Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Dar Nafoura-Mogador

30, Rue Ibn Khaldoun, 44000 Essaouira, Morocco

#53 of 88 hotels in Essaouira

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 117 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 26

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms were cold

    The staff is very friendly and helped us a lot to solve the problem with transfer. The breakfast was perfect and varied. The riad is authentic

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff, always there when you Need them. You can always ask for a tea or whatever you like, you will have it. Breakfast was excellent. Rooms are very cute and moroccan style.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Loubna Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very Good breakfast, Nice interior and rooms. Friendly and helpfull personnel, inside the city walls, 5 min walk from the port, beach and Medina area.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    quite noisy inside, you can hear everyone going to topilet, etc. Another issue is applicable not to the riad itself but to Booking.com. The riad is shown in a wrong place on portals map. We were looking for a accomoation outside Medina as we were comming on a car. It was rather a shock to find out that we'll have to park the car "somwhere" and then with all the luggage woner in Medina to find the place.

    Great friendly staff. Clean rooms, good breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Hasna Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location very near Bab Marrakesh ( the Marrakesh gate) and near the Supratours bus station. Very friendly and helpful staff who went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. They opened breakfast early on our last morning so we could make our bus. Very clean with a lovely roof terrace. We went in early October and unfortunately the weather was cold and damp but our room was warm and shower hot. Thank you

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Zahira Junior Suite - 5 People
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was in a smelly part of the medina which was unpleasant taking a family with a little through each time we had to go out also they had a pet dog staying within the riad most days and as we do like pets afew family members have allergies and we noticed dog hairs in and around certain communal areas ..

    Breakfast on the roof terrace in the morning and the fast shower

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Maryama Suite - 4 People
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Riad was absolutely disgusting, no cleaning staff, no toilet paper or soap, dirty bed sheets and broken bed. Mohamed in the riad tried its best to make us comfortable (no comment on the unwelcoming manager).

    The rooftop and the location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Habiba Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing special.

    This Riad has scharm, it´s cosy and clean. Host was very friandly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Habiba Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, cozy, quiet, nice riad, traditional and good breakfast. Terrace was full on sunny days, plants and cactus everywhere, very colourful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Zahira Junior Suite - 5 People
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to say.

    Warm and friendly atmosphere. Willing to help you out. Fantastic breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Nejma Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wanted to stay forever

    Excellent. Fab food and great service

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Zahira Junior Suite - 5 People
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast at the terrase with seagulls helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Nejma Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    minor pints: one light-bulb blown, & no plug in basin

    ethnic look with many objets d'art breakfast on roof with town vista central to medina

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Samira Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very friendly host. Medina is just a couple of minutes walk from the Riad.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Loubna Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Good location; off-center but still within a short walking distance to the beach, public transport, and sights. Super-friendly staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2015

    • Family with young children

    The Riad we stayed in was very comfortable, very clean and we really enjoyed our stay a lot. The staff were very friendly and myself, my wife and our small children all felt very at home. It was a great choice, especially for young families and the kitchen was very flexible with regards to our childrens food etc, so i would gladly reccomend this Riad to anyone visiting the area. Many thanks !

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The roof terrace was nice but was not as beautiful as the rest of the Riad. I'm sure that in time the new management will look into this and bring a consistency in the decor.

    I took a risk when I booked this Riad in October '14 due to the rating.The hotel changed management by the time I stayed in July 15. The wonderful spanish lady who now manages the Riad has brought a beautiful ambience to the Riad that made our stay memorable. The staff were great in particular Raza who was exceptional. She made fresh jam and pancakes everyday which were tasty and she went out of her way to ensure that my demanding children got a breakfast that they were willing to eat. Looking at the map you may think the location is not great. Personally I thought it was perfect. We would walk through the market stalls towards the beach and did tire of the scene.

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    There is a cacophony of noise, people, mules and cars as you pull into a parking spot outside of the medina walls of Essaouira. Is this what it is like all the time because right now its overwhelming (you learn the next morning you’ve arrived during one of Essaouira’s music festivals) and you have no idea how or even whether you can get your car and its five occupants (your family of four and a friend) and their luggage even close to the Riad. Well, it turns out you can’t! After ringing up Riad Dar Nafoura-Mogador and reaching the night clerk (its late Saturday afternoon/evening) who speaks not a lick of English it takes a little bit of time with the limited French you have to work with to understand you need to find one of the local person-powered wagons, tell him where you need to get to and just follow. We look up and down the street and see a couple of carts with their owner lounging inside parked near the medina gates. We pick one, mention Riad Dar Nafoura-Mogador and, of course, he immediately understands what we need. He follows us back to the car, he insists we load all the bags and backpacks into the pull-cart and off we go. Talk about the adventures of travel…he leads us through those same medina gates, takes a quick left, then about 100 paces and a right, then a left and a quick right and then I’ve lost all sense of where we are. The pathways, all way too narrow for a car but otherwise congested with shoppers, bicycles and the bane of every medina in Morocco, the motorcycle, keep getting more and more narrow. We’re all looking at each other like, where is this going to end. A seemingly longer but probably really less than a 10 minute walk from where we parked the car and the porter stops and walks down a dead-end alley no wider than my outstretched arms. At end he faces left and raps on heavy wooden door… Riad Dar Nafoura-Mogador! As with every Riad we stayed at in Morocco (I stick with booking.com ratings of 7.

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    WIFI on third floor intermittent on many occasions. This is in process of being fixed. On first floor community lounge area, outside kitchen, worked Okay. Also met other guests staying in the Riad there, so this was a plus.

    New owner Gemma and all her staff absolute pleasure to meet. Stylish ongoing redecoration in progress. Completely unobtrusive: in no way disturbs the atmosphere or peace of the Riad. Good wholesome breakfast, though, maybe, could be available earlier than 08.30 for early risers. Note the Riad is not easy to find. Need to get a porter/guide to get there first time from parking place or wherever. Overall this is a very pleasurable authentic Riad experience right inside the Medina. Roof terrace adds perfect touch.

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing, except ask for some extra heat when you come during winter.

    February 2015. A very nice place right in the middle of the medina and close to everything.A very lovely landlady takes care of you and Mohammed made the Tea ,which is on the house , when we came home. We could enjoy it in our room or at the fire place. Horst Gernhardt, Karlskoga, Sweden.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It was fully-booked and we couldn't stay longer.

    The French owners and the staff were very kind and friendly. The suite was nice and beautiful sightseeing from the terrace

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Spare blankets smelly.

    Quietness and polite staff.

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Slightly better attention to cleanliness.

    Extremely comfy beds. Charming building. Breakfast varied each day.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    La gentilezza dell personale

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    L'équipe et l'accueil étaient irréprochables. La qualité de service et la disponibilité, enfin tout était parfait, Merci à tout l'équipe.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly welcome and efficient staff. Lovely breakfast - different every day.

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 26

Guests also reviewed these properties: