Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Dar Mayssane

13 Rue Faran Khechen - Bab al Alou, Rabat Medina, 10000 Rabat, Morocco

#5 of 60 hotels in Rabat

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 383 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    7.9
    Good breakfast, nice staff, beautiful common areas
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • La Confidente Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathtub/shower in the bedroom. We woke up the first night with the patio filled with smoke and we was afraid it was a fire. But it was smoke from the bakery next to. We got another room with windows facing the other way so it turned out good. No air-conditions. No payment terminal.

    Good breakfast, nice staff, beautiful common areas

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    8.8
    A lovely place, but the experience marred by logistical problems.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • La Sultane Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's not acceptable that a place advertised on an international webiste (a) is on a street unknown to taxi drivers (travellers should be told how to get there!), (b) is not marked by any sign at all, and (c) does not take credit cards. I was also not happy to order breakfast for 7:30 the first morning, only to discover that no one was around for another half an hour.

    The room was very nice, with tiles and wood, and a nice bathroom upstairs. No TV – great! A properly traditional riad. And a warm welcome.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    7.1
    Original and endearing but improvable. Not for people scared of walking in the medina.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There are some problems with the structure: We were 2 couples traveling with me being the only one speaking french and strong enough to carry bags. The staff spoke mainly french, no english, and a little Italian, which was quite inconvenient considering if I wasn't around it was difficult to communicate. Also, the staff is mainly constituted of the owner and a help, both women, which can't really carry your luggage to the rooms, even though they are professional enough to make the effort. I would suggest they take an English speaking male help to solve this small inconvenience. Also, a bigger inconvenience, in the amante room the toilet is positioned right in the middle of the room and beside the window that gives on the passage to the rooftop, meaning if you are doing your business and someone is in the courtyard they will see and hear. (not very pleasant for anyone) finally, if you are one of those people that feels unsafe walking in small streets in the medina this probably isn't the place for you. Nor any other Riad in the Medina will be.

    Dar Massayne is a very authentic Riad in the Medina. Even though many reviews indicate it's hard to find it actually isn't. Located just off the main avenue of the Medina, it's very easy to find if you have looked at the map before going. Only problem is it isn't signaled on the main street. The riad looks original and the renovation was done with minimal interventions which as an architect I quite appreciated, the bed is beautiful and spacious and the soap (which they also sell) is incredible! Breakfast on the rooftop is quite pleasant.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    10
    This riad is simply Amazing! We're just back and we already miss it! Atmophere, decorations, people
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • L'Amante Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything. We welcomed in a very friedly and impeccable way. Our room was so beautiful and nice decorated. We loved the bath and the bed was really comfortable. Just perfect!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    7.1
    The friendly atmosphere by staff and the authentic decor of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • La Belle Endormie Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were offered tea and biscuits upon arrival and on other instances. We thought it's a very welcoming gist, but in the end we found a bill for all that we had been offered.

    The friendly atmosphere by staff and the authentic decor of the house make the place so great! Would recommend the place for city tourers.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.5
    Good authentic hotel in historical downtown (medina).
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • La Confidente Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were some difficulties with finding the location of the hotel from the very beginning: there are no markers in the medina that can help you find it

    Good authentic hotel in historical downtown (medina). The design is thought out to the smallest details. The staff was great: friendly and responsive. The breakfast was weak but delicious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    Secret gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • La Confidente Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The outside location was a bit shocking for a first time visitor to Morocco but its a completely different story behind closed doors

    Fantastic location, gentle staff, spectacular roof terraces, wonderfully fluffy towels in a really comfortable bedroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    9.2
    I liked this hotel located in the heart of medina.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • La Confidente Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everithing in medina including the street where the hotel is located is under reconstruction. So there is dust and unpleasant environment everywhere. It was very difficult to carry heavy suitcases on the road without asfalt. But it is not hotel's fault. After reconstruction the medina and the hotel surropundings will be very attractive and comfortable.

    I liked this hotel located in the heart of medina. It has a lot of sitting area on its terrasses. Staff is very hospitable, they prapared early breakfast for us.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.3
    Gem of a place but no privacy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • L'Amante Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The WC was in the middle of the room with no privacy provided except for a folding screen which hides it. Every single noise can be heard throughout the entire riad. Also, the property’s neighborhood was a construction site.

    The bathtub was amazing and the room very welcoming.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    10
    We arrived late at night and had a warm welcome with a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • La Confidente Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived late at night and had a warm welcome with a Menthe Tea. we were upgraded to a bigger, beatiful room at the top of the Riad with a nice view over the roofs. Next morning we had a delicious breakfasr. We dfinitly can recommend the Dar Maysanne.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    Cute, French-style room in the heart of Rabat
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • La Confidente Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing! All super awesome!

    The room was comfortable, the staff was kind, and the breakfast was excellent. Definitely added a wonderful experience to my vacation!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful riad
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • La Confidente Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived late and struggled to find the Riad in the dark without signage - and couldn’t get the door open.

    Kabira is SUCH an asset to the Riad, she really is the most wonderful hostess. She was attentive and helpful without being intrusive and organized everything we could need, right down to extra snacks for our onward train trip. For her alone, I recommend this Riad in Rabat. But the decor was also lovely and the rooms pleasantly decorated and airy. It was central and close to everything we needed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    7.9
    Nicely designed in a central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • La Confidente Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not cheap. Breakfast very minimalist - just bread and jam!

    Very nice design, very helpful housekeeper who got up early to make me breakfast for an early flight.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    10
    The hotel is beautifully decorated and charming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • La Sultane Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is beautifully decorated and charming. The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly. The owner was kind enough to arrange for a bed for our child at the last minute and greeted us in the morning. We felt very much at home in this beautiful Dar and would love to come back again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    10
    THE ORIENTAL DREAM
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • L'Amante Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The weather in the evening

    A wonderful hotel in Rabat. We felt like sultans in paradise. The staff is excellent and the rooms are an oriental dream. I was there with my wife and we had a wonderful room with a large bathtub to relax in. Many thanks to the hotel manager for the fabulous stay. Best regards from Bavaria

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    5.8
    The riad building itself is different from all others and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Personally, I didn't enjoy the bathroom design and it was kind of inconvenient. The room itself does not have a air conditioner which we had to rely on heater during winter times. So it was a bit cold but okay.

    The riad building itself is different from all others and the structural design is quite unique with a nice terrace.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    9.6
    Very comfortable Dar in beautiful heritage house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • La Belle Endormie Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We're given a photocopied map that was unreadable.

    Heating pads in the bed was a huge bonus as rooms are chilly. Excellent breakfast. Beautiful terrace outside our room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.6
    Most beautiful building in Rabat!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • La Confidente Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    At the time of arrival there was a bit of turmoil with some other guest, so our welcoming was a bit rushed. Nothing that take away the merits of the place, thou!

    Beautiful place! Should be a tourist attraction in itselft! Pretty courtyard and amazing room! Good breakfast, comfy bed and good shower!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    9.6
    I really like decorations in my room including 1 staff I met...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • La Concubine Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I really like decorations in my room including 1 staff I met 1st night for check in. That’s night we can’t understood by language much. But I can feel something from her because of her smile. I really like her smileeeeee.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    8.8
    Romantic place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • La Confidente Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There's no lock like other hotel. And u can see someone take bath. It's kind of romantic when you two are lovers...

    It's a good location. The lobby is pretty.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    10
    Stunning little gem in the middle of the Medina!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • La Confidente Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing! Everything was perfect!

    The true Moroccan style decor is stunning! The staff and sevice are exceptional!! Property is very safe and secure!! Really enjoyed our stay at this property! Will recommend anyone to stay at this property!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    9.2
    Great place for a true Moroccan experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • La Confidente Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dar Mayssane is a beautiful and authentic Riad located in a very nice part of Medina. Interiors and rooms of the Riad are very nice and cozy. Bed are comfortable and there is no noise so we slept very well. Easy to be reached by foot from the main road (any taxi can drop you off 3 mins by foot from the Riad) and close to very nice and typical Moroccan restaurants as well as Rabat key attractions (10 mins by foot to Kasbah des Oudayas and 25 mins by foot to Hassan Tower). Breakfast in the morning is delicious (home made) and the staff is lovely (Fatna is ready to help anytime and absolutely lovely and caring). Wifi is available everywhere and there was a portable heating to warm up our room. Great value for money and great place to have a true Moroccan experience.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    9.2
    A very comfortable stay with lovely staff in a beautiful small riad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The stairs in the riad can be difficult for those who are not so mobile - check before you book if that might be an issue as some rooms are easier than others.

    A small, charming riad in the Medina. The owner and staff are exceptionally welcoming and helpful; the riad itself is beautifully furnished with very individual rooms, comfortable common areas and great views from the roof terraces. Breakfast is lovely. The riad is within easy walking distance of the souk, the kasbah, the sea, the port (for Sale) etc, and it is easy to pick up a taxi just around the corner to Chellah, Royal Palace, etc.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    Beautiful, elaborately tiled and decorated riad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • La Confidente Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of stairs to climb to room. Not a problem for us, but it could be for some. We spoke some French and were thus able to communicate, but I believe someone there spoke some English.

    Our room was gorgeous, every detail a delight to look at. Felt like a princess.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    9.6
    Excellent room, service, food and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • L'Amante Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dinner needs to be booked in advance

    It is quite big and everything is so great ! There are two heatings and even the electric blankets on bed. The staff is so nice and always get a welcome tea when arrival. Besides, the location is quite nice, it is close to the beach and the castle.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    2.5
    Total garbage !!! I didn't stay the entire period because it was dirty, the owner of hotel lied to m
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • La Sultane Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Total garbage !!! I didn't stay the entire period because it was dirty, the owner of hotel lied to me and stole my money. Never ever stays here !

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    10
    Excellent, elegant property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • La Sultane Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Communication was a small issue, but we more than managed. Parking was a bit far away, due to the nature of the medina, but it felt secure.

    Excellent, elegant property. Lovely ladies as hosts. Great roof top terrace. Wonderful breakfast. Thoughtful directions as to parking and finding the riad before we ever left home.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    10
    Fairytale romantic perfect place
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • La Sultane Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That i had to leave back home

    Everything. This riad is like entering a fairytale! Its a dream and crazy romantic, huge, nice salons to relax in front op fire with tea and the house cat. the ladies (halima and fatna) are a delight.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    9.6
    The best riad to stay in Rabat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • L'Amante Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was perfect!

    Very beautiful and calm riad, with confortable rooms, nice breakfast and wonderful people. It is like a travel on time to the historic Rabat.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.3
    Needs A/C to be Complete
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • La Concubine Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No sound proofing and no air conditioning. You are forced to open the windows so all the sounds and smells from the main hall come to you

    The staff were extremely helpful and nice. The room was clean and elegant

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    Wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • La Confidente Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room (and the riad in general) was extremely clean and cleverly decorated. The riad also has a nice terrace and beautiful courtyard. The owners gave us a lot of suggestions regarding local attractions and food. They even offered a detailed hand-drawn map with popular attractions and a suggested route for getting back to the Riad. I couldn't have asked for a better stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    8.3
    Great I will return again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • La Concubine Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was pleased

    It was a great stay relaxing place suitable for people looking for peace and love. Staff are nice specially Lakbira she was so lovely and helpful I would recommend this nice location to you and your lover.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    9.2
    Breezy, laid back Riad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • La Confidente Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Each room could use more security. You need to be able to speak French in order to communicate with the main two ladies who attend to your needs.

    Riad is perfectly situated between old and new town, without being noisy or busy. Its breezy and staff provides a fan if muggy. Terrace is spacious and sunny, providing a view over the medina! Our room was perfect with a bathtub inside and a separate room for the toilet---which is a nice perk! Overall, the Riad was quiet and delightfully decorated. The breakfast was above average with fruit, warm crepes, and tasty coffee. Kibirra was able to orient us to a map to find restaurants, the medina, the kasbah, etc---love this!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    10
    An enchanting stay in the beautiful & magical Dar Mayssane in Rabat - good location & kind staff.
    • Family with young children
    • L'Amante Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There was nothing that could have been improved - it was all perfect. Truly magical.

    Dar Mayssane is a traditional Moroccan home, with the rooms centered around a courtyard opening up to the sky and with rooftop terraces. It is located within the medina, but a short walk from a street with frequent taxis, and a short walk to the Kasbah. The driver from the airport parked at the edge of the medina and carried our suitcases to the riad so access was easy. The home has exquisite appointments with intricate tiling on the walls and floors, with heavy carved wooden doors, with delicate plaster designs and beautifully decorated with beautiful paintings and comfortable & stylish furniture. Every room was peaceful and inspiring. The owner and staff were exceptional - they made us feel welcomed and valued. I was traveling with my daughter and we both felt very safe in the riad and were safe walking to shops and restaurants in the medina. Most transactions are conducted in cash, and we felt safe withdrawing cash from the ATM located about 2 blocks away. There was a row of neighborhood eateries about two blocks away & they had traditional inexpensive Moroccan dishes which were excellent (some better than pricier restaurants) - we ate at little plastic tables set up in the alley with a view of the passing parade of locals and occasional tourist - fascinating. This particular area was less touristy than we had feared & felt more traditional. The staff arranged airport transfer, and a guide for our first day in Rabat which was very helpful in getting oriented & easy to arrange despite language barriers -my daughter speaks a very little French, but communication was not an issue. Breakfasts were included & very good and served in the ground floor courtyard. We drifted to sleep to the sound of voices and singing in the medina and the smell of incense in the riad - we woke to the call to prayer at sunrise.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    6.3
    Won't Be Coming Back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • La Confidente Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Riad is very old and doesn't look renovated at all. Rooms have no air conditining, but the worst of all is how the showers are in the rooms. The toilets are separated but the shower is just beside the beds, so this is very uncomfortable and weird! The photos are very deceiving, the Riad in person is very different from what you see in the pictures. In my opinion this Riad is overpriced, it's old, dinner price at €25.00 is super expensive. Even compared to other better and more expensive Riads in Rabat. Won't book in here again.

    Perfect location and good breakfast and nice staff. Rooms are not big, but somehow feel spacious and beds are comfortable. Isabelle the owner is nice and writes to give information and asking about things like if you speak French, etc.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful riad in Rabat's medina, close to main attractions with charming decoration
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • La Sultane Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can get very noisy at 5am with the neighboring mosque, but it's part of the experience in a muslim country I guess... Not much facilities in the Riad, and staff although polite was a bit clueless about quite a few things (how to get cash, where to buy recharge for telephone card, etc...)

    Beautiful Riad in Rabat Medina, easily accessible from the street, nicely decorated, polite staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    10
    STAY HERE
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • La Sultane Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little hard to find! Had to pay a local to show me the way. It is IN the medina so a taxi cannot take you all of the way there. But if you have a map, you are fine.

    Amazing all around. Not one complaint

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful Place for Couples Travelling
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • La Confidente Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We already read about the open bathing facility that was inside the room. It would be a bit uncomfortable for non-partner travelers. Also, the Riad is a few minutes walk from the taxi, parking won't be possible if you have your own/rented car.

    We were there during our honeymoon trip in Morocco. The place is beautiful, my wife loved it. However, the rooms do not have air conditioner, so beware if you are traveling in summer. The location is in the middle of Old Medina area of Rabat, and few minutes walk from the Marina. We loved to ambiance inside the Riad and morning at the rooftop. All in all, we loved the place.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    10
    Lovely stay in a beautiful setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • La Concubine Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very difficult to find; we had been given instructions on how to reach the property but unfortunately due to construction on the main street the road names were obscured. We got there eventually!

    Staff were excellent, the accomodation was beautifully kept and decorated with large, comfty rooms and well designed outside areas. Breakfast was simple but delicious!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    9.2
    Lovely Riad in Rabat
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • La Confidente Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not easy to park close to the location, better double check if the parking place it's allowed. We had almost the car took away from the police.

    Lovely Riad in Rabat, centrally and with a fabulous terrace. The staff is friendly and always available. The breakfast it's fresh and fantastic.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    10
    Great traditional and Quiet Riad in Medina
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • La Sultane Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    As typical for riads in Medinas, Not so easy to find especially without gps on mobile phone.

    Breakfast was good But Selection Limited. Great room with Bath tub on extra floor.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    8.8
    Good stay for one night not more
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was so cold and bed was cold too. They put warmer blanket or pad under the mattres but it was not enough and it turn on and off during night. Staff can not speak English and can't communicate with them. We wanted to go to Casablanca and ask them to call to taxi, they called to small taxi for 5 person with 5 loggage. Break fast had no variety, butter and jam, one fresh juice, one small chees, little bread.

    Hotel location was in old medina, it was convenient for going to historical place but medina is old part and it's not clean. Hotel staff was polite and kind specially Kabira, she was smiling all the time and help us for the luggage. Very clean and spacious room.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    9.6
    The Beds were very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    none

    The Beds were very good. The electric blankets, and heaters in the rooms make it comfortable even in The winter. The staff were really helpful and kInd and nothing was too much trouble, and the owner Isabelle is a lovely lady. The Riad is quiet despite some nearby thoroughfare improvement works. Rabat is an easy going place, people just doing their own thing, but happy to help.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    8.3
    The riad and roof terrace are gorgeous, and the location is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • L'Amante Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet and bathtub in our room (l'amante) were freestanding -- not separated with a door, which was uncomfortable for us. Also the front door to the riad was locked but no lock for the individual room doors -- perhaps a safe in the room for passports & valuables would feel more secure.

    The riad and roof terrace are gorgeous, and the location is ideal. Staff are very friendly.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    8.8
    A nice place to stay in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • L'Amante Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water for the bathtub was not hot enough. They only take cash, but at our check-out they didn't have change and one of the staff members Who didn't speak english partially returned our change as much as she could with her own money.

    Nice architecture and a very nice view from the top. Very comfortable bed. Warm and welcoming fireplace in the room next to the lobby.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    9.6
    Really an enjoyment
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • La Concubine Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    cannot pay by credit card it's cold in the room at night because the room is quite big there is no 24-hour hot water

    Excellent breakfast and very lovely cat Wonderful atmosphere, and very elegant details of decoration inside the busy old medina, but really quiet

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    10
    A warm welcome, a charming experience!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • L'Amante Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Mattresses are very firm (but I like them this way).

    Located right next to the medina (market) and a quick walk to the Kasbah of the Udaias and the marina, Dar Mayssane is in an ideal location. You will be in the heart of the city, easily within reach of an authentic Moroccan experience-- yet the riad itself is quiet and secure. The staff is warm and welcoming, and keep the place very tidy and clean. We arrived before our rooms were ready (our fault, not the riad's), but we were welcomed with a lovely pot of mint tea and some tasty cookies, served to us next to the fireplace (it was a rainy, cool day), all in the company of the resident feline. Rooms are luxurious, without being over-the-top-- you will feel as if you are in a relative's eclectic home, with many traditional elements. Breakfast is a treat, with fresh orange juice, strong coffee, fresh fruit, yogurt, bread, and crepes (this varies from day to day). Dinner, should you choose to have it, is as delicious as you would find at any fine, local restaurant. Couscous and tagine were perfect, desserts were lovely. Do note, however, that you need to plan ahead-- if you want dinner at Dar Mayssane, you need to put in a request the day before (i.e. at least 24 hours). However, it is well worth it! I also can't stress enough the quality, warmth, and kindness of the staff. I will definitely stay here again, during my next visit to Rabat!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2016

    6.7
    A unique environment but some issues to consider.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • L'Amante Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and a quaint unique environment in an old Riad in a very narrow lane in Old Town. Things to know: they don't take credit cards, taxis can't get to the Road (about a block away), no television, some rooms have no shower, no elevator and narrow steep stairs.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    9.6
    Princess in a Palace
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • La Belle Endormie Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The mattress in the room needs some attention. The room was very cold at night, as well. As with all old houses in Morocco, there are a lot of steep, narrow stairs. I don't have the best knees but it's well worth the slight discomfort for the beautiful rewards... There was no one to help with the luggage and it wasn't possible to park just outside as this is in the medina. When my driver asked for help, the response was less than kind.

    This was my first stop on a month-long adventure in Morocco. I wanted all my rooms to make me feel like a Moroccan Princess and this one didn't disappoint. t was greeted warmly and shown to my room, the Belle Endormie, which was every bit as beautiful as I'd imagined it would be, with a private balcony and gorgeous view. The details in this house are breathtaking. I was also introduced to the head of historical renovation from the neighboring town, Sale, and he took me on a tour that also took my breath away -- leading me through secret gateways using keys that only he had access to... It was something I'll always remember. Don't hesitate -- stay here!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    9.6
    very nice and central Riad in Rabat
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • La Confidente Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast, although impressively served, was nothing special. I would expect something better in this Riad, including a salty taste too. The indoor yard on the ground floor needs a small renovation (the umbrella does not fit at all) and it will become as great as the rest of the Riad. Fatna spoke French and some Italian. However, she was so nice that the communication was no problem after all.

    The Riad was great (of course, we paid rather a lot, 80 euro per day without taxes, but it is generally more expensive in Rabat). Especially the rooms were fantastic, very clean, very taken care of, very tastefully decorated. Even the bed and the linen gave us a feeling of luxury we had rather missed in Morocco. There was a sitting place, dining place and a terrace, all very nice. Fatna was the woman who took care of everything from morning to night and she did a fantastic job, very assisting with everything we needed. I hope she is being recognized as a valuable member of the personnel, she deserves that. The location was very good, close to the main road but in the medina too. Good communication in English through e-mails.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    7.5
    lovely riad - happy to recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • La Confidente Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    single beds were very very small requested a twin room and got a double - they changed the bed but the room was a bit on the small side

    Beautful Riad located within the Media

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    9.6
    The personal is the best!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • La Sultane Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    The personal is the best! Really did everything to us to feel at home. Breakfast was also very good, fresh orange juice and great coffee.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    8.3
    The riad was easy to find and very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • L'Amante Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The riad was easy to find and very nice. The staff was friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    10
    Amazing ~
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • La Concubine Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean~& quite in the night ~

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.6
    We enjoyed an very clean comfortable and style room, fresh...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • La Concubine Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We enjoyed an very clean comfortable and style room, fresh breakfast in terrace. Service is also very good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.2
    The house is amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • La Confidente Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room doesn't have air conditioning. It was very hot.

    The house is amazing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    10
    Amazing ! Best place we have been in Morroco
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • La Confidente Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was amazing, nice and always here to help. Thanks a lot to them !

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    10
    Great and beautiful place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • La Confidente Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great and beautiful place! Don’t skip the rooftop

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    9.2
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • La Confidente Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is not possible to pay with credit Card.

    It is a very nice riad.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    10
    Best Riad in Rabat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • La Confidente Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and nice Riad with french touch. Great location and staff. Breakfast was superb and delicious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    8.8
    Staffs were great and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staffs were great and friendly. Love the room. Relaxing experience.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    8.3
    It s a pleadure
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • L'Amante Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet in the room

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    A lovely stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • La Confidente Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    A lovely stay. Great place and great staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    9.6
    Excellent stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • La Belle Endormie Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff are very friendly and welcoming. Family was treated very special and glad we stayed at Dar Mayssane.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    9.2
    The Moroccan flavor, the decorations, the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • La Sultane Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is not warmth-isolated and might be very chilly in Feb

    The Moroccan flavor, the decorations, the location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    5.0
    Exotical place with (a lot of) noise
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • La Sultane Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No english, only french there. Noise surround.

    A lot of noise... day and night. Exotical

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    9.2
    Great location, nice hostess!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • La Confidente Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, nice hostess!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • La Confidente Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything! The best riad we had during our 10-days trip all over Morocco.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    9.6
    Chic
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • L'Amante Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hot water only enough to fill half of Bathtub

    Very chic

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    10
    The hotel was absolutely great!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • La Sultane Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was absolutely great! Even better than I thought it would be!! Amazing breakfast and that amazing arabic style room!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    10
    Beautiful old house in the medina.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • La Sultane Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Continental breakfast with no extras. Could not request an egg.

    Exquisite old house with so much artistic character. The location was great also.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    10
    Like this place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Decoration, room, breakfast, welcome drink and sweets

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    7.1
    Riad a City od Street Art..
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • La Sultane Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    parking and you have to use a guide to find the Riad..very poor people :(

    Location, Metro and Shouk in the near..

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    10
    Would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot of stairs

    excellent service from staff. Very authentic and cozy.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    9.2
    Location, view from the rooftop, lobby and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner has to be ordered in advance

    Location, view from the rooftop, lobby and breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Dar Mayssane traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: