Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Dar Malak

20 Derb Assabane, Medina, 40000 Marrakech, Morocco

#241 of 855 hotels in Marrakech

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 126 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 47

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    Delightful atmosphere!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • -Levant- Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Dar Malak is a quiet and familiar guesthouse in the heart of Marrakech. The furniture is well chosen, the bright courtyard delighted with an opulent, fresh bouquet and a lovely turtle family. Eric and Asilah are polite and considerate hosts, they help with any information and also in case of special needs. A place with a wonderful atmosphere!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.8
    Good location, excellent host!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • -Levant- Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Eric is an excellent host! He and his staff did everything to let us enjoy our stay. Good location, in walking disctance of the most highlights. Quiet at night. Good breakfast. Good shower (hot water). We highly recommend this place. Thanks Eric and staff!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.6
    Great experience. Eric is a great host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Occident Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing very significant.

    I liked a lot the feeling of being special. The treatment and care for us was impecable. In addition, the breakfast is excellent, and the constant availability of tea is very nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.9
    A very beautiful riad with excellent service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Occident Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The riad is deep inside an alley. A local pretended to be helpful to show me the way and after finding the street I said it was enough and then he insisted for payment or else he threatened to harm me. Luckily it was still near the main street where I had the chance to turn back to get people noticing me. If I followed him all the way to the front of riad, no one could have helped me. You just need to be careful and do not trust 'helpful' people on the street in Marrakech.

    Very big room. The staffs were nice and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    7.5
    It's a beautiful, atmospheric, well located riad with a...
    • Couple
    • Orient Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had told them we'd be leaving 9 o'clock and assumed that we would get breakfast some time after 8, but there was nothing prepared in the morning and the guy who makes the breakfast was surprised we asked for it. However he managed to prepare it quickly but it was rather sparse and he forgot to bring the tea we asked. I think the price they ask for the airport transfer is a bit steep as it's about double the price you pay if you just take the taxi by yourself. There was an air conditioner in the room but there was no remote control so no way to turn it on, luckily the night temperature was ok. We stayed just one night so maybe they would have brought us the remote had we asked, but there was no one to ask in the evening.

    It's a beautiful, atmospheric, well located riad with a cat, 3 turtles and friendly staff. Our room was spacious and lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    10
    Marrakech is magical, colorful and this was not our last trip!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Orient Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    ---

    the location is perfect, and service even better. Eric and his very friendly staff took great care of us with recommendations and a trip to the Atlas mountains. The rooms are clean and decorated with love. Next time I'm in Marrakech I'll def. stay at this sweet little Riad again!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.9
    Great staff, very nice owner and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Orient Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room could have been cleaner, particularly the carpets.

    Dinner was great. The terrace is really nice and one can have breakfast up there. Location is also very nice. Overall, great value for money!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    10
    Wonderful Riad in the middle of the Souks
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Malak Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I spent 4 days at Erics place Dar Malak - was the best decision for Marrakech. The riad is in the middle of the Souks, not easy to find though (like every riad), but give it a try. It´s a little oasis with turtles living there, beautiful rooms and a wonderful terrace, where you can enjoy the delicious breakfast (even in february). Really nice team, serving you tea all day. And Eric takes his time to explain you the main things about Marrakech with good advices what to see/ do and what not. He even took me for a trip to the Atlas mountains - thanks again, was amazing! Next time Marrakech I will stay in Dar Malak again for sure. Thanks Eric

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    9.6
    Unforgettable and delightful in every way.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Malak Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I wish I had stayed longer!

    I loved everything. Eric brought a special touch and class of taste as an artist and was extremely helpful and well organised. The pickup from the train station was very good despite our train being 2 hours late. I loved the fruit in our room on arrival and the free tea and small pastries. The map and instructions that Eric gave us were very helpful. The breakfast was wonderful, especially the cinnamon in the coffee. The other staff were very pleasant and helpful. They struck a perfect balance between friendliness and privacy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    9.6
    We had a great time and would come back again! Thanks for an amazing stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Occident Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit dark and the toilet in our room sang a bit when it was flushed, but due to old pipes most likely.

    The breakfast was amazing! The rooftop was perfect for breakfast and tea. The staff were all friendly and helpful giving information about what to do and not to do in Marrakech. The room and property were both beautiful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    10
    Looking forward to returning soon!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Malak Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I was not happy with. Great value.

    Very quiet setting tucked away but not far to walk into the main souk and the square. The staff were lovely and very helpful. Eric the owner was on hand and approachable a great host and Abdilah who looked after the riad when Eric was not there and also cooked was extremely helpful. Felt like a home and small enough to feel like a guest not a number.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    9.6
    Perfect for your stay in the Medina
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Orient Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Beautiful Riad in the Medina with a Personal atmosphere. So wonderful breakfast on the roof in the sun! We had the transfer from the Airport. That was perfect. But you would find it also with google Maps and a Taxi Station is nearby in 5 minutes. Eric gave us nice tips for Marrakech. Located in a good Part of the Medina, where Not the Tourist Souks are. We Linked it!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    7.5
    Very friendly and helpful owners, and fantastic atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Frequent lack of warm water in the shower

    Very friendly and helpful owners, and fantastic atmosphere. Possibility of heating the room with air con (we were staying there during the winter and nights were really cold). Very nice common room, good location (close to the center but yet quiet and calm).

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    6.3
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Occident Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Even if the riad was nice, the apartment we have rented was badly furnished. The linen was clean but no longer white, the walls of the bath were dirty. Poor value for the money.

    Good location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    10
    We felt at home at Dar Malak.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Occident Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Eric was not on location when we arrived, but he called to welcome us, and to ask about our well being. Abdallah spoilt us with tastey moroccan dishes, and he made sure we were comfortable. A great team!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    8.3
    Very good stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Malak Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our room had private bathroom, but outside our room. So we were a little bit confused at the beginning. It's pretty hard to get to the riad on your own, but it's good because there is real calm atmosphere and you can relax.

    Interior design. It was classical riad with beautiful arts on the walls. Localization is very good. Service is super nice. Breakfast were delicious.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    9.6
    Lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Orient Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We struggled to locate the property initially, especially without any internet. Asking locals was eventually successful

    We were warmly welcomed by Eric who helped us settle into marrakech with tips, maps and advice. The room was lovely and we enjoyed chilling out on the terrace. Beautiful riad and we especially liked his pet tortoises!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    9.2
    Eric is a very helpfull host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Malak Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    difficult to reach by car.

    Eric is a very helpfull host. He has good recommandations and knows the needs of a traveller. The riad is in the centet, not far away of the djem el fnaa. There's a very nice roof terrace, where u can eat and have a good mibt the. We recommend to eat in the riad (abdali!?) is a vey good cook

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    9.2
    Riad lifestyle in Medina
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Malak Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    My room's toilet and bathroom were separately but as this is renovated old Riad, thus building dictates the rooms layout.

    I loved roof terrace. Room was spacious and bed really comfortable. The Riad team makes everything to make you feel home and cozy. Dinner, special snacks to the side of beer, excursions - you name it, they do it. Really good value for money!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    10
    Best place to stay for families in Marrakech
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Occident Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our only complaint was the taxi we prepaid for through the hotel to pick us up at 2:30am for our 5am flight was almost 1/2 hour late making us experience stress we were trying to avoid. After waiting for 10 minutes for him at the hotel we started walking to find a taxi which then resulted in a bunch of taxi drivers fighting over who was going to drive us right as our taxi showed up very late. It all turned out okay but it was our one big complaint especially since we were paying extra for the service.

    After 3 weeks in Morocco we were tired of being cold and staying in beautiful riads that were dirty and filled with cigarette smoke. We chose Dar Malak for our final three nights and wished we had stayed there longer. The suite was enormous, the service above and beyond and the little touches like tea and cookies, bottled water, extra heaters, real duvets that were clean and nice toiletries were greatly appreciated. It was also nice to spend time in a different part of the medina closer to the museums and nicer restaurants.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.6
    Friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Occident Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    Perfect stay with great host, Imad and friendly riad cat,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • -Levant- Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perfect stay with great host, Imad and friendly riad cat, Tina!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    6.3
    Decoração, serviço do Eric, he was very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I have to say anything’s nog it would be the cathairs

    Decoração, serviço do Eric, he was very helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    10
    The personal touch and ofcourse the Breakfast, dinner and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Occident Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The personal touch and ofcourse the Breakfast, dinner and the good care of Abdula. We had the best food in the Riad made by him.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    9.6
    Ambiance, charme, contact, personnel adorable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • -Levant- Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Ambiance, charme, contact, personnel adorable

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    Breakfast was splendid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Occident Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was splendid. Atmosphere was very good. Host was very informative. !-day trip with Eric to Asni was 6 stars.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    10
    Nice breakfast, nice staff, nice interior, nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Occident Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice breakfast, nice staff, nice interior, nice sourroundings. Nive everything! Thank you all!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    9.2
    Nice place with beautifull details
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Orient Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noce staff and decoration

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    10
    Outstanding
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • -Levant- Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent advice and help from staff went beyond expectations. Meal in riad was amazing and made special.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    10
    totally recommend
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    hard to find and the way to go there is little bit scary

    Nice Master and Worker Good atmosphere

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    9.2
    Great arabian ambiance, lovely manager and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Malak Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Finding by yourself for first time is hard. Highly recommend

    Great arabian ambiance, lovely manager and staff. Good experience.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2016

    7.9
    House restored keeping historic details and original size of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    House restored keeping historic details and original size of rooms, therefore a lot of space, nice roof to relax and soak in the sun, breakfast good, plenty with all that is needed; nice and helpful staff and owner, if you have a request, it will be made possible - thank you Eric, Mouna and Abdillah.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    7.9
    Classic Ryad style.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Beds were a bit small if you are over 180cm.

    Classic Ryad style. Great rooftop views. Nice breakfast. Great help from staff and management as we had lost luggage on the flight over. Superb location 15 mins walk from Jemma El fna but close enough to road at north of Medina.

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2016

    10
    Dar Malak was fab - so peaceful - only sounds we woke to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Bed-sheets and pillow cases were clean but just a little 'tired' looking. Just a minor thing - everything else was perfect.

    Dar Malak was fab - so peaceful - only sounds we woke to were birds singing intermingled with the call to prayer. Great location, lovely host, excellent staff, incredible food, beautiful rooms, nice relaxed atmosphere etc. Will definitely be back. Highly recommended.

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    10
    We loved Dar Malak not only because of its superb location...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We loved Dar Malak not only because of its superb location in the midst of the Medina, but for the warm and cozy atmosphere created by Eric and his fabulous team. Not to mention the authentic and delicious cuisine that keeps up with every restaurant in town!

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    7.1
    Breakfast on the roof terrace, and the friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were not aware that the bathroom and the toilet facilities are outside the room, and you have to pass through common patio to reach those. Other rooms didn't have such a problem.

    Breakfast on the roof terrace, and the friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2015

    10
    Beautiful riad with hard-working, warm staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Beautiful riad with hard-working, warm staff. Eric went above and beyond to make our stay in the riad - and in Marrakesh - seamless. He had plenty of recommendations and even walked us to a store we never would have found on our own. We took a delicious, hearty breakfast up at the terrace in the morning, and ordered dinner one night - a four course meal! He kept our bags in the riad for us while we were on a camel tour for three days. Location is convenient and the riad itself is gorgeous. Beautifully decorated; we even had robes available. Extra blankets, plenty of hot water. Eric was a warm, helpful host. he arranged an airport transfer for us and walked us to where we needed to go. We would recommend this Riad to anyone.

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2015

    10
    Fantastic breakfasts served on the roof terrace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Fantastic breakfasts served on the roof terrace. Helpful staff Great location Prebooked Airport transfers took a lot of worry from me. Free tea and cake in the afternoons. Cookery class with lady chef. Dar Malak is not the most luxurious of Riads you will find in Marrakech but it does offer an authentic Morrocan Riad which offers real value for money. Don't hesitate ..... Just book it and be prepared to be spoilt when you arrive.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2016

    8.3
    Room was very nice and very big!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Room was very nice and very big! Terrace was nice, but furniture was rather old and used. Very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    7.5
    Great flair :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great flair :)

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2016

    10
    Staff very professional, kind and polite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Staff very professional, kind and polite. Good shower. Room big and clean. The best the breakfast in the terrace under the sun.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    9.6
    Friendly and accommodating staff including the comfort...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Friendly and accommodating staff including the comfort during our stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    10
    Excellent, very helpful staff, delicious food, nice interior.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent, very helpful staff, delicious food, nice interior.

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    7.5
    Perfect breakfast, good staff, amazing terrace
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was a bit smelly.

    Perfect breakfast, good staff, amazing terrace

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2015

    10
    Great staff and food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Great staff and food. Eric (owner) was really helpful with everything.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2015

    7.9
    the whole chaotic experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    motorcycles in the Medina

    the whole chaotic experience

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2015

    9.6
    Staff, rooms, location, breakfast, dinner (option)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    nothing we did notlike.

    Staff, rooms, location, breakfast, dinner (option)

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 47

Browse Dar Malak traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: