Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Riad Ocean Medina

Rue D'Agadir - Impasse Mly Azzouz, Ahl Agadir, 44000 Essaouira, Morocco

#65 of 88 hotels in Essaouira

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 406 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room - Marrakech
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    there was no windows facing outside just inside of the house which I found very claustrophobic, but apparently that’s how their traditional riad looks like..

    bed was comfy

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Errachidia
    • Stayed 1 night

    It would be great if the staff spoke a little better English.

    Beautiful 3-layer terrace with a view of the sea/beach. The breakfast was very good and was served on the terrace although a salty option like eggs would be great. Clean and nice room/bathroom

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Errachidia
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Riad and Hamina are Wonderful, the breakfast is much good, the position of Riad is very good. I will come back in Ocean Medina in November in this year , thank you for all 👍👍👍

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Bab Sbâa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit dark in the room.

    Riad Ocean Medina was located very central. The owners was very friendly and the roof terrace was very nice with sea view! The wifi was very good,and you could be in your room or the terrace with good connection. The breakfast was also very good and was served on the terrace. I would absolutely stay there next time.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room - Doukhala
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner charged more than agreed on by booking, take a note at this and check the exchange rate before payment. The rooms are nice, but a bit dark. Also very moisty almost like in fes (medina)

    Great location in the medina of essaouira, only five minutes from the supratour busstop. And two minutes from the main street in the medina. The riad itself is nice, it has 7 thematical rooms (named and decorated after cities like errichidia, ouarzazate, etc.) and a beautiful 3-layer terrace with view of the harbor and sea/beach.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room - Marrakech
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad quality bed , not enough light in the room , the open toilet .. you can look at your partner while is using them ... who had that idea ???? Really ... The sinks smell , couldn't use the toilet the flush wasnt working .... very disappointed . Never again

    Kind and professional host

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Zagora
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking.con said i would have a sea view and a coutyard view. Actually there was no sea view so i felt a bit cheated as it a birthday treat. Staff were lovely though and a great breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room - Marrakech
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room had a strong moldy smell and even white mold marks on the wall that you only could see with a lantern as the light of the room is very dim. Moreover the room was very dusty so if you (as we) are allergic is not a good combination, we had a terrible night even with antihistamines.

    The location is easy to find and the welcome was really warm. The map and recommendations given were absolutely lovely. The place is quite beautiful. Having breakfast on the terrace is a plus.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Ouarzazate
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room which we had didn't have any outside facing windows, so the room was quite stuffy / smelly. Also we were there in winter and it's quite cold in winter! and the room (or any room in the hotel actually) didn't have heating! so that was a bit cold sometimes.

    The rooftop with the view is really nice, it was lovely having the breakfast there, which was also very enjoyable. The room had a beautiful unique design.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Errachidia
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bees at the terrase, however, it is nothing to so with the Riad Ocean Medina:)

    We absolutely loved the terrase where breakfast was served. Halima was absolutely fantastic and made us feel like home!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Zagora
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a little firm for my taste.

    Great location in the Medina and a lovely roof terrace with views towards the beach and port. Great for sunsets.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room - Marrakech
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Humidity within the walls smells strong in the night. rooms are very small especially for couples or family. The price is high for such rooms.

    Welcoming staff, beautiful view of the ocean

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Doukhala
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room smelt of damp Patchy wifi

    Generous sized rooms, well decorated, quiet, good breakfast, ocean views from terrace (or if you're really lucky the bedroom up there).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Ouarzazate
    • Stayed 1 night

    The whole experience at the riad was wonderful. We got to the place by walking from the Supr@tours bus station, and it was not hard to find walking through Bab Marrakech. Once we got there, we were checked in and given a map with some good suggestions to go through the city. My friend took their suggestion of going to a hammam and massage on our second day, and he was very impressed by the suggested place--thanks you guys! The riad was also very close to the beach, so it was an easy walk to get to where we wanted to go. The bathroom was a great size, and so was the bedroom (our room (Ouarzazate) had an extra couch--which was super handy for bags and sitting to figure out our plan for the day). The morning breakfast was quick and very good, and it was served on one of the great terraces of the riad--great places to sit for breakfast or to spend some down-time in the afternoon before heading back out into the city. Overall great stay!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Ouarzazate
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dark, humid rooms with no air or A/C. Leaving the one inside window open means sharing your sleep with everyone going up and down the stairs. The entrance is very hard to find, down a dark and very seedy alley in dire need of repairs and lighting. A word to the wise - no credit cards are accepted. Cash only.

    Very nice rooftop terrace and friendly staff. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room - Ouarzazate
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Avoid at all cost! Bugs all over the place, biting while you're asleep Almost all people at the time of our stay complained about it, many left the place to find another accommodation Staff was aware of the problem and still put us in the room that other people left the night before because of insects

    The only good thing was tasty breakfast and nice lady serving it

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room - Marrakech
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice place, good service and always friendly staff! Good breakfast. Didn't require a marriage certificate. I can recommend this place and hope to stay there again one day :)

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Zagora
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room we stayed in had an awful smell, even after leaving the window and door open for a long time, the smell would eventually return. It was nauseating, very disturbing to be in there with that smell. The bed was not comfortable at all, we found them to be very hard. Lastly, the acoustics in the riad are very bad, you can literally hear everything that happens throughout the whole building, we were in other riads previously, so we understand that you normally hear a bit more than, let's say, a hotel, however in this case it was particularly bad. Almost everyday we woke up with other people's alarm clocks or people talking, dragging chairs, you name it, very hard to properly rest that way (particularly if the beds are not comfy as mentioned earlier). There was also a big pipe in the bathroom, which makes the sounds even louder - you can hear EVERYTHING that happens in other people's bathrooms, yes - EVERYTHING, which was also quite disturbing for our experience.

    Breakfast was very enjoyable, particularly on the terrace with the great view. The owner was nice and informed us about the city in detail on our arrival. Well located.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Ouarzazate
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Smell, high humid, need more ventilation, but nice idea with aromatic sticks

    Very friendly personal, nice design, there are so many small things and details, which are really useful for guests, with that you can feel how the Riad is taking care about their guests. Nice breakfast, and was very pleasant to have coffee with biscuits while early morning check-out, not many hotels care about it. Beautiful view with town and Ocean, you can enjoy the ocean song. Love flowers on the roof terrace!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Doukhala
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think it is just the nature of a room on the lower floor in a riad, it doesn't get any sunlight, and therefore it feels a bit humid all the time, and you can definitely smell it. Maybe some incense could help.

    Location is great, easy to find and close to the Supratour bus station. Staff is cheerful, polite and helpful all the time. Room size is good but a bit dark because my room on the first floor. I love their breakfast on the beautiful terrace with a slight variety each day, and include egg, which is very rare in Morocco. Terrace is great with sea view, lounge chairs and plenty of space to hang out with friends or read a book.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Errachidia
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In wintertime a hair dryer would be top and a little heater in the room as well. Beds felt a bit clunky when we climbed in and that feeling lasted quite a while.

    Christel and her team made our stay very pleasant. The view from the terrasse is macifient and on the other hand you're with some steps directly in the Medina of Essaouira. Breakfast ist good although a salty option like eggs would be great. Thanks for the good coffee and orange juice.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Zagora
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was a little dark, which made it difficult to read. We managed by just opening the doors and letting in the sunlight or going up to the terrace.

    Rabia, Khadija (so smiley and giggly), Guillaume, Christel and Hamid were very welcoming, friendly hosts, who are more than happy to chat and help you with language and finding your way around. Our room was very clean and traditionally decorated. Breakfast on the Terrace was simply lovely with good views. Really easy to find on the edge of the medina, so quiet in the nightime.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Bab Sbâa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet keeps discounecting and having to retype the passwords again and again before it reconnects. The room smells very modus

    The breakfast terrace was nice, the check in lady was also helpful.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Ouarzazate
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi is terrible and it would be great to separate the shower from the rest of bathroom with a plastic curtain.

    We like room design, cleanness everywhere, that wonderful smell of burning wood in a fireplace, friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Ouarzazate
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the essaouira room is situated at the top with a good view but this is also where the breakfast is served so you could hear everyone having breakfast in the morning so it woke us up earlier than we wanted. being next to the sea, the room was a bit gritty and not immaculate. the rug hadn't seen a vacuum for a while so didn't feel super comfortable in the room. they charged us for a baby cot which i have never been charged for in the 7 hotels I've stayed with my baby. although it was written in the small print, i never thought to look after booking and the worst thing was that my baby slept in our bed and the cot wasn't even touched! 15 euros for no reason! i told the owner that no bedding needed washing so to void the charge but she was adamant and quite rude about it. my baby was really unwell one night and refused to eat anything so i asked for 2 eggs knowing she would enjoy them. i got charged 2 euros for them, the rate of about 6 eggs bought from outside. compared to the riad i stayed in marrakesh where the owner was super friendly, this owner was rude and stand offish and never came over to welcome us or introduce herself. one staff member was trying to sell argon oil (behind the owners back i think) and when we said we had bought double the amount of oil for less money that she was offering she became rude and slammed the door on us as we checked out of the riad, which ruined the whole stay for us. for the amount i ended up paying, i wish i had booked somewhere else. would definitely not stay or recommend here again!

    Location was great- centre of medina and close to beach, supra tour bus station. they upgraded us to essaouira suite which is the best room with a sea view

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room - Marrakech
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was our favourite hotel that we stayed at in Morocco and we absolutely loved Essaouira! The riad was very homely and welcoming and the owner was also very friendly and helpful. The room and bed very clean and comfortable, and the ensuite was good - lovely shower! Also our favourite breakfast, which was served on the balcony overlooking the sea. Absolutely delicious! All staff were also friendly and we felt very safe and cared for. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Essaouria.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Ouarzazate
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The owner came to us at the breakfast and asked us how we like it here. It was nice of her and gave us personal feeling. I like our roof room and breakfast next to it.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Zagora
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The view to the beach, because they are building a big Marina and at a big part of the beach there was a greatconstruction work. But maybe next year they will finish these works and then the view will be fine.

    I enjoyed a lot sitting on the different sun-terraces. One day there was a lot of fog and a little bit rain in the morning, so I had to take my breakfast downstairs. It was a pleasant atmosphere with the warm fireplace

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Bab Sbâa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our first room smelt of damp and chemicals but we were changed to another room the next day, which was an improvement, although still had a reduced damp smell. Fortunately mosquitos weren't a problem! We were on the first floor so higher floors may have been better although, as they were occupied, we couldn't check.

    The staff were good and helpful. The breakfasts and the one evening meal we had there were all very good. It was close to the central area and the sea front, The terrace (where we had breakfast) was good with plenty of space to relax. Slightly damp before the sun got up thanks to the proximity to the sea.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Doukhala
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is a big humidity in the rooms. The sheets seem humid, the towels never dry and there is a humid smell in the rooms

    Nice staff, very nice breakgast, good location, great terasse

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room - Marrakech
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Christel is very nice and the solarium (terrasse) is so comfortable. The location is perfect to visit and stay in Essaouira. We stayed two nights and it was perfect

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Bab Sbâa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only windows in the rooms lead to the hallway so you can hear people talk but apart from that this Riad doesn't have anything that's not to like!

    Breakfast was amazing, rooms were clean and comfortable. We booked a horseriding trip via the Riad which was awesome and the hotel is in the middle of Essaouira which is very nice.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room - Errachidia
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a great host, Elarbi, who was attentive and welcoming. Although we've only stayed one night but really felt well looked after.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite - Essaouira
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good value for money accomodation. Staff helpful and easy to communicate with. Enjoyable view to the sea from the breakfast terrace .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room - Marrakech
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room had a smell of mold - the only thing we did not like about this riad.

    Staff - super friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room - Errachidia
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautifully decorated and amazing smells. Loved the place

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Doukhala
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dark.

    Great breakfast and view from the terrace! The host was very helpful and kind! Strongly recommend!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Ouarzazate
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was all good

    Really nice and welcoming and acommodating

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Ouarzazate
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything it was perfect

    Halina was very nice lady,thank you very much for making everything easy for my sister

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Bab Sbâa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cute kitten

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Doukhala
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean and friendly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Zagora
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brekfast People Restaurant on roof

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Errachidia
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice and helpfull owner, place, nice terasse, beautiful room

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Doukhala
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The way to the Riad is very dirty and it smells badly.

    Good room, friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Position

    Well served, and had a good rest for a weekend

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room - Marrakech
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is too small no view ..the stuff wasnt professional, the breakfast is very poor

    A big deception for my parents

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Errachidia
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely Riad in the heart of Essaouria's Medina. Great staff, clean and spacious rooms. Sun terrace was really nice too.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Bab Sbâa
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly welcoming staff, simple comfortable room with a nice ensuite bathroom.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room - Bab Sbâa
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Molt amables. Muy amables. Très agréable. Very nice. Good views from the terrace, nice room, good breakfast. Good value for money

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Doukhala
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All night guardsman, Fireplace that makes the common premises very pleasant, Best ocean-view terrace we had.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Zagora
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We loved this riad for its lovely terrace and the excellent breakfast served on this terrace. The day started like this cannot be other than great.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Bab Sbâa
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really lovely road in fantastic location and friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room - Marrakech
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Whole place needed upgrading

    Helpful staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room - Marrakech
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms had a very bad smell of mould. It gave me a headache

    Very good breakfast

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room - Doukhala
    • Stayed 3 nights

    -beautiful terrace -excellent breakfast -the decor

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room - Zagora
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice balcony with view to the sea!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Errachidia
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave...must go back next year

    Everything

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room - Marrakech
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a very pleasant time in Essaouira. The staff was very nice, welcomig and helpful and the breakfast on the terrace was fantastic.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room - Marrakech
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The manager seemed a bit angry

    The terrace was beautiful

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Doukhala
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bugs dirty

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room (no 3) was not properly ventilated. The air was heavy (as if mold are present) and it was hard to breathe. We did not sleep all the night. There were only two small windows opened to the corridor,thus we could hear all the noise. The bathroom (photo) seemed unclean. The wifi was very weak and the signal broked very frequently. T

    They wait with brekfast for us 30 minutes. The terrace is nice, is possible to see a beach and

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our room smelt musty and was a bit like a cave, brown paint on the walls didn't help the gloom! Obviously in a riad u don't necessarily expect a view or many windows but some ventilation would have improved things! I really appreciated a breakfast alternative being accommodated as I was unwell. The coffee was good but not everyone wants sweet stuff or pastry every morning. Eggs or a fruit plate as an option would have been great. This was the most expensive place we stayed in Morocco but didn't feel it was really worth the extra money.

    The roof terrace was nice and the staff were great. Location great and very easy to find. Friendly helpful welcome.

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The friendliness and helpfulness of the owners and the staff from the minute we arrived. Any information/assistance we sought was willingly provided

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very nice little riad, we had a lovely stay. The breakfast was wonderful. We were actually surprised about this place, really worth the money. And big plus - quite easy to find.

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The host was delicious and smiley. We appreciated most the attention to details: on the terrace there were clean folded towels on each sunbed; the bathroom were very clean (even scented!) and an hairdryer was available in the room; they also provide a map of the Medina, and they the time to explain it to you. Amazing!

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location is down a dark alleyway. In fairness, in Essouira most places are down dark alleyways. It didn't feel unsafe, but carrying a torch may be advisable for those who are concerned about seeing where they're going!

    Lovely Riad, nice contemporary design and many thoughtful touches. Excellent breakfast. Friendly, helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great owner & staff, close to bus station / car parking, nice breakfast, sunny terrace, just inside the medina so plenty of restaurants nearby, but easy to get out if you prefer the beach.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Steep steps to the terrace , where breakfast is served , would be a challenge for those less fit. Perhaps they can offer to serve breakfast downstairs for those who need it .

    The owner was very helpful , providing an excellent map of the medina and useful information on what to see . The hotel is decorated well .

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room was very dark but it is typical to most of the riads I noticed. Coming back to the riad in the night - its better to have company as the little streets of medina are a bit scary.

    Breakfasts on the sea view terrace - fantastic beginning of the day. Friendly and helpful staff. Sunbeds on the top terrace - solarium. Close to one of the main gates to the city and bus station - comfortable if you want to travel from Essaoira to Marrakech.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was very dark , lighting inadequate , also because of the lay out of the building you could hear everyone in the riad whether it was top floor or front door , did get quiet after 12 .

    Friendly staff , great location and breakfast was excellent .

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Wi-Fi signal was the only let down. Free Wi-Fi was available, but could only be accessed inside the Riad on the ground floor, which meant it could not be used on the roof, bedrooms or the sun terrace.

    The house-staff were superb and couldn't be more helpful. The Riad was also very well appointed , clean and comfortable. The location insidethe old Town was also good, but in a slighty more kind of local area, which suited us perfectly. We had the family room on the top floor, which meant that we noted our less had the whole roof terrace to ourselves. The breakfast wasalso good taken on the roof terraterrace, which had a great view of the sea.

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    You should be very careful !!! with your payment. One of the staff let us pay more , first when we payed the rent for the room and then a second time when we payed the dinner we had in the riad. She always showed me the price we had to pay on a calculator, there was no bill.She took the difference from this shown higher price to the real price for herself. I would give you the advice to let you give the bill before you pay to have a control!!!

    We liked the comfort of our room and bathroom, the breakfast is very delicious and includes all variations like cakes, fresh orange juice bred jam and coffee and tea. The staff in most parts was very friendly in most parts

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only thing I could possibly complain about is that the wi-fi wasn't strong enough on the second floor, where my room was located. It did work well downstairs though.

    This is a lovely riad located just a few minutes walk away from the main thoroughfare of the souks of gorgeous Essaouira. The staff, who speak both French and English, are very friendly and attentive. Our room was very simple yet clean and comfortable and the lock on the door looked sturdy too. Like any riad worth its salt, it was very quiet and peaceful inside despite the hustle and bustle outside it. Highly recommended to all travellers who, like me, look for no-nonsense comfort, security and cleanliness.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I booked to stay there for one night and changed my mind to stay with friends somewhere else . Thanks to Halima for her warm welcome . Dinner was ok but not what I requested .

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was a bit damp and dark, the lighting was pretty poor in the room as we think they went for a sense of mood lighting a bit too much.

    The terrace, the breakfast and the friendly staff

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Riad Ocean Medina traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: