Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of El Minzah Hotel 3 stars

85, Rue De La Liberte, 90000 Tangier, Morocco

Review score

Based on 802 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    10
    El minzah was closed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    El minzah was closed. We were booked there sister hotel called Villa de France. We had no indication of this was the case. We were fortunate that a parking guardian helped us out. The hotel was wonderful but you should update your site to show it is not El Minza

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Exceeded my expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to complain about - everything was perfect.

    This is a review for Grand Hotel Villa de France. The hotel is elegant and wonderfully located- the hotel has an old world charm and the staff and friendly, helpful and professional. The hotel offers a wonderfully varied breakfast, good quality food and superb service - with great views over Tangier. The hotel also offers lovely entertainment at dinner - an overall wonderful experience. The rooms are clean and spacious. I will definitely return.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    7.1
    This is a review for Grand Hotel Villa de France, NOT El Minzah (which is under renovation).
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast is rather disappointing: the quality is not 5-star and there are very few Moroccan delicacies (unlike in riads, where you get a full Moroccan breakfast). Although the bar is good, it is not comparable to El Minzah's bar, which is beautiful and evocative; same for the structure, the hotel is nice but it lacks El Minzah's traditional feeling.

    This is NOT a review for El Minzah: although I had booked here originally, they have transferred me to Grand Hotel Villa de France for the same price, since El Minzah is under renovation. So, my review refers to Grand Hotel Villa de France. The hotel is beautiful and is situated strategically between Bvd. Pasteur and the Grand Socco, so one can easily access the medina, the port and the ville nouvelle rather easily. The staff is generally kind and the restaurant is good, the bar has a decent choice of wines. Overall the room is clean and well equipped. The view from the terrace is great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    8.8
    The lovely old Minzah is being renovated and after one night...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Getting the minibar refilled with water required a request and there was no menu for room service in the room. Breakfast would be improved with some more cooked options, and sometimes the hotel seemed a little deserted.

    The lovely old Minzah is being renovated and after one night the reception suggested I would be better off in their sister hotel the Villa de France, which has less historic charm, but a high level of comfort. Charming staff and a good French restaurant. Excellent Wifi.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    9.2
    Central location, old-world feel, quality rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    It wasn't until my last morning of six that I was offered an omelet at breakfast. Had I known that was an option, I'd have asked for one every day!

    Friendliness and helpfulness of staff, cleanliness of room, hotel's general look and feel

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    9.2
    Great staff, caring & welcoming
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff, caring & welcoming Supportive to customers' needs Neighboring one of the greatest traditional restaurants in Morroco & the World for classical & unique seafood.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    7.1
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I left one day earlier the hotel staff never mention any things about pay me back this day. It is true that I have not arranged thru the booking people.

    Its location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    Wonderful sights
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Depending on where you room is located it could be a bit noisy. One of the nights we kept hearing music coming the bar below a bit late into the night.

    Museum-like hotel full of history and tradition. The architecture and interior decor are amazing, a throw-back to a by-gone era. Superb location in the city center with own parking lot, walking distance from major tourist attractions, souks, and main boulevard. Staff at reception were very friendly especially Ahmed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    8.8
    Seemingly authentic old hotel in the middle of town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t think of anything.

    We weren’t expecting live local music and a very tasteful belly dancer during dinner, which was excellent. The Salad Morrocaine is a meal in itself, and very good. Other portions were huge. The local wines are pretty good too.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    10
    shame I could not use the beauty saloon I had a cold!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On arrival when shown the room the lady needed to check the tv working, the glasses on the table, I had all I needed as it was she showed me the room and left. I had then had to call room service quite a few times to bring a glass, unlock the mini bar make the tv work tea. and for a heater. All of this was provided but it made me feel like I should be doling out tips to all these people running around. I would prefer they had a box for tips to be distributed at the front desk but tips can be given to the head of staff but I would not do that. Next time I will bring small notes to give out to helpful people but not if they are just bringing something that should be in the room anyway. . I did not like that the taxi fare was 130 to the airport and they wanted to book it for me at 200. dirham. In the end with tip it was 160 altogether. This made me not trust in the hotels doings much and I would advise checking your bill at the end. Though alot of people won't mind this small extra charge for the lack of hassle of having to ask a local person how much the fare is.

    The hotel offers a unique experience of a bygone era. The outfits are amazing and like something out of the Grand Hotel Budapest movie. I love the fact it has not changed much. The people are nice and the room is comfortable I love the fact I can have a bath.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location, lively yet quiet. Genteel and classy old hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet didn't work that well in my room. There was no kettle or coffeemaker in room. I stayed at this hotel because of the spa, but the sauna was extremely hard to find (no signs!), I never did find the jacuzzi, and the steam room wasn't on. No one provided me with a towel or bathrobe. Also, you have to walk outside to get to the spa from the hotel, which was not ideal in winter. So overall, the spa was a disappointment.

    Fantastic location right in the heart of things, yet the rooms facing the water are quiet - such a great combination! Bed was comfy, view was great, bathtub was great, and room was comfortably warm (important since I was traveling in rainy winter). Breakfast was great, huge variety. Loved the views from my terrace and the restaurant. It was kind of cool seeing all the photos of famous people who've been here, from Yves St Laurent to Rock Hudson.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    10
    Wonderful and relaxing stay at El Minzah
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a perfect stay. We liked everything and will be back for sure.

    The staff is so courteous and polite.very welcoming and traditional Moroccan style.Lovely people and so efficient. The breakfast buffet is outstanding. Delicious!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    7.9
    Great to location and staff !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fairly old hotel. Owners must think that it’s still 1960 but great vibe just needs some love. Breakfast was not great they just put everything out at the start of the breakfast and then that’s it.

    Great to location and staff !

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    5.4
    Not so good as expected
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    arrived 1900 and needed to wait half an hour for a room! stink of cigarettes in non smoking room. shabby room condition

    Location: direct entry to the market place and Medina

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    8.3
    Always good to come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Minzah is always a lovely place to stay at, excellent central location, but it is starting to show that it needs serious refurbishment...

    Very comfortable bed, nice views from the balcony. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    9.2
    Overall a very enjoyable and confortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In house restaurant is very expensive, shower curtain in bathroom should be longer.

    Friend and helpful staff, clean and comfortable rooms and excellent breakfast and fantastic Spa facilities with reasonable prices.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    Excellent! Staff very helpful and nice at all times.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    on the site is says there are coffee/tea making facilities but our rooms did not have it. Maybe not all rooms or maybe not correct information on Booking.com but wasn't a problem just an observation.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    10
    An elegant and comfortable hotel in Tangier.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful breakfast (see previous review). The room had a wonderful terrace with a view of the port and Malabata. The bath had all the ammenities. The staff is welcoming. The wine bar is a cozy place for intimate dining.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    10
    An elegant and familiar stay for the beginning and end of our annual business trip.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was a wonderful buffet with many choices that would satisfy anyone's appetite. Beverages were served by efficient and courteous wait staff. The Moroccan pancakes were handmade, the pastries were fresh and varied.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    5.0
    the breakfast was very good!
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Looks like it has been a great place but not any more... The front-desk was very kind but the restaurant personal was somehow rude. The indoor pool and water circuit, advertised when we walked in, were empty! The evaluator wasn't working when we check out and stairs were the only option....

    the breakfast was very good!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    8.3
    The hotel is authentic and atmospheric - that is what I...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is authentic and atmospheric - that is what I liked the most. The balcony and view from the room was lovely. The staff very friendly and attentive

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    5.0
    We enjoyed our stay at El Minzah Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar service poor in evening. Once one sits down, one wants to be served quickly. Slow coffee service at breakfast. Reception staff generally unfriendly.

    Room was excellent. Balcony was lovely. Nice new bathroom.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    5.8
    We were disappointed by this hotel, but the location was okay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel is very old and rooms look shabby. The stuff was not very helpful and not very friendly. It always took so long, when we asked for something (like opening the safe in the room).

    We had a nice view out of our window.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    8.3
    A full lavish breakfast was served on a makeshift breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A full lavish breakfast was served on a makeshift breakfast table prepared in reception for our very early departure for a golf game! We were thrilled - thank you to the friendly staff!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    9.2
    A great memory,i would like to visit other areas of Morocco
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The reception area was slow booking in, the hotel in general is old and out dated, on arrival around 330pm it seemed a problem to organize food, we had been travelling the whole day, we eventually ordered of the main menu. The hotel manager was having dinner in the main restaurant the poor waiters were running, after this man, to organise his phone to be charged, surely he has a p.a. who can do this,he never acknowledged one guest in the restaurant, there was a big party of delegates they were not acknowledged. So the Uniforms of staff are outdated, remove the sun umbrellas from the quadrangle at night when this area is used for a restaurant, our last meal was expensive and not really great the fish special, I think we had a communication problem with the head waiter,served in the quadrangle.

    The atmosphere was like stepping back in time. Breakfast good selection, main restaurant food divine, plus the show amazing. Restaurant manager/Head waiter served everybody himself, attention to detail was great. Beds comfortable,plenty of wardrobe space.Tangik ? spelling, was amazing, helped us organize a guide the following day. We were mother and daughter travelling, Mohammed Saied was the perfect gentleman full of knowledge, also attentive to detail we had a beautiful day in Tangiers. Three areas to choose to eat at night.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    7.9
    very nice traditional colonial era hotel, incredible location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room is not very spacious, with limited furniture, as in many of hotels of that era. However the bathroom have been renovated

    very nice traditional colonial era hotel, incredible location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    10
    excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Everything! The staff couldn't do enough for us- nothing was too much trouble. The hotel itself was so full of charm and character. Can't wait to go back.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    7.1
    I've stayed at this hotel many times over the past 20...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is definitely showing its age, and is well overdue for some serious remodeling and upgrades. I realize this is a costly endeavor, but it is needed to return the hotel to former glory. On this visit I observed that the furnishings are very outdated, the electronic door locks don't work very well and the one elevator seems to have frequent problems. I really like this hotel, and hope they can manage to bring it up-to-date.

    I've stayed at this hotel many times over the past 20 years, and I have always enjoyed the people and the historical aspects of the property and it's surroundings. I can easily say that the staff in this hotel are among the most helpful and friendly people I've met in any hotel, anywhere.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    excellent can't wait to stay again ... which we will do if we are in the area again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing to dislike

    We loved this hotel every thing was positive had a wonderful meal in the resturant, live jazz band. and signer and pianist in the bar after, great breakfast, staff excellent... a beautiful building

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    7.1
    I feel like the staff wanted to cheat on us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not the one I paid for. Totally different. I paid for one with terrace and I got one without it, which is cheapper. Also the breackfast was paid to be included, but at the end it was not provided.

    The swiming pool.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    7.9
    The hotel is located in the heart of the city with access to...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is old and the furniture is really in need for renovation, that's the only negative aspect of the hotel

    The hotel is located in the heart of the city with access to the main road, historical building since 1930, from the second floor and up you can enjoy a great sea view

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    8.8
    The main "problem" that we had was that in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The main "problem" that we had was that in the reservation said that we had to pay 270€ (and 1,46€ per day per person of taxes) but finally we had to pay 286€, we just stayed 3 nights so be careful if you go with just the amount of money that your reservation says, because you will have to pay a little more, despite of that the hotel was perfect.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    8.3
    It was very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was expensive.

    It was very comfortable. We really liked the outdoor spaces like the pool. It was quiet and very clean. It was value for money for the room (but not the restaurants) and in a great location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    8.8
    Old Grand Dame, beautiful decor and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A little black mold was noticed in the bathroom.

    Very friendly staff, several great restaurants, one includes performances with musicians, belly dancers and whirling dervish. Terrace restaurant. Perfect location, walking distance to the Medina, shopping, beach, restaurants and sights.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    7.9
    Like Tangier itself, the hotel is a bit past its prime
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Eggs are missing for breakfast. The food at the hotel restaurant is good but quite pricey, especially considering the local prices.

    Breakfast is decent and is on a lovely terrace overlooking the port. The gym is solid and the pool area is quite nice. There is also a charming courtyard, including a number of photographs of famous people having stayed at the hotel, which gives a bit of a historical relevance. Most of the staff is very helpful and competent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    5.0
    Charming hotel with real character and sense of nostalgist, however attenation to detail is lacking
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Major technical problems with the deposit safe, door entry system to the room, breakfast very poor on quality orange juice needs to be fresh, yogurt needs to real and service is terrible.

    Rooms are too small

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    10
    All the staff were extremely courteous, pleasent and well...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hallways are dark and confusing as others have said. It is called character.

    All the staff were extremely courteous, pleasent and well trained. Hotel was recommended to us and we were very pleased. This is an old historical hotel, not the Four Seasons. Amazing location. Expect that charm. Get a suite upgrade on site with patio. Try the Moroccan tea.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    10
    I had a wonderful stay. The staff were very helpful and the hotel atmosphere was really relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Travelling from Ireland, it would have been helpful if adapters were available for me to charge my phone

    Loved the location. Loved the old world charm and comfort. Beautifully decorated. Would highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    8.8
    Lovely, classy hotel good restaurant good service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shisha bar area. Music was far too loud. It spoiled the atmosphere at the pool bar

    Lovely, classy hotel good restaurant good service. The buffet was excellent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    9.2
    Very pleasant and relaxing very close to the old medina and all facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast buffet was excellent with high levels of staff attendance. Pool big enough for playing and swimming. With pleasant gardens housing peacocks with chicks

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    7.1
    The continental breakfast exceed all the expectations!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facility onece so famous and top rated is in a deep need of renovation and maintenance of the rooms at least ... it's a gorgeous location and very nice hotel that only needs a fresh touch.

    The continental breakfast exceed all the expectations! It's anything you can think off!))) The stuff was really nice and welcoming. The breakfast time made my day!))) Unfortunately we didn't have a chance to stay there also for lunch and dinner.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel in a very central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing really. Elevator broke for a bit when we were there, but it was fixed quite quickly.

    Beutiful, old-school decor and very helpful staff. The pool is nice and big. Breakfast is excellent and served for a long time in the morning. Helped us get an airport pick up on very short notice. Location is perfect, walking distance to the medina and the rest of the center of town.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful classic hotel in the heart of Tangiers
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a beautiful hotel exemplifying the decor and architecture of Morocco. The staff were extremely friendly. The hotel is well-maintained and the pool area very comfortable. The morning breakfast buffet was great and I took advantage every day.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    10
    I had an amazing experience, El Minzah hotel is excellent!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I loved the facilities,it´s a gorgeous hotel!!! The staff was friendly and Mourat was exceptional, amazing, kind and very efficient. My bedroom was beautiful, large, comfortable and with an amazing view to the bay of Tanger. The bathroom large and very nice. The breakfast buffet is excellent and the Moroccan restaurant has great food. An amazing experience!!! If I ever go back to Tanger I will definitely stay at this hotel again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.2
    Nice atmospheric hotel from the 70s.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant service could be better.

    Nice atmospheric hotel from the 70s, visited by a lot of celebrities. A lot of history, beautiful architecture. Friendly and helpful stuff. They can recommend you a good guide for the city tour. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    9.6
    Fascinating location, great relax, good service.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Some rooms may need some refurbishment to valorize the incredible heritage of the hotel. I had booked the hotel twice and cancelled the first booking for I had found a better price but the hotel seemed to have maintained the old booking; still, everything was resolved quite easily by sending them my cancellation and booking confirmation e-mails from Booking.com. Nothing truly negative.

    El Minzah enjoys a great position between the Medina, the Ville Nouvelle and the port, so it's ideal to reach any of the city spots. It is a fascinating place, full of memories and with a traditional andalusian deco which reminds of the city's old glories. The breakfast has plenty of variety and it's available until 11:00; the express hand made Moroccan pancakes are very good and worth a try. The restaurants inside all have excellent Moroccan food and Caid's bar has a wide selection of Moroccan wines that are definitely worth a try. The swimming pool is really pleasant, it's nice to have a snack by the pool and then to have a swim and sunbathe. The staff is always available for any necessity and ready to offer recommendations. The room is spacious and the bathroom is cleaned every day. The bed was comfortable and air conditioning was available for the hot and wet Tangiers nights and days. WI-FI works perfectly. Good baggage service and taxi service at any time; security is 24h. I haven't tried the wellness centre so I cannot really judge. But overall a very nice experience.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    9.2
    Our Favourite Elegant, Classy and historically famous Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lunch staff and service was slow- could it be because of Ramadan and fasting !? Our 2 favourite waiters who we have had the pleasure of their excellent service for 12 years have sadly retired. We miss them very much . Lets hope the new waiters will have as excellent service attitudes and pleasantness of these elegant, charming men .

    We love the history and classiness of this Riad Hotel . The staff are lovely , polite and helpful. The pool and gardens are wonderful and relaxing . Our room had a lovely comfy double bed and sea/harbour view. The moroccan restaurant is special with its charm and elegance and has talented musicians and dancers. The service is excellent and the food was all delicious and as a vegetarian the Moroccan salads, Veg Pastilla and tagine were excellent. Very Good location . We had to leave at 5.45 am to catch an early fligt and they woke us at 4.15am with gorgous coffee, orange juice and croissants, bread, cakes etc . Very much appreciated.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    10
    A perfect stay in a vintage wonderland ❤️
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the plug sockets didn't work in the room. Everything else was fab, if your into vintage and antique treasures this hotel is exactly that. Full of personality I will certainly be back. If you like resorts like Marriotts and other stale lifeless hotels, this isn't for you, El Minza is my favourite hotel xx

    Everything, what a great place, I felt like a old Hollywood star, so full of history xx

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    9.6
    I absolutely loved this place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food and drink is a little overpriced

    I absolutely loved this place! Beautiful building with so much character and history. The pool is amazing, the staff were friendly and the room was very comfortable. It's a gem!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    10
    Worth every dhm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing 😀

    Fabulous luxury hotel in the old style. Celebrity clientele from the time when Stars were really glamorous. Everything to please the guests including evening buffet, beautiful pool, valet parking and more.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    8.8
    authentic old-world charm & considerate service
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Skip the vichysoisse & club sandwich !!

    Just about everything = location, other-era ambiente, views from terraced rooms, poolside lunches, service.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    7.1
    A hotel with full glory of the past. Worth the stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Your breakfast staff insisted to take away my olive plate even after l told him l m still eating. He claim it s because the bf time is over. But l saw other tables were still full of dirty plates n glass. And there were also dirty plates n glass on my table. Why did he insist on my plate? Then afterwards he left our table without taking the dirty plates n glass anyway!!! How rude.

    It an old nostalgic hotel. It has a glamor of the past.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    10
    Worth every dhm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Brilliant hotel from the glamorous Hollywood era of French occupation. EVERYONE stayed there. The piano bar, terraces and pool are great, and the evening buffet is a great bargain.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    7.1
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -Room service was not really good, slow response.

    -In a comparison with 3 stars hotels, the food was good, and by food i mean Breakfast, as it was the only meal we had at the hotel.. -Comfortable atmosphere and friendly staff. -Good location to the city centre

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    9.2
    Taste of Morocco
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old style hotel, but well maintained with updated facilities; while still kept the rich local culcuture and tastes. Besides, it is right by the medina!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    6.3
    Average good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The price is too high comparing to other 5 star hotel and this one is only 3 stars.

    location good for people who want to do some artizana shopping and its in the heart of the city.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    7.5
    Still great hotel, but needs a bit of a boost!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room key would not work every time we had to go back to reception. Waiters at dinner we rushing us too much so we felt a bit uncomfortable. Breakfast food was cold as the electric warmers had not been plugged in. Charged us for black label whiskey with coke, which we didn't ask for !

    Location near to Medina, colonial feel to hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    10
    Total luxury in Tangier!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was very good but a little pricey.

    Walking into the hotel immediately gives you a sense of comfort and luxury. The staff are very efficient and helpful. The rooms and the view from the room very beautiful and clean,

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    7.5
    Excellent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant is good but too expensive. We didn't know how big was the meals, we order too much, it would have been nice if we were told.

    The location is perfect, in the center so you can visit Tanger by foot. The staff is very kind and we like the style and decoration. The breakfast is excellent. We liked the diner with very nice musicians.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    7.1
    Nice location with view of the port
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Property, though historic, could use a bit of updating. The windows were very thin and difficult to open and close.

    The breakfast buffet was good, with a variety of hot and cold offerings. Parking is available. New elevator. Excellent location next to Medina and port.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    8.3
    Grand setting clean hotel with a let down team
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee and food of breakfast is so so but the setting is grand and pleasant like a film set. The front desk staff appear to be pleasant but not really helpful as you sense they are there to making extra money for themselves whether you want to hire a taxi for sightseeing or buying train tickets. The management team should make more effort to improve in order to match the hotel location and standing. Shame a five star hotel with a team with a wrong attitude.

    The hotel lobby is spacious and elegant and so were public space where we found a lovely little library. The room is charming with a sea view and palm trees. The grand breakfast restaurant has old charm and the swimming pool and free Sauna pleasant but I will not pay for it as the service was very basic. Very clean and staff look good in their uniforms. Location is great. Close to the French consulate and galleries and the best sea food Resturant in the souk. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    8.8
    Extremely helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Difficult to drive to the hotel (blocked streets and one way traffic.

    Great breakfast table! extremely helpful staff. One of them walked with me quite a distance to fetch my car and navigated me back to the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    9.2
    Historic bargain hotel, appalling car park staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'm sick of trying to get into the car park. The staff on the gate are totally unwelcoming and it's the same battle every time I stay. I left my car there - with permission from reception - when I visited Spain and they called me every day to complain. And this is a Range Rover with local plates... God knows how they treat you with a hire car. I've cancelled my next reservation here because I can't be bothered with the parking. El Minzah take note please!

    Staff are very accommodating when encouraged. The building is an icon. It's cheap.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    9.2
    Tremendous Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Since I have been staying mainly in Riad's, this lacked the intimacy. However, that is not a criticism since I knew it was a hotel when I booked it.

    I enjoyed the professional staff and its location very much.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    10
    Classic Beauty
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A beautiful, classic hotel, with great style and an extremely helpful staff. Our view from our patio overlooking the port and sea could not have been more enchanting. Extremely comfortable bedroom and newly redone bathroom with all the conveniences. The El Caid bar was an oasis in a city where good cocktails are scarce. Above all, don't change a thing!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    8.8
    A touch of ole decency in exciting Tangier
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sleep can be disturbed by crowing cocks from the chicken market below the hotel. The safe is too small for laptops, the shower is not very good. Charging our car cost €15 per day on our way South, but that was waived on our return. As we said in our last review in Dec 2014: "Tangier is a noisy, hectic, untidy place with tricky driving conditions, but we got around just fine and got used to the barking dogs and clucking hens nearby."

    We love this somewhat dated grand hotel from a magnificent past, full of atmosphere & character, albeit with a few wrinkles. As the hotel staff themselves say, this is home away from home. The hotel accommodated our need to charge our Tesla (see photo), albeit with a very slow 3kW Schuko socket. The staff at reception, in the restaurants, laundry service & the house technician were really great & the Hotel Manager was very approachable & reasonable. Even though now rated 3 stars, we consider the service to be 5 star, and we learned that improvements are now planned. As we said in our last review: "El Minzah has the perfect combination of a somewhat aged exotic character, a wonderful view over the town, and a very high standard of service, including onsite parking. We were fussed over in a very friendly but un-intrusive manner. The breakfast and evening meals were particularly excellent, as well as the music and dance entertainment. We had easy access by foot to all of the main attractions like the Medina, the souks, the Kasbah, the very calm Jewish cemetery, and a long walk along the beach. We really look forward to staying again soon."

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    7.5
    Awesome Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bar staff were too rushed. The rooms were too small.

    The location was excellent with an awesome view. The hotel had a beautiful old architecture and decor.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    10
    Amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Excellent service at this historic and magestic hotel. Really clean and beautifully designed and well maintained facilities. Overall a georgous hotel with spacious rooms and huge bathrooms. Amazing breakfast! Wonderful view of the city and the water. Also centrally located.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    10
    Peaceful hotel, amazing view
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The spa. The smell of drains in there and some of the water features were not maintained and the pool area felt a bit neglected.

    The bath was deep. The verandah was lovely and peaceful hotel.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    9.2
    Well located, nice and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there were some minos things that could be improved, but to be honest it wasn´t a big deal and the hotel is great.

    perfect location, oasis in the city, caring staff, great restaurants

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    10
    Oldest - and best - hotel in Tanger.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Not real keen on dancer w/candle tray on his head!!

    I love the authenticity of the Minzah, poolside lunches, morning crepes w/homemade jams and the sweetness of the staff.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    8.3
    No longer a 5 Star
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadly the hotel seems to have been starved of investment. Rooms are looking tired. Worse, though, is the staff's propensity to say 'no' whenever possible. Can we have breakfast on the terrace? No (though eventually yes). Can we change rooms? No (then yes). I left my car in the huge and empty car park and they did manage to successfully hassle me everyday about when I was coming to get it. It's a shame they don't pay equal attention to guests while they are at the hotel.

    El Minzah should be one of the best hotels in Morocco. It has a huge history and it is a fascinating place to stay.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    7.1
    Staff did its best, but it was not enough
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold room/heating was not working. No hot water for one morning. Very low hot water pressure. Shower prooved to be an achievement... Seems that there has been lack of investments for long. Repairs needed.

    Very kind staff. Traditional building, deco, rooms. Clean hotel/room

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    8.8
    Room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service ataff at breakfast did not.provide service and 'chased' me out although the place was only half full and just because I take my breakfast leisurley

    Room.size and view and cleaniness

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    8.8
    Good value, great history
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It could use some upgrading, but for a three star hotel I think it's a good value.

    Old world charm! The staff was excellent. We had drinks at the bar. It was fun to be in a place that has been around and has the history. Our room was very clean, and our bed was very comfortable. We loved our patio overlooking the harbor. I did like that the carpet was old, and the grass cloth on the walls and a lot of the furnishings were old. I loved the sense of history. The pool was amazing. I thought for the first night in Morocco I couldn't have picked a better place.

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse El Minzah Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: