Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Les Mérinides 5 stars

Borj Nord, 30000 Fès, Morocco

#141 of 172 hotels in Fès

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 187 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 36

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Restaurant need to further improve. But provided that visitors are not really much and the price aren't expensive, it is pretty decent.

    View is magnificent. Very reasonable prices. Highly recommended to stay!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There were a lot of insects in the water. I think they should check it more often.

    Amazing view. I asked if I could get the Medina-view room and it was no problem at all. I did like the swimmingpool and the drinks were good. Peaceful location. Amazing surroundings.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some outdated bathrooms in room and in lobby. Also rooms could be more clean in my opinion.

    Staff very helpful especially Hesham on front desk. Also beautiful views of mountains and quite nice buffet breakfas and dinner on offer.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was serviceable. The first day, they had cappuccino, but the second day they said there were none. It's about on par with what we had at other restaurants. At peak times, it's a bit troublesome to get a taxi as it's rather isolated. If you call for one, you pay for their time to the hotel as well as to wherever you are going, which is fair.

    The view of the city is fantastic. In fact, it comes up on a couple lists of things to do in Fez. The hotel is a bit older style and so it brings a different feel to the stay. The front desk was very helpful, helped us get taxis, booked dinner reservations for us. The rooms were good. If you can, get a view of the city. The view out the other side (mountain, I think) is considerably more less appealing. There is a bar, so you can enjoy a cocktail while looking out over the city. We were there in the winter, so it was a nice drink with the sun setting before heading off to dinner. The rooms were fine, clean with enough room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Medina View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was pretty bad. Selection is OK but quality is poor. The bathroom in our room was also quite dated and grubby. Very expensive for not a lot of quality.

    The proximity to the tomb on the hill overlooking Fez is absolutely the sell for this! Was lovely to be so close. The bed was also very comfortable. Killer views.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible dinner and breakfast, yet there is nothing around for a walking distance, that’s why I moved out... also I expected a spa and gym with this size of hotel but they don’t have it. It was really comfortable to stay but not much to do in the hotel...

    Good room size and great view of the city. A bit dated deco but I liked the layout of the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food is generally okay. I actually preferred ordering a separate meal on the terrace rather than eating the buffet.

    Absolutely wonderful location, you have a panoramic view of all of Fez and it's a great place to watch the sunset. Many tourists come to a vantage point right next to the hotel for this reason and it was really nice to know that you had this view from the pool/terrace. Staying here off-peak meant that I got a great deal also. While I love the buzz of Fez it can be quite stressful and eerily quiet/dangerous at night. Knowing you can walk around the hotel grounds and not feel trapped is a huge bonus!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of my friends got upgrades to Junior suites. Bathroom was good but not at all as I would have expected from this luxurious hotel.

    Breakfast was quite acceptable. However, could have had a bit more choice. Rooms were good. Reception, lobby and pool area wonderful as well as the parking area which falls within the hotel’s perimeter.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very little choice in restaurant, breakfast was included but again very little choice. The price was high again for the area.

    Very good hotel for the area, very clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The standard and quality of food at the restaurant. It was quite poor. So was the breakfast. However, acceptable and could just do with some more choice.

    Nice rooms however, in my room the toilet needs some TLC. Service. Location. Views. Swimming pool. Staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were ok but small. Everything seemed very hard. The food was just ok but not great. There was no atmosphere at all. At night lots of people came to sit and watch the view. They should have some entertainment.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We found bugs and cockroaches in the bathroom when checking into one of the rooms...which I cleared. Only for the Bugs and cockroaches to return hours later in the bathroom coming through the waste pipes of the sink and bath. No sympathy nor any discount offered when mentioned to the reception ...only "shall we send someone up to try and clear them? " I didn't make a scene as luckily we had adjoining rooms and shared the bathroom in the other room.

    Great Location, good staff, decent facilities

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked for iron multiple of times and it was not delivered- English language is an issue Also, the room service menu prices were different than those I had on the receipt

    Location overseeing the old town

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is below average

    Friednly staff. The hotel has an amazing view overlooking Fez from the top of a hill. They also have a sports bar that shows all the major football games. Try to spend sometime in the hotel and enjoy the view in the evening.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel would benefit from some investment to modernise the rooms and public areas. New soundproof windows etc. This could be a very special hotel. The food was only just acceptable.

    The location overlooking the Old Medina is spectacular. All areas of the hotel were clean . The staff were pleasant and helpful . We would stay here again .

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    no

    excellent location with good city view

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Medina View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too expensive for what you get, especially for a single guest.

    Easy parking, best view of Fes from the medina facing rooms.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Medina View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Always something not working in the room

    View staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Availability of Taxis, we had to walk quite a distance to hail a cab

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Group
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old furniture and the ac was poor

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Best view in town

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con didn't work, breakfast was so bad.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its not 5 star decorations or service

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They charged me three nights while I stayed only two nights.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad staff, really bad staff. Reluctant to provide service. No mineral water in the room No slippers No toothpaste

    Location is good. Good view.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Medina View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold. No heat in room.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Medina View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Available TV channels

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I don't like the front Desk, especially the night shift was horrible and rude. I don't give the agent 1/10 because he is not professional at all, at all , at all. They don't want me to book with booking because the price is lowest than the hotel.

    -Situation Geographique - quite - Swiming pool - Food - Transport to the hotel

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel seemed to mainly cater to large tour groups and isn't well suited to the individual traveller.

    Les Merinides hotel has the most fantastic view over the old city of Fes. However the view is from the top of a hill outside the city walls which means that once in the hotel one is completely isolated, no nearby shops, no restaurants, not even any taxis. So without a car it's very difficult to get anywhere.

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The breakfast was not that good. They kept serving the same thing everyday and it was poor when it comes to variety.

    The location is great. The view from the room was awesome. The place was pretty clean. I loved the terrace. The lobby is beautiful as well. Everyone was very kind, helpful and friendly. Great service!

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Les Mérinides enjoys a proud position overlooking the old city and is a draw for people coming to have drinks and take photographs of the impressive views. I enjoyed my three day stay but when groups were also using the hotel I at times felt marginalised, particularly in the dining room. The staff are pleasant and the accommodation comfortable and the facilities overall are good if at times unexceptional. Excellent pool. Despite the hotel's remarkable position and views, I was warned by citizen of the new town that the areas beyond the hotel grounds weren't always safe at night.

    Les Mérinides enjoys a proud position overlooking the old city and is a draw for people coming to have drinks and take photographs of the impressive views. I enjoyed my three day stay but when groups were also using the hotel I at times felt marginalised, particularly in the dining room. The staff are pleasant and the accommodation comfortable and the facilities overall are good if at times unexceptional. Excellent pool.

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The attitude of staff is not very good. The bell man always help. But receptionist is just so so .

    The view of hotel is very good and it is tidy and clean. The breakfast is very good compared with the local guest house.

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff need to recognised there is such people called vegetarians this was hard to explain as mine of the staff part from reception understood English but we got there in the end! The menu isn't really vegetarians either its full of meat, we loved the Moroccan food but were never offered a Moroccan menu I think both menus need to be offered the wifi is ok give or take picking it up all the time

    Everything the view is stunning its clean the pool is great the rooms are comphy!

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    When I was paying our final bill the cashier said our cards weren't being accepted and he swapped between machines. I asked for our receipts of the failed transactions and he held them up momentarily before scrunching them up and throwing them in the bin saying "these are not for you". At the last swipe of the card he then asked for my password (pin) so he could enter it. And unfortunately, I don't recommend the shopping guide the hotel organised. Despite asking the guide to take us to specific shops (i also provided pictures) he simply took us to prearranged shops where we were forced to sit and watch the show and tell of carpets, rugs etc, that we weren't interested in. When we did not buy these things he appeared to get frustrated. It was a long and disappointing day.

    Great food, beautiful location over looking Medina..

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The city is not within walking distance. At night it gets very dark. The Hotel is isolated from the city so there isn't much to do in the evening.

    Breakfast Mountain view Friendly staff Pastries

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No available electric outlets in room (for laptops & cell phones).

    Comfortable facility with good views, lots of public seating & nice pool.

There are also 21 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 36

Browse Les Mérinides traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: