9.6
    Amazing service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Amazing service. Our guide for the Toubkal trek was coordinated for us, our bags were carried for us from car to room, and room to car, and when we were too sore after hiking to eat dinner in the normal area it was brought to our room. Excellent all around experience!

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    10
    Dar Imlil is owned by the English owners of Kasba du Toubkal...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We would recommend spending a day of rest before walking in the mountains as it is all at high altitude.

    Dar Imlil is owned by the English owners of Kasba du Toubkal (Richard Branson eat your heart out) The situation is amazing as is the comfort and service. A small percentage goes to educating the Berber girls from the mountain villages. Educate the women and you educate the world.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    8.8
    Our secluded top floor suite with massive bathroom and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast wasn't great. Dinner was tasty but unfort made us a little sick. :(

    Our secluded top floor suite with massive bathroom and amazing views!!!

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    10
    Views and stream side location, hospitality of the staff,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Honey bees in the tree outside, but we were relocated without fuss to a lower down room, still with views of the mountain, valley and stream.

    Views and stream side location, hospitality of the staff, dinner, log fire, hotel correspondence prior to arrival

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    8.3
    The location was great and the staff friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Wifi could have been better!

    The location was great and the staff friendly and helpful. Dar Imlil was rustic and had a lot of charm. The food was great and good value too!

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2015

    7.9
    A great little hotel- good location in the middle of town...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A great little hotel- good location in the middle of town with fantastic views of the mountain. We ate in as there were not a great choice of restaurants open and it was too cold to go out side and wander around- the food was delicious with plenty of it- all a surprise as there was no menu to order off. Would thoroughly recommend Dar Imlil as long as you are looking for genuine Marroccean hospitality and not a 5 star hotel.

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2015

    9.2
    Warm welcome, comfortable bedroom, fine position for views...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The food was indifferent and, for the price, should be improved by providing high quality Moroccan dinner and breakfast.

    Warm welcome, comfortable bedroom, fine position for views and walks, warm fire in the lounge area.

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2015

    7.9
    Setting, room, village
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Food was OK - not great but OK. Due to it being winter there was a limited number of options to eat out, but that was just the time of year.

    Setting, room, village

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2015

    10
    I am sure there are modern hotels that have all kinds of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I am sure there are modern hotels that have all kinds of technology in the rooms, that other people will say are better then this hotel, but the reality is this is a traditional Moroccan hotel in an amazing location that the staff make really special. After spending time in Marrakech and Ait Ben Haddou, this is an amazing contrast. You do not get hassled, you are treated like gods and the location takes your breath away. Our rooms were huge, had comfy and warm beds, with great views. The food is better than any other meal we ate in Morocco (we went to some 5* places). It is a set menu, but they can accommodate dietary requirements and offer this each time. They organised a car at the airport and the driver was brilliant. My Mum is not good with heights, so he drove at a good speed and proved what an amazing driver he really is (the roads are missing in places!) All in all, this is an amazing hotel and I would happily tell friends, family and complete strangers to stay here!

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2016

    9.6
    Very Helpful Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Very Helpful Staff

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2015

    9.6
    I love being guided by Rachid and then coming home to a hot...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I love being guided by Rachid and then coming home to a hot bath, tea and lovely view of Toubkhal.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    7.9
    Staff were very accommodating and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff were very accommodating and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2015

    8.8
    Quiet, relaxed place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No alcohol (Bring your own)

    Quiet, relaxed place to stay. Ideal start for exploring the High Atlas, trekking.

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2015

    9.2
    Fantastic views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff could be more outgoing and conversant.

    Fantastic views

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2015

    10
    Everythjng
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi signal is not that good from the room.

    Everythjng

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 52

Browse Dar Imlil traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: