Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel L'Initiale

Lagune De Oualidia, 24250 Oualidia, Morocco

#4 of 15 hotels in Oualidia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 232 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 47

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Room 5
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Smoking in the restaurant area. Turned out to be one of the more expensive restaurants as well, but food was ok. Breakfast was rather poor and every day the same

    Staff was very friendly and helpful. It was a quiet, small place.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Room 4
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noisy room doors and locks

    Gorgeous beach and lagoon 30 seconds away from the hotel. Very helpful helpdesk member (helped set a boat tour for us and gave us directions when needed). We were happy to be around groups of (old and young) women and men enjoying the beach, playing soccer, chatting, sitting on plastic chairs and enjoying fresh fish and mint tea..

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room 3
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wi-fi doesn´t really work in the rooms, but it is OK in the common areas.

    L´Initiale was a very nice little hotel, perfectly located for the beach and gorgeous lagoon. Our room was comfortable and had a partial view of the sea, which was really nice. Also, the shower was great. Breakfast was included and lovely, and we had an amazing fish & seafood dinner at the restaurant, which we were very happy to enjoy with a bottle of nice Moroccan wine (they have a decent selection of wines and beers, definitely a bonus). The food was fresh and delicious, and so were the desserts. Definitely reccomended!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Room 4
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wall above the bed was mouldy the bathroom sink was faulty The base of the toilet wasn't very clean

    Great location only three minutes to the beach and th lagoon Food was excellent

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room 1
    • Stayed 6 nights

    This is a nice hotel!

    This small hotel has several plusses: location - very, very close to the beaches - both the lagoon and the Atlantic and its own in-house restaurant - that serves nice food. As a solo traveler I don't necessarily recommend Oualidia - there isn't that much to do other than walking and the beach- - but this hotel is nice. It's affordable, clean, and friendly. Other reviewers have commented on the size of the rooms - yup, they aren't spacious -and it's not a luxury hotel - there are others in the area that fil that bill better. So, it all depends on what you're looking for (and how you like to spend your travel money!) The manager was very nice. I needed to exchange money, and he drove me to a nearby bank. Had a great chat on his views of the area, and appreciated his willingness to go above and beyond. This hotel also arranged a driver for me to get me to my next location, and I appreciated that a great deal too.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    no airco in the room, window can not open because the noise from the street,breakfast was old bread toasted, payment machine doesnt work, no warm water in the room

    the view on sea

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Room 5
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best hotel in Oualidia. Room was clean and comfortable. Staff were great and really helpful. Food in the restaurant was amazing. Also one of the few places in Oualidia to serve alcohol.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Room 4
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We liked everything. I have seen reviews that complain that the rooms are small--but this is not meant to be an impersonal, "luxury" hotel with huge rooms. It felt almost as if one were staying in a friend's home--individual, all small comforts provided, and welcoming.

    The staff was lovely--friendly, helpful, never intrusive. Our room was charming, very comfortable, good shower with good water pressure. It was cozy and inviting.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room 2
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel L'Initiale is charming, comfortable, friendly and well located near the beach and the lagoon. We arrived before check-in time, and the housekeeper made a special effort to prepare our room quickly. We enjoyed our dinner at the hotel's restaurant. Be sure to get fresh oysters from the vendors outside the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Room 4
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Overall, the hotel is a bit outdated. It's clean, but old. The room (Room 4) wasn't too comfortable. It's small (bathroom is also very small) and needs renovation. We had constant problems with our door lock - couldn't open/close it.

    Location, hotel's restaurant, room cleaning.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Room 5
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall quite basic and the pillows are not real pillows, they feel like cushions. Also sheets and blankets like in cheap hotels in Morocco.

    Staff very nice.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where do I start?? Rooms are far too small and need to be updated. Stains and marks are on walls and paint work patchy in some areas. Sound proofing is poor, I could hear the noise from the restaurant below whilst I was trying to sleep. Manager was nowhere on site, and they lock up the hotel/ restaurant at about 1ish and staff leave, which is fine, but if there's a problem (which we did have) who is there around to offer help? My bathroom was the tiniest I have very seen, toilet was right opposite the sink so hard to squeeze past the two. It was clear that my bedding had been washed, but unfortunately not very well as there were stains on the sheets...Yuk!! No English speaking satellite channels.

    Not much really apart from the location. It's right opposite the beach and lagoon. Plenty of parking. Can't comment on food as we ate elsewhere.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room 1
    • Stayed 1 night

    For me it was perfect, but maybe someone else expect a bigger bathroom.

    Breakfast is perfect, bed is comfy, location is wonderful, stuff extremely polite, patient and helpful. They speak English as well not only French and Arabics! We'll definitely come back. Unfortunately we were on low budget now so we couldn't try the seafood they offered, but it did look soo AMASING! Next time we'll also rty that. We also had a wonderful view to the lagoon from our window. It's a peaceful place to stay expecially during spring. RECOMMENDED!!!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room 2
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing to dislike really. Hope this helps.

    Great location just a few steps from a seashore that requires a few gigs on a photo memory card. Food, room, and staff were just fine. Roof terrace offers a great view of the city and ocean. The street and beach vendors were forthcoming, courteous, and friendly but not pushy. Hope you don't mind us recommending the beach food.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room looks sooo old..the bed is not confortable..a lot of ants in the room..on the bed..the shower s co ditions is very poor!!! Although the hotel has only 6 rooms they can make it better

    I liked the location..bear the beach..the staff also

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room 3
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gets extremely noisy at night, but that's the same anywhere else, as there are local parties during the summertime.

    - The staff was friendly, and extremely accommodating, making you feel home. - My little dog was welcome around most places in the hotel - the seafood and fish are heavenly delicious at the hotel's restaurant. - comfort and cleanliness of the rooms, - there was some error in my friend's room booking, which the manager solved, and arranged for my friend to keep his room

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room 1
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Luckily nothing springs to mind ....

    Quiet friendly gorgeous location next to lagoon . Food excellent. Staff very helpful, Jack ensures all guests are ok and helpful tips on travelling around Morocco. Highly recommend !

    Stayed in May 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Room 5
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location - 2 minutes walk to the sea, the laggon, local shops and facilties

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room 1
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small bed and very small bathroom and scratchy towels.

    Restaurant and breakfast very good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room 3
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All perfect! Nice owner and nice staff. Good location and lovely food. Totally recommend!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room 1
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our bedsheets had a few stains on them.

    Amazing staff, very kind and friendly. Delicious food and beautiful location!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room 3
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room, especially the bathroom was very basic and little bit old.

    Great location, close to the beach.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Room 4
    • Stayed 1 night

    could be cleaner (Room).

    The location was the reason I chose this hotel.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room 1
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location.Restaurant.The town is amazing.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room 1
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ecellent location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room 2
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not clean. Run down. small rooms. Hundreds of ants in the bathroom. No charm at all. Will not come back again.

    Really close to the beach.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Room 5
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nile

    Hotel Location close to the sea shore, room has beautiful sea view, restaurants & grocery close to the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Pillows were high and stiff and the bed too firm for most, but with a proper pillow I think it would have been fine for me. My nephew stayed in another bed in the same room for one night and he like I suffered a sore back. I believe the pillows were the culprits rather than the extra-firm beds. The last night (a Thursday) was a bit noisy, with other guests enjoying the restaurant below past midnight.

    VERY attentive owner and staff who go above and beyond to help. Very clean rooms. Generous breakfasts and excellent evening dining. I would stay there again, and recommend it to others because although it's expensive for what you get (small room without even a tea kettle or proper desk to sit at), it is probably the most reasonable online option available in a town with few options, near the beach with its variety of activities on offer. Be sure to visit the rooftop terrace.

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The food in the restaurant is lovely, massive big portions of delicious seafood and fish. And the owner is a really nice guy, made sure we had a lovely stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The town lacks atmosphere, but the beach and lagoon make up for that.

    Nice roof terrace and good restaurant. We had the room with ocean view which is great

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Internet was spotty

    we loved the owner, a French woman who used to work in finance, she was very friendly and accommodating. Room 5 had a small balcony with view of the beach. Downstairs restaurant had a delicious and generous serving of mixed shellfish as well as a tasty shrimp Provençal

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    When we arrived the manager told us to go to a villa. An employee took us there. This villa was too far away from the beach. We asked to stay at the hotel.

    The hotel was wonderful. The room had a stunning sea view that was very special. We loved the roof top terrace. We would love to go back there one day because it it so beautiful. The manager kindly sorted us a taxi with two other people on to our next destination because the bus was fully booked.

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The most towels.expensive hotel we stayed at on our trip and the worst offer. The room is small and basic and the bathroom miniscule. Only one small towel for 2 of us. We asked and were given another small one (both small hand towels ) No proper climatisation so a small electric oil radiator provided. There was no earth to any of the sockets so it was unsafe and fused the circuitt would not be possible to use it with any other high wattage appliance eg a hairdryer. Limited hanging space

    The restaurant is a good fish restaurant

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The credit card terminal is prone to acting up, so be prepared to pay cash

    Excellent location, very nice and friendly staff,clean and convenient rooms. It's hard to tell, but everything about this location is just right

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the comfort of room and bathroom

    the location

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    More personality in the rooms. More Morocco and inspired by the ocean that is right outside.

    Loved the food.

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Smal town good fisheries for relaxing area no stress no traffic for few days outgoing outside places

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Small but cosy room and perfect location to enjoy beach side fish.

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Perfect location. Amazing food. Fantastic staff. Nice room. Great stay thank you

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathrooms are very small.

    The rooms very lovely and in a good location. The restaurant is superb, beautiful seafood and very reasonable.

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The owner's brother, Jack, was too afraid to take me on in tennis. Next time Jack - be ready....

    The food was excellent and the price was ok.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rather small bed for two people.

    Location and hygiene. Warm interior.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Friendly helpfull owners and staff. Terrific seafood. Best ever Ousters. Owners will organise reasonable priced taxis.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    great location, best paella ever

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Dreadful food and miserable breakfast. Everything overcooked and dreadful.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent fish restaurant/service and very hospitable staff, clean room and walking distance to the beach and lagoon!

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    clean - but very small bathroom

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 47

Browse Hotel L'Initiale traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: