Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Dar Touyir

132 Derb Dekkak Bab Doukala, Medina, 40000 Marrakech, Morocco

#150 of 855 hotels in Marrakech

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 158 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 62

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room is small and without too much natural light. We were not provided with a key so we always needed to knock the door when we came back at night. Once we had to wait for a while as nobody was in. The breakfast was a bit disappointing.

    Thumb up to Mohammad - a delightful young man who came to pick us up when we were dropped off by our taxi on the street nearby. He also brought us tea and cookies while we were waiting to be checked in. The courtyard and porches are beautiful, and you can hear the birds chirping at 5 am in the morning (I personally like it but some people may find it a bit annoying).

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. Excellent location..right in the Medina. Rooms were comfy. Breakfast served each morning was great. Nice little terrace at the top. Overall a great experience!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A gorgeous Riad, and a real escape from the busy streets. Extremely homely with brilliant staff, who were always ready to help with any questions or requests. The breakfast was perfect on the lovely roof terrace. My friends and I was really happy we stayed at Dar Touyir.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very pleasant stay in the heart of the medina. Really cosy rooms with view in an authentic riad style patio. Morrocan must mint tea will welcome you. Breakfast is served in the terrace and you will also have the chance to taste traditional morrocan dinner.The highlight of dar touyir is the very friendly and really really helpful people working there.Totally recommended for a relaxed stay in Marrakesh.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very good location, 10 minutes form Djemaa el Fna. Safe neighborhood, with small shops, restaurants next to that. Riad is beautiful, clean and very quiet. Amazing terrace with very nice breakfasts served there. Staff if very helpful and flexible. We had amazing stay with our 3 years old daughter there.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too small, everything can be heard from the bathroom (and the rest of the riad) and there’s very poor ventilation of both the room and the bathroom. Also, both were very dark (very poor daylight) although we had a room on the upper floor.

    The location is perfect and the breakfast amazing (but we were bringing fresh fruits every day as none were provided).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This riad was very well located and the rooms were really clean. The staff was very helpful and the breakfast on the rooftop was a good way to start the day. A calm place in the middle of the natural Marrakech chaos.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Entryway to the Riad was across from a dumpster and building under construction, which detracted from its charm. However, the actual riad was nice.

    Staff were EXCELLENT - attentive, friendly, available. Gave us breakfast even when we slept in late and when we woke up for a 6 am flight. Always smiling. Room was basic but cute. Breakfast was homey.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower didn't drain so well. It's a tiny thing. The only criticism we had of our stay.

    The people at Dar Touyir are fantastic. Great hospitality day and night. We really liked the area, and it's proximity to some tourist sites, but still in a neighborhood with a bustling local daily life. The house is cosy and restful. We had dinner here one night and is was very good too. We hope to return!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Anything

    A great place just 5 minutes from Jamaa el Fna. The neighborhood is very quiet and characteristic. Wonderful breakfast with a local food - the owner of the Riad have a farm - and a very good coffee. The staff is very kind and available to satisfy your every desire. The room and the bathroom are very big and very clean. In the morning you wake up with the sound of birds. Fantastic dinner, to try.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nejoua and Mustafa were the best thing of the riad along with all the staff. Also I felt like home, it is small and it is totally marrocean so you felt as you were living in a real morrocean home, the experiencie was lovely! I also would like to enhance the rooftop, the design of the hotel and all the details that it has! I would definetley reccomend the hotel. The breakfast was fantastic with orange juice and different breads as well as jams and other pastries :) people in the surroundings are fantastic too, very helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A home from home. Breakfast and Dinner on the sun soaked roof terrace . Staff friendly and nothing too much trouble. All facilities excellent and information on the surrounding area.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasps at breakfast would suggest food covers or dealing with the wasps nest.

    Great welcome, clean, beautiful Riad with the most helpful and hospitable staff. I have very high standards and would highly recommend this property.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a traditional Riad with a lovely roof terrace where we had breakfast. The staff were particularly helpful and friendly. The location was excellent and we were able to walk to all the main sights. They arranged our airport transfers and a trip to the Atlas Mountains including a meal at an eco-farm they also ran.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    How over and beyond the staff went to make me feel comfortable on my arrival and during my stay. They were a GREAT resource for planning out my day if I had any questions. A very helpful and friendly staff!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very good breakfast at a beautifull terrace the staff is very friendly and helpfull we had dinner too, was very good, you can even drink a glass of wine

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hair conditioner, but I prepared. The owner suggested me a massage place, wasn't good at all.

