Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of La Maison Du Vent

25, Rue Mourabitine, 44100 Essaouira, Morocco

#28 of 43 B&Bs and Inns in Essaouira

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 334 B&B reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 70

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Charming old house right in the old town, close to the city wall. Room with unique moroccan style. Extremely helpful and friendly stuff. Best breakfast we had in Morocco, on a great terrace.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We would have liked a safe in the room or at reception. It's safe to leave money in the room, but we chose to carry our money with us. If you do this, always use a money belt - don't carry money in your bag. The location can be noisy in the early hours of the morning.

    The staff were really helpful with anything we wanted at the hotel and with advice about the area, nothing was too much trouble. The room was beautiful - we had a suite for the first time and having an extra space for our stuff felt quite luxurious. It was great to have a week living with no clutter! The bathroom was great too, lots of space and no shortage of constant hot water. The roof terrace is a bonus for outdoor breakfasts and watching the sunset. The location is great for walking to everything in town and outside the medina walls.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was hard, compared to my normal standard.... however throughout my trip I’ve discovered that most beds in Marc are hard

    The staff was really nice and helpful. The location was easy to find and inside the Médina which made for a nice experience

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was nice and clean, the beds were comfortable. The staff was really friendly and their breakfast is amazing with a lot of choice. The location is also perfect, it's near the beach and the markets.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom had no air circulation and had mold growing on the walls. I stayed here with my friend who is also a uni student. We look young and are traveling together as two women. I checked in the first night alone since our hostel was awful. The lady, Carole, who checked me in was very accommodating. Two friends (also women) helped me carry my stuff up to the room and there was no problem with that. We later went out for the day and were stopped by Abali, the middle-aged man who co-owns the hotel with Carole. He would not let us leave without talking to him and couldn't stop commenting on how beautiful my blue-eyed friend was, asking if she would be back later and something about "getting something together". Very creepy for a group of girls just trying to leave. We returned that night with my two friends coming into the hotel to drop me off. He stopped us from going up the stairs, and tried to talk to us. It was apparent there was a problem but we didn't know what. He was very focused on my blue-eyed friend, and kept asking us who was staying here and if we had a problem. He was very insistent and touchy-feely in our faces and all of us were VERY uncomfortable. We kept saying no, we had no problem, but what was the issue since there obviously was one. At one point, he took away my keys from me and refused to give them back, and asked to hold me and talk to me alone for "security". My friends obviously said they were not going to leave me alone with him, and he became more upset. He kept trying to kick my friends out. Finally, I asked a French women in the lobby for help, and we communicated with her help. He was still being very insistent and upset and in our faces, but we finally got from the French women that the hotel rule was no visitors, which is understandable, but no one had pointed that out to us and my friends had been walking around the place the whole day before.

    Breakfast was great. The rooftop was amazing. The women working here were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were lumpy. The huge gap in the front door that the wind whistles through!

    The manager Fatima was delightful, she was warm and considerate of our needs. The premises is well located, near a main entrance to the Medina. Public car parking is close by, overseen by an attendant.In case of need the hospital is across the road. Good breakfast. It was really cold, with a north wind blowing and Fatima gave us an extra heater for our large family room. She was child friendly and patient with our grandson's inquisitive nature.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Outside the window of the room I was staying there was a carpenter who was working until 12 midnight. The noise was loud and I couldn't sleep until he finished. Other than that the accommodation was superb.

    This is an amazing renovated 18th century house. Very well decorated with really nice atmosphere. Extremely friendly staff who will make you breakfast in the morning and serve you in the house dining room ! If I ever go back to the Medina I will book the same place again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms are smelly, with all the drains clogged. The towels are old and rugged. Like any riad probably, heating is a problem and dampness is also present in the bathroom.

    The personal is excellent. Especially Fatimah Zahra which is of an incredible kidness and ready to help all the time.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Medinas in Morocco are always so noisy, even during the night. No expectation here. And also, there was some smell from drain or something like that, let open widow and it is ok

    friendly Staff, good breakfast, great location, 10 minute from beach, beach mainly for watersports like Surfing or kiting

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing to mention.. was so nice!!

    never slept so good in my life, bed amazingly comfy in a perfect silence. Breakfast on the rooftop is something unforgettable.. was really perfect!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Suite Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The second bed was not very comfortable but besides that, nothing to point.

    The place is beautiful. And the location is really easy to find. The rooms are very well decorated and the rooftop is fine.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in ends at 10:30pm; due to traffic, we were going to possibly arrive later. Staff was unwilling to stay late for us. Electricity was not working and staff was surprised to find that as they showed us our room. Bed is in poor condition. Breakfast was a very simple Moroccan breakfast with msemmen and bghrir. Coffee is NOT good; very stale and watery. View is horrendous, just the walls of other buildings close by. Rooftop only reveals more buildings; you can hear the beach, but are unable to see it. As stated in other reviews, neighborhood is noisy with kids, adults, and dogs until after 1am. It's then quiet until around noon. This is expected in Essouira (though there are other Riads in quieter areas, like Riad Kafilah). Wifi didn't work, so we were obligated to pay cash since credit card transactions could not go through. And finally, though the staff was kind to upgrade our room, they kicked us out before check out time because other guests who had booked the upgraded room were coming.

    Staff kindly upgraded our room, without us even requesting it! Staff talked very friendly with us in person. It's perfect for those needing a simple one night stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception 24h FALSE Parking FALSE Wi-fi BROKE 4 linguage FALSE Drink genius FALSE When we arrive there is no one despite I have write an e-mail for tell the hour of our arrive and ask for the parking. We have to wait 40 minute in front of the door whit a dead mouse. Then arrive a girl that speak only french. Give us the key of a small room and disapear. No internet, no information, nobody for ask. We were alone in all the structure. The day after in the night arrive the owner, she try to repair giving us a better room and giving us some advice for hammam and she try to repair internet whitout succes.

    Posizione centrale, carina la struttura.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing major. An issue with the shower and a map/directions to the riad would have been helpful.

    The staff, location, room, breakfasts, character, charm and cleanliness were all excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is nothing we didn't liked particularly, however we advise you to be sure your phone is working, since it may happen that you need to call in order to get in the Riad for the first time. Maybe it was because we were just a few guests but the staff is not always there. Furthermore the WiFi connection is stronger in the common areas rather than the rooms.

    The breakfast was incredible pleasant as well as the rooftop. It was full of nice places to rest and enjoy the sun. The rooms are very spacious, clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The whole house was very cold. Both the rooms and the lobby. No internet in the rooms. Roof furniture could be nicer.

    Nicely furnished lobby, big room. Great breakfast served on the terrace. Nice view from the roof terrace.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It would be great if wifi was available not only in the common area downstairs but also in the room (in our case on the 3rd floor). It is the first time that I stayed in a hotel where we were advised by the owner/manager to either write a positive review on booking.com or none at all (as otherwise the overall rating would go down). I find this very strange as it suggests that the management is not interested in constructive feedback by guests including potential suggestions for improvements. In my view, the opinions and views of customers should be valued, even if they are negative and/or not shared by the management. I think the responses of the management to some of the negative reviews on this page speak for themselves..

    Good value for money.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I know this is a first world problem but as it says in the description, the wifi is based on the ground floor. This means that if you're on the 3rd floor, it's not possible to use the wifi in the room - which means no late night or early morning research for things to do. The medina around our hotel could be a little noisy at night, possibly because our building spanned the street and the noise of talking tended to bounce off the walls.

    The riad dates back to the 18th century. It has been lovingly restored with some of the original features preserved. The overall decor of the hotel is lovely! A particular highlight for me was the beautiful stone sink complete with fossils! The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and were keen to show us maps of the area with things that we might like to do. The hotel is quite close to one of the entrances to the medina, the one near the car parks so it's easy to get there with your cases. The medina is relatively small so everything is easily accessible from the hotel. The hotel always smelled heavenly because of their orange blossom oil burner. There are a number of large family rooms with one double and two single beds and plenty of spare space. Breakfast was pleasant and plentiful, if a little lacking in fruit.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    VERY noisy until 4 am-no way we could sleep before-there is a water fountain right below the hotel windows and people lean their dishes or take showers at any time very noisy street especially during the ramadan nights

    location-staff

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Really big and nice room, also the breakfast was great! We spent three night. thank you Simon for nice chat :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    An amazing Moroccan breakfast every morning. Not far from the beaches and the main medina of Essaouira. Large, very clean rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not fully soundproof

    Breakfast and lounge area, decoration

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were lumpy

    The manager Fatima was warm and obliging.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    sometime in the night some noise in the area

    perfet if you arrive by car, very beautifull place , quite area but inside the medina, near beach

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    this place is super chic Kathy is amazingly nice we loved staying there :)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was a very good location, everting was perfekt!!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Second hand smoke. Toilet was dark. Drains smell.

    Location, nice interior

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A quiet place in the heart of the medina. Friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was in an extremely run down area.

    The staff were very pleasant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Endroit tres agreable ! ,

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Lovely staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast Location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows

    Beautiful and stylish building. Warm and helpful staff

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner

    Its quaintness

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Beautiful building, very friendly and helpful staff, adorable cat and a terrace with a nice view. Especially liked breakfast on the terrace!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Local streets a bit run down and messy. Depending on room, we were in corner suite the locals hang out just below until around 1am so noisy until then. Quiet until mid afternoon so no problem with sleeping late. Wrought iron shelfing unit shelves a bit rusty so use for accessories not clothes. Please note not suitable for people who have difficulty with stairs

    Very warm welcome and incredibly helpful and friendly place to stay. Location is inside the Medina so everything is 10 minutes or less walk away. Very comfortable and traditional accommodation. Excellent breakfast too

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wi Fi was limited to certain areas; however as I was on holiday that's just an observation not a criticism; it wouldn't stop me staying here again.

    Friendly, Clean, Comfortable Riad in a great location. Everything I wanted to do was in a 15 minute walk. The staff were very helpful; Abdul took time out to show us around the Old Jewish Quarter. The room was kept spotless and breakfast decent.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    This place is great! It has such a relaxing atmosphere. Our room was lovely: Spacious and with super nice interiour. Big and comfortable bed. I slept so well. Breakfast is great, not only because you can have it on the lovely rooftop terrace but also with its fresh fruits and juice, tasty tea, bread and marmelades. The staff is super nice and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The staff gave us a very warm and gentle welcome. The breakfast at the nicely decorated roofterrace was really delicious and more oppulent than we got at other hotels.

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    One of the best accommodation where I've ever stayed! The guy who work there is amazing, very helpful and kind. The breakfast on the terrace was fantastic! The Riad is in a perfect position e it is very clean and beautiful! Keep care to Coca, the Riad's cat! If I'll come back in Essaouira I will come to Maison du vent!! Thank you!

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The room was precious, the en-suite bathroom even more! The staff more than nice and helpful! you can pay by card by accepting an extra charge for the transaction's bank commission

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was poor, bed and cushions not comfortable at all, bed sheets smells strange, no view from the terraces, no possibility to pay by credit card, to lengthy check out process, too expensive!

    room style

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Riad pretty basic, nothing like photos....bit disappointing for family. Reception/roof terrace area very small and cramped, nothing spectacular. We checked out next day paying full price for 3nts stay...and moved to another hotel. :-(

    Stuff very friendly, good service.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    the roof was brilliant for breakfast. however the breakfast itself was a bit disappointing - the croissants were probably from the day before, microwaved and the Moroccan breakfast left a lot to be desired.

    Lovely hosts, and a well decorated Riad. A bit out the way, but really nice and quick to get everywhere

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing

    The style, the breakfast and most of all the people. breakfast on the roof terrace and excellent advice on the town and local area. Early breakfast on our departure must have been a pain but was still delivered with a smile!

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We stayed 5 nights and twice we had cold coffee (with warm milk) for breakfast. There was a bit of and unpleasant smell in the room, but what can you expect. The whole medina smells. It did not bother us much.

    The riad is styled to perfection. Every room has its own colour theme. Rooms are all very spacious. Staff is relaxed and very helpful and kind. Good explanation on arrival about the village, where to go for drinks, dinner, shopping etc.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This hotel was very easy to find and very close to center of town. The staff was very kind and helpful. The room was a nice size and furnished very nicely.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The bed was hard and covered with plastic making it extreme hot the pillows were made of shedded styrofoam stqyed 4 night and neither the sheets nor towels were ever changed the room floor was dirty when I arrived. I asked Christope the manger for a quite and instead got a room right off the street Hotel not worth the 75 dollars

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was a bit loud due to external noise from loud neighbors in the morning at the public fountain. This was not within the riad's control.

    The staff is friendly. The bed was comfortable. Rooftop deck with nice seating options. It is rustic with many crafts decorating the riad. There was a nice introduction to Essaouira given to us by the owner upon our arrival.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wifi didn't work in the room or the roof terrace. Breakfast was limited for choice, everyday was the same.

    Very helpful, accommodating staff Comfortable clean room Felt very safe as a woman traveller

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    A very homely Riad with very artistic touches to the de core in each room. Very hospitable and knowledgeable hosts. We felt like special guests in their home. Happy to recommend this to anyone.

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was great!

    Gerardine and her brother are really smiley and lovely hosts. We loved them and their black cat!!! The riad is located inside the walls of the little and pretty essaouira and the rooms are furnish with lovely things and colours. I'll never forget the beautiful atmophere and the smell of orange flowers that was all around! Thanks a lot!

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Good location. Super friendly and helpful staff. Nice terrace and excellent breakfast. Highly recommended for a stay at Essaouira.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    during the night time noise from outside

    lovely staff, amazing atmosphere, great location (very easy to find), clean rooms

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Beds are very hard, staff speaks no english at all.

    Very good location, friendly staff and great breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Owner spoke English and was knowledgable about Morocco. Good tips for Essaouira like where to find honest jewellers and live music etc!

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    clean, comfortable and nice staff, good break fat and good location. Nothing amazing or 5 stars, but very good quality-price relation

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Great roof terrace, really helpful staff and lovely house cat!

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location for experiencing the real heart of the medina away from tourist area. Amazing staff made us feel welcome and at home for our short stay.

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The owner of the property is really nice and the staff are friendly. merci

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very, very nice host! Comfortable and nice. Good value for the money.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I appreciated everything about this property. The owner, the staff and the property are simply amazing.

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent service, very welcoming and helpful staff. Essaouira is a fun, relaxing stop in a tour of Morocco.

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very nice and helpful staff, beautiful historic building, relaxing atmosphere at attractive roof terrace. Just perfect!

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Warm host and the breakfast was amazing. Me and my partner could not fault the place

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I would definetely go there again

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location was great, only 5 minutes walk to the centre and the beach. Lovely breakfast served up on the roof terrace.

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Great location, beautiful design, excellent host and fantastic breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Great location, easy to find your way around

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely Riad in a central location

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 70

Browse La Maison Du Vent traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: