Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hôtel Des Iles 4 stars

Boulevard Mohamed V, 44000 Essaouira, Morocco

#87 of 89 hotels in Essaouira

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 422 hotel reviews

6.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.2

  • Comfort

    6.1

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    5.7

  • Staff

    7.4

  • Value for money

    5.7

  • Free WiFi

    6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 50

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    6.7
    Hotel in a great location and staff good also.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel in a great location and staff good also. Very very tired looking, was fairly inexpensive though. Pool not great either, whole hotel needs a bit of a facelift,photos werent terribly accurate! Can't beat the location though.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    4.2
    Never gonna visit that hotel again .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything , starting from the staff , the very old cheap decoration and honestly i regret bringing my car , because i stuggeled each time i wanna park it , the security aint there to open the gate so i can put the car or even to get out ! i felt like a prisoner , and this is not all because the list is so tall.

    Just Stay away from this hotel , you will regret everything about it .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    6.7
    This hotel has amazing potential, it has a great pool (out...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It desperately needs a lick of paint, new linen and the staff need to work as a team.

    This hotel has amazing potential, it has a great pool (out of the wind), big rooms, good space.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.5
    One night is ok but no more, which is a pity as it has a lot of potential
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant Relais Paris - staff overbrearing and prices expensive - hardly any menu available, helpings were meagre, salad was limp Bungalow: Seagulls were very noisy throughout the night Verandah furniture were old Bathroom needs a total refurb, toilet very narrow Bed felt damp

    Friendly Hotel staff: reception and cleaners. Hats off to Youness! Spaciousness Love the old furniture

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.5
    Good stay untill got the laundry bill. Did not like the threat of arrest for there extortion. Not ha
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charged over 80 cad to do one load of laundry!!!! Did not tell us the price before. Never paid more than 5 cad in any other hotel on the stay! When refused to pay that price.threatened to call the police on me. Made a goid stay into a very stressfull. Upsetting one.

    Right next door to the main tourist area. The port and medina. Beds were extremely comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    4.6
    Good Location, with parking, friendly staff but bit expensive for what it is, needs a bit of love.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had to get the bed clothes changed before sleeping in the bed.

    To be honest, if this property had been cheaper I would have accepted the level of cleanliness and how run down it was, but it was still expensive given the state of disrepair it is in. Probably once a wonderful hotel it it's hay day, now needs a bit of love. However, the location is fantastic and the staff were lovely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    3.8
    It was a miserable stay !! the photos online didn't match at all what we've seen in reality
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no minimum hygiene taking in account. dust everywhere , bed sheets and towels are not clean . Temperature in March was 7 degrees at night , they don't have heaters or extra blankets. We bought blankets and we slept with our jackets too. plus a four stars hotel doesn't serve breakfast!!

    The location of the hotel is not far from the beach.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    6.7
    Great location and staff, but outdated hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdated and unclean in the restaurant. No aircon and their was a an old dusty smell in the room. I ended up getting bit by some flies numerous times.

    The location was great and the staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    7.5
    Position very close to the medina.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is an old big and fancy hotel with no maintenance since years. It looks in decline.

    Position very close to the medina. Free and secure car parking. Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    8.8
    Very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pool Area is really worn down and the whole hotel has a "used to be grand" feeling. Needs renovating but is still a nice place to stay at.

    The room was very nice, with great view to the sea. Comfortable beds and everything was very clean. Mostly very helpful staff. Great location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    5.4
    Nice location, however disastrous state of the hotel and overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The state the hotel is in is absolutely disastrous - the bungalows are run down and lack any comfort that you would expect for this price and holiday resort with 4*s. There is mold in the bathrooms, the beding is dirty/has holes, there is no furniture on the bungalow terrace, the furniture looks like it has not been replaced since 20-30 years, it smells bad. Absolutely no holiday feeling whatsoever. After one night in a bungalow we asked to change the room and were moved to the main building into an apparently renovated part of the resort - that room was definitely better, but definitely not renovated - it showed the same mold, lack of ventilation/heating/aircon, however the furniture was not as run down as in the bungalows. If it hadn't been for the location and friendliness of the staff, we would have not stayed here.

    The location is perfect - you have the beach right in front of the hotel (just cross the street) & the entrance to the Medina is 1 min walk away!! The staff is friendly & helpful, and try to do their best to accommodate your request - unfortunately they cannot do anything against the terrible state the hotel is in.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    2.9
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked 2 rooms for 122eur but when arrived we were pushed to pay 360eur. They said that bookings.com reservation is not valid and advertised price written on the reservation is wrong!!! Be carefull with this property cause they can brake all your plans!! Stuff were very rude.

    Nothing

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    6.3
    Great location, very outdated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The word outdated really doesn't do it justice. Its the Overlook Hotel of Essaouirra very very tired and a little sad.

    The hotel is right next to the Medina and has great parking

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    7.9
    An interesting town, the hotel was acceptable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The card machine worked when we arrived but stop working the last two days so you need a cash back up .The noise from the "music" coming from the bar was unacceptable being the close location to the rooms but on complaining was turned down considering where you are (a small costal town in Africa miles from anywhere it was not that bad

    The hotel was in an excellent location just outside the fortified walls it has quite an old charm to it being where Orson Welles stayed while filming Othello in the early 1950's . we stayed in a "Bungallow" overlooking the pool and had breakfast included which was acceptable with staff always on hand to get anything you wanted the restaurant on the roof did an excellent entrecote steak and the live music was very good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    4.2
    Indeed a SAD place...what a shame. I would love to see this hotel given proper respect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    My third visit ( previously with group tour O.A.T) that I find the hotel. once grand. now decrepit and, worse, a laconic staff. Dirty hallways. a bedside phone with no wires ( LOL), noise from a night club attached to the hotel...and an interesting mould growth under the soap shelf of the bathtub. Should I go on ? It is almost criminal that such a great location. and once grand hotel of historically interesting architecture, should be so poorly cared for.

    The location and the architecture are wonderful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    3.8
    We would never recommend this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We did not get accommodation booked and were given different reasons each time we asked. We had asked for a self contained bungalow and got a room in the hotel ( Its too cold! .........that section was broken). Staff not interested in clients and there were very few . We left a day early. Breakfast and coffee cold and rubbish! Room given was OK but on noisy seaside near where taxis dropped clients.

    No much

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    4.2
    The city and culture amazing made up for hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff gave no information we were charged more than we expected room was dusty had to ask twice for toilet roll no pool towels only toiletries was a bar of soap very rustic however really close to Medina and beach

    The bed was comfortable

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    5.4
    I booked the hotel for 2 adults and 1 child, when arrived...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I booked the hotel for 2 adults and 1 child, when arrived they charged us additionally by 50% for my kid, he get a very small bed with bad shape, didn't get towel. With this cost I could have gotten a 5 star hotel. I will actually reclaim additional charges of 120 EUR.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    5.8
    Fair
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too much noise coming from restaurant upstairs. Could not sleep and I had to change the room at 2 AM. Then some engineering work were going on at the hotel at 7 AM. No way to have rest then ...

    Location and staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    7.1
    Great location, enjoyable, hotel needs a bit of work to bring it up to scratch.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn't communicate well with staff. We had a strange experience at breakfast one morning where a waiter kept on bringing us food we did not want or like. Some of the staff didn't seem lto want to help too much. The whole building needs a bit of work on it.

    Location, close to beach, quiet, pool & you could get a drink there.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    4.6
    Not the best option
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms weren't cleaned and most had lots of smell No investment was made in the last years to improve Bad internet wi-fi No AC in rooms At second day they had no cleaned towels ready to replace used ones

    Pool as ok Private parking for free

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    10
    Very comfortable as in your own palace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment - Split Level
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Perfect reception. Great staff. Wonderful hospitality. Calmness in the gorgeous nature between banana and orange trees. Managers are the owners where they provided exceptional service. Hamam balady is very Bretty, clean traditional morrocon. Delicious breakfast. Wide rooms, clean covers and beautiful pool. Morrocon traditional but modern design.we miss the Riad so much.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    5.8
    There are better
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was nothing like the pictures. The rooms are old and the outdoor furniture was not clean. The inside rooms might be better (we were put in rooms outside of the main building. When I asked how much to upgrade to one of the indoor rooms, the receptionist looked at me and said "very expensive" to which I asked "how much?" To which he again replied "very expensive"! On a third time asking he finally answered my question (about $130 AUD). Like many of the hotels in essauroia, is no air con, the staff tell me this is because it's not hot.

    The location was great and the bed was comfortable. The staff accommodated our late checkout without any extra charge. There is a large pool (but very little shade)

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    8.8
    Great 👍
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No aircon or fan and no windows so could be stuffy if it's hot. Could've had more lay chairs around the pool

    The room was comfy nice size and the staff are lovely great pool. The best location near the old city.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    9.6
    Great 👍😊
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could've had more lay chairs by the pool and there is no aircon as described by booking.com.

    Excellent location and helpful staff. Really nice pool

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    6.7
    Hotel was great and great location staff are friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was great and great location staff are friendly and helpful

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    10
    Nice clean close to everything 😀
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice clean close to everything 😀

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    6.7
    Location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the breakfast was not good...

    Location was perfect. Swimming pool was good. Clean. Staff was very nice!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    6.3
    La situation ,le confort
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Presidential Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    La restauration

    La situation ,le confort

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    3.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty, disgusting, expensive. Terrible experience. There were cockroaches running on the bedroom floor and gulls in the swimming pool

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    8.8
    Very good location(near medina,but in the city)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good location(near medina,but in the city)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.1
    Well located, in front of the beach and by walk 5min to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old fashioned,

    Well located, in front of the beach and by walk 5min to the harbor, 2-3in to the medina)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location,nice hotel but needing renovation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    AC in the rooms

    Spacious room,excellentlocatio

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    7.5
    Good option
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom wasn't great

    Unique place and friendly staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    7.1
    Best location and parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment - Split Level
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Terrible breakfast. Dated and old hotel. Old and to deep swimpool.

    Best location and parking.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    9.2
    Close to beach and Medina.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No refrigerator

    Close to beach and Medina.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    7.5
    Cold room spelt of paint nothing could be done to discount the stay and the shower was terrible 215
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smelt of fresh paint

    Bar was smoky at night

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.1
    Nice to be close to medina, but v. Noisey in evening, live music above hotel rooms in restaurant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very carbohydrates intensive, they could have had fruit options.

    Right next to the Medina

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    4.6
    No heating
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No heating

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    7.1
    Its an old hotel with perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Bungalow
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its an old hotel with perfect location. Bungalos are ok. Staff is really great and helpfull.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    7.5
    For one or two days a nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool is old and dirty. The rooms are not so comfortable and clean as well.

    Nice view and great located.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    3.8
    Not interesting
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old hotels. Furniture need to be replaced. Food is poor and breakfast buffet is not rich of choices plus very bad quality

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    8.8
    good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night

    the hotel did not include breakfast while the booking option did

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    9.2
    Clean room, nice dining area, friendly staff cheap and good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small pool, no air con.

    Clean room, nice dining area, friendly staff cheap and good coctails at the bar.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    3.3
    Would never go back - do not stay here!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Bungalow
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed uncomfortable, room dirty, building works everywhere. Very unsafe for young children, swimming pool dangerous.

    nothing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    5.0
    Excesive rate for the services!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There are no sun loungers at the swiming pool!!!! The breakfast quite bad

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    10
    Place was nice comfortable and welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast could have had more of a selection

    Staff are very nice and welcoming. The restaurant in the hotel was the best we went too on Essaouira

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    5.4
    No Man is an island.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were really disappointed with the breakfast. There was a problem with the drains in the bathroom. The towels saw their last days.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    5.8
    Good size rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle

    Good size rooms

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    5.4
    Nice bed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Bungalow
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice bed!

    Stayed in July 2017

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 50

Browse Hôtel Des Iles traveller photo gallery