    I stayed at marrakech for 2 nights. First night I had dinner at Dar Touyir, which was so delicious, homemade and prepared by local Moroccan, I had tried Masion MK for second night and some street food too, which was a bit dissapointed, MK charged 650mad each, wished that I continue my second dinner at dar touyir, was only 15euros per person as well!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is very nice. Breakfast is served on a lovely terrace. The staff is really nice and available. The friend I went with has many allergies, this she has to observe a strict food regime. The staff was very understanding and prepared her ad hoc breakfast. Absolutely recommended!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff, helped you with anything even with booking the (cheapest) desert tour. They gave us a better experience in Marrakech because of their help and enthousiasm. They speak a lot of different languages, which is a big plus. Also had the chance to meet the owners, also very kind and helpful. Interior very well picked in a nice located and surprising riad (better in real life than on the pictures I would say). Breakfast in the morning sun was well organised by staff, also the cleaning was very neat. It was a great first Marrakech experience.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely love this riad! Most helpful people and the authenticity of an old familyhouse was more than we could ever expect! Definitely worth the visit!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is a little difficult to find in the first place (in a small street). We were glad that we used the taxi service offered by the hotel. The driver took us to the door of the hotel.

    The place is very cozy and clean! Old Morocco style with beautiful decoration. We love the courtyard and the roof terrace (where we had breakfast). The location is good, 10-15 mins to the main square, easy to get around. The staff is super friendly. We were offered Moroccan mint tea and sweats when we checked in (feeling being welcomed). We were also given very good tips about exploring the city and the restaurants.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything! I had an excellent stay! Good price, slept well, ate lunch and dinner=delicious cooking. The breakfast every morning was a good start of the day. Robert and his wonderful staff made my visit in this little Dar to the best! Very good service, thank you once again!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beautiful Dar Touyir is in an excellent location-very easy walking distance from both the main square and Gueliz. The Riad itself is very pretty with a lovely roof terrace where we were served a big breakfast every morning. The room was very comfortable and we quickly felt at home. The staff were extremely helpful and available at all times of the day. We were very sad to leave and would love to go back soon! Thank you Dar Touyir!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really really nice staff, offered great advice for our tour in the medina. Beautiful and quiet yard, with a walkable distance to most recommended places.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Everything, a quiet little Dar, with wonderful host Nejoua ready and willing to help with anything at all. Osama, the night manager was also extremely helpful, and made a mean traditional Moroccan breakfast in the early more before my flight out. My stay was far too short. The Dar is in a good area within walking distance of most old city sights. They will arrange meals if you ask in advance. If you would like alcohol, you will need to ask in advance, preferably when booking, as they are a good Muslim family and generally don't keep alcohol on the premises, though are happy to arrange for it to be there for you. I would definitely recommend using their driver to pick you up from the airport (15 Euros), as the Dar is a little hard to find otherwise. Though all rooms are non-smoking, there is a balcony running around the front of the rooms where one can sit and smoke away.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    location is accesible and host is best ever I have met. He explained city attractions with map and useful advise too And If you need anything he will solve it Room is classic riad and clean too

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Airport-Shuttle is a little bit pricy (15€ one way)

    Staff is very friendly and helpful, Dinner was delicous but pricy compared to dining at the markets, very close to the souks and all the sights! Staying in this Riad gives you the perfect oriental feeling!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No airconditioning and room was in need of refurbishment.

    Good location with walking distance to Jemaa el Fna square, friendly staff en nice breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place needs a coat of paint and to be cleaned better

    We got what we asked for

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very good breakfast, hotel staff very nice and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, quiet and comfortable. The staff were superb.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathtub needs to be mended.

    2 mins outside the mosque where most excursion company picks you up.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect place with wonderful decor and relaxed atmosphere.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It si always a big pleasure to stay at this hotel. The staff is great!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The staff was excellent. They did their best to meet our needs.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    No kettle in the room to boil water. Weak or sometimes no wifi signal.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    a bit noisy, we could hear other guests in the morning... woke us up.

    nice staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely people

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The alley where the riad is located initially seemed really scary

    Staff was very nice and helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great hospitality, welcoming staff that looked after us very well and always willing to help.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staffs are the most kindesr people I have ever met

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Very nice people! I felt very comfortable and I definitely recommend a stay at this Riad.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly helpful

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the staff there is really nice and helpful!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was very helpful! Happy to help.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    very friendly and helpful staff, wonderful courtyard and roof terrace where the simple but delicious breakfast is served. The location is great too.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Really good stay. Had the room on terrace which served our needs perfectly. Everything in the medina in easy walking distance.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 13 nights

    Breakfast on the terrace - top of the very home feeling Riad is an additional value among the flowers and unique birds.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a problem to find it.

    Nice and peaceful riad with wonderful terrace and great breakfasts. Nice to stay here.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location is great but the riad is difficult to find at first time. I recommend the airport transportation to be sure, especially if you arrive at night.

    The staff was extremely friendly.. The helped us to organise our trip and they were willing to help us with anything. The riad is beautiful and quiet. We changed two rooms and both of them were traditional and really beautiful. This riad and its people make you feel safe. The breakfast was simple but traditionally served and different every day! I absolutely recommend it.

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The place is very well located, considering all the main touristic places are in a 20 minutes walk distance (if you manage not to get lost in the city). The breakfast is really good and I do recommend to have dinner one night in the hotel, as it was a really nice meal. The staff is really helpful and extremely nice with all our doubts and for the tours around the city.

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lighting in the bathrooms could be brightened up a bit.

    A smaller house but totally suffused with sweetness and calm, which you'll crave after a long day exploring raucous Marrakech. Wonderful staff who embody Moroccan hospitality and who gave us easily understandable directions into the heart of the medina and out again (including the best walking route to get back after dark). We found the neighborhood charmingly local, and if your taxi drops off next to the big mosque, the Dar is a very short, easy walk from there, though it's nice to have someone show you the way the first time (arranging pickup from the train or airport is helpful). There's a lovely rooftop terrace for enjoying breakfast and we were lucky enough that the orange trees in the main courtyard were blossoming during our stay--it smelled like heaven. We actually had two different rooms, as we bookended a multiday desert excursion with stays at Dar Touyir; both were clean, comfortable and cosy. Would stay here again in a minute.

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    I stayed with my wife and kid. It is excellent. Staff, Hussein, Fatima, Ilham, Fatiha and Bushra are extremely friendly especially with a five star breakfast and readiness to help at any time. Some staff even baby- sit our infant while we have a breakfast which was so delicious and Moroccan!. I recommend the hotel profusely!

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only thing was that the bed was really hard.

    Me and my boyfriend had 7 nights at Dar Touyir and we could not have wished for more. The location is perfect - just a few min. walk to the big square. The breakfast at the rooftop was very good with fresh juice, bred, pancakes, eags and traditional maroccan surprices. All the staff were very nice people and helped a lot with all our questions about culture, good restaurents and so on and with trips out of Marrakech. We visited the owners' lovely farm just one hour away, where they had many animals that were good taking care of. From the farm we went on a trip in the Atlas Mountains. We will recomend this place for everyone!

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Simple but beautiful and homely this is a wonderful read in a good location with lovely staff.

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff went out of their way to be helpful and ensure we had a comfortable stay. I would recommend Dar Touyir to anyone!

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    can't think of anything

    Staff was wonderful. They couldn't do enough to make us feel welcomed.

  • Reviewed: 29 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was maybe better to have a key for the room.

    There staffs were really kind and the breakfast was great.

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2015

    • Solo traveller

    Location, easy to find and get by a taxi, very helpfull and nice staff. Very nice designed and warm.

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I loved my stay in this place, everything was awesome:) If I come back, I will choose to stay at Dar Touyir again

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi not working

    Comfortable and nice in the city centre.

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    All breakfast was wheat based. I would have liked an egg or some fruit.

    The location, friendly staff, very quiet, nice bathroom

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 62

Browse Dar Touyir traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: